Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 928 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (68) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)
Electrical System (217) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Power Train (81) Steering (426) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (37) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (1) Structure (118) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (10) Tires (5) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 101
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/15/2012 - OGDENSBURG , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED AND BECAME HARD TO TURN. THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE SHOULD BE TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/5/2012 - BERKLEY, MI
SOME PORTION OF THE SHIFTER MECHANISM FAILED. IT ALLOWS THE VEHICLE TO SHIFT GEARS AT WILL, WITH OR WITHOUT A KEY AND WITH OR WITHOUT THE ENGINE RUNNING. IT ALSO ALLOWS THE VEHICLE TO BE PUT INTO GEAR WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE CAN 'BUMP' FROM 'PARK' INTO ANY GEAR AND FROM ANY GEAR TO ANY OTHER GEAR, INCLUDING "REVERSE". WHILE DRIVING, ONE BUMP CAUSED IT TO SHIFT INTO 'NEUTRAL'. ANOTHER CAUSED A DOWNSHIFT. ONE CAN LEAVE TURN OFF THE IGNITION & LEAVE THE CAR WITHOUT PUTTING IT SECURELY INTO 'PARK'. I AM NOT POSITIVE, BUT I BELIEVE I COULD ALSO MAKE THE STEERING COLUMN LOCK WHILE THE IGNITION WAS ON. I TRIED THIS WHILE ATTEMPTING TO REMOVE THE KEY. I DID NTO WANT TO TRY AGAIN, FEARING I WOULD MAKE THE SITUATION WORSE. ADDITIONALLY, THE KEY IS NOW RETAINED IN THE IGNITION AND CAN NOT BE REMOVED. THE CAR CAN BE MORE EASILY STOLEN. (ON MINE, I FOUND OUT HOW TO FORCE THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION. BUT THE GEAR SHIFTER CAN STILL BUMP AROUND.) THE MENTIONED CRASH WAS FROM EXITING THE CAR EITHER WITHOUT IT BEING SECURELY IN 'PARK' OR FROM HAVING IT FALLOUT OF 'PARK'. IT ROLLED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. I ENTERED "0 MPH" BECAUSE I WASN'T THERE TO SEE THE CAR ROLL. IT WAS ON A SMALL ENOUGH INCLINE THAT NO DAMAGE WAS DONE OTHER THAN SCRATCHES.

View Details

STEERING

8/4/2012 - LYNWOOD, CA
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY WENT OUT AGAIN; THIS TIME CAUSING ME TO BACK INTO A SMALL POLE. NOW I HAVE A GAPING HOLE IN MY BUMPER. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. NOW I SEE THEY MAY HAVE ISSUED A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE, BUT IN CANADA (HOWEVER, I'VE YET TO FIND THAT NOTICE). ALSO, THEY CONSTANTLY HAVING ISSUES WITH STEERING ON OTHER CHEVY/GM VEHICLES. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE, BEFORE SOMEONE REALLY GETS HURT. PREVIOUS POST: FOR THE PAST FEW MONTHS NOW I'VE HAD CONTINUOUS PROBLEMS WITH MY POWER STEERING. WHILE DRIVING MY INFO PANEL WILL BEEP AND READ "POWER STEERING," THEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. IF I TURN OFF THE IGNITION THEN RESTART THE CAR, EVERYTHING WORKS FINE FOR A FEW MOMENTS (SOMETIMES LONGER) THEN IT HAPPENS AGAIN. I SEE THAT THERE WAS RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS EXACT REASON FOR THE CHEVY COBALT (WHICH HAS THE SAME POWER STEERING MOTOR AS THE HHR), BUT NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR THE HHR. I SEE THERE ARE ALOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. ANY ASSISTANCE WOULD BE GREAT!

View Details

STEERING

7/31/2012 - CLERMONT, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. AFTER RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, THE POWER STEERING RESUMED ITS NORMAL FUNCTION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING MODULE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000. UPDATED 08/28/12 THE CONSUMER STATED THE POWER STEERING STOPS WORKING AT ANY GIVEN TIME, IT IS DIFFICULT TO MAKE TURNS, AND THE STEERING WHEEL IS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. UPDATED 09/05/2012

View Details

STEERING

7/23/2012 - LARGO, FL
THE VEHICLE'S POWER STEERING SYSTEM STOPPED WORKING ABRUPTLY WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE VEHICLE WAS OCCUPIED BY A MOTHER AND TWO SMALL CHILDREN AT THE TIME. THE STEERING SYSTEM CAN ONLY BE RESET BY TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF AND THEN BACK ON. IT HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES SINCE THE INITIAL INCIDENT. TODAY, JULY 23, 2012, THE STEERING SYSTEM ABRUPTLY STOPPED WORKING EIGHT TIMES IN APPROXIMATELY A TWENTY MINUTE TIME SPAN. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM THAT APPARENTLY GM IS AWARE OF. THEY HAVE NOTED IT IN VEHICLES THAT USE THE IDENTICAL STEERING SYSTEM, YET HAVE FAILED TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE ON THE HHR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2012 - MYRTLE BEACH, SC
THIS VEHICLE WAS BEING TOWED BEHIND A MOTORHOME. WHEN WE ARRIVED AT OUR DESTINATION THE BATTERY WAS DEAD. THE BATTERY IS LOCATED IN THE REAR HATCH SECTION. WE WERE ABLE TO MANUALLY UNLOCK THE DRIVER DOOR WITH A KEY. THERE IS NO KEY LOCK ON THE OUTSIDE TO THE HATCH SECTION TO ACCESS THE BATTERY TO CHARGE IT. I CLIMBED INSIDE THE CAR AND GOT INTO THE BACK HATCH AREA TO LOCATE A MANUAL LOCK (THERE WAS NONE ),. I WAS TRAPPED, AND THEN HAD TO GET BACK TO THE FRONT TO GET OUT THE DRIVER'S DOOR. IF THERE WAS AN ACCIDENT AND THAT WAS THE ONLY WAY TO GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE, I WOULD BE TRAPPED INSIDE. I HAVE TRIED TO CONTACT CHEVY ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, BUT HAVE NOT HEARD ANYTHING TO DATE.

View Details

STEERING

7/19/2012 - PEASTER, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILURE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING FUNCTION, MAKING IT VERY HARD TO CONTROL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PERSONAL MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE POWER STEERING MODULE, MOTOR, AND ARM WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 120,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

7/19/2012 - VINCENTOWN , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE ON THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE BROKE OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A REPAIR SHOP, HOWEVER IT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, HOWEVER NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 124,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2012 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. IN ORDER TO REMOVE THE KEY, THE CONTACT HAD TO SHIFT IN AND OUT OF PARK SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO HAVE THE FAILURE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2012 - BLYTHEVILLE, AR
I WAS DRIVING ALONG AND MY POWER STEERING FAILED, AS I WAS ROUNDING A CURVE ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY. I WAS TRAVELING BETWEEN 55 AND 60 MILES PER HOUR. AS I WAS ROUNDING A CURVE, MY POWER STEERING FAILED, CAUSING ME TO NEARLY LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. GM IS VERY AWARE THAT THEY BUILT HHR'S WITH DEFECTIVE POWER STEERING MOTORS. IF YOU START A GOOGLE SEARCH FOR IT "HHR P", IT WILL FILL IN THE SUGGESTIONS WITH "HHR POWER STEERING MOTOR/ISSUES/FAILURE/ETC". THERE ARE FORUMS FULL OF PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD TO PAY TO REPLACE THEIR PS MOTORS, BUT SHOULD NOT HAVE. WE SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY TO REPLACE A MAJOR SAFETY COMPONENT ON OUR VEHICLES THAT GENERAL MOTORS KNOWS IN FACT IS BAD. THE REASON I KNOW THAT GM IS AWARE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM, IS BECAUSE THEY'VE RECALLED NEARLY EVERY OTHER CAR EQUIPPED WITH THE SAME ELECTRIC POWER STEERING SET UP. MY MOTHER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION ON HER MALIBU. AS DID ANOTHER LADY I KNOW THAT HAS A MALIBU, SOMEONE I KNOW WITH A G6 GOT THE LETTER, AND 2 COBALT/G5 OWNERS I KNOW, ALSO RECEIVED RECALL LETTERS. SO GM IS VERY VERY VERY AWARE THAT THEY HAVE BUILT POTENTIALLY UNSAFE VEHICLES THAT COULD CAUSE INJURY, BUT THEY DO NOT CARE!!! AFTER CONTACTING THEM, THEIR CS REP FROM INDIA OR PHILIPPINES TOLD ME THAT GM IS NOT AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED, PAY FOR THE REPAIRS, AND THAT GM 'MIGHT' HELP ME WITH THE COST. SORRY, BUT I DON'T HAVE 400 DOLLARS TO PAY SOMEONE TO "DIAGNOSE" A KNOWN ISSUE AND REPLACE THE PART THAT THEY KNOW IS BAD!!! I FOUND THE PART ON GMPARTSDIRECT.COM, ORDERED AND REPLACED IT MYSELF. SITTING AT NEARLY 140K (ABOUT DOUBLE THE MILES I HAD WHEN I REPLACED IT) AND STILL TURNING FINE. NOTICED THAT THE NEW PS MOTOR'S GM PART NUMBER WAS DIFFERENT. ALSO INDICATING, THEY KNEW THERE WAS A PROBLEM, REDESIGNED THE PART, THUS IT HAVING A NEW PART NUMBER. STOP LETTING GM GET AWAY WITH THIS CRIME!!!

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 101
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds