Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE STRATUS - 2005 DODGE STRATUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2005 DODGE STRATUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 DODGE STRATUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 DODGE STRATUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (16)
Child Seat (1) Engine (4) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Seat Belts (2) Steering (12) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Structure (3) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

4/7/2009 - AMES, IA
1. WAITING FOR TRAFFIC LIGHT TO CHANGE AT INTERSECTION OF LINCOLIN WAY AND SOUTH DAKOTA. 2. AS I ACCELERATED FROM THE STOP LIGHT TO TURN SOUTH ONTO SOUTH DAKOTA, MY CHAIR MADE A "POPPING" NOISE AND MY CHAIR SLAMMED BACKWARD INTO THE RECLINE POSITION AND I WAS STARRING AT THE TOP OF THE CAR. THE FAILURE WAS THE FORWARD RETAINING BOLT THAT FASTENS THE SEAT BACK TO THE SLIDING FRAME RAIL HAD SNAPPED. THIS IN TURN CAUSED THE FRAME SUPPORT FOR THE SEAT BACK TO BEND. THANKFULLY NO PERSON WAS HURT DURING THIS EVENT BECAUSE TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT AND I WAS ABLE TO RECOVER CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. 3. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP, BENSON MOTORS. THEY PROCEEDED TO EXPLAIN TO ME WHAT FAILURE HAD OCCURRED. THEN I WAS INFORMED THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PURCHASE AN ENTIRE DIFFERENT SEAT FOR MY VEHICLE. A NEW CHAIR WOULD COST IN EXCESS OF $1,000.00 OR PURCHASE A USED CHAIR FROM A SALVAGE YARD FOR ROUGHLY $500.00. FROM INSPECTING THE CHAIR PERSONALLY, THE SUPPORT BOLT SNAPPED CLEAN OFF, AND THE VEHICLE WAS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD AND HAD LESS THAN 60,000 MILES ON IT. THE OLD PARTS ARE AVAILABLE, AND I WILL BE RECORDING THE FAILURE WITH MY DIGITAL CAMERA. I ALSO CALLED THE CHRYSLER CORPORATIONS CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT THEY ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS FAILURE BECAUSE THE VEHICLES 3YR/30,000MI WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO FOR ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

1/14/2009 - HALFWAY, OR
I WAS DRIVING MY 2005 DODGE STRATUS SXT ALONG ON A GRAVEL ROAD ON OCT 12 2008 AND HAD A DEER RUN OUT IN FRONT OF ME. WHEN I SWERVED TO AVOID THE DEER MY LEFT FRONT TIRE BLEW AND CAUSED MY CAR TO END UP IN A DITCH. I WAS TRAVELING APPROX 35 TO 40 MPH, NEITHER AIR BAG DEPLOYED AND THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF MY CAR WAS DESTROYED TO INCLUDE THE FRONT BUMPER COVER, BOTH FRONT FENDERS, THE HOOD. THE INSURANCE COMPANY TOTALED THE VEHICLE DUE TO $5900 WORTH OF DAMAGE. NOW I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/13/2008 - SCIO, OH
I BELIEVE THAT THIS ISSUE HAS GREAT POTENTIAL FOR A FATALITY. THE PROBLEM THAT DODGE/CHRYSLER HAS IS IN THE 2.4L ENGINES MANUFACTURED FROM 2005 TO PRESENT. THE CRANKSHAFT MOVES INSIDE THE ENGINE (ENDPLAY) AND PUSHES THE FRONT MAIN SEAL TO COME OUT. THIS SPILLS THE ENTIRE CONTENTS OF OIL ONTO THE ROAD AND COVERS THE BOTTOM OF THE CAR. WHEN I HAD THE CAR TOWED THE SHOP SAID IT WAS SURPRISING THAT THE CAR DID NOT CRASH FIRE. DODGE REFUSES TO FIX THE CAR, BECAUSE THEY SAY IT IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND DODGE SHOULD BE FORCED TO ISSUE A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/10/2008 - OMAHA, NE
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE STRATUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. THE VEHICLE STILL HAD STEERING AND BRAKING ABILITY SO THE CONTACT PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. SHE TURNED THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY OFF AND IT WAS ABLE TO RESTART IMMEDIATELY. A COUPLE OF MILES DOWN THE ROAD, THE FAILURE KEPT RECURRING FOR THE NEXT THREE HOURS. SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY COULD NOT ASSIST BECAUSE THE PART NEEDED FOR INSPECTION WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO ANOTHER DEALER AND THEY KEPT IT FOR THREE DAYS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE AT THE DEALER, BUT THEY COULD NOT PROVIDE A FAILURE CODE. THE CONTACT RENTED A U-HAUL TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALER FROM WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED; HOWEVER, THEY ALSO COULD NOT PROVIDE A CODE FOR THE FAILURE. ANOTHER DEALER COULD NOT FIGURE OUT THE CAUSE FOR THE SUDDEN MALFUNCTION AS WELL. SHE RETRIEVED THE VEHICLE FROM THE DEALER AND DROVE FOR APPROXIMATELY A MONTH AND A HALF WITHOUT ANY FAILURES. THE FAILURE HAS RECENTLY RECURRED AND TAKES PLACE WHILE IDLING IN TRAFFIC OR DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALES DEALER AND THEY KEPT IT FOR FOUR DAYS. THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE STATE ATTORNEY GENERAL ALSO OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER NEW AND DID NOT QUALIFY FOR THE LEMON LAW. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 58,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 56,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

8/12/2008 - MILWAUKEE, WI
HELLO,MY NAME IS CARLENE BOYD. I WAS INVOLVED IN AN MOTOR VEHICLE ACCIDENT ON AUGUST 1 OF 2008.I WAS DRIVING A 2005 DODGE STRATUS.MY VEHICLE COLLIDED WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE.M Y CAR SUSTAINED MAJOR FRONT END DAMAGE.THE DAMAGE WAS SO SEVERE MY VEHICLE WAS TOTALED BY MY INSURANCE COMPANY.MY SPEED LIMIT ON IMPACT WAS BETWEEN 35-40 MILES AN HOUR. I WAS SHOCKED MY AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY.LUCKILY,MYSELF AND MY MOTHER WAS WEARING OUR SAFETY BELTS.I FEEL AT THE SPEED I WAS DRIVING MY AIR BAGS SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED.I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER OF THE DODGE STRATUS ON FRIDAY AUGUST 8,2008,STILL I HAVEN;T RECEIVED A RESPONSE. PLEASE ASSIST ME WITH THIS MATTER.THANK YOU

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/23/2008 - CEDARHILL , TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A VEHICLE TWO VEHICLE LENGTHS BEFORE HIM, CAUSED HIM TO SLAM ON THE BRAKES. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE FRONT OF HIS HOOD WAS JAMMED UNDER THE REAR OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. A PASSERBY INFORMED HIM THAT HIS VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE. THE FIRE SPREAD TO THE OTHER VEHICLE AS WELL. BOTH VEHICLES BECAME COMPLETELY ENGULFED. THE CONTACT WAS INJURED. THE FIRE AND POLICE DEPARTMENTS ARRIVED AND FILED REPORTS. THE MANUFACTURER HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT. THE VIN AND SPEED WERE UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 74,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

5/27/2008 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE NO AIR BAGS AND NO HORN IN HER VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CRUISE CONTROL AND FUEL GAUGE WERE NOT WORKING. SHE ALSO NOTICED THE IGNITION (WHERE THE KEY IS INSERTED) WAS SMOKING. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BATTERY WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. SHE WAS LATER INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A FAULTY DIAGNOSTIC TEST; THEREFORE, THE BATTERY WAS NOT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

5/27/2008 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE NO AIR BAGS AND NO HORN IN HER VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CRUISE CONTROL AND FUEL GAUGE WERE NOT WORKING. SHE ALSO NOTICED THE IGNITION (WHERE THE KEY IS INSERTED) WAS SMOKING. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BATTERY WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. SHE WAS LATER INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A FAULTY DIAGNOSTIC TEST; THEREFORE, THE BATTERY WAS NOT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

5/27/2008 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE NO AIR BAGS AND NO HORN IN HER VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CRUISE CONTROL AND FUEL GAUGE WERE NOT WORKING. SHE ALSO NOTICED THE IGNITION (WHERE THE KEY IS INSERTED) WAS SMOKING. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BATTERY WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. SHE WAS LATER INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A FAULTY DIAGNOSTIC TEST; THEREFORE, THE BATTERY WAS NOT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,500.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

5/27/2008 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2005 DODGE STRATUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WERE NO AIR BAGS AND NO HORN IN HER VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CRUISE CONTROL AND FUEL GAUGE WERE NOT WORKING. SHE ALSO NOTICED THE IGNITION (WHERE THE KEY IS INSERTED) WAS SMOKING. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE BATTERY WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. SHE WAS LATER INFORMED THAT THERE WAS A FAULTY DIAGNOSTIC TEST; THEREFORE, THE BATTERY WAS NOT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,500.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds