Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1063 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (363) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (28)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (22) Power Train (561) Steering (58) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electrical System (58) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (4) Structure (19) Visibility (28)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (7) Suspension (79) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (66) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (21) Tires (12) Wheels (30)
Engine And Engine Cooling (79) Latches Locks Linkages (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 118
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2017 - BANDON, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE KEY FELL ONTO THE FLOOR FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED THREE DIFFERENT TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 157,000. UPDATED 11/02/17

View Details

TIRES

9/18/2017 - GRAY COURT, SC
CAPITOL PRECISION TRAC II TIRES. 265/70R17 JENJ FTP 4411. TIRE BLOWOUT WITH APP 15,000 MILES ON TIRE. ANOTHER TIRE SEPARATED WITH APP 22000 MILES ON TIRE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/23/2017 - OPELOUSAS, LA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT STERLING DODGE LOCATED AT: 5504 I-49 FRONTAGE RD, OPELOUSAS, LA 70570, PHONE NUMBER (337) 942-1241, WAS INFORMED OF THE ISSUE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/16/2017 - SEATTLE, WA
"TAKATA RECALL" ON AUGUST 3, 2017 IN RESPONSE TO A RECALL NOTICE FROM CAR PROS RENTON CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE RAM TO HAVE THE PASSENGER AIR BAG REPLACED I TOOK MY TRUCK TO THEIR SHOP. WITHIN MINUTES OF LEAVING THE DEALERSHIP AFTER THE AIR BAG WAS ALLEGEDLY INSTALLED PROPERLY THE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY INSTRUCTED ME TO BRING IT BACK. I RESCHEDULED THE RETURN FOR AUGUST 11, 2017. I RETURNED THE TRUCK AT &:30 AM AUGUST 11, 2017. I EAS TOLD I WOULD NEED TO PAY $140 FOR A DIAGNOSIS TO DETERMINE WHY THEIR INSTALLATION FAILED. A NUMBER OF HOURS LATER THEY CALLED AND SAID THEY HAD DETERMINED THE PROBLEM. WHEN I RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY PRESENTED ME WITH 11AUG17 AND INFORMED ME IT WOULD COST ANOTHER $289.95 TO REPLACE A SWITCH IN THE NEWLY INSTALLED, RECALLED AIR BAG. I THOUGHT THE PURPOSE OF THE RECALL WAS TO PROTECT PASSENGERS FROM INJUTY OR DEATH FROM DEFECTIVE PRODUCTS MADE BY TAKATA AND INSTALLED BY CHRYSLER AND I BELIEVE MY PASSENGERS ARE STILL AT EQUAL RISK AS THEY WERE BEFORE THE RECALL. ON THE 11AUG17 IVOICE WAS A LIST OF 9 ITEMS THAT ALLEGEDLY NEEDED PROMPT ATTENTION. NONE OF THESE APPEARED WEEKS BEFORE ON 16AUG17 AND MOST HAD ALREADY BEEN ADDRESSED BY OTHERS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/4/2017 - HANAHAN, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE REAR END LOCKED UP AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND NOTICED THAT THE GEAR OIL WAS LEAKING, AND THE BEARINGS WERE FRACTURED AND FELL APART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER (RICK HENDRICK DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM LOCATED AT 1468 SAVANNAH HWY, CHARLESTON, SC 29407; (843) 352-6931) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT, REAR AXLE ASSEMBLY, DIFFERENTIAL FLUID, LUBRICATION, AND THE RT SEALER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE CONTACT HAD TO PAY $3,874 FOR THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 800-334-9200 AND 866-220-6765 AND STATED THAT THEY NEEDED THE INVOICE AND THE ACTUAL STATEMENT THAT WAS PAID FOR THE REPAIR IN ORDER TO PROVIDE REIMBURSEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,238.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/3/2017 - OPELOUSAS, LA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT CALLED STERLING AUTOMOTIVE GROUP AT (337) 942-3516 WHERE AN APPOINTMENT WAS SCHEDULED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO STERLING BUICK GMC (5853 INTERSTATE 49 SOUTH SERVICE RD, OPELOUSAS, LA 70570) AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/31/2017 - YAKIMA, WA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000, 15V313000, AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS AND POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER YAKIMA CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (LOCATED AT 2300 GOODMAN RD, UNION GAP, WA 98903; (509) 248-1300) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/31/2017 - YAKIMA, WA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000, 15V313000, AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS AND POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER YAKIMA CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (LOCATED AT 2300 GOODMAN RD, UNION GAP, WA 98903; (509) 248-1300) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/28/2017 - LONG GROVE, IA
RECALL S43/NHTSA16V-352 I CALLED KIMBERLY CAR CITY IN DAVENPORT IOWA AND THE SCHEDULED ME FOR REPAIRS ON 7/5/17 BUT CALLED BACK A FEW WEEKS LATER SAYING THEY DIDN'T HAVE RIGHT PART, AND WOULD ADVISE. THEN THEY RESCHEDULED FOR 7/21/2017 BUT WHEN I ARRIVED AND WAITED FOR APPROX. 50 MIN., THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T HAVE RIGHT PART AND I WAS PUT AT BOTTOM OF A LONG WAITING LIST! THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS DEALER HAS DONE THIS TO ME ON RECALLS! THEY KNOW MY VIN SO I DO NOT UNDERSTAND HOW THEY CAN SCHEDULE ME WHEN THEY DON'T HAVE THE PART. PLEASE HELP ME !

View Details

WHEELS

7/9/2017 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
2005 DODGE RAM 1500 TRUCK 4X2 QUAD, WAS IN MOTION AT POSTED HIGHWAY SPEED, WITH MINIMAL WIND PRESENT. AS AN EYEWITNESS & OWNER OF THE VEHICLE, THE DRIVER SUDDENLY LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, ROLLING THE TRUCK 4 -5 TIMES BEFORE LANDING ON ITS TOP (UPSIDE DOWN). DAMAGE THROUGHOUT WAS SEVERE AND EXTENSIVE. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND BOTH OCCUPANTS WERE WEARING THEIR SAFETY BELTS. FRONT PASSENGER HEAD REST RIPPED AWAY FROM SEAT AND WAS FOUND ABOUT 100 YARDS AWAY FROM ACCIDENT SCENE, STUCK IN A BUSH. RIGHT REAR TIRE (PASSENGER SIDE), SNAPPED OFF AND BROKE AWAY FROM THE REAR AXEL. TIRE WAS FOUND MORE THAN 100 YARDS AWAY FROM THE TOTALED VEHICLE & TIRE WAS NOT BLOWN OUT. CONCERNS ABOUT 2 SAFETY RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE IS THE REASON FOR SUBMITTING COMPLAINT: RECALL INVOLVING A PROBLEM/DEFECT WITH THE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT, AND RECALL CONCERNING A REAR AXEL PI-ON NUT COMING LOOSE WHILE IN MOTION & CAUSING REAR WHEEL TO COMPLETELY BREAK AWAY FROM VEHICLE. DEFECT COULD SUDDENLY CAUSE DRIVER TO LOSE COMPLETE CONTROL, CAUSING VEHICLE TO CRASH AND/OR VIOLENTLY ROLLOVER. THIS VEHICLE WAS SERVICED FOR BOTH RECALLS, TWICE. HOWEVER, IN THIS ROLLOVER CRASH THAT OCCURRED, THE REAR WHEEL WITH BRAKE SYSTEM STILL ATTACHED, COMPLETELY SNAPPED OFF THE REAR AXEL. ALSO, THE INSURANCE COMPANY DID AN ESTIMATE TO REPAIR VEHICLE, BUT DID NOT INCLUDE OR MENTION A REPAIR CHARGE FOR THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL OR THE REAR AXEL. THE TAIL GATE WAS ALSO RIPPED OFF OF THE TRUCK AND WAS FOUND ABOUT 75 YARDS AWAY FROM THE TOTALED VEHICLE. NO FATALITIES RESULTED FROM THIS HORRIFIC CRASH, BUT MY SON WHO WAS THE PASSENGER, DID SUFFER SERIOUS AND PERMANENT INJURIES, WHICH INCLUDE A HEAD INJURY (TBI), MULTIPLE FRACTURES TO HIS CTL-SPINE, INJURED RIGHT FOOT, LEG AND HIP, AND ABRASIONS AND DEEP SCRAPES THROUGHOUT HIS BODY. THE DRIVER, MY SONS GIRLFRIEND, SUFFERED SCRAPES AND BRUISING, BUT NO SERIOUS INJURY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 118
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds