Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 340 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (33) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (101) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (2) Structure (12) Visibility (27)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (27) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (12) Tires (8) Wheels (17)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/30/2014 - ATHENS, AL
REAR DIFFERENTIAL FAILED, CAUSED THE DRIVESHAFT TO BREAK OFF THE VEHICLE WHILE MOVING. VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY STOPPED IN ROAD. I UNDERSTAND THAT NHTSA CURRENTLY HAS AN INVESTIGATION OPEN ON THIS ISSUE, ID # PE14019.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2014 - NANCY, KY
DRIVING ON PARKWAY, 9/13/14, NOTED A HUMMING NOISE FROM REAR-END, WHEN CHECKED FOUND TO BE LEAKING AROUND PINION SEAL BEHIND DRIVE-SHAFT YOLK. WHEN CHANGING SEAL NOTED PINION NUT TO BE EXTREMELY LOOSE WHEN GOING TO REMOVE IT. REPLACED SEAL, TIGHTENED PINION NUT BACK WITHOUT ANY LOCKING PIN NOTED AND NOTED REAR-END STILL HUMMING BUT NOT AS BAD, AND NO LEAK REMAINING AT THIS TIME. FEEL POSSIBILITY THAT PINION NUT BEING LOOSE COULD HAVE FURTHER DAMAGED BEARINGS AND PINION, AND FEEL THIS COULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE. NO CRASH HAS BEEN INVOLVED OR FURTHER DAMAGE NOTED TO THIS POINT. END- WEB

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: CONTROL MODULE (TCM, PCM)

9/12/2014 - SOUTH BELOIT, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. A MECHANIC STATED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/9/2014 - ELK CITY, KS
MY WIFE AND CHILD WAS DRIVING MY TRUCK AND THE NUT ON THE YOKE ON THE REAR END FELL OFF. WHICH CAUSED THE READ END TO LOCK UP AND ABOUT CAUSE A WRECK. AFTER TALKING TO A FEW MECHANICS ABOUT FIXING THE PROBLEM. I FOUND OUT THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME WITH DODGE TRUCKS. AFTER SEARCHING ABOUT THE PROBLEM ONLINE, I FOUND OUT THEY ARE RIGHT. A REPLACEMENT REAR END WAS VERY HIGH PRICED DUE TO THE HIGH DEMAND FOR THEM. I SEARCHED FOR A RECALL AND ONLY FOUND RECALLS FOR 2007 AND NEWER TRUCKS WITH THIS PROBLEM. HOW CAN THEY NOT FIX THIS WHEN IT'S OBVIOUSLY A PROBLEM AND VERY POSSIBLY DEADLY?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/8/2014 - RIVIERA BEACH, FL
I WAS DRIVING MY 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 AT 30 MPH WHEN I JUST HEARD A BANG AND MY TRUCK CAME TO A COMPLETE HOLT . I GOT OUT OF MY TRUCK TO SEE WHAT IT WAS AND FOUND OUT THAT MY DRIVE SHAFT HAD FALLEN NOT FOR MY UV JOINT BUT FROM THE REAR AXEL PINION NUT. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT MY YEAR MAKE AND MODEL VEHICLE IS COMMON BUT IS NOT A RECALL. BUT THERE IS A RECALL ON THE 2009 THRU 2012 FOR THE SAME EXACT THING. I ALSO FOUND THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER VEHICLES WITH THE SAME YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL THAT HAD THE SAME INCIDENT.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

9/2/2014 - LADERA RANCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT WAS FRACTURED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE BEARINGS AND SPIDER GEARS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

9/2/2014 - LADERA RANCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT WAS FRACTURED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE BEARINGS AND SPIDER GEARS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

8/25/2014 - SEDGEWICKVILLE , MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE AXLE SUDDENLY FRACTURED AND THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS EXAMINED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT NO REMEDY WAS OFFERED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/21/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
I WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH ON I-95, AND WHEN CROSSING A SMALL OVERPASS, I HEARD A HIGH PITCHED WHINE. I THOUGHT IT SOUNDED SIMILAR TO THE NOISE TIRES MAKE WHEN ON A BRIDGE GRATE, BUT IT WAS LOUDER AND HIGHER PITCHED. APPROXIMATELY 15 SECONDS AFTER THE FIRST OCCURRENCE, THERE WAS ANOTHER QUICK WHINE AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. THERE WAS A VERY LOUD AND FAST BANGING NOISE COMING FROM UNDER THE TRUCK. IT FELT LIKE THE TRUCK WAS COMING APART AROUND US. I WAS IN THE FAST LANE, SO I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND HIT THE BRAKES IMMEDIATELY. I LOOKED UNDER THE TRUCK AND SAW THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT HAD BECOME DETACHED FROM THE DIFFERENTIAL HOUSING. I HAD IT TOWED TO A SHOP. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT THE SPLINE NUT HAD COMPLETELY BACKED OFF ALLOWING THE DRIVE SHAFT TO COME FREE. HE MENTIONED THAT THERE DIDN'T APPEAR TO BE ANY EVIDENCE OF THREAD LOCK COMPOUND ON THE SPLINE. FORTUNATELY, I WAS ABLE TO STOP BEFORE THE BEARINGS JAMMED UP THE GEARS AND FROZE THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL. I HAVE HAD IT IN A TOTAL OF THREE SHOPS FOR ASSESSMENT. THE CONSENSUS IS THAT THE REAR IS DAMAGED BEYOND REPAIR AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

WHEELS

8/15/2014 - MIAMI, FL
AFTER HAVING BEEN STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN, I MADE A RIGHT TURN AND ACCELERATED TO PROCEED STRAIGHT FOR APPROXIMATELY 300 FEET OR SO WHERE I WAS GOING TO MAKE A LEFT HAND TURN INTO A STORE PARKING LOT. ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS A WHINING SOUND AND IT FELT LIKE THE ENGINE WAS STRAINING, THERE WAS A LOUD BANG AND THUD AS IF I HAD RUN SOMETHING OVER. THE TRUCK STARTED "JERKING" VIOLENTLY AND CAME TO AN ABRUPT STOP. AS SOON AS I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, THE LOUD NOISE STOPPED AND THE ENGINE WAS IDLING NORMALLY AS IF THERE WAS NO PROBLEM. I EXITED THE VEHICLE AND, TO MY SHOCK, SAW THE DRIVE SHAFT DETACHED FROM THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL (THE TRUCK IS A REAR WHEEL DRIVE) AND LAYING ON THE STREET. LATER ON, WITH THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION BUT THE ENGINE OFF, I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND SOME ROAD WORKERS TRIED TO PUSH IT OFF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT BUDGE. THE REAR WHEELS WERE LOCKED. SUFFICE IT TO SAY, HAD I BEEN TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55-60 MPH THE RESULTS OF THE MALFUNCTION COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTROUS. A RECALL NEED TO BE ISSUED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds