Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 336 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (32) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (99) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (2) Structure (12) Visibility (27)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (27) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (11) Tires (8) Wheels (17)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

9/2/2014 - LADERA RANCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT WAS FRACTURED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE BEARINGS AND SPIDER GEARS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

9/2/2014 - LADERA RANCH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT WAS FRACTURED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC STATED THAT THE BEARINGS AND SPIDER GEARS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

8/25/2014 - SEDGEWICKVILLE , MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE AXLE SUDDENLY FRACTURED AND THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS EXAMINED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT NO REMEDY WAS OFFERED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/21/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
I WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH ON I-95, AND WHEN CROSSING A SMALL OVERPASS, I HEARD A HIGH PITCHED WHINE. I THOUGHT IT SOUNDED SIMILAR TO THE NOISE TIRES MAKE WHEN ON A BRIDGE GRATE, BUT IT WAS LOUDER AND HIGHER PITCHED. APPROXIMATELY 15 SECONDS AFTER THE FIRST OCCURRENCE, THERE WAS ANOTHER QUICK WHINE AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. THERE WAS A VERY LOUD AND FAST BANGING NOISE COMING FROM UNDER THE TRUCK. IT FELT LIKE THE TRUCK WAS COMING APART AROUND US. I WAS IN THE FAST LANE, SO I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND HIT THE BRAKES IMMEDIATELY. I LOOKED UNDER THE TRUCK AND SAW THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT HAD BECOME DETACHED FROM THE DIFFERENTIAL HOUSING. I HAD IT TOWED TO A SHOP. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT THE SPLINE NUT HAD COMPLETELY BACKED OFF ALLOWING THE DRIVE SHAFT TO COME FREE. HE MENTIONED THAT THERE DIDN'T APPEAR TO BE ANY EVIDENCE OF THREAD LOCK COMPOUND ON THE SPLINE. FORTUNATELY, I WAS ABLE TO STOP BEFORE THE BEARINGS JAMMED UP THE GEARS AND FROZE THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL. I HAVE HAD IT IN A TOTAL OF THREE SHOPS FOR ASSESSMENT. THE CONSENSUS IS THAT THE REAR IS DAMAGED BEYOND REPAIR AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

WHEELS

8/15/2014 - MIAMI, FL
AFTER HAVING BEEN STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN, I MADE A RIGHT TURN AND ACCELERATED TO PROCEED STRAIGHT FOR APPROXIMATELY 300 FEET OR SO WHERE I WAS GOING TO MAKE A LEFT HAND TURN INTO A STORE PARKING LOT. ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS A WHINING SOUND AND IT FELT LIKE THE ENGINE WAS STRAINING, THERE WAS A LOUD BANG AND THUD AS IF I HAD RUN SOMETHING OVER. THE TRUCK STARTED "JERKING" VIOLENTLY AND CAME TO AN ABRUPT STOP. AS SOON AS I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, THE LOUD NOISE STOPPED AND THE ENGINE WAS IDLING NORMALLY AS IF THERE WAS NO PROBLEM. I EXITED THE VEHICLE AND, TO MY SHOCK, SAW THE DRIVE SHAFT DETACHED FROM THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL (THE TRUCK IS A REAR WHEEL DRIVE) AND LAYING ON THE STREET. LATER ON, WITH THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION BUT THE ENGINE OFF, I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND SOME ROAD WORKERS TRIED TO PUSH IT OFF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT BUDGE. THE REAR WHEELS WERE LOCKED. SUFFICE IT TO SAY, HAD I BEEN TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55-60 MPH THE RESULTS OF THE MALFUNCTION COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTROUS. A RECALL NEED TO BE ISSUED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2014 - MIAMI, FL
AFTER HAVING BEEN STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN, I MADE A RIGHT TURN AND ACCELERATED TO PROCEED STRAIGHT FOR APPROXIMATELY 300 FEET OR SO WHERE I WAS GOING TO MAKE A LEFT HAND TURN INTO A STORE PARKING LOT. ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS A WHINING SOUND AND IT FELT LIKE THE ENGINE WAS STRAINING, THERE WAS A LOUD BANG AND THUD AS IF I HAD RUN SOMETHING OVER. THE TRUCK STARTED "JERKING" VIOLENTLY AND CAME TO AN ABRUPT STOP. AS SOON AS I PUT THE CAR IN PARK, THE LOUD NOISE STOPPED AND THE ENGINE WAS IDLING NORMALLY AS IF THERE WAS NO PROBLEM. I EXITED THE VEHICLE AND, TO MY SHOCK, SAW THE DRIVE SHAFT DETACHED FROM THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL (THE TRUCK IS A REAR WHEEL DRIVE) AND LAYING ON THE STREET. LATER ON, WITH THE KEY IN THE ON POSITION BUT THE ENGINE OFF, I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND SOME ROAD WORKERS TRIED TO PUSH IT OFF THE ROAD. IT WOULD NOT BUDGE. THE REAR WHEELS WERE LOCKED. SUFFICE IT TO SAY, HAD I BEEN TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55-60 MPH THE RESULTS OF THE MALFUNCTION COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTROUS. A RECALL NEED TO BE ISSUED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/9/2014 - CARENCRO, LA
THIS IS AN ONGOING AND OLD PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. WHEN ATTAINING MINIMUM SPEEDS OF 40 OR 45MPH, APPLYING THE BRAKES CAUSES A VEHICLE SHUDDER. ITS ALMOST LIKE THE VEHICLE IS HOPPING. IT CAUSES OPERATOR TO BOUNCE IN SEAT AND IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS TO CONTROL. RESEARCHING PROBLEM ONLINE I HAVE DISCOVERED OTHER COMPLAINTS. REPLACING BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS SOLVES THE PROBLEM ONLY TEMPORARILY. HAVING BRAKES CHECKED AT MECHANIC DURING THIS ISSUE FAILED TO FIND FAULT, AND INDICATED AMPLE THICKNESS ON BRAKE SHOES. ISSUE HAS CAUSED A GREAT VEHICLE MAINTENANCE EXPENSE DUE TO FREQUENT BRAKE REPLACEMENTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

8/5/2014 - HALIFAX , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A GRINDING AND BANGING SOUND NEAR THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT LATER DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT SEPARATED AND EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2014 - MANHATTAN , KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER WAS MADE AWARE THAT THERE WAS SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/29/2014 - HOBBS , NM
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE TRUCK JUST STALLS FOR NO REASON. I LOSE ALL CONTROL. I ALMOST HIT A CAR. I WENT OVER THE CURB INTO SOMEONE'S YARD. I HAVE SEEN HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FROM DODGE OWNERS WITH THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM. THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THAT MODEL. THE RPM'S JUMP AND THE TRUCK JUST DIES. ITS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE FREEWAY, ON RURAL ROADS, AND CITY STREETS. THIS IS GOING TO CAUSE SOMEBODY SERIOUS INJURY. I PARKED MY TRUCK AND STOPPED DRIVING IT BECAUSE IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE IMMEDIATELY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds