Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 454 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (315) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Engine (23) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (15) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/20/2014 - COLUMBIA , MS
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A DELAY WHEN HE ATTEMPTED TO SWITCH THE GEAR FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE VALVE BODY FROM THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000. MF

View Details

ENGINE

11/13/2014 - WINDSOR MILL, MD
MY CAR WILL START OFF RIDING GREAT BUT THEN THE JERKING STARTS AND THE ACCELERATION STALLS. I AM SO AFRAID THAT I MAY GET IN AN ACCIDENT AS A RESULT OF THE CONSTANT JERKING. SOMETIMES MY ENGINE REVS UP AND MY CAR JERKS AS IF THE WHOLE CAR WILL JUST FALL APART. I PRAY EVERYTIME I GET BEHIND THE WHEEL. I DON'T HAVE $3,000 TO GET IT REPAIRED AND I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR IT WHEN THERE IS A CLASS ACTION SUIT AGAINST NISSAN FOR THIS ISSUE. I AM HOPING THAT A RECALL IS DONE SO THAT I WON'T HAVE TO PAY. I BELIEVE ITS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE I CAN GET IN AN ACCIDENT OR INJURE SOMEONE. IT PISSES ME OFF THAT NISSAN WON'T TAKE RESPONSIBILITHY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/21/2014 - IRVING, TX
I BOUGHT A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA SE FROM A USED CAR DEALER WITH ROUGHLY 36,000 MILES ON IT IN 2006 MARCH. THE CAR RAN GREAT FOR A WHILE, BUT RIGHT AROUND WHEN IT HIT ABOUT 65,000 MILES IT STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION. INITIALLY, THE PROBLEM WOULD ONLY SURFACE WHEN I PUT MY CAR FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE, AND THE CAR WOULD LURCH FORWARD VIOLENTLY. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER WHO SAID THAT 2003-2006 NISSAN MAXIMA'S WERE KNOWN TO HAVE AN ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION, BUT SAID IT IS NOT COVERED BY ANY RECALL AND WOULD NOT BE COVERED BY A WARRANTY AS MY CAR WAS BEYOND THE 5 YR COVERAGE PERIOD. THE CAR NOW HAS 94,000 MILES ON IT AND THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM IS GETTING PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. THE CAR TRANSMISSION SLIPS INTERMITTENTLY WHICH LEADS TO PROBLEMS WITH ACCELERATION OR MAINTAINING SPEED AND IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND DUE TO THIS REASON I AVOID DRIVING ON FREEWAYS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/20/2014 - LINCOLN, NE
IMMEDIATELY AFTER PURCHASE, VARIOUS INSTANCES OF ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION, INCLUDING MIRROR LIGHTS FLICKERING, DASH LIGHTS FLICKERING/HALF DOESN'T COME ONE, AS WELL AS FAULTY WIRING IN SUN ROOF CAUSING IT TO OPEN AND CLOSES RANDOMLY ON IT'S OWN. SHORTLY THEREAFTER, TRANSMISSION STARTED TO SLIP AND KNOCK HARD INTO GEARS, EVEN THOUGH PROPER MAINTENANCE WAS ALWAYS COMPLETED. BRAKES REPLACED SEVERAL TIMES. SUSPENSION LACKING. AS OF LAST WEEK, THE TRACTION/SLIP LIGHTS COME ON AND THE CAR WILL NOT ACCELERATE PROPERLY, ALMOST CAUSING SEVERAL ACCIDENTS. THIS PROBLEM HAS YET TO BE RESOLVED, AS NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. THIS VEHICLE HAS CAUSED FINANCIAL HARM AS WELL AS NEAR PHYSICAL HARM ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/20/2014 - LINCOLN, NE
IMMEDIATELY AFTER PURCHASE, VARIOUS INSTANCES OF ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION, INCLUDING MIRROR LIGHTS FLICKERING, DASH LIGHTS FLICKERING/HALF DOESN'T COME ONE, AS WELL AS FAULTY WIRING IN SUN ROOF CAUSING IT TO OPEN AND CLOSES RANDOMLY ON IT'S OWN. SHORTLY THEREAFTER, TRANSMISSION STARTED TO SLIP AND KNOCK HARD INTO GEARS, EVEN THOUGH PROPER MAINTENANCE WAS ALWAYS COMPLETED. BRAKES REPLACED SEVERAL TIMES. SUSPENSION LACKING. AS OF LAST WEEK, THE TRACTION/SLIP LIGHTS COME ON AND THE CAR WILL NOT ACCELERATE PROPERLY, ALMOST CAUSING SEVERAL ACCIDENTS. THIS PROBLEM HAS YET TO BE RESOLVED, AS NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. THIS VEHICLE HAS CAUSED FINANCIAL HARM AS WELL AS NEAR PHYSICAL HARM ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/20/2014 - LINCOLN, NE
IMMEDIATELY AFTER PURCHASE, VARIOUS INSTANCES OF ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION, INCLUDING MIRROR LIGHTS FLICKERING, DASH LIGHTS FLICKERING/HALF DOESN'T COME ONE, AS WELL AS FAULTY WIRING IN SUN ROOF CAUSING IT TO OPEN AND CLOSES RANDOMLY ON IT'S OWN. SHORTLY THEREAFTER, TRANSMISSION STARTED TO SLIP AND KNOCK HARD INTO GEARS, EVEN THOUGH PROPER MAINTENANCE WAS ALWAYS COMPLETED. BRAKES REPLACED SEVERAL TIMES. SUSPENSION LACKING. AS OF LAST WEEK, THE TRACTION/SLIP LIGHTS COME ON AND THE CAR WILL NOT ACCELERATE PROPERLY, ALMOST CAUSING SEVERAL ACCIDENTS. THIS PROBLEM HAS YET TO BE RESOLVED, AS NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. THIS VEHICLE HAS CAUSED FINANCIAL HARM AS WELL AS NEAR PHYSICAL HARM ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/17/2014 - WINTER GARDEN , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS SWITCHED AND THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR WAS THE VEHICLE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/8/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION BEGAN TO JERK VIOLENTLY AND THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO HEARD A CONSTANT RATTLING NOISE COMING FROM THE TIMING CHAIN WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC RECOMMENDED THAT THE FAULTY TIMING CHAIN BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION BEGAN TO JERK VIOLENTLY AND THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO HEARD A CONSTANT RATTLING NOISE COMING FROM THE TIMING CHAIN WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC RECOMMENDED THAT THE FAULTY TIMING CHAIN BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/25/2014 - ATTLEBORO, MA
BRAKE "ACTUATOR" STARTED HUMMING OR RUNNING AS SOON AS CAR ('06 NISSAN MAXIMA SE) WAS TURNED ON AWAY FROM HOME. CONTINUED TO KICK IN ABS AT EVERY BRAKE APPLICATION CREATING UNSAFE (OR AT LEAST NOT NORMAL) BRAKING SITUATIONS AND CONTINUED TO RUN WHEN CAR WAS SHUT OFF. ABS LIGHT, TCS LIGHT, AND SLIP LIGHT ALL ACTIVATED CONTINUALLY. CODES C1110 & C1105 & C1106 WERE PRESENT AFTER SCANNING AT LOCAL GARAGE. BATTERY DRAINED AFTER CAR SHUT OFF DUE TO ACTUATOR CONTINUING TO RUN WITH CAR SHUT OFF. PER RESEARCH AND OTHER TSB OR NISSAN-ISSUED TECHINCAL BULLETINS, THE REAR HUB ABS SENSOR FREQUENTLY MALFUNCTIONS DUE TO A DESIGN FLAW IN THE CAR. IF DRIVEN WHILE MALFUNCTIONING (AS IN THIS CASE) THE CONTROLLER/ACTUATOR MAY MALFUNCTION. TURNING OFF "ABS" WHILE DRIVING SEEMS TO KEEP THE ACTUATOR FROM RUNNING, BUT ALSO MAKES DRIVING LESS SAFE, ESPECIALLY IN INCLEMENT WEATHER DUE TO TURNING OFF TCS/ABS. I'VE HAD TO REPLACE THIS OUT-OF-POCKET (DESPITE BEING AN EXTREMELY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL VEHICLE). SENSORS AND ACTUATOR WERE REPLACED. VEHICLE DRIVEN AGAIN. LESS THAN 8 MONTHS LATER, SAME ISSUES RETURN. NISSAN DEALERSHIP REPLACED REAR SENSOR PER CODES, NEW CODE FOR ACTUATOR SHOWS AGAIN (AFTER SENSORS PLACED IN) AND THEY REQUIRE ME TO PAY OUT OF POCKET AGAIN FOR NEW ACTUATOR. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A DESIGN FLAW IN THE CAR (PER MANY OTHER REPORTS) AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY FOR REPAIR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds