Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2005 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 487 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (98) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (2) Structure (153) Visibility (23)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (39) Seats (2) Suspension (15) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Fuel System Other (11) Service Brakes (8) Tires (10) Wheels (14)
Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (10)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

3/31/2014 - TRUCKEE, CA
BECAUSE OF THE RECENT GM RECALL IGNITION ISSUE, I THOUGHT I SHOULD LET SOMEONE KNOW ABOUT THE SERIOUS SIMILAR ISSUE I HAD 3 TIMES BEFORE I TRADED MY CAR IN. THE CAR WOULD JUST SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. AND ALL 3 TIMES, I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED THE CAR AND CONTINUED ON MY WAY. I WAS LUCKY TO HAVE A PLACE TO PULL OVER SAFELY. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC TWICE, FOUND NOTHING WRONG. TOOK IT TO FORD AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. I TRADED THE 2005 FOR A 2011. I ALSO TOLD THE DEALER THAT I TRADED IT INTO ABOUT THE ENGINE JUST SHUTTING OFF FOR NO REASON AND TO CHECK OUT THE PROBLEM BEFORE THEY SOLD IT AGAIN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/27/2014 - EDGEWOOD, WA
2005 FORD EXPLORER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE REAR AXLE LEAKING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE REAR AXLES WERE REPLACED AT 59,752. A YEAR LATER AFTER LISTENING TO THE NOISE IN THE REAR END FOR QUITE SOME TIME, THE PROBLEM RETURNED. SIX MONTHS LATER, THEY WERE REPLACED AGAIN. ALSO, THE REAR PANEL BENEATH THE WINDOW WAS RUSTED AND THE THROTTLE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AS IT IS CAUSING VEHICLE HESITATION.

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/27/2014 - EDGEWOOD, WA
2005 FORD EXPLORER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE REAR AXLE LEAKING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE REAR AXLES WERE REPLACED AT 59,752. A YEAR LATER AFTER LISTENING TO THE NOISE IN THE REAR END FOR QUITE SOME TIME, THE PROBLEM RETURNED. SIX MONTHS LATER, THEY WERE REPLACED AGAIN. ALSO, THE REAR PANEL BENEATH THE WINDOW WAS RUSTED AND THE THROTTLE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AS IT IS CAUSING VEHICLE HESITATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/27/2014 - EDGEWOOD, WA
2005 FORD EXPLORER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE REAR AXLE LEAKING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE REAR AXLES WERE REPLACED AT 59,752. A YEAR LATER AFTER LISTENING TO THE NOISE IN THE REAR END FOR QUITE SOME TIME, THE PROBLEM RETURNED. SIX MONTHS LATER, THEY WERE REPLACED AGAIN. ALSO, THE REAR PANEL BENEATH THE WINDOW WAS RUSTED AND THE THROTTLE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AS IT IS CAUSING VEHICLE HESITATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/27/2014 - EDGEWOOD, WA
2005 FORD EXPLORER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE REAR AXLE LEAKING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE REAR AXLES WERE REPLACED AT 59,752. A YEAR LATER AFTER LISTENING TO THE NOISE IN THE REAR END FOR QUITE SOME TIME, THE PROBLEM RETURNED. SIX MONTHS LATER, THEY WERE REPLACED AGAIN. ALSO, THE REAR PANEL BENEATH THE WINDOW WAS RUSTED AND THE THROTTLE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AS IT IS CAUSING VEHICLE HESITATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
AS I WAS DRIVING IN TRAFFIC, THE PANEL SUDDENLY STARTED BEEPING AND FLASHING LIGHTS AND MY CAR WOULD NOT CHANGE GEARS. THE O/D LIGHT CAME ON AND THE INFORMATION CENTER INDICATED THERE WAS SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY TRANSMISSION. NOW THE CAR WILL NOT SHIFT INTO 3RD GEAR UNTIL IT REACHES VERY HIGH RPM AND WHEN IT DOES SHIFT IT IS VERY HARD. I DRIVE THE CAR TO AND FROM WORK A TOTAL OF 6 MILES A DAY AND ALMOST NEVER ON THE HIGHWAY. IT IS ALMOST 10 YEARS OLD AND IT ONLY HAS 70,000 MILES. I'VE HEARD THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM WITH FORD TRANSMISSIONS FOR OVER 10 YEARS BUT THEY REFUSE TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE DEFECT. I HAVE BEEN BUYING FORD CARS SINCE 1995 BUT THIS WILL BE MY LAST. TOO MANY OTHER PROBLEMS THAT THEY REFUSE TO FIX.

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/8/2014 - VENICE, FL
FORD EXPLORER EDDIE BAUER - GARAGE KEPT, LOW MILES DUE TO WORKING FROM HOME. DISCOVERED A CRACK IN THE BACK HATCH UPPER PANEL. WHEN REPORTED TO INSURANCE COMPANY (PROGRESSIVE) THE AGENT INDICATED THAT THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT AND ALL FORD DEALERS ARE AWARE OF IT. I DISCOVERED OTHER FORD EXPLORERS AND EXPEDITIONS AROUND THE COUNTY WITH THE SAME CRACK. CRACK IS CAUSED BY LACK OF STABILIZATION BEHIND THE PANEL AND THE CRACK APPEARS DUE TO REGULAR CLOSING OF THE BACK HATCH. STARTS WITH A SINGLE CRACK (CAN LEAD TO MULTIPLE CRACKS). THE CRACK ALLOWS WATER TO ENTER THE BACK HATCH AREA CAUSING RUST AND DISABLING OR LIMITING THE BACK WINDOW WIPER. I WROTE A LETTER TO FORD AND EMAILED THEM REGARDING THIS MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS NOT SOMETHING THEY TAKE CARE OF. COST TO REPAIR CAN RUN ANYWHERE FROM $275 TO $1,000, DEPENDING UPON THE SEVERITY. WE HAVE STARTED A FACEBOOK PAGE FOR THOSE OF US AROUND THE COUNTRY THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM AND OUR NUMBER IS GROWING EVERY DAY. PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE 2002 THRU 2006 FORD EXPLORERS AND EXPEDITIONS. FORD HAS CHANGED THE MANUFACTURING FOR THE YEARS FOLLOWING.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

3/8/2014 - VENICE, FL
FORD EXPLORER EDDIE BAUER - GARAGE KEPT, LOW MILES DUE TO WORKING FROM HOME. DISCOVERED A CRACK IN THE BACK HATCH UPPER PANEL. WHEN REPORTED TO INSURANCE COMPANY (PROGRESSIVE) THE AGENT INDICATED THAT THIS IS A KNOWN DEFECT AND ALL FORD DEALERS ARE AWARE OF IT. I DISCOVERED OTHER FORD EXPLORERS AND EXPEDITIONS AROUND THE COUNTY WITH THE SAME CRACK. CRACK IS CAUSED BY LACK OF STABILIZATION BEHIND THE PANEL AND THE CRACK APPEARS DUE TO REGULAR CLOSING OF THE BACK HATCH. STARTS WITH A SINGLE CRACK (CAN LEAD TO MULTIPLE CRACKS). THE CRACK ALLOWS WATER TO ENTER THE BACK HATCH AREA CAUSING RUST AND DISABLING OR LIMITING THE BACK WINDOW WIPER. I WROTE A LETTER TO FORD AND EMAILED THEM REGARDING THIS MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS NOT SOMETHING THEY TAKE CARE OF. COST TO REPAIR CAN RUN ANYWHERE FROM $275 TO $1,000, DEPENDING UPON THE SEVERITY. WE HAVE STARTED A FACEBOOK PAGE FOR THOSE OF US AROUND THE COUNTRY THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM AND OUR NUMBER IS GROWING EVERY DAY. PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE 2002 THRU 2006 FORD EXPLORERS AND EXPEDITIONS. FORD HAS CHANGED THE MANUFACTURING FOR THE YEARS FOLLOWING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/7/2014 - AUTAUGAVILLE, AL
THE PAINT BUBBLED AND PEELED ON THE ROOF OF MY 2005 FORD EXPLORER EDDIE BAUER EDITION. DEALER SAYS IT IS A PAINT DEFECT BUT FORD DOES NOT HAVE A RECALL. HAD MY ROOF REPAINTED AT MY EXPENSE. NOW, ANYTIME IT RAINS, I AM GETTING WATER LEAKING FROM THE REAR AC UNIT CONTROLS AND MY FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE CARPETING IS SOAKING WET.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/6/2014 - GREER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PANEL NEAR THE HATCH WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INDICATED THAT NO RECALLS WERE ASSOCIATED WITH THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds