Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2005 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 606 complaints filed for the 2005 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (192) Equipment (13) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (14)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Other (6) Service Brakes Electric (2) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (18) Power Train (106) Service Brakes Hydraulic (34) Vehicle Speed Control (53)
Electrical System (84) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (25) Steering (40) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Seats (7) Structure (39) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (23) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (11) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (3)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 60
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/23/2017 - BEDFORD, MA
ON 12/23/2016 HAD TROUBLE WITH CAR HESITATING, STALLING THEN NOT STARTING, WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY. CAR TOWED TO HONDA DEALER IN BURLINGTON, MA. THEY REPLACED STARTER MOTOR FOR $574.60 AND ON 12/29/2016 AFTER I PICKED UP THE CAR, WAS DRIVING IN THE FAST LANE ON THE HIGHWAY AND COULD NOT ACCELERATE. WAS ABLE TO GET OUT OF TRAFFIC AND PULL OVER. EVENTUALLY MADE IT TO A PARKING LOT WHERE CAR BUCKED, STALLED AND WOULD NOT START. TOWED BACK TO HONDA IN BURLINGTON. THEY "CLEANED OUT DEBRIS IN MAF SENSOR" AND SAID "ONE OF THE CABLES ON THE THROTTLE BODY IS BROKEN AND MAY CAUSE THE SAME PROBLEM" SUGGESTED $819.00 REPAIR. CAR RAN OK UNTIL 9/19/2017 WHEN AGAIN COULD NOT ACCELERATE ON HIGHWAY. WAS TRAVELLING IN THE FAST LANE BUT MANAGED TO CROSS FOUR LANES OF TRAFFIC WITH NO POWER. THIS WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND COULD HAVE CAUSED A SERIOUS HIGHWAY CRASH FOR THE SECOND TIME. DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND AN APRIL, 2007 RECALL RELATED TO THE FUEL PUMP RELAY IN CERTAIN 2005 HONDA ACCORDS. I SEARCHED THE NHTSA FOR MY VIN AND FOUND THERE ARE 0 RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH MY CAR. HOWEVER, MY CAR DID, IN FACT, HAVE A DEFECTIVE MITSUBA RELAY. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND I AM EXTREMELY LUCKY. SOMETHING IS WRONG THAT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/28/2017 - FAIRFELD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2005 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE WAS STALLED ON THE ROAD. THE CONTACT FAILED TO SEE THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO FULLY DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED AN INJURY TO THE STERNUM THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED FROM THE SCENE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE WAS NOT AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE HAD TWO RECALLS FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V370000 AND 15V320000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/26/2017 - SPRING, TX
WE LIVE IN HOUSTON, TEXAS AREA. ONE RECENT WEEKEND, MY WIFE AND I WERE IN MY 2005 HONDA ACCORD DRIVING ON AN UNOCCUPIED ROAD (LIGHT WEEKEND TRAFFIC AND NO ONE WITHIN 1000 YARDS). MY WIFE AND I HEARD A HUGE EXPLOSION. WE WERE IN MOTION AT THE TIME AND HAD NO IDEA WHAT HAPPENED TO THE CAR, BUT WE KNEW IT WAS POWERFUL. IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE EXPLOSION, WE HEARD A RUSH OF AIR AND WHEN OPENING THE SUNROOF COVER (MOVED BACKWARDS), WE WERE RAINED WITH BROKEN GLASS PARTICLES (ANYWHERE FROM 1MM TO 1INCH). THE SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED AND THE PIECES WERE VERY DANGEROUS. THANK GOODNESS FOR THE COVER THAT CAUGHT MOST OF DEBRIS. HAD WE HAD THAT OPEN, IT'D HAVE BEEN A CATASTROPHIC RESULT. WE DO NOT FEEL ANYTHING CONTACTED THE ROOF AND CAN ONLY SURMISE THAT EITHER A MAJOR PRESSURE CHANGE OCCURRED, A SIGNIFICANT TEMP CHANGE OCCURRED, OR A STRUCTURAL CHANGE CAUSED THE SUNROOF TO EXPLODE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN IN ANY SIGNIFICANT ACCIDENTS AND IS IN EXCELLENT SHAPE. THE SUNROOF WAS FUNCTIONAL PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT, BUT USED VERY LITTLE. I HAD TO ORDER ANOTHER SUNROOF AND CUT MYSELF SERIOUSLY WHILE TRYING TO INSTALL THIS UNIT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/25/2017 - MONTGOMERY, NY
TAKATA RECALL: ON JULY 21 2017, MY SRS LIGHT ON MY 2005 ACCORD CAME ON WHILE TURNING THE WHEEL TO BACK OUT OF A PARKING SPACE. BOUGHT THE CAR IN MARCH OF 2017 AND HAD NO ISSUES UP UNTIL THIS TIME. THE LIGHT HAS REMAINED ON EVER SINCE. RAN THIS VEHICLES VIN AND FOUND NO OPEN RECALLS. MY WIFE DRIVES THIS CAR AND IS VERY PETITE, I FEAR FOR HER SAFETY, AS WELL AS MY OWN AS WE BOTH USE THE CAR. NO HELP FROM DEALER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/29/2017 - LANTANA, FL
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS COMING TO A STOP FOR A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND DID NOT BRAKE IN TIME TO STOP MY VEHICLE BEFORE I TAPPED INTO THE REAR BUMPER OF AN SUV. I WAS GOING VERY SLOW /PROBABLY UNDER 10MPH. MY DRIVERS SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED AND I GOT CUTS ON MY ARM AND A CHEMICAL BURN AS WELL. MY DRIVERS SIDE SEATBELT IS NOT WORKING NOW (LOCKED.) I HAVE SLIGHT DAMAGE ON THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SIDE BUMPER. I BECAME AWARE OF THE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL AFTER THIS HAPPENED. THIS OCCURRED ON 2/20/2017 IN THE DAYTIME/ CLEAR, SUNNY SKIES.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/29/2017 - LANTANA, FL
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS COMING TO A STOP FOR A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND DID NOT BRAKE IN TIME TO STOP MY VEHICLE BEFORE I TAPPED INTO THE REAR BUMPER OF AN SUV. I WAS GOING VERY SLOW /PROBABLY UNDER 10MPH. MY DRIVERS SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED AND I GOT CUTS ON MY ARM AND A CHEMICAL BURN AS WELL. MY DRIVERS SIDE SEATBELT IS NOT WORKING NOW (LOCKED.) I HAVE SLIGHT DAMAGE ON THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SIDE BUMPER. I BECAME AWARE OF THE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL AFTER THIS HAPPENED. THIS OCCURRED ON 2/20/2017 IN THE DAYTIME/ CLEAR, SUNNY SKIES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/29/2017 - LANTANA, FL
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS COMING TO A STOP FOR A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND DID NOT BRAKE IN TIME TO STOP MY VEHICLE BEFORE I TAPPED INTO THE REAR BUMPER OF AN SUV. I WAS GOING VERY SLOW /PROBABLY UNDER 10MPH. MY DRIVERS SIDE AIRBAG DEPLOYED AND I GOT CUTS ON MY ARM AND A CHEMICAL BURN AS WELL. MY DRIVERS SIDE SEATBELT IS NOT WORKING NOW (LOCKED.) I HAVE SLIGHT DAMAGE ON THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SIDE BUMPER. I BECAME AWARE OF THE TAKATA AIRBAG RECALL AFTER THIS HAPPENED. THIS OCCURRED ON 2/20/2017 IN THE DAYTIME/ CLEAR, SUNNY SKIES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/29/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE DROVE OVER A ROCK IN THE ROAD AND THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR IMPACT. NO INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 177,143.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/28/2017 - FARGO, ND
"SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION" IN A PRIVATE PARKING. THIS HAPPENED WHEN THE DRIVER WAS ABOUT TO PARK THE CAR ON FEB 27, 2017. I WAS THE DRIVER AND MY HUSBAND WAS A PASSENGER IN THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE BACK SEAT, WITH SEAT BELTS ON. AFTER I ENTERED THE PARKING AREA, AS I WAS ABOUT TO PARK, THE CAR ABRUPTLY SPED UP, CRASHED INTO THE BUILDING AHEAD OF ME, AND THE DRIVER+S AIRBAG WAS DEPLOYED. THE FRONT OF THE CAR AND THE BUILDING WALL WERE DAMAGED (PHOTOS ARE ENCLOSED). ALL THIS HAPPENED SO SUDDENLY AND UNEXPECTEDLY. SEVERAL PEOPLE FROM INSIDE THE BUILDING RUSHED OUT TO SEE WHAT HAPPENED. I WAS VISIBLY SHAKEN AND QUITE FRIGHTENED BY THIS ACCIDENT. THE BUSINESS OFFICE STAFF TOOK PHOTOS OF THE DAMAGED WALL AND THE VEHICLE. MY TWO THUMBS WERE ACHING WITH MINOR BURN, BUT SINCE THERE WAS NO OTHER OBVIOUS PHYSICAL INJURY TO US, WE DECLINED THE EMERGENCY MEDICAL CARE. STATE POLICE TROOPER CAME, TOOK SOME INFORMATION BUT SAID THAT BECAUSE THIS ACCIDENT HAPPENED IN A PRIVATE PROPERTY IT WILL NOT BE REPORTED. I HAD NEVER THOUGHT ANYTHING LIKE THIS ACCIDENT COULD EVER HAPPEN. I GOOGLED AND FOUND CASES IN WHICH UNINTENDED SUDDEN ACCELERATION HAD ACTUALLY HAPPENED. HASN'T THIS SAFETY ISSUE BEEN ADDRESSED? MY HUSBAND I ARE THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/14/2017 - LOIZA, PR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE TAKATA AIR BAG RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN AND RECALL INFORMATION WERE UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 60
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds