Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO XC90 - 2006 VOLVO XC90 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2006 VOLVO XC90

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 VOLVO XC90. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 VOLVO XC90, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (3) Steering (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/16/2011 - FORT WALTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 VOLVO XC90. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS HAD MALFUNCTIONED AND WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER AND THEY ADVISED HER THAT THE COMFORT ELECTRONIC MODULE (CEM) WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER THE DIAGNOSIS, THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THE CEM ALSO WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2011 - FORT WALTON BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 VOLVO XC90. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS HAD MALFUNCTIONED AND WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER AND THEY ADVISED HER THAT THE COMFORT ELECTRONIC MODULE (CEM) WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER THE DIAGNOSIS, THE TECHNICIAN ADVISED THAT THE CEM ALSO WAS THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 52,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

3/7/2011 - JERSEY CITY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 VOLVO XC90. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE BECAME STUCK IN THE SNOW AND THE REAR WHEELS WOULD NOT TURN AND THE VEHICLE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE ALL WHEEL DRIVE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE ANGLE GEAR WAS NOT WORKING BECAUSE THE GEARS WERE SPINNING AND WORN OUT. THE DEALER STATED THE FAILURE WAS CAUSED BECAUSE THE GEARS COULD WEAR SIMILAIR TO THE WAY BRAKE PADS COULD WEAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE NEVER EXHIBITED A WARNING THAT THERE WAS A FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 50,000. UPDATED 05/04/11 UPDATED 07/08/11

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

10/12/2010 - EAST NORTHPORT, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 VOLVO XC90. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT WATER WAS GETTING INTO THE VEHICLE; THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR WAS WET. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE WATER WAS GETTING IN THROUGH THE SUNROOF AND THE DRAINAGE FROM THE SUNROOF WAS CLOGGED. THE VEHICLE WAS BEING REPAIRED. THE AIR CONDITIONER AND BLOWER SHORT CIRCUITED AS A RESULT OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 51,000. THE CONSUMER STATED THE DRAIN PLUGS FOR THE SUNROOF FAILED, WHICH CAUSED WATER AND ELECTRICAL DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 04/20/11

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

9/30/2010 - SOUTH ORANGE, NJ
ANTI-SKID ERROR KEEPS COMING UP ON MY 2006 8 CYL VOLVO XC90. DEALER UNSURE HOW TO DIAGNOSE. I AM CONCERNED MY ANTI LOCK BRAKING AND 4 WHEEL DRIVE WILL NOT WORK. IS THIS A KNOWN DEFECT IN VOLVO XC90'S OF THAT YEAR?

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/16/2010 - BLACK DIAMOND , WA
2006 VOLVO XC90 HEADLAMP FAILURE. WA.STATE VOLVO REP. DENIES INTERMITTENT HEADLAMP FAILURE EXISTS. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. THE VOLVO HEADLIGHTS JUST FAIL WHEN THE VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN! I AND MANY OTHERS APPROX.93,487 OWNER'S OF THIS VEHICLE HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS HAVING VOLVO SERVICE DEALER'S UNABLE TO CORRECT THE SERIOUS PROBLEM. THIS SHOULD BE A PRIORITY SAFETY RECALL AND VOLVO SHOULD IMMEDIATELY SEND OUT A SERVICE BULLETIN TO ALL DEALERSHIPS. APPARENTLY VOLVO DOES KNOW THIS PROBLEM EXISTS AND HAS PURPOSELY CHOSEN TO NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM OR TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. VOLVO OWNER'S ARE AT RISK OF SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH. WHILE DRIVING THE VOLVO THE HEADLAMPS FLICKER AND FAIL . THE DRIVER USUALLY A MOTHER WITH CHILDREN IN THE CAR IS SUDDENLY PLUNGED INTO DARKNESS AT ANY GIVEN SPEED AND AT NIGHT. PLEASE HELP ALL OF US MOTHERS WHO BELIEVE WE MADE THE BEST DECISION TO PROVIDE" SAFETY FIRST" FOR OUR FAMILY'S . THIS NEEDS TO BE A PRIORITY SAFETY RECALL . HAVING THE HEADLIGHTS FAIL WHILE DRIVING IS PUTTING INNOCENT LIVES IN GRAVE DANGER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2010 - BLACK DIAMOND , WA
2006 VOLVO XC90 HEADLAMP FAILURE. WA.STATE VOLVO REP. DENIES INTERMITTENT HEADLAMP FAILURE EXISTS. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. THE VOLVO HEADLIGHTS JUST FAIL WHEN THE VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN! I AND MANY OTHERS APPROX.93,487 OWNER'S OF THIS VEHICLE HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS HAVING VOLVO SERVICE DEALER'S UNABLE TO CORRECT THE SERIOUS PROBLEM. THIS SHOULD BE A PRIORITY SAFETY RECALL AND VOLVO SHOULD IMMEDIATELY SEND OUT A SERVICE BULLETIN TO ALL DEALERSHIPS. APPARENTLY VOLVO DOES KNOW THIS PROBLEM EXISTS AND HAS PURPOSELY CHOSEN TO NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM OR TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. VOLVO OWNER'S ARE AT RISK OF SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH. WHILE DRIVING THE VOLVO THE HEADLAMPS FLICKER AND FAIL . THE DRIVER USUALLY A MOTHER WITH CHILDREN IN THE CAR IS SUDDENLY PLUNGED INTO DARKNESS AT ANY GIVEN SPEED AND AT NIGHT. PLEASE HELP ALL OF US MOTHERS WHO BELIEVE WE MADE THE BEST DECISION TO PROVIDE" SAFETY FIRST" FOR OUR FAMILY'S . THIS NEEDS TO BE A PRIORITY SAFETY RECALL . HAVING THE HEADLIGHTS FAIL WHILE DRIVING IS PUTTING INNOCENT LIVES IN GRAVE DANGER.

View Details

TIRES

4/26/2010 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
WE OWN A 2006 VOLVO XC90. IT CAME WITH PIRELLI TIRES WHICH LASTED LESS THAN 17,000 MILES. TIRES WERE REPLACED, PARTLY BY VOLVO, BUT LASTED ONLY 20,000 MILES. SO, TWO COMPLETE SETS OF TIRES AND THE CAR HAS ONLY 37,000 MILES. I HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO REPLACE THEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/19/2009 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
MY VOLVO XC90 (2006) ABRUPTLY STALLS AND DIES ON FREEWAY WHEN USING CRUISE CONTROL (TYPICALLY AT 70-75 MPH). HAVE HAD TWO REPEATED INCIDENTS, SO FAR LUCKY HAVE NOT BEEN HIT. DEALERSHIP FOUND NO PROBLEM., CAR DIED AGAIN. FIRST INCIDENT WAS AT ABOUT 59,000 MILES, SECOND WAS NEXT TIME I USED CRUISE ON FREEWAY. I ALWAYS USE PREMIUM FUEL, REGULAR SERVICE.

View Details

WHEELS

1/12/2009 - DOWNERS GROVE , IL
I OWN A 2006 VOLVO XC90 AND I AM CONCERNED THAT THE REAR WHEEL BEARING MAY BE A MANUFACTURERS DEFECT. I RECENTLY TOOK MY VEHICLE INTO A VOLVO DEALER (JULY 2008 WHILE STILL COVERED UNDER WARRANTY) AS I FELT THAT IT WASN'T RUNNING PROPERLY AND IT WAS MAKING WEIRD NOISES THEY COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM (I MADE THE DEALERSHIP PROVIDE ME WITH A CAR FAX REPORT AS I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE AS A DEMO). JUST LAST WEEK, 4,000 MILES AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRED THE NOISES GOT WORSE AND I DISCOVERED BOTH REAR WHEEL BEARINGS WERE BAD ALONG WITH BOTH REAR TIE RODS. I CONTACTED CORP. VOLVO AND THEY AGREED TO COVER A LITTLE OVER 50% OF THE ENTIRE REPAIRS. I AM CONCERNED BECAUSE WHILE I WAS RESEARCHING OVER THE INTERNET I DISCOVERED THAT THERE ARE SEVERAL PEOPLE WITH THE SAME CAR THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. I EVEN RECEIVED CONFIRMATION FROM THE DEALERSHIP THAT MY SPECIFIC VEHICLE IS KNOWN FOR THIS PROBLEM. I FOUND ON YOUR WEBSITE THAT THE TIE ROD ASSEMBLY WAS A RECALL FOR MY VEHICLE (06V-155). IF VOLVO REPLACED THIS PART AS RECALL ON MY VEHICLE WHY WOULD THEY GO BAD AGAIN IN SUCH A SHORT TIME FRAME? WOULD A DEFECTIVE TIE ROD CAUSE WEAR AND TEAR ON THE WHEEL BEARINGS? I AM CONCERNED THIS IS GOING TO HAPPEN TO OTHER CONSUMERS OR EVEN WORSE THIS DEFECT MAY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT? I DID NOT FEEL THAT I SHOULD BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY OF THE REPAIRS AND I HOPE THAT OTHER CONSUMERS IN MY POSITION WOULD NOT HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS AS IT DOES APPEAR TO BE A KNOWN AND COMMON PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP RESEARCH THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds