Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 300 - 2008 CHRYSLER 300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 608 complaints filed for the 2008 CHRYSLER 300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHRYSLER 300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHRYSLER 300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (147) Equipment (2) Power Train (20) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (25)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (477) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (1) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (47) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/24/2016 - SOUTH CHESTERFILED, VA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS) AND 14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE AND PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2016 - SOUTH CHESTERFILED, VA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS) AND 14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE AND PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/22/2016 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
I HAVE HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY CHRYSLER 300, 2008 MODEL WITH MY ENGINE SHUTTING OFF COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING. SINCE 2012, IT HAS HAPPENED TWICE ON THE FREEWAY, ONCE AT A STOP LIGHT, AND AT LEAST 8 OR 9 TIMES WHERE IT REFUSES TO START THE CAR. I TOOK IT IN TO MY CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT THE CAR BRAND NEW (80 MILES, COMING IN FROM ORLANDO, I WAS TOLD) IN 2008. THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE PROBLEM WAS THE TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE), AND I HAD TO PAY $597 FOR THE REPAIR. WHEN MY CAR SHUT OFF ALL BY ITSELF INT HE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY, I HAD ONCOMING TRAFFIC, AND HAD TO MAKE A QUICK SWERVE ONTO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY (SHOULDER) AS QUICKLY AS I COULD WHILE THE TIRES WERE STILL MOVING IN ORDER TO STAY SAFE. THAT WAS SIMPLY DANGEROUS AND WOULD HATE TO SEE OTHERS WHO PERHAPS MAY HAVE CHILDREN IN THEIR CAR GO THROUGH THE SAME EXPERIENCE. THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP STATED:"TIPM INTERNAL FAILURE CAUSING INTEM NO START AND DELAY WHEN START 2.00" THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE THAT HAS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED, AND EVIDENTLY, THERE ARE FORUMS ON THE WEB, AS WELL AS MANY ARTICLES AND USER COMMENTS ON THE SAME ISSUE. KINDLY ADDRESS THIS SAFETY ISSUE WITH URGENCY BEFORE SOMEONE IS HARMED. THANK YOU, [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/22/2016 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
I HAVE HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY CHRYSLER 300, 2008 MODEL WITH MY ENGINE SHUTTING OFF COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING. SINCE 2012, IT HAS HAPPENED TWICE ON THE FREEWAY, ONCE AT A STOP LIGHT, AND AT LEAST 8 OR 9 TIMES WHERE IT REFUSES TO START THE CAR. I TOOK IT IN TO MY CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT THE CAR BRAND NEW (80 MILES, COMING IN FROM ORLANDO, I WAS TOLD) IN 2008. THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE PROBLEM WAS THE TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE), AND I HAD TO PAY $597 FOR THE REPAIR. WHEN MY CAR SHUT OFF ALL BY ITSELF INT HE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY, I HAD ONCOMING TRAFFIC, AND HAD TO MAKE A QUICK SWERVE ONTO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY (SHOULDER) AS QUICKLY AS I COULD WHILE THE TIRES WERE STILL MOVING IN ORDER TO STAY SAFE. THAT WAS SIMPLY DANGEROUS AND WOULD HATE TO SEE OTHERS WHO PERHAPS MAY HAVE CHILDREN IN THEIR CAR GO THROUGH THE SAME EXPERIENCE. THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP STATED:"TIPM INTERNAL FAILURE CAUSING INTEM NO START AND DELAY WHEN START 2.00" THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE THAT HAS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED, AND EVIDENTLY, THERE ARE FORUMS ON THE WEB, AS WELL AS MANY ARTICLES AND USER COMMENTS ON THE SAME ISSUE. KINDLY ADDRESS THIS SAFETY ISSUE WITH URGENCY BEFORE SOMEONE IS HARMED. THANK YOU, [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/11/2016 - SOUTH JORDAN, UT
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/8/2016 - POINT MARION, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED AS THOUGH IT WOULD STALL. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V567000(ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 83,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/7/2016 - YUNKER, NY
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE A AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/3/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNED A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. WHILE THE CONTACT'S SON WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. AS THE VEHICLE WAS BEING COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED INTO A GUARDRAIL. THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER ESCAPED BY KICKING OUT THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW BEFORE THE VEHICLE BECAME ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT WERE AT THE SCENE AND THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED. POLICE AND FIRE REPORTS WERE FILED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION, HOSPITALIZATION, AND REHAB. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. APPROXIMATELY, ONE YEAR AFTER THE FIRE, THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND 15V313000 (AIR BAGS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/3/2016 - SEATTLE, WA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNED A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. WHILE THE CONTACT'S SON WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. AS THE VEHICLE WAS BEING COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED INTO A GUARDRAIL. THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER ESCAPED BY KICKING OUT THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW BEFORE THE VEHICLE BECAME ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT WERE AT THE SCENE AND THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED. POLICE AND FIRE REPORTS WERE FILED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION, HOSPITALIZATION, AND REHAB. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. APPROXIMATELY, ONE YEAR AFTER THE FIRE, THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND 15V313000 (AIR BAGS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 48,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/3/2016 - SAINT JOSEPH, MO
RECENTLY WE BOUGHT A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. A FEW MONTHS AFTER WE GOT IT, IT WOULD NOT START. WE BOUGHT A NEW BATTERY AND A FEW WEEKS AFTER THAT, IT WOULDN'T START. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. NOW, SOMETIMES IT WILL START AND SOMETIMES IT WONT. THERE IS NO CLICKING OR ANYTHING LIKE THAT JUST SILENCE WHEN IT WON'T START. THE HORN WORKS THE LIGHTS WORK AND THE DING THAT LETS YOU KNOW THE DOOR IS OPEN. IT CAN SET FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS AND THEN START RIGHT UP AND A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, NOTHING. I COULDN'T FIND A RECALL ON MY SPECIFIC CAR BUT I KNOW THEY HAVE HAD A LOT OF ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. CAN YOU HELP?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds