Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1013 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (331) Exterior Lighting (22) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (57) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (548) Steering (57) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (3) Structure (19) Visibility (28)
Engine (65) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (5) Suspension (76) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (78) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes (21) Tires (10) Wheels (27)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/29/2016 - AURORA, CO
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN), 15V313000 (AIR BAGS), AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/16/2016 - MOORESVILLE, NC
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) AND 15V313000 (AIR BAGS). A RECALL NOTIFICATION WAS ALSO RECEIVED FOR THE POWER TRAIN, BUT THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/16/2016 - MOORESVILLE, NC
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) AND 15V313000 (AIR BAGS). A RECALL NOTIFICATION WAS ALSO RECEIVED FOR THE POWER TRAIN, BUT THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/15/2016 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
WHILE DRIVING MY TRUCK STRAIGHT DOWN REMEMBERANCE ROAD (SECONDARY HIGHWAY) IT STALLED, LOOSING POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES. I WAS TRAVELING AT A SPEED OF APPROX 45 MPH WITH NO TURNS, COASTED TO THE SHOULDER PUT IN PARK AND RESTARTED LUCKILY THERE WAS NO OTHER TRAFFIC. TRUCK RESTARTED AND I PROCEEDED HOME. I PARKED THE TRUCK ALL SEEMED FINE. WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY AND TRUCK WOULD NOT CRANK. BATTERY LOAD CHECKED OK, IF I JUMP THE STARTER RELAY @ PIN 30 TO 87 TRUCK WILL CRANK. WHEN KEY IS TURNED ON THE DASH LIGHTS COME ON ALONG WITH RADIO, HEADLIGHTS, AND BLOWER FOR HEAT/AIR. THIS TRUCK ONLY HAS 56,000 MILES ON IT AND HAS BEEN VERY WELL TAKEN CARE OF BY ME. IT SHOULD BE NOTED THE GAS GAUGE DID NOT MOVE WHEN IGNITION KEY WAS TURNED ON EVEN THOUGH IT HAD HALF A TANK, IT WORKED FINE WHEN I PARKED IT. I HAVE SEARCHED ON LINE FOR THIS STALL CONDITION FOR MY 2005 RAM 1500 4.7L 4X4. IT APPEARS TO HAPPEN ALOT IF YOU SEARCH THIS CONDITION ON LINE WITH OTHER DODGE VEHICLES ALSO AND IS VERY DANGEROUS, WHAT IF I HAD BEEN ON THE FREEWAY DOING 70 AND LOST MY ABILITY TO STOP OR STEER THIS VEHICLE OUT OF HARMS WAY. WELL THE MOST OBVIOUS ANSWER, I WOULDN'T BE HERE WRITING THIS COMPLAINT. I AM SO UPSET, AS A CANCER SURVIVOR AND ALL I WENT THROUGH WITH THAT, IT WOULD BE A SORRY WAY TO BE INJURED OR DIE. I HAVE INSTRUCTED MY LOVE ONES TO TAKE ACTION AGAINST DODGE SHOULD I DIE BECAUSE OF THIS TRUCKS ISSUE OF LOOSING POWER. THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM THAT NEEDS RESOLVED BY A RECALL OR AT LEAST A THOROUGH INVESTGATION OF THE ROOT CAUSE. I BELIEVE THIS IS RELATED TO THE PCM. I HAVE HAD IT TOWED TO A GARAGE TO BE LOOKED AT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

12/12/2016 - CENTRAL POINT, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHEN RELEASING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE, THE LATCH DETACHED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE LATCH WAS REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/12/2016 - CENTRAL POINT, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHEN RELEASING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE, THE LATCH DETACHED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE LATCH WAS REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/12/2016 - NORTH READING, MA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 01/25/17

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/9/2016 - COLLINSVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR DRIVER SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE SKIDDED ON AN ICE PATCH AND CRASHED INTO THE CEMENT WALL OF A BRIDGE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK AND SPINE INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE PASSENGER ALSO SUSTAINED BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V313000 AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/8/2016 - FENTON, MO
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/25/2016 - LANHAM, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds