Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 780 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (51) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (175) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (76) Steering (370) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (100) Visibility (10)
Engine (25) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (31) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (67) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 85
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

1/27/2011 - KELLER, TX
2006 CHEVROLET HHR. CONSUMER STATES SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH VEHICLE THE CONSUMER STATED HIS SONS VEHICLE HAD A SEVERE SHIMMY IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE WHEN THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED. THE PADS AND ROTORS WERE REPLACED TWICE AND THE THIRD TIME THE ROTORS WERE MACHINED, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. THERE WAS ALSO A STRANGE NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT SUSPENSION, BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PINPOINT THE PROBLEM. AT 42,000 MILES THE AIR CONDITION MADE A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE FOR 2 MINUTES, THEN STOPPED WORKING. AT 68,000 MILES, A METAL SKID PLATE HAD FALLEN FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. SOON AFTER, THE EXHAUST WAS VERY LOUD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE REPAIR SHOP AND THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER HAD CRACKED. THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND A CYLINDER HAD TO BE REPLACED, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND THEN GO OFF, THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE DID NOT WORK, SO THE AIR CONDITION ONLY WORKED IF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS OFF. THE DOOR LOCKS DID NOT WORK, THE RADIO WORKED INTERMITTENTLY, THE SUN VISOR WOULD FALL DOWN AT RANDOM TIMES. THERE WERE TIMES WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE CONSUMER STATED EVEN WITH AN ALIGNMENT, NEW STRUTS, SHOCKS AND GOOD TIRES, THE VEHICLE CONTINUALLY PULLED TO THE RIGHT.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/27/2011 - KELLER, TX
2006 CHEVROLET HHR. CONSUMER STATES SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH VEHICLE THE CONSUMER STATED HIS SONS VEHICLE HAD A SEVERE SHIMMY IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE WHEN THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED. THE PADS AND ROTORS WERE REPLACED TWICE AND THE THIRD TIME THE ROTORS WERE MACHINED, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. THERE WAS ALSO A STRANGE NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT SUSPENSION, BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PINPOINT THE PROBLEM. AT 42,000 MILES THE AIR CONDITION MADE A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE FOR 2 MINUTES, THEN STOPPED WORKING. AT 68,000 MILES, A METAL SKID PLATE HAD FALLEN FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. SOON AFTER, THE EXHAUST WAS VERY LOUD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE REPAIR SHOP AND THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER HAD CRACKED. THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND A CYLINDER HAD TO BE REPLACED, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND THEN GO OFF, THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE DID NOT WORK, SO THE AIR CONDITION ONLY WORKED IF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS OFF. THE DOOR LOCKS DID NOT WORK, THE RADIO WORKED INTERMITTENTLY, THE SUN VISOR WOULD FALL DOWN AT RANDOM TIMES. THERE WERE TIMES WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE CONSUMER STATED EVEN WITH AN ALIGNMENT, NEW STRUTS, SHOCKS AND GOOD TIRES, THE VEHICLE CONTINUALLY PULLED TO THE RIGHT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2011 - MYRTLE BEACH, SC
POWER STEERING WENT OUT TURNING. MADE IT HARD TO STEER, ALMOST HIT ANOTHER CAR. YOU CAN CUT CAR OFF TO RESTART THE PS.

View Details

STEERING

1/20/2011 - KISSIMMEE, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD LOSE POWER STEERING MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO STEER; THE CHECK ENGINE AND POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT PULLED OFF THE ROAD, TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE TO REGAIN POWER STEERING; HOWEVER THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT CONTINUED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT DID NOT INFORM THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WERE NO RELATED RECALLS. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 40,900 AND THE FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 39,000. UPDATED 05/03/11 UPDATED 05/04/11

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

1/15/2011 - BELVIDERE , IL
I CURRENTLY OWN A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. ON 1-13-11, I HAD THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE BREAK OFF IN MY HAND MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE INSIDE OF THE CAR. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY HAZARD WHILE DRIVING THE CAR. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH ON CAR FORUMS ONLINE, I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON THAT HAS HAD THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/15/2011 - BELVIDERE , IL
I CURRENTLY OWN A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. ON 1-13-11, I HAD THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE BREAK OFF IN MY HAND MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE INSIDE OF THE CAR. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY HAZARD WHILE DRIVING THE CAR. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH ON CAR FORUMS ONLINE, I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON THAT HAS HAD THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

1/13/2011 - GUYMON, OK
THE VEHICLE IS A 2006 CHEVY HHR WITH APPROXIMATELY 46000 MILES. THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING GOES OUT AS I AM DRIVING AND IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER. WHEN THIS HAPPENS DURING A TURN IT IS VERY DANGEROUS, AND I HAVE ALMOST RUN INTO OTHER VEHICLES. AFTER RESTARTING IT USUALLY WORKS, BUT IS SUBJECT TO GOING OUT AGAIN AT ANY MOMENT WITHOUT WARNING. I CONTACTED CHEVROLET, BUT THEY DENIED KNOWLEDGE OF THE PROBLEM ALTHOUGH THE COBALT HAS THE SAME ELECTRIC STEERING AND A RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED. HAVING RESEARCHED ON THE INTERNET, I HAVE SEEN NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS, AND I SEE NO REASON FOR CHEVY TO WAIT UNTIL A SERIOUS ACCIDENT OCCURS TO RECALL THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

STEERING

1/13/2011 - MCALESTER, OK
POWER STEERING GOES OUT WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. IF YOU STOP TURN OFF IGNITION THEN RESTART IT WILL WORK AGAIN FOR A PERIOD OF TIME THEN GO OUT AGAIN. I CALLED MY DEALER ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY SAID IT IS COMMON BUT THERE ARE NO RECALLS. THEY STATED THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE STEERING COLUMN. I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR IT.BUT KEEP MY RECEIPT TO BE REIMBURSED IF THERE IS A RECALL . IS ANYTHING BEING DONE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM? I WATCHED A PROGRAM LAST NIGHT WERE THIS IS HAPPENING NOT JUST TO THE HHR BUT ALSO THE COBALT, AND PT CRUISER. WHY IS THE HHR NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALLS? THEY SHOWED ON THE SHOW THAT PEOPLE ARE DYEING FROM THIS. ONE MOTHER LOST 2 DAUGHTERS. MY DEALER SAYS THEY KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM BUT WONT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/21/2010 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WATER LEAKED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR THROUGH THE AIR INTAKE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER BUT IT WAS NOT INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER WHO STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RELATED RECALLS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 81,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

12/17/2010 - BROWNWOOD, TX
I OWN A 2006 CHEVY HHR LT. THANKSGIVING DAY I WENT TO MOVE MY CAR OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I TRIED TO GET OUT OF THE CAR THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE ON THE DRIVER DOOR CAME OFF IN MY HAND. I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH AND FOUND THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. I EVEN WALKED UP TO ANOTHER HHR I SAW ON A PARKING LOT AND IT HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. MY SAFELY CONCERN IS THAT I CANNOT OPEN THE DOOR WITHOUT ROLLING DOWN MY WINDOW AND REACHING OUTSIDE THE CAR TO THE EXTERIOR HANDLE. IF I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND HAD A ELECTRICAL FAILURE I COULD NOT EXIT THE CAR BECAUSE I COULD NOT ROLL DOWN THE WINDOW. EVERYTHING I HAVE FOUND IN MY RESEARCH IS THAT CHEVROLET IS NOT RECGONIZING THIS AS A REAL PROBLEM AND FROM WHAT I HAVE SEEN/READ THEY HAVE BEEN UNWILLING TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM WHEN IT OCCURS OR HELP THE VEHICLE OWNERS IN ANY WAY. I HAVE CHECKED ON THE REPAIR AND FOUND THAT THE DOOR HANDLE ITSELF CAN NOT BE REPLACED THAT YOU HAVE TO BUY AN ENTIRE DOOR PANEL FOR OVER $400 AND THAT IS JUST THE PART, NO LABOR. HOW CAN THIS BE A KNOWN PROBLEM, AND CHEVROLET NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT? THE INABILITY TO EXIT MY VEHICLE IN THE AFTERMATH OF AN ACCIDENT GREATLY CONCERNS ME AND SHOULD CONCERN CHEVROLET ESPECIALLY WITH THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS I HAVE READ ONLINE OF THIS ISSUE OCCURRING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 85
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds