Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO XC90 - 2006 VOLVO XC90 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2006 VOLVO XC90

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 VOLVO XC90. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 VOLVO XC90, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (3) Steering (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/24/2015 - TOLLESON, AZ
HAVE RESEARCHED THIS CAR AFTER I BOUGHT IT USED FROM A SMALL DEALERSHIP AND SEEMS LIKE A LARGE PROBLEM WITH ALL TYPES OF VOLVO'S. I HAD MY CAR FOR A COUPLE DAYS, SHOP NOTICED THERE WAS AN OIL LEAK. TURNED OUT TO BE THE REAR MAIN SEAL. DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT FIX IT EVEN THOUGH IT WAS WITHIN WARRANTY. SAVED UP FOR 2 MONTHS STRAIGHT TO PAY $1100 CASH OUT OF POCKET TO GET IT FIXED BY MY PERSONAL MECHANIC. RIGHT BEFORE I TOOK IT IN TO GET THE WORK DONE, THE TRANSMISSION WAS SHIFTING HARD WHILE DRIVING IN CITY. HIGHWAY IT WAS FINE. HAD THE SEAL REPLACED, TRANSMISSION FLUSHED BEFORE PUTTING BACK TOGETHER THINKING IT WOULD SOLVE PROBLEM. NOPE! SO I SAVED UP ONCE AGAIN TO GO TO THE ACTUAL VOLVO DEALERSHIP AND PAY $200 OUT OF POCKET FOR A REFLASH ED AND SOFTWARE UPDATE ON THE TRANSMISSION. DIDN'T WORK! LOOKED UP OTHER POSSIBLE PROBLEMS THAT COULD BE CAUSING TRANSMISSION TO SHIFT WEIRD...NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT OTHER PETES VOLVO'S DOING THE SAME THING! SO WHY HASN'T VOLVO DONE A RECALL ON THIS TRANSMISSION? IT'S A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE I MYSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE IS DRIVING AND THE THING SLAMS INTO PARK OR ANY OTHER GEAR AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I'M SCARED TO DRIVE MY OWN CAR AND I'M TO THE POINT WHERE I CAN'T DUMP ANYMORE MONEY INTO IT AND HAVE TO TRADE IT IN FOR A DIFFERENT CAR. PLEASE HELP AND MAKE VOLVO RECALL THE TRANSMISSIONS BEFORE MYSELF OR MY HUSBAND AND 2 KIDS DIE BECAUSE OF THEIR NEGLIGENCE!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/18/2015 - HAMILTON , MA
FOR THE SECOND TIME IN 6 MONTHS, THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER WITHOUT WARNING WHILE IN TRANSIT. YESTERDAY, IT OCCURRED ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH. THE CAR DIED WITHOUT WARNING WITH RESULTANT LOSS OF POWER STEARING, BREAKING, DASH, ETC. WE WERE ABLE TO COAST INTO A BREAKDOWN LANE, BUT IT COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTEROUS. STATE POLICE ARRIVED WITHIN MINUTES OF DIALING 911. THIS HAPPENED 6 MONTHS AGO AS WELL AND THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED A FUEL INJECTOR MODULE. THE INTERNET IS REPLEAT WITH VERY SIMILAR ISSUES INVOLVING THIS MODEL AND VINTAGE. THE COMMON RESPONSE FROM VOLVO DEALERS SEEMS TO BE THAT IT IS AN "ACT OF GOD". THIS IS A DEFECT, NOT AN ACT OF GOD, AND THESE VEHICLES SHOULD BE RECALLED. IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THERE WILL BE MAJOR INJURIES OR DEATHS AS A RESULT OF THE DEFECT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/27/2015 - LA PORTE, IN
I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE ISSUES WITH THE SUSPENSION OF THIS CAR IN THE PAST TWO YEARS.- UP UNTIL RECENTLY, THESE WERE THE ONLY PROBLEMS I HAD WITH THE CAR. FIRST THE STRUT ENGINE MOUNT BRACE AND TORQUE RODS NEEDED REPLACING, THEN AT 155,000 I NEEDED TO HAVE THE FRONT BALL JOINT,CONTROL ARMS AND BUSHINGS REPLACED. AT 158,000 I HAD TO REPLACE THE RIGHT REAR KNUCKLE AND WHEEL BEARINGS. NOW AT 189,000 I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH MY OUTER TIE RODS. I HAD JUST THOUGHT THESE WERE EXPECTED WEAR AND TEAR FOR A HIGH MILEAGE VEHICLE, BUT I SAW THAT THERE HAD BEEN RECALLS FOR FAILURES OF THESE PARTS IN SOME VERSIONS OF MY CAR. I CHECKED WITH VOLVO AND THEY CLAIMED THAT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THESE RECALLS. BUT I DO FIND IT SUSPICIOUS THAT I NOW AM HAVING THE SAME ISSUES THAT SO MANY "OTHER VERSIONS" OF MY MODEL AND YEAR VEHICLE HAD. SHOULD MY CAR HAVE BEEN INCLUDED IN THE RECALLS? HOW DO THEY DETERMINE WHICH ONES HAVE A PROBLEM AND WHICH ONES DO NOT? THANKS

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2015 - LA PORTE, IN
WITHOUT ANY WARNING, THE MOTOR SUDDENLY DROPPED FROM 60-65 MPH TO 35-40 AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE BEYOND THIS- I GOT A WARNING MESSAGE AFTER THIS HAPPENED "REDUCED ENGINE PERFORMANCE". RESEARCH ON THIS LATER TOLD ME THAT THIS WAS "LIMP MODE." I WAS ON AN EXPRESSWAY AND OTHER VEHICLES AROUND ME, INCLUDING MANY LARGE SEMI TRUCKS, WERE DRIVING AT HIGH SPEEDS. FORTUNATELY, I HAD JUST COME OUT OF A TOLL PLAZA AND WAS IN THE RIGHT LANE SO I WAS ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE WAY QUICKLY ENOUGH TO AVOID A COLLISION. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED SINCE IT WAS NOT SAFE TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE AT SUCH A SLOW SPEED AND I WAS FAR FROM A SUITABLE EXIT. MY REPAIR SHOP IDENTIFIED A PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE BODY AND THE PCV (VALVE) I SEE ON RESEARCH OF EARLIER MODELS OF THIS CAR THAT THERE HAD BEEN AN "WARRANTY EXTENSION" FOR THIS VERY PROBLEM. MY CAR APPARENTLY WAS NOT INCLUDED ON THIS EXTENSION, BUT I FIND IT SUSPECT THAT I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. THERE MAY NOT BE THAT MANY REPORTS OF PROBLEMS LIKE THIS WITH MY PARTICULAR MODEL YEAR BECAUSE A LARGE NUMBER OF THE 2006 XC90S HAD EARLY TRANSMISSION FAILURES AND ARE NO LONGER BEING USED.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/28/2014 - SANTA CRUZ, CA
I ENTERED THE CAR AND ATTEMPTED TO PUT ON THE DRIVER'S SEAT BELT. IT WOULD NOT RELEASE FROM ITS HOUSING (INSIDE THE PANEL ABOVE MY LEFT SHOULDER). IT MADE A STRONG CLICKING NOISE, AS IF IT HAD LOCKED UP. I MADE NUMEROUS OTHER ATTEMPTS TO PUT ON MY SEAT BELT, WITH THE ENGINE TURNED ON, TURNED OFF, CAR IN PARK, CAR IN DRIVE, CAR MOVING. NO CHANGE. I FEEL THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. WHEN I CALLED VOLVO, THEY TOLD ME THAT SEATBELTS WERE ONLY COVERED UNDER A 5 YEAR WARRANTY. I WOULD EXPECT SEATBELTS TO HAVE MANDATORY LIFETIME WARRANTIES, REQUIRED BY LAW. I AM SURPRISED TO FIND THAT THIS IS NOT THE CASE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/7/2013 - NEWCASTLE, OK
WHILE GOING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND IN A SLIGHT TURN (VERY MILD CURVE), TRAFFIC IN FRONT OF ME SLOWED. I MOVED MY FOOT TO THE BRAKE AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS "HARD" AND THE BRAKES DID NOT WORK. I LET OFF THE BRAKE AND PUT MY FOOT BACK ON THE PEDAL AGAIN, VERY FIRMLY. THE ABS IMMEDIATELY KICKED IN. HAD TRAFFIC NOT STARTED TO SPEED UP, I WOULD HAVE REAR-ENDED THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. NOT FUN, VOLVO. WHEN YOU PRESS THE BRAKES, YOU EXPECT THEM TO ACTUALLY WORK. NO ERROR MESSAGES WERE ON FOR THE BRAKE SYSTEM OR ANY OTHER ERROR MESSAGES AT ALL. THE BRAKES JUST DIDN'T WORK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2012 - BOLTON, FL
OWNED CAR 2ND HAND FOR 2 YEARS NOW. THE PAST 2 WEEKS MY TURNING SIGNAL, DRIVERS SIDE MIRRORS, INTERIOR LIGHTS, DISPLAY COUNSEL FLASHES ON AND OFF. ESPECIALLY WHEN I USE TURNING SIGNAL. BEING TOLD ECM BOX WATER GETS INTO SYSTEM. VOLVO DOES NOT SUPPORT THEIR PRODUCT. SO DISAPPOINTED. I WAS READY TO BUY A NEW XC60. NOT A CHANCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2012 - GRAYSON, KY
I DROVE HOME FROM WORK AND MESSAGES STARTED TO APPEAR WARNING ME OF THE ENGINE NOT WORKING PROPERLY, LOW BEAMS NOT WORKING. DROVE IT HOME. TURNED IT OFF & WIPERS WOULD NOT STOP. WE UNHOOKED THE BATTERY CABLE USING THE MANUAL. TOOK IT TO HAVE BATTERY TESTED, BAD CELL. REPLACED BATTERY & WIPERS QUIT WORKING, AIR BAG LIGHT WARNING CAME ON. TOOK TO MECHANIC TO HAVE WIPER MOTOR TESTED, IT WAS FINE. TOOK TO VOLVO, THEY WANTED TO REPLACE WIPER MOTOR, TOLD THEM THAT WAS NOT THE ONLY PROBLEM. TOOK TO DIFFERENT VOLVO AND THEY DIAGNOSED, AFTER THREE HOURS, THE CEM WAS CORRODED DUE TO A CRACK IN THE BOX THAT HOUSES IT. WANTED $3500 FOR THE REPAIR. I LEFT WITHOUT IT AND STARTED TO RESEARCH IT. FOUND OUT VOLVO ACKNOWLEDGED A FAULT IN THE SEAL IN A TRAFFIC SAFETY REPORT. CONTACTED VOLVO ABOUT THE REPAIR, STARTED DISCUSSIONS ABOUT A GOOD WILL REPAIR, THREE WEEKS LATER I RECEIVED A CALL STATING THEY WOULD NOT COVER ANY PART OF IT. THE VOLVO LOOSES POWER AND COULD BE UNSAFE AT ANY TIME. THERE ARE MANY DISCUSSIONS OF THIS ON DIFFERENT VOLVO. I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW VOLVO SAYS IT IS A FAULT OF THE PART AND THEN REFUSES TO REPLACE IT. I AM DRIVING IT AT THIS TIME, WHILE I FIGURE OUT A MORE ECONOMICAL ROUTE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/7/2011 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
DRIVING IN HEAVY RAIN, CRUISE CONTROL FAILS, CAR GETS STUCK IN 5TH GEAR, LIGHTING FAILURE, CAR SAYS IN DRIVE WHEN IN PARK, ANTI-SKID SERVICE LIGHT COMES ON, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. HAD TO BE TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER WHEN THEY TEST DROVE IT. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION, TWO KIDS IN THE CAR AND BOUGHT THE CAR FOR ITS SAFETY RATING. WILL COST $2500 TO REPAIR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2011 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
DRIVING IN HEAVY RAIN, CRUISE CONTROL FAILS, CAR GETS STUCK IN 5TH GEAR, LIGHTING FAILURE, CAR SAYS IN DRIVE WHEN IN PARK, ANTI-SKID SERVICE LIGHT COMES ON, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. HAD TO BE TOWED BACK TO THE DEALER WHEN THEY TEST DROVE IT. VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION, TWO KIDS IN THE CAR AND BOUGHT THE CAR FOR ITS SAFETY RATING. WILL COST $2500 TO REPAIR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds