Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 936 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (68) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)
Electrical System (220) Exterior Lighting (12) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Power Train (81) Steering (429) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (37) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (1) Structure (119) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (10) Tires (5) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 101
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/30/2012 - OTEGO, NY
MY SON WAS DRIVING MY CAR ON THE PARKWAY AT ABOUT 55 MPH. HE SAID THERE WAS A BEEPING SOUND, THE DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER SHOWED POWER STEERING. AT THAT TIME HE NOTICED HE HAD NO POWER STEERING. HE DROVE OFF THE EXIT AND PULLED INTO A GAS STATION. HE SHUT OFF THE ENGINE, WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND RESTARTED THE CAR. HE THEN HAD POWER STEERING AGAIN. HE RELATED THE INCIDENT TO ME AND TOLD ME THAT ALTHOUGH THE POWER STEERING WAS OUT HE COULD STILL STEER THE CAR. I WAS ON LONG ISLAND AFTER A DEATH IN THE FAMILY AND COULD NOT HAVE IT CHECKED OUT RIGHT AWAY. A FEW DAYS LATER I WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO ME. I AM A SIXTY YEAR OLD WOMAN AND NOT AS STRONG AS MY SON. I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE CORNER AND THEN PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE I TURNED THE CAR OFF WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND RESTARTED THE CAR AND DROVE TO MY DESTINATION, WHICH WAS ABOUT A MILE. I SPOKE TO MY HUSBAND WHO WORKS FOR A CHEVROLET DEALER, WHO THEN SPOKE TO THE MECHANIC WHO TAKES CARE OF MY CAR. HE LOOKED IT UP AND FOUND A TSB ON THIS PROBLEM. A FEW DAYS LATER I DROVE MY MOM TO A STORE WHICH WAS ABOUT 15 OR 20 MILES AWAY. WE WERE JUST ABOUT THERE WHEN THE STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE INTO THE PARKING LOT, BUT PARKING WAS VERY DIFFICULT. I ALSO HAD TO DRIVE THE CAR 20 MILES BACK TO MY MOMS HOUSE. WE WERE TOLD THAT THIS IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE, BUT I DISAGREE. IT MAY NOT BE HARD FOR A MAN TO STEER THE VEHICLE WITH NO POWER STEERING, BUT FROM A WOMANS POINT OF VIEW, IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE. I UNDERSTAND THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE IN CANADA AND ON COBALTS AND PONTIAC G4S AND G6S IN THE USA. THE CAR WAS FIXED TODAY, BUT BECAUSE I WAS AWAY FROM MY USUAL MECHANIC(AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE MY HUSBAND WORKS), IT COST ME ALMOST $400.00 TO HAVE IT FIXED. PLEASE TAKE THIS INTO CONSIDERATION WHEN DECIDING WHAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

8/28/2012 - BAROURBILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 35 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED DURING THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 71,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2012 - EASTON , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING FAILED. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED BEFORE THE FAILURE OCCURRED AND THE STEERING WHEEL WAS HARD TO TURN. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN TURNED OFF FOR A MOMENT TO HAVE THE STEERING RETURN TO NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 74,300.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2012 - NORMAN, OK
JUST TURNING INTO DRIVEWAY AND POWER STEERING WENT OUT. WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND CHIMED. COULD BARELY TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. GLAD IT DID NOT HAPPEN ON HIGHWAY WITH GRANDKIDS IN CAR EARLIER IN WEEK WHILE DRIVING CROSS-COUNTRY DOING UP TO 75 MPH. SCARY ENOUGH WITH LITTLE CONTROL ON MY OWN PROPERTY BECAUSE I ABOUT MISSED THE DRIVEWAY AND HIT CURB! RESEARCHING THIS PROBLEM AM KEENLY AWARE THAT THIS IS COMMON AMONG HHR OWNERS. WHY NO RECALL? IF I HAD KNOWN ABOUT THIS I WOULD HAVE NEVER PUT MY FAMILY AT RISK IN THIS VEHICLE BY DRIVING CROSS COUNTRY ON VACATIONS. STEERING, BRAKES AND EXCESSIVE ACCELERATION MECHANICAL ISSUES ARE PARAMOUNT TO SAFETY ON THE ROADWAYS!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2012 - JACKSON, NJ
I WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 195 IN NJ & HIGHSPEED & POWER STEERING WENT OUT & WHOLE DIC INSTRUMENTS WENT HAYWIRE CAR STARTED BUCKING & ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF VEHICLE & WENT INTO OTHER LANE WITH ON COMING TRACTOR TRAILER THERE. I PULLED OVER & SHUT CAR OFF WAITED 5 MINS & ALL WAS FINE,I THOUGHTSTRANGE SO I CONTINUED & IT DID SAME THING 2 DAYS LATER GOING 45 MPH. DEALER CANT SOLVE IT BUT ITS HAPPENING TO LOTS OF HHR ON HHR FORUMS. THERE ALL COMPLAINING ABOUT ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING MOTOR IS BAD & COST IS OVER $500 TO REPAIR, HOWEVER THE PONTIAC & CHEVY COBALT WHICH HAVE SAME FRAME & PARTS AS HHR ARE ALL BEING RECALLED BUT NOTHING ABOUT THE HHR??? HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE WHEN THE COBALT & HHR ARE SAME CAR BUT DIFFERENT BODY & MADE BY GM. I KNOW & SEE ALOT OF OLDER FOLKS DRIVE THESE HHR & I'M 6' 250 LBS & WAS ABLE TO HANDLE THIS TO SAFETY BUT THESE OLDER FOLKS WONT BE SO LUCKY. ITS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE WHEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT WHEN YOUR DOING 70 ON AN INTERSTATE WITH EVERYONE DOING SAME SPEED & SOMETIMES FASTER. SOMETHING MUST BE DONE FROM GM TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM WHEN 100-1000 ARE EXPERIENCING SAME PROBLEM & THAT THE COBALT HAS BEEN RECALLED BUT NOT THE HHR & ITS THE SAME EXACT CAR. I HOPE IT GETS RESOLVED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED OR BADLY INJURED, CONCERNED HHR OWNER.

View Details

STEERING

8/22/2012 - JACKSON, NJ
I WAS DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 195 IN NJ & HIGHSPEED & POWER STEERING WENT OUT & WHOLE DIC INSTRUMENTS WENT HAYWIRE CAR STARTED BUCKING & ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF VEHICLE & WENT INTO OTHER LANE WITH ON COMING TRACTOR TRAILER THERE. I PULLED OVER & SHUT CAR OFF WAITED 5 MINS & ALL WAS FINE,I THOUGHTSTRANGE SO I CONTINUED & IT DID SAME THING 2 DAYS LATER GOING 45 MPH. DEALER CANT SOLVE IT BUT ITS HAPPENING TO LOTS OF HHR ON HHR FORUMS. THERE ALL COMPLAINING ABOUT ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING MOTOR IS BAD & COST IS OVER $500 TO REPAIR, HOWEVER THE PONTIAC & CHEVY COBALT WHICH HAVE SAME FRAME & PARTS AS HHR ARE ALL BEING RECALLED BUT NOTHING ABOUT THE HHR??? HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE WHEN THE COBALT & HHR ARE SAME CAR BUT DIFFERENT BODY & MADE BY GM. I KNOW & SEE ALOT OF OLDER FOLKS DRIVE THESE HHR & I'M 6' 250 LBS & WAS ABLE TO HANDLE THIS TO SAFETY BUT THESE OLDER FOLKS WONT BE SO LUCKY. ITS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE WHEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT WHEN YOUR DOING 70 ON AN INTERSTATE WITH EVERYONE DOING SAME SPEED & SOMETIMES FASTER. SOMETHING MUST BE DONE FROM GM TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM WHEN 100-1000 ARE EXPERIENCING SAME PROBLEM & THAT THE COBALT HAS BEEN RECALLED BUT NOT THE HHR & ITS THE SAME EXACT CAR. I HOPE IT GETS RESOLVED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED OR BADLY INJURED, CONCERNED HHR OWNER.

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2012 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
DURING THE COLD MONTHS OF THE YEAR, SPRING I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING. DURING THE HOTTER MONTHS OF THE YEAR MY POWER STEERING NOTIFICATION ON MY DASH BOARD COMES UP AND I HAVE NO POWER STEERING. I HAVE TO TURN THE CAR OFF TO RESET THE STEERING MOTOR. REGARDLESS OF HOW FAST I DRIVE THE INDICATOR COMES ON AND I HAVE TO TURN THE CAR OFF NUMBERS OF TIMES TO RESET THE STEERING MOTOR. IT'S BECOMING MORE AND MORE FREQUENT, I BOUGHT THE CAR USED AND WOULD LIKE TO GET THE ELECTRIC STEERING MOTOR REPLACED. I UNDERSTAND THAT THERE ARE RECALLS PENDING ON THIS VEHICLE IN CANADA AS WELL AS CHEVY COBALTS IN THE U.S. HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. THE COBALTS ARE GETTING FIXED AT NO CHARGE TO THE CUSTOMER, BUT THE HHR HAS NOT BEEN INCLUDED IN THE RECALL FOR A DEFECTIVE PART. I STRONGLY BELIEVE THIS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2012 - OGDENSBURG , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED AND BECAME HARD TO TURN. THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE SHOULD BE TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/5/2012 - BERKLEY, MI
SOME PORTION OF THE SHIFTER MECHANISM FAILED. IT ALLOWS THE VEHICLE TO SHIFT GEARS AT WILL, WITH OR WITHOUT A KEY AND WITH OR WITHOUT THE ENGINE RUNNING. IT ALSO ALLOWS THE VEHICLE TO BE PUT INTO GEAR WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE CAN 'BUMP' FROM 'PARK' INTO ANY GEAR AND FROM ANY GEAR TO ANY OTHER GEAR, INCLUDING "REVERSE". WHILE DRIVING, ONE BUMP CAUSED IT TO SHIFT INTO 'NEUTRAL'. ANOTHER CAUSED A DOWNSHIFT. ONE CAN LEAVE TURN OFF THE IGNITION & LEAVE THE CAR WITHOUT PUTTING IT SECURELY INTO 'PARK'. I AM NOT POSITIVE, BUT I BELIEVE I COULD ALSO MAKE THE STEERING COLUMN LOCK WHILE THE IGNITION WAS ON. I TRIED THIS WHILE ATTEMPTING TO REMOVE THE KEY. I DID NTO WANT TO TRY AGAIN, FEARING I WOULD MAKE THE SITUATION WORSE. ADDITIONALLY, THE KEY IS NOW RETAINED IN THE IGNITION AND CAN NOT BE REMOVED. THE CAR CAN BE MORE EASILY STOLEN. (ON MINE, I FOUND OUT HOW TO FORCE THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION. BUT THE GEAR SHIFTER CAN STILL BUMP AROUND.) THE MENTIONED CRASH WAS FROM EXITING THE CAR EITHER WITHOUT IT BEING SECURELY IN 'PARK' OR FROM HAVING IT FALLOUT OF 'PARK'. IT ROLLED INTO A PARKED VEHICLE. I ENTERED "0 MPH" BECAUSE I WASN'T THERE TO SEE THE CAR ROLL. IT WAS ON A SMALL ENOUGH INCLINE THAT NO DAMAGE WAS DONE OTHER THAN SCRATCHES.

View Details

STEERING

8/4/2012 - LYNWOOD, CA
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY WENT OUT AGAIN; THIS TIME CAUSING ME TO BACK INTO A SMALL POLE. NOW I HAVE A GAPING HOLE IN MY BUMPER. THIS IS RIDICULOUS. NOW I SEE THEY MAY HAVE ISSUED A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE, BUT IN CANADA (HOWEVER, I'VE YET TO FIND THAT NOTICE). ALSO, THEY CONSTANTLY HAVING ISSUES WITH STEERING ON OTHER CHEVY/GM VEHICLES. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE, BEFORE SOMEONE REALLY GETS HURT. PREVIOUS POST: FOR THE PAST FEW MONTHS NOW I'VE HAD CONTINUOUS PROBLEMS WITH MY POWER STEERING. WHILE DRIVING MY INFO PANEL WILL BEEP AND READ "POWER STEERING," THEN THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. IF I TURN OFF THE IGNITION THEN RESTART THE CAR, EVERYTHING WORKS FINE FOR A FEW MOMENTS (SOMETIMES LONGER) THEN IT HAPPENS AGAIN. I SEE THAT THERE WAS RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS EXACT REASON FOR THE CHEVY COBALT (WHICH HAS THE SAME POWER STEERING MOTOR AS THE HHR), BUT NO RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR THE HHR. I SEE THERE ARE ALOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. ANY ASSISTANCE WOULD BE GREAT!

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 101
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds