Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 551 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (383) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Engine (42) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (18) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/3/2017 - LARGO, FL
OVER TIME THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN SIGNIFICANTLY WORSE. WHILE TRANSMISSION ATTEMPTS TO SHIFT, IT "SLIPS" AND REVS UP UNTIL IT "CATCHES" AND THEN JERKS INTO GEAR. THIS HAPPENS WHEN ACCELERATING, AND ALSO WHILE DECELERATING YOU GET THE JERK AND LOUD "CLUNKING". WHEN CHANGING GEARS FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE, THE CAR WILL PAUSE OR HANG UP FOR A COUPLE SECONDS BEFORE POPPING INTO GEAR, ACCOMPANIED BY A JERK AGAIN. WHEN THE ENGINE IS SHIFTING AND YOU HEAR / SEE THE REVS START TO JUMP OFF YOU NEED TO LET OFF OF THE GAS IMMEDIATELY IN ORDER TO STOP IT FROM RED-LINING OR JERKING SO HARD YOU SNAP YOUR NECK. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE MODEL MAXIMAS. SAD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/12/2017 - GAFFNEY, SC
BOUGHT CAR ONE YEAR AGO AT 120000 MILES. AFTER 2 MOS, CAR STARTED JUMPING WHILE PRESSING ACCELERATION AND THEN BEGAN TO JUST STOP WHILE I WAS DRIVING. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON , HAD CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSORS REPLACED. LESS THAN 2 MOS LATER, CAR WAS STARTING TO STALL AGAIN, ACCELERATOR STILL MAKING THE CAR STALL. HAD FUEL SYSTEM CHECKED, WAS FINE. THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN, NOW SAYING CAMSHAFT POSITION TIMING NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. MECHANIC TOLD ME THIS IS THE MOST COMMON PROBLEM HE SEES IN NISSAN VEHICLES. SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE TIMING CHAIN IF THE PROBLEM IS SO COMMON. I RAN INTO A DITCH TWICE AND VERY NEARLY WAS IN AN ACCIDENT WHEN MY CAR CUT OFF WHILE I WAS TURNING AT A BUSY INTERSECTION. I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL AND NEARLY CRASHED! THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. I REPORTED THE ISSUE DIRECTLY TO NISSAN BUT SINCE NO ACCIDENT WAS REPORTED I DID NOT RECEIVE ANY HELP OR ADVICE FROM THEM.

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2017 - GAFFNEY, SC
BOUGHT CAR ONE YEAR AGO AT 120000 MILES. AFTER 2 MOS, CAR STARTED JUMPING WHILE PRESSING ACCELERATION AND THEN BEGAN TO JUST STOP WHILE I WAS DRIVING. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON , HAD CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSORS REPLACED. LESS THAN 2 MOS LATER, CAR WAS STARTING TO STALL AGAIN, ACCELERATOR STILL MAKING THE CAR STALL. HAD FUEL SYSTEM CHECKED, WAS FINE. THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN, NOW SAYING CAMSHAFT POSITION TIMING NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. MECHANIC TOLD ME THIS IS THE MOST COMMON PROBLEM HE SEES IN NISSAN VEHICLES. SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE TIMING CHAIN IF THE PROBLEM IS SO COMMON. I RAN INTO A DITCH TWICE AND VERY NEARLY WAS IN AN ACCIDENT WHEN MY CAR CUT OFF WHILE I WAS TURNING AT A BUSY INTERSECTION. I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL AND NEARLY CRASHED! THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. I REPORTED THE ISSUE DIRECTLY TO NISSAN BUT SINCE NO ACCIDENT WAS REPORTED I DID NOT RECEIVE ANY HELP OR ADVICE FROM THEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/12/2017 - GAFFNEY, SC
BOUGHT CAR ONE YEAR AGO AT 120000 MILES. AFTER 2 MOS, CAR STARTED JUMPING WHILE PRESSING ACCELERATION AND THEN BEGAN TO JUST STOP WHILE I WAS DRIVING. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON , HAD CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSORS REPLACED. LESS THAN 2 MOS LATER, CAR WAS STARTING TO STALL AGAIN, ACCELERATOR STILL MAKING THE CAR STALL. HAD FUEL SYSTEM CHECKED, WAS FINE. THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN, NOW SAYING CAMSHAFT POSITION TIMING NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. MECHANIC TOLD ME THIS IS THE MOST COMMON PROBLEM HE SEES IN NISSAN VEHICLES. SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THE TIMING CHAIN IF THE PROBLEM IS SO COMMON. I RAN INTO A DITCH TWICE AND VERY NEARLY WAS IN AN ACCIDENT WHEN MY CAR CUT OFF WHILE I WAS TURNING AT A BUSY INTERSECTION. I COULDN'T TURN THE WHEEL AND NEARLY CRASHED! THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES. I REPORTED THE ISSUE DIRECTLY TO NISSAN BUT SINCE NO ACCIDENT WAS REPORTED I DID NOT RECEIVE ANY HELP OR ADVICE FROM THEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/9/2017 - CHAPEL HILL, TN
BOUGHT THIS CAR FOR MY DAUGHTERS FIRST CAR WHEN SHE TURNED SIXTEEN. SHE DROVE FOR ONE MONTH AND THE TRANSMISSION STARTED JERKING HARD, REVING UP HIGH, AND SLIPPING. SHE SCARED TO DRIVE NOW SO THE MONEY I PAID FOR THIS CAR IS WASTED. I'M A MOTHER OF TWO I DON'T HAVE THE KIND OF MONEY THEY WANT TO REPLACE THIS TRANSMISSION. SHE ONLY NEEDED TO DRIVE HER SIBLING AND HER TO AND FROM SCHOOL A MILE DOWN THE RD BUT THE CAR JERKS ON THE WAY THERE. NOT A VERY DEPENDABLE CAR FOR A NISSAN TOP OF THE LINE MADE VEHICLE. WE HAVE ALWAYS HAD A NISSAN GUESS I NEED TO SWITCH BRANDS SINCE NISSAN DOES NOT WANT TO FIX THE MISTAKE THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2017 - TULSA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE JOLTED FORWARD INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED SHE NOTICED THE FAILURE OCCURRED MORE WHEN THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS ON OR AFTER SHE HAD REVERSED THEN SHIFTED INTO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN UNKNOWN TRANSMISSION SHOP, HOWEVER THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED DUE TO THE DIAGNOSTIC FEES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED OR MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 150,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
CAR TRANSMISSION SLIPS AND VIOLENTLY JERKS WHEN CHANGING GEARS FROM PARK TO 1ST OR REVERSE AND WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND IN THE CITY. SUDDEN RPM INCREASE AND ACCELERATION WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. DUE TO THE JERKING, ENGINE MOUNT IS BROKEN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/24/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
CAR TRANSMISSION SLIPS AND VIOLENTLY JERKS WHEN CHANGING GEARS FROM PARK TO 1ST OR REVERSE AND WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND IN THE CITY. SUDDEN RPM INCREASE AND ACCELERATION WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. DUE TO THE JERKING, ENGINE MOUNT IS BROKEN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/9/2017 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFTED FROM FIRST TO SECOND GEAR WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE GEAR SHIFTED, IT MADE A LOUD ABNORMAL SOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/7/2017 - COCOA, FL
PAINT IS FADING HOOD, TRUNK AND ROOF. TRANSITION IS BUCKING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds