Auto Recalls for Consumers

SATURN ION - 2006 SATURN ION Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 1209 complaints filed for the 2006 SATURN ION

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 SATURN ION. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 SATURN ION, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (59) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (6) Trailer Hitches (1)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (391) Exterior Lighting (8) Other (4) Steering (543) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (104) Parking Brake (1) Structure (24) Visibility (11)
Engine (40) Fuel System Gasoline (135) Power Train (35) Suspension (14) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (6) Tires (7) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 120
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: TRUNK LID

4/26/2019 - WATERFORD, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SATURN ION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BAR FRACTURED THAT HELD THE TRUNK OPEN. AS A RESULT, THE TRUNK LID STRUCK THE CONTACT IN THE HEAD AND RIGHT HAND TWICE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/16/2019 - CHICAGO, IL
THE SAME EXACT ISSUE WITH THE STEERING CREATING THE 2014 RECALL HAS OCCURRED AGAIN WITH THIS VEHICLE. IT HAS VERY LOW MILEAGE AND IS NOT DRIVEN THAT MUCH. SO THE FACT THAT THE RECALLED PART THAT WAS REPLACED BY GM IS ONCE AGAIN HAVING ISSUES IS DISTRESSING. THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT DURING A LOCAL DRIVE, LESS THAN 5 MILES. THERE WAS A RECALL IN 2014. RECALL NUMBER: 14V153000. RECALL DATE: 03/31/2014. COMPONENT: STEERING:ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM. THIS SHOULD BE MONITORED TO DETERMINE IF THE REPLACEMENT PART IS ALSO DEFECTIVE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/10/2019 - HOLLISTER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SATURN ION. THE CONTACT SMELLED FUEL FUMES INSIDE THE VEHICLE. GOLD STAR BUICK GMC (1980 N DAVIS RD, SALINAS, CA 93907, (831) 240-4859) DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK AND FUEL PUMP NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED BECAUSE THE DEALER DID NOT HAVE THE PARTS AND THE CONTACT WAS STILL REQUIRED TO MAKE A PARTIAL PAYMENT. THE CONTACT ASKED FOR A RENTAL VEHICLE, BUT HER REQUEST WAS DENIED. THE CONTACT HAD TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE HOME WITH IT LEAKING FUEL. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED FOR HER SAFETY. THE DEALER MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS SPECIAL COVERAGE FOR CERTAIN PARTS UNDER A WARRANTY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED, BUT DID NOT DISCLOSE A LOT OF INFORMATION DUE TO THE FACT THAT THE CONTACT WAS SPEAKING WITH HER ATTORNEY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/6/2019 - O'FALLON, IL
MY VEHICLE HAD A COMPLETE FAILURE OF THE POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT ABOUT 50 MPH. FORTUNATELY, THERE WAS NO VEHICLES AROUND ME AND I WAS ABLE TO MANUAL STEER IT TO THE SHOULDER. THE STEERING POWER ASSIST HAS COMPLETELY FAILED. I CONTACTED SATURN WHO LOOKED UP THE VIN # ON MY VEHICLE. SATURN SAID THERE IS NO OPEN RECALLS ON MY VEHICLE. I LOOKED ON YOUR WEBSITE AND THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM ON 2004-2006 SATURN ION'S AND I HAVE A 2006 SATURN ION. I MENTIONED THIS TO SATURN AND THEY SAID THAT THERE IS A RECALL BUT IT'S VIN # SPECIFIC. I SAID HOW CAN THIS BE WHEN MY CAR (WHICH FALLS UNDER THE SAME MODEL AND YEARS RECALLED) IS HAVING THE SAME FAILURE? THEY DIDN'T CARE ABOUT MY QUESTION AND SIMPLY SAID IT'S NOT COVERED AND I CAN TAKE IT UP WITH THE NHTSA. THE FAILURE IS THE ELECTRIC STEERING MOTOR. THEY USE THE SAME ELECTRIC MOTOR (EXACT SAME OEM PART NUMBER) IN ALL THE SATURN ION MODELS AND THE CHEVY COBALT. IS THERE ANY ASSISTANCE YOU CAN OFFER ME? I REALLY DO NOT HAVE $1000 TO HAVE IT REPAIRED AND I ALREADY HAVE PUT QUITE A BIT OF MONEY IN THIS VEHICLE. I HAD PLANNED ON KEEPING IT. NOW I CAN'T EVEN SELL IT.

View Details

STEERING

12/3/2018 - OGDEN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SATURN ION. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE STEERING SEIZED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME SYMPTOMS AS LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V153000 (STEERING). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THAT THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 145,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/5/2018 - ARLINGTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SATURN ION. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15-20 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO VANDERGRIFF CHEVROLET (LOCATED AT 1200 W INTERSTATE 20, ARLINGTON, TX 76017, (682) 323-2486) TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED FIVE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V047000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/7/2018 - EDNA, TX
POWER STEERING GOES OUT THEN WHEN SITTING FOR A PERIOD, IT WILL RESET AND START WORKING THEN THE PROBLEM REPEATS ITSELF AND I HAVE NO WAY OF KNOWING WHERE IT WILL HAPPEN AGAIN, SOMETIMES ON THE HIGHWAY, HARD TO PULL OFF ROAD. FIRST TIME IT WAS STATIONARY WITH "POWER STR" ON DASHBOARD, SOMETIMES IT HAPPENS IN MOTION DOWN THE STREET OR ROADWAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/1/2018 - DOVER, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SATURN ION. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS ON DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND WAS TAKEN TO CHEVROLET OF DOVER (1450 S DUPONT HWY, DOVER, DE 19901, (302) 760-9956), BUT THE DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIRS WERE UNKNOWN TO THE CONTACT. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 185,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2018 - DOVER, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SATURN ION. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS ON DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND WAS TAKEN TO CHEVROLET OF DOVER (1450 S DUPONT HWY, DOVER, DE 19901, (302) 760-9956), BUT THE DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIRS WERE UNKNOWN TO THE CONTACT. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 185,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2018 - BEAVERTON, OR
ON JULY 21,2018, I STARTED MY SATURN ION 2006 IN THE MORNING , I SAW THERE IS A MESSAGE "PWR STR", AND THEN I FOUND THE CAR LOST THE POWER STEERING, IT IS VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN THE CAR ON THE ROAD, WHEN I FINNALLY DRIVE IT INTO A CHEVROLET DEALER, THEY SAID THE CAR HAD ALREADY BEEN FIXED IN A 2004 RECALL AND THEY DECLINE TO REPLACE THE POWER STEERING FOR FREE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 120
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds