Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2005 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 487 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (98) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (2) Structure (153) Visibility (23)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (39) Seats (2) Suspension (15) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Fuel System Other (11) Service Brakes (8) Tires (10) Wheels (14)
Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (10)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/17/2015 - HENDERSON, NV
FILLED TANK TO FULL (AUTOMATIC SHUT OFF). WHEN I STARTED CAR THE NEXT TIME, GAS GAUGE READ EMPTY AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. I HAVE HAD THE MALFUNCTION OF GAUGE BEFORE AND HAS ALWAYS COME BACK AFTER A FEW MILES, BUT NEVER LIGHT. AFTER GETTING ERROR LIGHT READ, IT IS DETERMINED TO BE A FAULTY FUEL SENSOR. THIS CAN BE A SAFETY HAZARD AS THERE IS NO WAY FOR THE VEHICLE TO DISPLAY THE FUEL CORRECTLY WHEN THE SENSOR MALFUNCTIONS. I MAKE SURE NOT TO OVERFILL THE TANK AS FORD WARNS THAT THIS COULD BE AN ISSUE, WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN FIXED (NOT JUST THAT THEY KNOW IT CAN HAPPEN). EVEN BY FOLLOWING THE MANUFACTURER'S PRECAUTIONS, THE PART STILL FAILED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/3/2015 - FERNLEY, NV
FUEL GAUGE IS WORKING INTERMITTENT. TANK IS FILL UP WITH GAS, BUT GAS GAUGE SHOW EMPTY. SOMETIMES IT COMEBACK, AFTER AN HOUR OR SO AND THEN, AFTER 30 MINS GOES BACK TO EMPTY AGAIN. I READ THIS IS AN ISSUE ON ALMOST ALL FORD EXPLORER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/19/2015 - WESTON, WI
TYPICAL FORD PROBLEM WITH 2002-2005 EXPLORER/MOUNTAINEERS. REAR TAILGATE CRACKED ALL ON IT'S OWN BECAUSE IT'S COLD HERE, AND BECAUSE IT'S A DEFECT FORD SHOULD HAVE FIXED WHEN THEY KNEW OF THE ISSUE. I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE (OF MANY) WITH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/14/2014 - TRENTON, SC
PAINT IN ROOF CHANNELS BUBBLING, ROOF RUSTING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/7/2014 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
HELLO WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, THE UPPER BALL JOINT IN THE DRIVERS SIDE FRONT BROKE AND CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE AXLE, TIRE, AND WHEEL. THIS CAUSED ISSUES WITH CONTROL OF VEHICLE AND COULD HAVE CAUSE A MUCH GREATER ACCIDENT THAN WHAT OCCURRED. I WAS ABLE TO AVOID A MAJOR ACCIDENT, PARTIALLY DUE TO THE LOW SPEED AT THE TIME, HOWEVER HAD THIS OCCURRED WHILE I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE OR ON A CROWDED HIGHWAY, THIS COULD HAVE HAD EXPONENTIALLY WORSE OUTCOMES. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY NUMEROUS MECHANICS THAT THE BALL JOINTS ARE AN ISSUE FOR FORD EXPLORERS AND THIS ISN'T MY FIRST ISSUE WITH THEM MYSELF. I ALSO HAD ISSUES WITH MY 2004 EXPLORER. THIS WAS NOT AN ORIGINAL PART TO THE VEHICLE AND WAS CHECKED LESS THAN A WEEK BEFORE IT BROKE AND PASSED INSPECTION. PLEASE LOOK INTO BALL JOINT ISSUES FOR FORD EXPLORERS AND KEEP SOMETHING LIKE THIS FROM HAPPENING AGAIN. A PICTURE OF THE VEHICLE IS BELOW. PLEASE CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION IF NEEDED. HTTP://OI59.TINYPIC.COM/T658XD.JPG.

View Details

STEERING

12/7/2014 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
HELLO WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, THE UPPER BALL JOINT IN THE DRIVERS SIDE FRONT BROKE AND CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE AXLE, TIRE, AND WHEEL. THIS CAUSED ISSUES WITH CONTROL OF VEHICLE AND COULD HAVE CAUSE A MUCH GREATER ACCIDENT THAN WHAT OCCURRED. I WAS ABLE TO AVOID A MAJOR ACCIDENT, PARTIALLY DUE TO THE LOW SPEED AT THE TIME, HOWEVER HAD THIS OCCURRED WHILE I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE OR ON A CROWDED HIGHWAY, THIS COULD HAVE HAD EXPONENTIALLY WORSE OUTCOMES. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY NUMEROUS MECHANICS THAT THE BALL JOINTS ARE AN ISSUE FOR FORD EXPLORERS AND THIS ISN'T MY FIRST ISSUE WITH THEM MYSELF. I ALSO HAD ISSUES WITH MY 2004 EXPLORER. THIS WAS NOT AN ORIGINAL PART TO THE VEHICLE AND WAS CHECKED LESS THAN A WEEK BEFORE IT BROKE AND PASSED INSPECTION. PLEASE LOOK INTO BALL JOINT ISSUES FOR FORD EXPLORERS AND KEEP SOMETHING LIKE THIS FROM HAPPENING AGAIN. A PICTURE OF THE VEHICLE IS BELOW. PLEASE CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION IF NEEDED. HTTP://OI59.TINYPIC.COM/T658XD.JPG.

View Details

WHEELS

12/7/2014 - CHAPEL HILL, NC
HELLO WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, THE UPPER BALL JOINT IN THE DRIVERS SIDE FRONT BROKE AND CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE AXLE, TIRE, AND WHEEL. THIS CAUSED ISSUES WITH CONTROL OF VEHICLE AND COULD HAVE CAUSE A MUCH GREATER ACCIDENT THAN WHAT OCCURRED. I WAS ABLE TO AVOID A MAJOR ACCIDENT, PARTIALLY DUE TO THE LOW SPEED AT THE TIME, HOWEVER HAD THIS OCCURRED WHILE I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE OR ON A CROWDED HIGHWAY, THIS COULD HAVE HAD EXPONENTIALLY WORSE OUTCOMES. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY NUMEROUS MECHANICS THAT THE BALL JOINTS ARE AN ISSUE FOR FORD EXPLORERS AND THIS ISN'T MY FIRST ISSUE WITH THEM MYSELF. I ALSO HAD ISSUES WITH MY 2004 EXPLORER. THIS WAS NOT AN ORIGINAL PART TO THE VEHICLE AND WAS CHECKED LESS THAN A WEEK BEFORE IT BROKE AND PASSED INSPECTION. PLEASE LOOK INTO BALL JOINT ISSUES FOR FORD EXPLORERS AND KEEP SOMETHING LIKE THIS FROM HAPPENING AGAIN. A PICTURE OF THE VEHICLE IS BELOW. PLEASE CONTACT ME FOR MORE INFORMATION IF NEEDED. HTTP://OI59.TINYPIC.COM/T658XD.JPG.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/5/2014 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
I WALKED OUTSIDE TO ENTER MY VEHICLE AND NOTICED A CRACK IN THE HATCH LIFT ON THE BACK DOOR ADJACENT TO THE FORD EMBLEM THAT WAS NOT PREVIOUSLY THERE. SINCE THEN, I'VE NOTICED THIS SAME FLAW ON MOST FORD EXPLORER XLTS OF APPROXIMATELY THE SAME AGE AS MINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/5/2014 - BRUNSWICK, MD
IM NOT SURE IF THIS SHOULD BE WITH ENGINE SECTION BUT I DIDN'T SEE A TRANSMISSION PART. I WAS DRIVING MY SUV AND TRANSMISSION LIGHT IN THE MESSAGE CENTER CAME ON AND SAID , OVER DRIVE ON /OFF KEPT FLASHING . TOOK TO A BODY SHOP NEARBY THEY DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM TO BE THE TRANSMISSION. WITH FURTHER INVESTIGATION MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT SECOND / THIRD GEAR WAS GONE . I ENDED UP SPENDING $4500 FOR NEW TRANSMISSION TO BE INSTALLED. THE MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2005 FORD EXPLORERS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/5/2014 - BRUNSWICK, MD
IM NOT SURE IF THIS SHOULD BE WITH ENGINE SECTION BUT I DIDN'T SEE A TRANSMISSION PART. I WAS DRIVING MY SUV AND TRANSMISSION LIGHT IN THE MESSAGE CENTER CAME ON AND SAID , OVER DRIVE ON /OFF KEPT FLASHING . TOOK TO A BODY SHOP NEARBY THEY DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM TO BE THE TRANSMISSION. WITH FURTHER INVESTIGATION MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT SECOND / THIRD GEAR WAS GONE . I ENDED UP SPENDING $4500 FOR NEW TRANSMISSION TO BE INSTALLED. THE MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2005 FORD EXPLORERS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds