Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 300 - 2008 CHRYSLER 300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 152 complaints filed for the 2008 CHRYSLER 300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 CHRYSLER 300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 CHRYSLER 300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (14)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Power Train (14) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (75) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/24/2014 - ALLEN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO TURN ON AFTER THE KEY WAS INSERTED INTO THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND BELIEVED THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/23/2014 - DAVIE, FL
I HAD BEEN COMPLAINING FOR 2 YEARS ABOUT A TICKING SOUND IN THE ENGINE. I WAS TOLD BY GINN CHRYSLER THAT IT WAS NOTHING. THE VEHICLE USED TO TRY TO CUT OFF WHILE RUNNING. FINALLY, ON MOTHER'S DAY (2010) JUST LEAVING HARD ROCK HOLLYWOOD CASINO WHILE DRIVING ON THE FLORIDA TURNPIKE AT APPROX. 70MPH; THE ENGINE COMPLETELY CUT OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF HEAVY THRUWAY TRAFFIC. WE WERE LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE CLOSE TO AN OFF RAMP ABD COASTED TO A STOP ON THE SHOULDER OF THE EXIT RAMP.. WE HAD TO REMAIN THERE FOR 3 HOURS UNTIL SOMEONE WAS KIND ENOUGH TO PICK US UP AND TAKE US HOME. MY 83 YEAR OLD MOTHER-IN-LAW HAD TO STAND UP FOR A FEW HOURS UTIL WE WERE PICKED-UP. THE ENGINE HAD TO BE REPLACEDFOR $2450.23 A FEW MONTHS LATER. AFTER RECEIVING THE NEW ENGINE, THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE DIFFICULTY STARTING FOR 4 YEARS. IT SEEMED TO WANT TO CUT OFF AGAIN. I REPORTED THIS TO MASSEY AND DADELAND CHRYSLER AND WAS FINALLY TOLD AFTER A FREE 24 POINT INSPECTION DURING A OIL CHANGE THAH IT WAS THE TIPM. NOW, ON 11/20/2014, I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS THE FOBIK IN A RECALL LETTER. AFTER BEING TOLD OF THE NUMEROUS SAFETY PROBLEMS, I COULD NOT DRIVE THE CAR FOR FEAR OF HARMING THE PUBLIC OR MYSELF AND MY PASSENGERS. I CANNOT DRIVE THIS VEHICLE UNTIL IT IS REPAIRED. I FEEL THAT I SHOULD BE GIVEN A VEHICLE TO DRIVE UTIL SUCH TIME IN THE FUTURE. UNTIL THEN, I DO NOT HAVE MY OWN TRANSPORTATION. I HAVE PAID $33,000 FOR THIS CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - WEST COVINA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIN MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER:14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM).THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,300.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/19/2014 - CATONSVILLE , MD
GETTING OFF OF THE BELTWAY AND THE CAR STOPPED. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL ON THE SIDE AND RESTART THE CAR. IT HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST FOUR OTHER TIMES. ONCE PULLING OUT OF A GAS STATION INTO TRAFFIC, SITTING AT A RED LIGHT AND DRIVING ABOUT 30 MILES AN HOUR ON A RESIDENTIAL ROAD. THIS IS NOT SAFE. CHRYSLER HAS ISSUED A RECALL WITH NO PART ON HAND YET TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND MEANWHILE AN 82 YEAR OLD WOMAN HAS TO DRIVE HER CAR NEVER KNOWING WHEN IT WILL JUST SHUT DOWN. CHRYSLER IS MAKING NO ATTEMPT AT OFFERING RENTAL CARS OR AS I SEE IT GETTING THE PART TO THE DEALERS TO FIX IT. WHY SHOULD THE OWNER INCUR RENTAL FEES BECAUSE THIS CAR IS COMPLETELY UNSAFE TO DRIVE.? I WOULD LIKE SOME ANSWERS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. I CALLED CHRYSLER AND WAS REREAD THE RECALL LETTER AND WAS TOLD NOTHING WOULD BE DONE AND THAT CHRYSLER HAD NO INTENTION OF SUPPLYING ANYONE WITH A RENTAL CAR THAT HAS HAD THE CAR SHUTDOWN WHILE DRIVING IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO START THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE FOR REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000.

View Details

WHEELS

11/18/2014 - MARBLEHEAD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WHEELS WERE DISINTEGRATED DUE TO CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - WENTZVILLE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY FOB FAILED TO START THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

11/18/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND BECAME STUCK. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/17/2014 - BIGLERVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR A RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

11/17/2014 - FREMONT, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 CHRYSLER 300. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN, THE ENGINE STALLED, AND THE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V567000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND BELIEVED THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds