Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 755 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (50) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (167) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (73) Steering (352) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (98) Visibility (10)
Engine (23) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (31) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (67) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 83
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/4/2010 - MESA, AZ
2006 CHEVY HHR LT, WHILE DRIVING AT A POSTED SPEED OF 45MPH, DAUGHTER LOST POWER STEERING SENDING HER INTO THE CURB ALMOST HITTING ANOTHER CAR THEN INTO THE CURB AGAIN. SHE WAS TERRIFIED BY THIS INCIDENT. MY HUSBAND WENT TO PICK HER UP AND HE DROVE THE VEHICLE BACK TO OUR HOUSE, AND WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65MPH, AGAIN THE POWER STEERING FAILED, AND HE ALMOST CRASHED INTO THE WALL BUT WAS ABLE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP WITHIN INCHES OF CRASHING. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT HAS NOW COME ON SEVERAL TIMES, AND THE STEERING HAS GONE OUT WHILE DRIVING THREE TIMES THUS FAR. IN ADDITION THE GEAR SHIFT HAS BECOME A PROBLEM AGAIN WHERE IT LOCKS, AND I HAVE ALREADY HAD THIS REPLACED 3 TIMES, EACH TIME LASTING ABOUT A YEAR BEFORE THE PROBLEM REOCCURS. I HAVE READ THAT SEVERAL OTHER 2006 MODELS HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING THE SAME POWER STEERING PROBLEM, SEVERAL OF THEM RESULTING IN ACCIDENTS. ARE THEY WAITING FOR SOMEONE TO BE KILLED BEFORE EXPANDING THE RECALL TO INCLUDE THE STEERING ON THE 2006 CHEVY HHR?

View Details

STEERING

9/4/2010 - SHERMAN, TX
TURNED ON THE IGNITION AND THE DASHBOARD GAUGES ALL WENT OUT. PULLED THE FUSE AND REINSERTED IT - PROBLEM CORRECTED. T/C INDICATOR ON INSTRUMENT PANEL CAME ON AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS UPSHIFTING HARD. AGAIN, I REMOVED AND REINSTALLED THE FUSES AND THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. POWER STEERING WARNING WAS DISPLAYED ON THE DASH AND THE POWER STEERING WAS DISABLED. I REMOVED AND REINSTALLED THE FUSE ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWER STEERING AND THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. I DID NOTICE THAT MOST OF THE FUSES WERE MILDLY OXIDIZED ON ONE LEG OF EACH FUSE.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

9/4/2010 - SHERMAN, TX
TURNED ON THE IGNITION AND THE DASHBOARD GAUGES ALL WENT OUT. PULLED THE FUSE AND REINSERTED IT - PROBLEM CORRECTED. T/C INDICATOR ON INSTRUMENT PANEL CAME ON AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS UPSHIFTING HARD. AGAIN, I REMOVED AND REINSTALLED THE FUSES AND THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. POWER STEERING WARNING WAS DISPLAYED ON THE DASH AND THE POWER STEERING WAS DISABLED. I REMOVED AND REINSTALLED THE FUSE ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWER STEERING AND THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. I DID NOTICE THAT MOST OF THE FUSES WERE MILDLY OXIDIZED ON ONE LEG OF EACH FUSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2010 - SHERMAN, TX
TURNED ON THE IGNITION AND THE DASHBOARD GAUGES ALL WENT OUT. PULLED THE FUSE AND REINSERTED IT - PROBLEM CORRECTED. T/C INDICATOR ON INSTRUMENT PANEL CAME ON AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS UPSHIFTING HARD. AGAIN, I REMOVED AND REINSTALLED THE FUSES AND THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. POWER STEERING WARNING WAS DISPLAYED ON THE DASH AND THE POWER STEERING WAS DISABLED. I REMOVED AND REINSTALLED THE FUSE ASSOCIATED WITH THE POWER STEERING AND THE PROBLEM WENT AWAY. I DID NOTICE THAT MOST OF THE FUSES WERE MILDLY OXIDIZED ON ONE LEG OF EACH FUSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/26/2010 - JEANNETTE , PA
2006 CHEVY HHR. GEAR SHIFT CONTROL PIN FALLS OUT OF PLASTIC RETAINMENT PIECE RESULTING IN GEAR SHIFT BUTTON STICKING IN THE INWARD POSITION AND THE KEY REMAINING LOCKED IN STEERING COLUMN. DUE TO A DEFECT IN MANUFACTURING, THE PLASTIC CRACKS AROUND THE PIN RETAINMENT HOLE. THE CONTROL PIN THEN BECOMES LOOSE, THUS RESULTING IN THE CONTROL PIN EITHER MOVING OUT OF IT'S INTENDED POSITION AND JAMMING THE GEAR SELECTOR, OR FALLING OUT COMPLETELY AND ALLOWING THE GEAR SELECTOR TO MOVE IN ANY GEAR AT ANY TIME, WEATHER THE CAR IS RUNNING OR SHUT OFF. ONCE CONTROL PIN MOVES OUT OF POSITION OR FALLS OUT, THE MICRO SWITCH CANNOT BE ACTIVATED TO RELEASE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION, THUS RESULTING IN A DEAD BATTERY VERY DANGEROUS. THE DEALERSHIPS ARE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT INSIST THERE IS NO T.S.B. OR RECALL. THEY COULD EASILY REPLACE THE PLASTIC RETAINMENT PART WITH THE NEWER VERSION USED IN LATER MODELS, BUT CLAIM THEY CAN'T GET IT. THERE REMEDY IS TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE SHIFTER ASSEMBLY AT A COST OF $150.00 PLUS LABOR. THE NEWER RETAINMENT PART CAN'T COST MORE THAN 15 DOLLARS,(NARROW PIECE OF PLASTIC ~ THE SIZE OF A PENCIL WITH A SMALL HOLE IN IT). THIS PART GOES FROM THE TOP OF THE SHIFTER TO THE BOTTOM OF THE GEAR SELECTOR AND HOLDS THE CONTROL PIN IN POSITION, WHICH IN TURN, ACTIVATES THE MICRO SWITCH TO RELEASE THE KEYS. WITH THE AMOUNT OF OCCURRENCES LISTED ONLINE SINCE 2006. THIS, WITHOUT A DOUBT, SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/23/2010 - STRATHMORE , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE INDEPENDENTLY. THERE WAS A STRONG BURNING ODOR AND THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE ENGINE OIL PAN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND HE CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER. THE MANUFACTURER WOULD NOT PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 50,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

8/23/2010 - WYOMING, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WATER WOULD ENTER THE VEHICLE BEHIND THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT EVERY TIME IT WOULD RAIN AND THE PASSENGER SIDE FLOORBOARD WOULD BECOME SATURATED. THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE SEAL OF THE FRAME BEHIND THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT WAS DEFECTIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED WITH THE POTENTIAL DEVELOPMENT OF MOLD AND FUNGUS IF THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 18,300.

View Details

STEERING: ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

8/20/2010 - PARAGOULD, AR
ELECTRIC POWER STEERING FAILURE: THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE BY GENERAL MOTORS AND THEY HAVE RECALLED CHEVROLET COBALT AND MALIBU, ALONG WITH PONTIAC G5. THE SAME PART IS USED IN THE CHEVROLET HHR, WHICH SHARES THE SAME PLATFORM AND MANY COMMON PARTS WITH THE COBALT AND G5. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL INSTANCES OF POWER STEERING FAILURE THAT NEARLY RESULTED IN ACCIDENTS. I FEEL ENDANGERED AND GENERAL MOTORS DOES NOT CARE. THEY NEED TO RECALL THIS. I HAVE SEARCHED AND FOUND MANY MANY INCIDENTS OF THIS OCCURRING ON THE WEB. THEY KNOW ABOUT THIS AND REFUSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/19/2010 - MIAMI, FL
2006 CHEVROLET HHR LS. CONSUMER STATES THAT VEHICLE HAS WORN STRUTS WHICH NEEDED TO REPLACED AFTER ONLY 33,000 MILES AND DEALER HAS BEEN UNABLE AND UNWILLING TO ASSIST WITH DEFECT

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/18/2010 - BELLA VISTA, AR
I OWN A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, TODAY WHEN I PARKED MY CAR THE DRIVERS INSIDE DOOR HANDLE BROKE AND I COULDN'T OPEN MY DOOR. I HAVE FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE SEARCHED FOR REPLACEMENT PARTS. NONE TO BE FOUND. THE ONLY SOLUTION IS TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE DOOR PANEL AT A HEFTY PRICE. MY CONCERN TO THIS MATTER IS THE FACT IF YOU GET IN AN ACCIDENT OR THERE IS A FIRE AND THE DOOR HANDLE BREAKS YOU CAN'T GET OUT OF THE CAR. THEREFORE I FEEL STRONGLY THIS IS A DEFECT ON THE PART OF GM SINCE THE HANDLE IS MADE OUT OF PLASTIC AND CAN'T TAKE THE STRESS OF CONTINUOUS OPENING. APPARENTLY THEY HAVE NOT RESPONDED TO MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS AND I FIND IT NECESSARY TO REPORT THIS MATTER. THIS COULD BE A MAJOR PROBLEM IF SOMEONE IS TRAPPED IN THE CAR AND CAN'T GET OUT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 83
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds