Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 467 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (323) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Engine (26) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (15) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

3/12/2015 - SCOTTSBURG, IN
OVER A WEEK AGO I STARTED NOTICING THAT THE ABS WAS TURNING ON DURING NORMAL BRAKING AND WHILE SIMPLY DRIVING. SO I TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC AND THEY THOUGHT ONE OF THE SENSORS WAS OUT. THEY REPLACED THE SENSOR THAT WASN'T READING CORRECTLY WITH THE OTHER TIRE SPEEDS FOR $385. AFTER I PICKED UP THE CAR, THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED. I THEN RETURNED THE CAR THE LOCAL MECHANIC AND AFTER MUCH RESEARCH AND SPEAKING WITH NISSAN, THEY CONCLUDED THAT THE ABS MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND IT WAS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM FOR THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE. I HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT PROVED THAT THERE ARE MANY OTHERS WITH THIS SAME ISSUE. NISSAN PUT OUT A SERVICE BULLETIN ABOUT THIS VERY ISSUE, BUT NEVER OFFERED TO FIX THE ISSUE VIA A RECALL AND ETC. I AM CURRENTLY LOOKING AT HAVING TO HAVE THE MODULE REPLACED, WHICH IS GOING TO BE CLOSE TO $2,000. WITH THE SENSOR I AM NOT GOING TO BE SPENDING ALMOST $2,500. I DON'T THINK IT IS RIGHT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SO MANY ISSUES AND NO RECALL WAS DONE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/11/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
I HAD MY VALVE BODY REPLACED DUE TO HARD SHIFTING AND A DELAY IN TRANSMISSION ENGAGEMENT WHEN SHIFTING FROM PARK TO DRIVE. VEHICLE IS START TO EXHIBIT SAME SYMPTOMS AND I WAS INFORMED THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $2,500 VEHICLE HAD 148,000 MILES ON IT. NISSAN SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ITS INFERIOR QUALITY AND WORKMANSHIP

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/28/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
MY 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA BEGAN HARD SHIFTING WHILE DRIVING, REVERSING, AND SHIFTING INTO DRIVE. I TOOK IT IN TO HAVE IT SERVICED OVER THE SUMMER AND THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP RECOMMENDED A TRANSMISSION FLUSH AND SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG. OF COURSE THAT DID NOT FIX ANYTHING. THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE TO THE POINT WHERE IT CAN TAKE UP TO 5 SECONDS FOR THE CAR TO SHIFT INTO GEAR WHEN I AM PUTTING IT INTO DRIVE. I CONTACTED THE NISSAN CORPORATION AND THEY ADVISED ME TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP AND HAVE IT DIAGNOSED. WELL OF COURSE NOW THE DEALERSHIP SAYS WE NEED TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED...TO THE TUNE OF $3,000. WHEN I CONTACTED THE NISSAN CORPORATION THEY INFORMED ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO TO HELP ME AND THAT MY CAR DIDN'T FALL WITHIN THE PARAMETERS OF THE CVT TRANSMISSION EXTENDED WARRANTY. SO NOT ONLY ARE WE OUT $150 FOR A DIAGNOSIS THAT WE ALREADY KNEW WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS, BUT NOW WE HAVE TO GET THE VEHICLE REPAIRED OR IT WON'T BE SAFE TO DRIVE. WE HAVE OWNED TWO NISSANS AND THE PREVIOUS ONE WAS A 1996 MAXIMA THAT NEVER GAVE US ANY PROBLEMS. I WISH I HAD THAT CAR BACK AND NOT THIS "UPGRADED" MODEL. I USE TO THINK THAT NISSAN WAS A COMPANY THAT STOOD BY ITS CUSTOMERS AND STRIVED FOR SATISFACTION, BUT I NOW KNOW THAT IS NOT THE CASE. WILL NHTSA EVER LOOK INTO THESE COMPLAINTS AND FORCE NISSAN'S HAND AS FAR AS THIS TRANSMISSION ISSUE GOES? THERE NEEDS TO BE A SAFETY RECALL, NOT JUST A BULLETIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/28/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
MY 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA BEGAN HARD SHIFTING WHILE DRIVING, REVERSING, AND SHIFTING INTO DRIVE. I TOOK IT IN TO HAVE IT SERVICED OVER THE SUMMER AND THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP RECOMMENDED A TRANSMISSION FLUSH AND SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG. OF COURSE THAT DID NOT FIX ANYTHING. THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN PROGRESSIVELY WORSE TO THE POINT WHERE IT CAN TAKE UP TO 5 SECONDS FOR THE CAR TO SHIFT INTO GEAR WHEN I AM PUTTING IT INTO DRIVE. I CONTACTED THE NISSAN CORPORATION AND THEY ADVISED ME TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP AND HAVE IT DIAGNOSED. WELL OF COURSE NOW THE DEALERSHIP SAYS WE NEED TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED...TO THE TUNE OF $3,000. WHEN I CONTACTED THE NISSAN CORPORATION THEY INFORMED ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO TO HELP ME AND THAT MY CAR DIDN'T FALL WITHIN THE PARAMETERS OF THE CVT TRANSMISSION EXTENDED WARRANTY. SO NOT ONLY ARE WE OUT $150 FOR A DIAGNOSIS THAT WE ALREADY KNEW WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS, BUT NOW WE HAVE TO GET THE VEHICLE REPAIRED OR IT WON'T BE SAFE TO DRIVE. WE HAVE OWNED TWO NISSANS AND THE PREVIOUS ONE WAS A 1996 MAXIMA THAT NEVER GAVE US ANY PROBLEMS. I WISH I HAD THAT CAR BACK AND NOT THIS "UPGRADED" MODEL. I USE TO THINK THAT NISSAN WAS A COMPANY THAT STOOD BY ITS CUSTOMERS AND STRIVED FOR SATISFACTION, BUT I NOW KNOW THAT IS NOT THE CASE. WILL NHTSA EVER LOOK INTO THESE COMPLAINTS AND FORCE NISSAN'S HAND AS FAR AS THIS TRANSMISSION ISSUE GOES? THERE NEEDS TO BE A SAFETY RECALL, NOT JUST A BULLETIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/25/2015 - GULFPORT, MS
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR,DOING APPROXIMATELY 35MPH,WHEN THE ENGINE REVVED AND THE CAR BUCKED. I HAD MY TRANSMISSION FLUID CHECKED,AND ADDED WHAT NEEDED TO BE ADDED,FIGURING THAT'S WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. IT WASN'T. THE CAR HAS CONTINUED TO DO THIS FOR THE LAST 3MONTH'S,AND TODAY THE TRANSMISSION WENT ON THE CAR. I BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2013 WITH 88,000 MILES ON IT AND NO WARRANTY. IT IS NOW 2015,AND THE CAR HAS JUST ABOVE 100,000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/2/2015 - BYHALIA, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED WHEN SHIFTING GEARS. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED EXCESSIVELY. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/13/2014 - MONCKS CORNER, SC
I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR SOME SERVICE AND WAS TOLD MY TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IT IS GOING TO COST OVER $2000.00 FOR THE WORK. I HAVE INVESTIGATED THIS AND FOUND NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. NISSAN HAS ISSUED AS TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THIS PROBLEM. IT APPEARS A PLASTIC PART WAS USED ON THE TIMING CHAIN AND IT WEARS PREMATURELY. I SPOKE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND LEARNED THE TIMING CHAIN SHOULD BE GOOD FOR AT LEAST 100000 MILES. I WAS TOLD BY NISSAN THAT IF THE PROBLEM WAS NOT CORRECTED, IT COULD RESULT IN MAJOR DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, IF THE TIMING CHAIN FAILS, THE VEHICLE COULD BE REAR-ENDED SINCE THE FAILURE MAKES THE VEHICLE INOPERABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/13/2014 - MONCKS CORNER, SC
I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR SOME SERVICE AND WAS TOLD MY TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IT IS GOING TO COST OVER $2000.00 FOR THE WORK. I HAVE INVESTIGATED THIS AND FOUND NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. NISSAN HAS ISSUED AS TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THIS PROBLEM. IT APPEARS A PLASTIC PART WAS USED ON THE TIMING CHAIN AND IT WEARS PREMATURELY. I SPOKE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND LEARNED THE TIMING CHAIN SHOULD BE GOOD FOR AT LEAST 100000 MILES. I WAS TOLD BY NISSAN THAT IF THE PROBLEM WAS NOT CORRECTED, IT COULD RESULT IN MAJOR DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, IF THE TIMING CHAIN FAILS, THE VEHICLE COULD BE REAR-ENDED SINCE THE FAILURE MAKES THE VEHICLE INOPERABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/12/2014 - GAHANNA, OH
RATTLING SOUND ON FRONT RIDE SIDE OF VEHICLE. TOOK TO NISSAN DEALERSHIP ON 12/11/14 TO HAVE ASSESSED. WAS CONFIRMED THAT IT IS THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONING SYSTEM. IT WILL COST $2000 IN LABOR ALONE TO REMOVE ENGINE AND COMPONENTS TO ACCESS, PARTS WILL BE ANYWHERE FOR $200-$2000. THE TIMING CHIAN TENSION SYSTEM IS DEFECTIVE AND PRONE TO PREMATURE FAILURE. DEALERSHIP DOES NOT KNOW WHY THIS HAPPENS BUT RECOMMENDED I DO NOT DRIVE UNTIL CAN BE REPAIRED DUE TO THE FACT THAT IF THE TIMING LOSES TIME IT WILL BLOW MY MOTOR. I FEEL AS THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL ISSUED TO CONSUMERS. THE VEHICLE IS NOT YET PAID OFF AND WILL REQUIRE $2000-4000 IN REPAIRS TO BE SAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
IN NEIGHBOR DRIVING 30, CAR JUMPS AND MOTOR IDLES. HAS JUMPED INTO REVERSE WHEN TRYING TO SHIFT TO DRIVE. WHILE PUTTING THE CAR IN REVERSE TRYING PARK, THE CAR JUMPS INSTEAD OF DRIVING. WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT WHILE EXCELERATING, CAR JUMPS THREE TIMES BEFORE TAKING OFF TO ACTUALLY DRIVE. CAR REFUSED TO GO INTO REVERSE TO BACK OUT OF A PARKING SPACE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds