Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CORVETTE - 2005 CHEVROLET CORVETTE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 484 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET CORVETTE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET CORVETTE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET CORVETTE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Seat Belts (1) Steering (70) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (87) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (52) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (85) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (31) Suspension (7) Visibility (3)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Electric (5) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Power Train (70) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Traction Control System (17) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (85)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/14/2019 - APOLLO, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET CORVETTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND COULD NOT BE TURNED IN EITHER DIRECTION AND THE ENGINE COULD NOT BE IMMEDIATELY RESTARTED. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS FINALLY RESTARTED, THE MESSAGE +STEERING LOCKED+ HAD DISPLAYED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED THE LOCAL DEALER GRABIAK CHEVROLET (8282 RT. 22 NEW ALEXANDRIA, PA.) THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT YET DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2019 - APOLLO, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET CORVETTE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER PARKING THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND COULD NOT BE TURNED IN EITHER DIRECTION AND THE ENGINE COULD NOT BE IMMEDIATELY RESTARTED. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS FINALLY RESTARTED, THE MESSAGE +STEERING LOCKED+ HAD DISPLAYED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED THE LOCAL DEALER GRABIAK CHEVROLET (8282 RT. 22 NEW ALEXANDRIA, PA.) THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT YET DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/28/2019 - MONTEBELLO, CA
MAKING A U-TURN OR ANY EXTREME POSITION OF STEERING WHEEL ROTATION CAUSES ABS AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS TO ENGAGE AND FORCES A SEIZURE IF THE BRAKES, LOCKING THEM AND PREVENTING ANY KIND OF MOVEMENT. THE ONLY SOLUTION TO UNLOCKING BRAKES THROUGH MY EXPERIENCE IS TO SHUT OFF AND RESTART THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2019 - MONTEBELLO, CA
MAKING A U-TURN OR ANY EXTREME POSITION OF STEERING WHEEL ROTATION CAUSES ABS AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS TO ENGAGE AND FORCES A SEIZURE IF THE BRAKES, LOCKING THEM AND PREVENTING ANY KIND OF MOVEMENT. THE ONLY SOLUTION TO UNLOCKING BRAKES THROUGH MY EXPERIENCE IS TO SHUT OFF AND RESTART THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

4/28/2019 - MONTEBELLO, CA
MAKING A U-TURN OR ANY EXTREME POSITION OF STEERING WHEEL ROTATION CAUSES ABS AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS TO ENGAGE AND FORCES A SEIZURE IF THE BRAKES, LOCKING THEM AND PREVENTING ANY KIND OF MOVEMENT. THE ONLY SOLUTION TO UNLOCKING BRAKES THROUGH MY EXPERIENCE IS TO SHUT OFF AND RESTART THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/7/2019 - TUCSON, AZ
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 68 MPH IN A STRAIGHT LINE ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ROAD CONDITIONS WERE DRY AND COLD. I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT AND DID NOT HIT ANY BUMPS IN THE ROAD WHEN SUDDENLY I FELT THE STEERING PULLING MY CAR ABOUT 1/4 TURN TO THE LEFT AND ABOUT A 1/2 TURN TO THE RIGHT AND BRAKES WERE APPLIED, NOT BY ME. I THEN HEARD A CHIMING NOISE AND SAW AN ERROR CODE ON MY DASH SAYING "SERVICE ACTIVE HANDLING SYSTEM". I GAINED CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE AND EXITED THE HIGHWAY. I READ ON MANY FORUMS THAT OTHER C6 OWNERS, ESPECIALLY YEARS '05-'06 HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE AND THAT THE DEFECT MAY LIE IN THE STEERING WHEEL POSITION SENSOR CONNECTOR. MY VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH A TELESCOPING STEERING WHEEL WHERE THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO ARISE.

View Details

STEERING

1/7/2019 - TUCSON, AZ
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 68 MPH IN A STRAIGHT LINE ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ROAD CONDITIONS WERE DRY AND COLD. I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT AND DID NOT HIT ANY BUMPS IN THE ROAD WHEN SUDDENLY I FELT THE STEERING PULLING MY CAR ABOUT 1/4 TURN TO THE LEFT AND ABOUT A 1/2 TURN TO THE RIGHT AND BRAKES WERE APPLIED, NOT BY ME. I THEN HEARD A CHIMING NOISE AND SAW AN ERROR CODE ON MY DASH SAYING "SERVICE ACTIVE HANDLING SYSTEM". I GAINED CONTROL OF MY VEHICLE AND EXITED THE HIGHWAY. I READ ON MANY FORUMS THAT OTHER C6 OWNERS, ESPECIALLY YEARS '05-'06 HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE AND THAT THE DEFECT MAY LIE IN THE STEERING WHEEL POSITION SENSOR CONNECTOR. MY VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH A TELESCOPING STEERING WHEEL WHERE THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO ARISE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: ROOF AND PILLARS

12/12/2018 - PLEASANT GROVE, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET CORVETTE. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH AND ABOVE, THE CONTACT HEARD THE SOUND OF AIR COMING THROUGH THE ROOF PANEL, WHICH WAS NOT STRUCTURALLY CONNECTED. THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN IF THE ROOF PANEL WOULD FRACTURE WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION. THE DEALER (KEN GARFF CHEVROLET, 548 E 1000 S, AMERICAN FORK, UT 84003, (801) 756-3546) WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DID NOT TEST DRIVE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V491000 (STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,500.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/12/2018 - PLEASANT GROVE, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET CORVETTE. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH AND ABOVE, THE CONTACT HEARD THE SOUND OF AIR COMING THROUGH THE ROOF PANEL, WHICH WAS NOT STRUCTURALLY CONNECTED. THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN IF THE ROOF PANEL WOULD FRACTURE WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION. THE DEALER (KEN GARFF CHEVROLET, 548 E 1000 S, AMERICAN FORK, UT 84003, (801) 756-3546) WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DID NOT TEST DRIVE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V491000 (STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/16/2018 - BROOMFIELD, CO
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION LEVER WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK AND INTO GEAR, LEAVING YOU STRANDED AND UNABLE TO MOVE FROM STREET.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds