Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 281 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (60) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seat Belts (2) Structure (11) Visibility (27)
Engine (18) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (23) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (8) Tires (8) Wheels (11)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

10/3/2013 - INDIALANTIC, FL
REAR AXLE/WHEELS: GRINDING -SQUEAKING - TIC/TIC - CHIRPING: HAVE ALL SERVICE RECORDS. SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED/REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY, OR RECALLED IF THE CASE. MAINTAINED AT.BY DEALER ON 3000 MILE SERVICE BASIS. CHANGED TRANSMISSION FLUID, AXLE FLUID AND TIRES TWICE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
ANOTHER VEHICLE CUT IN FRONT AND BRAKED FOR RED LIGHT CAUSING ME TO "LOCK UP" THE BRAKES. THE TRUCK HAS REAR ABS WHICH KEPT THE REAR WHEELS FROM "LOCKING UP". VEHICLE ACCELERATED DURING HEAVY BRAKING WHICH CAUSED THE COLLISION. ABOUT 50 FEET OF BRAKE MARKS WERE LEFT ON THE ROAD SURFACE FROM THE FRONT TIRES. IN A SEPARATE INCIDENT, A VEHICLE SUDDENLY MERGED FROM LEFT SIDE OF ROAD CAUSING ME TO SWERVE TO THE SOFT SHOULDER ON THE RIGHT. TRUCK HAD COME TO A COMPLETE STOP WHEN THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL STARTED TO SPIN. IT SPUN FOR ABOUT 10 SECONDS BEFORE IT STOPPED. TIRE DUG INTO THE SOFT SHOULDER AND LEFT A SPRAY OF DIRT BEHIND THE TRUCK.. HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR A FACILITY TO TEST THE BRAKING SYSTEM. IT APPEARS RELATED TO THE STALLING WHILE STOPPING PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
ANOTHER VEHICLE CUT IN FRONT AND BRAKED FOR RED LIGHT CAUSING ME TO "LOCK UP" THE BRAKES. THE TRUCK HAS REAR ABS WHICH KEPT THE REAR WHEELS FROM "LOCKING UP". VEHICLE ACCELERATED DURING HEAVY BRAKING WHICH CAUSED THE COLLISION. ABOUT 50 FEET OF BRAKE MARKS WERE LEFT ON THE ROAD SURFACE FROM THE FRONT TIRES. IN A SEPARATE INCIDENT, A VEHICLE SUDDENLY MERGED FROM LEFT SIDE OF ROAD CAUSING ME TO SWERVE TO THE SOFT SHOULDER ON THE RIGHT. TRUCK HAD COME TO A COMPLETE STOP WHEN THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL STARTED TO SPIN. IT SPUN FOR ABOUT 10 SECONDS BEFORE IT STOPPED. TIRE DUG INTO THE SOFT SHOULDER AND LEFT A SPRAY OF DIRT BEHIND THE TRUCK.. HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR A FACILITY TO TEST THE BRAKING SYSTEM. IT APPEARS RELATED TO THE STALLING WHILE STOPPING PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
WHILE TRUCK WAS PARKED AND SECURED, A FIRE STARTED IN THE WIRE HARNESS ABOVE THE GAS TANK. FIRE WAS CONTAINED BEFORE VEHICLE BECAME ENGULFED. FIRE DEPARTMENT AND POLICE DEPARTMENT REPORTS MADE. INSURANCE COMPANY INVESTIGATED. DETERMINED WIRE HARNESS OVERHEATED AND IGNITED GAS VAPOR LEAKING FROM PLASTIC FUEL SYSTEM LINES. DUE TO USE OF PLASTIC MATERIALS, FIRE SPREAD RAPIDLY, INCLUDING THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK MELTING. TRUCK HAS BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
WHILE TRUCK WAS PARKED AND SECURED, A FIRE STARTED IN THE WIRE HARNESS ABOVE THE GAS TANK. FIRE WAS CONTAINED BEFORE VEHICLE BECAME ENGULFED. FIRE DEPARTMENT AND POLICE DEPARTMENT REPORTS MADE. INSURANCE COMPANY INVESTIGATED. DETERMINED WIRE HARNESS OVERHEATED AND IGNITED GAS VAPOR LEAKING FROM PLASTIC FUEL SYSTEM LINES. DUE TO USE OF PLASTIC MATERIALS, FIRE SPREAD RAPIDLY, INCLUDING THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK MELTING. TRUCK HAS BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
WHILE TRUCK WAS PARKED AND SECURED, A FIRE STARTED IN THE WIRE HARNESS ABOVE THE GAS TANK. FIRE WAS CONTAINED BEFORE VEHICLE BECAME ENGULFED. FIRE DEPARTMENT AND POLICE DEPARTMENT REPORTS MADE. INSURANCE COMPANY INVESTIGATED. DETERMINED WIRE HARNESS OVERHEATED AND IGNITED GAS VAPOR LEAKING FROM PLASTIC FUEL SYSTEM LINES. DUE TO USE OF PLASTIC MATERIALS, FIRE SPREAD RAPIDLY, INCLUDING THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK MELTING. TRUCK HAS BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2013 - OTTAWA, IL
MY COMPLAINT # IS 10533970, THERE'S NOT ENOUGH CHARACTERS FOR THIS TO BE SAID THERE. PLEASE REVIEW THIS INFO, SOMEONE HAS TO GET THESE DEATH TRAPS OFF THE ROAD BEFORE PEOPLE START OR KEEP DYING. THE FOLLOWING COMPLAINTS ALONE FOR 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 HEMI'S 4X4! 10525317,10522824,10522467,10515234, 10512746,10508477,10508200,10507139,10503157,10502707,10502402,10499587,10487800,10478873, 10446068, 10248039, 10446048, 10479516, 10129030. THERE'S ANOTHER 20 ON 04 RAM MODELS,18 ON 05 RAMS, DAKOTAS & DURANGOS, 06 MODELS SAME WAY. ITS ALL ON HERE. THE CANADIAN HIGHWAY DEPT HAS A 2007 ON LOCK DOWN AND AWAITING A FULL INVESTIGATION AFTER PINION NUT CAME LOOSE AND CATAPULTED THE RAM ON ITS ROOF AT 60 MPH! ITS ON FACEBOOK, AND MANY ON LINE FORUMS STATE THE SAME ISSUES WITH PINION NUTS COMING LOOSE. DODGE TALK, THE STRAIGHT DOPE, JUST GOOGLE IT. I AM REQUESTING A BETTER INVESTIGATION BE PERFORMED INTO THE REAR END/PINION NUT RECALLS WITH DODGE RAM, DAKOTA, DURANGO AND CHRYSLER ASPEN VANS FROM 2002-CURRENT DATE. AFTER MY INVESTIGATION I FOUND THE FOLLOWING RECALLS ON THIS SITE ASSOCIATED WITH THE REAR END/ PINION NUT COMING LOOSE. HERE'S THE INFO, RECALLS #95599, 79940, 793042, 93043, 95601,AND LASTLY 95600 2/6/13. ACCORDING TO THIS SITE, ALMOST 1 MILLION VEHICLES ON THE RECALL LIST , JUST 2009-12. THE RECALL 95600 STATES THE 2009-2011 DODGE DAKOTAS MANUFACTURED FEB 27, 2007 ECT. I HAVE A HARD TIME BELIEVING 2009 DAKOTAS WERE BEING MANUFACTURED N FEB OF 2007, WHICH MEANS THE 2007 AND 2008 MODELS WERE BEING BUILT THEN, BUT THEY ARE NOT IN THE RECALL, WHY NOT? ALSO ACCORDING TO THE CHRYSLER'S OWN ADMISSIONS (VIEWABLE ON THIS SITE) AT YOUR REQUEST TO PROVIDE ALL INFO ACCORDING TO YOUR INVESTIGATION, (QUOTE) THAT THESE SAME PARTS ARE "BACKWARDS" IN EARLIER MODEL YEARS(MEANING THEY HAVE BEEN USING THESE SAME PARTS FOR YEARS PRIOR) AND BASED ON INFO I HAVE FOUND SEEMS TO BE SINCE 2002.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2013 - OTTAWA, IL
MY REQUEST FOR A COMPLETE AND THOROUGH RE-INVESTIGATION BY NHTSA WILL FOLLOW THIS COMPLAINT. MYSELF AND 2 CHILDREN ALMOST DIED AS A RESULT OF THE POWER TRAIN FAILURE OF MY 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 4X4 HEMI PICKUP. ON SAT MORNING 7-20-13 AROUND 10:30 AM TRAVELING HOME FROM A BASEBALL TOURNAMENT, WE WERE WESTBOUND ON 80/90, MILE MARKER 115, TRAVELING AROUND 70-72 MPH NEAR ELKHART INDIANA. THE REAR PINION NUT CAME LOOSE, CAUSING THE PINION GEAR TO FALL INTO THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL, LOCKING UP THE REAR END, AND THROWING THE DRIVE SHAFT COMPLETELY OFF MY VEHICLE WITH NO WARNING. WE WERE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, THERE WAS A SEMI PULLED OVER INTO THE SHOULDER FOR A DOWN TIRE, ALL THE VEHICLES WERE MERGING OVER TO GIVE THE SEMI ROOM, WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY VEHICLE MADE A LOUD NOISE (BANG), AND I LOST IMMEDIATE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. I FOUGHT TO REGAIN CONTROL OF MY TRUCK, JUST MISSING BEING REAR ENDED AND BROAD- SIDED BY SEVERAL VEHICLES AS WELL AS WIPING OUT VEHICLES TO MY RIGHT AND BEHIND ME. I BARELY GOT SOME CONTROL AS MY VEHICLE WAS ATTEMPTING TO GO SIDEWAYS I WAS IN FEAR WE WERE GOING TO ROLL AT 50 MPH RIGHT DOWN THE HIGHWAY. I KEPT THE VEHICLE FROM ROLLING SOMEHOW AND CAME TO A SCREECHING STOP BARELY OFF THE ROADWAY. MY TRUCK WAS SMOKING FROM EVERYWHERE AND I COULD NOT SEE FOR WHAT SEEMED LIKE 2 MINUTES. AS TRAFFIC LIGHTENED UP AND THE 2 CARS THAT ALSO LEFT THE ROADWAY TO AVOID A COLLISION, GOT BACK UNDER POWER AND LEFT, I FOUND MY DRIVE SHAFT ON THE ROADWAY COMPLETELY OFF MY VEHICLE. ONCE MY MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO SEE THE VEHICLE ON MONDAY AND DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE. IT WAS FOUND THEN THAT THE REAR PINION NUT CAME LOOSE. IT HAS COST ME OVER 4500.00 SO FAR BETWEEN TOWING, REAR END, DRIVE SHAFT, FRONT END, GAS TANK SMASHED AND WERE NOT DONE. THE TRANS ALSO HAS ISSUES NOW. THIS IS THE 2ND DODGE VEHICLE MY MECHANIC HAS SEEN THIS HAPPEN TO. PLEASE LOOK AT THE RECALLS AND COMPLAINTS ON HERE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2013 - MIAMI, FL
AFTER PICKING UP MY TRUCK FROM MY LOCAL BODY SHOP ON THE MORNING OF JULY 28,2013 I DROVE BACK TO WORK VERY PLEASED HOW SHE LOOKED. THE TRUCK DROVE PERFECTLY FINE NO PROBLEMS AFTER GETTING OFF FROM WORK I PICKED UP YOUNGEST DAUGHTER FROM DANCE PRACTICE LESS THAN A MILE AWAY FROM MY JOB. AN HOUR LATER I PICKED MY ELDEST DAUGHTER FROM HER JOB LESS THAN THREE MILES FROM HOME AGAIN THE TRUCK DROVE FINE. ABOUT ONE HOUR LATER I DROVE 12 MILES TO DO A PLUMBING JOB WHEN OUTTA THE BLUE THE OIL INDICATOR STARTED ACTING ERRATIC IT WOULD GO FROM THE LOWEST POINT IN THE RED TO A SAFE LEVEL, AFTER SEVERAL TIMES OF THIS I PULLED TO A GAS STATION AND ADDED TWO QUARTS OF OIL AFTER I ADDED THE OIL I CHECKED THE OIL LEVEL IT WAS AT A SAFE LEVEL. I FINISHED THE JOB CHECKED THE OIL LEVEL BEFORE LEAVING THE CUSTOMER HOME IT WAS STILL OK. I GOT ON THE TURNPIKE DROVE ABOUT THREE MILES WHEN THE INDICATOR DROPPED TO THE RED LINE AND THE ENGINE JUST DIED. I STARTED THE ENGINE BUT GOT AN GOD AWFUL SOUND FROM UNDER THE HOOD I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND HAD THE TRUCK TOWED HOME. I HIRED A MECHANIC TO CHECK THE TRUCK FOR ME AND WAS INFORMED THAT I WOULD NEED TO REPLACE THE ENGINE IN MY TRUCK. IS THERE A RECALL ON THE OIL PUMP OR THAT SYSTEM?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/1/2013 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT WAS THE MECHANIC WORKING ON A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND IN NEUTRAL, THE VEHICLE ERRONEOUSLY ACCELERATED. THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A HYDRAULIC LIFT AND SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE SHOULDER AND LEG. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NEITHER DIAGNOSED FOR THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 9/4/13

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds