Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 914 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (266) Exterior Lighting (20) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (520) Steering (51) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (3) Structure (18) Visibility (28)
Engine (57) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (5) Suspension (70) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (78) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (16) Tires (10) Wheels (25)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/28/2016 - STANWOOD, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE DRIVE LINE DETACHED AND THE REAR AXLE SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN) HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2016 - OWATONNA, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CABIN FILLED UP WITH SMOKE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE HAD A HOLE IN IT THAT CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

3/21/2016 - CLARYVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILED DUE TO DEFECTIVE SENSORS. THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/18/2016 - LAWTON, OK
THE TRUCK STALLS WHEN SLOWING FOR A STOP OR IDLING AROUND A CORNER. THAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE STEERING AND BRAKES ARE LOCKED UP AT THAT POINT. WHETHER IT'S IDLING IN A TRAFFIC JAM, COMING TO A STOP, OR IDLING AROUND THE CORNER, YOU WILL SUDDENLY HAVE NO POWER BUT EVERYTHING ELSE IS ON. NOT THE ENGINE AND IT WAS SO SMOOTH THAT YOU DON'T NOTICE UNTIL YOU CAN'T BRAKE OR STEER. THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THIS YEAR MAKE AND MODEL THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I UNDERSTAND THERE WAS AN INVESTIGATION BUT IT WAS CLOSED WITHOUT RESOLUTION. CASE NUMBER EA05018. THIS IS A GROWING PROBLEM AND WE THE PEOPLE ARE SPENDING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS TO REPLACE PARTS THAT ARE JUST PART OF A TROUBLE SHOOTING ISSUE AND MOST OF US STILL HAVE THE PROBLEM. AND IT'S THE SAME FOR ALL OF US. PLEASE RELOOK AT THIS PROBLEM. IF I WERE THE ONLY ONE I COULD UNDERSTAND BUT I AM NOT. WE LOVE OUR TRUCKS BUT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. LAST NIGHT I WAS IN A DOUBLE TURN INTERSECTION WHEN IT SHUT OFF. THANKFUL I WAS IN THE OUTER LANE AND HIT THE MEDIAN AND NOT ANOTHER CAR. IF YOU READ ON CAR COMPLAINTS.COM UNDER 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 STALLS/SHUTS DOWN WHILE DRIVING, YOU WILL SEE THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND THERE ARE LOADS OF PEOPLE. THEY THINK THE REPAIR FIXES BUT IT DOES NOT AND THE ISSUE DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. IT STARTED OCCASIONALLY BUT NOW IT'S ALMOST DAILY AND MULTIPLE TIMES A DAY. PLEASE PLEASE HELP! THIS STARTED IN 2009 WHEN WE BOUGHT THE TRUCK AND HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE. NOT SURE IF PREVIOUS OWNER HAD ISSUE BUT IT MAY BE WHY IT WAS TRADED IN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/18/2016 - LAWTON, OK
THE TRUCK STALLS WHEN SLOWING FOR A STOP OR IDLING AROUND A CORNER. THAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE STEERING AND BRAKES ARE LOCKED UP AT THAT POINT. WHETHER IT'S IDLING IN A TRAFFIC JAM, COMING TO A STOP, OR IDLING AROUND THE CORNER, YOU WILL SUDDENLY HAVE NO POWER BUT EVERYTHING ELSE IS ON. NOT THE ENGINE AND IT WAS SO SMOOTH THAT YOU DON'T NOTICE UNTIL YOU CAN'T BRAKE OR STEER. THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THIS YEAR MAKE AND MODEL THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I UNDERSTAND THERE WAS AN INVESTIGATION BUT IT WAS CLOSED WITHOUT RESOLUTION. CASE NUMBER EA05018. THIS IS A GROWING PROBLEM AND WE THE PEOPLE ARE SPENDING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS TO REPLACE PARTS THAT ARE JUST PART OF A TROUBLE SHOOTING ISSUE AND MOST OF US STILL HAVE THE PROBLEM. AND IT'S THE SAME FOR ALL OF US. PLEASE RELOOK AT THIS PROBLEM. IF I WERE THE ONLY ONE I COULD UNDERSTAND BUT I AM NOT. WE LOVE OUR TRUCKS BUT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. LAST NIGHT I WAS IN A DOUBLE TURN INTERSECTION WHEN IT SHUT OFF. THANKFUL I WAS IN THE OUTER LANE AND HIT THE MEDIAN AND NOT ANOTHER CAR. IF YOU READ ON CAR COMPLAINTS.COM UNDER 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 STALLS/SHUTS DOWN WHILE DRIVING, YOU WILL SEE THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND THERE ARE LOADS OF PEOPLE. THEY THINK THE REPAIR FIXES BUT IT DOES NOT AND THE ISSUE DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. IT STARTED OCCASIONALLY BUT NOW IT'S ALMOST DAILY AND MULTIPLE TIMES A DAY. PLEASE PLEASE HELP! THIS STARTED IN 2009 WHEN WE BOUGHT THE TRUCK AND HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE. NOT SURE IF PREVIOUS OWNER HAD ISSUE BUT IT MAY BE WHY IT WAS TRADED IN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/14/2016 - ALLIANCE, OH
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN) AND 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2016 - ALLIANCE, OH
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN) AND 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

3/14/2016 - LIMA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE DRIVESHAFT DETACHED COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE THE WATER PUMP AND FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DRIVESHAFT WERE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN OF THE REPAIR PART THAT WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2016 - LIMA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE DRIVESHAFT DETACHED COMPLETELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE THE WATER PUMP AND FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DRIVESHAFT WERE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN OF THE REPAIR PART THAT WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/14/2016 - POWDER SPRINGS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ONE WEEK AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER, WHO INFORMED THAT THE REAR AXLE SHAFT EXHIBITED 1/8 OF AN INCH GROVE AND DECLINED TO PERFORM AN ADDITIONAL REPAIR RELATED TO THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds