Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 463 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (320) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Engine (26) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (15) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/25/2015 - GULFPORT, MS
I WAS DRIVING MY CAR,DOING APPROXIMATELY 35MPH,WHEN THE ENGINE REVVED AND THE CAR BUCKED. I HAD MY TRANSMISSION FLUID CHECKED,AND ADDED WHAT NEEDED TO BE ADDED,FIGURING THAT'S WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. IT WASN'T. THE CAR HAS CONTINUED TO DO THIS FOR THE LAST 3MONTH'S,AND TODAY THE TRANSMISSION WENT ON THE CAR. I BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2013 WITH 88,000 MILES ON IT AND NO WARRANTY. IT IS NOW 2015,AND THE CAR HAS JUST ABOVE 100,000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/2/2015 - BYHALIA, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JERKED WHEN SHIFTING GEARS. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED EXCESSIVELY. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/13/2014 - MONCKS CORNER, SC
I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR SOME SERVICE AND WAS TOLD MY TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IT IS GOING TO COST OVER $2000.00 FOR THE WORK. I HAVE INVESTIGATED THIS AND FOUND NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. NISSAN HAS ISSUED AS TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THIS PROBLEM. IT APPEARS A PLASTIC PART WAS USED ON THE TIMING CHAIN AND IT WEARS PREMATURELY. I SPOKE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND LEARNED THE TIMING CHAIN SHOULD BE GOOD FOR AT LEAST 100000 MILES. I WAS TOLD BY NISSAN THAT IF THE PROBLEM WAS NOT CORRECTED, IT COULD RESULT IN MAJOR DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, IF THE TIMING CHAIN FAILS, THE VEHICLE COULD BE REAR-ENDED SINCE THE FAILURE MAKES THE VEHICLE INOPERABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/13/2014 - MONCKS CORNER, SC
I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR SOME SERVICE AND WAS TOLD MY TIMING CHAIN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IT IS GOING TO COST OVER $2000.00 FOR THE WORK. I HAVE INVESTIGATED THIS AND FOUND NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS. NISSAN HAS ISSUED AS TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON THIS PROBLEM. IT APPEARS A PLASTIC PART WAS USED ON THE TIMING CHAIN AND IT WEARS PREMATURELY. I SPOKE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND LEARNED THE TIMING CHAIN SHOULD BE GOOD FOR AT LEAST 100000 MILES. I WAS TOLD BY NISSAN THAT IF THE PROBLEM WAS NOT CORRECTED, IT COULD RESULT IN MAJOR DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, IF THE TIMING CHAIN FAILS, THE VEHICLE COULD BE REAR-ENDED SINCE THE FAILURE MAKES THE VEHICLE INOPERABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/12/2014 - GAHANNA, OH
RATTLING SOUND ON FRONT RIDE SIDE OF VEHICLE. TOOK TO NISSAN DEALERSHIP ON 12/11/14 TO HAVE ASSESSED. WAS CONFIRMED THAT IT IS THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONING SYSTEM. IT WILL COST $2000 IN LABOR ALONE TO REMOVE ENGINE AND COMPONENTS TO ACCESS, PARTS WILL BE ANYWHERE FOR $200-$2000. THE TIMING CHIAN TENSION SYSTEM IS DEFECTIVE AND PRONE TO PREMATURE FAILURE. DEALERSHIP DOES NOT KNOW WHY THIS HAPPENS BUT RECOMMENDED I DO NOT DRIVE UNTIL CAN BE REPAIRED DUE TO THE FACT THAT IF THE TIMING LOSES TIME IT WILL BLOW MY MOTOR. I FEEL AS THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL ISSUED TO CONSUMERS. THE VEHICLE IS NOT YET PAID OFF AND WILL REQUIRE $2000-4000 IN REPAIRS TO BE SAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
IN NEIGHBOR DRIVING 30, CAR JUMPS AND MOTOR IDLES. HAS JUMPED INTO REVERSE WHEN TRYING TO SHIFT TO DRIVE. WHILE PUTTING THE CAR IN REVERSE TRYING PARK, THE CAR JUMPS INSTEAD OF DRIVING. WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT WHILE EXCELERATING, CAR JUMPS THREE TIMES BEFORE TAKING OFF TO ACTUALLY DRIVE. CAR REFUSED TO GO INTO REVERSE TO BACK OUT OF A PARKING SPACE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2014 - CHURCHVILLE , PA
IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, AT LOW SPEED, CAR BEGAN TO REV HIGH WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE. HAD TO HAVE THE VALVE BODY REPLACED FOR $1300.00. CAR HAS 55,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/2/2014 - MIDDLESEX, NC
TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS IN 2010, 2012,&2014(NOW)

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/2/2014 - MIDDLESEX, NC
TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS IN 2010, 2012,&2014(NOW)

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2014 - CHELTENHAM, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 132,491. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds