Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET HHR - 2006 CHEVROLET HHR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 768 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET HHR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (50) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (50) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (170) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (73) Steering (361) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (98) Visibility (10)
Engine (24) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (31) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (4) Wheels (5)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (67) Service Brakes Air (2) Traction Control System (3)

Pages:  
<<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 84
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/22/2010 - PIQUA, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A WARNING CHIME AND THE POWER STEERING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. AT THAT TIME, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME STIFF AND DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE; IT FUNCTIONED PROPERLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 38,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,000. . UPDATED 02/23/11 UPDATED 05/02/11

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

11/17/2010 - ROCK ISLAND, IL
MY KEY CONTINUES TO GET STUCK IN THE IGNITION. ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO THIS HAPPENED AND I TOOK MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALER,THEY CHARGED ME $50.00 TO GET THE KEY OUT THEY SAY THEY GREASED THE IGNITION I GUESS. I WAS LOOKING THROUGH MY CAR MANUAL AND IT TELLS YOU HOW TO GET THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION.I DON'T THINK THE DEALER CHARGING ME $50.00 WAS FAIR. IS THERE SOME WAY THAT CAN BE FIXED? I CAN NOT AFFORD $50.00 AND I'M GET TIRED OF PUTTING MY FINGER IN THE HOLE UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL TO RELEASE THE KEY.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

11/17/2010 - ROCK ISLAND, IL
MY KEY CONTINUES TO GET STUCK IN THE IGNITION. ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO THIS HAPPENED AND I TOOK MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALER,THEY CHARGED ME $50.00 TO GET THE KEY OUT THEY SAY THEY GREASED THE IGNITION I GUESS. I WAS LOOKING THROUGH MY CAR MANUAL AND IT TELLS YOU HOW TO GET THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION.I DON'T THINK THE DEALER CHARGING ME $50.00 WAS FAIR. IS THERE SOME WAY THAT CAN BE FIXED? I CAN NOT AFFORD $50.00 AND I'M GET TIRED OF PUTTING MY FINGER IN THE HOLE UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL TO RELEASE THE KEY.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

11/16/2010 - ODENTON, MD
2006 CHEVROLET HHR INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE FAILURES. IN MY INSTANCE THE PLASTIC HANDLE THAT IS USED TO OPEN THE DOOR ON THE DRIVERS SIDE BROKE OFF. THIS IS A WIDELY COMPLAINED ABOUT ISSUE ON THE WEB. IF YOU GOOGLE "HHR DRIVERS SIDE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE BROKEN" YOU GET 1000'S OF PEOPLE DISCUSSING THIS ISSUE. THE COST TO REPAIR IS VERY HIGH AND PEOPLE ARE NOT DOING IT. CHEVY DOES NOT SELL JUST THE PLASTIC PART, THEY REQUIRE YOU TO PURCHASE AN ENTIRE ASSEMBLY, THE COST RUNS NEARLY $600 WITH LABOR FOR A PLASTIC PART. THE ISSUE IS THAT DEALERSHIPS DO NOT STOCK THIS PART, THEY NEED TO ORDER IT AND IT TAKES TIME, THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS THE ONLY WAY TO EXIT THE CAR IS TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE, SO THAT REQUIRES ROLLING A WINDOW DOWN AND OPENING IT FROM THE OUTSIDE. IF YOU NEEDED TO EXIT THE VEHICLE IN A HURRY, SUCH AS AFTER AN ACCIDENT, YOU WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO DO SO. THIS IS A GREAT CONCERN. BESIDES THE FACT THAT THIS IS BEING REPORTED AS A PROBLEM AND CHEVY IS NOT TRYING TO RECTIFY THE SITUATION, OR TO EVEN PROVIDE THE PART OUTSIDE OF PURCHASING THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

11/16/2010 - ODENTON, MD
2006 CHEVROLET HHR INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE FAILURES. IN MY INSTANCE THE PLASTIC HANDLE THAT IS USED TO OPEN THE DOOR ON THE DRIVERS SIDE BROKE OFF. THIS IS A WIDELY COMPLAINED ABOUT ISSUE ON THE WEB. IF YOU GOOGLE "HHR DRIVERS SIDE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE BROKEN" YOU GET 1000'S OF PEOPLE DISCUSSING THIS ISSUE. THE COST TO REPAIR IS VERY HIGH AND PEOPLE ARE NOT DOING IT. CHEVY DOES NOT SELL JUST THE PLASTIC PART, THEY REQUIRE YOU TO PURCHASE AN ENTIRE ASSEMBLY, THE COST RUNS NEARLY $600 WITH LABOR FOR A PLASTIC PART. THE ISSUE IS THAT DEALERSHIPS DO NOT STOCK THIS PART, THEY NEED TO ORDER IT AND IT TAKES TIME, THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS THE ONLY WAY TO EXIT THE CAR IS TO OPEN THE DOOR FROM THE OUTSIDE, SO THAT REQUIRES ROLLING A WINDOW DOWN AND OPENING IT FROM THE OUTSIDE. IF YOU NEEDED TO EXIT THE VEHICLE IN A HURRY, SUCH AS AFTER AN ACCIDENT, YOU WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO DO SO. THIS IS A GREAT CONCERN. BESIDES THE FACT THAT THIS IS BEING REPORTED AS A PROBLEM AND CHEVY IS NOT TRYING TO RECTIFY THE SITUATION, OR TO EVEN PROVIDE THE PART OUTSIDE OF PURCHASING THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY.

View Details

STEERING

11/15/2010 - RIVERBANK, CA
THE POWER STEERING FAILS WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS FIRST POWERED ON, POWER STEERING IS PRESENT. IT IS UNPREDICTABLE WHEN THE POWER STEERING WILL FAIL. IN TWO INCIDENTS IT ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENTS WHEN FAILING. I DO NOT HAVE A LARGE FRAME NOR A LOT OF UPPER BODY STRENGTH THAT IS ABLE TO MAKE TURNS AT LOW SPEEDS, SUCH AS WHEN TURNING OR PARKING. IF I AM AWARE OF THE POWER STEERING FAILURE I CAN COMPENSATE FOR IT, BUT IF IT HAPPENS SUDDENLY, IT CAN BE QUITE SURPRISING. THIS IS THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM WITH THE SAME EXACT COMPONENT AS THE CHEVY COBALT AND THE PONTIAC G5, AND I UNDERSTAND OTHER VEHICLES ARE REPORTING THIS AS WELL.

View Details

STEERING

11/15/2010 - IRON STATION, NC
MY ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING DOESN'T WORK. MY HHR IS EQUIPPED WITH THE SAME POWER STEERING ASSEMBLY FOUND IN THE COBALT WHICH HAS A RECALL ISSUED. SEEMS STUPID TO ME THAT A LIGHTER CAR WOULD BENEFIT FROM THE RECALL, WHILE I AM NOW GOING TO BE STUCK WITH A LARGE REPAIR BILL. THESE UNITS ARE FROM THE SAME SUPPLIER.......RECALL ALL OF THESE UNITS ON WHATEVER VEHICLE THE OEM PUT THEM ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/25/2010 - AVENDALE, AZ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT WAS CONSTANTLY LIT ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 54,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

9/28/2010 - CLEVELAND , OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE PLASTIC DOOR HANDLE BROKE OFF NOVEMBER 2008. THE HANDLE WAS REPLACED AT THAT TIME BUT IT BROKE OFF AGAIN TWO WEEKS LATER. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER WHO STATED THAT THEY WOULD LOOK INTO IT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,194.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

9/27/2010 - GETTYSBURG , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET HHR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE INTERIOR DOOR HANDLE WAS INOPERABLE. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO EXIT THE VEHICLE AND ENGAGING THE DOOR HANDLE, THE DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED AT AN AUTHORIZED DEALER BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE TECHNICIAN DID NOT LOCATE A MANUFACTURING DEFECT THEREFORE THEY WOULD NOT ASSIST WITH REPAIRS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 30,600. UPDATED 12/22/10 UPDATED 12/29/10

View Details
Pages:  <<  52  53  54  55  56  57  58  59  60  61  62  63  64  65  66  >>  ... 84
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds