Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SCION XA - 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 44 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2)
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Visibility (2)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/10/2010 - WEST LINN, OR
AFTER MY CAR, A 2006 SCION XA, HAD SAT IN THE PARKING LOT ALL DAY AT WORK, I DROVE ABOUT A BLOCK TO A STOP SIGN WAITING TO CROSS TWO LANES. IT WAS COLD AND RAINY THAT DAY. WHEN I CAME TO A STOP, ALL OF SUDDEN THERE WAS A CLUNK FROM UNDERNEATH THAT I HEARD AND FELT AND WAS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THE CAR BUCKING, AS IF IT WAS TRYING TO LEAP AHEAD. I HAD MY FOOT HARD ON THE BRAKE. IT KEPT DOING THIS EVERY 5 SECONDS OR SO UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE TURN. CLUNK, LEAP + CLUNK, LEAP. IT WAS ALL I COULD DO TO CONTROL THE CAR. IT WAS DIESELING REALLY HARD DURING ALL THIS. ONCE I MADE THE TURN AND STARTED DRIVING, IT SETTLED DOWN AND IT WARMED UP WITHIN FOUR MINUTES AND WAS FINE AGAIN. I THINK I NOTICED THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT WHILE THIS WAS GOING ON BUT I CAN+T BE SURE ABOUT THAT. I DIDN'T NOTICE IF THE CHECK ENGINE CAME ON. I WAS TOO BUSY TRYING TO CONTROL THE CAR TO NOTICE WHAT ELSE WAS HAPPENING. THE NEXT EVENING, AFTER I HAD BEEN PARKED FOR ABOUT AN HOUR, I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR BUT IT WOULDN'T SHIFT. FINALLY AFTER TRYING A FEW TIMES, LETTING OUT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE, AND STARTING IT AGAIN, IT SHIFTED. THERE IS DEFINITELY SOMETHING NOT RIGHT WITH THIS VEHICLE, WHETHER OR NOT THE CODES SAY SO. PERHAPS THERE+S SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE CODE SYSTEM. I TOOK THE CAR INTO MY DEALER FOR REPAIR AND THOUGH THE CODES DIDN'T REGISTER ANYTHING AMISS, ONE OF THEIR MECHANICS WAS SMART ENOUGH TO RECALIBRATE THE ECM PROGRAM WHICH FIXED THE PROBLEM. THIS IS SIMILAR TO WHAT I AM READING ABOUT THE TOYOTA RECALL PROBLEMS, THOUGH NOT AS SEVERE. SCION IS MADE BY TOYOTA. IT DEFINITELY WAS AN ELECTRONIC PROBLEM. THE DEALER REPORTED THIS TO TOYOTA LAST YEAR WHEN I BROUGHT IT IN FOR REPAIR. THIS WAS A USED CAR I PURCHASED IN NOVEMBER 2008.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

3/2/2010 - NORTH READING, MA
I OWN A 2006 SCION XA. I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE SINCE NEW BOUGHT OCT 2005. MY CAR HAS AN INCONSISTENT BRAKING SYSTEM. THE BRAKES FEELS AS IF THEY HAVE A GAP OF AIR THAT PREVENTS THEM FROM STOPPING THE CAR AND THE PEDAL JERKS BENEATH MY FOOT. I LIVE IN BOSTON AND THE FAILURE APPEARS MORE OFTEN IN COLD AND SLUSH/SNOW CONDITIONS. THE BRAKES ARE FRIGHTENING BECAUSE THEY HAVE FAILED AT SEVERAL PEDESTRIAN CROSSWALKS AND UNDER "NEEDED" OR ACCIDENT PREVENTION CIRCUMSTANCES. I HAD THE BRAKES CHECKED AT THE LOCAL WOBURN TOYOTA DEALER AND WAS TOLD THEY WERE FINE. UPON A SECOND MAINTENANCE SERVICE THE SAME TOYOTA DEALER TOLD ME IT WAS DUE TO "HOT SPOTS". I COMPLAINED TO TOYOTA BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER FACTORY WARRANTY. EVEN THOUGH THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME HAS LESS THAN 20K MILES, THEY STATED THAT IT WAS MY FAULT. I ARGUED MY POINT ON THE PHONE WITH NO RESPONSE. I FILED AN E-MAIL COMPLAINT THROUGH TOYOTAS CUSTOMER SURVEY AND THEN FOR SAFETY REASONS AND CONCERN OF THE WELL BEING OF MY CHILDREN AND MYSELF, I DID AS SUGGESTED BY THE DEALER AND REPLACED THE ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS. BY THE NEXT WINTER OF 2008 MY VEHICLE BRAKING SYSTEMS HEARTBREAKINGLY ENOUGH HAD THE EXACT SAME BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE. THIS HAS BEEN A CONTINUED PROBLEM SINCE OWNING THIS VEHICLE. THE DATE LISTED BELOW IS THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT HOWEVER THERE HAVE BEEN NO LESS THAN 20 OTHER OCCURRENCES. I WILL ALWAYS TRY TO TEST MY BRAKES TO MAKE SURE THEY ARE STILL WORKING BEFORE LEAVING MY DRIVEWAY IN BAD WEATHER CONDITIONS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/9/2010 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISO, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SCION XA. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH THE THROTTLE BECAME STUCK AND THE SPEED INCREASED WHICH CAUSED THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO THE CURB, THE TIRE BLEW OUT AND THE FRONT FENDER WAS DAMAGED. NO ONE WAS INJURED AND NO POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HER RESIDENCE. A REPORT WAS FILED WITH THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,868. UPDATED 04/01/10. UPDATED 08/31/10

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

2/3/2010 - GALLATIN, TN
WAS DRIVING 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA TO WORK IN MORNING GOING AROUND CURB I HAVE DRIVEN FOR 8 YEARS. AFTER BRAKING TO TAKE CURB NO LONGER HAD CONTROL OF VEHICLE. DROVE LONG WAY ON CURVY ROAD AND COULD NOT GAIN CONTROL OF CAR. ENDED UP GOING OFF ROAD AT APPROX 40MPH HIT A TREE STUMP AND THEN FLIPPED VEHICLE. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED OR SEAT BELTS LOCKED UP. CALLED TOYOTA AND WAS TOLD THAT AIRBAGS ONLY GO OFF IF VEHICLE REACHES A CERTAIN RATE OF DECELERATION AT POINT OF IMPACT. THIS HAPPENED 2 WEEKS PRIOR TO NEWS OF ACCELERATION PROBLEMS. I HAD NO CLUE WHY I LOST CONTROL OF CAR AT CURB. EVERYONE AROUND ME SAID IT WAS PROBABLY BLACK ICE FROM FOG BUT MY SON WHO WAS RIGHT BEHIND ME DID NOT HIT ICE OR LOSE CONTROL. AFTER RESEARCHING THE WEB, I FIND HUNDREDS OF TOYOTA OWNERS WHOSE AIRBAGS DID NOT GO OFF AND THEY WERE ALL FED THE SAME LINE I WAS. DID OUR SENSORS NOT DETECT DECELERATION BECAUSE OF BAD ACCELERATION SENSORS? DID I LOSE CONTROL BECAUSE MY CAR DID NOT DECELERATE WHEN I PUT FOOT ON BRAKE AT CURB. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR 35 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR. I WAS LUCKY AND MY INJURIES WERE NOT LIFE THREATENING OR CRIPPLING; BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED AND WHY I WAS NOT PROTECTED BY MY AIRBAGS WHEN MY CAR HIT A TREE DEAD ON. I DO HAVE PHOTOS FROM THIS ACCIDENT AND THIS VEHICLE IS STILL AVAILABLE AT INSURANCE TOW LOT FOR VIEWING AND TESTING. PLEASE CALL FOR DETAILS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2010 - SAN JOSE, CA
1. STARTED THE CAR AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD WOULD NOT STOP FLASHING. I BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. THE CAR NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, NEVER HAD ANY DAMAGE AND WAS PROPERLY MAINTAINED. STILL UNDER 60,000 MILES AND IS UNDER WARRANTY. 2. IT WOULD FLASH NON STOP WHEN THE CAR WAS OPERATING 3. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER TO SEE IF THEY CAN RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THEY FOUND OUT THAT THE WIRE UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT BECAME LOOSE. I WAS TOLD THAT A WATER BOTTLE UNDER THE SEAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE WIRE TO DISCONNECT, BUT BEFORE I CHECKED THE CAR IN THERE WAS NOTHING UNDER THE SEAT. APPARENTLY MOVING THE SEAT BACK AND FORTH CAN CAUSE THE WIRE TO DISCONNECT. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD IN BOTH CASES. I FEEL THAT SOMEBODY SHOULD LOOK INTO THIS. THE DEALER RECONNECTED THE WIRE AND RESET THE SYSTEM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2010 - SAN JOSE, CA
1. STARTED THE CAR AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD WOULD NOT STOP FLASHING. I BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. THE CAR NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, NEVER HAD ANY DAMAGE AND WAS PROPERLY MAINTAINED. STILL UNDER 60,000 MILES AND IS UNDER WARRANTY. 2. IT WOULD FLASH NON STOP WHEN THE CAR WAS OPERATING 3. TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER TO SEE IF THEY CAN RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THEY FOUND OUT THAT THE WIRE UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT BECAME LOOSE. I WAS TOLD THAT A WATER BOTTLE UNDER THE SEAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE WIRE TO DISCONNECT, BUT BEFORE I CHECKED THE CAR IN THERE WAS NOTHING UNDER THE SEAT. APPARENTLY MOVING THE SEAT BACK AND FORTH CAN CAUSE THE WIRE TO DISCONNECT. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD IN BOTH CASES. I FEEL THAT SOMEBODY SHOULD LOOK INTO THIS. THE DEALER RECONNECTED THE WIRE AND RESET THE SYSTEM

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/27/2009 - SEDALIA, MO
VAPOR CANISTER AND FILTER FAILURE DUE TO UNKNOWN CAUSES, THIS EFFECTS THE EMISSIONS AND MILEAGE PER GALLON DROP. AFTER CONTACTING MULTIPLE DEALERSHIPS THEY TOLD ME THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON PROBLEM WITH MY MODEL CAR AND ALL DEALERS HAVE BEEN FLOODED WITH THIS KIND OF PROBLEM WITH TOYOTA'S AS WELL. I WAS TOLD THAT A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN HAD BEEN ISSUED ON THIS PROBLEM DUE TO THE DESIGN PROBLEM IN THE EVAP SYSTEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/26/2009 - PINELLAS PARK, FL
HI! I BOUGHT 2006 SCION XA. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IT SEEMS TO MAKE NOISE WHILE I'M BACKING UP AND STEP ON THE BRAKE. IT SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING IS GOING TO FALL OFF THE BACK. I AM SCARED TO GO FOR A LONG DRIVE. ALSO, WHEN IT'S RAINING I HAVE A FEELING THAT MY CAR IS GOING TO LOSE CONTROL AND IT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I AM WILLING TO GET AN INSPECTION AT NO COST TO ME, SO I CAN KEEP VEHICLE WITHOUT WORRYING. I GREATLY APPRECIATE THAT,THANKS AND GOD BLESS!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/14/2009 - EL PASO, TX
SUDDEN ACCELERATION INCIDENT. FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED. 2006 SCION XA. DRIVING BACK FROM N.M. ON I-25. GOING APPROX. 65 MPH. WAS PASSING CAR ON RIGHT WHEN CAME TO A HILL. HAD TO ACCELERATE. SUDDENLY CAR ENGINE REVVED UP, MADE A LOUD NOISE AND RAPIDLY ACCELERATED. I COULDN'T SLOW IT DOWN BECAUSE THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK. I MANAGED TO GET AROUND THE CAR AND TRIED TO SLOW DOWN THE CAR SO THAT I COULD GET OFF ON THE RIGHT SHOULDER AND STOP THE CAR. SOMEHOW MANAGED TO SLOW THE CAR ENOUGH (I'M NOT SURE HOW BECAUSE THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK) TO GET OFF ON THE RIGHT SHOULDER. PULLED THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR AND TURNED IT OFF. TRIED TO START IT AGAIN, AND IT WAS DOING THE SAME THING. TURNED IT OFF AND WAITED FOR AWHILE. FINALLY TURNED THE CAR BACK ON, AND IT WAS OPERATING NORMALLY. MANAGED TO GET TO MY DESTINATION SAFELY. HAVEN'T TAKEN IT TO TOYOTA. NOT SURE THEY WOULD DO ANYTHING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/24/2009 - MALVERN, PA
CHARCOAL CANISTER/EVAP/FUEL FILLER TUBE PROBLEM. SAME AS WAS LISTED ON THE TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN FOR SCION XAS AND THE LIKE. I HAVE A 2006 SCION XA. I AM STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND THEY'RE TELLING ME THEY WON'T EVEN COVER THIS UNDER THE WARRANTY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds