Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 518 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (356) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (15) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (37) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (17) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/12/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE TRANSMISSIONS ARE BUILT AND DESIGNED TO FAIL ON ALL 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA MODELS AND HAVE TO BE REPLACED BETWEEN 70,000 AND 90,000 MILES, COSTING CONSUMERS BETWEEN $3500-$5000 TO REPAIR. EVEN WHEN THE TRANSMISSION IS REBUILT OR VALVE BODY JOB CONSUMERS WILL FACE THE SAME DILEMMA WITHIN A COUPLE OF YEARS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/13/2016 - TOLEDO, OH
MY 2006 MAXIMA HAVE RUSTED OUT FRONT FLOOR BOARDS. THE CAR ONLY HAS 69,000 MILES ON IT AND HAS BEEN GARAGE SENSE BUYING THE CAR NEW IN 2006. THERE SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH FLOOR BECAUSE OF OTHER OWNERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2016 - DURHAM, NC
HI ALL, I WENT TO SMOKY MOUNTAINS FOR MEMORIAL DAY LONG WEEKEND END AND I WAS ON THE 11 MILES DRAGON TAIL ROAD. MY 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA HAD BEEN ACTING WEIRD BY JUMPING WHEN THE GEAR IS SHIFTING AUTOMATICALLY BUT I DIDN'T TAKE IT HARD BECAUSE MY MECHANIC SAID IT IS NOT A TRANSMISSION ISSUE AND I TRUSTED HIM, BUT THAT DAY WAS A SCARY DAY WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE WAS JUMPING AUTOMATICALLY MORE THAN USUAL. I THOUGHT THAT I WOULD FALL FROM THE MOUNTAIN AND LUCKILY MY FRIEND ASKED ME TO TAKE A U TURN AFTER HALF THE ROAD. EVERYBODY IN THE CAR WERE SO SCARED AND PARANOID AFTER THE CAR ACTED IN SUCH WAY. WE KEPT OUR LIVES IN OUR HANDS AND LEFT HOPE ON GOD TO SAVE US TILL WE GET DOWN THE ROAD. THE WAY MY CAR ACTED ON THE DRAGON TAIL ROAD IN THE MOUNTAINS FREAKED US ALL. WE INITIALLY THOUGHT THIS MIGHT BE DUE TO BAD GAS WITH ADDITIVES MAY BE WHICH FILLED NEAR SMOKY MOUNTAINS, BUT GOT CONFIRMED TODAY AFTER READING MULTIPLE ISSUES AND COMPLAINTS IN REFERENCE TO THE SAME PROBLEM VIA MANY SOURCES ON 2004-2006 NISSAN MAXIMA AND OTHER VEHICLES. WHY IS THE NORTH AMERICAN GOVERNMENT WHO ENSURES THE SAFETY ABOUT THESE VEHICLES NOT EVEN TAKING ANY ACTION IN REFERENCE TO THE SAME. I SAW THAT MANY PEOPLE COMPLAINED ON THIS ISSUE AND NO ONE GOT ANY LUCK ON THE SOLUTION. ALSO, WE ARE NOT ASKING TO GIVE US A NEW CAR. ALL THAT WE ARE ASKING IS JUSTICE FOR OUR HARD EARNED MONEY WHICH WE SPENT ON THIS JUNK NISSAN CARS. I THINK NISSAN HOLDS A JUNK YARD AND MAKES ALL THEIR TRANSMISSIONS FROM THE JUNK YARD PARTS. ALSO, THIS MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE AND PENALIZED TO THE MAXIMUM SO THAT NO OTHER PERSONAL CAN HAVE A BAD EXPERIENCE AS ME. IMAGINE IF I HAD HIT SOMEBODY OR I MYSELF FELL FROM THE MOUNTAIN DUE TO THE NISSAN'S MISTAKE IN MANUFACTURING THESE DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSIONS. GOD, PLEASE PUNISH THESE PEOPLE WHO ARE PLAYING WITH OUR LIVES AS NO ONE ELSE IS HEARING OR HELPING US.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/5/2016 - RUPERT, ID
"TRANSMISSION RECALL" MY NISSAN MAXIMA HAS 146,000 AND HAS NEVER BEEN HOT RODDED. I HAVE ONLY DROVE IT AROUND TOWN AND TO AND FROM WORK. RECENTLY WHILE DRIVING THE TRANSMISSION JUST GAVE OUT WHILE DRIVING. I WAS NOTICING SOME WEIRD SHIFTING PROBLEMS BETWEEN 2ND AND 3RD GEAR. I NEVER REALLY NOTICED THAT BAD BUT IT WAS THERE. SO WHEN I WAS DRIVING THE TRANSMISSION GAVE OUT IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. I COUDNT GO ANYWHERE AND CARS WHERE HAVING TO GO AROUND ME. I HAD TO GET MY CAR TOWED TO MY HOUSE BECAUSE I WASN'T GOING TO PAY FOR THIS. I STARTED REASCHERING AND FOUND THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE. A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING. THIS IS AN EVIDENT PROBLEM THAT NEEDS FIXED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/25/2016 - VINE GROVE, KY
MY SON BOUGHT A NISSAN MAXIMA IN SEPT, 2015. THE TRANSMISSION STARTED JERKING AND SOMETIMES FALLING OUT OF GEAR, IN NOVEMBER. I HAD SOMEONE CHANGE THE TRANSMISSION FLUID SEVERAL TIMES, AT ONCE, BECAUSE THAT HAD BEEN REPORTED TO POSSIBLE HELP. IT LESSENED THE PROBLEM BUT DID NOT GET RID OF IT. THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN DRIVEN MUCH SINCE JAN, 2016, AS MY SON HAS GONE INTO THE ARMY. BUT THE PROBLEM IS STILL HAPPENING, AND THE 6300 DOLLAR CAR WE BOUGHT IN SEPT 2015, CARFAX OFFERED US 1500 FOR IT. THE PROBLEM HAPPENS ANYWHERE, AFTER ABOUT 20 MINUTES OF DRIVING. IT IS NOT CONSTANT, BUT HAPPENS ABOUT 80% OF THE TIME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/24/2016 - RANDOLPH, NJ
EXHAUST/EMISSION - CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILED AND MAKES TERRIBLE NOISE - NOT FIXED YET. DEALER SAYS, CAR WILL WORK WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS AT 103,000 MILES (8TH YEAR) BODY FRAME - UNDER CARRIAGE ON DRIVER SIDE RUSTED, WITH A BULGE. DEALER SAID, RUSTING IT NOT ENOUGH, YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO PUT THE SCREW DRIVER OR FINGER THROUGH THE RUSTED PORTION. 35000 MILES ( AFTER 5YEARS AND 2 DAYS) TRANSMISSION - IT JERKS AND IS VERY DANGEROUS ON THE ROAD. REPAIR ESTIMATION IS AROUND $3500 FROM THE DEALER. WHEN THE CAR COMES TO A STOP IN THE TRAFFIC LIGHT, THEN SOMETIMES, IT DOES NOT MOVE. AFTER ACCELERATING A BIT, IT JUST JUMPS. IT IS VERY VERY HARD TO GO IN A STOP AND GO TRAFFIC. SO I MAINTAIN A CERTAIN DISTANCE KEEPING THIS IN MIND. NISSAN MOTOR CORPORATION DOES NOT CARE FOR ANY OF THE ISSUES. DEALER COMES UP WITH ONE OR THE OTHER REASON. UNTIL NOW THEY HAVE NEVER WORKED CONDUCIVELY WITH THE CUSTOMERS. 103,000 (9TH YEAR.) ENGINE - THE TIMING CHAIN FAILED, ENGINE WAS MAKING THE SOUND OF A RAILROAD. COSTED A LOT TO GET IT FIXED, AND AFTER THAT, SOUND IS NOT COMPLETELY GONE. AFTER MULTIPLE COMPLIANTS, THEY ARE NOT BOTHERED. THEY SAY, USE ONLY 93 OCTANCE. 103,000(9TH YEAR)

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/24/2016 - RANDOLPH, NJ
EXHAUST/EMISSION - CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILED AND MAKES TERRIBLE NOISE - NOT FIXED YET. DEALER SAYS, CAR WILL WORK WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS AT 103,000 MILES (8TH YEAR) BODY FRAME - UNDER CARRIAGE ON DRIVER SIDE RUSTED, WITH A BULGE. DEALER SAID, RUSTING IT NOT ENOUGH, YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO PUT THE SCREW DRIVER OR FINGER THROUGH THE RUSTED PORTION. 35000 MILES ( AFTER 5YEARS AND 2 DAYS) TRANSMISSION - IT JERKS AND IS VERY DANGEROUS ON THE ROAD. REPAIR ESTIMATION IS AROUND $3500 FROM THE DEALER. WHEN THE CAR COMES TO A STOP IN THE TRAFFIC LIGHT, THEN SOMETIMES, IT DOES NOT MOVE. AFTER ACCELERATING A BIT, IT JUST JUMPS. IT IS VERY VERY HARD TO GO IN A STOP AND GO TRAFFIC. SO I MAINTAIN A CERTAIN DISTANCE KEEPING THIS IN MIND. NISSAN MOTOR CORPORATION DOES NOT CARE FOR ANY OF THE ISSUES. DEALER COMES UP WITH ONE OR THE OTHER REASON. UNTIL NOW THEY HAVE NEVER WORKED CONDUCIVELY WITH THE CUSTOMERS. 103,000 (9TH YEAR.) ENGINE - THE TIMING CHAIN FAILED, ENGINE WAS MAKING THE SOUND OF A RAILROAD. COSTED A LOT TO GET IT FIXED, AND AFTER THAT, SOUND IS NOT COMPLETELY GONE. AFTER MULTIPLE COMPLIANTS, THEY ARE NOT BOTHERED. THEY SAY, USE ONLY 93 OCTANCE. 103,000(9TH YEAR)

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2016 - RANDOLPH, NJ
EXHAUST/EMISSION - CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILED AND MAKES TERRIBLE NOISE - NOT FIXED YET. DEALER SAYS, CAR WILL WORK WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS AT 103,000 MILES (8TH YEAR) BODY FRAME - UNDER CARRIAGE ON DRIVER SIDE RUSTED, WITH A BULGE. DEALER SAID, RUSTING IT NOT ENOUGH, YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO PUT THE SCREW DRIVER OR FINGER THROUGH THE RUSTED PORTION. 35000 MILES ( AFTER 5YEARS AND 2 DAYS) TRANSMISSION - IT JERKS AND IS VERY DANGEROUS ON THE ROAD. REPAIR ESTIMATION IS AROUND $3500 FROM THE DEALER. WHEN THE CAR COMES TO A STOP IN THE TRAFFIC LIGHT, THEN SOMETIMES, IT DOES NOT MOVE. AFTER ACCELERATING A BIT, IT JUST JUMPS. IT IS VERY VERY HARD TO GO IN A STOP AND GO TRAFFIC. SO I MAINTAIN A CERTAIN DISTANCE KEEPING THIS IN MIND. NISSAN MOTOR CORPORATION DOES NOT CARE FOR ANY OF THE ISSUES. DEALER COMES UP WITH ONE OR THE OTHER REASON. UNTIL NOW THEY HAVE NEVER WORKED CONDUCIVELY WITH THE CUSTOMERS. 103,000 (9TH YEAR.) ENGINE - THE TIMING CHAIN FAILED, ENGINE WAS MAKING THE SOUND OF A RAILROAD. COSTED A LOT TO GET IT FIXED, AND AFTER THAT, SOUND IS NOT COMPLETELY GONE. AFTER MULTIPLE COMPLIANTS, THEY ARE NOT BOTHERED. THEY SAY, USE ONLY 93 OCTANCE. 103,000(9TH YEAR)

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/13/2016 - OPELOUSAS, LA
AT 12,500 MILES I WAS DRIVING AND IT WAS LIKE SOMEONE PUT IT IN NEUTRAL. TOWED THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY CHANGED THE TRANSMISSION. AT 34,000 MILES, IT STARTED KNOCKING AND SMOKING WHEN YOU FIRST START IT. BROUGHT TO DEALER AND THE GAS WAS MIXING WITH THE OIL. MY CLAIM WAS DENIED SO I HAD TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. NOW AT 110,000 MILES THE CAR WON'T SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR. I'M A SINGLE MOTHER AND DO NOT HAVE ANY MORE MONEY TO SINK INTO THIS LEMON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/13/2016 - OPELOUSAS, LA
AT 12,500 MILES I WAS DRIVING AND IT WAS LIKE SOMEONE PUT IT IN NEUTRAL. TOWED THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY CHANGED THE TRANSMISSION. AT 34,000 MILES, IT STARTED KNOCKING AND SMOKING WHEN YOU FIRST START IT. BROUGHT TO DEALER AND THE GAS WAS MIXING WITH THE OIL. MY CLAIM WAS DENIED SO I HAD TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. NOW AT 110,000 MILES THE CAR WON'T SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR. I'M A SINGLE MOTHER AND DO NOT HAVE ANY MORE MONEY TO SINK INTO THIS LEMON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds