Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 282 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (61) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seat Belts (2) Structure (12) Visibility (27)
Engine (18) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (23) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (8) Tires (8) Wheels (12)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/12/2014 - INDIALANTIC, FL
DIFFERENTIAL: OVER THE 90000 MILES I HAVE ON FOUR OCCASIONS I HAVE PULLED THE DIFFERENTIAL COVER, CLEANED THE RECEIVER, AND REPLACED LUBRICANT. THESE ARE DEFECTIVE PARTS AND AS STATED IN SEVERAL ACCIDENTS LEAD TO COMPLETE FAILURE AND ACCIDENT POTENTIAL. THIS WOULD BE A $3000+ REPAIR AT A DEALER - ALMOST THE VALUE OF MY TRUCK. THE REST OF MY TRUCK WOULD GO FOR ANOTHER 100,000+ MILES. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I HAVE WRITTEN YOUR AGENCY. DIFFERENTIALS WERE DEFECTIVE. I LIMIT USE TO LOCAL DRIVING ONLY. STEVE NEVILLE 144 OCEAN TERRACE INDIALANTIC, FL 32903

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2013 - GLENDORA, NJ
PROBLEMS WITH THE ELECTRICAL HARNESS IN 2 DODGE RAM PICK UPS THE ONE WE HAVE NOW, NO HEAT BLOWS..... ALSO WE HAVE A SUN ROOF AND IT LEAKS WATER. I KNOW 14 PEOPLE THAT HAVE THIS TRUCK AND 12 OF THEM HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE HEAT/BLOWER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/13/2013 - PINOLE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, A WHINING NOISE WAS HEARD FROM OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE AS THE REAR TIRES SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE DRIVE SHAFT BECAME DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE TRAVELED OUT OF LANE AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,300. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

WHEELS

10/3/2013 - INDIALANTIC, FL
REAR AXLE/WHEELS: GRINDING -SQUEAKING - TIC/TIC - CHIRPING: HAVE ALL SERVICE RECORDS. SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED/REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY, OR RECALLED IF THE CASE. MAINTAINED AT.BY DEALER ON 3000 MILE SERVICE BASIS. CHANGED TRANSMISSION FLUID, AXLE FLUID AND TIRES TWICE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
ANOTHER VEHICLE CUT IN FRONT AND BRAKED FOR RED LIGHT CAUSING ME TO "LOCK UP" THE BRAKES. THE TRUCK HAS REAR ABS WHICH KEPT THE REAR WHEELS FROM "LOCKING UP". VEHICLE ACCELERATED DURING HEAVY BRAKING WHICH CAUSED THE COLLISION. ABOUT 50 FEET OF BRAKE MARKS WERE LEFT ON THE ROAD SURFACE FROM THE FRONT TIRES. IN A SEPARATE INCIDENT, A VEHICLE SUDDENLY MERGED FROM LEFT SIDE OF ROAD CAUSING ME TO SWERVE TO THE SOFT SHOULDER ON THE RIGHT. TRUCK HAD COME TO A COMPLETE STOP WHEN THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL STARTED TO SPIN. IT SPUN FOR ABOUT 10 SECONDS BEFORE IT STOPPED. TIRE DUG INTO THE SOFT SHOULDER AND LEFT A SPRAY OF DIRT BEHIND THE TRUCK.. HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR A FACILITY TO TEST THE BRAKING SYSTEM. IT APPEARS RELATED TO THE STALLING WHILE STOPPING PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
ANOTHER VEHICLE CUT IN FRONT AND BRAKED FOR RED LIGHT CAUSING ME TO "LOCK UP" THE BRAKES. THE TRUCK HAS REAR ABS WHICH KEPT THE REAR WHEELS FROM "LOCKING UP". VEHICLE ACCELERATED DURING HEAVY BRAKING WHICH CAUSED THE COLLISION. ABOUT 50 FEET OF BRAKE MARKS WERE LEFT ON THE ROAD SURFACE FROM THE FRONT TIRES. IN A SEPARATE INCIDENT, A VEHICLE SUDDENLY MERGED FROM LEFT SIDE OF ROAD CAUSING ME TO SWERVE TO THE SOFT SHOULDER ON THE RIGHT. TRUCK HAD COME TO A COMPLETE STOP WHEN THE RIGHT REAR WHEEL STARTED TO SPIN. IT SPUN FOR ABOUT 10 SECONDS BEFORE IT STOPPED. TIRE DUG INTO THE SOFT SHOULDER AND LEFT A SPRAY OF DIRT BEHIND THE TRUCK.. HAVE BEEN SEARCHING FOR A FACILITY TO TEST THE BRAKING SYSTEM. IT APPEARS RELATED TO THE STALLING WHILE STOPPING PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
WHILE TRUCK WAS PARKED AND SECURED, A FIRE STARTED IN THE WIRE HARNESS ABOVE THE GAS TANK. FIRE WAS CONTAINED BEFORE VEHICLE BECAME ENGULFED. FIRE DEPARTMENT AND POLICE DEPARTMENT REPORTS MADE. INSURANCE COMPANY INVESTIGATED. DETERMINED WIRE HARNESS OVERHEATED AND IGNITED GAS VAPOR LEAKING FROM PLASTIC FUEL SYSTEM LINES. DUE TO USE OF PLASTIC MATERIALS, FIRE SPREAD RAPIDLY, INCLUDING THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK MELTING. TRUCK HAS BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
WHILE TRUCK WAS PARKED AND SECURED, A FIRE STARTED IN THE WIRE HARNESS ABOVE THE GAS TANK. FIRE WAS CONTAINED BEFORE VEHICLE BECAME ENGULFED. FIRE DEPARTMENT AND POLICE DEPARTMENT REPORTS MADE. INSURANCE COMPANY INVESTIGATED. DETERMINED WIRE HARNESS OVERHEATED AND IGNITED GAS VAPOR LEAKING FROM PLASTIC FUEL SYSTEM LINES. DUE TO USE OF PLASTIC MATERIALS, FIRE SPREAD RAPIDLY, INCLUDING THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK MELTING. TRUCK HAS BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/30/2013 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
WHILE TRUCK WAS PARKED AND SECURED, A FIRE STARTED IN THE WIRE HARNESS ABOVE THE GAS TANK. FIRE WAS CONTAINED BEFORE VEHICLE BECAME ENGULFED. FIRE DEPARTMENT AND POLICE DEPARTMENT REPORTS MADE. INSURANCE COMPANY INVESTIGATED. DETERMINED WIRE HARNESS OVERHEATED AND IGNITED GAS VAPOR LEAKING FROM PLASTIC FUEL SYSTEM LINES. DUE TO USE OF PLASTIC MATERIALS, FIRE SPREAD RAPIDLY, INCLUDING THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK MELTING. TRUCK HAS BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2013 - OTTAWA, IL
MY COMPLAINT # IS 10533970, THERE'S NOT ENOUGH CHARACTERS FOR THIS TO BE SAID THERE. PLEASE REVIEW THIS INFO, SOMEONE HAS TO GET THESE DEATH TRAPS OFF THE ROAD BEFORE PEOPLE START OR KEEP DYING. THE FOLLOWING COMPLAINTS ALONE FOR 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 HEMI'S 4X4! 10525317,10522824,10522467,10515234, 10512746,10508477,10508200,10507139,10503157,10502707,10502402,10499587,10487800,10478873, 10446068, 10248039, 10446048, 10479516, 10129030. THERE'S ANOTHER 20 ON 04 RAM MODELS,18 ON 05 RAMS, DAKOTAS & DURANGOS, 06 MODELS SAME WAY. ITS ALL ON HERE. THE CANADIAN HIGHWAY DEPT HAS A 2007 ON LOCK DOWN AND AWAITING A FULL INVESTIGATION AFTER PINION NUT CAME LOOSE AND CATAPULTED THE RAM ON ITS ROOF AT 60 MPH! ITS ON FACEBOOK, AND MANY ON LINE FORUMS STATE THE SAME ISSUES WITH PINION NUTS COMING LOOSE. DODGE TALK, THE STRAIGHT DOPE, JUST GOOGLE IT. I AM REQUESTING A BETTER INVESTIGATION BE PERFORMED INTO THE REAR END/PINION NUT RECALLS WITH DODGE RAM, DAKOTA, DURANGO AND CHRYSLER ASPEN VANS FROM 2002-CURRENT DATE. AFTER MY INVESTIGATION I FOUND THE FOLLOWING RECALLS ON THIS SITE ASSOCIATED WITH THE REAR END/ PINION NUT COMING LOOSE. HERE'S THE INFO, RECALLS #95599, 79940, 793042, 93043, 95601,AND LASTLY 95600 2/6/13. ACCORDING TO THIS SITE, ALMOST 1 MILLION VEHICLES ON THE RECALL LIST , JUST 2009-12. THE RECALL 95600 STATES THE 2009-2011 DODGE DAKOTAS MANUFACTURED FEB 27, 2007 ECT. I HAVE A HARD TIME BELIEVING 2009 DAKOTAS WERE BEING MANUFACTURED N FEB OF 2007, WHICH MEANS THE 2007 AND 2008 MODELS WERE BEING BUILT THEN, BUT THEY ARE NOT IN THE RECALL, WHY NOT? ALSO ACCORDING TO THE CHRYSLER'S OWN ADMISSIONS (VIEWABLE ON THIS SITE) AT YOUR REQUEST TO PROVIDE ALL INFO ACCORDING TO YOUR INVESTIGATION, (QUOTE) THAT THESE SAME PARTS ARE "BACKWARDS" IN EARLIER MODEL YEARS(MEANING THEY HAVE BEEN USING THESE SAME PARTS FOR YEARS PRIOR) AND BASED ON INFO I HAVE FOUND SEEMS TO BE SINCE 2002.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds