Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SCION XA - 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 43 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2)
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Visibility (2)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/9/2010 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SCION XA. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH THE THROTTLE BECAME STUCK AND THE SPEED INCREASED WHICH CAUSED THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO THE CURB, THE TIRE BLEW OUT AND THE FRONT FENDER WAS DAMAGED. NO ONE WAS INJURED AND NO POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HER RESIDENCE. A REPORT WAS FILED WITH THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,868. UPDATED 04/01/10. UPDATED 08/31/10

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

2/3/2010 - GALLATIN, TN
WAS DRIVING 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA TO WORK IN MORNING GOING AROUND CURB I HAVE DRIVEN FOR 8 YEARS. AFTER BRAKING TO TAKE CURB NO LONGER HAD CONTROL OF VEHICLE. DROVE LONG WAY ON CURVY ROAD AND COULD NOT GAIN CONTROL OF CAR. ENDED UP GOING OFF ROAD AT APPROX 40MPH HIT A TREE STUMP AND THEN FLIPPED VEHICLE. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED OR SEAT BELTS LOCKED UP. CALLED TOYOTA AND WAS TOLD THAT AIRBAGS ONLY GO OFF IF VEHICLE REACHES A CERTAIN RATE OF DECELERATION AT POINT OF IMPACT. THIS HAPPENED 2 WEEKS PRIOR TO NEWS OF ACCELERATION PROBLEMS. I HAD NO CLUE WHY I LOST CONTROL OF CAR AT CURB. EVERYONE AROUND ME SAID IT WAS PROBABLY BLACK ICE FROM FOG BUT MY SON WHO WAS RIGHT BEHIND ME DID NOT HIT ICE OR LOSE CONTROL. AFTER RESEARCHING THE WEB, I FIND HUNDREDS OF TOYOTA OWNERS WHOSE AIRBAGS DID NOT GO OFF AND THEY WERE ALL FED THE SAME LINE I WAS. DID OUR SENSORS NOT DETECT DECELERATION BECAUSE OF BAD ACCELERATION SENSORS? DID I LOSE CONTROL BECAUSE MY CAR DID NOT DECELERATE WHEN I PUT FOOT ON BRAKE AT CURB. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR 35 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR. I WAS LUCKY AND MY INJURIES WERE NOT LIFE THREATENING OR CRIPPLING; BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED AND WHY I WAS NOT PROTECTED BY MY AIRBAGS WHEN MY CAR HIT A TREE DEAD ON. I DO HAVE PHOTOS FROM THIS ACCIDENT AND THIS VEHICLE IS STILL AVAILABLE AT INSURANCE TOW LOT FOR VIEWING AND TESTING. PLEASE CALL FOR DETAILS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2010 - SAN JOSE, CA
1. STARTED THE CAR AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD WOULD NOT STOP FLASHING. I BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. THE CAR NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, NEVER HAD ANY DAMAGE AND WAS PROPERLY MAINTAINED. STILL UNDER 60,000 MILES AND IS UNDER WARRANTY. 2. IT WOULD FLASH NON STOP WHEN THE CAR WAS OPERATING 3. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER TO SEE IF THEY CAN RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THEY FOUND OUT THAT THE WIRE UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT BECAME LOOSE. I WAS TOLD THAT A WATER BOTTLE UNDER THE SEAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE WIRE TO DISCONNECT, BUT BEFORE I CHECKED THE CAR IN THERE WAS NOTHING UNDER THE SEAT. APPARENTLY MOVING THE SEAT BACK AND FORTH CAN CAUSE THE WIRE TO DISCONNECT. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD IN BOTH CASES. I FEEL THAT SOMEBODY SHOULD LOOK INTO THIS. THE DEALER RECONNECTED THE WIRE AND RESET THE SYSTEM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2010 - SAN JOSE, CA
1. STARTED THE CAR AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD WOULD NOT STOP FLASHING. I BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. THE CAR NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, NEVER HAD ANY DAMAGE AND WAS PROPERLY MAINTAINED. STILL UNDER 60,000 MILES AND IS UNDER WARRANTY. 2. IT WOULD FLASH NON STOP WHEN THE CAR WAS OPERATING 3. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER TO SEE IF THEY CAN RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THEY FOUND OUT THAT THE WIRE UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT BECAME LOOSE. I WAS TOLD THAT A WATER BOTTLE UNDER THE SEAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE WIRE TO DISCONNECT, BUT BEFORE I CHECKED THE CAR IN THERE WAS NOTHING UNDER THE SEAT. APPARENTLY MOVING THE SEAT BACK AND FORTH CAN CAUSE THE WIRE TO DISCONNECT. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD IN BOTH CASES. I FEEL THAT SOMEBODY SHOULD LOOK INTO THIS. THE DEALER RECONNECTED THE WIRE AND RESET THE SYSTEM

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/27/2009 - SEDALIA, MO
VAPOR CANISTER AND FILTER FAILURE DUE TO UNKNOWN CAUSES, THIS EFFECTS THE EMISSIONS AND MILEAGE PER GALLON DROP. AFTER CONTACTING MULTIPLE DEALERSHIPS THEY TOLD ME THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM WITH MY MODEL CAR AND ALL DEALERS HAVE BEEN FLOODED WITH THIS KIND OF PROBLEM WITH TOYOTA'S AS WELL. I WAS TOLD THAT A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN HAD BEEN ISSUED ON THIS PROBLEM DUE TO THE DESIGN PROBLEM IN THE EVAP SYSTEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/26/2009 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
HI! I BOUGHT 2006 SCION XA. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IT SEEMS TO MAKE NOISE WHILE I'M BACKING UP AND STEP ON THE BRAKE. IT SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING IS GOING TO FALL OFF THE BACK. I AM SCARED TO GO FOR A LONG DRIVE. ALSO, WHEN IT'S RAINING I HAVE A FEELING THAT MY CAR IS GOING TO LOSE CONTROL AND IT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I AM WILLING TO GET AN INSPECTION AT NO COST TO ME, SO I CAN KEEP VEHICLE WITHOUT WORRYING. I GREATLY APPRECIATE THAT,THANKS AND GOD BLESS!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/14/2009 - EL PASO, TX
SUDDEN ACCELERATION INCIDENT. FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED. 2006 SCION XA. DRIVING BACK FROM N.M. ON I-25. GOING APPROX. 65 MPH. WAS PASSING CAR ON RIGHT WHEN CAME TO A HILL. HAD TO ACCELERATE. SUDDENLY CAR ENGINE REVVED UP, MADE A LOUD NOISE AND RAPIDLY ACCELERATED. I COULDN'T SLOW IT DOWN BECAUSE THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK. I MANAGED TO GET AROUND THE CAR AND TRIED TO SLOW DOWN THE CAR SO THAT I COULD GET OFF ON THE RIGHT SHOULDER AND STOP THE CAR. SOMEHOW MANAGED TO SLOW THE CAR ENOUGH (I'M NOT SURE HOW BECAUSE THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK) TO GET OFF ON THE RIGHT SHOULDER. PULLED THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR AND TURNED IT OFF. TRIED TO START IT AGAIN, AND IT WAS DOING THE SAME THING. TURNED IT OFF AND WAITED FOR AWHILE. FINALLY TURNED THE CAR BACK ON, AND IT WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. MANAGED TO GET TO MY DESTINATION SAFELY. HAVEN'T TAKEN IT TO TOYOTA. NOT SURE THEY WOULD DO ANYTHING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/24/2009 - MALVERN, PA
CHARCOAL CANISTER/EVAP/FUEL FILLER TUBE PROBLEM. SAME AS WAS LISTED ON THE TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN FOR SCION XAS AND THE LIKE. I HAVE A 2006 SCION XA. I AM STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND THEY'RE TELLING ME THEY WON'T EVEN COVER THIS UNDER THE WARRANTY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/20/2009 - SEATTLE, WA
I OWN A 2006 SCION XA AND VERY RECENTLY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I HAD IT DIAGNOSED..."P2401 EVAPORATE LEAK DETECTION PUMP CONTROL CIRCUIT". THE CHARCOAL CANISTER AND SOME OTHER SMALL PARTS ARE RUINED DUE TO WATER LEAKAGE. I AM ONE OF MANY SCION OWNERS WHO NOW HAS TO PAY MAJOR PARTS AND LABOR CHARGES TO HAVE THIS FIXED. IT SHOULD MOST CERTAINLY BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY FOR THE LIFE OF THE CAR, NOT JUST FOR THE FIRST 50,000!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/18/2009 - NORRISTOWN, PA
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AT ABOUT 50K MILES. DEALER CHECKED IT OUT AND THE SENSORS INDICATED THAT THE CHARCOAL CANISTER ASSEMBLY WAS DEFECTIVE, ALONG WITH THE CHARCOAL FILTER. INCLUDING PARTS AND LABOR THIS REPAIR COASTED ME $557. MY CAR IS ONLY 3 YEAS OLD!!! MOREOVER, FOR THE ASSEMBLY PART I WAS CHARGED $327 WHEREAS I FOUND THE PART ON-LINE FOR $230.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds