Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 595 complaints filed for the 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (6) Exterior Lighting (49) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (35) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (327) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (48) Steering (58) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Seat Belts (7) Structure (10) Visibility (14)
Engine (29) Fuel System Other (4) Seats (2) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (34) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (16) Tires (6) Wheels (4)
Equipment (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/20/2015 - MY JULIET, TN
HAD TO RECENTLY REPLACE FUEL EJECTION AND OTHER PART FOR FUEL LEAKING AND FUMES OVERCOMING IN CAR. NOW THE SPEEDOMETER, FUEL AND TACK GAUGE STOPPED WORKING. GM HAS NOT RECALLED THIS ON THE IMPALA AND THEY ARE AWARE THIS IS A PROBLEM BUT WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. THESE ISSUES HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD FOR MY DAUGHTER AND CANNOT DRIVE THE CAR. EVERY CHEVY DEALERSHIP AND PARTS STORES THINK THERE IS A RECALL UNTIL THEY LOOK IT UP. THATS HOW MUCH THEY ARE AWARE OF THE ISSUES. ONCE AGAIN ILL HAVE TO PAY APPROX. 300.00 JUST FOR THE PART. DORMAN OE SOLUTIONS INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. HOW CAN WE STOP GM FROM GETTING AWAY WITH THIS! WE NEED HELP!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/20/2015 - MY JULIET, TN
HAD TO RECENTLY REPLACE FUEL EJECTION AND OTHER PART FOR FUEL LEAKING AND FUMES OVERCOMING IN CAR. NOW THE SPEEDOMETER, FUEL AND TACK GAUGE STOPPED WORKING. GM HAS NOT RECALLED THIS ON THE IMPALA AND THEY ARE AWARE THIS IS A PROBLEM BUT WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. THESE ISSUES HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD FOR MY DAUGHTER AND CANNOT DRIVE THE CAR. EVERY CHEVY DEALERSHIP AND PARTS STORES THINK THERE IS A RECALL UNTIL THEY LOOK IT UP. THATS HOW MUCH THEY ARE AWARE OF THE ISSUES. ONCE AGAIN ILL HAVE TO PAY APPROX. 300.00 JUST FOR THE PART. DORMAN OE SOLUTIONS INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. HOW CAN WE STOP GM FROM GETTING AWAY WITH THIS! WE NEED HELP!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2015 - DUNKERTON, IA
THE HI BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAILED, WHICH MADE THE LO BEAM HEADLIGHTS GO OUT WHEN THE HI BEAM WAS ENGAGED. REPAIR SERVICE FOUND A CORRODED "PIN" IN A MULTI-PIN ELECTRICAL CONNECTION.THIS IS A "PROTECTED" CONNECTION, IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, IT HAS BEEN CORRODED FOR A VERY LONG TIME ACCORDING TO THE ELECTRIC SERVICEMAN. HE INFORMED ME THE OTHER "PINS" WILL FAIL ALSO EFFECTING THE WIPERS AND OTHER "NECESSARY" SAFETY COMPONENTS, BECAUSE OF THE CONDITION OF THIS CONNECTOR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/18/2015 - DUNKERTON, IA
THE HI BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAILED, WHICH MADE THE LO BEAM HEADLIGHTS GO OUT WHEN THE HI BEAM WAS ENGAGED. REPAIR SERVICE FOUND A CORRODED "PIN" IN A MULTI-PIN ELECTRICAL CONNECTION.THIS IS A "PROTECTED" CONNECTION, IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT, IT HAS BEEN CORRODED FOR A VERY LONG TIME ACCORDING TO THE ELECTRIC SERVICEMAN. HE INFORMED ME THE OTHER "PINS" WILL FAIL ALSO EFFECTING THE WIPERS AND OTHER "NECESSARY" SAFETY COMPONENTS, BECAUSE OF THE CONDITION OF THIS CONNECTOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2015 - MASSENA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL WAS TURNED LEFT OR RIGHT, IT MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHEN THE IGNITION KEY WAS TURNED TO THE ON POSITION, A BURNING ODOR EMITTED INSIDE THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/15/2015 - MASSENA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 CHEVROLET IMPALA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL WAS TURNED LEFT OR RIGHT, IT MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHEN THE IGNITION KEY WAS TURNED TO THE ON POSITION, A BURNING ODOR EMITTED INSIDE THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V400000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/9/2015 - BREWER, ME
FUEL, TACHOMETER, SPEEDOMETER, ODOMETER FAILED / NO LONGER WORKING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/20/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
INTERMITTENT NO CRANK, NO START. PROBLEM IS KNOWN PROBLEM WITH IGNITION SWITCH, TUMBLER, AND DEFECTIVE "PASSLOCK SYSTEM". DEALERS CHARGE EXCESSIVE PROCES FOR REPAIRS THAT MAY OR MAY NOT ACTUALLY FIX THE PROBLEM. IT SEEMS TO BE A BAD DESIGN ISSUE, AND IS RELATED TO THE DEFECTIVE IGNITION RECALLS. THERE IS A FAIRLY EXTENSIVE COMPLAINT LIST, AND THE MFR CERTAINLY HAS DATA REFLECTING THAT THE PROBLEM COVERS MULTI MODEL AND YEARS OF GM CARS AND TRUCKS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/20/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
INTERMITTENT NO CRANK, NO START. PROBLEM IS KNOWN PROBLEM WITH IGNITION SWITCH, TUMBLER, AND DEFECTIVE "PASSLOCK SYSTEM". DEALERS CHARGE EXCESSIVE PROCES FOR REPAIRS THAT MAY OR MAY NOT ACTUALLY FIX THE PROBLEM. IT SEEMS TO BE A BAD DESIGN ISSUE, AND IS RELATED TO THE DEFECTIVE IGNITION RECALLS. THERE IS A FAIRLY EXTENSIVE COMPLAINT LIST, AND THE MFR CERTAINLY HAS DATA REFLECTING THAT THE PROBLEM COVERS MULTI MODEL AND YEARS OF GM CARS AND TRUCKS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/24/2015 - ORO VALLEY, AZ
I BOUGHT THIS CAR IN 2006. ONE YEAR LATER I NOTICED MY SPEEDOMETER WAS NOT WORKING. I SEARCHED ON LINE AND FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SPEEDOMETER FAILING TO WORK. RIGHT AFTER THAT THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE AND THE FUEL INDICATOR STOPPED WORKING. I WENT ON LINE AND FOUND THAT CHEVY TRUCKS HAD BEEN RECALLED FOR CLUSTER FAILURES. I TOOK MY CAR IN TO A CHEVY DEALER AND WAS TOLD I'D HAVE TO PAY $700+ FOR THE REPAIR. THE CLUSTER HASN'T WORKED ALL THESE YEARS AND I'VE HAD SEVERAL INSTANCES OF THE CAR ALMOST OVERHEATING, THE CAR RUNNING OUT OF GAS, AND BEING PULLED OVER FOR EXCEEDING THE SPEED LIMIT BECAUSE THE CLUSTER DIDN'T WORK. HOW CAN GM & CHEVY SAY THEY STAND BY THEIR PRODUCTS AND NOT RECOGNIZE DEFICIENCIES IN THEIR OWN PRODUCTS UNLESS IT MAKES NATIONAL NEWS. I'VE HELD ONTO THIS CAR AND HAVE MAINTAINED WELL SO I CAN BRAG ABOUT LONGEVITY BECAUSE OF THE CARE I TAKE. I CANNOT BRAG ABOUT GM/CHEVROLET CUSTOMER SERVICE OR RESPONSIVENESS, OR CUSTOMER LOYALTY. AFTER YEARS OF BUYING WELL MADE JAPANESE CARS I BOUGHT AMERICAN. NOW I WONDER WHY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds