Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1070 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (363) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (29)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (22) Power Train (564) Steering (58) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (58) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (4) Structure (19) Visibility (28)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seats (7) Suspension (81) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (69) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (21) Tires (12) Wheels (31)
Engine And Engine Cooling (79) Latches Locks Linkages (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/21/2017 - LEWISTOWN, PA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, SLOWING DOWN TO GET OFF THE EXIT, DOING APPROXIMATELY 40-45 MPH. I MY PASSENGER AND I HEARD SOME STRANGE NOISES IN THE REAR AND THEN SUDDENLY THE REAR WHEELS LOCKED UP, CAUSING THE TRUCK TO BOUNCE AROUND VIOLENTLY. I BOUGHT THE TRUCK IN DECEMBER OF 2016, THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED MID NOVEMBER 2017. UPON DOING SOME RESEARCH I FOUND THE RECALL, AND FOLLOWED UP WITH SOME CALLS TO DEALERS. THIS ISSUE WAS SUPPOSEDLY RESOLVED IN MARCH 2016 IN PLYMOUTH, MASSACHUSETTS, I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN LEWISTOWN PENNSYLVANIA. MY TRUCK IS CURRENTLY SITTING AT A DEALERSHIP WHERE IT HAS BEEN SINCE DECEMBER 14, AND THEY TELL ME IT MIGHT NOT GET IN THE SHOP UNTIL AFTER THE NEW YEAR. I CONTACTED DODGE, THEY TELL ME THEY CAN NOT HELP ME UNTIL AFTER A DIAGNOSTIC. I AM REACHING OUT TO YOU IN THE EVENT THEY DENY MY CLAIM UNDER THE RECALL WARRANTY. THE SHOP MANAGER AT THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP TELLS ME EVEN WITH A DIAGNOSIS HE CAN+T SAY FOR CERTAIN THE RECALL WAS REPAIRED PROPERLY OR NOT, WHICH WOULD LEAVE ME WITH A HUGE BILL FOR SOMETHING I BELIEVE IS THEIR FAULT FOR NOT USING PROPER PARTS OR NOT REPAIRING THE PART PROPERLY UNDER A RECALL WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/11/2017 - NORTH PORT, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (GETTEL CHEVROLET BUICK GMC, 1901 TAMIAMI TRAIL, PUNTA GORDA, FL 33950 (941) 295-9599) INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTICE FROM TK HOLDINGS, ALTERING HIM THAT THE MANUFACTURER FILED FOR BANKRUPTCY. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/27/2017 - NEWBERRY, SC
2005 DODGE RAM. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIR BAGS NOT BEING DEPLOYED DURING A CRASH. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING. THE CONSUMER RECEIVED INJURIES TO THE HEAD. THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WERE RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE FOR THE AIR BAGS AND THE REAR AXLE PINION NUT, BUT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 11/27/2017

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/27/2017 - NEWBERRY, SC
2005 DODGE RAM. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIR BAGS NOT BEING DEPLOYED DURING A CRASH. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE DRIVING. THE CONSUMER RECEIVED INJURIES TO THE HEAD. THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WERE RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE FOR THE AIR BAGS AND THE REAR AXLE PINION NUT, BUT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 11/27/2017

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/25/2017 - MT PLEASANT, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (ELLIOTT CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM, 2045 BURTON RD, MT PLEASANT, TX 75455, (903) 572-4371) DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/20/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I RECEIVED AN AIRBAG RECALL BY MAIL I TOOK MY TRUCK TO JACKSONVILLE CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE AT NURSERY FIELD DR JACKSONVILLE FLORIDA ON OCTOBER THE 18TH THE SAME DAY THEY MADE ME SIGN A PAPER WHICH WAS RELIEVED THE DEALERSHIP OF ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR BRAKING MY DASHBOARD WHILE WORKING ON THE AIRBAG . AL PALMER WAS THE TECHNICIAN WHO RECEIVED MY TRUCK. I WAS TOLD ON ICTOBER THE 18 TH MY TRUCK WILL BE REPAIRED WITHIN 2 TO 3 HOURS BEING THAT I ACKNOWLEDGE THEM AHEAD OF TIME THAT THE TRUCK WAS MY WORK TRUCK ( REASON WHY I MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR OCTOBER 18TH ) . ON OCTOBER 19 AT 1:19 PM THEY TEXTED ME APOLOGIZING BECAUSE THEY WERE UNABLE TO TOUCH MY TRUCK BY THEN SAYING THEY WERE WORKING ON OTHER VEHICLES THAT CAUSED A DELAY ON MINE. I LOST THAT WORK DAY 500.00. THE TRUCK WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FINISHED ON OCTOBER 18 WIITHIN 2 TO 3 HOURS , NEVERTHELESS BY THE NEXT DAY PAST 1:00 IN THE AFTERNOON THEY DIDN'T TOUCH MY WORK TRUCK

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/19/2017 - ELLENWOOD, GA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE THE CONTACT'S HUSBAND WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, HE CRASHED INTO AN EMBANKMENT. THE CRASH WAS POSSIBLY DUE TO A MEDICAL CONDITION. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED FACIAL BRUISES AND SWELLING TO THE FACE, AND A LACERATED LIVER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED MEDICAL ATTENTION AT THE HOSPITAL, BUT LATER PASSED AWAY. THE OTHER OCCUPANT IN THE VEHICLE WAS A CANINE AND WAS UNINJURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED DUE TO BUMPER AND GRILL DAMAGE. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ADVISED OF THE ISSUE AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: CAIR 28006955. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE INSPECTION DID NOT SHOW ANY FAULT CODES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. ....UPDATED 11/03/17 ......UPDATED 11/13/2017

View Details

WHEELS

10/6/2017 - BRENTWOOD, CA
09/01/2017 TRAVELING EAST BOUND ON HWY 12 IN SAN JOAQUIN COUNTY AT 11:30 PM WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH IN BETWEEN 2 JERSEY WALLS I TURNED LEFT AND HIT THE BRAKES HARD TO AVOID A BROKEN DOWN VEHICLE. (NOTE BROKEN DOWN VEHICLE HAD NO FLASHERS, FLAIRS OR ANY OTHER WARNING) WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. I STARTED BOUNCING BACK AND FORTH OFF THE WALLS. AIR BAGS DEPLOYED, I WAS AIRBORNE AT ONE POINT & ACTUALLY THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO DIE AND WHEN I CAME TO A STOP I WAS FACING THE WRONG DIRECTION ON THE HWY.. I STARTED MY VEHICLE TO MOVE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND IT WOULDN'T MOVE. I PROCEEDED TO WALK AROUND THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL WAS MISSING.I BELIEVE WHEN MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR THAT'S WHEN I LOST THE WHEEL. CHP CALLED TOW TRUCK AND SAID SOLO NON INJURY ACCIDENT NO REPORT NEEDED I DIDN'T REALIZE AND NOW IT'S BEEN BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION THAT THE AXLE SHAFT BROKE ON A WELD AND LOOKS LIKE THERE WERE AIR BUBBLES IN THE STEEL.I DON'T KNOW IF YOU HAVE HAD ANY OTHER ISSUES WITH AXLE SHAFTS, BUT I WOULD LIKE TO FILE A CLAIM. I BELIEVE THE WRECK WAS MUCH WORSE DUE TO THE AXLE SHAFT BREAKING. TRUCK IS TOTALED WITH A TWISTED FRAME. SEE ALSO 11073246

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/6/2017 - BRENTWOOD, CA
09/01/2017 TRAVELING EAST BOUND ON HWY 12 IN SAN JOAQUIN COUNTY AT 11:30 PM WHILE DRIVING AT 55 MPH IN BETWEEN 2 JERSEY WALLS I TURNED LEFT AND HIT THE BRAKES HARD TO AVOID A BROKEN DOWN VEHICLE. (NOTE BROKEN DOWN VEHICLE HAD NO FLASHERS, FLAIRS OR ANY OTHER WARNING) WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKES THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. I STARTED BOUNCING BACK AND FORTH OFF THE WALLS. AIR BAGS DEPLOYED, I WAS AIRBORNE AT ONE POINT & ACTUALLY THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO DIE AND WHEN I CAME TO A STOP I WAS FACING THE WRONG DIRECTION ON THE HWY.. I STARTED MY VEHICLE TO MOVE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND IT WOULDN'T MOVE. I PROCEEDED TO WALK AROUND THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL WAS MISSING.I BELIEVE WHEN MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR THAT'S WHEN I LOST THE WHEEL. CHP CALLED TOW TRUCK AND SAID SOLO NON INJURY ACCIDENT NO REPORT NEEDED I DIDN'T REALIZE AND NOW IT'S BEEN BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION THAT THE AXLE SHAFT BROKE ON A WELD AND LOOKS LIKE THERE WERE AIR BUBBLES IN THE STEEL.I DON'T KNOW IF YOU HAVE HAD ANY OTHER ISSUES WITH AXLE SHAFTS, BUT I WOULD LIKE TO FILE A CLAIM. I BELIEVE THE WRECK WAS MUCH WORSE DUE TO THE AXLE SHAFT BREAKING. TRUCK IS TOTALED WITH A TWISTED FRAME. SEE ALSO 11073246

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/1/2017 - ELMER, NJ
ENGINE SHUTS OFF UPON BRAKING, OCCURS RARELY AND USUALLY AT LOW SPEED AFTER AN I WOULD NEED TO USE GAS . VEHICLE IS IN MOTION A SLOW SPEED APPROACHING AREA WHEN NEEDED TO BRAKE. NO CODES COME ON DASH OR NO CODES SHOWN WHEN DIAGNOSED. MY VEHICLE HAS 250,000 MILES ON IT. INTERNET SEARCH INDICATES SOMEWHAT COME PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds