Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 623 complaints filed for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (73) Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (25)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (55) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (40) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (13) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (240)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Structure (19) Visibility (12)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (23) Wheels (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/16/2015 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/5/2015 - SOUTH WINDSOR, CT
ON 9/20/15 WHILE REVERSING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE AT THE SOUTH WINDSOR PUBLIC LIBRARY, I DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR LIGHTLY AND THE CAR SURGED BACKWARDS INTO VERY TIGHT CIRCLES. I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR AND PRESSED ON THE BRAKES AND TRIED TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK. AFTER ALMOST 2 ROTATIONS THE CAR HIT ONE CURB AND THEN ANOTHER AND AFTER THAT I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK, ALL THE WHILE WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE. MY VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER AND I CONTACTED MY INSURANCE COMPANY. THE INSURANCE COMPANY REVIEWED MY CLAIM AND HAS ISSUED ME A CHECK TO HAVE THE VEHICLE FRONT END AND UNDERCARRIAGE DAMAGES REPAIRED. I HAVE ASKED THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP IF THE VEHICLE IS SAFE TO DRIVE AND THEY REFERRED ME TO TOYOTA NATIONAL. TOYOTA SENT OUT AN INDEPENDENT EVALUATOR WHO EVALUATED THE VEHICLE AND THEN SENT ME A FLASH DRIVE WITH THE EVENT DATA RECORDER RESULTS. HOWEVER NO SUMMARY REPORT OR NARRATIVE WAS PROVIDED, SO I DO NOT KNOW IF THE VEHICLE IS SAFE TO DRIVE. I CALLED TOYOTA BACK AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT IT IS UP TO ME TO FIND SOMEONE TO INTERPRET THE RESULTS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/3/2015 - GREER, SC
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION WHEN ANOTHER VEHICLE RAN A RED LIGHT AND HIT THE 2004 CAMRY AT THE DRIVERS HEADLIGHT AREA AT ABOUT 45 MPH! WITH THIS HIGH IMPACT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE DRIVERS SEATBELT SHOULDER STRAP DID NOT CATCH! DRIVERS HEAD HIT THE WINDSHIELD AND BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER WENT TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM! BOTH RECEIVED NECK AND BACK SPRAINS! CAMRY IS A ONE OWNER CAR WITH 130,000 MILES! CAR WAS TOWED AND DAMAGES ARE BEING ACCESSED!

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/3/2015 - GREER, SC
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION WHEN ANOTHER VEHICLE RAN A RED LIGHT AND HIT THE 2004 CAMRY AT THE DRIVERS HEADLIGHT AREA AT ABOUT 45 MPH! WITH THIS HIGH IMPACT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE DRIVERS SEATBELT SHOULDER STRAP DID NOT CATCH! DRIVERS HEAD HIT THE WINDSHIELD AND BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER WENT TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM! BOTH RECEIVED NECK AND BACK SPRAINS! CAMRY IS A ONE OWNER CAR WITH 130,000 MILES! CAR WAS TOWED AND DAMAGES ARE BEING ACCESSED!

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/21/2015 - HILLVIEW, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG COVER WAS CRACKED. IN ADDITION, A WHITE AND YELLOW SUBSTANCE PROTRUDED FROM THE DASHBOARD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 225,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/11/2015 - OAK PARK, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A POLE. THE DETAILS OF THE CRASH WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED A FRACTURED STERNUM, NECK AND BACK PAIN. THE PASSENGER SUFFERED A LEFT LEG INJURY AND SEVERE SOFT TISSUE DAMAGE TO THE UPPER TORSO. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED FOR BOTH OCCUPANTS. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/12/2015 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR CONTINUOUSLY ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY RE-CALIBRATED THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG INDICATOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,632.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/10/2015 - LEXINGTON, KY
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGH SPEED. THERE WAS A RED LIGHT SO I TRIED TO HIT THE BRAKE PEDAL. BUT BY DOING THAT I THE CAR HAD A SUDDEN ACCELERATE AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE FLOOR AND THE BRAKE POWER IS SUPER WEAK. I WAS LUCKY THAT THE CAR STOPPED RIGHT BEHIND THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME SO NO ACCIDENT HAPPENED. I DRIVE MY CAR TO A LOCAL BRAKE SHOP, THEY INSPECTED THE WHOLE SYSTEM AND TELL ME THAT THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG THERE. IT WAS REALLY SCARY TO FEEL THAT YOUR CAR IS NOT CONTROLLED BY YOURSELF.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/10/2015 - LEXINGTON, KY
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGH SPEED. THERE WAS A RED LIGHT SO I TRIED TO HIT THE BRAKE PEDAL. BUT BY DOING THAT I THE CAR HAD A SUDDEN ACCELERATE AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE FLOOR AND THE BRAKE POWER IS SUPER WEAK. I WAS LUCKY THAT THE CAR STOPPED RIGHT BEHIND THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME SO NO ACCIDENT HAPPENED. I DRIVE MY CAR TO A LOCAL BRAKE SHOP, THEY INSPECTED THE WHOLE SYSTEM AND TELL ME THAT THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG THERE. IT WAS REALLY SCARY TO FEEL THAT YOUR CAR IS NOT CONTROLLED BY YOURSELF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/25/2015 - APOPKA, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD FROM MY HOME WHEN MY CAR STOPPED WORKING. IT DIED ON ME. IT JUST STOPPED WORKING COMPLETELY WITHOUT ANY NOTICE WHATSOEVER. I WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL AND I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AT THE TIME I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MILES AN HOUR (WHEN THE CAR ENGINE STOPPED WORKING). I TURNED THE KEY IN THE IGNITION TO THE OFF POSITION. WHEN I TURNED THE KEY IN THE IGNITION TO START THE CAR, THE CAR STARTED UP IMMEDIATELY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds