Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 475 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (326) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Engine (30) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (15) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/4/2015 - TROUTVILLE, VA
PULLING AWAY FROM A STOPLIGHT, THE TRANSMISSION JERKED VIOLENTLY FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR OF THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO "LIMP MODE" ONLY GOING TO 20 MILES PER HOUR ON A VERY BUSY STREET WITH NO TURN OFF. CAR WAS TOWED, AND NEW TRANSMISSION NEEDED. NISSAN WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE REPAIR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/19/2015 - RIPLEY, TN
MY CAR STALLS AND SHUTS OFF UNEXPECTED WHEN AT A STOP, IT ALSO WILL NOT ACCELERATE OVER 40 MPH IN TRAFFIC. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL AUTO STORE TO TEST THE (SERVICE ENGINE SOON) LIGHT, COMES BACK WITH CODES RELATING TO THE CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSORS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/19/2015 - RIPLEY, TN
MY CAR STALLS AND SHUTS OFF UNEXPECTED WHEN AT A STOP, IT ALSO WILL NOT ACCELERATE OVER 40 MPH IN TRAFFIC. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL AUTO STORE TO TEST THE (SERVICE ENGINE SOON) LIGHT, COMES BACK WITH CODES RELATING TO THE CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSORS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/19/2015 - RIPLEY, TN
MY CAR STALLS AND SHUTS OFF UNEXPECTED WHEN AT A STOP, IT ALSO WILL NOT ACCELERATE OVER 40 MPH IN TRAFFIC. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL AUTO STORE TO TEST THE (SERVICE ENGINE SOON) LIGHT, COMES BACK WITH CODES RELATING TO THE CAMSHAFT AND CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSORS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2015 - DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
I HAVE A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. I WAS GOING 30 MPH, I HIT A TRUCK THAT WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. $4870 IN DAMAGE BUT MY INSURANCE COMPANY SAID THERE WAS NOT ENOUGH DAMAGE TO BE CONSIDERED A TOTAL LOSS ($170 AWAY FROM BEING CONSIDERED A TOTAL LOSS).

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/18/2015 - DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
I HAVE A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. I WAS GOING 30 MPH, I HIT A TRUCK THAT WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. $4870 IN DAMAGE BUT MY INSURANCE COMPANY SAID THERE WAS NOT ENOUGH DAMAGE TO BE CONSIDERED A TOTAL LOSS ($170 AWAY FROM BEING CONSIDERED A TOTAL LOSS).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/18/2015 - DENHAM SPRINGS, LA
I HAVE A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. I WAS GOING 30 MPH, I HIT A TRUCK THAT WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. $4870 IN DAMAGE BUT MY INSURANCE COMPANY SAID THERE WAS NOT ENOUGH DAMAGE TO BE CONSIDERED A TOTAL LOSS ($170 AWAY FROM BEING CONSIDERED A TOTAL LOSS).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/13/2015 - ROCK HILL, SC
IT STARTED HARD SHIFTING AND JERKING IN THE BEGINNING AND THEN IT WOULD LEVEL OUT. AFTER AWHILE IT WOULDN'T GO IN GEAR. TOOK IT TO GET IT CHECKED AND WAS TOLD THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $3000 OR MORE. I HAVE FRIENDS AND FAMILY THE HAVE HAD THIS SAME ISSUE, WITH SO MANY PEOPLE HAVING THIS ISSUE WHY HAS NISSAN NOT ISSUED A RECALL. THEY PRIDE THEMSELVES IN SELLING RELIABLE AND QUALITY PRODUCTS THIS IS NOT SO.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/12/2015 - SCOTTSBURG, IN
OVER A WEEK AGO I STARTED NOTICING THAT THE ABS WAS TURNING ON DURING NORMAL BRAKING AND WHILE SIMPLY DRIVING. SO I TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC AND THEY THOUGHT ONE OF THE SENSORS WAS OUT. THEY REPLACED THE SENSOR THAT WASN'T READING CORRECTLY WITH THE OTHER TIRE SPEEDS FOR $385. AFTER I PICKED UP THE CAR, THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED. I THEN RETURNED THE CAR THE LOCAL MECHANIC AND AFTER MUCH RESEARCH AND SPEAKING WITH NISSAN, THEY CONCLUDED THAT THE ABS MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND IT WAS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM FOR THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE. I HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT PROVED THAT THERE ARE MANY OTHERS WITH THIS SAME ISSUE. NISSAN PUT OUT A SERVICE BULLETIN ABOUT THIS VERY ISSUE, BUT NEVER OFFERED TO FIX THE ISSUE VIA A RECALL AND ETC. I AM CURRENTLY LOOKING AT HAVING TO HAVE THE MODULE REPLACED, WHICH IS GOING TO BE CLOSE TO $2,000. WITH THE SENSOR I AM NOT GOING TO BE SPENDING ALMOST $2,500. I DON'T THINK IT IS RIGHT THAT THERE HAVE BEEN SO MANY ISSUES AND NO RECALL WAS DONE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/11/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
I HAD MY VALVE BODY REPLACED DUE TO HARD SHIFTING AND A DELAY IN TRANSMISSION ENGAGEMENT WHEN SHIFTING FROM PARK TO DRIVE. VEHICLE IS START TO EXHIBIT SAME SYMPTOMS AND I WAS INFORMED THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $2,500 VEHICLE HAD 148,000 MILES ON IT. NISSAN SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ITS INFERIOR QUALITY AND WORKMANSHIP

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds