Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 730 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Exterior Lighting (6) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (159) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (70) Steering (332) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (97) Visibility (10)
Engine (22) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (31) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (66) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 80
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/28/2010 - CHEIFLAND, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THE GEAR SHIFT WOULD NOT MOVE FROM GEAR TO GEAR WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY WOULD COME OUT OF THE IGNITION WITHOUT THE VEHICLE BEING LOCKED IN THE PARK POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 43,000. UPDATED 10/27/10.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

6/28/2010 - CHEIFLAND, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THE GEAR SHIFT WOULD NOT MOVE FROM GEAR TO GEAR WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN OPERATION. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY WOULD COME OUT OF THE IGNITION WITHOUT THE VEHICLE BEING LOCKED IN THE PARK POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 43,000. UPDATED 10/27/10.

View Details

STEERING

6/25/2010 - DELTONA, FL
2006 CHEVY HHR, DRIVING THE CAR, THE POWER STEERING INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ACROSS THE INFO SCREEN, THEN POWER STEERING WENT OUT. HAD TO PULL OVER TURN THE CAR OFF & RESTART, WORKED FINE FOR A COUPLE MILES THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN, & NOW IT HAPPENS ALL THE TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/14/2010 - PARAMOUNT, CA
KEY IS UNABLE TO BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION WHEN CAR IS IN PARK. DURING THE LAST TWO MONTHS I HAVE HAD TO USE THE RELEASE SWITCH UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL EVERY TIME I TURN THE VEHICLE OFF. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP, BUT BECAUSE I AM NOW OUT OF WARRANTY THEY WOULD NOT OFFER ANY REPAIR SOLUTIONS WITHOUT A COSTLY INSPECTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

6/11/2010 - DEWITT, MI
2006 CHEVROLET HHR: CANNOT REMOVE KEY FROM IGNITION IN PARK. HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 5 TIMES IN LAST WEEK. FINALLY YESTERDAY I HAD TO LEAVE KEY IN IGNITION AT WORK. CAME BACK LATER TO REMOVE - BATTERY WAS DEAD. JUMPING BATTERY STUMP UNDER HOOD WAS OF NO USE - COULD NOT OPEN REAR HATCH TO GET TO BATTERY. HAD IT TOWED FOR REPAIR. ANALYSIS, BATTERY AND LABOR COST ME $200 AS THE GM PROTECTION PLAN I PAY FOR EVERY MONTH WOULD NOT COVER THE PROBLEM. ALSO ASKED SERVICE REP TO LOOK INTO WHY SHIFTER MOVES WHILE DRIVING, THINKING THIS MIGHT HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH IGNITION AND BATTERY PROBLEMS. HE COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THIS SEEMS LIKE IT COULD BE A POTENTIAL PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING. GM PROTECTION PLAN REP AND TOW TRUCK DRIVER BOTH SAID THIS HAPPENS A LOT ON THIS TYPE OF VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

6/8/2010 - FONTANA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED UPON INITIAL START, THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD FALL FURTHER INTO THE FLOORBOARD THAN NORMAL. WHEN THE FAILURE WOULD OCCUR, THE ABS AND TRACTION WARNING LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE. THE DEALER ADVISED THE FAILURE WAS ATTRIBUTABLE TO THE STEERING AND REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN BEARING. THE FAILURE PERSISTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A SECOND DEALER WHERE THE FRONT HUB BEARING ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE SEEMED TO HAVE BEEN REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE WARNING LIGHTS WOULD CONTINUE TO ILLUMINATE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,084 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/5/2010 - PORT ST LUCIE, FL
MY CAR, CHEVROLET HHR LS 2006, LOST POWER STEERING MORE THAN 10 TIMES AS OF DECEMBER OF 2009. I HAD MY CAR REPAIRED AT CHEVY DEALER 4 TIMES ALREADY FOR SAME PROBLEM. EACH TIME THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM, BUT IT CAME BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN, AND RECENTLY IT HAPPENED MORE OFTEN. I LEASED THIS BRAND NEW CAR IN 2006. AT THE END OF 3 YEARS LEASING, I BOUGHT IT IN 2009. I TOOK GOOD CARE OF IT ALL THE TIME. THE POWER STEERING FAILURE FIRST HAPPENED IN DEC. OF 2009. WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON THE ROAD, SUDDENLY IT WAS HARD TO MAKE A TURN, AND MY CAR WAS THROWN FORWARD EACH TIME WHEN I GOT OIL TO MOVE FORWARD. THE MESSAGE "POWER STEERING" POPPED UP ON THE DISPLAY PANEL. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO CHEVY DEALER BECAUSE THE DRIVING WHEEL COULD NOT BE MOVED AT ALL AFTER RESTARTED THE CAR;HOWEVER, WHEN MY CAR WAS AT CHEVY DEALER, THE PROBLEM DISAPPEARED AND THEY COULD NOT FIND OTHER PROBLEM. THEN 2 MONTHS LATER, IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND DISAPPEARED AFTER HALF DAY. AFTER THIS REPEATED 3 OR 4 TIMES, MY CAR WAS TOWED THE 2ND TIME TO CHEVY DEALER ON FEB.26, 2010 BECAUSE THE DRIVING WHEEL COULD NOT TURNED. THIS TIME THEY FOUND SOMETHING AND FIXED IT. IN THE FOLLOWING 3 MONTHS, THIS PROBLEM WAS HAPPENED AND GONE AT LEAST 3 TIMES. WE WERE SCARED AND DID NOT DARE TO DRIVE FAR FROM HOME. ON MAY 24, 2010, MY HUSBAND GOT SAME PROBLEM WITH ENGINE LIGHT ON AND HE DROVE TO CHEVY DEALER IMMEDIATELY. THEY FIXED IT. ONLY ONE WEEK LATER, ON JUNE 2ND, THE CAR WAS TOWED THE 3RD TIME TO THE CHEVY DEALER FOR SAME PROBLEM. THEY REPLACED THE STEERING COLUMN AND STEERING MODULE. MY HUSBAND PICKED IT UP THE NEXT DAY, BUT JUST AFTER 2 MILES DRIVING, SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED, SO HE HAD TO DRIVE BACK TO THE DEALER RIGHT AWAY. THEY FIXED IT AND DROVE 50 MILES TO TEST IT AND IT WAS GOOD. YESTERDAY I DROVE IT HOME AND IT WAS GOOD TOO. BUT THIS MORNING, SAME PROBLEM HAPPENED AGAIN. SINCE IT IS SATURDAY, THE CHEVY STORE DOES NOT OPEN. WE CAN NOT GO ANYWHERE, EVEN GROCERY STORES. THIS REALLY IS A DISASTER, WE ARE SO SCARED!

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/18/2010 - GAINESVILLE, VA
2006 CHEVY HHR - AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION DOES NOT LOCK INTO POSITION, CAN FREELY SLIP TRANSMISSION SHIFTER FROM PARK, REVERSE, NEUTRAL, DRIVE AND LOWER GEARS WITH LITTLE PRESSURE AND WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE SHIFTER LOCKING LATCH. GM HAS RECALLED 2010 MODELS WITH SIMILAR ISSUES BUT NONE OF THE PREVIOUS YEAR MODEL HHRS DEALERSHIP WANTS $150.00 TO TRY NEW BATTERY TO SEE IF IT WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. IF THIS SOLUTION DOES NOT WORK THEN THEY WANT ANOTHER $160.00 FOR NEW SHIFTER UNIT... LABOR FOR BOTH THESE ITEMS ARE NOT INCLUDED, JUST COST OF PARTS. I BELIEVE GM RECOGNIZES ISSUE: GM TSB #06-07-30-004F.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/14/2010 - CHICAGO RIDGE, IL
2006 CHEVY HHR . THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE SNAPPED OFF IN MY HAND WHEN I TRIED TO OPEN THE DOOR, SMACKING INTO MY KNUCKLE AND ALMOST CAUSING MY HAND TO FLY BACK INTO MY FACE. THE DOOR MUST NOW BE OPENED BY ROLLING DOWN THE ELECTRIC WINDOW AND OPENING FROM THE OUTSIDE HANDLE. TWO DEALERS SO FAR REFUSE TO FIX THE ISSUE, TELLING ME THEY DON'T HAVE PARTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

5/14/2010 - CHICAGO RIDGE, IL
2006 CHEVY HHR . THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE SNAPPED OFF IN MY HAND WHEN I TRIED TO OPEN THE DOOR, SMACKING INTO MY KNUCKLE AND ALMOST CAUSING MY HAND TO FLY BACK INTO MY FACE. THE DOOR MUST NOW BE OPENED BY ROLLING DOWN THE ELECTRIC WINDOW AND OPENING FROM THE OUTSIDE HANDLE. TWO DEALERS SO FAR REFUSE TO FIX THE ISSUE, TELLING ME THEY DON'T HAVE PARTS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 80
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds