Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 531 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (367) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (15) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (39) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (18) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/23/2016 - PLAINFIELD, IL
MY 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA 3.5SL HAS A TRANSMISSION THAT'S GOING OUT IT SLIPS AND SLAMS INTO GEAR ALL THE TIME ONLY 110,000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/5/2016 - SCHENECTADY, NY
TRANSMISSION,HESITATION BETWEEN GEARS, ROUGH SHIFTING, SUDDEN STOPS OR DIMINISHED ACCELERATION, IN CITY DRIVING AFTER 1/2 HR OF DRIVING.

View Details

WHEELS

10/26/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
I BROUGHT MY 2006 MAXIMA NEW AND HAD ALL KIND OF PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AT THE VERY BEGINNING. EVERYTHING WAS UNDER WARRANTY, BUT WHEN MY CAR HAD ABOUT 62000 MILES THE CAR STARTED SLIPPING AND MISSING GEARS SO I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY TRANSMISSION WASN'T COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN BECAUSE THERE WERE 2 TYPES OF TRANSMISSION PUT INTO THE MAXIMA AND THE ONE THAT MY CAR HAD WAS NOT COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN. I CALLED NISSAN CORPORATE OFFICES AND DIDN'T GET ANY SATISFACTION. I HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANS AND MANY OTHER THINGS ON THIS CAR. I WOULD NOT EVER OR SUGGEST THAT ANYONE BUY A NISSAN. I BELIEVED THAT NISSAN KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THE FIRST COMPLAINT WAS EVER MADE. SAME ON YOU NISSAN

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/26/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
I BROUGHT MY 2006 MAXIMA NEW AND HAD ALL KIND OF PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AT THE VERY BEGINNING. EVERYTHING WAS UNDER WARRANTY, BUT WHEN MY CAR HAD ABOUT 62000 MILES THE CAR STARTED SLIPPING AND MISSING GEARS SO I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY TRANSMISSION WASN'T COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN BECAUSE THERE WERE 2 TYPES OF TRANSMISSION PUT INTO THE MAXIMA AND THE ONE THAT MY CAR HAD WAS NOT COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN. I CALLED NISSAN CORPORATE OFFICES AND DIDN'T GET ANY SATISFACTION. I HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANS AND MANY OTHER THINGS ON THIS CAR. I WOULD NOT EVER OR SUGGEST THAT ANYONE BUY A NISSAN. I BELIEVED THAT NISSAN KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THE FIRST COMPLAINT WAS EVER MADE. SAME ON YOU NISSAN

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
I BROUGHT MY 2006 MAXIMA NEW AND HAD ALL KIND OF PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AT THE VERY BEGINNING. EVERYTHING WAS UNDER WARRANTY, BUT WHEN MY CAR HAD ABOUT 62000 MILES THE CAR STARTED SLIPPING AND MISSING GEARS SO I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY TRANSMISSION WASN'T COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN BECAUSE THERE WERE 2 TYPES OF TRANSMISSION PUT INTO THE MAXIMA AND THE ONE THAT MY CAR HAD WAS NOT COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN. I CALLED NISSAN CORPORATE OFFICES AND DIDN'T GET ANY SATISFACTION. I HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANS AND MANY OTHER THINGS ON THIS CAR. I WOULD NOT EVER OR SUGGEST THAT ANYONE BUY A NISSAN. I BELIEVED THAT NISSAN KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THE FIRST COMPLAINT WAS EVER MADE. SAME ON YOU NISSAN

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/17/2016 - TOLEDO, OH
BOUGHT THE CAR 1 MONTH BACK AND THE TRANSMISSION HAS BEEN ACTING UP.IT STALLS AND JUMPS INTO DRIVE.THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING WITH ALL MAXIMA OWNERS. SOMETIMES THE GEAR SLIPS TOO. IT'S VERY EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR,PLEASE FORCE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/13/2016 - VINTON, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED. WHILE ATTEMTPING TO SHIFT GEARS, THE SHIFTER LOCKED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE WATER PUMP LEAKED WATER INTO THE TRANSMISSION AND CAUSED THE GEAR SHIFTER TO FAIL. THE TRANSMISSION ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2016 - VA BEACH, VA
THE 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA HAS A MAJOR ISSUE OF VIOLENTLY JERKING AFTER 100K MILES, I HAVE SEEN REPORTS THAT IT DOES THIS EVEN BEFORE IT REACHES SUCH MILEAGE. I HAVE A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA WORST CAR I HAVE EVER BOUGHT I WILL NEVER EVER BUY ANOTHER NISSAN PRODUCT. THE CAR VIOLENTLY JERKS INTO GEAR WHEN COMING TO A STOP OR DRIVING OFF, THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED BY MANY OWNERS AND NISSAN HAS DONE NOTHING. I HAVE SPENT 1800 HUNDRED DOLLARS REPLACING THE ENGINE MOUNTS AND THE CAR STILL JERKS. THE CAR IS PAID FOR AND I WILL NOT SPEND ANYMORE REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION BECAUSE THAT WOULD COST MORE THAN WHAT THE CAR IS WORTH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/11/2016 - VA BEACH, VA
THE 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA HAS A MAJOR ISSUE OF VIOLENTLY JERKING AFTER 100K MILES, I HAVE SEEN REPORTS THAT IT DOES THIS EVEN BEFORE IT REACHES SUCH MILEAGE. I HAVE A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA WORST CAR I HAVE EVER BOUGHT I WILL NEVER EVER BUY ANOTHER NISSAN PRODUCT. THE CAR VIOLENTLY JERKS INTO GEAR WHEN COMING TO A STOP OR DRIVING OFF, THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED BY MANY OWNERS AND NISSAN HAS DONE NOTHING. I HAVE SPENT 1800 HUNDRED DOLLARS REPLACING THE ENGINE MOUNTS AND THE CAR STILL JERKS. THE CAR IS PAID FOR AND I WILL NOT SPEND ANYMORE REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION BECAUSE THAT WOULD COST MORE THAN WHAT THE CAR IS WORTH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/12/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE TRANSMISSIONS ARE BUILT AND DESIGNED TO FAIL ON ALL 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA MODELS AND HAVE TO BE REPLACED BETWEEN 70,000 AND 90,000 MILES, COSTING CONSUMERS BETWEEN $3500-$5000 TO REPAIR. EVEN WHEN THE TRANSMISSION IS REBUILT OR VALVE BODY JOB CONSUMERS WILL FACE THE SAME DILEMMA WITHIN A COUPLE OF YEARS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds