Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 773 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (50) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (172) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (74) Steering (365) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (98) Visibility (10)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (31) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (67) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 84
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/13/2011 - MCALESTER, OK
POWER STEERING GOES OUT WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. IF YOU STOP TURN OFF IGNITION THEN RESTART IT WILL WORK AGAIN FOR A PERIOD OF TIME THEN GO OUT AGAIN. I CALLED MY DEALER ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY SAID IT IS COMMON BUT THERE ARE NO RECALLS. THEY STATED THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE STEERING COLUMN. I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR IT.BUT KEEP MY RECEIPT TO BE REIMBURSED IF THERE IS A RECALL . IS ANYTHING BEING DONE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM? I WATCHED A PROGRAM LAST NIGHT WERE THIS IS HAPPENING NOT JUST TO THE HHR BUT ALSO THE COBALT, AND PT CRUISER. WHY IS THE HHR NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALLS? THEY SHOWED ON THE SHOW THAT PEOPLE ARE DYEING FROM THIS. ONE MOTHER LOST 2 DAUGHTERS. MY DEALER SAYS THEY KNOW THERE IS A PROBLEM BUT WONT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. WHAT CAN I DO?

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/21/2010 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WATER LEAKED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR THROUGH THE AIR INTAKE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER BUT IT WAS NOT INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER WHO STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RELATED RECALLS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 81,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

12/17/2010 - BROWNWOOD, TX
I OWN A 2006 CHEVY HHR LT. THANKSGIVING DAY I WENT TO MOVE MY CAR OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I TRIED TO GET OUT OF THE CAR THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE ON THE DRIVER DOOR CAME OFF IN MY HAND. I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH AND FOUND THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. I EVEN WALKED UP TO ANOTHER HHR I SAW ON A PARKING LOT AND IT HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. MY SAFELY CONCERN IS THAT I CANNOT OPEN THE DOOR WITHOUT ROLLING DOWN MY WINDOW AND REACHING OUTSIDE THE CAR TO THE EXTERIOR HANDLE. IF I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND HAD A ELECTRICAL FAILURE I COULD NOT EXIT THE CAR BECAUSE I COULD NOT ROLL DOWN THE WINDOW. EVERYTHING I HAVE FOUND IN MY RESEARCH IS THAT CHEVROLET IS NOT RECGONIZING THIS AS A REAL PROBLEM AND FROM WHAT I HAVE SEEN/READ THEY HAVE BEEN UNWILLING TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM WHEN IT OCCURS OR HELP THE VEHICLE OWNERS IN ANY WAY. I HAVE CHECKED ON THE REPAIR AND FOUND THAT THE DOOR HANDLE ITSELF CAN NOT BE REPLACED THAT YOU HAVE TO BUY AN ENTIRE DOOR PANEL FOR OVER $400 AND THAT IS JUST THE PART, NO LABOR. HOW CAN THIS BE A KNOWN PROBLEM, AND CHEVROLET NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT? THE INABILITY TO EXIT MY VEHICLE IN THE AFTERMATH OF AN ACCIDENT GREATLY CONCERNS ME AND SHOULD CONCERN CHEVROLET ESPECIALLY WITH THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS I HAVE READ ONLINE OF THIS ISSUE OCCURRING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

12/17/2010 - BROWNWOOD, TX
I OWN A 2006 CHEVY HHR LT. THANKSGIVING DAY I WENT TO MOVE MY CAR OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY AND WHEN I TRIED TO GET OUT OF THE CAR THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE ON THE DRIVER DOOR CAME OFF IN MY HAND. I HAVE DONE MY RESEARCH AND FOUND THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE. I EVEN WALKED UP TO ANOTHER HHR I SAW ON A PARKING LOT AND IT HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. MY SAFELY CONCERN IS THAT I CANNOT OPEN THE DOOR WITHOUT ROLLING DOWN MY WINDOW AND REACHING OUTSIDE THE CAR TO THE EXTERIOR HANDLE. IF I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND HAD A ELECTRICAL FAILURE I COULD NOT EXIT THE CAR BECAUSE I COULD NOT ROLL DOWN THE WINDOW. EVERYTHING I HAVE FOUND IN MY RESEARCH IS THAT CHEVROLET IS NOT RECGONIZING THIS AS A REAL PROBLEM AND FROM WHAT I HAVE SEEN/READ THEY HAVE BEEN UNWILLING TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM WHEN IT OCCURS OR HELP THE VEHICLE OWNERS IN ANY WAY. I HAVE CHECKED ON THE REPAIR AND FOUND THAT THE DOOR HANDLE ITSELF CAN NOT BE REPLACED THAT YOU HAVE TO BUY AN ENTIRE DOOR PANEL FOR OVER $400 AND THAT IS JUST THE PART, NO LABOR. HOW CAN THIS BE A KNOWN PROBLEM, AND CHEVROLET NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT? THE INABILITY TO EXIT MY VEHICLE IN THE AFTERMATH OF AN ACCIDENT GREATLY CONCERNS ME AND SHOULD CONCERN CHEVROLET ESPECIALLY WITH THE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS I HAVE READ ONLINE OF THIS ISSUE OCCURRING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: LEVER AND LINKAGE: FLOOR SHIFT

12/7/2010 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT SELECTOR WOULD SHIFT INDEPENDENTLY WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, CAUSING THE KEY TO REMAIN STUCK IN THE IGNITION. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED WHO OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE AT HER OWN RISK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 7,800 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 9,100.

View Details

STEERING

12/2/2010 - BROOKLYN, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE WOULD LOSE POWER STEERING WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED CONTACT THAT HIS VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 68,000. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 65,000. UPDATED 02/23/11 UPDATED 04/27/11

View Details

STEERING

12/1/2010 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
2006 CHEVROLET HHR STEERING MOTOR RANDOMLY FAILS WITH NO WARNING, CAUSING THE POWER STEERING TO FAIL WHILE DRIVING. AFTER RESTART, WILL WORK AGAIN FOR BRIEF TIME. HAPPENS FREQUENTLY. VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 30,000 MILES. DOCUMENTATION EXISTS ONLINE THAT THIS MOTOR IS THE SAME ONE RECALLED ON THE CHEVROLET COBALT, AND THAT OTHER ARE HAVING THE SAME FAILURE. HAS HAPPENED APPROXIMATELY 10-12 TIMES OVER TWO WEEKS AND A TOTAL MILEAGE OF ABOUT 40 MILES.

View Details

STEERING

11/22/2010 - PIQUA, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A WARNING CHIME AND THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. AT THAT TIME, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME STIFF AND DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE; IT FUNCTIONED PROPERLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 38,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,000. . UPDATED 02/23/11 UPDATED 05/02/11

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

11/17/2010 - ROCK ISLAND, IL
MY KEY CONTINUES TO GET STUCK IN THE IGNITION. ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO THIS HAPPENED AND I TOOK MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALER,THEY CHARGED ME $50.00 TO GET THE KEY OUT THEY SAY THEY GREASED THE IGNITION I GUESS. I WAS LOOKING THROUGH MY CAR MANUAL AND IT TELLS YOU HOW TO GET THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION.I DON'T THINK THE DEALER CHARGING ME $50.00 WAS FAIR. IS THERE SOME WAY THAT CAN BE FIXED? I CAN NOT AFFORD $50.00 AND I'M GET TIRED OF PUTTING MY FINGER IN THE HOLE UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL TO RELEASE THE KEY.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

11/17/2010 - ROCK ISLAND, IL
MY KEY CONTINUES TO GET STUCK IN THE IGNITION. ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO THIS HAPPENED AND I TOOK MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALER,THEY CHARGED ME $50.00 TO GET THE KEY OUT THEY SAY THEY GREASED THE IGNITION I GUESS. I WAS LOOKING THROUGH MY CAR MANUAL AND IT TELLS YOU HOW TO GET THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION.I DON'T THINK THE DEALER CHARGING ME $50.00 WAS FAIR. IS THERE SOME WAY THAT CAN BE FIXED? I CAN NOT AFFORD $50.00 AND I'M GET TIRED OF PUTTING MY FINGER IN THE HOLE UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL TO RELEASE THE KEY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 84
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds