Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1048 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (356) Exterior Lighting (22) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (57) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Power Train (558) Steering (58) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (3) Structure (19) Visibility (28)
Engine (65) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (6) Suspension (78) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (79) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (21) Tires (11) Wheels (29)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/6/2017 - OPELOUSAS, LA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE STERLING DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY.THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. UPDATED 08/23/17 UPDATED 8/25/2017

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2017 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH. AN EYEWITNESS EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE RECALL REPAIR WAS SERVICED AT THE LOCAL DEALER (ADVENTURE CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE RAM LOCATED ON 36845 EUCLID AVE, WILLOUGHBY, OHIO, 44094). THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN UNKNOWN LOCAL DEALER LOCATED IN THE STATE OF KENTUCKY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THEY WOULD SEND A SPECIAL ENGINEER TO INVESTIGATE THE VEHICLE PER CASE NUMBER: 31588634. THE VEHICLE WAS INVESTIGATED BY THE MANUFACTURER'S ENGINEER WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT A SPECIAL INVESTIGATIONS UNIT WAS TO REVIEW THE VEHICLE AND REPORT BACK TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE REMAINED AT THE DEALER FOR THREE WEEKS, BUT NO REPAIR ORDER HAD BEEN PROVIDED FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO START PAYING A STORAGE FEE FOR THE VEHICLE IF IT WAS NOT REMOVED. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE SHIPPED TO HIS PERSONAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC LOCATED IN ATLANTA, GEORGIA WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR PINION NUT WAS REPAIRED AND WAS TOO TIGHT, WHICH CAUSED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AT THE CONTACT'S EXPENSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME AND NO ASSISTANCE WAS MADE AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

6/23/2017 - CLEVELAND, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH. AN EYEWITNESS EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE RECALL REPAIR WAS SERVICED AT THE LOCAL DEALER (ADVENTURE CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE RAM LOCATED ON 36845 EUCLID AVE, WILLOUGHBY, OHIO, 44094). THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN UNKNOWN LOCAL DEALER LOCATED IN THE STATE OF KENTUCKY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THEY WOULD SEND A SPECIAL ENGINEER TO INVESTIGATE THE VEHICLE PER CASE NUMBER: 31588634. THE VEHICLE WAS INVESTIGATED BY THE MANUFACTURER'S ENGINEER WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT A SPECIAL INVESTIGATIONS UNIT WAS TO REVIEW THE VEHICLE AND REPORT BACK TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE REMAINED AT THE DEALER FOR THREE WEEKS, BUT NO REPAIR ORDER HAD BEEN PROVIDED FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO START PAYING A STORAGE FEE FOR THE VEHICLE IF IT WAS NOT REMOVED. THE CONTACT HAD THE VEHICLE SHIPPED TO HIS PERSONAL INDEPENDENT MECHANIC LOCATED IN ATLANTA, GEORGIA WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR PINION NUT WAS REPAIRED AND WAS TOO TIGHT, WHICH CAUSED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AT THE CONTACT'S EXPENSE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME AND NO ASSISTANCE WAS MADE AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

6/22/2017 - CONIFER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED ANY FAILURES PRIOR TO THE VEHICLE BEING TAKEN TO THE DEALER (CHRISTOPHER'S DODGE WORLD, (303) 238-7311). THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE FOR AN UNKNOWN RECALL, BUT WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE THE PART WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. THE CONTACT WAITED FOR OVER TWO MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A SECOND DEALER (VISTA AUTO GROUP, 171 9TH ST, SILVERTHORNE, CO 80498, (866) 636-6202) WHO INDICATED THAT THE REAR AXLE PINION NUT WAS LOOSELY CONNECTED AND REPLACED THE PART FOR THE RECALL. THE SECOND DEALER ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A LEAK AND THAT THE PINION SEAL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED TO DETERMINE A SOLUTION TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 161,054.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/8/2017 - KODIAK, AK
TAKATA RECALL & REAR DIFFERENTIAL PINION NUT I HAVE RECEIVED TWO RECALL NOTICES FOR THIS VEHICLE. THE REALITY IS THAT I LIVE ON AN ISLAND (KODIAK, ALASKA) ON WHICH THERE IS NO CHRYSLER/DODGE/JEEP/RAM DEALERSHIP. TO GET THE VEHICLE TO SUCH A DEALERSHIP WOULD REQUIRE A FERRY RIDE OF OVER 10 HOURS (EACH WAY) AND THE EXPENDITURE OF OVER $500. I CALLED THE FCA RECALL ASSISTANCE CENTER, EXPLAINED THE SITUATION, AND ASKED THEM TO AUTHORIZE A LOCAL NON-DODGE DEALER OR REPAIR SHOP TO DO THE WORK. THEY REFUSED, SAYING I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR MYSELF AND THEN SEEK REIMBURSEMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/8/2017 - KODIAK, AK
TAKATA RECALL & REAR DIFFERENTIAL PINION NUT I HAVE RECEIVED TWO RECALL NOTICES FOR THIS VEHICLE. THE REALITY IS THAT I LIVE ON AN ISLAND (KODIAK, ALASKA) ON WHICH THERE IS NO CHRYSLER/DODGE/JEEP/RAM DEALERSHIP. TO GET THE VEHICLE TO SUCH A DEALERSHIP WOULD REQUIRE A FERRY RIDE OF OVER 10 HOURS (EACH WAY) AND THE EXPENDITURE OF OVER $500. I CALLED THE FCA RECALL ASSISTANCE CENTER, EXPLAINED THE SITUATION, AND ASKED THEM TO AUTHORIZE A LOCAL NON-DODGE DEALER OR REPAIR SHOP TO DO THE WORK. THEY REFUSED, SAYING I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR MYSELF AND THEN SEEK REIMBURSEMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/30/2017 - DOVER, PA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) MONTHS AGO AND STATED THAT THE DEALER (STETLER DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM, 1405 ROOSEVELT AVE, YORK, PA 17404, (717) 764-8888) CALLED TO INDICATE THAT THE PART WAS AVAILABLE A DAY BEFORE SCHEDULING A 9 AM APPOINTMENT FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE NEXT DAY, THE CONTACT ARRIVED AT THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC REASON; THEREFORE, THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 07/13/17

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/10/2017 - BUHL, AL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN), 15V313000 (AIR BAGS), AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/10/2017 - BUHL, AL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN), 15V313000 (AIR BAGS), AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

WHEELS

5/8/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
I HAVE REPORTED THIS ISSUE SEVERAL TIMES NOW, I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP FOR REPLACEMENT OF PINION NUT ON DRIVESHAFT TO PREVENT THE DRIVESHAFT FROM SEPERATING FROM THE REAR END OF THE TRUCK. MY VEHICLE CONTINUES TO LOCK UP, REAR WHEELS WILL LOCK UP WHEN VEHICLE IN PUT IN REVERSE OR IN DRIVE, THIS ISSUE IS RELATED TO THE DRIVESHAFT PINION (SEPERATION) AND COULD CAUSE A CATASTROPHIC COLLISION ENDANGERING MY FAMILY AND ANY OTHER VEHICHLE IN CLOSE VICINITY OF MINE WHILE DRIVING. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE MY TRUCK DUE TO THIS ISSUE, I HAVE ALSO CONSIDERED WHAT WILL HAPPEN WHEN MY TRUCK IS CATAPULTED FROM THIS ISSUE, HOPING THAT MY FAMILY WILL BE ABLE TO FILE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST CHRYSLER/DODGE FOR IGNORING MINE COMPLAINTS AND REFUSING TO FIX THE PROBLEM, ONCE I AM KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT FROM THIS RECALL ISSUE. I AM VERY UPSET THAT I AM NOT GETTING ANY HELP FROM DODGE FOR THIS ISSUE. I KNOW I'M JUST THE LITTLE ONE WHO BOUGHT YOUR PRODUCT, AND CARE NONE ABOUT ME AND MY FAMILY, HOWEVER, YOU CAN AND WILL BE SUED IF I AM IN AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS RECALL ISSUE, (MY REAR AXLE LOCKING UP THEREFORE LOCKING UP MY REAR WHEELS). EVERYTIME I TRY TO MOVE MY VEHICLE, I HEAR A LOUD "BOOM" IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AND MY REAR WHEELS LOCK UP AND VEHICLE WON'T MOVE. I WILL HEAR A LOUD "BOOM" IN THE REAR END OF THE TRUCK WHILE DRIVING. I AM VERY AFRAID TO DRIVE THE TRUCK DUE TO THIS RECALL ISSUE, AND DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY WHEELS CONTINOUSLY SEIZE UP. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 20 TIMES IN THE PAST MONTH, THANK GOD I HAVE NOT YET BEEN CATAPULTED, I FEAR THOUGH THAT IT WILL HAPPEN VERY SOON.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds