Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 927 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (272) Exterior Lighting (20) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Power Train (527) Steering (53) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (3) Structure (18) Visibility (28)
Engine (58) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (5) Suspension (71) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (78) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (17) Tires (10) Wheels (27)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/30/2016 - SANTA PAULA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING; HOWEVER, NO TROUBLE CODES WERE DETECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2016 - KYLE, TX
THE SPARE TIRE HOIST CAN BECOME INOPERABLE, NOT ALLOWING YOU TO RAISE NOR LOWER THE SPARE TIRE. HOWEVER, OVER TIME, THE CABLE BEGINS TO SLOWLY LOWER THE SPARE TO WHICH THE SPARE BEGINS TO ROCK BACK AND FORTH. EVENTUALLY, THE CABLE GIVES WAY AND BREAKS, ALLOWING THE TIRE TO FALL OFF. IN MY CASE, I HAD NEVER BEEN ABLE TO RAISE OR LOWER MY SPARE TIRE, NOR HAD THE DODGE DEALERSHIP OR ANY ALTERNATE PLACES THAT REPLACE TIRES. IT WAS ALMOST 9 YEARS WHEN I NOTICED THAT THE SPARE TIRE HAD LOWERED AND WAS ROCKING BACK AND FORTH, HOWEVER, THE HOIST WAS STILL INOPERABLE, AND THE TIRE HAD NOT LOWERED ENOUGH TO ACCESS THE MOUNTING BOLTS FOR THE HOIST NOR TO CUT THE CABLE. SEVERAL MONTHS AGO, I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 75 MPH WHEN I NOTICED ALL THE CARS BEHIND ME SWERVING EVERY WHICH DIRECTION.....AND THEN I NOTICED A TIRE BOUNCING ON THE HIGHWAY IN FRONT OF THEM. I HAD MY SUSPICION SO I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO CHECK ON MY SPARE JUST TO FIND THAT IT AND PART OF MY HOIST WERE MISSING. LUCKILY, NOBODY GOT HURT AS RUSH HOUR WAS JUST UNDER WAY SO THE NUMBER OF CARS ON THE ROAD WAS SLIGHTLY LESS THAN NORMAL. THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE TIME I'VE OWNED THIS TRUCK, I'VE NEVER BEEN ABLE TO USE MY SPARE (AND I'VE HAD A FAIR SHARE OF FLATS BUT HAVE LUCKILY BEEN CLOSE ENOUGH TO FRIENDS OR FAMILY THAT COULD HELP). ON EVERY INSTANCE WHERE I CONTACTED THE DODGE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, THEY MERELY TOLD ME I COULD PAY THEM TO FIX IT. WHY SHOULD I PAY TO FIX SOMETHING THAT NEVER WORKED FROM THE MOMENT THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED?

View Details

ENGINE

3/29/2016 - SANTA PAULA, CA
THIS WAS MY FATHERS TRUCK. I WAS OUT OF THE COUNTRY WHEN HE PURCHASED IT. UPON HIS DEATH, I BEGAN DRIVING THE TRUCK. IT WAS STILL BRAND NEW, BY APPROXIMATELY 7 MONTHS. IN ONE INSTANCE I WAS DRIVING IN SATICOY, SOUTH ON THE 118 BEFORE GOING OVER THE BRIDGE. AS I GOT A YELLOW LIGHT, I SLOWED DOWN AND THE TRUCK EVENTUALLY STALLED AND HAD NO ABILITY TO STEER. I WAS IN THE TRUCK, WITH MY MOTHER, AT AN INTERSECTION AND HAD TO IMMEDIATELY RESTART THE VEHICLE BECAUSE OUR LIVES WERE IN DANGER DUE TO TRAFFIC. UPON RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, I RESUMED TO MY DESTINATION. ON ANOTHER OCCASION I ARRIVED TO WHO IS NOW MY SISTER IN LAWS HOUSE, LOCATED IN SIMON WAY. IN THAT EVENING IT WAS MY TURN TO DRIVE TO OXNARD COLLEGE. AS I PULLED OUT OF HER DRIVEWAY, THE TRUCK AGAIN STALLED. I HAD TO RESTART IT AGAIN AND DECIDED THAT WE WOULD GO TO SCHOOL IN HER VEHICLE. THESE TWO INCIDENCES ARE JUST A COUPLE OF MANY BAD EARLY ON EXPERIENCES WITH THE 2005 DODGE RAM TRUCK I HAD AND WOULD GO TO YOU GUYS AND COMPLAIN, AND YOU GUYS NEVER DID ANYTHING ABOUT IT BECAUSE NOTHING EVER RESULTED IN YOUR DIAGNOSTIC AND WOULD HAPPEN TO YOU GUYS WHEN ON ONE OCCASION THE VEHICLE WAS IN YOUR POSSESSION. ATTACHED SEE EXHIBIT 1 WHICH SHOWS OF A VEHICLE RENTAL ON 12/06/06 WHEN THE DODGE TRUCK WAS IN YOUR POSSESSION. I PRECISELY RECALL WHY I HAD THE STRATUS RENTAL AND IT WAS BECAUSE CROWN DODGE HAD MY TRUCK, TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT. CROWN DODGE WAS BILLED FOR THE RENTAL. WELL, CROWN DODGE INSPECTED THE TRUCK, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. EXHIBIT 2 DEMONSTRATES ANOTHER TIME THAT I COMPLAINED BECAUSE OF THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLE. TO DATE, THE DODGE RAM TRUCK 1500 CONTINUES TO STALL. MY HUSBAND USES THIS VEHICLE TO DRIVE TO WORK. AT TIMES HE USES THIS VEHICLE TO TAKE OUR CHILDREN OUT AND I AM ALWAYS CONCERNED BECAUSE OF THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/28/2016 - STANWOOD, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE DRIVE LINE DETACHED AND THE REAR AXLE SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN) HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2016 - OWATONNA, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CABIN FILLED UP WITH SMOKE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE HAD A HOLE IN IT THAT CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

3/21/2016 - CLARYVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILED DUE TO DEFECTIVE SENSORS. THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/18/2016 - LAWTON, OK
THE TRUCK STALLS WHEN SLOWING FOR A STOP OR IDLING AROUND A CORNER. THAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE STEERING AND BRAKES ARE LOCKED UP AT THAT POINT. WHETHER IT'S IDLING IN A TRAFFIC JAM, COMING TO A STOP, OR IDLING AROUND THE CORNER, YOU WILL SUDDENLY HAVE NO POWER BUT EVERYTHING ELSE IS ON. NOT THE ENGINE AND IT WAS SO SMOOTH THAT YOU DON'T NOTICE UNTIL YOU CAN'T BRAKE OR STEER. THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THIS YEAR MAKE AND MODEL THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I UNDERSTAND THERE WAS AN INVESTIGATION BUT IT WAS CLOSED WITHOUT RESOLUTION. CASE NUMBER EA05018. THIS IS A GROWING PROBLEM AND WE THE PEOPLE ARE SPENDING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS TO REPLACE PARTS THAT ARE JUST PART OF A TROUBLE SHOOTING ISSUE AND MOST OF US STILL HAVE THE PROBLEM. AND IT'S THE SAME FOR ALL OF US. PLEASE RELOOK AT THIS PROBLEM. IF I WERE THE ONLY ONE I COULD UNDERSTAND BUT I AM NOT. WE LOVE OUR TRUCKS BUT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. LAST NIGHT I WAS IN A DOUBLE TURN INTERSECTION WHEN IT SHUT OFF. THANKFUL I WAS IN THE OUTER LANE AND HIT THE MEDIAN AND NOT ANOTHER CAR. IF YOU READ ON CAR COMPLAINTS.COM UNDER 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 STALLS/SHUTS DOWN WHILE DRIVING, YOU WILL SEE THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND THERE ARE LOADS OF PEOPLE. THEY THINK THE REPAIR FIXES BUT IT DOES NOT AND THE ISSUE DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. IT STARTED OCCASIONALLY BUT NOW IT'S ALMOST DAILY AND MULTIPLE TIMES A DAY. PLEASE PLEASE HELP! THIS STARTED IN 2009 WHEN WE BOUGHT THE TRUCK AND HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE. NOT SURE IF PREVIOUS OWNER HAD ISSUE BUT IT MAY BE WHY IT WAS TRADED IN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/18/2016 - LAWTON, OK
THE TRUCK STALLS WHEN SLOWING FOR A STOP OR IDLING AROUND A CORNER. THAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE THE STEERING AND BRAKES ARE LOCKED UP AT THAT POINT. WHETHER IT'S IDLING IN A TRAFFIC JAM, COMING TO A STOP, OR IDLING AROUND THE CORNER, YOU WILL SUDDENLY HAVE NO POWER BUT EVERYTHING ELSE IS ON. NOT THE ENGINE AND IT WAS SO SMOOTH THAT YOU DON'T NOTICE UNTIL YOU CAN'T BRAKE OR STEER. THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THIS YEAR MAKE AND MODEL THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I UNDERSTAND THERE WAS AN INVESTIGATION BUT IT WAS CLOSED WITHOUT RESOLUTION. CASE NUMBER EA05018. THIS IS A GROWING PROBLEM AND WE THE PEOPLE ARE SPENDING HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS TO REPLACE PARTS THAT ARE JUST PART OF A TROUBLE SHOOTING ISSUE AND MOST OF US STILL HAVE THE PROBLEM. AND IT'S THE SAME FOR ALL OF US. PLEASE RELOOK AT THIS PROBLEM. IF I WERE THE ONLY ONE I COULD UNDERSTAND BUT I AM NOT. WE LOVE OUR TRUCKS BUT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. LAST NIGHT I WAS IN A DOUBLE TURN INTERSECTION WHEN IT SHUT OFF. THANKFUL I WAS IN THE OUTER LANE AND HIT THE MEDIAN AND NOT ANOTHER CAR. IF YOU READ ON CAR COMPLAINTS.COM UNDER 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 STALLS/SHUTS DOWN WHILE DRIVING, YOU WILL SEE THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND THERE ARE LOADS OF PEOPLE. THEY THINK THE REPAIR FIXES BUT IT DOES NOT AND THE ISSUE DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. IT STARTED OCCASIONALLY BUT NOW IT'S ALMOST DAILY AND MULTIPLE TIMES A DAY. PLEASE PLEASE HELP! THIS STARTED IN 2009 WHEN WE BOUGHT THE TRUCK AND HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE. NOT SURE IF PREVIOUS OWNER HAD ISSUE BUT IT MAY BE WHY IT WAS TRADED IN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2016 - ALLIANCE, OH
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN) AND 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/14/2016 - ALLIANCE, OH
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V796000 (POWER TRAIN) AND 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds