Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 623 complaints filed for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (73) Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (25)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (55) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (40) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (13) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (240)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Structure (19) Visibility (12)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (23) Wheels (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/25/2015 - APOPKA, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD FROM MY HOME WHEN MY CAR STOPPED WORKING. IT DIED ON ME. IT JUST STOPPED WORKING COMPLETELY WITHOUT ANY NOTICE WHATSOEVER. I WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL AND I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AT THE TIME I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MILES AN HOUR (WHEN THE CAR ENGINE STOPPED WORKING). I TURNED THE KEY IN THE IGNITION TO THE OFF POSITION. WHEN I TURNED THE KEY IN THE IGNITION TO START THE CAR, THE CAR STARTED UP IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/25/2015 - APOPKA, FL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD FROM MY HOME WHEN MY CAR STOPPED WORKING. IT DIED ON ME. IT JUST STOPPED WORKING COMPLETELY WITHOUT ANY NOTICE WHATSOEVER. I WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL AND I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AT THE TIME I WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MILES AN HOUR (WHEN THE CAR ENGINE STOPPED WORKING). I TURNED THE KEY IN THE IGNITION TO THE OFF POSITION. WHEN I TURNED THE KEY IN THE IGNITION TO START THE CAR, THE CAR STARTED UP IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2015 - COTTAGEVILLE, SC
IGNITION SWITCH NOT WORKING PROPERLY. KEY CAN BE REMOVED WHILE THE CAR IS RUNNING AND IN MOTION, AND THE CAR WILL CONTINUE TO RUN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/12/2015 - DREXEL HILL, PA
THERE IS NO HORN AFTER THE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON SO I CALLED CONICELLI TOYOTA IN SPRINGFIELD PA, BUT THEY SAID ONLY PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS WERE A PROBLEM SO I WOULD HAVE A 115.00 DOLLAR CHARGE PLUS LABOR & PARTS SO I CAN NOT PAY THAT NOW SO HE SAID JUST CALL BACK WHEN YOU CAN? & HUNG UP WELL THE AIRBAG DIDN'T JUST LIGHT UP FOR NO REASON? I AM THE ONLY DRIVER & THE ONLY PASSENGERS EVER ARE MY GRANDCHILDREN!! I ONLY GET SSDISABILTY SO I GUESS I WILL HAVE TO DRIVE IT THE WAY IT IS?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/12/2015 - DREXEL HILL, PA
THERE IS NO HORN AFTER THE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON SO I CALLED CONICELLI TOYOTA IN SPRINGFIELD PA, BUT THEY SAID ONLY PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS WERE A PROBLEM SO I WOULD HAVE A 115.00 DOLLAR CHARGE PLUS LABOR & PARTS SO I CAN NOT PAY THAT NOW SO HE SAID JUST CALL BACK WHEN YOU CAN? & HUNG UP WELL THE AIRBAG DIDN'T JUST LIGHT UP FOR NO REASON? I AM THE ONLY DRIVER & THE ONLY PASSENGERS EVER ARE MY GRANDCHILDREN!! I ONLY GET SSDISABILTY SO I GUESS I WILL HAVE TO DRIVE IT THE WAY IT IS?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/7/2015 - NORTH AUGUSTA, SC
I WENT TO A LOCAL STORE TO SHOP. I WAS ATTEMPTING TO PARK IN THE STORE LOT, SAW A SPACE CLOSE TO THE FRONT OF THE STORE. I SLOWED DOWN TO START TURNING (MAYBE 5-10 MPH) INTO THE PARKING SPACE AND WHEN I TRIED TO BRAKE, MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR STARTED SPEEDING UP. IT KEPT GOING LIKE SOMEONE ELSE HAD CONTROL OF THE CAR! I COULDN'T STOP IT AND IT RAN INTO A CAR THAT WAS PARKED IN FRONT OF THE SPACE. IT PUSHED THE OTHER CAR COMPLETELY OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT AND RAMMED HER CAR IN THE FRONT AREA. WE BOTH SUFFERED VEHICLE DAMAGE AND I WAS CHARGED. THERE WAS SMOKE COMING OUT FROM UNDER MY CAR AND AS I WAS ATTEMPTING TO STOP MY RUNAWAY CAR, MY FOOT SLIPPED ONTO THE ACCELERATOR. I THOUGHT MAYBE MY BRAKES HAD GIVEN OUT BUT THE OFFICER SAID THE BRAKES WERE NOT BAD. THERE WERE SKID MARKS SHOWING I TRIED TO STOP AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT HOME, VERY SLOWLY. I WAS SO SCARED!! I REMEMBER SEEING A SEGMENT ON TV ABOUT TOYOTA HAVING PROBLEMS REGARDING SUDDEN ACCELERATION IN SOME OF THEIR CARS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/7/2015 - NORTH AUGUSTA, SC
I WENT TO A LOCAL STORE TO SHOP. I WAS ATTEMPTING TO PARK IN THE STORE LOT, SAW A SPACE CLOSE TO THE FRONT OF THE STORE. I SLOWED DOWN TO START TURNING (MAYBE 5-10 MPH) INTO THE PARKING SPACE AND WHEN I TRIED TO BRAKE, MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR STARTED SPEEDING UP. IT KEPT GOING LIKE SOMEONE ELSE HAD CONTROL OF THE CAR! I COULDN'T STOP IT AND IT RAN INTO A CAR THAT WAS PARKED IN FRONT OF THE SPACE. IT PUSHED THE OTHER CAR COMPLETELY OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT AND RAMMED HER CAR IN THE FRONT AREA. WE BOTH SUFFERED VEHICLE DAMAGE AND I WAS CHARGED. THERE WAS SMOKE COMING OUT FROM UNDER MY CAR AND AS I WAS ATTEMPTING TO STOP MY RUNAWAY CAR, MY FOOT SLIPPED ONTO THE ACCELERATOR. I THOUGHT MAYBE MY BRAKES HAD GIVEN OUT BUT THE OFFICER SAID THE BRAKES WERE NOT BAD. THERE WERE SKID MARKS SHOWING I TRIED TO STOP AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT HOME, VERY SLOWLY. I WAS SO SCARED!! I REMEMBER SEEING A SEGMENT ON TV ABOUT TOYOTA HAVING PROBLEMS REGARDING SUDDEN ACCELERATION IN SOME OF THEIR CARS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/7/2015 - NORTH AUGUSTA, SC
I WENT TO A LOCAL STORE TO SHOP. I WAS ATTEMPTING TO PARK IN THE STORE LOT, SAW A SPACE CLOSE TO THE FRONT OF THE STORE. I SLOWED DOWN TO START TURNING (MAYBE 5-10 MPH) INTO THE PARKING SPACE AND WHEN I TRIED TO BRAKE, MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR STARTED SPEEDING UP. IT KEPT GOING LIKE SOMEONE ELSE HAD CONTROL OF THE CAR! I COULDN'T STOP IT AND IT RAN INTO A CAR THAT WAS PARKED IN FRONT OF THE SPACE. IT PUSHED THE OTHER CAR COMPLETELY OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT AND RAMMED HER CAR IN THE FRONT AREA. WE BOTH SUFFERED VEHICLE DAMAGE AND I WAS CHARGED. THERE WAS SMOKE COMING OUT FROM UNDER MY CAR AND AS I WAS ATTEMPTING TO STOP MY RUNAWAY CAR, MY FOOT SLIPPED ONTO THE ACCELERATOR. I THOUGHT MAYBE MY BRAKES HAD GIVEN OUT BUT THE OFFICER SAID THE BRAKES WERE NOT BAD. THERE WERE SKID MARKS SHOWING I TRIED TO STOP AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT HOME, VERY SLOWLY. I WAS SO SCARED!! I REMEMBER SEEING A SEGMENT ON TV ABOUT TOYOTA HAVING PROBLEMS REGARDING SUDDEN ACCELERATION IN SOME OF THEIR CARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/5/2015 - WATERBURY, CT
DASH AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE PASSENGER AIR BAG SENSOR SHOWED OFF EVEN THROUGH SOMEONE WAS IN THE SEAT. FIRST THE DEALER TRIED TO RESET SYSTEM, BUT TWO DAYS LATER LIGHT CAME BACK ON. TOOK TO DEALER SECOND TIME AND THEY HAD TROUBLE FINDING ISSUE AT FIRST. ISSUE TRACED TO AIRBAG SWITCH UNDER BACK SEAT. LEARNED THAT WHILE LIGHT IS ON ENTIRE AIRBAG SYSTEM FAILS. DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SURPRISED BY LACK OF REDUNDANCY IN SUCH AN IMPORTANT SYSTEM. COST OF REPAIR SEEMS VERY EXCESSIVE AT $1,000 FOR A SENSOR, BUT HAVE LITTLE CHOICE. I REALIZE THAT THE CAR IS ~10 YEARS OLD, BUT FAILURE OF THIS COMPONENT SEEM VERY PREMATURE. CAR IS IN VERY GOOD CONDITION WITH NO EXCESS WEAR OR SUBJECT TO ABUSE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/26/2015 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A SEMI TRUCK REAR ENDED THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 232,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds