Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 351 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (33) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (104) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (3) Structure (13) Visibility (27)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (5) Suspension (27) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (11) Tires (8) Wheels (17)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/23/2014 - TWELVE MILE, IN
SON WAS DRIVING SOUTH ON ST. RD. 25 JUST NORTH OF LOGANSPORT IN. ,IT WAS RAINING AND THE TRUCK HYDROPLANED AND WENT OFF THE ROAD AND STRUCK A TELEPHONE POLE HEAD ON AT ABOUT 30 MPH,TOTALING THE TRUCK. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

10/9/2014 - CORAM, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE 1500 RAM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, A LOUD BOOMING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE BEFORE THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT HAD FAILED. THE DRIVE SHAFT WAS REPLACED AND THE FAILURE WAS REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,897.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/9/2014 - CORAM, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE 1500 RAM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, A LOUD BOOMING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE BEFORE THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT HAD FAILED. THE DRIVE SHAFT WAS REPLACED AND THE FAILURE WAS REMEDIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,897.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/5/2014 - WILSONVILLE, OR
THE 2005 DODGE RAM AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY IN A CRASH INTO A 6 FOOT BRICK COLUMN AND SUBSEQUENT IMPACT WITH A TRAVEL TRAILER 4 FEET BEYOND THE FENCE. THE POINT OF IMPACT WAS THE CENTER OF THE FRONT BUMPER AND OCCURRED WITH SUFFICIENT FORCE TO PUSH THE HOOD THROUGH THE WINDSHIELD. THE DRIVER WAS WEARING THE SEATBELT, BUT SUFFERED A CRACKED STERNUM AND CONCUSSION BY IMPACT WITH THE STEERING WHEEL. FROM THE POLICE TRAFFIC CRASH REPORT: A 2012 KIA FAILED TO STOP AT A STOP SIGN AT THE INTERSECTION OF COURTSIDE DRIVE AND TOWN CENTER LOOP E IN WILSONVILLE, OR. THE VEHICLE PROCEEDED THROUGH THE STOP SIGN AT COURTSIDE DRIVE AND ONTO TOWN CENTER LOOP WHERE IT CAME INTO THE PATH OF A NORTH BOUND 2005 DODGE RAM. THE TWO VEHICLES COLLIDED WITH EACH OTHER IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NORTHBOUND LANE OF TOWN CENTER LOOP EAST. THE DODGE RAM CONTINUED NORTH BOUND THROUGH THE INTERSECTION, THEN OFF THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD IMPACTING A FENCE AND BRICK COLUMN OWNED AND MAINTAINED BY THE CITY OF WILSONVILLE. THE DODGE RAM HAD ENOUGH MOMENTUM TO CONTINUE THROUGH THE FENCE AND 6 FOOT BRICK COLUMN AND IMPACT A 30 FOOT TRAVEL TRAILER WHICH WAS PARKED/STORED ON PRIVATE PROPERTY. BOTH THE KIA AND THE DODGE RAM HAD EXTENSIVE DAMAGE, AS DID THE TRAVEL TRAILER WHICH WAS PUSHED SIDEWAYS 2 TO 4 FEET. ALL 4 STABILIZER JACKS AND THE TONGUE JACK WERE COMPROMISED AND THE TRAILER FRAME WAS VISIBLY DAMAGED/BENT. THE INSURANCE COMPANY DETERMINED THAT THE EXTENSIVE DAMAGE TO THE 2005 DODGE RAM REQUIRED IT TO BE TOTALED, RATHER THAN REPAIRED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/30/2014 - OLATHE, KS
I PURCHASED MY 2005 DODGE RAM USED IN 2010 WITH 74,000 MILES. SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED IT THE TRUCK WOULD DIE WHEN COMING TO A STOP, NO POWER STEERING, NO POWER BRAKES. WELL I TOOK IT TO 3 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS TO TRY AND GET AN EXPLANATION AFTER I REPLACED THE IAC VALVE AND CLEANED EVERY PIECE OF THE INDUCTION SYSTEM INCLUDING ALL SENSORS AND THE THROTTLE BODY. I RESET THE ECU AND STARTED THE TRUCK AND LET IT WARM-UP FOR 10 MINUTES BEFORE MY TEST DRIVE. THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM FOR 2 DAYS THEN THE ROUGH IDLE STARTED AGAIN AND IT DIED AT THE TOP OF THE STREET. I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE FOR 3 YEARS NOW AND SOMEONE NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE I HAVE HAD 3 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS LOOK INTO THE PROBLEM AND I HAVE TRIED TO WORK IT OUT THROUGH PRIVATE MECHANICS. IN MY SEARCH FOR A RESOLUTION I HAVE A DOCUMENTED EXPENSE WELL OVER $1937 AND I STILL HAVE TO LIVE WITH THE STRESS OF KNOWING MY TRUCK COULD DIE CAUSING A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. AT THIS POINT I AM CONSIDERING SELLING THE TRUCK FOR LACK OF AN AFFORDABLE REMEDY. UPON RESEARCHING MY PROBLEM I HAVE FOUND HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR STORIES FROM PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AS I AM, PLEASE HELP US RESOLVE THIS ISSUE AND HOLD THE MANUFACTURER RESPONSIBLE FOR A POTENTIALLY FATAL ENGINEERING FLAW!

View Details

ENGINE

9/30/2014 - OLATHE, KS
I PURCHASED MY 2005 DODGE RAM USED IN 2010 WITH 74,000 MILES. SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED IT THE TRUCK WOULD DIE WHEN COMING TO A STOP, NO POWER STEERING, NO POWER BRAKES. WELL I TOOK IT TO 3 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS TO TRY AND GET AN EXPLANATION AFTER I REPLACED THE IAC VALVE AND CLEANED EVERY PIECE OF THE INDUCTION SYSTEM INCLUDING ALL SENSORS AND THE THROTTLE BODY. I RESET THE ECU AND STARTED THE TRUCK AND LET IT WARM-UP FOR 10 MINUTES BEFORE MY TEST DRIVE. THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM FOR 2 DAYS THEN THE ROUGH IDLE STARTED AGAIN AND IT DIED AT THE TOP OF THE STREET. I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE FOR 3 YEARS NOW AND SOMEONE NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE I HAVE HAD 3 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS LOOK INTO THE PROBLEM AND I HAVE TRIED TO WORK IT OUT THROUGH PRIVATE MECHANICS. IN MY SEARCH FOR A RESOLUTION I HAVE A DOCUMENTED EXPENSE WELL OVER $1937 AND I STILL HAVE TO LIVE WITH THE STRESS OF KNOWING MY TRUCK COULD DIE CAUSING A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. AT THIS POINT I AM CONSIDERING SELLING THE TRUCK FOR LACK OF AN AFFORDABLE REMEDY. UPON RESEARCHING MY PROBLEM I HAVE FOUND HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR STORIES FROM PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AS I AM, PLEASE HELP US RESOLVE THIS ISSUE AND HOLD THE MANUFACTURER RESPONSIBLE FOR A POTENTIALLY FATAL ENGINEERING FLAW!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/30/2014 - OLATHE, KS
I PURCHASED MY 2005 DODGE RAM USED IN 2010 WITH 74,000 MILES. SHORTLY AFTER I PURCHASED IT THE TRUCK WOULD DIE WHEN COMING TO A STOP, NO POWER STEERING, NO POWER BRAKES. WELL I TOOK IT TO 3 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS TO TRY AND GET AN EXPLANATION AFTER I REPLACED THE IAC VALVE AND CLEANED EVERY PIECE OF THE INDUCTION SYSTEM INCLUDING ALL SENSORS AND THE THROTTLE BODY. I RESET THE ECU AND STARTED THE TRUCK AND LET IT WARM-UP FOR 10 MINUTES BEFORE MY TEST DRIVE. THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM FOR 2 DAYS THEN THE ROUGH IDLE STARTED AGAIN AND IT DIED AT THE TOP OF THE STREET. I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE FOR 3 YEARS NOW AND SOMEONE NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE I HAVE HAD 3 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS LOOK INTO THE PROBLEM AND I HAVE TRIED TO WORK IT OUT THROUGH PRIVATE MECHANICS. IN MY SEARCH FOR A RESOLUTION I HAVE A DOCUMENTED EXPENSE WELL OVER $1937 AND I STILL HAVE TO LIVE WITH THE STRESS OF KNOWING MY TRUCK COULD DIE CAUSING A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. AT THIS POINT I AM CONSIDERING SELLING THE TRUCK FOR LACK OF AN AFFORDABLE REMEDY. UPON RESEARCHING MY PROBLEM I HAVE FOUND HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR STORIES FROM PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AS I AM, PLEASE HELP US RESOLVE THIS ISSUE AND HOLD THE MANUFACTURER RESPONSIBLE FOR A POTENTIALLY FATAL ENGINEERING FLAW!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/30/2014 - ATHENS, AL
REAR DIFFERENTIAL FAILED, CAUSED THE DRIVESHAFT TO BREAK OFF THE VEHICLE WHILE MOVING. VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY STOPPED IN ROAD. I UNDERSTAND THAT NHTSA CURRENTLY HAS AN INVESTIGATION OPEN ON THIS ISSUE, ID # PE14019.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2014 - NANCY, KY
DRIVING ON PARKWAY, 9/13/14, NOTED A HUMMING NOISE FROM REAR-END, WHEN CHECKED FOUND TO BE LEAKING AROUND PINION SEAL BEHIND DRIVE-SHAFT YOLK. WHEN CHANGING SEAL NOTED PINION NUT TO BE EXTREMELY LOOSE WHEN GOING TO REMOVE IT. REPLACED SEAL, TIGHTENED PINION NUT BACK WITHOUT ANY LOCKING PIN NOTED AND NOTED REAR-END STILL HUMMING BUT NOT AS BAD, AND NO LEAK REMAINING AT THIS TIME. FEEL POSSIBILITY THAT PINION NUT BEING LOOSE COULD HAVE FURTHER DAMAGED BEARINGS AND PINION, AND FEEL THIS COULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE. NO CRASH HAS BEEN INVOLVED OR FURTHER DAMAGE NOTED TO THIS POINT. END- WEB

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: CONTROL MODULE (TCM, PCM)

9/12/2014 - SOUTH BELOIT, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. A MECHANIC STATED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds