Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 970 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (297) Exterior Lighting (20) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (543) Steering (57) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (3) Structure (19) Visibility (28)
Engine (62) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (5) Suspension (74) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (78) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (19) Tires (10) Wheels (27)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 110
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/25/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I WAS DRIVING IN THE FAR LEFT LANE AT 65MPH ON THE FREEWAY AND ALL OF A SUDDEN WITHOUT WARNING, I HEARD A LOUD BANGING NOISE AT THE BACK END OF THE TRUCK. THE BACK END OF MY TRUCK WAS BEING THROWN AROUND CAUSING ME TO ALMOST LOSE NTROL OF THE VEHICLE NEARLY CAUSING A BAD ACCIDENT. I PULLED OVER ON THE LEFT SHOULDER AND THE TRUCK CAME TO A SCREECHING STOP. I WAS PRETTY SHAKEN UP. I GOT OUT AND AT FIRST THOUGHT I BLEW A TIRE. THEN LOOKED AND THE TIRES WERE FINE ,SO THEN I LOOKED UNDERNEATH MY TRUCK AND SAW THE DRIVES HAFT CAME OUT OF THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL. I WAS NOT IN A SAFE PLACE ON THE LEFT SHOULDER, AS ITS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED FOR A TOW TRUCK. THE TOW TRUCK COULDN'T TOW AS THE REAR END WAS COMPLETELY LOCKED UP. THE CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY PATROL TOW TRUCK SHOWED UP, AND AN OFFICER HAD TO SHUT DOWN A CROWDED FREEWAY TO GET ME AND MY TRUCK OFF THE FREEWAY SAFELY. LATER IN THE DAY I RESEARCHED AND FOUND OUT ABOUT A RECALL ON THE 2005 RAM 1500. I CONTACTED THE PREVIOUS OWNER WHO WAS THE ORIGINAL OWNER, AND HE WAS NEVER NOTIFIED OF THIS PARTICULAR RECALL. I AM IN THE PROCESS OF CONTACTING DODGE TO SEE WHAT THEY ARE GOING TO DO ABOUT IT. THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR PUTTING SAFE VEHICLES ON THE ROAD. I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED AND POSSIBLY HURT OTHERS. THESE TRUCKS ARE NOT SAFE UNLESS THIS ISSUE IS FIXED. IT HAPPENS WITHOUT WARNING, SO IF YOU OWN ONE, GET IT TAKEN CARE OF RIGHT AWAY!!!

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

7/22/2016 - RIVERSIDE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A FENCE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V796000 (SUSPENSION). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/22/2016 - RIVERSIDE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A FENCE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V796000 (SUSPENSION). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/20/2016 - BROWNSVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIBRATE AND JERK VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER HOWEVER, IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HOOD

7/8/2016 - MC CONNELLSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, SMOKE APPEARED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT INTO THE CABIN. THE CONTACT MERGED THE VEHICLE TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOTIFIED; HOWEVER, THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED BY A STATE HIGHWAY EMPLOYEE. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE INSPECTED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FIREWALL INSULATION UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE HAD SEPARATED AND FELL ONTO THE EXHAUST SYSTEM, WHICH CAUSED THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 144,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/8/2016 - MC CONNELLSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, SMOKE APPEARED FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT INTO THE CABIN. THE CONTACT MERGED THE VEHICLE TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOTIFIED; HOWEVER, THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED BY A STATE HIGHWAY EMPLOYEE. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE INSPECTED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FIREWALL INSULATION UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE HAD SEPARATED AND FELL ONTO THE EXHAUST SYSTEM, WHICH CAUSED THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 144,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/8/2016 - BEND, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH OVER A POTHOLE, THE STEERING COLUMN AND FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO VIBRATE VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE BOTH THE FRONT PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE TIE RODS AND SHOCKS WERE REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWO WEEKS AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN ASSEMBLY AND OTHER RELATED COMPONENTS WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/6/2016 - ADVANCE, NC
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN), 15V313000 (AIR BAGS), AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIRS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/6/2016 - ADVANCE, NC
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN), 15V313000 (AIR BAGS), AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIRS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/28/2016 - VIOLA, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 110
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds