Auto Recalls for Consumers

ACURA MDX - 2006 ACURA MDX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 78 complaints filed for the 2006 ACURA MDX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 ACURA MDX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 ACURA MDX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (1) Seats (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (6) Power Train (41) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2011 - ROCKFORD, IL
RECENTLY PURCHASED 06 MDX. DIDN'T NOTICE THE TRANSMISSION ISSUE RIGHT AWAY. ABOUT MONTH AFTER PURCHASE, I NOTICED SHUTTER/GRINDING/JUDDER/WHISTLING COMING FROM THE TRANSMISSION. TOOK IT INTO ACURA DEALER. ACURA REPLACED TORQUE CONVERTER AND UPDATED PCM SOFTWARE UNDER WARRANTY. ABOUT WEEK LATER, STARTED NOTICING THE SAME SHUTTERING NOISE COMING FROM TRANSMISSION AGAIN BUT ITS NOT AS NOTICEABLE BUT DEFINITELY NOTICEABLE AND THE PROBLEM IS STILL THERE. ACURA DID NOT "FIX" THE PROBLEM. IT SEEMS ACURA HAD FIXED THE "SEVERITY" OF IT TO THE POINT WHERE YOU CAN ONLY SLIGHTLY HEAR IT. AFTER BEING THOROUGHLY FRUSTRATED WITH THIS ISSUE, I STARTED RESEARCHING THE INTERNET AND FOUND OUT THERE ARE MANY MANY MANY MANY OTHERS WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM. IT SEEMS THAT THERE IS NO PERMANENT FIX. NUMEROUS OWNERS HAVE SAME REPEAT PROBLEMS EVEN AFTER REPLACING THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION. THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO BE THAT OF A "DESIGN" OF TRANSMISSION ERROR BY THE ACURA SO ESSENTIALLY, ONLY PERMANENT FIX WOULD BE TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION WITH THE NEWLY REDESIGNED TRANSMISSION. IF YOU REPLACE THE SAME PARTS OVER AND OVER, YOU WILL HAVE SAME PROBLEMS OVER AND OVER. ACURA FAILS TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS. IF YOU TAKE THE CAR TO ANY ACURA DEALER, THEY WILL VEHEMENTLY DENY THERE IS TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS(I AM SURE THEY'RE TRAINED BY THE CORPORATE TO DENY, DENY, DENY). UNFAIR. ESSENTIALLY, MY CAR IS A "LEMON" ALBEIT A USED LEMON....

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/14/2010 - EL MONTE, CA
2006 ACURA MDX WITH 34000 MILES, START TO HAVE INTERMITTENT TRANSMISSION "SHUDDER" AROUND 40MPH, BRING TO THOMAS ACURA DEALER TO CHECK FOR TWO TIMES AND WAS TOLD TO CHANGE THE CONVERTER BECAUSE OF "NORMAL"STRESS OF THE TRANSMISSION. IN ADDITION, DEALER SUGGEST TO CHANGE TRANSMISSION OIL BUT I JUST DID IT 6 MONTHS AGO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/3/2010 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
1. NORMAL DRIVING MY 2006 ACURA MDX (ORIGINAL OWNER 55000 MILES) 2. ACURA TOLD ME THE TORQUE CONVERTER IS BAD 3. THEY WILL PAY FOR THIS 2600.00 REPAIR, BUT THE PROBLEM IS KNOWN TO COME BACK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

11/12/2010 - BALTIMORE, MD
ACURA MDX 2006 AT 70,000 MILES BEGAN MAKING A GRINDING NOISE, SPORADICALLY AT FIRST, WHEN CAR WAS RUNNING BETWEEN 30-35 MILES PER HOUR. RPM'S ALSO JUMPED WHEN GRINDING OCCURRED. TOOK IT TO AN INDEPENDENT TRANSMISSION SHOP AND WAS DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING A NEW TRANSMISSION. TOOK IT TO AN ACURA DEALER FOR A SECOND OPINION. THEY DIAGNOSED IT AS NEEDING A NEW TORQUE CONVERTER. NOW IN NEGOTIATIONS WITH ACURA FOR THE REPAIR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

11/11/2010 - ALPHARETTA, GA
I CURRENTLY OWN A 2006 ACURA MDX. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 86,000 MILES AND HAS BEEN SERVICED EXCLUSIVELY BY ACURA. ALL RECOMMENDED SERVICES HAVE BEEN PERFORMED BY ACURA. THE CAR WAS JUST RETURNED TO ME AFTER HAVING ITS 3RD TRANSMISSION REPLACED. THIS TIME THE CAR BROKE DOWN DURING AN ACCELERATION ONTO A MAJOR HIGHWAY ALMOST CAUSING A TRAFFIC INCIDENT. THE TRANSMISSION HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED AS A FAILURE BY ACURA AND HAS BEEN REPLACED BY THEM EACH TIME UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/27/2010 - HOCKESSIN, DE
TORQUE CONVERTOR FAILED AT 81,000. REPLACED AT DEALERSHIP, VERY EXPENSIVE TO REPLACE AND NO GUARANTEE IT WON'T CAUSE PROBLEMS TO TRANSMISSION OR TRANSMISSION WILL NEED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: REAR

10/8/2010 - FAIRHOPE, AL
2006 ACURA MDX. ATTORNEY WRITES ON BEHALF OF CLIENT REGARDING A DEFECTIVE SEAT BELT THE ATTORNEY STATED HER CLIENTS SON WAS INJURED WHEN HIS 4 YEAR OLD SON HAD WRAPPED THE OVERHEAD SEAT BELT AROUND HIS NECK AND APPEARED TO BE CHOKING. WHEN THE CONSUMER APPLIED THE BRAKE IN A PANIC, THE SEAT BELT BEGAN CONSTRICTING. THE CONSUMERS WIFE THEN WEDGED HER FINGERS BETWEEN HER SON'S NECK AND THE NOOSE CREATED BY THE SEAT BELT. THE CONSUMER THEN RUSHED TO THE NEAREST EXIT AND WAS ABLE TO RETRIEVE A PAIR OF SCISSORS, AND CUT THE SEAT BELT WHICH HAD CONTINUED TO TIGHTEN UPON APPLICATION OF THE BRAKES. THE CONSUMERS SON SUFFERED ABRASIONS AND CONTUSIONS TO HIS NECK. UPDATED 10/20/10.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/27/2010 - MISSISSAUGA, ONTARIO, CANADA, 00
I BOUGHT 2006 MDX MAY 2010 WITH 107,000 KM, NOW COMING TO 110,000 AFTER PUTTING 3K I AM STARTING TO GET VIBRATION/SHUDDER/GRINDING BETWEEN 40-65KMH WHILE ACCELERATING, LUGGING POWER WHEN I TURN RIGHT OR LEFT ON SLOW 20KMH. I GUESS THIS VEHICLE STILL UNDER POWER TRAIN WARRANTY TO FIX THIS ISSUES OR DO I HAVE ANY OTHER OPTION TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/1/2010 - HOWARD, OH
I HAVE A 06 MDX TORQUE CONVERTER WAS REPLACED IN DEC 09, JUNE 2010 BACK IN FOR THE SAME THING. HONDA DOESN'T HAVE A FOR SURE FIX, SO IT IS POSSIBLE I WILL HAVE TO DRIVE IT UNTIL THEY COME UP WITH SOMETHING ELSE THAT WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. WHO KNOWS HOW LONG THAT WILL TAKE? THIS PROBLEM IS UNFAIR TO THOSE OF US WHO OWN THESE CARS, HONDA NEEDS TO MAKE THIS RIGHT AND NOT BE ALLOWED TO GET AWAY WITH THIS. I'VE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 8MONTHS, THE DEALERSHIPS ARE ALL AWARE OF THE PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS, BUT FAILED TO DISCLOSE THIS INFORMATION. I'VE ENJOYED THIS CAR MAYBE ONE MONTH BEFORE THE PROBLEMS AROSE. NEED HELP!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

5/9/2010 - DURHAM, NC
TOPIC: UNCOMMANDED ACCELERATION; LACK OF ACCELERATION; INCIDENTS OCCURRED OVER THE COURSE OF 3 WEEKS (USED 2006 ACURA MDX PURCHASED ON APRIL 12, 2010). SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASE, VEHICLE EXHIBITED "STUMBLE" WHEN ACCELERATOR WAS PUSHED. THAT IS, THE ENGINE RPM DECREASED WITH INCREASING PEDAL PRESSURE. PRESSING DOWN AGGRESSIVELY RESULTED IN ENGINE IDLE CONDITION. THIS OCCURRED 0.5 MILES FROM HOME. PROBLEM DID NOT CONTINUE THE NEXT MORNING. ON MAY 3, 2010, WHILE COASTING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION AT APPROXIMATELY 35MPH, VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WITHOUT PEDAL INPUT. CRUISE CONTROL LIGHT WAS OBSERVED ON (CRUISE CONTROL HAD NOT BEEN ENGAGED PRIOR TO INCIDENT). LIGHT BRAKE PRESSURE STOPPED ACCELERATION AND VEHICLE RETURNED TO NORMAL OPERATION. ON MAY 6, 2010, VEHICLE "STUMBLE" RE-OCCURRED. PULLING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION WHILE PRESSING ON ACCELERATOR, VEHICLE RPM DROPPED. MORE ACCELERATOR PRESSURE RESULTED IN MORE RPM DROP. PULLED TO SIDE OF ROAD AND STOPPED. WITH VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL OR PARK, ENGINE RESPONDS NORMALLY TO ACCELERATOR. PUTTING VEHICLE IN ANY FORWARD GEAR, PROBLEM PERSISTS. I WAS ABLE TO SLOWLY ACCELERATE WITH VERY GENTLE ACCELERATOR PRESSURE, BUT RATE OF ACCELERATION WAS VERY SLOW AND POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS DUE TO HEAVY RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I WAS ABLE TO SLOWLY DRIVE THE VEHICLE APPROXIMATELY 3 MILES BACK TO THE USED CAR DEALER WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT. AT END OF TRIP, VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO CLIMB A MODEST INCLINE AND I HAD TO STOP. TURNED OFF ENGINE HOPING THAT PROBLEM WOULD CLEAR. WAITED SEVERAL MINUTES AND TRIED TO RE-START. TOOK SEVERAL ATTEMPTS BEFORE ENGINE WOULD "CATCH" AND RUN NORMALLY. WAS ABLE TO SLOWLY CLIMB THE INCLINE BACK TO THE CAR LOT. PROBLEM PERSISTED AT USED CAR LOT. VEHICLE WAS TOWED THE NEXT MORNING TO ACURA DEALERSHIP IN CHAPEL HILL, NC. PROBLEM CLEARED AND DEALER WAS UNABLE TO OBSERVE SYMPTOMS. DEALER CLAIMS THAT THERE ARE NO ANOMALOUS COMPUTER CODES. I BELIEVE VEHICLE IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds