Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 275 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (53) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (27) Power Train (11) Steering (60) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (28) Seat Belts (3) Structure (36) Visibility (8)
Engine (15) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (1) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (14) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/24/2014 - MONTICELLO, FL
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND MY GAS PEDAL WAS STUCK. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES IN THE LAST MONTH. APRIL 10,11,& 25,2014; MAY 6, 12,& TWICE ON 23,2014.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/22/2014 - BLACKSBURG, VA
AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK WITH GASOLINE, THE CAR WILL OFTEN STALL TEMPORARILY AFTER TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 1/4 MILE. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES, BUT THE CAR HAS ALWAYS RESTARTED. I THOUGHT THAT I WAS USING A POOR BRAND OF GASOLINE, BUT I JUST RECEIVED NOTICE OF A RECALL FOR STICKING FUEL FILL VALVE ON MY OTHER VEHICLE, WHICH HAS NEVER (TO MY KNOWLEDGE) EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/11/2014 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
REAR AC EVAPORATOR LEAKING.. I HEARD THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS, ESTIMATED COST TO REPLACE IS BETWEEN 850-1000, CAN YOU GIVE ME ANY INFORMATION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/3/2014 - ANNISTON, AL
WHILE DRIVING ON A PUBLIC ROAD AT 35-40 MPH THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN. IT GOT PROGRESSIVELY SLOWER ON A LEVEL ROAD EVEN AS THE ACCELERATOR WAS APPLIED. AT THIS POINT I NOTICED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVEL WAS CONSIDERABLY LESS THAN NORMAL AND THE PEDAL FELT VERY HARD. THE PROBLEM GOT PROGRESSIVELY WORSE AND CAR WAS BARELY ABLE TO LIMP HOME. IT FELT LIKE I WAS DRIVING IN DEEP SAND. I COULD NOT GO FAST ENOUGH FOR THE TRANSMISSION TO SHIFT FROM LOW GEAR. THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS LIT ON THE DASH PANEL. AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT, IT APPEARED THAT THE CAR HAD RETURNED TO NORMAL AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP. ON FIRST INSPECTION THE DEALERSHIP WAS UNABLE TO FIND A PROBLEM. I ENCOURAGED THEM TO CALL THE FACTORY FOR POSSIBLE ENGINEERING BULLETINS. AFTER THREE DAYS IN THE SHOP I WAS INFORMED THAT THE FACTORY HAD DETERMINED THAT THE PROBLEM WAS RELATED TO A FAULTY BRAKE BOOSTER WITH THE COST OF REPAIR ESTIMATED AT $800. I HAD PREVIOUSLY EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM ABOUT 6-8 MONTHS PREVIOUSLY, WHICH HAD TOTALLY DISABLED THE VEHICLE AND IT HAD TO BE FLATBED TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. AT THAT TIME THERE WAS NO DEALER RESOLUTION SINCE, AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT, THEY COULDN'T GET THE VEHICLE TO REPEAT THE SITUATION DURING TEST DRIVES. I FEEL THAT IF THIS HAD HAPPENED ON OUR LOCAL INTERSTATE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS IT COULD HAVE RESULTED IN A MORE SERIOUS SITUATION, PARTICULARLY IF THE BRAKES HAD BOUND UP TIGHTLY, AND IT MAY BE A SAFETY-RELATED ISSUE WITH THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/24/2014 - NAPLES, FL
I WAS DRIVING MY 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN SE ON THE NIGHT OF I02/11/2014 WHEN A WRONG-WAY DRIVER HIT ME (HEAD ON COLLISION). SHE TURNED RIGHT TO GET GASOLINE (NOTE: NOT TO AVOID US, DID NOT KNOW SHE WAS GOING WRONG WAY UNTIL WE HIT HER), AND WE HIT HER SIDE DOOR, TIRE AREA, AND THE VEHICLE BOUNCED BACKWARDS. I HAD TO PUSH OFF THE STEERING WHEEL TO PREVENT MY HEAD FROM GOING THRU THE WINDSHIELD, MY FATHER WHO WAS THE PASSENGER, HIT HIS ARM OFF THE DASHBOARD. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, WHICH WAS THE ISSUE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED, THEY LOOKED AT THE CAR AND SAID NOTHING IS WRONG WITH IT AND THAT THE CAR WOULD HAVE TO BE CRUSHED FOR THE AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY, THE AIR BAGS HAVE BEEN RECALLED BEFORE, WHICH IS A CONCERN TO ME. WHEN LOOKING AT THE VEHICLE DASH BOARD, IT DOES NOT APPEAR THAT THERE IS EVEN A PASSENGER AIR BAG IN PLACE. MY BUMPER HAD DAMAGE, A LONG WITH MY HEAD LIGHT, ALONG WITH MY HOOD. I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 40MPH IN A 45MPH ZONE, AS WE WERE SLOWING DOWN AT A RED LIGHT AND WHEN IT TURNED GREEN AGAIN I CONTINUED ON. WE HAD INJURIES OF OUR NECK AND BACK AS WELL AS THE DRIVERS LEFT FOOT, MY WRIST HURT FROM TIME TO TIME AND STILL SOMEWHAT DOES, FROM PUSHING OFF THE WHEEL.UPDATED 06/03/14 UPDATED 06/06/2014

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/24/2014 - NAPLES, FL
I WAS DRIVING MY 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN SE ON THE NIGHT OF I02/11/2014 WHEN A WRONG-WAY DRIVER HIT ME (HEAD ON COLLISION). SHE TURNED RIGHT TO GET GASOLINE (NOTE: NOT TO AVOID US, DID NOT KNOW SHE WAS GOING WRONG WAY UNTIL WE HIT HER), AND WE HIT HER SIDE DOOR, TIRE AREA, AND THE VEHICLE BOUNCED BACKWARDS. I HAD TO PUSH OFF THE STEERING WHEEL TO PREVENT MY HEAD FROM GOING THRU THE WINDSHIELD, MY FATHER WHO WAS THE PASSENGER, HIT HIS ARM OFF THE DASHBOARD. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, WHICH WAS THE ISSUE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED, THEY LOOKED AT THE CAR AND SAID NOTHING IS WRONG WITH IT AND THAT THE CAR WOULD HAVE TO BE CRUSHED FOR THE AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY, THE AIR BAGS HAVE BEEN RECALLED BEFORE, WHICH IS A CONCERN TO ME. WHEN LOOKING AT THE VEHICLE DASH BOARD, IT DOES NOT APPEAR THAT THERE IS EVEN A PASSENGER AIR BAG IN PLACE. MY BUMPER HAD DAMAGE, A LONG WITH MY HEAD LIGHT, ALONG WITH MY HOOD. I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 40MPH IN A 45MPH ZONE, AS WE WERE SLOWING DOWN AT A RED LIGHT AND WHEN IT TURNED GREEN AGAIN I CONTINUED ON. WE HAD INJURIES OF OUR NECK AND BACK AS WELL AS THE DRIVERS LEFT FOOT, MY WRIST HURT FROM TIME TO TIME AND STILL SOMEWHAT DOES, FROM PUSHING OFF THE WHEEL.UPDATED 06/03/14 UPDATED 06/06/2014

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/21/2014 - WICHITA , KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPER BLADES INTERFERED WITH ONE ANOTHER WHILE USED AND WERE ALSO BENDING. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE BLADES WITH SHORTER BLADES HOWEVER THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/7/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS AN EGR AND ELECTRICAL PROBLEM THAT RECURRED. THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHEN SHE WAS DRIVING ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE REAR RIGHT PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT LOCK OR CLOSE PROPERLY. THE LEFT BRAKE LIGHT AND LEFT TURN SIGNALS WERE REPAIRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE FAILURE WAS DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE EGR VALVE SYSTEM, THE LEFT BRAKE LIGHT, LEFT TURN SIGNAL LIGHT, FRONT WIPERS, FRONT BRAKE PADS, AND ROTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACE. THE VEHICLE ALSO NEEDED A MAJOR TUNE UP. ALL OF THE REPAIRS WERE MADE MINUS THE EGR VALVE SYSTEM AND THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR WHICH THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70867.

View Details

ENGINE

3/7/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS AN EGR AND ELECTRICAL PROBLEM THAT RECURRED. THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHEN SHE WAS DRIVING ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE REAR RIGHT PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT LOCK OR CLOSE PROPERLY. THE LEFT BRAKE LIGHT AND LEFT TURN SIGNALS WERE REPAIRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE FAILURE WAS DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE EGR VALVE SYSTEM, THE LEFT BRAKE LIGHT, LEFT TURN SIGNAL LIGHT, FRONT WIPERS, FRONT BRAKE PADS, AND ROTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACE. THE VEHICLE ALSO NEEDED A MAJOR TUNE UP. ALL OF THE REPAIRS WERE MADE MINUS THE EGR VALVE SYSTEM AND THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR WHICH THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70867.

View Details

STEERING

3/4/2014 - ORTLEY, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING HOSE WAS LEAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TRANSMISSION HOSE WAS REPLACED ON THE POWER STEERING. THE VEHICLE ALSO HAD AN OIL LEAK AND TWO CLAMPS FOR THE POWER STEERING LINE WAS REPLACE HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 63000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds