Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 980 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (304) Exterior Lighting (21) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (55) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Power Train (545) Steering (57) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (3) Structure (19) Visibility (28)
Engine (63) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (5) Suspension (75) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (78) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (19) Tires (10) Wheels (27)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 111
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/22/2016 - CUMBERLAND, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS) AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/22/2016 - SARANAC, MI
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE STOPPED, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS CRASHED HEAD ON BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. BOTH DRIVERS SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 159,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/18/2016 - PASADENA, TX
I GOT A RECALL OVER A YEAR AGO ABOUT THE AIRBAG INFLATOR AND (2) OTHER ITEMS TO BE REPAIRED,WHICH I PROMPTLY TOOK IN AND HAD REPAIRED,ONLY TO FIND OUT A YEAR LATER THAT THE AIRBAG INFLATOR WAS NEVER REPAIRED. NOTHING WAS SAID TO ME THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE.JUST RECEIVED ANOTHER NOTICE AND MUST WAIT FOR PARTS AGAIN,WHAT IS GOING ON? DOESN'T DODGE GIVE A DAMN ABOUT OUR SAFETY? IS IT TIME TO GET A LAWYER AND SUE DODGE AND NHTSA, FOR NOT DOING THEIR JOB. WHY HAVE AN ORGANIZATION THAT DOESN'T DO THEIR JOB? WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT THIS?

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2016 - THE DALLES, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS UNDER 20 MPH, THE RPMS DROPPED BELOW ONE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING FAILED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED ON THE FIRST ATTEMPT, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 89,040.

View Details

ENGINE

8/17/2016 - THE DALLES, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS UNDER 20 MPH, THE RPMS DROPPED BELOW ONE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING FAILED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED ON THE FIRST ATTEMPT, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 89,040.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/14/2016 - LAKELAND, FL
TAKATA RECALL -- MY VEHICLE IS AFFECTED BY THE RECALL DESCRIBED IN THE NHTSA 16V-352. I TOOK IT TO TOM EDWARDS CHRYSLER-DODGE-JEEP DEALERSHIP IN BARTOW FL TO HAVE THIS DEFECT REMEDIED, BUT I WAS TOLD THAT PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THIS RECALL REPAIR, AND THEY COULD NOT OR WOULD NOT INFORM ME WHEN THE PARTS WILL BE AVAILABLE. LIVING IN HOT AND HUMID FLORIDA I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS 11 YEAR OLD VEHICLE MAY POSE A DANGER TO THE OCCUPANTS OF MY VEHICLE SHOULD THE VEHICLE BE INVOLVED IN A CRASH WHERE THE AIRBAGS DEPLOY AND SEND METAL SHRAPNEL INTO THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHEN I CAN EXPECT FCA TO MAKE THE NECESSARY PARTS AVAILABLE. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL IT IS REPAIRED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2016 - WEST MEMPHIS, AR
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE DEALER SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT THREE TIMES, BUT WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE THE RECALL REPAIR WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2016 - FORT RUCKER, AL
MY 05 DODGE RAM HAS BEEN STALLING IN TRAFFIC AT LOW SPEEDS REGULARLY OF LATE. IT ALSO HAPPENED RECENTLY WHILE PARKED FOR THE FIRST TIME. IT OCASIONALLY (1 FAILURE OUT OF 7) GIVES AN ERROR CODE AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WHICH READS AS A BAD CRANK SHAFT POSITION SENSOR. I HAVE PUT 3 ON IN THE LAST 2 YEARS. IT STARTED AS INTERMITENT AND HAS BECOME A STEADY ISSUE. TRUCK HAS NEVER RUN HOT, NO NOISES FROM ENGINE TO INDICATE A BAD BEARING OR MIS ALIGNEMENT. WHEEL TEETH ARE NOT BROKEN OR WORN AND THERE IS NOT BUILDUP OF FLAKES OR SHAVINGS ANYWHERE THAT WOULD BE CAUSING A FUALTY SIGNAL. WIRING RINGS OUT AS GOOD. REPLACING THE SENSOR WAS ALLOWING NORMAL OPERATION FOR A SHORT PERIOD BUT IT IS RE-OCCURING AT A FASTER RATE EACH TIME. TRUCK DOES, SO FAR, CONTINUE TO RESART ALMOST IMEDIATELY BUT STILL PRESENTS CONSIDERABLE RISK IN HEAVY TRAFFIC CONDITIONS. THIS WAS LOOKED AT PREVIOUSLY AND TSB 18-013-05 WAS RELEASED AS A "FIX." IT HAS NOT BEEN A SUCCESSFUL FIX AS THE ISSUES CONTINUE TO RE-OCCUR WITH WHAT APEARS TO BE A FAIRLY ALARMING RATE. TRUCK CURRENTLY HAS 160,750 MILES ON IT. THE LAST 3 SENSORS WERE INSTALLED IN 2 YEARS AND LESS THAN 20,000 MILES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/4/2016 - GOOSE CREEK, SC
TAKATA RECALL I RECENTLY RECEIVED THE SAFETY RECALL NOTICE IN THE MAIL AND SPOKE WITH AN FCA EMPLOYEE ABOUT THE RECALL AT THE NUMBER PROVIDED. THE RECALL STATES THAT IT COULD INJURE OR KILL MYSELF OR MY FAMILY YET I WAS NOT PROVIDED WITH ANY ASSISTANCE IN FINDING ANOTHER MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION WHILE WAITING ON THE RECALL PARTS TO BECOME AVAILABLE. WILL A RENTAL VEHICLE BE PROVIDED WHILE I WAIT FOR PARTS, AS I NO LONGER FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY VEHICLE?

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/3/2016 - DALLAS, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNED A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE CHIN AND COLLAR BONE THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED FROM THE SCENE AND LATER DEEMED DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS), BUT THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 149,810.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 111
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds