Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 623 complaints filed for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (73) Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (25)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (55) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (40) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (13) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (240)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Structure (19) Visibility (12)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (23) Wheels (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/16/2016 - EVANSTON, IL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE, IT SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING AND CRASHED INTO A GARAGE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED CHEST CONTUSIONS, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,608. UPDATED 01/05/17

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/31/2016 - ELLENWOOD, GA
TOYOTA CAMRY DRIVER-SIDE WINDOW FIRE. DURING AUGUST OF 2014, I WENT SHOPPING IN LITHONIA, GA. I PARKED MY 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY IN THE SHOPPING CENTER PARKING LOT. A SHORT TIME LATER, I RETURNED TO MY CAR AND OBSERVED SMOKE BILLOWING FROM THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW OF MY VEHICLE. I IMMEDIATELY DROVE ACROSS THE STREET TO NALLEY TOYOTA OF STONECREST TO HAVE THE VEHICLE CHECKED OUT. I WAS NOT AWARE OF ANY RECALL AT THIS TIME, AND ASKED THE SERVICE ADVISOR TO CHECK FOR ONE. SHE DID SO, AND TOLD ME THERE WAS NOT A TOYOTA RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE. I PROCEEDED TO PAY THEM $967.00 IN PARTS AND LABOR TO REPLACE MY ENTIRE MASTER SWITCH, THE MASTER SWITCH ASSEMBLY, AND WINDOW MOTOR IN THE DRIVER-SIDE DOOR. AFTER COMING HOME, I PROCEEDED TO LOOK FOR ANY INFORMATION I COULD FIND ON TOYOTA RECALLS OF OTHER 2004 CAMRYS. I FOUND THE TOYOTA RECALL LIST ONLINE AND SAW THAT MY CAR HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AS OTHER CAMRYS BEING RECALLED, YET HAD NOT BEEN INCLUDED. IN MAY OF THE FOLLOWING YEAR (2015), THE MOTOR I WAS SOLD FAILED AGAIN. I WAS UNABLE TO RAISE MY DRIVER SIDE WINDOW, SO I WENT BACK TO NALLEY TOYOTA AT STONECREST. I SPOKE WITH A SERVICE ADVISOR WHO EXPLAINED THAT EVEN THOUGH THE RECALL HAD BEEN EXPANDED TO INCLUDE MORE VEHICLES WITH THIS PROBLEM, MY TOYOTA CAMRY WAS STILL NOT INCLUDED. I PROCEEDED TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL $234.17 TO HAVE THE WINDOW MOTOR REPLACED AGAIN. SINCE THAT TIME, I HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCE THE BURNING OUT OF MY CAR LIGHTER. I HAVE BEEN WAITING IN VAIN FOR TOYOTA TO INCLUDE MY MODEL OF TOYOTA CAMRY IN THE RECALL PROCESS. I AM WRITING NOW TO REQUEST THAT TOYOTA REIMBURSE ME FOR THE MONEY I HAVE PAID TO HAVE WORK DONE THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER THE EXISTING TOYOTA RECALL ON WINDOW MOTORS. OBVIOUSLY, MY CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED. I AM ATTACHING DOCUMENTATION OF EACH TRANSACTION FOR YOUR REVIEW. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

7/31/2016 - ELLENWOOD, GA
TOYOTA CAMRY DRIVER-SIDE WINDOW FIRE. DURING AUGUST OF 2014, I WENT SHOPPING IN LITHONIA, GA. I PARKED MY 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY IN THE SHOPPING CENTER PARKING LOT. A SHORT TIME LATER, I RETURNED TO MY CAR AND OBSERVED SMOKE BILLOWING FROM THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW OF MY VEHICLE. I IMMEDIATELY DROVE ACROSS THE STREET TO NALLEY TOYOTA OF STONECREST TO HAVE THE VEHICLE CHECKED OUT. I WAS NOT AWARE OF ANY RECALL AT THIS TIME, AND ASKED THE SERVICE ADVISOR TO CHECK FOR ONE. SHE DID SO, AND TOLD ME THERE WAS NOT A TOYOTA RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE. I PROCEEDED TO PAY THEM $967.00 IN PARTS AND LABOR TO REPLACE MY ENTIRE MASTER SWITCH, THE MASTER SWITCH ASSEMBLY, AND WINDOW MOTOR IN THE DRIVER-SIDE DOOR. AFTER COMING HOME, I PROCEEDED TO LOOK FOR ANY INFORMATION I COULD FIND ON TOYOTA RECALLS OF OTHER 2004 CAMRYS. I FOUND THE TOYOTA RECALL LIST ONLINE AND SAW THAT MY CAR HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AS OTHER CAMRYS BEING RECALLED, YET HAD NOT BEEN INCLUDED. IN MAY OF THE FOLLOWING YEAR (2015), THE MOTOR I WAS SOLD FAILED AGAIN. I WAS UNABLE TO RAISE MY DRIVER SIDE WINDOW, SO I WENT BACK TO NALLEY TOYOTA AT STONECREST. I SPOKE WITH A SERVICE ADVISOR WHO EXPLAINED THAT EVEN THOUGH THE RECALL HAD BEEN EXPANDED TO INCLUDE MORE VEHICLES WITH THIS PROBLEM, MY TOYOTA CAMRY WAS STILL NOT INCLUDED. I PROCEEDED TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL $234.17 TO HAVE THE WINDOW MOTOR REPLACED AGAIN. SINCE THAT TIME, I HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCE THE BURNING OUT OF MY CAR LIGHTER. I HAVE BEEN WAITING IN VAIN FOR TOYOTA TO INCLUDE MY MODEL OF TOYOTA CAMRY IN THE RECALL PROCESS. I AM WRITING NOW TO REQUEST THAT TOYOTA REIMBURSE ME FOR THE MONEY I HAVE PAID TO HAVE WORK DONE THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER THE EXISTING TOYOTA RECALL ON WINDOW MOTORS. OBVIOUSLY, MY CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN INCLUDED. I AM ATTACHING DOCUMENTATION OF EACH TRANSACTION FOR YOUR REVIEW. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2016 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE ENGINE CONSUMED A QUART OF OIL WEEKLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 265,262.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/5/2016 - BEARDS TOWN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS WERE ACTIVATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED. ALSO, WHEN THE TURN SIGNAL AND WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE ENGAGED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 150,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 06/15/16

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2016 - COPLAY, PA
OIL STARTED TO LEAK FROM MANIFOLD, MY MECHANIC SAID IT WAS A STRIPPED BOTL. HE TRIED TO FIX IT WITH SILICONE AND REPLACE THE BOLT BUT IT IS STILL LEAKING ALL OVER THE ENGINE. HE INFORMED ME THIS COUD CAUSE A FIRE. CAN I HOLD TOYOTA RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS PROBLEM?

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/7/2016 - HAVERHILL, MA
OFF LIGHT FOR PASSENGER AIR BAG STAYS ON. IT WAS RESET A YEAR AGO AND WITHIN THREE MONTHS WENT BACK ON. THE MECHANICS SAID THAT THE SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED WHICH FOR PART HE QUOTED $431.50 AND WITH LABOR WOULD COST TOTAL OF $640.00. IS THERE A RECALL FOR THIS. THE CAR IS U AROUND 95,000 MILES AND IT NEEDS ROBE FIXED FOR MY CAR INSPECTION?

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/22/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY HOWEVER, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT AND CAUSED THE CONTACT+S PREGNANT BELLY TO ENCOUNTER THE STEERING WHEEL. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT AND THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER SUSTAINED MUSCLE INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/22/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY HOWEVER, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT AND CAUSED THE CONTACT+S PREGNANT BELLY TO ENCOUNTER THE STEERING WHEEL. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT AND THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER SUSTAINED MUSCLE INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/17/2015 - LANSDALE, PA
UNINTENDED (UNEXPLAINED) ACCELERATION: SLOWLY APPROACHED RED LIGHT AT INTERSECTION. AS I EASED ON BRAKE TO STOP BEHIND LINE OF TRAFFIC, ENGINE SURGED. I PUSHED BRAKE TO FLOOR AND PUSHED ON EMERGENCY BRAKE WITH OTHER FOOT WHILE SHIFTING INTO PARK. MY NEXT STEP WOULD HAVE BEEN TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL, BUT CAR STOPPED A FEW INCHES BEHIND THE CAR AHEAD. THIS WAS ALL IN THE SPACE OF PERHAPS 5 SECONDS. FORTUNATELY, I WAS NOT GOING FAST OR ON A WET/ICY ROAD. LIGHT CHANGED TO GREEN AND I SHIFTED INTO DRIVE. CAR FUNCTIONED NORMALLY. DEALER HAD CAR A FULL DAY, WENT THROUGH TOYOTA HQ INTERVIEW AND TESTS, THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPEAT THE UA, STATED "VEHICLE IS OPERATING AS DESIGNED" BUT WOULD NOT TELL ME THE CAR WAS SAFE OR UNSAFE. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW IN 2004, LOVED THE WAY IT HANDLED FOR 75K MILES, BUT NOW I DO NOT TRUST IT. I WONDER IF TOYOTA'S TESTS EVER ALLOW THEM TO RECREATE THE UA, BUT THEY COULD/WOULD NOT TELL ME THAT WHEN I TALKED WITH THE CASE MANAGER AT HQ. MY CAR WAS NEVER ON THE UA RECALL LIST. BECAUSE I DID NOT CRASH, THE COMPUTER WOULD NOT HAVE RECORDED THE ACCELERATOR OR BRAKE USE TO PROVE THE UA HAPPENED! SEEMS LIKE A CATCH 22. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE MY CAR AND WILL GIVE FULL DISCLOSURE IF I TRADE IT IN OR SELL IT. I ASKED AND WAS TOLD BY TOYOTA HQ CASE MANAGER THAT THIS INCIDENT WILL BE AVAILABLE IF THE CAR IS CHECKED ON CARFAX. WHILE THE DEALER WAS ALWAYS SENDING ME REQUESTS TO TRADE IN MY CAR AS IT WOULD SELL WELL, I'M SURE THE VALUE HAS DROPPED CONSIDERABLY NOW. I AM NOT PLEASED WITH THE OUTCOME AT ALL, ONLY GRATEFUL THAT NO ONE WAS HURT OR KILLED IN THIS INCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds