Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 916 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (216) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Power Train (80) Steering (419) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (118) Visibility (13)
Engine (37) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (4) Wheels (8)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (68) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/18/2012 - BLYTHEVILLE, AR
I WAS DRIVING ALONG AND MY POWER STEERING FAILED, AS I WAS ROUNDING A CURVE ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY. I WAS TRAVELING BETWEEN 55 AND 60 MILES PER HOUR. AS I WAS ROUNDING A CURVE, MY POWER STEERING FAILED, CAUSING ME TO NEARLY LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. GM IS VERY AWARE THAT THEY BUILT HHR'S WITH DEFECTIVE POWER STEERING MOTORS. IF YOU START A GOOGLE SEARCH FOR IT "HHR P", IT WILL FILL IN THE SUGGESTIONS WITH "HHR POWER STEERING MOTOR/ISSUES/FAILURE/ETC". THERE ARE FORUMS FULL OF PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD TO PAY TO REPLACE THEIR PS MOTORS, BUT SHOULD NOT HAVE. WE SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY TO REPLACE A MAJOR SAFETY COMPONENT ON OUR VEHICLES THAT GENERAL MOTORS KNOWS IN FACT IS BAD. THE REASON I KNOW THAT GM IS AWARE THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM, IS BECAUSE THEY'VE RECALLED NEARLY EVERY OTHER CAR EQUIPPED WITH THE SAME ELECTRIC POWER STEERING SET UP. MY MOTHER RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION ON HER MALIBU. AS DID ANOTHER LADY I KNOW THAT HAS A MALIBU, SOMEONE I KNOW WITH A G6 GOT THE LETTER, AND 2 COBALT/G5 OWNERS I KNOW, ALSO RECEIVED RECALL LETTERS. SO GM IS VERY VERY VERY AWARE THAT THEY HAVE BUILT POTENTIALLY UNSAFE VEHICLES THAT COULD CAUSE INJURY, BUT THEY DO NOT CARE!!! AFTER CONTACTING THEM, THEIR CS REP FROM INDIA OR PHILIPPINES TOLD ME THAT GM IS NOT AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED, PAY FOR THE REPAIRS, AND THAT GM 'MIGHT' HELP ME WITH THE COST. SORRY, BUT I DON'T HAVE 400 DOLLARS TO PAY SOMEONE TO "DIAGNOSE" A KNOWN ISSUE AND REPLACE THE PART THAT THEY KNOW IS BAD!!! I FOUND THE PART ON GMPARTSDIRECT.COM, ORDERED AND REPLACED IT MYSELF. SITTING AT NEARLY 140K (ABOUT DOUBLE THE MILES I HAD WHEN I REPLACED IT) AND STILL TURNING FINE. NOTICED THAT THE NEW PS MOTOR'S GM PART NUMBER WAS DIFFERENT. ALSO INDICATING, THEY KNEW THERE WAS A PROBLEM, REDESIGNED THE PART, THUS IT HAVING A NEW PART NUMBER. STOP LETTING GM GET AWAY WITH THIS CRIME!!!

View Details

STEERING

7/8/2012 - LYNWOOD, CA
FOR THE PAST FEW MONTHS NOW I'VE HAD CONTINUOUS PROBLEMS WITH MY POWER STEERING. WHILE DRIVING MY INFO PANEL WILL BEEP AND READ "POWER STEERING," THEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. IF I TURN OFF THE IGNITION THEN RESTART THE CAR, EVERYTHING WORKS FINE FOR A FEW MOMENTS (SOMETIMES LONGER) THEN IT HAPPENS AGAIN. I SEE THAT THERE WAS RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS EXACT REASON FOR THE CHEVY COBALT (WHICH HAS THE SAME POWER STEERING MOTOR AS THE HHR), BUT NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR THE HHR. I SEE THERE ARE ALOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. ANY ASSISTANCE WOULD BE GREAT!

View Details

STEERING

6/26/2012 - MENTOR , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STEERING FAILED. THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND WAS DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHILE THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE STEERING RETURNED TO NORMAL FUNCTION AFTER THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF FOR A MOMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE A DIAGNOSTIC TEST WAS PERFORMED, WHICH LOCATED THE FAILURE AT THE POWER STEERING MOTOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 59,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/22/2012 - MYRTLE BEACH, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE STEERING BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND AFTER RESTARTING, THE VEHICLE REGAINED STEERING FUNCTIONS. THE FAILURE CONTINUED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 142,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2012 - WEST MEMPHIS, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE SHIFTED INTO PARK AND THE KEY WOULD NOT REMOVE FROM THE IGNITION. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE BUTTON LOCATED ON THE GEAR SHIFT WAS JAMMED INSIDE OF THE SHIFTER ITSELF. DUE TO THE JAMMING OF THAT BUTTON, THE GEAR SHIFT MOVED FREELY BETWEEN GEARS EVEN THOUGH THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS NOT DEPRESSED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

6/13/2012 - PALM HARBOR , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR HANDLE BROKE AWAY FROM THE CABLE THAT ALLOWED THE DOOR TO OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED ON THE DRIVER+S SIDE IN THE PAST. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE DOOR LATCH AND RECONNECT THE CABLE TO THE LATCH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND WOULD INVESTIGATE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 77,000. ... UPDATED 07/27/12 . THE COSUMER BELIEVES THAT THE PLASTIC BECOMES DEHYDRATED FROM AIR FLOW AND BAKING HEAT FROM THE SUN. UPDATED 08/02/2012

View Details

STEERING

6/8/2012 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
AS I WAS DRIVING HOME ON I-40, I LOST POWER STEERING, THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE STEERING WAS EXTREMELY HARD TO CONTROL, AND TURNING WAS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO MANEUVER SAFELY. THE EXIT RAMP WAS ESPECIALLY BAD. MAKING IT ESPECIALLY UNSAFE WAS I HAD MY YOUNG GRANDCHILDREN WITH ME. I FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE THERE ISN'T A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE, AS I AM FINDING HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON THE 2006 HHR POWER STEERING THAT ARE VERY SIMILAR, THIS MADE DRIVING VERY HAZARDOUS, ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE, UNTIL IT COULD BE REPAIRED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

6/7/2012 - KOKOMO, IN
HAD A NEW KEY CUT TO REPLACE A LOST KEY. SHORTLY AFTER I RETRIEVED THE VEHICLE, KEY I WAS USING GOT STUCK IN THE IGNITION. I GOT IT OUT ONCE BUT I WAS NOT ABLE TO DO SO THE NEXT TIME I DROVE THE VEHICLE. APPARENTLY, THERE IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE KEYS GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITIONS OF THE HHR'S. FORTUNATELY, MY CAR WAS NOT RUNNING AT THE TIME THE KEY GOT STUCK IN THE IGNITION AS I HAVE DISCOVERED SEVERAL OTHER HAS IN MY RESEARCH. TWO EMPLOYEES I SPOKE WITH AT BACHMAN AUTO GROUP (STEVE AND TONY) INFORMED ME THEY ALREADY KNEW ABOUT THE KEY GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITION OF THE HHR'S. IF THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE, HOW...CAN THERE NOT BE A RECALL ON THIS TO HAVE THEM REPAIRED. I CONTACTED GM CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND FROM THE SOUND OF THINGS I AM GOING TO LIABLE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS EVEN THOUGH THEY KNEW THESE VEHICLES HAD A HISTORY OF THE IGNITION LOCKING UP WHEN THE KEY IS STILL IN THE IGNITION. THEY KNEW OF THIS ISSUE. I FEEL THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL TO HAVE THE IGNITION REPLACED TO CORRECT THIS DESIGN FLAW.

View Details

STEERING

6/6/2012 - LEXINGTON, KY
WHEN I COME TO A STOP, THERE IS A RATTLING SOUND AND MAKES THE STOP INCREASINGLY BUMPY. IT IS COMING FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE QUARTER PANEL. SOUNDS LIKE A STEERING COLUMN ISSUE JUST AS A MECHANIC TOLD ME.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/6/2012 - LEXINGTON, KY
WHEN I COME TO A STOP, THERE IS A RATTLING SOUND AND MAKES THE STOP INCREASINGLY BUMPY. IT IS COMING FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE QUARTER PANEL. SOUNDS LIKE A STEERING COLUMN ISSUE JUST AS A MECHANIC TOLD ME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds