Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET AVEO - 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 209 complaints filed for the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (80) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (12) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (49) Exterior Lighting (28) Power Train (14) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (4) Structure (8) Visibility (5)
Engine (10) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (3) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (2)

Pages:  
<<  15  16  17  18  19  20  21 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

10/5/2007 - SUNNYVALE, CA
CURRENT MODEL CHEVROLET AVEO RENTED FROM ENTERPRISE CAR RENTAL CHICAGO OFFICE. ONLY CAR I'VE EVER DRIVEN WITH ACCELERATOR PEDAL HIGHER FROM THE FLOOR THAN BRAKE PEDAL. ACCELERATOR ALSO VERY CLOSE TO BRAKE PEDAL. IN PROCESS OF MOVING FOOT TO BRAKE, IT WAS DIFFICULT NOT TO MAKE CONTACT WITH ACCELERATOR. ON ONE OCCASION, CONTACT WAS ACCIDENTALLY MADE WITH THE ACCELERATOR WHEN ATTEMPTING TO BRAKE AND THE CAR LUNGED INTO TRAFFIC FROM PARKING LOT. BECAUSE OF VIGILANCE OF OTHER DRIVER, AN ACCIDENT WAS AVOIDED, BUT NARROWLY. ASSUMING NOT A SAMPLE DEFECT, THIS APPEARS TO BE DESIGN FLAW. UPDATED 12/12/07

View Details

PARKING BRAKE

9/18/2007 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I HAD STATED MY 2007 CHEVY AVEO, PULLED THE PARKING BRAKE VERY TIGHT. WHEN I RETURNED THE CAR HAD ROLLED DOWN THE DRIVE AND INTO A NEIGHBORS TREE. MY FIRST THOUGHT WAS, DUH, I DIDN'T PULL THE BRAKE. I GOT IN THE CAR, AND THE BRAKE WAS NOT ONLY PULLED, BUT WAS ONLY 1 CLICK AWAY FROM BEING FULLY ENGAGED. THE DRIVEWAY MY CAR WAS ON, WAS NO MORE THAN A 10-15 DEGREE ANGEL, THE CAR WAS NOT LOADED WITH A LOT OF EXCESS WEIGHT. AGAIN THE PARKING BRAKE WAS FULLY ENGAGED. WHY IN THE WORLD DID THIS SIMPLE PART FAIL? IT SEEMS TO WORK NOW, BUT THAT SECOND IT FAILED. MY CAR WAS ONLY DAMAGED IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED FROM A ROLLING AVEO THAT WAS IN PARK. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

PARKING BRAKE

9/18/2007 - CARMEL, IN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. WHILE PARKED IN NEUTRAL, THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WAS APPLIED AND THE VEHICLE MOVED APPROXIMATELY 30 FEET. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR ALSO FELL OFF OF THE VEHICLE. THE ROAD CONDITIONS WERE NORMAL. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BY A DEALER. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 6,003. UPDATED 01/11/08. THE CONSUMER STATED AFTER THE INCIDENT, HE DISCOVERED THE PARKING BRAKE WAS STILL ENGAGED. UPDATED

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

9/4/2007 - COLUMBIA , MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WOULD NOT ACTIVATE WHEN HIS WIFE WAS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. HIS WIFE WEIGHS APPROXIMATELY 140 POUNDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, HOWEVER, THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 3,000. UPDATED 03-31-08

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/30/2007 - BRANDON, FL
2007 CHEVROLET AVEO THAT MAKES STRANGE NOISES CUSTOMER STATES THAT THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FROM DAY O THE CONSUMER STATED WITHIN THE FIRST FEW MONTHS HE DISCOVERED VEHICLE MAKES STRANGE NOISES AND DOES NOT HAVE MUCH POWER, THE OIL LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND WAS INFORMED BY THE DEALER THAT THE OIL PAN WAS MAKING THE NOISE BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF OIL, BECAUSE THE PAN WAS LEAKING. THE OIL PRESSURE GAUGE WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONSUMER FURTHER STATED THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN AND OUT OF THE REPAIR SHOP AND THIS IS A BRAND NEW VEHICLE WITH LESS THAN 5,000 MILES. THE CONSUMER IS REQUESTING AN UPGRADED REPLACEMENT VEHICLE DUE TO THE FACT THIS VEHICLE IS NOT RELIABLE AND THE REPAIR MECHANIC CAN NOT ASSESS THE PROBLEM OF THE CURRENT VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2007 - TOBY HANNA, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE FOLLOWING DAY AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE WAS NOTICED WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH. HER HUSBAND, WHO WEIGHS OVER 200 LBS, CANNOT ENABLE THE SENSOR. SHE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THE DEALER STATED THAT IT MAY BE A MANUFACTURER DEFECT. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 205 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

8/18/2007 - CAIRO, EGYPT, 00
I BOUGHT A CHEVROLET AVEO ONE MONTH AGO FROM A DEALER IN EGYPT, AND WHEN I WAS MAKING A TURN ON THE HIGHWAY , I USED THE BRAKES SLIGHTLY AND WHAT HAPPENED IS THAT THE CAR BEGAN MOVING ON ITS LEFT SIDE , THEN FLIPPED OVER TWO TIMES ON THE ROAD. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THE AIRBAGS DIDN'T OPEN, I WAS INJURED ... WHEN I WENT TO THE CERTIFIED DEALER , HE TOLD ME THAT THIS CAR DOESN'T HAVE AIRBAGS, WHILE ALL THE BROCHURES ON THE NET AND ON CHEVROLET'S SITE SAY THAT FRONTAL AIRBAGS IS A STANDARD FEATURE IN THE CAR.. THE OTHER PROBLEM IS THAT DURING THE BRAKE, THE TIRES LOCKED WHICH MADE THE CAR MOVE BY ITS SIDE RATHER THAN DOING THE BRAKE, AND I WAS TOLD THAT CHEVROLET AVEO LACKS ABS SYSTEM... I WANT TO KNOW THE TRUTH BECAUSE I THINK I WAS DECEIVED IN THE SAFETY OF THIS CAR.. PS. I HAVE THE PICTURES OF THE CRASH..

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

7/18/2007 - PEMBROKE, MA
PASSENGER'S SIDE AIR-BAG WILL NOT ACTIVATE WITH PASSENGER OVER 100 POUNDS IN SEAT. TURNING OFF AND RESTARTING THE CAR CORRECTS THE PROBLEM. DEALER CHECKED AND FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH SYSTEM, (NO FAULT HISTORY IN COMPUTER.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

6/20/2007 - KAYESVILLE, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET AVEO. THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG LIGHT REMAINS ILLUMINATED WHEN A PASSENGER IS IN THE SEAT. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WERE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ARE LOOKING INTO POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 543.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/8/2007 - PENDLETON, IN
MY MOTHER WAS KILLED IN A 1 CAR ACCIDENT OUTSIDE TALLAHASSEE, FL ON I10 ON 8 MAY 2007. SHE WENT INTO THE MEDIAN AND HIT TREES HEAD-ON. THE POSTED SPEED LIMIT IS 70 MPH AND THE FHP ON THE SCENE INDICATED SHE APPLIED HER BRAKES FROM THE TIME SHE LEFT THE PAVEMENT UNTIL SHE HIT THE TREES. SHE DIED 6 DAYS LATER OF A BROKEN NECK AND MULTIPLE INTERNAL INJURIES. SHE WAS DRIVING A 6 WEEK OLD 2007 CHEV AVEO WITH FRONT AND SIDE AIR BAGS. NONE OF THESE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. I TRULY BELIEVE SHE WOULD HAVE SURVIIVED THIS ACCIDENT IF THE FRONT AIR BAGS HAD DEPLOYED. FROM EVERYTHING I HAVE READ, THIS IS THE PERFECT SCENARIO FOR FRONT AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. ARE THERE SIMILAIR COMPLAINTS AGAINST GM FOR THE 2007 CHEV AVEO?

View Details
Pages:  <<  15  16  17  18  19  20  21 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds