Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA SCION XA - 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA

There are 48 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (1) Tires (2)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (2) Visibility (2)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/26/2011 - YELLOW SPRINGS, OH
CHECK ENGINE CAME ON AROUND 47,000 MILES, MECHANIC SAID PROBLEM WITH EMISSIONS, WOULD COST AT LEAST $500 TO FIX, BUT NOT COVERED BY TOYOTA FEDERAL EMISSION WARRANTY ANYMORE SINCE MILEAGE IS OVER 36,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/5/2010 - ORCHARD PARK, NY
AS MANY PEOPLE HAVE ALREADY REPORTED I HAVE A 2006 SCION XA. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE CAR ONLY HAS 52,000 MILES ON IT AND I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. THEY STATED IT WAS A CHARCOAL CANISTER THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND IT WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY OR COVERED BY ANYTHING. THEY WANT $784.00 PLUS TAX TO FIX THE ISSUE. WITH SO MANY PEOPLE HAVING THIS PROBLEM I DO NOT SEE HOW THEY CAN GET AWAY WITH MAKING CUSTOMERS PAY FOR THIS ON BASICALLY BRAND NEW CARS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

10/16/2010 - NEW LONDON, CT
FAILURE OF EMISSIONS IN SCION X-A. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. TOLD IT WAS GAS NOZZLE AND CHARCOAL CANISTER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/9/2010 - WALNUT CREEK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA SCION XA. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH SHE HEARD A NOISE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. SHE NOTICE SMOKE UNDER HOOD. THERE WAS NO WARNING LIGHTS BEFORE THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ON THE SCENE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT INSURANCE COMPANY WILL INVESTIGATE THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT AND THE FAILURE MILEAGE WERE 23,000. UPDATED 01/14/11 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STALLED AND SMOKE BEGAN TO EMIT FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. UPDATED 03/28/11

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/27/2010 - IRVINE, CA
THE INTERIOR FRONT DISC PADS CONSTANTLY RUB, GRIND AND WEAR OUT ON MY SCION XA 2006. I WAS TOLD BY A TOYOTA TECHNICIAN (THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE DESIGN OF THE FRONT BRAKES) THAT IF THE BRAKES ARE INSPECTED AND I AM TOLD THEY HAVE LOTS OF WEAR LEFT - THEY ARE NOT REPORTING THE WEAR ON THE INNER WHEEL PADS BECAUSE OF A DEFECT IN DESIGN. THIS HAS CAUSED I BELIEVE MUCH BRAKE FADING DURING NORMAL CITY FREEWAY STOP AND GO.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/26/2010 - CLINTON, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SCION XA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH IN SNOWY CONDITIONS ON DECEMBER 20, 2009, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY SLID OFF THE ROAD AND CRASHED INTO A DITCH. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 45,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 47,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/23/2010 - PASADENA, CA
I HAD PARKED THE CAR BUT MY FRIEND SAID THAT I WAS TOO FAR FROM THE ENTRANCE OF THE RESTAURANT SO HE OFFERED TO MOVE IT CLOSER. AFTER HE BACKED OUT OF THE PARKING SPOT HE CHANGED GEARS TO D[RIVE] BUT THE CAR CONTINUED TO MOVE BACKWARDS. HE CALLED ME OVER AND SHOWED ME WHAT THE CAR WAS DOING. HE THEN PUT THE CAR INTO P[ARK], TURN THE ENGINE OFF THEN STARTED IT BACK UP AGAIN. THIS TIME WHEN HE PUT THE GEAR INTO D[RIVE] THE CAR MOVED FORWARD AND THINGS SEEMED HAVE GONE BACK TO NORMAL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/12/2010 - BETHLEHEM, CT
2006 SCION XA- CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AT 89K MILES; CODES INDICATED "EVAPORATIVE SYSTEM" ISSUES. BROUGHT TO THE DEALER; WAS TOLD CHARCOAL CANISTER NEEDED REPLACING AS THERE WAS WATER IN IT THAT SHORTED OUT A PURGE VALVE. DID A SEARCH ONLINE AND FOUND A TOYOTA TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (TSB EG04706) THAT DESCRIBED RETROFITTING A NEW FUEL VENT TUBE COLLAR TO PREVENT WATER INTRUSION AND ALL SUBSEQUENT CARS AFTER A CERTAIN VIN GOT A NEW DESIGN. SINCE THE CAR IS WELL OUT OF WARRANTY I ENDED UP SPENDING $750 TO FIX. IF THE TSB WAS IMPLEMENTED EARLIER AS PART OF NORMAL SERVICING IT WOULD HAVE ONLY BEEN .5 HRS LABOR ADDING A SMALL PART (COLLAR) AT MUCH LOWER COST. THE FACT THAT TOYOTA LETS THE CONSUMER TAKE THE CAR TO FAILURE BEFORE RECTIFYING THE ISSUE IS JUST NOT RIGHT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/10/2010 - WEST LINN, OR
AFTER MY CAR, A 2006 SCION XA, HAD SAT IN THE PARKING LOT ALL DAY AT WORK, I DROVE ABOUT A BLOCK TO A STOP SIGN WAITING TO CROSS TWO LANES. IT WAS COLD AND RAINY THAT DAY. WHEN I CAME TO A STOP, ALL OF SUDDEN THERE WAS A CLUNK FROM UNDERNEATH THAT I HEARD AND FELT AND WAS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THE CAR BUCKING, AS IF IT WAS TRYING TO LEAP AHEAD. I HAD MY FOOT HARD ON THE BRAKE. IT KEPT DOING THIS EVERY 5 SECONDS OR SO UNTIL I WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE TURN. CLUNK, LEAP + CLUNK, LEAP. IT WAS ALL I COULD DO TO CONTROL THE CAR. IT WAS DIESELING REALLY HARD DURING ALL THIS. ONCE I MADE THE TURN AND STARTED DRIVING, IT SETTLED DOWN AND IT WARMED UP WITHIN FOUR MINUTES AND WAS FINE AGAIN. I THINK I NOTICED THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT WHILE THIS WAS GOING ON BUT I CAN+T BE SURE ABOUT THAT. I DIDN'T NOTICE IF THE CHECK ENGINE CAME ON. I WAS TOO BUSY TRYING TO CONTROL THE CAR TO NOTICE WHAT ELSE WAS HAPPENING. THE NEXT EVENING, AFTER I HAD BEEN PARKED FOR ABOUT AN HOUR, I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR BUT IT WOULDN'T SHIFT. FINALLY AFTER TRYING A FEW TIMES, LETTING OUT THE EMERGENCY BRAKE, AND STARTING IT AGAIN, IT SHIFTED. THERE IS DEFINITELY SOMETHING NOT RIGHT WITH THIS VEHICLE, WHETHER OR NOT THE CODES SAY SO. PERHAPS THERE+S SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE CODE SYSTEM. I TOOK THE CAR INTO MY DEALER FOR REPAIR AND THOUGH THE CODES DIDN'T REGISTER ANYTHING AMISS, ONE OF THEIR MECHANICS WAS SMART ENOUGH TO RECALIBRATE THE ECM PROGRAM WHICH FIXED THE PROBLEM. THIS IS SIMILAR TO WHAT I AM READING ABOUT THE TOYOTA RECALL PROBLEMS, THOUGH NOT AS SEVERE. SCION IS MADE BY TOYOTA. IT DEFINITELY WAS AN ELECTRONIC PROBLEM. THE DEALER REPORTED THIS TO TOYOTA LAST YEAR WHEN I BROUGHT IT IN FOR REPAIR. THIS WAS A USED CAR I PURCHASED IN NOVEMBER 2008.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

3/2/2010 - NORTH READING, MA
I OWN A 2006 SCION XA. I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE SINCE NEW BOUGHT OCT 2005. MY CAR HAS AN INCONSISTENT BRAKING SYSTEM. THE BRAKES FEELS AS IF THEY HAVE A GAP OF AIR THAT PREVENTS THEM FROM STOPPING THE CAR AND THE PEDAL JERKS BENEATH MY FOOT. I LIVE IN BOSTON AND THE FAILURE APPEARS MORE OFTEN IN COLD AND SLUSH/SNOW CONDITIONS. THE BRAKES ARE FRIGHTENING BECAUSE THEY HAVE FAILED AT SEVERAL PEDESTRIAN CROSSWALKS AND UNDER "NEEDED" OR ACCIDENT PREVENTION CIRCUMSTANCES. I HAD THE BRAKES CHECKED AT THE LOCAL WOBURN TOYOTA DEALER AND WAS TOLD THEY WERE FINE. UPON A SECOND MAINTENANCE SERVICE THE SAME TOYOTA DEALER TOLD ME IT WAS DUE TO "HOT SPOTS". I COMPLAINED TO TOYOTA BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER FACTORY WARRANTY. EVEN THOUGH THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME HAS LESS THAN 20K MILES, THEY STATED THAT IT WAS MY FAULT. I ARGUED MY POINT ON THE PHONE WITH NO RESPONSE. I FILED AN E-MAIL COMPLAINT THROUGH TOYOTAS CUSTOMER SURVEY AND THEN FOR SAFETY REASONS AND CONCERN OF THE WELL BEING OF MY CHILDREN AND MYSELF, I DID AS SUGGESTED BY THE DEALER AND REPLACED THE ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS. BY THE NEXT WINTER OF 2008 MY VEHICLE BRAKING SYSTEMS HEARTBREAKINGLY ENOUGH HAD THE EXACT SAME BRAKE SYSTEM FAILURE. THIS HAS BEEN A CONTINUED PROBLEM SINCE OWNING THIS VEHICLE. THE DATE LISTED BELOW IS THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT HOWEVER THERE HAVE BEEN NO LESS THAN 20 OTHER OCCURRENCES. I WILL ALWAYS TRY TO TEST MY BRAKES TO MAKE SURE THEY ARE STILL WORKING BEFORE LEAVING MY DRIVEWAY IN BAD WEATHER CONDITIONS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds