Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 595 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (6) Exterior Lighting (49) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (35) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (327) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (48) Steering (58) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (7) Structure (10) Visibility (14)
Engine (29) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (2) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (16) Tires (6) Wheels (4)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

9/8/2016 - GARDENA, CA
FROM A STOPPED POSITION, TRYING TO TAKE OFF CAR ACTS AS IF I'M NEUTRAL AND THEN WILL SUDDENLY JERK INTO GEAR. THE AUTOMATIC HEAR SHIFTS ARE ROUGH AND DELAYED. THERE'S VERY LITTLE POWER OR STRUGGLE TO REGISTER WHEN APPLYING GAS. WHEN ON FWY ESPECIALLY WHEN IN SLOW MOVING TRAFFIC THERE IS A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION AND SLIPPING, ROUGH GEAR SHIFTS BOTH UP AND DOWN. THEN THE SCARY PART IS WHEN DRIVING WITH MY 2 LITTLE GIRLS AND IN REGULAR OR HEAVY TRAFFIC AND MAKING TURNS, ESPECIALLY LEFT, I HAVE HAD THE CAR FREEZE UP ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF INTERSECTIONS. WHEN I TRY AND ACCELERATE I'M STUCK AS IF I'M NEUTRAL AND HEAR THE ENGINE REVVING AND FINALLY WILL VIOLENTLY LIKE POP INTO GEAR. IT'S MADE ME HAVE A LOT OF SAFETY ISSUES FOR MYSELF AND CHILDREN. IT'S VERY FRUSTRATING AND PROBLEMATIC. WITH ALL THESE THINGS HAPPENING THE TRANSMISSION NOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS APPEARED, THEREFORE MAKING IT TREMENDOUSLY DIFFICULT NEAR IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO HAVE IT PROPERLY DIAGNOSED USING SCANNER AND COMPUTER READER. EVERY REPAIR SHOP HAS GIVEN DIFFERENT "FINDINGS" AFTER ONLY A DRIVE AROUND THE BLOCK. IT'S A NIGHTMARE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/8/2016 - GARDENA, CA
FROM A STOPPED POSITION, TRYING TO TAKE OFF CAR ACTS AS IF I'M NEUTRAL AND THEN WILL SUDDENLY JERK INTO GEAR. THE AUTOMATIC HEAR SHIFTS ARE ROUGH AND DELAYED. THERE'S VERY LITTLE POWER OR STRUGGLE TO REGISTER WHEN APPLYING GAS. WHEN ON FWY ESPECIALLY WHEN IN SLOW MOVING TRAFFIC THERE IS A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION AND SLIPPING, ROUGH GEAR SHIFTS BOTH UP AND DOWN. THEN THE SCARY PART IS WHEN DRIVING WITH MY 2 LITTLE GIRLS AND IN REGULAR OR HEAVY TRAFFIC AND MAKING TURNS, ESPECIALLY LEFT, I HAVE HAD THE CAR FREEZE UP ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF INTERSECTIONS. WHEN I TRY AND ACCELERATE I'M STUCK AS IF I'M NEUTRAL AND HEAR THE ENGINE REVVING AND FINALLY WILL VIOLENTLY LIKE POP INTO GEAR. IT'S MADE ME HAVE A LOT OF SAFETY ISSUES FOR MYSELF AND CHILDREN. IT'S VERY FRUSTRATING AND PROBLEMATIC. WITH ALL THESE THINGS HAPPENING THE TRANSMISSION NOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS APPEARED, THEREFORE MAKING IT TREMENDOUSLY DIFFICULT NEAR IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO HAVE IT PROPERLY DIAGNOSED USING SCANNER AND COMPUTER READER. EVERY REPAIR SHOP HAS GIVEN DIFFERENT "FINDINGS" AFTER ONLY A DRIVE AROUND THE BLOCK. IT'S A NIGHTMARE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/5/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE INDICATORS IN THE FRONT PANEL NEXT TO THE STEERING WHEEL WORK INCONSISTENTLY. THE SPEEDOMETER, THE ODOMETER, GAS GAUGE, TURN SIGNALS,AND EMERGENCY BLINKER SIGNAL WORK SPORADICALLY. THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL DOESN'T WORK AT ALL. SO IT IS DANGEROUS TO TRY TO TURN LEFT WHEN CARS ARE ADVANCING TOWARDS ME OR TO TURN RIGHT WHEN CARS ARE DRIVING BEHIND ME. THE YELLOW WARNING LIGHT FOR LOW GAS IS THE ONLY CONSISTENT WORKING SIGNAL. THIS CONDITION HAS EXISTED FOR TWO YEARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/5/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE INDICATORS IN THE FRONT PANEL NEXT TO THE STEERING WHEEL WORK INCONSISTENTLY. THE SPEEDOMETER, THE ODOMETER, GAS GAUGE, TURN SIGNALS,AND EMERGENCY BLINKER SIGNAL WORK SPORADICALLY. THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL DOESN'T WORK AT ALL. SO IT IS DANGEROUS TO TRY TO TURN LEFT WHEN CARS ARE ADVANCING TOWARDS ME OR TO TURN RIGHT WHEN CARS ARE DRIVING BEHIND ME. THE YELLOW WARNING LIGHT FOR LOW GAS IS THE ONLY CONSISTENT WORKING SIGNAL. THIS CONDITION HAS EXISTED FOR TWO YEARS.

View Details

STRUCTURE

7/18/2016 - OWENSBORO, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE FRONT WHEEL MADE A NOISE. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO SLOW DOWN BY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL AND HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE UNDER THE FRONT END BY THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD; HOWEVER, THE STEERING FAILED. THE VEHICLE DRIFTED INTO THE LEFT LANE AND INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A RETAINER WALL. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BUSHING FAILED AND THE SUBFRAME SEPARATED AND DISCONNECTED FROM THE VEHICLE. ALSO, THE STEERING FAILED AND THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE FELL APART. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/18/2016 - OWENSBORO, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE FRONT WHEEL MADE A NOISE. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO SLOW DOWN BY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL AND HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE UNDER THE FRONT END BY THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD; HOWEVER, THE STEERING FAILED. THE VEHICLE DRIFTED INTO THE LEFT LANE AND INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A RETAINER WALL. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BUSHING FAILED AND THE SUBFRAME SEPARATED AND DISCONNECTED FROM THE VEHICLE. ALSO, THE STEERING FAILED AND THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE FELL APART. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2016 - OWENSBORO, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE FRONT WHEEL MADE A NOISE. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO SLOW DOWN BY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL AND HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE UNDER THE FRONT END BY THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD; HOWEVER, THE STEERING FAILED. THE VEHICLE DRIFTED INTO THE LEFT LANE AND INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A RETAINER WALL. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BUSHING FAILED AND THE SUBFRAME SEPARATED AND DISCONNECTED FROM THE VEHICLE. ALSO, THE STEERING FAILED AND THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE FELL APART. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 190,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/30/2016 - ALBERTVILLE, AL
RECENTLY, I HAVE BEEN HAVING TROUBLE WITH MY 2005 IMPALA AND THE ABS/TRACTION SYSTEM. AT THE BEGINNING, THE "ABS, TRACTION OFF AND SERVICE TRACTION SYSTEM" LIGHTS WOULD COME ON. THE ABS AND TRACTION LIGHTS WOULD STAY ON AND THE SERVICE TRACTION WAS INTERMITTENT. THE CAR ALSO MAKES A LOUD "DINGING" SOUND WHEN THE LIGHTS COME ON. WHEN I WOULD MAKE A TURN, THE CAR WOULD ALSO MAKE A GRINDING SOUND AND THE SERVICE TRACTION LIGHT WOULD COME BACK ON. EVENTUALLY, THE TRACTION BEGAN KICKING IN WHEN IT WAS NOT SUPPOSE TO AND THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP PROPERLY. THIS OF COURSE WAS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM AND FOUND COMPLAINTS UPON COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME PROBLEM. I CONTACTED GM AND THEY TOLD ME THEY NEVER HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM WHICH I FIND HARD TO BELIEVE. I HAVE SPENT AN ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF TIME AND MONEY TRYING TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP WANTED ALMOST $4,000 FOR REPAIRS. I THEN TOOK THE CAR TO A VERY REPUTABLE REPAIR SHOP AND THEY, LIKE TWO OTHER SHOPS I CHECKED WITH, TOLD ME THEY HAVE SEEN THIS NUMEROUS TIMES IN THESE CARS. THEY ATTEMPTED TO FIX THE PROBLEM BUT THE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. I SPENT $2,000 HAVING THE WHEEL HUBS, ABS HARNESSES AND BRAKE PRESSURE MODULATOR VALVE REPLACED. THE LIGHTS, ALTHOUGH INTERMITTENT, ARE STILL COMING ON! SOMETIMES IT IS WHEN I TURN THE CAR ON, BACK UP OR EVEN JUST DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. THIS CAR ONLY HAS 77,000 MILES ON IT AND I FEEL I SHOULD NOT BE HAVING THIS PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD TO TAKE IT BACK TWICE AND THEY ARE STILL ATTEMPTING TO FIND THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. THIS IS THE ONLY MAJOR PROBLEM I HAVE HAD WITH THIS CAR. ANY ASSISTANCE YOU COULD GIVE ME WOULD BE APPRECIATED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/25/2016 - KENSINGTON, MD
I WAS ACCELERATING AND MERGING ONTO A ROAD AND JUST GOT INTO THE MIDDLE LANE. SUDDENLY THE CAR KEPT ACCELERATING EVEN THOUGH I HAD STOPPED PRESSING THE PEDAL. THE ENGINE WAS REVVING AND THE CAR GOT UP TO 70 MPH IN A 55 ZONE. THE BRAKES DID NOT SEEM TO HELP SLOW THE CAR. IN A PANIC I SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND WAS ABLE TO PULL ONTO THE SHOULDER AND STOP THE CAR. EVEN WHEN I WAS IN PARK, THE ENGINE WAS STILL REVVING. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTED IT ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT. IT DID NOT SEEM TO HAVE ANY PROBLEMS ON THE WAY HOME AFTER THAT. IT WAS AN EXTREMELY SCARY AND DANGEROUS SITUATION AS THERE WERE CARS VERY CLOSE TO ME. I NOTICED THAT MY FLOOR MAT WAS MUCH HIGHER THAN USUAL AND WAS UNDER THE ACCELERATOR. I DON'T KNOW IF THAT COULD HAVE CONTRIBUTED TO THE PROBLEM. I DO OFTEN USE CRUISE CONTROL. I CANNOT REMEMBER IF IT WAS ON AT THE TIME AND I CANNOT REMEMBER IF I WAS ACCELERATING USING THE STEERING WHEEL BUTTON. I DO NOT BELIEVE I WAS AT THE TIME BUT THE CRUISE CONTROL LIKELY WAS ON. ALL I REMEMBER IS IT GOING OUT OF CONTROL. IT SEEMED BEST TO REPORT THE SITUATION. I AM VERY GLAD NOTHING SERIOUS HAPPENED AS IT VERY WELL COULD HAVE. I MAY GET A TICKET FOR SPEEDING THOUGH. I DON'T THINK THEY WOULD EVER BELIEVE THIS HAPPENED TO ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/25/2016 - KENSINGTON, MD
I WAS ACCELERATING AND MERGING ONTO A ROAD AND JUST GOT INTO THE MIDDLE LANE. SUDDENLY THE CAR KEPT ACCELERATING EVEN THOUGH I HAD STOPPED PRESSING THE PEDAL. THE ENGINE WAS REVVING AND THE CAR GOT UP TO 70 MPH IN A 55 ZONE. THE BRAKES DID NOT SEEM TO HELP SLOW THE CAR. IN A PANIC I SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND WAS ABLE TO PULL ONTO THE SHOULDER AND STOP THE CAR. EVEN WHEN I WAS IN PARK, THE ENGINE WAS STILL REVVING. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTED IT ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT. IT DID NOT SEEM TO HAVE ANY PROBLEMS ON THE WAY HOME AFTER THAT. IT WAS AN EXTREMELY SCARY AND DANGEROUS SITUATION AS THERE WERE CARS VERY CLOSE TO ME. I NOTICED THAT MY FLOOR MAT WAS MUCH HIGHER THAN USUAL AND WAS UNDER THE ACCELERATOR. I DON'T KNOW IF THAT COULD HAVE CONTRIBUTED TO THE PROBLEM. I DO OFTEN USE CRUISE CONTROL. I CANNOT REMEMBER IF IT WAS ON AT THE TIME AND I CANNOT REMEMBER IF I WAS ACCELERATING USING THE STEERING WHEEL BUTTON. I DO NOT BELIEVE I WAS AT THE TIME BUT THE CRUISE CONTROL LIKELY WAS ON. ALL I REMEMBER IS IT GOING OUT OF CONTROL. IT SEEMED BEST TO REPORT THE SITUATION. I AM VERY GLAD NOTHING SERIOUS HAPPENED AS IT VERY WELL COULD HAVE. I MAY GET A TICKET FOR SPEEDING THOUGH. I DON'T THINK THEY WOULD EVER BELIEVE THIS HAPPENED TO ME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds