Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 499 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (343) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (15) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Engine (33) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (17) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/4/2016 - HOLLAND, PA
TRANSMISSION SLIPS, MAINLY BETWEEN 1ST/2ND GEARS AND ALSO IN REVERSE. THE RPMS REV UP HIGH AND CAR JERKS FORWARD VIOLENTLY. ONE TIME I PARKED THE VEHICLE AND AFTER I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS, IT REVED UP AND DROVE ONTO THE CURB. DRIVING ON HIGHWAYS IS FINE BUT CITY DRIVING US A NIGHTMARE. IT'S EVEN SHUT OFF AT STOP LIGHTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/3/2016 - ATTALLA, AL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, GOING AROUND A CURVE, THE WHEEL STABILIZER TURNED ON FOR NO REASON. I COULD NOT REGAIN CONTROL OF THE CAR. THE WHEELS LOCKED UP AND I GOT SLAMMED INTO TWO CONCRETE WALLS AND A DIESEL TRUCK AS A RESULT. NONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/3/2016 - ATTALLA, AL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, GOING AROUND A CURVE, THE WHEEL STABILIZER TURNED ON FOR NO REASON. I COULD NOT REGAIN CONTROL OF THE CAR. THE WHEELS LOCKED UP AND I GOT SLAMMED INTO TWO CONCRETE WALLS AND A DIESEL TRUCK AS A RESULT. NONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

STEERING

2/3/2016 - ATTALLA, AL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, GOING AROUND A CURVE, THE WHEEL STABILIZER TURNED ON FOR NO REASON. I COULD NOT REGAIN CONTROL OF THE CAR. THE WHEELS LOCKED UP AND I GOT SLAMMED INTO TWO CONCRETE WALLS AND A DIESEL TRUCK AS A RESULT. NONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/28/2016 - HUNTERSVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. AFTER DRIVING OVER A SNOW MOUND AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE SPUN OUT OF CONTROL AND CRASHED INTO A GUARDRAIL. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A HEAD INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/8/2016 - CRAB ORCHARD, KY
ONCE THE TRANSMISSION GETS WARM IT'S VERY DANGEROUS. BAD STALLING FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE AND ONCE YOU SLOW TO ROUND A CURVE AND GO TO ACCELERATE AGAIN. IT SLAMS REALLY HARD SHIFTING. CAUSES A BAD JERK. IF YOU ARE DRIVING IN RAIN, LET OUT OF THE GAS TO START I TO A SMALL CURVE, THEN WHEN YOU GIVE IT HAS AGAIN. IF YOU ARE NOT CAREFUL YOU WILL HAVE A HIGH RMP WHEN IT FINALLY SHIFTS BACK INTO DRIVE IT WILL CAUSE YOU TO SPIN. POSSIBLY COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/22/2015 - GRAND MOUND, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FLOOR OF THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS RUSTED ROTTED OUT. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/1/2015 - PLANT CITY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO VIOLENTLY JERK AND THE ENGINE STALLED AS THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE DID NOT RESTART. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 223,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/1/2015 - PLANT CITY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO VIOLENTLY JERK AND THE ENGINE STALLED AS THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE DID NOT RESTART. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 223,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/11/2015 - POMPANO BEACH, FL
I'VE BEEN THE ONLY OWNER OF MY CAR WHICH I BOUGHT BRAND NEW. I'VE ALWAYS GONE THE EXTRA MILE TO TAKE EXTREMELY GOOD CARE OF MY CAR AND HAVE NEVER MISSED ANY SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE. HOWEVER, NONE OF THIS MATTERED MUCH WHEN MY CAR STARTED JERKING VERY VIOLENTLY AROUND 90K MILES. IT HAPPENED WHEN SHIFTING FROM PART TO DRIVE OR REVERSE AND EVEN WHILE DRIVING, WHEN SHIFTING FROM 2ND TO 3RD. I TOOK THE CAR TO MANY DIFFERENT TRANSMISSION SHOPS AND EVENTUALLY IT TURNED OUT THAT IT HAD A BAD TRANSMISSION. I SPENT THOUSANDS IN GETTING THIS FIXED. I KNOW FOR A FACT THAT NISSAN IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE WITH THIS CARS BUT REFUSES TO TAKE ACTION, INSTEAD THEY WANT TO CHARGE THE CUSTOMER THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION. THEY ARE SO AWARE OF THIS ISSUE THAT THEY EVEN HAVE CREATED AN UPDATED TRANSMISSION FOR THIS CAR WHICH IS THE ONE THAT THEY WILL PUT IN IF YOU GO TO THEM WITH THIS ISSUE. IT'S SAD TO SEE THAT NO ONE IS DOING ANYTHING TO GET NISSAN TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND RECALL THIS FAULTY VEHICLES DESPITE THE RIDICULOUSLY HIGH NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS. IT APPEARS AS THOUGH PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE FIRST BEFORE ANYONE TAKES NOTICE. YOU CAN READ ALL ABOUT THIS WELL KNOW ISSUE IN THIS FORUM LINK: HTTP://MAXIMA.ORG/FORUMS/6TH-GENERATION-MAXIMA-2004-2008/597683-RE5F22A-TRANSMISSION-FIX-38.HTML TO NISSAN: YOU THINK THAT YOU ARE SAVING MONEY BY NOT RECALLING THESE BAD TRANSMISSIONS AND INDEED YOU ARE, BUT ONLY IN THE SHORT TERM. LONG TERM THOUGH YOU WILL LOOSE GREATLY BECAUSE THOSE THAT USED TO CALL THEMSELVES LOYAL CUSTOMERS SUCH AS MYSELF WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER VEHICLE FROM YOU EVER AGAIN. NOT ONLY THAT BUT I WILL TAKE EVERY OPPORTUNITY TO TELL EVERYONE I CAN NOT TO BUY FROM YOU. YOUR ORGANIZATION IS CUNNING AND DECEITFUL AND ONLY CARES ABOUT THE BOTTOM LINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds