Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 300 - 2008 CHRYSLER 300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 103 complaints filed for the 2008 CHRYSLER 300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHRYSLER 300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHRYSLER 300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (13) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (36) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (13) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (5) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/7/2013 - WORCESTER, MA
I WAS GOING DOWN A SIDE STREET BY MY HOUSE AND I WENT OVER A LITTLE BUMP IN THE ROAD AND SURPRISINGLY MY WINDSHIELDS WENT ON! I PULLED OVER WITH MY HUSBAND AND WE COULDN'T SHUT THEM OFF! HE LOOKED IT UP IN THE DRIVERS MANUAL TO NO AVAIL SO WE DROVE IT OVER TO OUR LOCAL GARAGE ON A BEAUTIFUL DAY WITH THE WIPERS GOING. THE GUYS SAID THE ONLY THING THEY COULD DO IS GO ON THE TOP ON THE BATTERY AND PULL THE FUSE..SO THAT'S WHAT I HAD TO DO TO USE THEM. ONCE YOU PUT THE FUSE IN, THEY DO NOT STOP. I GOT A DIAGNOSTIC, RIP OFF THERE, CHARGED WAY TO MUCH,, THEY SAID THE WIPER MOTOR HAD TO BE REPLACED..IT WAS AND NOTHING GOT FIXED..SO I WENT TO A CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP WHERE I KNEW I'D BE PAYING $$$ BUT IT HAD TO BE DONE...PAID FOR ANOTHER DIAGNOSTIC, THEY SAID IT WAS SOMETHING THAT STARTED WITH A TI? WISH I HAD THE PAPER WITH ME...SO THEY CHARGED $547 TO DO 3 HOURS OR WORK AND ONLY HALF FIXED IT..BELIEVE IT OR NOT IT IS NOW 10/2013! STILL NOT FIXED...CHRYSLER NOW SAID THEY'D HAVE TO PULL OUT THE DASHBOARD AND IT MAY COST ANOTHER $400 AND YOU KNOW WHAT IT WILL BE?! A $20 RELAY SWITCH I BET! BOY I GOT BURNED ON THIS LEMON..OH THERE'S MORE LET ME MAKE ANOTHER COMPLAINT!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/27/2013 - PLANO, TX
MY CAR HAS BEEN CUTTING OFF WHILE DRIVING. IT HAPPENED ABOUT 5 TIMES THIS YEAR. THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT WAS A WAKE UP CALL THAT I COULD NOT IGNORE. I WAS GOING ABOUT 15MPH MAKING A LEFT TURN ON TO A BUSY STREET FROM ANOTHER BUSY STREET AND BEFORE I COULD COMPLETE THE TURN IT CUT OFF WITH CARS BEHIND ME AND TO MY LEFT AND RIGHT. I HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE CAR AND STARTED TO VEER INTO THE OCCUPIED RIGHT LANE. I HAD MY TOO YOUNG DAUGHTERS WITH ME AND IT WAS VERY SCARY. I WAS ABLE TO CUT THE CAR BACK ON IMMEDIATELY BUT THIS WAS UNSAFE. THE OTHER TIMES I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT AND DID NOT HAVE TO USE THE WHEEL TO STEER. I HAD NO IDEA THAT IF THE CAR CUTS OFF THE STEERING GOES WITH IT. WE TOOK THE CAR TO CHRYSLER WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE IT, I THEN TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE IT. HE KEPT THE CAR FOR ABOUT 3 DAYS TO SEE IF HE COULD REPLICATE THE ISSUE - HE COULDN'T. THERE WAS ANOTHER CHRYSLER 300 MY MECHANIC SAID JUST GOT DROPPED OFF WITH THE VERY SAME ISSUE. I CALLED CHRYSLER WHO SAID TO TAKE IT BACK IN AND THEY WILL WORK WITH US TO SEE WHAT THE ISSUE IS. I WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW BECAUSE I AM NOT CONFIDENT IT WILL GET FIXED AND I BELIEVE THIS POSES A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE PUBLIC. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS BECAUSE OTHERS MAY IGNORE IT AT FIRST LIKE I DID. BUT WHEN MY YOUNG GIRLS WHERE IN THE CAR AND I HAD NO CONTROL, I HAD TO TAKE ACTION.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/27/2013 - PLANO, TX
MY CAR HAS BEEN CUTTING OFF WHILE DRIVING. IT HAPPENED ABOUT 5 TIMES THIS YEAR. THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT WAS A WAKE UP CALL THAT I COULD NOT IGNORE. I WAS GOING ABOUT 15MPH MAKING A LEFT TURN ON TO A BUSY STREET FROM ANOTHER BUSY STREET AND BEFORE I COULD COMPLETE THE TURN IT CUT OFF WITH CARS BEHIND ME AND TO MY LEFT AND RIGHT. I HAD NO CONTROL OVER THE CAR AND STARTED TO VEER INTO THE OCCUPIED RIGHT LANE. I HAD MY TOO YOUNG DAUGHTERS WITH ME AND IT WAS VERY SCARY. I WAS ABLE TO CUT THE CAR BACK ON IMMEDIATELY BUT THIS WAS UNSAFE. THE OTHER TIMES I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT AND DID NOT HAVE TO USE THE WHEEL TO STEER. I HAD NO IDEA THAT IF THE CAR CUTS OFF THE STEERING GOES WITH IT. WE TOOK THE CAR TO CHRYSLER WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE IT, I THEN TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE IT. HE KEPT THE CAR FOR ABOUT 3 DAYS TO SEE IF HE COULD REPLICATE THE ISSUE - HE COULDN'T. THERE WAS ANOTHER CHRYSLER 300 MY MECHANIC SAID JUST GOT DROPPED OFF WITH THE VERY SAME ISSUE. I CALLED CHRYSLER WHO SAID TO TAKE IT BACK IN AND THEY WILL WORK WITH US TO SEE WHAT THE ISSUE IS. I WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW BECAUSE I AM NOT CONFIDENT IT WILL GET FIXED AND I BELIEVE THIS POSES A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE PUBLIC. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS BECAUSE OTHERS MAY IGNORE IT AT FIRST LIKE I DID. BUT WHEN MY YOUNG GIRLS WHERE IN THE CAR AND I HAD NO CONTROL, I HAD TO TAKE ACTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/9/2013 - PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL
MY VEHICLE WOULD NOT START ON 8/6/13. IT WAS TAKEN TO THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP ON NORTHLAKE BLVD IN LAKE PARK, FL. ON 8/9/13 I WAS TOLD THE CAR NEEDED A WIN MODULE AND IT WOULD TAKE APPPROX. TWO WEEKS TO COME IN, THAT IT WAS ON BACK ORDER. I ASKED IF IT WAS BECAUSE THEY WERE REPLACING SO MANY AND WAS TOLD NO, IT WAS BECAUSE "TOO MANY PEOPLE ARE REPLACING THEM UNNECESSARILY", I ASKED IF THEY HAD A LOANER CAR SINCE IT WAS NOT OUR FAULT THAT IT WOULD TAKE SO LONG TO GET THE PART AND WE COULD NOT AFFORD A RENTAL, THAT WE WERE A THREE CAR FAMILY DOWN TO ONLY ONE CAR. I WAS TOLD NO THEY DO NOT SUPPLY LOANER CARS OR REIMBURSEMENT ON A RENTAL CAR. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT IF A PART IS TAKING THAT LONG TO GET IT MUST BE BECAUSE THEY ARE HAVING TO REPLACE SO MANY. I SEE ANOTHER COMPLAINT ON HERE FOR THE EXACT SAME THING!!! I ALSO GOOGLED IT AND THERE ARE MANY PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. I WOULD NOT HAVE KNOWN TO FILE A COMPLAINT IF A FRIEND HADN'T TOLD ME ABOUT THIS SO CHANCES ARE THE OTHERS THAT ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM DON'T KNOW TO FILE A COMPLAINT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2013 - WICHITA FALLS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND A LOUD SQUEALING AND GRINDING NOISE WAS HEARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE FRONT BRAKE PADS WERE REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE IGNITION MODULE HAD FAILED AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PART WAS ON BACKORDER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE PART. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2013 - WICHITA FALLS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND A LOUD SQUEALING AND GRINDING NOISE WAS HEARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THE PASSENGER AND DRIVER SIDE FRONT BRAKE PADS WERE REPLACED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE IGNITION MODULE HAD FAILED AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE PART WAS ON BACKORDER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE PART. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/10/2013 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
MY VEHICLE WOULD NOT START ON 6/14/2013 IT WAS TOWED TO THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP (9600 ATLANTIC BLVD. JACKSONVILLE, FL (904) 721-6888) ON 6/14/2013 THIS WAS AFTER HOURS. ON 6/14/2013 I WAS TOLD THAT THE CAR NEEDED A WIN MODULE AND IT WOULD TAKE THREE WEEKS TO COME IN. WHEN ASKING FOR A EXACT DATE I WAS TOLD ON 6/18/2013 THAT THE PART WOULD NOT BE IN UNTIL JUY 23 BUT IT MAY COME IN A LITTLE EARLIER. I ASKED ABOUT A RENTAL CAR I WAS TOLD IT WOULD BE A DISCOUNT OF $25 A DAY. AFTER TALKING TO THE MANGER I WAS TOLD TO CALL CHRYSLER CORPORATION TO SEE WHAT COULD BE DONE. AFTER TALKING WITH CHRYSLER I WAS TOLD THAT THE COULD NOT GIVE ME A RENTAL CAR BECAUSE MY WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. THEY TOLD ME ALL THEY COULD DO FOR ME WAS FIND ME A PART. I DID NOT HEAR FROM THEM CONCERNING THIS SITUATION. ON JULY 18, I RECIEVED A CALL FROM LISA FROM THE DEALERSHIP SAYING THAT MY CAR WOULD NOT BE READY UNTIL AUGUST 20 BECAUSE THEY HAVE TO MANUFACTOR THE PART. THEY COULD NOT LOCATE THIS PART ANY WHERE IN JACKSONVILLE. WHEN I ASKED ABOUT A RENTAL CAR OR ANY COMPENSATION NOTHING WAS OFFERED. I WAS ONLY TOLD TO CALL THE CHRYSLER CORPORATION. WHEN CALLING THE CHRYSLER CORPORATION THERE DID NOT TRY TO ASSIST ME THEY STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT OFFER ME A RENTAL CAR OR ANYTHING FOR MY INCONVIENCE. I ASKED TO SPEAK TO A MANGER THEY STATED THEY THE MANAGER WOULD NOT SAY ANYTHING DIFFERENT AND WOULD NOT LET ME SPEAK TO A MANAGER. THIS SITUATION HAS INCONVIENED ME IN MANY WAYS I DON'T HAVE ANY TRANSPORTAION TO GET WHERE I NEED TO BE AND I AM LOSING MONEY . CHRYSLER OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE WHEN YOU CALLING CUSTOMER SERVICE. I AM VERY DISPLEASED WITH CHRYSLER THEY SEEM ONLY TO BE ABOUT MAKEING MONEY AND DOES NOT LOOK OUT FOR CUSTOMERS. IT SEEMS THEY ARE GIVING ME THE RUN AROUND THEY KEEP CHANGING THE DATE MY CAR WILL BE FIXED. IT IS NOT MY FAULT THE ABOUT THE PART BUT I AM BEING PENALIZED FOR THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2013 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
I WAS STOP AT THE LIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGE, I PROCEEDED TO DRIVE AND I HEARD A TERRIBLE NOISE THAT SOUND LIKE A FLAT TIRE. I QUICKLY PULL OFF THE ROAD AND FOUND OUT THE IT WAS MY RADIATOR AND RED FLUID WAS COMING OUT. I FOUND OUT LATER AT THE CHRYSLER DEALER REPAIR SERVICE THAT THE FANS HAD CAME A LOOSE AND PUNCTURE THE RADIATOR. HE STATED THAT SEVERAL OF THE SAME TYPE OF CAR HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE FANS COMING LOOSE AND PUNCTURING THE RADIATOR. THEIR SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THAT PART AND I SHOULD BE REFUNDED THE MONEY I HAD TO SPEND TO GET IT REPAIRED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/29/2013 - MUSKOGEE , OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNALS FAILED INTERMITTENTLY AND CAUSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO RISE ABOVE NORMAL LEVEL WHEN BEING DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM FAILED TO COOL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR THE FAILURES. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC THAT WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A FAILURE CODE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/29/2013 - MUSKOGEE , OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNALS FAILED INTERMITTENTLY AND CAUSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO RISE ABOVE NORMAL LEVEL WHEN BEING DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM FAILED TO COOL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR THE FAILURES. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC THAT WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A FAILURE CODE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds