Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 595 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (6) Exterior Lighting (49) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (35) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (327) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (48) Steering (58) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (7) Structure (10) Visibility (14)
Engine (29) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (2) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (16) Tires (6) Wheels (4)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/22/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
WHEN I AM DRIVING MY VEHICLE THE GEAR SHIFT THE STICK ON IT'S OWN.I HEAR A POP SOUND WHEN IT HAPPENS.THIS HAPPENS WHEN I AM IN MOTION AND DRIVING THE CAR..I HAVE ALREADY TAKEN MY CAR IN FOR A RECALL LAST YEAR TO REPLACE A IGNITION SWITCH.IT HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR A FEW WEEKS AND I THOUGHT IT WAS NORMAL,UNTIL I WAS IN TRAFFIC AND IT MOVED ON IT'S OWN. ALSO LAST YEAR I HAD TO HAVE THE FUEL INJECTOR REPLACED ON MY CAR.IT HAD BEEN LEAKING GAS FOR A WHILE.THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE IT FIXED.THERE WEREN'T ANY RECALLS DURING THE TIME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/22/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
WHEN I AM DRIVING MY VEHICLE THE GEAR SHIFT THE STICK ON IT'S OWN.I HEAR A POP SOUND WHEN IT HAPPENS.THIS HAPPENS WHEN I AM IN MOTION AND DRIVING THE CAR..I HAVE ALREADY TAKEN MY CAR IN FOR A RECALL LAST YEAR TO REPLACE A IGNITION SWITCH.IT HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR A FEW WEEKS AND I THOUGHT IT WAS NORMAL,UNTIL I WAS IN TRAFFIC AND IT MOVED ON IT'S OWN. ALSO LAST YEAR I HAD TO HAVE THE FUEL INJECTOR REPLACED ON MY CAR.IT HAD BEEN LEAKING GAS FOR A WHILE.THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE IT FIXED.THERE WEREN'T ANY RECALLS DURING THE TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2016 - ASHDOWN, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND CRASHED INTO A CEMENT BARRIER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED FROM THE SCENE TO A RESTAURANT PARKING LOT. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2016 - NEW ALBANY, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED DIFFICULTY TURNING THE KEY IN THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT OPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFCATURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/21/2016 - DUNKERTON, IA
175555 MILES FUEL SMELL AND FUEL LOSS WHEN CAR IS RUNNING. ROUGH START, SOME MISSING. FUEL FILTER FAILED AT FILTER INLET SPRAYING GAS ONTO UNDERBODY OF CAR SO DIDN'T SEE THE FUEL SPILL. REPLACED FILTER AND O RINGS.SQUEALING BELT SOUND AT START UP. SERPENTINE BELT TENSIONER BROKE, REPLACED TENSIONER AND BELT. NO CHECK ENGINE WARNINGS, NO ELECTRONIC GAUGES I HAVE THE BASIC IMPALA MODEL. WATCHED THE FUEL GAUGE DROP BY LINES WHILE DRIVING AND SMELLED GAS WHEN SHUT OFF CAR. FIRE HAZARD, AND ENGINE FAILURE IF THE BELT BROKE COMPLETELY..ANOTHER 300$ SPENT

View Details

ENGINE

4/21/2016 - DUNKERTON, IA
175555 MILES FUEL SMELL AND FUEL LOSS WHEN CAR IS RUNNING. ROUGH START, SOME MISSING. FUEL FILTER FAILED AT FILTER INLET SPRAYING GAS ONTO UNDERBODY OF CAR SO DIDN'T SEE THE FUEL SPILL. REPLACED FILTER AND O RINGS.SQUEALING BELT SOUND AT START UP. SERPENTINE BELT TENSIONER BROKE, REPLACED TENSIONER AND BELT. NO CHECK ENGINE WARNINGS, NO ELECTRONIC GAUGES I HAVE THE BASIC IMPALA MODEL. WATCHED THE FUEL GAUGE DROP BY LINES WHILE DRIVING AND SMELLED GAS WHEN SHUT OFF CAR. FIRE HAZARD, AND ENGINE FAILURE IF THE BELT BROKE COMPLETELY..ANOTHER 300$ SPENT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/30/2016 - WALHALLA, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE RANDOMLY STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A SECOND DEALER WHO ALSO TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE, AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT WAS TO DETERMINE IF THE VEHICLE WOULD BE DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/21/2016 - OXNARD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO START ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/21/2016 - MIDDLETON, WI
2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE STOPS AND STEERING LOCKS UP WHILE DRIVING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE AT A STOP SIGN. THE MANIFOLD GASKET, THERMOSTAT, ABS MODULE AND IGNITION WERE REPLACED OVER A PERIOD OF EIGHT YEARS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

3/21/2016 - MIDDLETON, WI
2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE STOPS AND STEERING LOCKS UP WHILE DRIVING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE AT A STOP SIGN. THE MANIFOLD GASKET, THERMOSTAT, ABS MODULE AND IGNITION WERE REPLACED OVER A PERIOD OF EIGHT YEARS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds