Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 889 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (60) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (51) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (212) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Power Train (79) Steering (408) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (115) Visibility (12)
Engine (33) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (5) Suspension (32) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (35) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (9) Tires (4) Wheels (7)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (68) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 98
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/5/2012 - HITHCOCK, TX
I WAS COMING HOME FROM WORK IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN WHEN THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY WAS VERY HARD TO TURN. I ENTERED INTO ANOTHER LANE BEFORE I COULD GET IT BACK IN MINE. I STOPPED ON THE FREEWAY AND TURNED OFF MY VEHICLE. A YOUNG MAN STOPPED AND ASKED ME WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND I TOLD HIM IT TERRIFIED ME, BUT THAT WHILE TURNING MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT. I HAD LOST MY POWER STEERING. HE SAID MY POWER STEERING WAS ELECTRICAL AND TO TRY AND TURN THE CAR BACK ON TO RESET THE POWER STEERING. I DID, AND THE POWER STEERING WAS FINE. MADE IT HOME. HOWEVER, HAVE HAD ABOUT 10 MORE INSTANCES OF THE POWER STEERING GOING OUT WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, WHILE TURNING, AND WHILE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT FREEWAY. IT IS IN THE CHEVROLET DEALER AS OF TODAY. $1,307.00 TO FIX. THEY CHECKED MY VIN # AND SAID I DON'T QUALIFY FOR ANY RECALLS. THIS IS SO DANGEROUS. GM SHOULD RECALL THESE, AND OR PAY US FOR THIS PROBLEM WE HAVE HAD TO GET FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

4/4/2012 - ARVADA, CO
WHEN DRIVING VEHICLE APPROXIMATELY 20MPH, CHIME SOUNDS, DASH DISPLAYS POWER STEERING MESSAGE AND POWER STEERING IS GONE. HAS HAPPENED TWICE AND WHEN GOING AROUND CORNER NEARLY CRASH TWICE NOW DUE TO SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER STEERING. I BOUGHT THIS CAR NEW 1/2/06 AND IT ONLY HAS A TAD OVER 40,000 MILES SO WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED. VEHICLE HAS SAME POWER STEERING PUMP AS COBALT FOR WHICH A RECALL WAS DONE. SAME EXACT PART MEANS PROBLEM SHOULD NOT JUST BE LIMITED TO THE COBALT AND G5. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND COBALT & G5 WERE RECALLED BUT NOT THE HHR. I BELONG TO A VERY LARGE HHR COMMUNITY AND THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. I LIVE IN COLORADO AND HAD THIS HAPPENED WHEN ROADS WERE ICY IT COULD HAVE CREATED A SERIOUS ISSUE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT CAN BE DONE TO CORRECT THIS AS THE OTHER VEHICLES THE SAME YEAR AS MINE WITH THE SAME PART HAVE BEEN RECALLED. IT'S AN OBVIOUS DEFECT AND OUT OF CONCERN FOR THE SAFETY OF THE DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE AND THE OTHERS AROUND THEM WHEN THE PROBLEM OCCURS, THE COST TO REPAIR SHOULD REST ON CHEVROLET AND NOT THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE. I AM A SINGLE ELDERLY WOMAN STRUGGLING TO MAKE ENDS MEET AND CANNOT AFFORD TO PAY FOR A REPAIR, NOR SHOULD I HAVE TO BECAUSE OF A KNOWN FAULTY PART. THANK YOU FOR YOUR ASSISTANCE.

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2012 - UNION, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MERGED ONTO THE SHOULDER AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF. ONCE RESTARTED, THE POWER STEERING ASSIST INDEPENDENTLY RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/15/2012 - SEMINOLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH AND LIGHTLY DEPRESSING THE BRAKES, THE BRAKES DID NOT RESPOND. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP AND THE CONTACT STEERED THE VEHICLE ONTO GRASS AND CONTINUED TO DEPRESS THE BRAKES, BUT TO NO AVAIL. THE VEHICLE DID NOT COME TO A STOP UNTIL CRASHING INTO A TREE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A FRACTURED ANKLE AND THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 44,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/7/2012 - LORTON, VA
AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE I HEARD A DOUBLE CHIME AND LOOKED AT MY CONSOLE AND NOTICED THE POWER STEERING WARNING HAD COME ON. AT THAT TIME I NOTICED STEERING HAD BECOME VERY STIFF. AFTER SHUTTING THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTARTING IT I FOUND IT TO BE WORKING FINE AGAIN, NO WARNING LIGHTS, NO ISSUES TURNING THE WHEEL. APPROXIMATELY 20 MILES LATER, COMING OFF THE INTERSTATE, THE SAME WARNING RETURNED AND POWER WAS IMMEDIATELY LOST IN STEERING. UPON LEAVING WORK TO TAKE THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP, TWO HOURS LATER, THE CAR WAS RUNNING AS IT DID PRIOR TO THE POWER LOSS. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN. IF I HAD NOT BEEN A STRAIGHT AWAY BOTH TIMES I COULD HAVE HAD CAUSED AN ACCIDENT OR BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT MYSELF. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. I HAVE HAD MY VEHICLE FOR MORE THAN FIVE YEARS AND HAVE HAD NEARLY NO PROBLEMS WITH IT UNTIL RECENTLY. I AM AN ACTIVE DUTY MEMBER AND AM CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THOSE AROUND ME WHO DRIVE THIS MAKE AND MODEL OF A VEHICLE AND HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/4/2012 - HORSESHOE BEND, ID
I BOUGHT MY HHR IN APRIL 1006. THE CAR HAD APPROXIMATELY 5,000 MILES WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. THAT FALL, IN SEPTEMBER 2006, THE BRAKES BEGAN TO SHUDDER EVERY TIME I APPLIED THEM. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MY MECHANIC AND HE SAID THE ROTORS NEEDED TO BE GROUND AND TURNED. HE DID THIS AND THE VEHICLE WAS FINE UNTIL THE NEXT SUMMER (2007) WHEN IT BEGAN TO SHUDDER AGAIN. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN AND HAD THE BRAKES CHECKED. THIS TIME I HAD TO HAVE BOTH THE PADS AND THE ROTORS REPLACED. IN FALL 2008, HE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHUDDER AGAIN. I TOOK THE CAR IN AND THE ROTORS ONE AGAIN NEEDED TO BE GROUND AND TURNED AND ONE SHOCK WAS LEAKING. I STOPPED DRIVING THE CAR EVERY DAY AND ALTERNATELY DROVE MY PICKUP AND THE BRAKES LASTED BEYOND THE ONE YEAR MARK. HOWEVER, IN 2010, THE BRAKES BEGAN TO SHUDDER AGAIN AND I HAD TO TAKE THE CAR IN AND HAVE THE ROTORS GROUND AND TURNED AGAIN. IT IS NOW MARCH 2012 AND HE BRAKES ARE BAD AGAIN. I DO NOT DRIVE THE CAR IN THE SUMMER BECAUSE THE WARM WEATHER SEEMS TO MAKE THE PROBLEM WORSE. ALSO, BECAUSE OF THE BRAKE ISSUE, I HAVE HAD TO PUT TWO NEW SETS OF TIRES ON THE VEHICLE DUE TO ABNORMAL WEAR. I WOULD LIKE TO ADD THAT I DO NOT SPEED AND DO NOT BRAKE QUICKLY OR RIDE THE BRAKES.

View Details

STEERING

2/27/2012 - MEMPHIS, TN
I HAVE A 2006 CHEVY HHR WITH 44,000 MILES. WHILE DRIVING THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON THE DASH, THEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT, ALMOST CAUSING ME TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE CAR IN A CURVE. I AM A 65 YEAR OLD FEMALE, I DO NOT HAVE THE STRENGTH IN MY ARMS TO MANEUVER A VEHICLE THAT LOOSES POWER STEERING UNEXPECTEDLY. I MADE IT HOME AND DID A SEARCH ON THE INTERNET FOR A RECALL, I FOUND WHERE GM RECALLED 1.3 MILLION COBALTS WITH THE SAME ELECTRIC MOTOR AS THE HHR, HOWEVER, THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THE HHR. GM IS WELL AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. HHR OWNERS ARE ALL OVER THE INTERNET COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS POWER STEERING PROBLEM. I AM TOLD THAT IT COULD COST OVER $2000.00 TO FIX THIS PROBLEM.I AM A SENIOR CITIZEN WITH A LIMITED INCOME, I CAN'T AFFORD TO PAY TO HAVE THE CAR FIXED OR TO PURCHASE A NEW VEHICLE. I READ ON THE INTERNET THAT SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVE ALREADY BEEN HURT DUE TO THIS DEFECT. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSES BY GM AND FIXED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2012 - MEMPHIS, TN
I HAVE A 2006 CHEVY HHR WITH 44,000 MILES. WHILE DRIVING THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON THE DASH, THEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT, ALMOST CAUSING ME TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE CAR IN A CURVE. I AM A 65 YEAR OLD FEMALE, I DO NOT HAVE THE STRENGTH IN MY ARMS TO MANEUVER A VEHICLE THAT LOOSES POWER STEERING UNEXPECTEDLY. I MADE IT HOME AND DID A SEARCH ON THE INTERNET FOR A RECALL, I FOUND WHERE GM RECALLED 1.3 MILLION COBALTS WITH THE SAME ELECTRIC MOTOR AS THE HHR, HOWEVER, THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THE HHR. GM IS WELL AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. HHR OWNERS ARE ALL OVER THE INTERNET COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS POWER STEERING PROBLEM. I AM TOLD THAT IT COULD COST OVER $2000.00 TO FIX THIS PROBLEM.I AM A SENIOR CITIZEN WITH A LIMITED INCOME, I CAN'T AFFORD TO PAY TO HAVE THE CAR FIXED OR TO PURCHASE A NEW VEHICLE. I READ ON THE INTERNET THAT SEVERAL PEOPLE HAVE ALREADY BEEN HURT DUE TO THIS DEFECT. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSES BY GM AND FIXED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/23/2012 - THOUSAND PALMS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE PARKED, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE WHEN THE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE FRACTURED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO OPEN THE DOOR BY USING THE EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLE AFTER OPENING THE WINDOW. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WHERE THE TECHNICIANS ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE DOOR PANEL WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED A SECOND TIME. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,800.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

2/8/2012 - FORT MOHAVE, AZ
ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO THE INSIDE DRIVER SIDE DOOR HANDLE BROKE OFF SO WE CANNOT EXIT THE CAR WITHOUT LOWERING THE WINDOW AND REACHING OUT SIDE OF CAR AND OPENING IT WITH THE OUTSIDE HANDLE. ABOUT 1 MONTH AGO THE INSIDE PASSENGER DOOR HANDLE BROKE OFF IN THE SAME WAY THERE HAVE BEEN TIMES WHEN I STOP THE CAR, TAKE MY KEYS FROM THE IGNITION AND THEN REALIZE I CANNOT OPEN MY DOOR, SO HAVE TO REINSERT MY KEY TO TURN THE CAR ON ENOUGH TO ALLOW FOR THE POWER WINDOWS TO GO DOWN, SO I CAN REACH OUT AND OPEN MY DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THERE HAVE BEEN A FEW OCCASIONS THAT I HAVE ROLLED MY WINDOW BACK UP AND LOCKED AND EXITED MY CAR FORGETTING THAT I HAD PUT MY KEYS BACK IN TO POWER THE WINDOWS, WHEN I RETURN MY KEYS ARE LOCKED IN MY CAR AND THE BATTERY IS DEAD....THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING! AND THIS HAPPENED THIS MORNING WITH THE EXCEPTION THAT THE FRONT DOOR DIDN'T LOCK. I GOT INSIDE SHUT THE DOOR, REALIZED THAT ONCE AGAIN I HAD LEFT MY KEYS INSIDE( BECAUSE OF HAVING TO REINSERT TO ROLL THE WINDOW DOWN TO GET OUT) BEGAN TO START MY CAR AND THE BATTERY WAS DEAD SO I COULD NOT OPEN THE DOOR BY ROLLING THE WINDOW DOWN, NOR UNLOCK THE BACK DOORS BECAUSE THE LOCKS DID NOT WORK DUE TO THE BATTERY BEING DRAINED! SO THIS IS NOT A MERE INCONVENIENCE ANYMORE IT IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE!IMAGINE BEING TRAPPED IN YOUR CAR! PLEASE HELP US BECAUSE WE ARE BEING TOLD THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE MANY REPORTS ON THE INTERNET, AND THERE IS A SAFETY RECALL ON A LATCH OF A COMPARTMENT ON THE DASH, WHICH IS NOTHING COMPARED TO THIS ISSUE...THE COST OF REPAIR IS COMPLETELY UN- REACHABLE FOR US ALSO...THIS SHOULD BE FIXED AT THE COST OF THE CAR MANUFACTURER...OUR CAR IS LESS THAN 6 YEARS OLD AND WEAR AND TEAR MIGHT BE THE CASE IF IT WAS 1 HANDLE NOT BOTH!! THANK YOU!

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 98
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds