Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 912 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (215) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Power Train (80) Steering (418) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (117) Visibility (13)
Engine (37) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (4) Wheels (8)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (68) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/26/2012 - MENTOR , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STEERING FAILED. THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHILE THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE STEERING RETURNED TO NORMAL FUNCTION AFTER THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF FOR A MOMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED, WHICH LOCATED THE FAILURE AT THE POWER STEERING MOTOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 59,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/22/2012 - MYRTLE BEACH, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE STEERING BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND AFTER RESTARTING, THE VEHICLE REGAINED STEERING FUNCTIONS. THE FAILURE CONTINUED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2012 - WEST MEMPHIS, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE SHIFTED INTO PARK AND THE KEY WOULD NOT REMOVE FROM THE IGNITION. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE BUTTON LOCATED ON THE GEAR SHIFT WAS JAMMED INSIDE OF THE SHIFTER ITSELF. DUE TO THE JAMMING OF THAT BUTTON, THE GEAR SHIFT MOVED FREELY BETWEEN GEARS EVEN THOUGH THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS NOT DEPRESSED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

6/13/2012 - PALM HARBOR , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR HANDLE BROKE AWAY FROM THE CABLE THAT ALLOWED THE DOOR TO OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED ON THE DRIVER+S SIDE IN THE PAST. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE DOOR LATCH AND RECONNECT THE CABLE TO THE LATCH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND WOULD INVESTIGATE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 77,000. ... UPDATED 07/27/12 . THE COSUMER BELIEVES THAT THE PLASTIC BECOMES DEHYDRATED FROM AIR FLOW AND BAKING HEAT FROM THE SUN. UPDATED 08/02/2012

View Details

STEERING

6/8/2012 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
AS I WAS DRIVING HOME ON I-40, I LOST POWER STEERING, THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE STEERING WAS EXTREMELY HARD TO CONTROL, AND TURNING WAS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO MANEUVER SAFELY. THE EXIT RAMP WAS ESPECIALLY BAD. MAKING IT ESPECIALLY UNSAFE WAS I HAD MY YOUNG GRANDCHILDREN WITH ME. I FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE THERE ISN'T A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE, AS I AM FINDING HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON THE 2006 HHR POWER STEERING THAT ARE VERY SIMILAR, THIS MADE DRIVING VERY HAZARDOUS, ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE, UNTIL IT COULD BE REPAIRED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

6/7/2012 - KOKOMO, IN
HAD A NEW KEY CUT TO REPLACE A LOST KEY. SHORTLY AFTER I RETRIEVED THE VEHICLE, KEY I WAS USING GOT STUCK IN THE IGNITION. I GOT IT OUT ONCE BUT I WAS NOT ABLE TO DO SO THE NEXT TIME I DROVE THE VEHICLE. APPARENTLY, THERE IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE KEYS GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITIONS OF THE HHR'S. FORTUNATELY, MY CAR WAS NOT RUNNING AT THE TIME THE KEY GOT STUCK IN THE IGNITION AS I HAVE DISCOVERED SEVERAL OTHER HAS IN MY RESEARCH. TWO EMPLOYEES I SPOKE WITH AT BACHMAN AUTO GROUP (STEVE AND TONY) INFORMED ME THEY ALREADY KNEW ABOUT THE KEY GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITION OF THE HHR'S. IF THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE, HOW...CAN THERE NOT BE A RECALL ON THIS TO HAVE THEM REPAIRED. I CONTACTED GM CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND FROM THE SOUND OF THINGS I AM GOING TO LIABLE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS EVEN THOUGH THEY KNEW THESE VEHICLES HAD A HISTORY OF THE IGNITION LOCKING UP WHEN THE KEY IS STILL IN THE IGNITION. THEY KNEW OF THIS ISSUE. I FEEL THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL TO HAVE THE IGNITION REPLACED TO CORRECT THIS DESIGN FLAW.

View Details

STEERING

6/6/2012 - LEXINGTON, KY
WHEN I COME TO A STOP, THERE IS A RATTLING SOUND AND MAKES THE STOP INCREASINGLY BUMPY. IT IS COMING FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE QUARTER PANEL. SOUNDS LIKE A STEERING COLUMN ISSUE JUST AS A MECHANIC TOLD ME.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/6/2012 - LEXINGTON, KY
WHEN I COME TO A STOP, THERE IS A RATTLING SOUND AND MAKES THE STOP INCREASINGLY BUMPY. IT IS COMING FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE QUARTER PANEL. SOUNDS LIKE A STEERING COLUMN ISSUE JUST AS A MECHANIC TOLD ME.

View Details

STEERING

6/4/2012 - DECATUR , AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING FAILED AS THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE ENGINE HAD TO BE SHUT OFF FOR SEVERAL MOMENTS BEFORE THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WOULD RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 37,600.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

6/1/2012 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ABOUT 4 MONTH AGO THE DOOR HANDLE ON THE FRONT INSIDE PASSENGER SIDE BROKE FOR NO PARTICULAR REASON. THERE WAS NO FORCE WHEN ABOUT TO OPEN DOOR AND THE HANDLE JUST STAYED IN MY HAND. I CALLED CHEVY DEALER TO SEE IF I COULD JUST BUY THE HANDLE, I WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD HAVE TO BUY THE WHOLE PANEL WHICH WAS ABOUT $400.DLLS WITH INSTALLATION. I CAN'T AFFORD THAT AMOUNT ON JUS A PLASTIC DOOR HANDLE(FOR SOME REASON I ALWAYS THOUGHT IT WAS METAL.) I TRY NOT TO SIT ANYBODY ON FRONT INSIDE PASSENGER SEAT BECAUSE I'M AFRAID THAT GOD FORBID I GET IN TO AN ACCIDENT, MY FRONT PASSENGER WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO GET OUT. I REALLY THINK GM SHOULD OF MAKE THE HANDLES OF METAL, BUT SINCE THEIR ARE PLASTIC AND OBVIOUSLY DEFECTED THEN THEY SHOULD OF AT LEAST MAKE THE HANDLE SEPARATED FROM PANEL SO THAT WE THE BUYERS COULD BUY IT FOR A REASONABLE PRICE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds