Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 943 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (61) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (68) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)
Electrical System (222) Exterior Lighting (12) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel Propulsion System (29) Power Train (81) Steering (431) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (38) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (1) Structure (119) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (3)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (12) Tires (5) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 102
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

10/6/2012 - ST.PETERSBURG, FL
WE BOUGHT THIS CAR IN 2011. IN THE FIRST YEAR OF HAVING OUR HHR, THE INSIDE DOOR HANDLES ON THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES ARE BROKEN. THE DRIVER SIDE BROKE FIRST AND ABOUT 4 MONTHS LATER THE PASSENGER SIDE BROKE. THE REAR HATCH DOOR LATCH WENT OUT ABOUT 6 MONTHS AFTER BUYING THIS CAR. THE LOT WHERE WE BOUGHT IT SAYS AL OF THE FIXES ARE OUR PROBLEM. BUT, THEY ADD UP TO, TO MUCH MONEY FOR US TO FIX. I HAVE BEEN RESEARCHING THESE PROBLEMS. THERE ARE WAY TO MANY HHR'S WITH THE SAME PROBLEM NOT TO HAVE RECALLS ON. WHY HAS THERE NOT BEEN ANY AS OF YET? THESE PROBLEMS ARE SAFETY ISSUES. THEY SHOULD BE RECALLING THE PARTS AND REPLACING THEM.

View Details

STEERING

10/2/2012 - NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
POWER STEERING WENT INOP WHILE DRIVING, MADE STEERING VERY HARD. COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT IF THIS HAPPENED WHILE TURNING.

View Details

STEERING

10/2/2012 - CAPE CORAL, FL
POWER STEERING APPEAR ON DATA SCREEN ON DASH AND THEN HAD NO POWER STEERING THRU THE TURN. PULLED OVER AND TURNED OFF CAR/RESTARTED CAR / POWER STEERING WASN'T ON DASH/ DRIVE CAR UP TO ABOUT 30 MPH AND NO POWER STEERING AGAIN AND LIGHT WAS ON/ HAD BEEN DRIVING CAR ABOUT A HALF HOUR BEFORE THIS HAPPEN WITH NO INDICATION IT WOULD HAPPEN/ IN ORDER TO HAVE POWER STEERING AT A LIGHT AND MAKE A TURN/ I HAVE TO SHUT CAR OFF FOR A FEW SECONDS,MAKE THE TURN AND LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN/ THE DISTURBING PART OF THIS IS SYSTEM WILL GIVE YOU POWER STEERING UNTIL YOU START TO DRIVE IT.

View Details

STEERING

10/2/2012 - SAINT PETERSBURG, FL
I WAS TRAVELING DOWN TYRONE BLVD. IN SAINT PETERSBURG FLORIDA...AS I APPROACHED THE INTERSECTION OF TYRONE AND 9TH ATTEMPTING A LEFT HAND TURN, THE POWER STEERING INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON. THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND I CAME WITH IN INCHES OF HITTING A POWER POLE. THIS NOT ONLY COULD HAVE CAUSED INJURY TO ME BUT TO OTHERS AS I HAD TO STOP SUDDENLY ABORTING THE TURN. WHEN I FINALLY MADE IT HOME...10 MILES AWAY...I WENT ON THE INTERNET ONLY TO FIND MANY SIMILAR AND JUST AS DISTURBING INCIDENTS ON THIS MATTER. ONE I FIND EXTREMELY DISTURBING IS THAT IN CANADA, THIS SITUATION HAS BEEN RECALLED, BUT IN THE US, THE COBALT HAS BEEN RECALLED BUT NOT THE HHR. THE POWER STEERING MODULES ARE EXACTLY THE SAME....PART NUMBERS EVERYTHING....SO I GUESS WHAT I WANT TO KNOW IS , WHY HASN'T THIS PROBLEM BEEN ADDRESSED IN CONCERN TO THE HHR? SHAME ON GMC AS THEY ARE WELL AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. IS IT GOING TO TAKE SOMEONE GETTING KILLED? THIS PROBLEM NEED TO BE RESOLVED.....YESTERDAY.

View Details

STEERING

10/1/2012 - CUBA, MO
WHILE I WAS DRIVING UP A SMALL HILL I HEARD THE WARNING DINGS AND SUDDENLY THE POWER STEERING MESSAGE SHOWED UP AND I NO LONGER HAD CONTROL OF THE STEERING. I WAS ABLE TO GET OFF THE ROAD. I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND WAITED A MINUTE, TURNED IT BACK ON AND ALL WAS WELL AGAIN. AFTER RESEARCHING ON ABOUTAUTOMOBILES.COM I FIND 112 SIMILAR INCIDENTS ALL HAPPENING AT THE 70-80,000 MILE MARK. MY CONCERN IS THAT THERE SHOULD BE A WARNING TO ALL USED CAR HHR PURCHASES. IF THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT ON THE HAIRPIN TURNS IN MY COMMUNITY YOU ARE AS GOOD AS DEAD AT ALMOST ANY SPEED. PLUS THERE WOULD BE NO PROOF IT WAS THE STEERING BECAUSE IT CORRECTS ITSELF AFTER THE CAR IS TURNED OFF. IT WOULD APPEAR AS A "LOST CONTROL" INCIDENT ONLY. I WILL BE TAKING MY CAR TO THE GM DEALER IN SULLIVAN MO (WEST BROTHERS) ASAP FOR SERVICING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/12/2012 - STANWOOD, WA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY GOING 70 MPH AND ALL THE ALARMS, INDICATING LIGHTS CAME ON AND THEN THE CARE LOSS POWER.

View Details

STEERING

8/30/2012 - OTEGO, NY
MY SON WAS DRIVING MY CAR ON THE PARKWAY AT ABOUT 55 MPH. HE SAID THERE WAS A BEEPING SOUND, THE DRIVER INFORMATION CENTER SHOWED POWER STEERING. AT THAT TIME HE NOTICED HE HAD NO POWER STEERING. HE DROVE OFF THE EXIT AND PULLED INTO A GAS STATION. HE SHUT OFF THE ENGINE, WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND RESTARTED THE CAR. HE THEN HAD POWER STEERING AGAIN. HE RELATED THE INCIDENT TO ME AND TOLD ME THAT ALTHOUGH THE POWER STEERING WAS OUT HE COULD STILL STEER THE CAR. I WAS ON LONG ISLAND AFTER A DEATH IN THE FAMILY AND COULD NOT HAVE IT CHECKED OUT RIGHT AWAY. A FEW DAYS LATER I WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO ME. I AM A SIXTY YEAR OLD WOMAN AND NOT AS STRONG AS MY SON. I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE CORNER AND THEN PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE I TURNED THE CAR OFF WAITED A FEW MINUTES AND RESTARTED THE CAR AND DROVE TO MY DESTINATION, WHICH WAS ABOUT A MILE. I SPOKE TO MY HUSBAND WHO WORKS FOR A CHEVROLET DEALER, WHO THEN SPOKE TO THE MECHANIC WHO TAKES CARE OF MY CAR. HE LOOKED IT UP AND FOUND A TSB ON THIS PROBLEM. A FEW DAYS LATER I DROVE MY MOM TO A STORE WHICH WAS ABOUT 15 OR 20 MILES AWAY. WE WERE JUST ABOUT THERE WHEN THE STEERING WENT OUT AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE INTO THE PARKING LOT, BUT PARKING WAS VERY DIFFICULT. I ALSO HAD TO DRIVE THE CAR 20 MILES BACK TO MY MOMS HOUSE. WE WERE TOLD THAT THIS IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE, BUT I DISAGREE. IT MAY NOT BE HARD FOR A MAN TO STEER THE VEHICLE WITH NO POWER STEERING, BUT FROM A WOMANS POINT OF VIEW, IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE. I UNDERSTAND THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE IN CANADA AND ON COBALTS AND PONTIAC G4S AND G6S IN THE USA. THE CAR WAS FIXED TODAY, BUT BECAUSE I WAS AWAY FROM MY USUAL MECHANIC(AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE MY HUSBAND WORKS), IT COST ME ALMOST $400.00 TO HAVE IT FIXED. PLEASE TAKE THIS INTO CONSIDERATION WHEN DECIDING WHAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

8/28/2012 - BAROURBILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 35 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED DURING THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 71,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2012 - EASTON , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING FAILED. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED BEFORE THE FAILURE OCCURRED AND THE STEERING WHEEL WAS HARD TO TURN. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN TURNED OFF FOR A MOMENT TO HAVE THE STEERING RETURN TO NORMAL FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 74,300.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2012 - NORMAN, OK
JUST TURNING INTO DRIVEWAY AND POWER STEERING WENT OUT. WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND CHIMED. COULD BARELY TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. GLAD IT DID NOT HAPPEN ON HIGHWAY WITH GRANDKIDS IN CAR EARLIER IN WEEK WHILE DRIVING CROSS-COUNTRY DOING UP TO 75 MPH. SCARY ENOUGH WITH LITTLE CONTROL ON MY OWN PROPERTY BECAUSE I ABOUT MISSED THE DRIVEWAY AND HIT CURB! RESEARCHING THIS PROBLEM AM KEENLY AWARE THAT THIS IS COMMON AMONG HHR OWNERS. WHY NO RECALL? IF I HAD KNOWN ABOUT THIS I WOULD HAVE NEVER PUT MY FAMILY AT RISK IN THIS VEHICLE BY DRIVING CROSS COUNTRY ON VACATIONS. STEERING, BRAKES AND EXCESSIVE ACCELERATION MECHANICAL ISSUES ARE PARAMOUNT TO SAFETY ON THE ROADWAYS!

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 102
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds