Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2005 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 487 complaints filed for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (98) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (2) Structure (153) Visibility (23)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (39) Seats (2) Suspension (15) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Fuel System Other (11) Service Brakes (8) Tires (10) Wheels (14)
Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (10)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/3/2014 - PFAFFTOWN, NC
MY SON WAS DRIVING HOME AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AT 10:30 PM AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. HE WAS ABLE TO RE-START IT. THERE WERE NO MAINTENANCE LIGHTS ON. I BOUGHT THIS CAR FOR MY TEENAGE SON IN APRIL 2014 AND THIS IS THE 3RD TIME IT HAS HAPPENED TO HIM. A MECHANIC CHECKED IT OUT, BUT COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. NOT SURE WHAT TO DO NOW, AND MY SON IS LEAVING FOR COLLEGE IN AUGUST AND DRIVING HIS VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/25/2014 - CHATTANOOGA, TN
OUR 2005 EXPLORER WITH V8 ENGINE HAS DEVELOPED A SERIOUS PROBLEM WHEN CRUISE CONTROL IS ENGAGED AND A HILL IS CRESTED (FOR EXAMPLE) AND THE ENGINE GOES TO IDLE IT DROPS BELOW STALL SPEED AND DIES WHILE DRIVING. DRIVER MUST MOVE SHIFTER INTO N AND RESTART, OBVIOUSLY CRITICALLY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. THE CAR HAS NO PROBLEM WITH NORMAL DRIVING OR IDLING WITHOUT CRUISE ON. THIS PROBLEM IS PERSISTENT AND EASY TO REPRODUCE EVEN ON FLAT SURFACES WHEN CRUISE BACKS OFF THE THROTTLE TO SLOW DOWN. A/C CAN BE ON OR OFF.

View Details

TIRES

5/22/2014 - MIAMI BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD EXPLORER WITH MICHELIN T235- 70T16 16' LATITUDE TOUR TIRES . THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR TIRE BLEW. THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE TIRE WALL BLOW OUT. THE CONTACT WAS INJURED AND REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
BODY ISSUES: I HAVE A 2005 FORD EXPLORER AND HAVE NEVER BEEN IN A CAR ACCIDENT. MY TAILGATE SOMEHOW DEVELOP A CRACK THAT GOES THROUGH WHERE THE FORD LOGO IS. NOTHING HAPPENED TO THE SUV TO CAUSE THE CRACK. IT JUST SOMEHOW HAPPENED ON IT'S OWN. I BELIEVE THE VEHICLE IS DEFECTIVE OR AT LEAST THE MATERIALS USED TO MAKE THE VEHICLE. ELECTRICAL ISSUES: ANOTHER ISSUE I HAVE IS WITH THE ELECTRICAL. MY TURN SIGNALS (MOST TIMES) DO NOT WORK. I HAVE TO MANUALLY MOVE IT UP AND DOWN WHEN TURNING. WHEN IT DOES WORK, IT GOES REALLY FAST. MY REVERSE NOTIFICATION NO LONGER WORKS FOR SOME STRANGE REASON. ALSO, MY RADIO GOES LOUDER WHEN I TURN IT DOWN. I HAVE TO TURN IT OFF FOR A LITTLE WHILE, TURN IT BACK ON THEN TRY TO LOWER THE VOLUME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/16/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
BODY ISSUES: I HAVE A 2005 FORD EXPLORER AND HAVE NEVER BEEN IN A CAR ACCIDENT. MY TAILGATE SOMEHOW DEVELOP A CRACK THAT GOES THROUGH WHERE THE FORD LOGO IS. NOTHING HAPPENED TO THE SUV TO CAUSE THE CRACK. IT JUST SOMEHOW HAPPENED ON IT'S OWN. I BELIEVE THE VEHICLE IS DEFECTIVE OR AT LEAST THE MATERIALS USED TO MAKE THE VEHICLE. ELECTRICAL ISSUES: ANOTHER ISSUE I HAVE IS WITH THE ELECTRICAL. MY TURN SIGNALS (MOST TIMES) DO NOT WORK. I HAVE TO MANUALLY MOVE IT UP AND DOWN WHEN TURNING. WHEN IT DOES WORK, IT GOES REALLY FAST. MY REVERSE NOTIFICATION NO LONGER WORKS FOR SOME STRANGE REASON. ALSO, MY RADIO GOES LOUDER WHEN I TURN IT DOWN. I HAVE TO TURN IT OFF FOR A LITTLE WHILE, TURN IT BACK ON THEN TRY TO LOWER THE VOLUME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/12/2014 - WILMINGTON , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 FORD EXPLORER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30-55 MPH, THE BRAKES ENGAGED INDEPENDENTLY. ADDITIONALLY, THE 4X4 HIGH LIGHT AND THE ABS WARNING LIGHT WERE ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,884 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 77,459.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

4/26/2014 - WESTERVILLE, OH
WITHOUT ANY IMPACT OR KNOWN CAUSE,THE LIFTGATE CRACKED FROM THE REAR WINDOW, ALONG THE FORD EMBLEM, TO THE BOTTOM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - TRUCKEE, CA
BECAUSE OF THE RECENT GM RECALL IGNITION ISSUE, I THOUGHT I SHOULD LET SOMEONE KNOW ABOUT THE SERIOUS SIMILAR ISSUE I HAD 3 TIMES BEFORE I TRADED MY CAR IN. THE CAR WOULD JUST SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. AND ALL 3 TIMES, I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED THE CAR AND CONTINUED ON MY WAY. I WAS LUCKY TO HAVE A PLACE TO PULL OVER SAFELY. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC TWICE, FOUND NOTHING WRONG. TOOK IT TO FORD AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. I TRADED THE 2005 FOR A 2011. I ALSO TOLD THE DEALER THAT I TRADED IT INTO ABOUT THE ENGINE JUST SHUTTING OFF FOR NO REASON AND TO CHECK OUT THE PROBLEM BEFORE THEY SOLD IT AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

3/31/2014 - TRUCKEE, CA
BECAUSE OF THE RECENT GM RECALL IGNITION ISSUE, I THOUGHT I SHOULD LET SOMEONE KNOW ABOUT THE SERIOUS SIMILAR ISSUE I HAD 3 TIMES BEFORE I TRADED MY CAR IN. THE CAR WOULD JUST SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. AND ALL 3 TIMES, I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED THE CAR AND CONTINUED ON MY WAY. I WAS LUCKY TO HAVE A PLACE TO PULL OVER SAFELY. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC TWICE, FOUND NOTHING WRONG. TOOK IT TO FORD AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. I TRADED THE 2005 FOR A 2011. I ALSO TOLD THE DEALER THAT I TRADED IT INTO ABOUT THE ENGINE JUST SHUTTING OFF FOR NO REASON AND TO CHECK OUT THE PROBLEM BEFORE THEY SOLD IT AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/31/2014 - TRUCKEE, CA
BECAUSE OF THE RECENT GM RECALL IGNITION ISSUE, I THOUGHT I SHOULD LET SOMEONE KNOW ABOUT THE SERIOUS SIMILAR ISSUE I HAD 3 TIMES BEFORE I TRADED MY CAR IN. THE CAR WOULD JUST SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. AND ALL 3 TIMES, I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED THE CAR AND CONTINUED ON MY WAY. I WAS LUCKY TO HAVE A PLACE TO PULL OVER SAFELY. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC TWICE, FOUND NOTHING WRONG. TOOK IT TO FORD AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. I TRADED THE 2005 FOR A 2011. I ALSO TOLD THE DEALER THAT I TRADED IT INTO ABOUT THE ENGINE JUST SHUTTING OFF FOR NO REASON AND TO CHECK OUT THE PROBLEM BEFORE THEY SOLD IT AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds