Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2005 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 487 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (98) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (2) Structure (153) Visibility (23)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (39) Seats (2) Suspension (15) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Fuel System Other (11) Service Brakes (8) Tires (10) Wheels (14)
Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/3/2017 - ROY, WA
WHILE USING CRUISE CONTROL, WHEN THE VEHICLE DECELERATE GOING DOWN HILL THE ENGINE STALLS ALL WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND ENGINES DIES. THIS HAPPEN ALL THE TIME WHEN I OR WIFE ARE DRIVE WITH OUR FAMILY

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/23/2017 - LONG BEACH, CA
BRAKE LIGHTS DO NOT WORK. REAR TURN SIGNALS DO NOT WORK. IT IS NOT THE FUSE BECAUSE THE REAR BACK UP LIGHTS WORK AND THE HIGH CENTER BRAKE LIGHT WORKS AND THE REAR LIGHTS TURN ON WHEN I TURN ON THE HEADLIGHTS. JUST WHEN I PRESS THE BRAKES AND TURN SIGNALS (REAR) DO NOT WORK. RESEARCHING ONLINE, LOTS OFF PEOPLE HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH BEING THE CULPRIT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/31/2017 - LAONA, WI
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT NIGHT MY VEHICLES DASHBOARD BEGAN TO ACT ERRATIC. THEN THE BATTERY GAUGE RAPIDLY DROPPED INTO THE RED ZONE. WITHIN ABOUT 3 MILES I LOST MY INTERIOR POWER, HEADLIGHTS, TAILLIGHTS, AND SIGNALS INCLUDING MY HAZARD LIGHTS. WHEN LIMPING OFF THE INTERSTATE MY TRUCK HAD LOST ENOUGH POWER TO WHERE IT DIED OUT. ONCE AT THE DEALERSHIP IT WAS FOUND THAT THE ALTERNATOR FRIED OUT CAUSING A SURGE THAT WIPED OUT THE PCM AND UTILITY CLUSTER ALL WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

ENGINE

8/31/2017 - LAONA, WI
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT NIGHT MY VEHICLES DASHBOARD BEGAN TO ACT ERRATIC. THEN THE BATTERY GAUGE RAPIDLY DROPPED INTO THE RED ZONE. WITHIN ABOUT 3 MILES I LOST MY INTERIOR POWER, HEADLIGHTS, TAILLIGHTS, AND SIGNALS INCLUDING MY HAZARD LIGHTS. WHEN LIMPING OFF THE INTERSTATE MY TRUCK HAD LOST ENOUGH POWER TO WHERE IT DIED OUT. ONCE AT THE DEALERSHIP IT WAS FOUND THAT THE ALTERNATOR FRIED OUT CAUSING A SURGE THAT WIPED OUT THE PCM AND UTILITY CLUSTER ALL WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/31/2017 - LAONA, WI
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AT NIGHT MY VEHICLES DASHBOARD BEGAN TO ACT ERRATIC. THEN THE BATTERY GAUGE RAPIDLY DROPPED INTO THE RED ZONE. WITHIN ABOUT 3 MILES I LOST MY INTERIOR POWER, HEADLIGHTS, TAILLIGHTS, AND SIGNALS INCLUDING MY HAZARD LIGHTS. WHEN LIMPING OFF THE INTERSTATE MY TRUCK HAD LOST ENOUGH POWER TO WHERE IT DIED OUT. ONCE AT THE DEALERSHIP IT WAS FOUND THAT THE ALTERNATOR FRIED OUT CAUSING A SURGE THAT WIPED OUT THE PCM AND UTILITY CLUSTER ALL WITHOUT WARNING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/25/2017 - SUN LAKES, AZ
WE'VE REPLACED THE FUEL SENSOR IN OUR 2005 FORD EXPLORER XLT TWICE IN THE PAST TWO YEARS. WE HAD 68,000 MILES WHEN WE FIRST REPLACED THE FUEL SENSOR. IT IS A COSTLY FIX. NOW, AUGUST 2017, THE FUEL SENSOR IS NOT WORKING AND OUR SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT IS ON. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE WE NEVER KNOW HOW MUCH GAS WE HAVE IN THE TANK. THE GAS GOES UP AND DOWN AND IS NOT RELIABLE. THE COMPUTER NEVER STATES THE CORRECT NUMBER OF MILES TILL EMPLY. I'LL BE DRIVING ALONG AND THE GAUGE GOES DOWN TO EMPTY AND THE COMPUTER STATES -------.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/25/2017 - GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL
MY GAUGES GO HAYWIRE THE NEEDLES SHAKE WHILE DRIVING AND WHEN CAR IS OFF NO KEY IN IGNITION. THE LIGHTS FLASH AS WELL. CAR WILL STALL IN TRAFFIC AT A STOP, THE RPM WON'T GO ABOVE 2 EVEN WHEN HWY GOING 60 MPH. MECHANIC SAID IT'S ELECTRICAL, THE DEALER TOOK OUT TOP COUNSEL AS A WORK AROUND FOR THIS ELECTRICAL ISSUE CLAIMING IT WAS NOT A RECALL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/25/2017 - GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL
MY GAUGES GO HAYWIRE THE NEEDLES SHAKE WHILE DRIVING AND WHEN CAR IS OFF NO KEY IN IGNITION. THE LIGHTS FLASH AS WELL. CAR WILL STALL IN TRAFFIC AT A STOP, THE RPM WON'T GO ABOVE 2 EVEN WHEN HWY GOING 60 MPH. MECHANIC SAID IT'S ELECTRICAL, THE DEALER TOOK OUT TOP COUNSEL AS A WORK AROUND FOR THIS ELECTRICAL ISSUE CLAIMING IT WAS NOT A RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2017 - GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL
MY GAUGES GO HAYWIRE THE NEEDLES SHAKE WHILE DRIVING AND WHEN CAR IS OFF NO KEY IN IGNITION. THE LIGHTS FLASH AS WELL. CAR WILL STALL IN TRAFFIC AT A STOP, THE RPM WON'T GO ABOVE 2 EVEN WHEN HWY GOING 60 MPH. MECHANIC SAID IT'S ELECTRICAL, THE DEALER TOOK OUT TOP COUNSEL AS A WORK AROUND FOR THIS ELECTRICAL ISSUE CLAIMING IT WAS NOT A RECALL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/9/2017 - NEILLSVILLE, WI
I HAVE A 2005 FORD EXPLORER AND UPON OPENING MY REAR TAILGATE, THE SCREWS ON THE TWO HINGES BROKE FROM THE GLASS. TTHE ONLY THING HOLDING IT HALFWAY UP IS THE HYDRAULIC POWER LIFTERS. GLAD I WAS PARKED AND NOT ON THE HIGHWAY

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds