Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 330 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (94) Steering (28) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (2) Structure (12) Visibility (27)
Engine (23) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (27) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (10) Tires (8) Wheels (18)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

8/9/2014 - CARENCRO, LA
THIS IS AN ONGOING AND OLD PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. WHEN ATTAINING MINIMUM SPEEDS OF 40 OR 45MPH, APPLYING THE BRAKES CAUSES A VEHICLE SHUDDER. ITS ALMOST LIKE THE VEHICLE IS HOPPING. IT CAUSES OPERATOR TO BOUNCE IN SEAT AND IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS TO CONTROL. RESEARCHING PROBLEM ONLINE I HAVE DISCOVERED OTHER COMPLAINTS. REPLACING BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS SOLVES THE PROBLEM ONLY TEMPORARILY. HAVING BRAKES CHECKED AT MECHANIC DURING THIS ISSUE FAILED TO FIND FAULT, AND INDICATED AMPLE THICKNESS ON BRAKE SHOES. ISSUE HAS CAUSED A GREAT VEHICLE MAINTENANCE EXPENSE DUE TO FREQUENT BRAKE REPLACEMENTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

8/5/2014 - HALIFAX , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A GRINDING AND BANGING SOUND NEAR THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT LATER DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT SEPARATED AND EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2014 - MANHATTAN , KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER WAS MADE AWARE THAT THERE WAS SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/29/2014 - HOBBS , NM
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE TRUCK JUST STALLS FOR NO REASON. I LOSE ALL CONTROL. I ALMOST HIT A CAR. I WENT OVER THE CURB INTO SOMEONE'S YARD. I HAVE SEEN HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FROM DODGE OWNERS WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM. THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THAT MODEL. THE RPM'S JUMP AND THE TRUCK JUST DIES. ITS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE FREEWAY, ON RURAL ROADS, AND CITY STREETS. THIS IS GOING TO CAUSE SOMEBODY SERIOUS INJURY. I PARKED MY TRUCK AND STOPPED DRIVING IT BECAUSE IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

WHEELS

7/29/2014 - HOBBS , NM
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE TRUCK JUST STALLS FOR NO REASON. I LOSE ALL CONTROL. I ALMOST HIT A CAR. I WENT OVER THE CURB INTO SOMEONE'S YARD. I HAVE SEEN HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FROM DODGE OWNERS WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM. THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THAT MODEL. THE RPM'S JUMP AND THE TRUCK JUST DIES. ITS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE FREEWAY, ON RURAL ROADS, AND CITY STREETS. THIS IS GOING TO CAUSE SOMEBODY SERIOUS INJURY. I PARKED MY TRUCK AND STOPPED DRIVING IT BECAUSE IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

STEERING

7/29/2014 - HOBBS , NM
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE TRUCK JUST STALLS FOR NO REASON. I LOSE ALL CONTROL. I ALMOST HIT A CAR. I WENT OVER THE CURB INTO SOMEONE'S YARD. I HAVE SEEN HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FROM DODGE OWNERS WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM. THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THAT MODEL. THE RPM'S JUMP AND THE TRUCK JUST DIES. ITS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE FREEWAY, ON RURAL ROADS, AND CITY STREETS. THIS IS GOING TO CAUSE SOMEBODY SERIOUS INJURY. I PARKED MY TRUCK AND STOPPED DRIVING IT BECAUSE IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

7/14/2014 - WARNER , OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE EMBANKMENT AND ROLLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE BURST INTO FLAMES, WHICH WERE EXTINGUISHED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND INDICATED THAT A FRACTURED REAR AXLE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE CRASH CAUSED A FATALITY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN. ..UPDATED 09-09-14

View Details

STEERING

7/14/2014 - WARNER , OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE EMBANKMENT AND ROLLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE BURST INTO FLAMES, WHICH WERE EXTINGUISHED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND INDICATED THAT A FRACTURED REAR AXLE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE CRASH CAUSED A FATALITY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN. ..UPDATED 09-09-14

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AXLE ASSEMBLY

7/14/2014 - WARNER , OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE EMBANKMENT AND ROLLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE BURST INTO FLAMES, WHICH WERE EXTINGUISHED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND INDICATED THAT A FRACTURED REAR AXLE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE CRASH CAUSED A FATALITY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN. ..UPDATED 09-09-14

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/7/2014 - LEVITTOWN, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH THE BACK WHEELS SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING LOCKED UP FOR AN INSTANT. I IMMEDIATELY BRAKED TO REDUCE SPEED AND TRY TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IN ORDER TO AVOID BEING HIT IN THE REAR BY OTHER VEHICLES, I NEEDED TO ACCELERATE TO 60 MPH AND THE WHEELS LOCKED AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I HAVE CALLED DODGE ABOUT THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds