Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO XC90 - 2006 VOLVO XC90 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2006 VOLVO XC90

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 VOLVO XC90. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 VOLVO XC90, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (3) Steering (2) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

3/19/2007 - ALISO VIEJO, CA
ON JANUARY 29, 2007 I TOOK MY 2006 VOLVO XC90 2WD TO THE VOLVO DEALER FOR THE 15,000 MILE SCHEDULED SERVICE TO INCLUDE THE SCHEDULED TIRE ROTATION AND BALANCE. THE CAR HAD 14,764 MILES. THE SERVICE ADVISOR CALLED LATER IN THE DAY TO STATE THAT (1) I NEEDED FRONT BRAKE PADS, AND (2) NEEDED FOUR NEW TIRES BECAUSE THE ORIGINAL EQUIPMENT TIRES WERE COMPLETELY WORN OUT. WHEN I ASKED WHY THOSE ITEMS WERE NEEDED, HE TOLD ME (1) THE FRONT BRAKE PADS WEAR EARLY BECAUSE THEY AREN'T LARGE ENOUGH TO SUPPORT THE WEIGHT OF THE CAR, AND (2) THE ORIGINAL 17" PIRELLII SCORPION ZERO TIRES ARE A PERFORMANCE TIRE AND "TOO SOFT" FOR THE VEHICLE AND THUS WEAR OUT PREMATURELY. HE ESTIMATED I HAD ABOUT 1 OR 2 MM OF TREAD LEFT, AND ADVISED ME NOT TO DRIVE IN THE RAIN. I SPOKE TO THE VOLVO DEALER SERVICE MANAGER THE SAME DAY WHO SAID HE WOULD LOOK INTO GETTING ME 4 NEW TIRES FREE FROM PIRELLI AS A ONE-TIME "GOODWILL" GESTURE. ON JANUARY 30, 2007, THE VOLVO SERVICE MANAGER CALLED TO SAY THAT BECAUSE MY CAR WAS UNDER 15,000 MILES PIRELLI HAD AGREED TO REPLACE ALL 4 TIRES FREE. THE 17" TIRES NEEDED TO BE ORDERED AND WOULD ARRIVE IN 4-6 WEEKS. THE SERVICE MANAGER ASSURED ME THAT MY CAR WAS SAFE TO DRIVE UNTIL THE NEW TIRES WERE INSTALLED. ON MARCH 18, 2007 I NOTICED THAT THE TREAD HAD COMPLETELY WORN AWAY ON BOTH BACK TIRES, AND BELT IS SHOWING THROUGH. ON MARCH 19, 2007 I CALLED THE VOLVO DEALER TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS THE STATUS OF MY NEW PIRELLI TIRES AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WERE NO 17" PIRELLI TIRES IN STOCK, AND THEY HAD TO BE SPECIAL ORDERED. I TOLD THE SERVICE SCHEDULER THAT THE CAR IS UNDRIVABLE BECAUSE THE TIRES ARE COMPLETELY BALD. I AM STILL WAITING FOR THE VOLVO DEALER TO CALL ME BACK.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL

3/7/2007 - BROOKLYN, NY
3/7/2007. 2006 VOLVO X90. CONTACT HAS A REAR BACK UP SENSOR AND SIRRIUS RADIO AND BLUETOOTH PHONE INSTALLED CONTACT STATES THAT THE REAR SENSOR WOULD GO OFF FOR LONG PERIODS WHEN NOTHING WAS VISIBLY NEAR THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED THAT SOMETIMES THE REAR BACK UP SENSOR WOULD NOT RESPOND AT ALL WHEN AN OBJECT WAS NEAR THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED HE STRUCK A WOODEN POLE THAT WAS INVISIBLE THROUGH THE REAR VIEW OR SIDE MIRRORS. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE SENSOR, BUT THERE WAS A 20 SECOND DELAY AFTER IGNITION START UP. IT WAS NEVER MENTIONED TO THE CONSUMER THAT THE BLUETOOTH WOULD OVERRIDE THE SENSOR NOR WAS HE TOLD ABOUT THE 20 SECOND DELAY.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: BACK UP ALARM

3/7/2007 - BROOKLYN, NY
3/7/2007. 2006 VOLVO X90. CONTACT HAS A REAR BACK UP SENSOR AND SIRRIUS RADIO AND BLUETOOTH PHONE INSTALLED CONTACT STATES THAT THE REAR SENSOR WOULD GO OFF FOR LONG PERIODS WHEN NOTHING WAS VISIBLY NEAR THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED THAT SOMETIMES THE REAR BACK UP SENSOR WOULD NOT RESPOND AT ALL WHEN AN OBJECT WAS NEAR THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER STATED HE STRUCK A WOODEN POLE THAT WAS INVISIBLE THROUGH THE REAR VIEW OR SIDE MIRRORS. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE SENSOR, BUT THERE WAS A 20 SECOND DELAY AFTER IGNITION START UP. IT WAS NEVER MENTIONED TO THE CONSUMER THAT THE BLUETOOTH WOULD OVERRIDE THE SENSOR NOR WAS HE TOLD ABOUT THE 20 SECOND DELAY.

View Details

OTHER

1/17/2007 - BRIDGEWATER, NJ
A COLLEAGUE AND I OFTEN CARPOOL TO WORK. SHE PICKED ME UP IN HER NEW VOLVO VAN - PURCHASED FROM DEALER IN LATE 2006. THE COLLEAGUE, GOT OUT TO CHAT WITH MY SISTER WHILE I GATHERED THE THINGS I NEEDED TO TAKE TO WORK. THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW WAS HALF-WAY OPEN BECAUSE IT HAD BEEN A MILD JANUARY DAY IN NJ. THE DOOR, THOUGH, WAS LOCKED, AND I WANTED TO GET INSIDE THE CAR READY TO BE ON OUR WAY. I LEANED MY HEAD INSIDE AND PUSHED THE BUTTON I THOUGHT WAS THE DOOR LOCK. INSTEAD, I ACTIVATED THE POWER WINDOW WHICH CONTINUED TO CLOSE ON MY NECK EVEN AFTER I RELEASED IT. I JUST BARELY FIGURED OUT WHAT WAS HAPPENING AND SLIPPED MY HEAD OUT IN TIME. I AM AFRAID PEOPLE WILL BE INJURED. ISN'T THERE A SAFETY FEATURE TO PREVENT WINDOWS FROM CLOSING AUTOMATICALLY? HAS THE FEATURE BEEN DISABLED ON SOME CARS? BAD IDEA!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

11/21/2006 - MISSION, TX
MY 2006 XC90 HAS BEEN STALLING WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY. IT IS VERY ALARMING AND DANGEROUS. THE FUEL PUMP AND MULTIPLE ELECTRONIC COMPONENTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED THREE TIMES.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: WARNING LIGHT/DEVICES

10/3/2006 - COLLEGEVILLE, PA
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE MANUFACTURER INSTALLED THE WRONG SIZE TIRES ON THE VEHICLE CAUSING THE TIRES TO WEAR PREMATURELY. THE SERVICE DEALER ORDERED A NEW SET OF TIRES IN A SMALLER SIZE. THE WHEEL BALL BEARINGS ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED AFTER A KNOCKING SOUND WAS DETECTED. THE SERVICE DEALER DETERMINED THIS WAS DUE TO NOT ENOUGH GREASE IN THE WHEELS. THE CONTACT ALSO EXPRESSED CONCERN OVER THE SEAT BELT WARNING INDICATOR, WHICH WILL ONLY ACTIVATE AND ILLUMINATE AS THE VEHICLE STARTS AND WILL NOT STAY ON FOR THE RIDE DURATION IF THE SEAT BELT IS NOT WORN.

View Details

WHEELS

10/3/2006 - COLLEGEVILLE, PA
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE MANUFACTURER INSTALLED THE WRONG SIZE TIRES ON THE VEHICLE CAUSING THE TIRES TO WEAR PREMATURELY. THE SERVICE DEALER ORDERED A NEW SET OF TIRES IN A SMALLER SIZE. THE WHEEL BALL BEARINGS ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED AFTER A KNOCKING SOUND WAS DETECTED. THE SERVICE DEALER DETERMINED THIS WAS DUE TO NOT ENOUGH GREASE IN THE WHEELS. THE CONTACT ALSO EXPRESSED CONCERN OVER THE SEAT BELT WARNING INDICATOR, WHICH WILL ONLY ACTIVATE AND ILLUMINATE AS THE VEHICLE STARTS AND WILL NOT STAY ON FOR THE RIDE DURATION IF THE SEAT BELT IS NOT WORN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/9/2006 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
I BOUGHT A 2006 VOLVO XC90 OCEAN RACE (LIMITED EDITION) SUV ON 3/21/06. THE MORNING OF 3/25/06, MY CAR WOULD NOT START. VOLVO ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE JUMP STARTED THE VEHICLE, WHICH I THEN DROVE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE BATTERY TESTED FINE, AND THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO ME. ON 4/27/06, AGAIN THE CAR WOULD NOT START. VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO ME ON 4/29, NO-CHARGE INVOICE SAYS "REPLACE ENGINE MANAGEMENT AND STARTER RELAYS. RECHECKED NUMEROUS TIMES, O.K." CAR AGAIN FAILED TO START 5/3/06. IT IS NOW 5/9 AND 'SPECIAL' VOLVO FIELD TECH SEEM CLUELESS AS TO THE PROBLEM. THEY CLAIM TO HAVE CHECKED "EVERYTHING THOROUGHLY", AND NOW SAY THEY WANT TO PUT 20 -40 MILES ON MY NEW VEHICLE, ATTEMPTING TO "RECREATE THE DEAD BATTERY SCENARIO". SOUNDS MIGHTY DESPERATE AND ILLOGICAL, CONSIDERING THE CAR INTERMITTENTLY AND UNPREDICTABLY FAILED TO START ONLY AFTER 10-24 HOURS OF BEING PARKED. I FEEL THAT ALL THAT $ I SPENT HAS PROVIDED ME WITH LITTLE MORE THAN VARIOUS LOANER CARS, TRIPS TO AND FROM THE DEALERSHIP, MAJOR INCONVENIENCES, HEADACHES, AND A GROWING UNEASINESS WITH VOLVO'S RELIABILITY AND SERVICE TECHS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds