Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 827 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (194) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Power Train (78) Steering (384) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (108) Visibility (11)
Engine (30) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (33) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (67) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

7/15/2011 - PHX, AZ
DRIVERS DOOR IS BROKEN, HAVE TO ROLL WINDOW DOWN TO GET OUT, ALSO, REMOTE IS NOT WORKING, I HAVE TO LOCK/UNLOCK WITH THE HORN HONKING EVERYTIME I PARK. AFTER DOING A SEARCH ONLINE, I FOUND THAT A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM, AND IT SEEMS TO STEM FROM THE FACT, THAT CHEVY HAS DECIDED NOT TO BE BUILT LIKE A ROCK, INSTEAD, BUILT WITH PLASTIC. (CAN YOU EVEN RECYCLE IT?)

View Details

STEERING

7/13/2011 - PHEONIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN WHICH WAS A RESULT OF THE POWER STEERING FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THE STEERING WHEEL CONTINUED TO FAIL WITHOUT WARNING AND THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE TURNED OFF FOR FIFTEEN TO TWENTY MINUTES BEFORE THE POWER STEERING RESET ITSELF. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE ELECTRONIC POWER ASSIST HAD FAILED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/30/2011 - YORK, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO EXIT THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOOR HANDLE FRACTURED AND HE WAS UNABLE TO EXIT FROM THE VEHICLE. HE STUCK HIS HAND THROUGH THE WINDOW AND OPENED THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT HE WOULD NEED TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE DOOR PANEL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED NOR WAS THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 25,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

6/30/2011 - YORK, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO EXIT THE VEHICLE, THE HANDLE FRACTURED, MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR THE CONTACT TO EXIT THE VEHICLE FROM THE DRIVER SIDE. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE DOOR PANEL WOULD NEED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 25,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/30/2011 - ROCKVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE POWER STEERING WARNING ILLUMINATED WITH A SUDDEN LOSS OF THE POWER STEERING. THE CONTACT MANEUVERED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED AS NORMAL. THE IDENTICAL FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETECT A TROUBLE CODE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE CONTACT STATED THE RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID 10V073000 (STEERING:ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM) IS THE FAILURE THAT HE EXPERIENCED . THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

6/27/2011 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
INSIDE DRIVER SIDE HANDLE BROKE OFF, UNABLE TO OPEN DOOR FROM THE INSIDE THE ELECTRONIC WINDOW MUST BE OPENED AND DOOR OPENED FROM THE OUTSIDE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

6/27/2011 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
INSIDE DRIVER SIDE HANDLE BROKE OFF, UNABLE TO OPEN DOOR FROM THE INSIDE THE ELECTRONIC WINDOW MUST BE OPENED AND DOOR OPENED FROM THE OUTSIDE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: GEAR POSITION INDICATION (PRNDL)

6/20/2011 - LAKEWOOD, WA
KEY STUCK IN IGNITION. UNABLE TO REMOVE WITHOUT USING THE RELEASE BUTTON UNDER THE STEERING COLUMN. TAKEN TO REPAIR SHOP TO SEE WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. WAS ADVISED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT IS NOT GOING COMPLETELY INTO PARK, THEREFORE THE KEY WILL NOT RELEASE. WAS ALSO ADVISED THAT MY CAR IS NOT LOCKED IN ANY ONE POSITION, SO WHILE DRIVING THE SHIFTER WILL SWITCH FROM DRIVE TO NATURAL. NO WORK DONE TO FOSTLY, CONTACTED DEALER WHO ADVISED SAME ISSUE ON 2009 HHR'S AND THEY ARE BEING RECALLED, BUT MO OPEN RECALL ON 2006 AT THIS TIME.

View Details

STEERING

6/19/2011 - ATLANTA, GA
I WAS DRIVING AND JUST WHEN I WAS ON A CURVED STREET MY CAR LET ME KNOW THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE POWER STEERING. I NEEDED TO ACT FAST TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THE FACT THAT I WAS ON A CURVED STREET. I NEVER HAD PROBLEM WITH THIS ELECTRIC SYSTEM UNTIL THAT DAY. AFTER THIS, I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY CAR FOR ONE WEEK. THE CAR STILL DOING THE SAME EVERY DAY, BUT THE MAIN PROBLEM IS THAT IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY, SO YOU CAN;T PREDICT WHEN YOU WILL START HAVING A POWER STEERING PROBLEM. ONCE YOU TURN OF THE CAR AND TURN IT ON AGAIN SYSTEM WORKS WELL FOR A WHILE. AGAIN, YOU WILL NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL START HAVING THE PROBLEM. HOPEFULLY I WILL GO TO CHECK THE SYSTEM AND FIXED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. I'M NOT SURE IF THERE IS ANY REPLACEMENT FOR THIS PART IN WHICH I CAN BE CONFIDENT THAT IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

6/7/2011 - ROMULUS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD EXHIBIT A CLUNKING NOISE. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND A DIAGNOSIS WAS PERFORMED, BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds