Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 1500 - 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 322 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (14) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (87) Steering (28) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Seat Belts (2) Structure (12) Visibility (27)
Engine (22) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (4) Suspension (26) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (74) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (10) Tires (8) Wheels (18)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

7/14/2014 - WARNER , OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE EMBANKMENT AND ROLLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE BURST INTO FLAMES, WHICH WERE EXTINGUISHED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND INDICATED THAT A FRACTURED REAR AXLE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE CRASH CAUSED A FATAL INJURY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

7/14/2014 - WARNER , OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE EMBANKMENT AND ROLLED OVER SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE BURST INTO FLAMES, WHICH WERE EXTINGUISHED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND INDICATED THAT A FRACTURED REAR AXLE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE CRASH CAUSED A FATAL INJURY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/7/2014 - LEVITTOWN, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH THE BACK WHEELS SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING LOCKED UP FOR AN INSTANT. I IMMEDIATELY BRAKED TO REDUCE SPEED AND TRY TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IN ORDER TO AVOID BEING HIT IN THE REAR BY OTHER VEHICLES, I NEEDED TO ACCELERATE TO 60 MPH AND THE WHEELS LOCKED AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I HAVE CALLED DODGE ABOUT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/7/2014 - LEVITTOWN, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH THE BACK WHEELS SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING LOCKED UP FOR AN INSTANT. I IMMEDIATELY BRAKED TO REDUCE SPEED AND TRY TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IN ORDER TO AVOID BEING HIT IN THE REAR BY OTHER VEHICLES, I NEEDED TO ACCELERATE TO 60 MPH AND THE WHEELS LOCKED AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I HAVE CALLED DODGE ABOUT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/2/2014 - DALLAS, PA
THE DRIVESHAFT CAME LOOSE FROM THE REAREND. IT WAS PRECEDED BY A SLIGHT WHIRRING NOISE WHICH APPEARED TO BE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE WHIRRING NOISE WAS ONLY PRESENT FOR A SHORT PERIOD AND WAS ONLY HEARD ON DECELERATION. UPON ACCELERATION, THERE WAS NO NOISE. IMMEDIATELY BEFORE THE DRIVESHAFT LET LOOSE, THERE WAS A LOUDER WHIRRING NOISE, SOME JERKING, AND THEN THE LACK OF CONNECTION BETWEEN THE TRANSMISSION AND REAREND. THE DIFFERENTIAL WAS LOCKED UP AND THE WHEELS WOULD NOT MOVE FORWARD. THE SPEED WHEN THIS HAPPENED WAS APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH. THE REPAIR HAS NOT BEEN DONE AS OF 7/2/2014. IF ANYONE FROM THE NHTSA WOULD LIKE TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE RECENT INVESTIGATION INTO THIS MODEL AND PROBLEM, THEY ARE WELCOME TO DO SO.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/30/2014 - NEW BEDFORD, MA
LAST SATURDAY ON JUNE 28 2014 I WAS LEAVING MY RESIDENCE WHEN I OBSERVED A SMALL LEAK DRIPPING OUT OF MY REAR DIFFERENTIAL WHERE THE PINION GEAR GOES INTO THE DIFFERENTIAL. I ORDERED A PINION SEAL AT MY LOCAL AUTO PARTS STORE. ON MY WAY TO THE PARTS STORE I NOTICED A VERY FAINT WHINE COMING FROM THE REAR END. ABOUT 1 TO 2 MILES AFTER THE WHINE WAS FIRST NOTICED IT QUICKLY BECAME A ROAR FOR NO MORE THAN 20 SECONDS AND THEN THE PINION GEAR SNAPPED AT THE DIFFERENTIAL LOCKING BOTH MY REAR TIRES UP SENDING MY TRUCK SIDEWAYS. WITH MY SON IN THE BACK SEAT IT WAS A VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE FOR A 2 YEAR OLD. I COULDN'T MOVE THE TRUCK OUT OF THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET SO I SAT HELPLESSLY AND WAITED FOR A TOW TRUCK. THE NEXT DAY I LOOKED UNDERNEATH THE TRUCK AND REALIZED THAT ALONG WITH MY REAR END BEING TOASTED SO WAS MY DRIVE SHAFT WHICH HAD DAMAGE FROM SPINNING FREELY. THEN I OBSERVED MY GAS TANK WITH A DENT SO BIG I HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO PURCHASE A NEW TANK. SO FAR I HAVE BEEN QUOTED FOR A USED REAR DIFFERENTIAL AT SEVERAL SALVAGE YARDS FROM 800-1400. IT'S RIDICULOUS THAT THIS PROBLEM CONTINUES WITH DODGE TRUCKS AND NOTHING IS BEING DONE ABOUT IT. IS IT GOING TO TAKE SOMEONE LOOSING THERE LIFE BECAUSE NEGLIGENCE FROM DODGE TO GET THESE PROBLEMS FIXED AND HOLD DODGE ACCOUNTABLE!!!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/30/2014 - DALLAS, TX
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500, AND HAVE ALWAYS KEPT MY TRUCK IN EXCELLENT PHYSICAL AND MECHANICAL CONDITION, AND THERE ARE NO INCOMPLETE OR UNPERFORMED RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INDICATIONS OF ANY KIND OF MECHANICAL ISSUES WITH THIS TRUCK UNTIL SUNDAY, 6/22/14, APPROX. 6PM. I WAS DRIVING AT APPROX. 35-40 MPH ALONG A LOCAL STREET, APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION, WHEN IT SOUNDED LIKE A BLOWOUT, BUT THE TRUCK CONTINUED TO DRIVE INTO AN INTERSECTION. THIS WAS FOLLOWED BY WHINING AND BANGING SOUNDS, WHICH AS IT TURNS OUT, WAS A THE DRIVE SHAFT TEARING UP THE UNDERSIDE OF MY TRUCK. I MADE IT THRU THE INTERSECTION, AND PART-WAY INTO A PARKING LOT DRIVEWAY, WHEN THE 2 PIECES OF MY DRIVESHAFT FLEW OFF AND THE ENTIRE BACK END LOCKED UP, WITH MY TRUCK BLOCKING TRAFFIC. I AM DISABLED, AND WAS FORTUNATELY NOT INJURED, AND NO ONE WAS HIT BY THE FLYING PIECES OF THE DRIVE SHAFT AS THEY FLEW OUT. THE TRUCK WAS INSPECTED BY A GEICO ADJUSTER, WHO INDICATED HE WAS WELL TRAINED WITH TRUCK PARTS AND MECHANICAL, AND THAT ONE OF THE PINS HAD BACKED OUT OF THE 2005 DODGE RAM 1500 DRIVE SHAFT INTO THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL, CAUSING SPIDER GEARS TO LOCK UP AND THE DRIVESHAFT TO TEAR AWAY FROM THE REAR AXLE. I HAVE A COPY OF THE GEICO REPORT. THE ADJUSTERS ASSESSMENT WAS CONFIRMED ALSO BY THE REPAIR CENTER, WHO MENTIONED THAT THEY HAD SEEN THIS SAME ISSUE BEFORE. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY HAZARDOUS MECHANICAL FAILURE; THE VEHICLE APPEARS TO KEEP RUNNING, BUT THE DRIVER AND PASSENGERS ARE IN A VEHICLE THAT ULTIMATELY CANNOT BE CONTROLLED, AND THE DRIVE SHAFT COMES INTO 2 PIECES AND FLIES OUT, POTENTIALLY INJURING BY-STANDERS AND OTHER PROPERTY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

6/30/2014 - NORTH APOLLO, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE RAM 1500. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE REAR DRIVESHAFT BECAME DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE DRIVESHAFT AND REAR END NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,020.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/28/2014 - CEDAR GROVE, NC
WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON SECONDARY ROAD, HEARD A NOISE, THEN A THUMP. SHE WAS DOING AROUND 40-45 MPH, WAS ABLE TO PUT OVER TO SIDE OF ROAD WITH NO INCIDENT. I ARRIVED TO SEE WHAT HAD BROKE, AND I DISCOVERED THE DRIVESHAFT HAD SEPARATED FROM THE REAR AXEL. NOTHING HAD BROKE, BUT RATHER THE NUT THAT CONNECTS THE DRIVESHAFT TO THE REAR AXEL HAD LOOSENED AND CAME OFF. CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE REAR END.

View Details

ENGINE

6/3/2014 - VALPARAISO, IN
VEHICLE STALLS AT LOW SPEED ACCELERATION OR STOPPING. VEHICLE WILL STALL UPON FORWARD MOVEMENT, WHICH CAUSED MY VEHICLE TO STALL IN AN INTERSECTION AND NEARLY HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. VEHICLE WILL ALSO STALL WHILE STOPPING SOMETIMES AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds