Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 903 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (214) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Power Train (80) Steering (417) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (116) Visibility (13)
Engine (34) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (4) Wheels (8)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (68) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 99
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/4/2012 - DECATUR , AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING FAILED AS THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE ENGINE HAD TO BE SHUT OFF FOR SEVERAL MOMENTS BEFORE THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WOULD RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO HAVE A DIAGNOSTIC PERFORMED OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 37,600.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

6/1/2012 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ABOUT 4 MONTH AGO THE DOOR HANDLE ON THE FRONT INSIDE PASSENGER SIDE BROKE FOR NO PARTICULAR REASON. THERE WAS NO FORCE WHEN ABOUT TO OPEN DOOR AND THE HANDLE JUST STAYED IN MY HAND. I CALLED CHEVY DEALER TO SEE IF I COULD JUST BUY THE HANDLE, I WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD HAVE TO BUY THE WHOLE PANEL WHICH WAS ABOUT $400.DLLS WITH INSTALLATION. I CAN'T AFFORD THAT AMOUNT ON JUS A PLASTIC DOOR HANDLE(FOR SOME REASON I ALWAYS THOUGHT IT WAS METAL.) I TRY NOT TO SIT ANYBODY ON FRONT INSIDE PASSENGER SEAT BECAUSE I'M AFRAID THAT GOD FORBID I GET IN TO AN ACCIDENT, MY FRONT PASSENGER WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO GET OUT. I REALLY THINK GM SHOULD OF MAKE THE HANDLES OF METAL, BUT SINCE THEIR ARE PLASTIC AND OBVIOUSLY DEFECTED THEN THEY SHOULD OF AT LEAST MAKE THE HANDLE SEPARATED FROM PANEL SO THAT WE THE BUYERS COULD BUY IT FOR A REASONABLE PRICE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2012 - FORT WORTH , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED, IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE COIL PACK WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/10/2012 - WOODRIDGE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WHERE THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,186.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/5/2012 - OSHAWA, ONTARIO - CANADA, MA
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON THE 401 ON RAMP (GOING 35KM/HR) IT WAS A RAINY DAY. I RANDOMLY AND ALL OF A SUDDEN LOST POWER, INCLUDING MY POWER STEERING. NO LIGHTS, NO WARNINGS, JUST GONE. I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL TO CONTINUE WITH THE CURVED ON RAMP. I'M NOT THAT STRONG AND WITHOUT POWER STEERING I COULDN'T DO IT AS WELL. AS I WASN'T ABLE TO DO MUCH I HIT THE BREAK AFTER I WAS ALREADY MID AIR FROM HITTING THE CURB AND GOING STRAIGHT. I LANDED PERPENDICULAR ON THE 401. TAKING UP ALL OF LANE 1 AND PART OF LANE 2. LUCKY TRAFFIC STOPPED BEFORE HITTING MY CAR. THIS WAS TERRIFYING. NO WARNING BUT NO POWER AND WHACK GOODBYE POWER STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

5/5/2012 - OSHAWA, ONTARIO - CANADA, MA
I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON THE 401 ON RAMP (GOING 35KM/HR) IT WAS A RAINY DAY. I RANDOMLY AND ALL OF A SUDDEN LOST POWER, INCLUDING MY POWER STEERING. NO LIGHTS, NO WARNINGS, JUST GONE. I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL TO CONTINUE WITH THE CURVED ON RAMP. I'M NOT THAT STRONG AND WITHOUT POWER STEERING I COULDN'T DO IT AS WELL. AS I WASN'T ABLE TO DO MUCH I HIT THE BREAK AFTER I WAS ALREADY MID AIR FROM HITTING THE CURB AND GOING STRAIGHT. I LANDED PERPENDICULAR ON THE 401. TAKING UP ALL OF LANE 1 AND PART OF LANE 2. LUCKY TRAFFIC STOPPED BEFORE HITTING MY CAR. THIS WAS TERRIFYING. NO WARNING BUT NO POWER AND WHACK GOODBYE POWER STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

4/30/2012 - GARLAND, TX
POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT COME ON, POWER STEERING FAILS AND IS VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2012 - TITUSVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED AN INTERMITTENT FAILURE IN WHICH THE IGNITION WOULD NOT SHUT OFF. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED OF HOW TO RELEASE THE KEY THROUGH THE STEERING COLUMN. THE DEALER SHOWED THE CONTACT HOW TO TAKE OFF THE PANEL BELOW THE STEERING COLUMN, WHERE A SWITCH COULD BE ENGAGED TO SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MAKE SHIFT REMEDY ONLY FUNCTIONED SUCCESSFULLY FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 104,000. UPDATED 05/31/12

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2012 - FLINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTICS. THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. AFTER THE REPAIR, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN FOR THE SECOND TIME BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE TECHNICIAN THEN ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE ROTORS AND STABILIZER BAR WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,700.

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2012 - KETTERING, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SEIZED WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT. AFTER SHUTTING OFF AND RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, THE POWER STEERING WAS RESET HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES WITHIN THE SAME TRIP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED BY A DEALER NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY RECALLS. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 53,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 99
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds