Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 300 - 2008 CHRYSLER 300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 125 complaints filed for the 2008 CHRYSLER 300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHRYSLER 300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHRYSLER 300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (13) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (54) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (18) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (5) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2014 - MARLTON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AFTER THE DRIVERS KNEE INADVERTENTLY MADE CONTACT WITH THE IGNITION KEY. IN A SECOND INCIDENT THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED THE SAME DEFECT WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE DEFECT HAD RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

5/18/2014 - DALLAS, TX
I'M COMPLAINING ABOUT THE WIN MODULE, I'VE HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS WITH THIS. NOT KNOWING THAT'S WHAT IT WAS, I WENT OUT AND BOUGHT BATTERIES FOR MY FOBS...WORKED FOR ABOUT A WEEK, MY CAR BEEPS ALL NIGHT LONG SO I TOOK THE BACKS OF THE FOBS SO THAT THE BATTERY WOULD NOT HAVE CONTACT. THAT HELPED WITH THE BEEPING. BUT I HAVE HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR STARTING, HAD TO SIT PLACES UNTIL I COULD GET IT STARTED. SO I GO ON CHRYSLER S PAGE ONLY TO READ ABOUT PROBLEMS WITH THE WIN MODULE, AND IT STATES THAT THERE"S MANY MANY OF THE 2008 CHRYSLER 300 WITH THIS PROBLEM. AND IT ALSO STATES THAT IF IT FAIL WHILE DRIVING THE CAR COULD SHUT OFF. MY COMPLAINT IS IF CHRYSLER KNOW THIS WHY DON'T THEY HAVE A RECALL ON THE CARS. SO MANY PEOPLE COMPLAINING THAT THEIR CAR WANT START, BUT WHEN IT'S TAKEN INTO THE SHOP, THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER, AND THEN WHEN THE PART COME IN AND INSTALLED YOU HAVE TO GET ANOTHER KEY FOB AND IT PROGRAMMED TO THAT MODULE. THAT KEY IS A TOTAL OF $289.00. I WAS QUOTED, AND MOST PEOPLE HAVE 2 KEYS. THAT PRICE IS $289.00 EACH. THIS IS NOT RIGHT, IF IT'S THAT MANY COMPLAINT IT SHOULD BE RECALLED. THE PRICE FOR REPAIRS WAS $760.00 PLUS 289.00 TWICE AND NOT TO MENTION CAR RENTAL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/24/2014 - LUBBOCK, TX
MY VEHICLE SHUTS OFF WHEN AT A STOP SIGN OR LIGHT. PRETTY MUCH WHEN THE MOTOR IS IDLE IT TURNS OFF. IT ALSO FEELS LIKE IT STUTTERS WHILE TRYING TO SPEED UP. I HAVE READ ONLINE THAT MANY CHRYSLER 300 HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. ITS CAUSING ME LOTS OF PROBLEMS WHILE IM DRIVING BECAUSE SOMETIMES AT STOP LIGHTS RIGHT BEFORE THE LIGHTS CHANGES TO GREEN MY CAR WILL TURN OFF SO I HAVE TO QUICKLY TRY TO TURN IT BACK ON TO TAKE OFF.

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2014 - TROUTDALE, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED AFTER REFUELING ON EIGHT SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/3/2014 - CITRA, FL
WHILE DRIVING SLOW, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND WENT ALL THE WAY DOWN WITH NO BRAKING EFFECT. A COMPLETE LOSS OF HYDRAULIC RESISTANCE AND STOPPING CAPACITY. IF THIS VEHICLE HAD BEEN ON AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY AT 70 MPH WITH AN EMERGENCY SIMI TRUCK PANIC STOPPING IN FRONT OF THIS VEHICLE, THE DRIVER WOULD NOT SURVIVE. WITH THIS HAPPENING TO THIS VEHICLE THIS MAY BE A RARE EVENT, BUT IF I DID NOT REPORT THIS , IT WOULD BE NEGLECT ON MY PART.

View Details

ENGINE

3/12/2014 - LEE'S SUMMIT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND IT FUNCTIONED PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 56,500.

View Details

ENGINE

3/4/2014 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
ON 2/27/2014 I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREE WAY AND MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING. IT WAS VERY DANGEROUS DUE TO THE FACT THAT IT WAS POURING RAIN OUT, AND I HAD ZERO VISIBILITY ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAD TO PULL OVER ON TO THE SHOULDER, WHERE I WAITED APPROXIMATELY 30 MINUTES BEFORE I WAS ABLE TO GET MY WIPERS TO WORK AGAIN. ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK LATER THAT DAY, AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY ONCE AGAIN, MY CAR COMPLETELY TURNED OFF LEAVING ME STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREE WAY. I WAS ABLE TO GET MY CAR STARTED AND GET HOME SAFELY , ALTHOUGH I WAS TERRIFIED. TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALER ON 3/1/2014. TECH STATED IT WAS A BAD WIPER MOTOR, PART REPLACED AND STILL WIPERS WILL NOT WORK. REPLACED FUSES AND RELAYS AS RECOMMENDED PER DEALER TECH, STILL WIPERS WILL NOT WORK I HAVE SPENT OVER 500$ IN THESE REPAIRS AND STILL MY WIPERS ARE NOT WORKING. NOW THE DEALER IS SAYING THAT I HAVE A BAD TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE). HOWEVER, I AM UNABLE TO GET MY CAR FIXED SINCE THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER. APPARENTLY CHRSYLER HAS KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR A WHILE NOW SINCE THE PART IS ON A NATIONAL BACK ORDER. I BELIEVE CHRYSLER SHOULD RECALL ALL VEHICLES WITH A DEFECTIVE TIPM. THE DEALER HAS GIVEN ME AN ESTIMATE OF 1200$ FOR REPLACING THE TIPM. IT'S VERY AGGRAVATING SINCE NOW I MUST PAY FOR A RENTAL CAR FOR WHO KNOWS HOW LONG SINCE NOT EVEN DEALERS KNOW WHEN THE PART WILL BE AVAILABLE. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSLER, DODGE OR JEEP PRODUCT AGAIN. AFTER DOING SOME EXTENSIVE RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT SEVERAL MODELS HAVE THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/4/2014 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
ON 2/27/2014 I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREE WAY AND MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING. IT WAS VERY DANGEROUS DUE TO THE FACT THAT IT WAS POURING RAIN OUT, AND I HAD ZERO VISIBILITY ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAD TO PULL OVER ON TO THE SHOULDER, WHERE I WAITED APPROXIMATELY 30 MINUTES BEFORE I WAS ABLE TO GET MY WIPERS TO WORK AGAIN. ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK LATER THAT DAY, AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY ONCE AGAIN, MY CAR COMPLETELY TURNED OFF LEAVING ME STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREE WAY. I WAS ABLE TO GET MY CAR STARTED AND GET HOME SAFELY , ALTHOUGH I WAS TERRIFIED. TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALER ON 3/1/2014. TECH STATED IT WAS A BAD WIPER MOTOR, PART REPLACED AND STILL WIPERS WILL NOT WORK. REPLACED FUSES AND RELAYS AS RECOMMENDED PER DEALER TECH, STILL WIPERS WILL NOT WORK I HAVE SPENT OVER 500$ IN THESE REPAIRS AND STILL MY WIPERS ARE NOT WORKING. NOW THE DEALER IS SAYING THAT I HAVE A BAD TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE). HOWEVER, I AM UNABLE TO GET MY CAR FIXED SINCE THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER. APPARENTLY CHRSYLER HAS KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR A WHILE NOW SINCE THE PART IS ON A NATIONAL BACK ORDER. I BELIEVE CHRYSLER SHOULD RECALL ALL VEHICLES WITH A DEFECTIVE TIPM. THE DEALER HAS GIVEN ME AN ESTIMATE OF 1200$ FOR REPLACING THE TIPM. IT'S VERY AGGRAVATING SINCE NOW I MUST PAY FOR A RENTAL CAR FOR WHO KNOWS HOW LONG SINCE NOT EVEN DEALERS KNOW WHEN THE PART WILL BE AVAILABLE. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSLER, DODGE OR JEEP PRODUCT AGAIN. AFTER DOING SOME EXTENSIVE RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT SEVERAL MODELS HAVE THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/4/2014 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
ON 2/27/2014 I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREE WAY AND MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING. IT WAS VERY DANGEROUS DUE TO THE FACT THAT IT WAS POURING RAIN OUT, AND I HAD ZERO VISIBILITY ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAD TO PULL OVER ON TO THE SHOULDER, WHERE I WAITED APPROXIMATELY 30 MINUTES BEFORE I WAS ABLE TO GET MY WIPERS TO WORK AGAIN. ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK LATER THAT DAY, AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY ONCE AGAIN, MY CAR COMPLETELY TURNED OFF LEAVING ME STRANDED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREE WAY. I WAS ABLE TO GET MY CAR STARTED AND GET HOME SAFELY , ALTHOUGH I WAS TERRIFIED. TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALER ON 3/1/2014. TECH STATED IT WAS A BAD WIPER MOTOR, PART REPLACED AND STILL WIPERS WILL NOT WORK. REPLACED FUSES AND RELAYS AS RECOMMENDED PER DEALER TECH, STILL WIPERS WILL NOT WORK I HAVE SPENT OVER 500$ IN THESE REPAIRS AND STILL MY WIPERS ARE NOT WORKING. NOW THE DEALER IS SAYING THAT I HAVE A BAD TIPM (TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE). HOWEVER, I AM UNABLE TO GET MY CAR FIXED SINCE THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER. APPARENTLY CHRSYLER HAS KNOWN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM FOR A WHILE NOW SINCE THE PART IS ON A NATIONAL BACK ORDER. I BELIEVE CHRYSLER SHOULD RECALL ALL VEHICLES WITH A DEFECTIVE TIPM. THE DEALER HAS GIVEN ME AN ESTIMATE OF 1200$ FOR REPLACING THE TIPM. IT'S VERY AGGRAVATING SINCE NOW I MUST PAY FOR A RENTAL CAR FOR WHO KNOWS HOW LONG SINCE NOT EVEN DEALERS KNOW WHEN THE PART WILL BE AVAILABLE. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CHRYSLER, DODGE OR JEEP PRODUCT AGAIN. AFTER DOING SOME EXTENSIVE RESEARCH, I HAVE FOUND THAT SEVERAL MODELS HAVE THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/7/2014 - FRESNO, CA
SO I WAS HAVING STARTING ISSUES WITH MY CAR, IT WOULD START WHEN IT WANTED TO.. SO I TOOK MY CAR TO CHRYSLER ON AUGUST 23RD, 2013 TO HAVE THEM DIAGNOSIS THE ISSUE, WELL THEY TOOK A DAY TO DO THAT AND CALLED ME AND TOLD ME THAT IT WAS THE WIRELESS MODULE DEVICE AND THAT IT WOULD TAKE A WEEK TO COME IN AND THEY WOULD CALL ME. A WEEK PASSED AND I HAD TO CALL THEM, AND THAT'S WHEN THEY TOLD ME THAT THE WIRELESS MODULE DEVICE WAS ON BACK ORDER AND THAT THEY WEREN'T SURE WHEN THE PART WOULD BE IN... 8 WEEKS LATER THE PART FINALLY CAME AND THEY ADDED THE PART AND IT STILL WOULDN'T WORK, SO THEY SAID THEY WHERE GOING TO HAVE TO ANOTHER DIAGNOSIS TEST ON IT.. AFTER THAT THEY CALLED ME AND SAID THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO PUT A NEW STARTER AND NEW WIRES ON IT BECAUSE THEY WIRES WERE MELTED AND THEY WOULD HAVE TO CHANGE THEM OUT. OK SO THEY FIXED THAT ISSUE AND THEN SAID IF I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN I WOULD NEED A NEW TIPM MODULE DEVICE.. A FEW WEEKS LATER I STARTED HAVING THE SAME STARTING ISSUES AND NOW IT GETTING WORSE... CHRYSLER WANTS ME TO PAY ANOTHER 1000.00 TO FIX THE TIPM MODULE DEVICE..... I JUST READ ONLINE ABOUT THE LAW SUITE AGAINST CHRYSLER FOR THAT PART FOR MY YEAR AND MODEL..

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds