Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 442 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (304) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Engine (21) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (14) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/22/2014 - WAUKESHA, WI
DRIVERS AND PASSENGER SIDE FRONT FLOOR PANS DISINTEGRATED DUE TO RUST CORROSION. THESE PANS TIE THE CENTER TUBE TO THE SIDE FRAMES SO ANY STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY THERE IS LOST. THERE IS NO LONGER SUPPORT FOR THE PASSENGER AND DRIVERS FEET, ONLY THE CARPET IS KEEPING THEM FROM FALLING THROUGH TO THE ROAD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/7/2014 - ATMORE, AL
WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE, I HAD CRUSE CONTROL SET AT 80MPH. THERE WAS A STALLING/JERKING MOTION THAT TOOK PLACE. AFTER LOOKING OVER THE INSTRUMENT PANAL. I NOTICE IT WAS STILL ON CRUSE CONTROL BUT THE MPH HAD DROPPED A FEW MILES. ONCE CRUSE CONTROLL WAS DISENGAGED, I NOTICED THE DIFFERENCE IN ACCELERATION. IT FELT LIKE MY CAR WAS STUCK IN THIRD OR FORTH GEAR. I HAD TO HOLD PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND WAIT AS IT PICKED UP SPEED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2014 - ATMORE, AL
WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE, I HAD CRUSE CONTROL SET AT 80MPH. THERE WAS A STALLING/JERKING MOTION THAT TOOK PLACE. AFTER LOOKING OVER THE INSTRUMENT PANAL. I NOTICE IT WAS STILL ON CRUSE CONTROL BUT THE MPH HAD DROPPED A FEW MILES. ONCE CRUSE CONTROLL WAS DISENGAGED, I NOTICED THE DIFFERENCE IN ACCELERATION. IT FELT LIKE MY CAR WAS STUCK IN THIRD OR FORTH GEAR. I HAD TO HOLD PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND WAIT AS IT PICKED UP SPEED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2014 - ATMORE, AL
WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE, I HAD CRUSE CONTROL SET AT 80MPH. THERE WAS A STALLING/JERKING MOTION THAT TOOK PLACE. AFTER LOOKING OVER THE INSTRUMENT PANAL. I NOTICE IT WAS STILL ON CRUSE CONTROL BUT THE MPH HAD DROPPED A FEW MILES. ONCE CRUSE CONTROLL WAS DISENGAGED, I NOTICED THE DIFFERENCE IN ACCELERATION. IT FELT LIKE MY CAR WAS STUCK IN THIRD OR FORTH GEAR. I HAD TO HOLD PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND WAIT AS IT PICKED UP SPEED.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

8/5/2014 - OCALA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THEN STALLED. THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2014 - FONTANA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH AND APPROACHING A STOP, TRANSMISSION SHIFTED HARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING BELT AND THE TENSIONER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,800.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2014 - FONTANA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH AND APPROACHING A STOP, TRANSMISSION SHIFTED HARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING BELT AND THE TENSIONER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,800.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/21/2014 - DOUGLASVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER+S SIDE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT FLASHED AND THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSE THAT THE MODULE IN THE PASSENGER+S SIDE SEAT FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE SEAT CUSHION AND SENSOR BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 144,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/9/2014 - MORAVIAN FALLS, NC
SAME ISSUE AS ANOTHER "TRANSMISSION DEFECT. I AM EXPERIENCING A PROBLEM WITH MY 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE TRANSMISSION IN MY CAR IS SLIPPING. WHEN I AM DRIVING MANY TIMES THE ACCELERATION INCREASES THE RPM ABOVE 3, BEFORE IT CHANGES. THERE ARE OTHER INTERNET POSTINGS WITH THE SAME ISSUES THAT I HAVE. BASED ON THE INTERNET RESEARCH, THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS YEAR AND MODEL. WHY ISN'T THE NISSAN CORPORATION BEING HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS?"

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/9/2014 - SATELLITE BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds