Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 897 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (60) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (213) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Power Train (79) Steering (412) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (116) Visibility (13)
Engine (33) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (4) Wheels (8)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (68) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 98
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/10/2012 - WOODRIDGE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WHERE THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,186.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/5/2012 - OSHAWA, ONTARIO - CANADA, MA
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON THE 401 ON RAMP (GOING 35KM/HR) IT WAS A RAINY DAY. I RANDOMLY AND ALL OF A SUDDEN LOST POWER, INCLUDING MY POWER STEERING. NO LIGHTS, NO WARNINGS, JUST GONE. I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL TO CONTINUE WITH THE CURVED ON RAMP. I'M NOT THAT STRONG AND WITHOUT POWER STEERING I COULDN'T DO IT AS WELL. AS I WASN'T ABLE TO DO MUCH I HIT THE BREAK AFTER I WAS ALREADY MID AIR FROM HITTING THE CURB AND GOING STRAIGHT. I LANDED PERPENDICULAR ON THE 401. TAKING UP ALL OF LANE 1 AND PART OF LANE 2. LUCKY TRAFFIC STOPPED BEFORE HITTING MY CAR. THIS WAS TERRIFYING. NO WARNING BUT NO POWER AND WHACK GOODBYE POWER STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

5/5/2012 - OSHAWA, ONTARIO - CANADA, MA
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON THE 401 ON RAMP (GOING 35KM/HR) IT WAS A RAINY DAY. I RANDOMLY AND ALL OF A SUDDEN LOST POWER, INCLUDING MY POWER STEERING. NO LIGHTS, NO WARNINGS, JUST GONE. I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL TO CONTINUE WITH THE CURVED ON RAMP. I'M NOT THAT STRONG AND WITHOUT POWER STEERING I COULDN'T DO IT AS WELL. AS I WASN'T ABLE TO DO MUCH I HIT THE BREAK AFTER I WAS ALREADY MID AIR FROM HITTING THE CURB AND GOING STRAIGHT. I LANDED PERPENDICULAR ON THE 401. TAKING UP ALL OF LANE 1 AND PART OF LANE 2. LUCKY TRAFFIC STOPPED BEFORE HITTING MY CAR. THIS WAS TERRIFYING. NO WARNING BUT NO POWER AND WHACK GOODBYE POWER STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

4/30/2012 - GARLAND, TX
POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT COME ON, POWER STEERING FAILS AND IS VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2012 - TITUSVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED AN INTERMITTENT FAILURE IN WHICH THE IGNITION WOULD NOT SHUT OFF. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED OF HOW TO RELEASE THE KEY THROUGH THE STEERING COLUMN. THE DEALER SHOWED THE CONTACT HOW TO TAKE OFF THE PANEL BELOW THE STEERING COLUMN, WHERE A SWITCH COULD BE ENGAGED TO SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MAKE SHIFT REMEDY ONLY FUNCTIONED SUCCESSFULLY FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 104,000. UPDATED 05/31/12

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2012 - FLINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS. THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. AFTER THE REPAIR, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN FOR THE SECOND TIME BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE TECHNICIAN THEN ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE ROTORS AND STABILIZER BAR WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,700.

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2012 - KETTERING, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT. AFTER SHUTTING OFF AND RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, THE POWER STEERING WAS RESET HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES WITHIN THE SAME TRIP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED BY A DEALER NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY RECALLS. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 53,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2012 - PLANTATION, FL
WHILE DRIVING, THE DASHBOARD SIGNALED "POWER STEERING" AND THE CAR IMMEDIATELY LOST ALL POWER STEERING MAKING TURNING VERY DIFFICULT. AFTER TURNING THE ENGINE OFF AND ON AGAIN, POWER STEERING RESUMED. THE PROBLEM DIDN'T RETURN AGAIN FOR ABOUT 150+ MILES. EACH TIME IT HAPPENED, THE "CURE" WAS TO TURN OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTART. HOWEVER, THE TIME BETWEEN RECURRENCES BECAME SHORTER AND THE OWNERS MANUAL'S ONLY INFORMATION SAID TO 'RETURN TO THE DEALER'. I DID THIS AND THE SYSTEM WAS REPLACED FOR SEVERAL HUNDRED DOLLARS (I DON'T HAVE THE BILL HANDY RIGHT NOW). FROM WHAT I HAVE FOUND ON THIS NHTSA SITE, THE STEERING FAILURE IS A KNOWN DEFICIENCY AND A FREQUENT COMPLAINT OF HHR OWNERS. CHEVY NEEDS TO BE FORCED TO MAKE REPAIRS AND RESTITUTION - THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE - WHEN THE STEERING FAILS, IT IMMEDIATELY MAKES TURNING DANGEROUS!

View Details

STEERING

4/5/2012 - HITHCOCK, TX
I WAS COMING HOME FROM WORK IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN WHEN THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY WAS VERY HARD TO TURN. I ENTERED INTO ANOTHER LANE BEFORE I COULD GET IT BACK IN MINE. I STOPPED ON THE FREEWAY AND TURNED OFF MY VEHICLE. A YOUNG MAN STOPPED AND ASKED ME WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND I TOLD HIM IT TERRIFIED ME, BUT THAT WHILE TURNING MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT. I HAD LOST MY POWER STEERING. HE SAID MY POWER STEERING WAS ELECTRICAL AND TO TRY AND TURN THE CAR BACK ON TO RESET THE POWER STEERING. I DID, AND THE POWER STEERING WAS FINE. MADE IT HOME. HOWEVER, HAVE HAD ABOUT 10 MORE INSTANCES OF THE POWER STEERING GOING OUT WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, WHILE TURNING, AND WHILE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT FREEWAY. IT IS IN THE CHEVROLET DEALER AS OF TODAY. $1,307.00 TO FIX. THEY CHECKED MY VIN # AND SAID I DON'T QUALIFY FOR ANY RECALLS. THIS IS SO DANGEROUS. GM SHOULD RECALL THESE, AND OR PAY US FOR THIS PROBLEM WE HAVE HAD TO GET FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

4/4/2012 - ARVADA, CO
WHEN DRIVING VEHICLE APPROXIMATELY 20MPH, CHIME SOUNDS, DASH DISPLAYS POWER STEERING MESSAGE AND POWER STEERING IS GONE. HAS HAPPENED TWICE AND WHEN GOING AROUND CORNER NEARLY CRASH TWICE NOW DUE TO SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER STEERING. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW 1/2/06 AND IT ONLY HAS A TAD OVER 40,000 MILES SO WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED. VEHICLE HAS SAME POWER STEERING PUMP AS COBALT FOR WHICH A RECALL WAS DONE. SAME EXACT PART MEANS PROBLEM SHOULD NOT JUST BE LIMITED TO THE COBALT AND G5. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND COBALT & G5 WERE RECALLED BUT NOT THE HHR. I BELONG TO A VERY LARGE HHR COMMUNITY AND THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. I LIVE IN COLORADO AND HAD THIS HAPPENED WHEN ROADS WERE ICY IT COULD HAVE CREATED A SERIOUS ISSUE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT CAN BE DONE TO CORRECT THIS AS THE OTHER VEHICLES THE SAME YEAR AS MINE WITH THE SAME PART HAVE BEEN RECALLED. IT'S AN OBVIOUS DEFECT AND OUT OF CONCERN FOR THE SAFETY OF THE DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE AND THE OTHERS AROUND THEM WHEN THE PROBLEM OCCURS, THE COST TO REPAIR SHOULD REST ON CHEVROLET AND NOT THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE. I AM A SINGLE ELDERLY WOMAN STRUGGLING TO MAKE ENDS MEET AND CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY FOR A REPAIR, NOR SHOULD I HAVE TO BECAUSE OF A KNOWN FAULTY PART. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 98
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds