Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2005 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 487 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (98) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (2) Structure (153) Visibility (23)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (39) Seats (2) Suspension (15) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Fuel System Other (11) Service Brakes (8) Tires (10) Wheels (14)
Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/13/2015 - PITTSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE DRIVING AT 5 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY ACCELERATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE CONTACT'S GARAGE AND OTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000. UPDATED 09/10/15

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/25/2015 - BRUIN, PA
WALKED OUT TO MY GARAGE AND NOTICED A CRACKED HAD SHOWED UP OVERNIGHT. IT GOES FROM THE BACK EINDOW, BY THE RIGHT EDGE OF THE FORD LOGO, TO THE BOTTOM OF THE LIFT GATE. IT IS ALMOST PERFECTLY VERTICAL, I HAVE SEEN A TON OF THESE ON XLTS. I THOUGHT I WAS LUCKY, I WAS WRONG.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/25/2015 - BRUIN, PA
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, SUDDENLY THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND THE FAIL SAFE LIGHT CAME UP. VEHICLE WOULD BARELY RUN. CLEANED THROTTLE BODY AND IT SEEMED FINE FOR A WHILE. THEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN, DRIVING NORMAL, THEN BAM. THIS TIME IT SHUT DOWN AND WOULD BARELY STAY RUNNING...JUST ORDERED A NEW THROTTLE BODY. I WILL NOT OWN ANOTHER FORD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/25/2015 - BRUIN, PA
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, SUDDENLY THE WRENCH LIGHT CAME ON AND THE FAIL SAFE LIGHT CAME UP. VEHICLE WOULD BARELY RUN. CLEANED THROTTLE BODY AND IT SEEMED FINE FOR A WHILE. THEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN, DRIVING NORMAL, THEN BAM. THIS TIME IT SHUT DOWN AND WOULD BARELY STAY RUNNING...JUST ORDERED A NEW THROTTLE BODY. I WILL NOT OWN ANOTHER FORD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/7/2015 - ALDEN, NY
MY 2005 FORD EXPLORER HAS MULTIPLE PAINT PROBLEMS PEELING ALL OVER THE CAR,,THE DEALER SAID ITS ANY AFTER MARKET PAINT JOB I BOUGHT THE CAR USED FROM DAVE SMITH FORD IN 2008 THEY ARE TRYING TO SAY THAT THE CAR WAS COMPLETELY REPAINTED WITHIN THE FIRST 3 YEARS OF THE CARS LIFE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/12/2015 - CHERAW, SC
I HAVE A CRACKED TAILGATE THAT IS A DEFECT. I HAVE SEEN THIS SAME CRACK ON NUMEROUS FORD EXPLORER'S 2002-2005. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD AND HAVE GOTTEN NO WHERE WITH THIS PROBLEM.THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME PROBLEM. I THOUGHT THE DOOR WAS CLOSED TO HARD, THAT IS NOT THE CASE UNTIL I KEPT SEEING THE SAME CRACK ON EVERY FORD EXPLORER 2002-2005 THEN A LIGHT BULB WENT OFF THERE'S SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE TAILGATE, THAT MAKES IT EVENTUALLY CRACK. THIS HAS NOT BEEN FIXED ON OUR VEHICLE, WE WORRY THE GLASS COULD SHATTER WHILE CONTINUING TO CLOSE IT AS I HAVE READ WITH SOME OWNERS. PLEASE HELP US SOLVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/10/2015 - MT VERNON, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE OPENING THE REAR DOOR, THE CONTACT NOTICED A LARGE CRACK ON THE REAR PANEL THAT EXTENDED FROM THE REAR WINDOW VERTICALLY ALL THE WAY DOWN TO THE END OF THE PANEL WHERE THE FORD EMBLEM WAS LOCATED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE INSURANCE ADJUSTOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC NOR THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/7/2015 - SOUTH ROCKWOOD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD EXPLORER. WHILE REFUELING THE VEHICLE, FUEL SPEWED OUT OF THE FUEL TANK AS IF IT WERE FULL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL SPILLED ONTO HIS CLOTHING AND THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/3/2015 - WELLINGTON, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE EXITING THE VEHICLE, THE FRONT AND REAR CURTAIN AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,570.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

3/18/2015 - WESTLAND, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR HATCHBACK PANEL CRACKED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION CAMPAIGN TO REPLACE THE PANELING, BUT IT WAS DISCONTINUED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000. UPDATED 4/15/15 THE CONSUMER STATED THE PANEL BELOW THE BACK WINDOW WAS CRACKED. UPDATED 04/21/15

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds