Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 822 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (192) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Power Train (77) Steering (384) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (105) Visibility (11)
Engine (30) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (33) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (67) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 90
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: GEAR POSITION INDICATION (PRNDL)

6/20/2011 - LAKEWOOD, WA
KEY STUCK IN IGNITION. UNABLE TO REMOVE WITHOUT USING THE RELEASE BUTTON UNDER THE STEERING COLUMN. TAKEN TO REPAIR SHOP TO SEE WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. WAS ADVISED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT IS NOT GOING COMPLETELY INTO PARK, THEREFORE THE KEY WILL NOT RELEASE. WAS ALSO ADVISED THAT MY CAR IS NOT LOCKED IN ANY ONE POSITION, SO WHILE DRIVING THE SHIFTER WILL SWITCH FROM DRIVE TO NATURAL. NO WORK DONE TO FOSTLY, CONTACTED DEALER WHO ADVISED SAME ISSUE ON 2009 HHR'S AND THEY ARE BEING RECALLED, BUT MO OPEN RECALL ON 2006 AT THIS TIME.

View Details

STEERING

6/19/2011 - ATLANTA, GA
I WAS DRIVING AND JUST WHEN I WAS ON A CURVED STREET MY CAR LET ME KNOW THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE POWER STEERING. I NEEDED TO ACT FAST TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THE FACT THAT I WAS ON A CURVED STREET. I NEVER HAD PROBLEM WITH THIS ELECTRIC SYSTEM UNTIL THAT DAY. AFTER THIS, I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY CAR FOR ONE WEEK. THE CAR STILL DOING THE SAME EVERY DAY, BUT THE MAIN PROBLEM IS THAT IT HAPPENS RANDOMLY, SO YOU CAN;T PREDICT WHEN YOU WILL START HAVING A POWER STEERING PROBLEM. ONCE YOU TURN OF THE CAR AND TURN IT ON AGAIN SYSTEM WORKS WELL FOR A WHILE. AGAIN, YOU WILL NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL START HAVING THE PROBLEM. HOPEFULLY I WILL GO TO CHECK THE SYSTEM AND FIXED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. I'M NOT SURE IF THERE IS ANY REPLACEMENT FOR THIS PART IN WHICH I CAN BE CONFIDENT THAT IT WILL NEVER HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

6/7/2011 - ROMULUS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD EXHIBIT A CLUNKING NOISE. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND A DIAGNOSIS WAS PERFORMED, BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

5/26/2011 - FAIRFIELD, CA
INSIDE DRIVER DOOR HANDLE, BROKEN OFF, HAVE TO ROLL DOWN WINDOW TO OPEN DOOR OR CROSS OVER TO PASSANGER SEAT TO GET OUT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2011 - MALVERNE, NY
DRIVING NORMAL ON HIGHWAY HIT A SMALL BUMP 2006 CHEVY HHR STALLED, SECOND TIME THIS HAPPENED FIRST TIME NO BUMP OCCURRED BUT CAR STALLED, IN BOTH CASES WAS ABLE TO RESTART CAR BY PUTTING IT IN NEUTRAL AND TURNING THE KEY.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/17/2011 - SAN DIEGO, CA
INSIDE DOOR HANDLE ON MY 2006 CHEVROLET HHR BROKE OFF WHEN I OPENED THE DOOR. THIS CREATES A SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE DRIVER AS THE DOOR CANNOT BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE WITHOUT LOWERING THE LEFT FRONT WINDOW AND OPENING WITH THE OUTSIDE HANDLE. IF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IS DAMAGED THEN THE WINDOW WILL NOT OPEN. THE DRIVER WOULD THEN NEED TO CRAWL OVER THE CENTER CONSOLE TO THE RIGHT DOOR OR THE FRONT SEAT TO EXIT THE CARS REAR DOOR. IN A COLLISION OR FIRE THE DRIVER MAY BE INJURED, PANICKED OR CONFUSED AND NOT BE ABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. THE PLASTIC HANDLE SHOULD BE REPLACED WITH A MORE SUBSTANTIAL METAL ONE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

5/17/2011 - SAN DIEGO, CA
INSIDE DOOR HANDLE ON MY 2006 CHEVROLET HHR BROKE OFF WHEN I OPENED THE DOOR. THIS CREATES A SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE DRIVER AS THE DOOR CANNOT BE OPENED FROM THE INSIDE WITHOUT LOWERING THE LEFT FRONT WINDOW AND OPENING WITH THE OUTSIDE HANDLE. IF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IS DAMAGED THEN THE WINDOW WILL NOT OPEN. THE DRIVER WOULD THEN NEED TO CRAWL OVER THE CENTER CONSOLE TO THE RIGHT DOOR OR THE FRONT SEAT TO EXIT THE CARS REAR DOOR. IN A COLLISION OR FIRE THE DRIVER MAY BE INJURED, PANICKED OR CONFUSED AND NOT BE ABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. THE PLASTIC HANDLE SHOULD BE REPLACED WITH A MORE SUBSTANTIAL METAL ONE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

5/16/2011 - NATCHEZ, MS
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE ATTEMPTING TO OPEN THE DRIVERS DOOR THE INSIDE DOOR HANDLE DETACHED FROM THE DOOR PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE, AND STATED THAT THE DOOR HANDLE, AND THE DOOR PANEL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/11/2011 - CORONA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR HANDLE FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE ENTIRE DRIVER SIDE DOOR PANEL NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 63,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

5/9/2011 - LAKE WORTH, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE COMPLETELY FRACTURED AND SHE COULD NOT EXIT THE VEHICLE. AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WAS NOTIFIED AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENTIRE DOOR PANEL WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS THEN NOTIFIED AND THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 60,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 90
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds