Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN RELAY - 2005 SATURN RELAY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 88 complaints filed for the 2005 SATURN RELAY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2005 SATURN RELAY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2005 SATURN RELAY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (7) Power Train (4) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Engine (1) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Electric (5) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (27) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/22/2015 - EVANS, GA
THE FIRST TIME I WAS PARKED AND THE VAN WOULD NOT START. I WAS TOLD IT MIGHT BE THE FUEL PUMP. I HAD THE VAN TOW TO A SERVICE CENTER. THEY SAID IT WAS THE FUEL RELAY. I PAID TO HAVE THE FUEL RELAY REPLACED. A FEW DAYS LATER SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THE VAN WOULD NOT START. THIS TIME WE THOUGHT IT WAS THE BATTERY OR SPARK PLUGS. I PAID TO HAVE A NEW BATTERY, NEW SPARK PLUGS, SPARK PLUG CABLES. A FEW DAYS LATER I WAS LEAVING FROM WORK AND THE VAN WOULD NOT START AGAIN. I HAD IT TOW AND THEY SAID IT MIGHT BE THE FUEL PUMP. THEY WERE GOING TO REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP BUT THEN NOTICED THE WIRES LOCATED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VAN. THE MECHANIC WIGGLED THE WIRES AND THE VAN STARTED. A FEW WEEKS LATER I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD DOING ABOUT 50 AND THE VAN JUST LOST POWER. IT WAS AS IF IT RAN OUT OF GAS. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY PULL OVER AND HAD THE VAN TOWED AGAIN. AFTER THIS SEVERAL TIMES, WHILE DRIVING THE VAN WILL ACT AS IF IT RAN OUT OF GAS. I HAVE BEEN VERY LUCKY I HAVE NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT...YET. I HAVE TO GET OUT OF THE VAN, GO TO THE PASSENGER SIDE AND WIGGLE THE WIRES LOCATED UNDER THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT OF THE VAN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/22/2015 - EVANS, GA
THE FIRST TIME I WAS PARKED AND THE VAN WOULD NOT START. I WAS TOLD IT MIGHT BE THE FUEL PUMP. I HAD THE VAN TOW TO A SERVICE CENTER. THEY SAID IT WAS THE FUEL RELAY. I PAID TO HAVE THE FUEL RELAY REPLACED. A FEW DAYS LATER SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THE VAN WOULD NOT START. THIS TIME WE THOUGHT IT WAS THE BATTERY OR SPARK PLUGS. I PAID TO HAVE A NEW BATTERY, NEW SPARK PLUGS, SPARK PLUG CABLES. A FEW DAYS LATER I WAS LEAVING FROM WORK AND THE VAN WOULD NOT START AGAIN. I HAD IT TOW AND THEY SAID IT MIGHT BE THE FUEL PUMP. THEY WERE GOING TO REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP BUT THEN NOTICED THE WIRES LOCATED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VAN. THE MECHANIC WIGGLED THE WIRES AND THE VAN STARTED. A FEW WEEKS LATER I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD DOING ABOUT 50 AND THE VAN JUST LOST POWER. IT WAS AS IF IT RAN OUT OF GAS. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY PULL OVER AND HAD THE VAN TOWED AGAIN. AFTER THIS SEVERAL TIMES, WHILE DRIVING THE VAN WILL ACT AS IF IT RAN OUT OF GAS. I HAVE BEEN VERY LUCKY I HAVE NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT...YET. I HAVE TO GET OUT OF THE VAN, GO TO THE PASSENGER SIDE AND WIGGLE THE WIRES LOCATED UNDER THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT OF THE VAN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2015 - EVANS, GA
THE FIRST TIME I WAS PARKED AND THE VAN WOULD NOT START. I WAS TOLD IT MIGHT BE THE FUEL PUMP. I HAD THE VAN TOW TO A SERVICE CENTER. THEY SAID IT WAS THE FUEL RELAY. I PAID TO HAVE THE FUEL RELAY REPLACED. A FEW DAYS LATER SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THE VAN WOULD NOT START. THIS TIME WE THOUGHT IT WAS THE BATTERY OR SPARK PLUGS. I PAID TO HAVE A NEW BATTERY, NEW SPARK PLUGS, SPARK PLUG CABLES. A FEW DAYS LATER I WAS LEAVING FROM WORK AND THE VAN WOULD NOT START AGAIN. I HAD IT TOW AND THEY SAID IT MIGHT BE THE FUEL PUMP. THEY WERE GOING TO REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP BUT THEN NOTICED THE WIRES LOCATED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VAN. THE MECHANIC WIGGLED THE WIRES AND THE VAN STARTED. A FEW WEEKS LATER I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD DOING ABOUT 50 AND THE VAN JUST LOST POWER. IT WAS AS IF IT RAN OUT OF GAS. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY PULL OVER AND HAD THE VAN TOWED AGAIN. AFTER THIS SEVERAL TIMES, WHILE DRIVING THE VAN WILL ACT AS IF IT RAN OUT OF GAS. I HAVE BEEN VERY LUCKY I HAVE NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT...YET. I HAVE TO GET OUT OF THE VAN, GO TO THE PASSENGER SIDE AND WIGGLE THE WIRES LOCATED UNDER THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT OF THE VAN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2015 - ROCKLIN, CA
DRIVING AROUND 10 MPH, CAR DIED. TOOK IT TO THE SHOP AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE IGNITION SWITCH. LOOKED ON GM WEBSITE AND THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS SAME PROBLEM, HOWEVER NOT FOR THE RELAY. I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR ALL SATURNS! I AM VERY LUCKY I WAS NOT DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY WHEN THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/19/2015 - HENRICO, VA
REPEATED PROBLEMS WITH ABS & T/C WARNING LIGHTS, BRAKES SEIZED UP WAS UNABLE TO MOVE VAN HAD IT TOWED TO A SHOP, T/C ENGAGES WITHOUT ANY ADVERSE WEATHER OR ROAD CONDITIONS. I HAVE SPENT OVER $2000 TRYING TO REPAIR THE PROBLEMS. BRAKE PADS WEAR DOWN QUICKLY, REPLACE BRAKE PADS TWICE A YEAR SINCE HAVING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/13/2015 - FLORENCE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN RELAY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE ABS HUB SENSOR WAS REPLACED. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKES PULSATED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER THE REPAIR WAS PERFORMED AND THE COMPUTERIZED SYSTEM WAS UPDATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 184,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/16/2015 - COLUMBUS, WI
ON 1/12/15, WHILE MY 2005 SATURN RELAY WAS PARKED IN MY GARAGE, STARTED ON FIRE. VEHICLE WAS NOT STARTED OR GOING AT THE TIME. LAST DROVE THE VEHICLE APPROXIMATELY ONE HOUR PRIOR. IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE CEILING COMPONENT THAT HAS THE BUTTONS TO OPEN THE BACK SLIDING DOORS, ONSTAR AND GARAGE OPENING, IS WHAT STARTED THE ELECTRICAL FIRE, WHICH BURNED A WHOLE IN MY ROOF, BURNED THE DRIVERS SIDE VISOR, WHICH IN TURN BURNED THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT AND CAR SEAT BEHIND THE DRIVER'S DOOR. GM DETERMINED IT WAS NOT THERE PROBLEM BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS 10 YEARS OLD AND NO OTHER CASES WERE ON FILE. A VERY VERY VERY SCARY SITUATION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/16/2015 - TYLER, TX
ABS SYSTEM ACTING UP , OCCURRING OFF AND ON SERVICE BRAKES HYDRAULIC PROBLEM . HAPPENS EVERYDAY SINCE I'V OWNED IT. ALSO PREVIOUS OWNER HAD SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

12/10/2014 - ROBBINS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN RELAY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE EGR VALVE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 168,000.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: KNUCKLE: SPINDLE: ARM

8/11/2014 - WORCESTER, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2005 SATURN RELAY. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE STEERING FAILED AND AN UNKNOWN WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE ALSO VEERED TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL KNUCKLE AND IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds