Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 311 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (80) Steering (28) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (2) Structure (12) Visibility (27)
Engine (22) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (25) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (9) Tires (8) Wheels (16)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2014 - DALLAS, TX
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, AND HAVE ALWAYS KEPT MY TRUCK IN EXCELLENT PHYSICAL AND MECHANICAL CONDITION, AND THERE ARE NO INCOMPLETE OR UNPERFORMED RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INDICATIONS OF ANY KIND OF MECHANICAL ISSUES WITH THIS TRUCK UNTIL SUNDAY, 6/22/14, APPROX. 6PM. I WAS DRIVING AT APPROX. 35-40 MPH ALONG A LOCAL STREET, APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION, WHEN IT SOUNDED LIKE A BLOWOUT, BUT THE TRUCK CONTINUED TO DRIVE INTO AN INTERSECTION. THIS WAS FOLLOWED BY WHINING AND BANGING SOUNDS, WHICH AS IT TURNS OUT, WAS A THE DRIVE SHAFT TEARING UP THE UNDERSIDE OF MY TRUCK. I MADE IT THRU THE INTERSECTION, AND PART-WAY INTO A PARKING LOT DRIVEWAY, WHEN THE 2 PIECES OF MY DRIVESHAFT FLEW OFF AND THE ENTIRE BACK END LOCKED UP, WITH MY TRUCK BLOCKING TRAFFIC. I AM DISABLED, AND WAS FORTUNATELY NOT INJURED, AND NO ONE WAS HIT BY THE FLYING PIECES OF THE DRIVE SHAFT AS THEY FLEW OUT. THE TRUCK WAS INSPECTED BY A GEICO ADJUSTER, WHO INDICATED HE WAS WELL TRAINED WITH TRUCK PARTS AND MECHANICAL, AND THAT ONE OF THE PINS HAD BACKED OUT OF THE 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 DRIVE SHAFT INTO THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL, CAUSING SPIDER GEARS TO LOCK UP AND THE DRIVESHAFT TO TEAR AWAY FROM THE REAR AXLE. I HAVE A COPY OF THE GEICO REPORT. THE ADJUSTERS ASSESSMENT WAS CONFIRMED ALSO BY THE REPAIR CENTER, WHO MENTIONED THAT THEY HAD SEEN THIS SAME ISSUE BEFORE. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS MECHANICAL FAILURE; THE VEHICLE APPEARS TO KEEP RUNNING, BUT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGERS ARE IN A VEHICLE THAT ULTIMATELY CANNOT BE CONTROLLED, AND THE DRIVE SHAFT COMES INTO 2 PIECES AND FLIES OUT, POTENTIALLY INJURING BY-STANDERS AND OTHER PROPERTY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

6/30/2014 - NORTH APOLLO, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE REAR DRIVESHAFT BECAME DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT AND REAR END NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,020.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/28/2014 - CEDAR GROVE, NC
WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON SECONDARY ROAD, HEARD A NOISE, THEN A THUMP. SHE WAS DOING AROUND 40-45 MPH, WAS ABLE TO PUT OVER TO SIDE OF ROAD WITH NO INCIDENT. I ARRIVED TO SEE WHAT HAD BROKE, AND I DISCOVERED THE DRIVESHAFT HAD SEPARATED FROM THE REAR AXEL. NOTHING HAD BROKE, BUT RATHER THE NUT THAT CONNECTS THE DRIVESHAFT TO THE REAR AXEL HAD LOOSENED AND CAME OFF. CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE REAR END.

View Details

ENGINE

6/3/2014 - VALPARAISO, IN
VEHICLE STALLS AT LOW SPEED ACCELERATION OR STOPPING. VEHICLE WILL STALL UPON FORWARD MOVEMENT, WHICH CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO STALL IN AN INTERSECTION AND NEARLY HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. VEHICLE WILL ALSO STALL WHILE STOPPING SOMETIMES AS WELL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/2/2014 - ALVARADO, TX
2005 DODGE RAM 1500 DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH ON AN INTERSTATE WHEN SUDDENLY, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD NOISE. IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE FAILURE THE DODGE DRIVER WAS ABLE TO SAFELY COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE EMERGENCY LANE. THE DODGE VEHICLE LOST ITS DRIVE SHAFT WHICH BOUNCED DOWN THE ROAD AND MADE CONTACT WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION: PINION SHAFT

5/30/2014 - CHARLESTON , WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THERE WAS A LOUD ABNORMAL NOISE FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE PINION NUT HAD FRACTURED CAUSING THE DRIVE SHAFT TO FRACTURE AS WELL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

5/29/2014 - RENO, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD BOLTS WERE FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

5/29/2014 - RENO, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD BOLTS WERE FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/7/2014 - MIDLAND, TX
I HAVE A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 CREW CAB WITH THE 4.7 AND 4X4. TODAY WHILE DRIVING WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET AT 75 THE ACCELERATOR STUCK AND I HAD TO TURN THE KEY OFF TO STOP THE TRUCK. THE TRUCK HAS LESS THAN 54,000 MILES ON IT. I DON'T HAVE FLOOR MATS IN THE TRUCK AND ONCE THE TRUCK WAS STOPPED I CHECKED UNDER THE HOOD AND THE CABLE WAS TIGHTLY CONNECTED BUT LOSE ON THE THROTTLE BODY AND THE SAME ON THE GAS PEDAL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/7/2014 - MIDLAND, TX
I HAVE A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 CREW CAB WITH THE 4.7 AND 4X4. TODAY WHILE DRIVING WITH CRUISE CONTROL SET AT 75 THE ACCELERATOR STUCK AND I HAD TO TURN THE KEY OFF TO STOP THE TRUCK. THE TRUCK HAS LESS THAN 54,000 MILES ON IT. I DON'T HAVE FLOOR MATS IN THE TRUCK AND ONCE THE TRUCK WAS STOPPED I CHECKED UNDER THE HOOD AND THE CABLE WAS TIGHTLY CONNECTED BUT LOSE ON THE THROTTLE BODY AND THE SAME ON THE GAS PEDAL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds