Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 623 complaints filed for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (73) Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (25)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (4) Traction Control System (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (49) Service Brakes Hydraulic (55) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (40) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (13) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (240)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (3) Structure (19) Visibility (12)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (6) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (23) Wheels (3)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

8/9/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
I HAVE A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY LE EQUIPPED WITH THE 2AZ FE I4. AT FIRST I STARTED HEARING WATER SLOSHING FROM UNDERNEATH THE DASHBOARD EVERY TIME I STOPPED. ON 1/30/2014 WHILE STOPPING FOR A FEW MINUTES IN A PARKING LOT THE CARS TEMPERATURE GAUGE STARTED TO RISE. I IMMEDIATELY SHUT THE CAR OFF, AND OPENED UP THE HOOD TO FIND COOLANT HAD BEEN PUSHED OUT THE OVERFLOW CONTAINER, THEN I SUBSEQUENTLY BROUGHT IT TO A MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC STATED THE HEAD GASKET WAS BLOWN. AFTER A FEW DAYS THE MECHANIC GOT BACK TO ME, TELLING ME THE HEAD BOLTS HAD STRIPPED AND THE ENGINE WAS UNREPAIRABLE. I WOULD NEED TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM, ESPECIALLY IF IT GAVE AWAY WHEN GOING DOWN THE FREEWAY. TOYOTA NEEDS TO STEP UP AND FIX THIS ISSUE THAT IS NOW BECOMING A VERY BIG PROBLEM. TOYOTA DID RELEASE A TSB FOR DEALERS ABOUT THIS BUT IT SAYS TO USE TIMESERTS OR REPLACE THE BLOCK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/7/2014 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED THE VEHICLE INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A BRUISED RIB ON THE RIGHT SIDE, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/7/2014 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED THE VEHICLE INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A BRUISED RIB ON THE RIGHT SIDE, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/1/2014 - CONDO 724, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL VIBRATED AND REQUIRED EXCESSIVE FORCE TO CONTROL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/29/2014 - PHOENIX , AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK AT 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A PARKING BARRIER AND THROUGH A CONCRETE WALL. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC BUT IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

WHEELS

7/17/2014 - SHERVEPORT, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE THEN REVERSED AND CRASHED INTO THE VEHCLE A SECOND TIME FROM THE FRONT END. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND ONE INJURY WAS REPORTED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE REAR PASSENGER WHEEL FELT ABNORMAL AND AS A RESULT THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO AN EMBANKMENT. THE AIR BAGS AGAIN DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE CONTACT INJURED HER BACK AND LEGS. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/17/2014 - SHERVEPORT, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2004 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE THEN REVERSED AND CRASHED INTO THE VEHCLE A SECOND TIME FROM THE FRONT END. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND ONE INJURY WAS REPORTED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE REAR PASSENGER WHEEL FELT ABNORMAL AND AS A RESULT THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO AN EMBANKMENT. THE AIR BAGS AGAIN DID NOT DEPLOY AND THE CONTACT INJURED HER BACK AND LEGS. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2014 - BELLEROSE, NY
ON JULY 6TH I NOTICE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG ON MY TOYOTA CAMRY 2004 MODEL IS CRACK ABOUT 6 INCHES AND LOOK LIKE IT GOING TO EXPLORE I'M EXTREMELY CONCERN ABOUT THIS BECAUSE I DO NOT WANT ANYONE TO GET HURT ESPECIALLY WHEN IT CAN BE AVOID. I CONTACT TOYOTA THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE TO THE DEALER FOR AN EVALUATION. I'M FEARFUL BECAUSE SOME TIME MY DAUGHTER SITS IN THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THIS CAR AND DO NOT WANT HER TO GET HURT. TOYOTA TOLD ME THAT THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM. TOYOTA ALSO TOLD ME THAT THE CAR IS OLD AND THEY MIGHT NOT BE RESPONSIBLE TO FIX...I AM A CONFUSE BY THEIR RESPOND BECAUSE THIS IS A MANUFACTURE PROBLEM NOT THE CUSTOMER. I CAN SEND PICTURE, PLEASE LET ME KNOW HOW I CAN DO THAT. MY HUSBAND WILL TAKE THE CAR TO THE DEALER ON JULY 8TH PLEASE CONTACT ME WITH THE PROCESS TO REPAIR. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). UPDATED 2/6/2015

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/15/2014 - SANTEE, SC
ON 6/2/2014 I WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK. AS I PULLED OUT MY DIRT ROAD ONTO THE MAIN HIGHWAY, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND MY CAR AUTOMATICALLY SHUT OFF. MIND YOU MY CAR WAS STILL ROLLING, BUT I MANAGE TO PULL ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND SHUT THE CAR OFF. I TRY TO STEP ON GAS PEDDLE BUT CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. SO I WAITED A FEW MINTUES ON SIDE OF ROAD BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO RE-START MY CAR. ONCE I GOT IT CRANKED, I DROVE 10 TO 15 MILES TO GET MY CAR BACK IN MY YARD. AT THIS POINT IN TIME, I CANT DRIVE IT UNTIL IT GETS FIX.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2014 - SANTEE, SC
ON 6/2/2014 I WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK. AS I PULLED OUT MY DIRT ROAD ONTO THE MAIN HIGHWAY, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND MY CAR AUTOMATICALLY SHUT OFF. MIND YOU MY CAR WAS STILL ROLLING, BUT I MANAGE TO PULL ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND SHUT THE CAR OFF. I TRY TO STEP ON GAS PEDDLE BUT CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. SO I WAITED A FEW MINTUES ON SIDE OF ROAD BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO RE-START MY CAR. ONCE I GOT IT CRANKED, I DROVE 10 TO 15 MILES TO GET MY CAR BACK IN MY YARD. AT THIS POINT IN TIME, I CANT DRIVE IT UNTIL IT GETS FIX.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds