Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN MAXIMA - 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 539 complaints filed for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (373) Service Brakes Hydraulic (40) Traction Control System (4)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Engine (39) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (18) Visibility (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Tires (10) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/15/2017 - MCDONALD, PA
AT 107,000 MILES THE TRANSMISSION WAS JERKING INTO GEAR AFTER THE RPMS REVVED. TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AT 107,000 MILES. TRANSMISSION IS NOW HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AT 148,000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/10/2017 - VICTORVILLE, CA
TRANSMISSION WENT COMPLETELY OUT AFTER REPLACING IT AT 74,000 MILES. WENT OUT ON THE FREEWAY WHILE DRIVING. VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/11/2017 - ROSE HILL, KS
INITIALLY THE CAR WOULD HAVE A DELAY SHIFTING INTO PARK AND WOULD STICK IN 5TH GEAR WHILE DRIVING. I CHANGED THE FRONT CAM POSITION SENSOR, CPS, MYSELF FOR $80 IN PARTS AT AUTOZONE. THIS FIXED THE PROBLEMS FOR ABOUT 4 WEEKS. STARTED HAPPENING AGAIN AND THE REPAIR SHOP SAID IT WAS THE CAM POSITION SENSOR AGAIN. SO WENT BACK TO AUTOZONE AND THEY PROVIDED A NEW FRONT CPS FOR FREE. PROBLEM KEPT HAPPENING SO I TOOK IT TO NISSAN AND THEY CHANGED THE BACK CAM POSITION SENSOR. SEAMS TO HAVE SOLVED THE PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. IT IS NOW IS INTERMITTENT WHEN SHIFTING HARD INTO DRIVE, BUT HAS STARTED SHIFTING HARD AROUND 20-25 MPH, NOT SURE IF IT IS THE SENSOR AGAIN OR WHAT. VERY IRRITATING AND SEEMS TO BE AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE SENSORS THAT TELL THE TRANNY WHEN TO SHIFT? NOT SURE IF SENSORS KEEP GOING OUT OR IF THE WIRING HARNESS FOR IT KEEPS SHORTING THE SENSORS OUT OR WHAT THE ISSUE TRULY IS. IT WOULD BE NICE IF NISSAN WOULD FIGURE IT OUT AND TELL US WHAT TRULY NEEDS TO BE DONE TO FIX THE ISSUE. TRANSMISSION SEEMS TO BE IN WORKING ORDER OTHERWISE, BUT JUST SHIFTS HARD BETWEEN 1-2 GEARS? OTHERWISE THE CAR IS OUTSTANDING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/12/2016 - RENSSELAER, NY
TRANSMISSION SLIPS AND KNOCKS RANDOMLY, IS NOT SAFE AT ALL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/11/2016 - BEAVERCREEK, OH
PURCHASED A 2006 MAXIMA WITH 62,000 MILES ON IT. BODY IS RUST FREE, CAR IS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION. HOWEVER, WHILE INSPECTING THE BOTTOM OF THE CAR, NOTICED THAT BOTH THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE OF THE FLOOR BOARDS ARE RUSTED CLEAR THOUGH AND THAT A HOLE AROUND 10-12 INCHES IS FORMING. THE ONLY THING HOLDING YOUR FEET FROM HITTING THE ROAD IS THE CARPET. THIS CAR HAS NO OTHER SIGNS OF RUST ISSUES ON THE UNDERSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. AFTER DISCOVERY, I WENT TO THE INTERNET ONLY TO LEARN THAT THIS IS A MAJOR ISSUE WITH ALTIMAS AND MAXIMAS AND THAT NOTHING IS BEING DONE ABOUT IT, BOTH BY NISSAN AS WELL AS THE SAFETY WATCH DOGS. I'VE OWNED MANY CARS WITH THE TAKATA AIRBAGS, AND NEVER AN ISSUE, EVEN IN ONE MY WIFE HAD AN ACCIDENT IN. AIRBAG WORKED LIKE IT SHOULD, YET THAT RECALL IS WIDELY KNOWN AND IS BEING ADDRESSED. HERE, YOU CAN LITERALLY FALL THOUGH THE FLOOR OF THE CAR, ON A CAR WITH 62,000 MILES ON IT IN EXCELLENT CONDITION, AND NOT ONE THING APPEARS TO BE HAPPENING TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE. WHY? THIS CAR COST $32,500 NEW IN 2006 AND ONLY PROVIDED A USEFUL LIFE OF 62,000 MILES BEFORE IT BECAME SO UNSAFE THAT DRIVING IT IS FOOLISH. AT WHAT POINT WILL NISSAN, WHO COLLECTED THAT $32,500 BE FORCED TO COUGH SOME OF THAT BACK UP TO CORRECT ISSUES LIKE THIS IN ORDER TO CONTINUE SELLING VEHICLES IN THE UNITED STATES?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/23/2016 - PLAINFIELD, IL
MY 2006 NISSAN MAXIMA 3.5SL HAS A TRANSMISSION THAT'S GOING OUT IT SLIPS AND SLAMS INTO GEAR ALL THE TIME ONLY 110,000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/5/2016 - SCHENECTADY, NY
TRANSMISSION,HESITATION BETWEEN GEARS, ROUGH SHIFTING, SUDDEN STOPS OR DIMINISHED ACCELERATION, IN CITY DRIVING AFTER 1/2 HR OF DRIVING.

View Details

WHEELS

10/26/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
I BROUGHT MY 2006 MAXIMA NEW AND HAD ALL KIND OF PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AT THE VERY BEGINNING. EVERYTHING WAS UNDER WARRANTY, BUT WHEN MY CAR HAD ABOUT 62000 MILES THE CAR STARTED SLIPPING AND MISSING GEARS SO I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY TRANSMISSION WASN'T COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN BECAUSE THERE WERE 2 TYPES OF TRANSMISSION PUT INTO THE MAXIMA AND THE ONE THAT MY CAR HAD WAS NOT COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN. I CALLED NISSAN CORPORATE OFFICES AND DIDN'T GET ANY SATISFACTION. I HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANS AND MANY OTHER THINGS ON THIS CAR. I WOULD NOT EVER OR SUGGEST THAT ANYONE BUY A NISSAN. I BELIEVED THAT NISSAN KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THE FIRST COMPLAINT WAS EVER MADE. SAME ON YOU NISSAN

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/26/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
I BROUGHT MY 2006 MAXIMA NEW AND HAD ALL KIND OF PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AT THE VERY BEGINNING. EVERYTHING WAS UNDER WARRANTY, BUT WHEN MY CAR HAD ABOUT 62000 MILES THE CAR STARTED SLIPPING AND MISSING GEARS SO I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY TRANSMISSION WASN'T COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN BECAUSE THERE WERE 2 TYPES OF TRANSMISSION PUT INTO THE MAXIMA AND THE ONE THAT MY CAR HAD WAS NOT COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN. I CALLED NISSAN CORPORATE OFFICES AND DIDN'T GET ANY SATISFACTION. I HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANS AND MANY OTHER THINGS ON THIS CAR. I WOULD NOT EVER OR SUGGEST THAT ANYONE BUY A NISSAN. I BELIEVED THAT NISSAN KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THE FIRST COMPLAINT WAS EVER MADE. SAME ON YOU NISSAN

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
I BROUGHT MY 2006 MAXIMA NEW AND HAD ALL KIND OF PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AT THE VERY BEGINNING. EVERYTHING WAS UNDER WARRANTY, BUT WHEN MY CAR HAD ABOUT 62000 MILES THE CAR STARTED SLIPPING AND MISSING GEARS SO I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THAT MY TRANSMISSION WASN'T COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN BECAUSE THERE WERE 2 TYPES OF TRANSMISSION PUT INTO THE MAXIMA AND THE ONE THAT MY CAR HAD WAS NOT COVER UNDER THE POWER TRAIN. I CALLED NISSAN CORPORATE OFFICES AND DIDN'T GET ANY SATISFACTION. I HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANS AND MANY OTHER THINGS ON THIS CAR. I WOULD NOT EVER OR SUGGEST THAT ANYONE BUY A NISSAN. I BELIEVED THAT NISSAN KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BEFORE THE FIRST COMPLAINT WAS EVER MADE. SAME ON YOU NISSAN

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds