Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2008 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 264 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (179) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (11) Steering (11) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (10) Visibility Wiper (3)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/12/2014 - CARMELA, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHT BULB EXPLODED AND THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS SHUT OFF. AFTER TURNING OFF AND RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS BECAME OPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT BOTH HEADLIGHT CLUSTERS FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/9/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
MY TOYOTA AVALON'S HEADLIGHTS STARTED GOING OFF INTERMITTENTLY AND THEN I NOTICED MY RIGHT HEADLIGHT WAS OUT ALTOGETHER. SINCE IT CAME AND WEN,T I LET IT GO FOR AWHILE BUT NOW IT IS MOST OF THE TIME ON BOTH LOW BEAMS. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM SINCE BOTH LOW BEAMS COULD GO OUT AT THE SAME TIME. TOYOTA RECOGNIZED A DESIGN PROBLEM WITH THE SYSTEM A NUMBER OF YEARS AGO AND EXTENDED THEIR WARRANTY TO 5 YEARS OR 75000 MILES. I NEVER RECEIVED A NOTICE FROM THEM BUT IT COULD BE BECAUSE IT CAME ABOUT AROUND THE TIME I WAS BUYING THE CAR USED. NOW I FIND OUT THAT THE HIGH BEAM CANNOT BE REPLACED WITHOUT CHANGING OUT THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY FOR $1200 FOR EACH SIDE. TOYOTA TELLS ME THEY WILL NOT HELP ME OUT WHATSOEVER AND WANT ME TO FORK OUT $2500 TO FIX A PROBLEM THEIR ENGINEERS CAUSED!!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

11/17/2014 - DECATUR , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS SHUT OFF AND NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/16/2014 - CARMEL, IN
WHILE DRIVING DOWN A REMOTE DARK COUNTY ROAD, FIRST MY HIGH BEAM LAMPS FAILED SIMULTANEOUSLY,THEN APPROXIMATELY FIVE SECONDS MY LEFT LOW BEAM LAMP FAILED. I STOPPED THE CAR, TURNED ALL HEADLAMPS OFF, THEN AFTER FIFTEEN SECONDS, I TURNED THE LOW BEAM LAMPS ON. AFTER A WARM UP PERIOD, THE LOW BEAM LAMPS ILLUMINATED. THE HIGH BEAMS NEVER ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE DAY-TIME RUNNING LAMPS ARE NO LONGER WORKING.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/13/2014 - BLOOMINGTON, IL
I WAS DRIVING IN A RURAL AREA IN ILLINOIS WHERE WE HAVE A LOT OF DEER, SO I FLIPPED ON MY HIGH BEAMS FOR BETTER VISIBILITY. I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR WITH 87,000 MILES ON IT THAT SUMMER AND MAY NOT HAVE EVEN USED THEM YET. THE HIGH BEAMS STAYED ON FOR A FEW SECONDS AND THEN FLASHED AND WENT BACK TO LOW BEAM. I CHECKED THEM UPON ARRIVING HOME AND COULD SEE THAT THEY SHATTERED. I REPLACED THESE WITH BULBS FROM O'REILLY AUTO - USING GLOVES TO AVOID TOUCHING THEM - THESE HIGH BEAMS WERE SELDOM USED BUT WORKED. IT IS NOW NOVEMBER OF 2014 AND THESE ALSO FAILED; DID NOT SHATTER BUT FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. I ASSUME THEY ARE BURNED OUT. I AM CONCERNED THAT I MAY NEVER BE ABLE TO USE THE HIGH BEAMS FOR SAFETY ON THIS OTHERWISE FANTASTIC CAR. I HAVE AVOIDED USING THE HIGH BEAMS EVER SINCE I REPLACED THEM THE FIRST TIME, SO I AM NOT SURE WHEN THEY ACTUALLY QUIT WORKING THIS TIME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/13/2014 - BLOOMINGTON, IL
I WAS DRIVING IN A RURAL AREA IN ILLINOIS WHERE WE HAVE A LOT OF DEER, SO I FLIPPED ON MY HIGH BEAMS FOR BETTER VISIBILITY. I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR WITH 87,000 MILES ON IT THAT SUMMER AND MAY NOT HAVE EVEN USED THEM YET. THE HIGH BEAMS STAYED ON FOR A FEW SECONDS AND THEN FLASHED AND WENT BACK TO LOW BEAM. I CHECKED THEM UPON ARRIVING HOME AND COULD SEE THAT THEY SHATTERED. I REPLACED THESE WITH BULBS FROM O'REILLY AUTO - USING GLOVES TO AVOID TOUCHING THEM - THESE HIGH BEAMS WERE SELDOM USED BUT WORKED. IT IS NOW NOVEMBER OF 2014 AND THESE ALSO FAILED; DID NOT SHATTER BUT FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. I ASSUME THEY ARE BURNED OUT. I AM CONCERNED THAT I MAY NEVER BE ABLE TO USE THE HIGH BEAMS FOR SAFETY ON THIS OTHERWISE FANTASTIC CAR. I HAVE AVOIDED USING THE HIGH BEAMS EVER SINCE I REPLACED THEM THE FIRST TIME, SO I AM NOT SURE WHEN THEY ACTUALLY QUIT WORKING THIS TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/13/2014 - BLOOMINGTON, IL
I WAS DRIVING IN A RURAL AREA IN ILLINOIS WHERE WE HAVE A LOT OF DEER, SO I FLIPPED ON MY HIGH BEAMS FOR BETTER VISIBILITY. I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR WITH 87,000 MILES ON IT THAT SUMMER AND MAY NOT HAVE EVEN USED THEM YET. THE HIGH BEAMS STAYED ON FOR A FEW SECONDS AND THEN FLASHED AND WENT BACK TO LOW BEAM. I CHECKED THEM UPON ARRIVING HOME AND COULD SEE THAT THEY SHATTERED. I REPLACED THESE WITH BULBS FROM O'REILLY AUTO - USING GLOVES TO AVOID TOUCHING THEM - THESE HIGH BEAMS WERE SELDOM USED BUT WORKED. IT IS NOW NOVEMBER OF 2014 AND THESE ALSO FAILED; DID NOT SHATTER BUT FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. I ASSUME THEY ARE BURNED OUT. I AM CONCERNED THAT I MAY NEVER BE ABLE TO USE THE HIGH BEAMS FOR SAFETY ON THIS OTHERWISE FANTASTIC CAR. I HAVE AVOIDED USING THE HIGH BEAMS EVER SINCE I REPLACED THEM THE FIRST TIME, SO I AM NOT SURE WHEN THEY ACTUALLY QUIT WORKING THIS TIME.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/13/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
CONSUMER WRITING IN REGARDS TO 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. STATING THAT THERE IS A CRACK IN THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG COVER. THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THERE WAS A TWO INCH CRACK IN THE UPPER CORNER IN THE SAME AREA, AND A CRACK UNDER IN THE VINYL UNDER THE PASSENGER HEAT AND AIR VENT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/11/2014 - MACON, GA
I DON'T REMEMBER THE EXACT TIME & DATE THIS STARTED, BUT IT IS CONTINUOUS & REPETITIVE. THE HEADLIGHTS CONSISTENTLY TURN OFF WHILE DRIVING. FOR A TRIP OF ABOUT TEN MILES, I CAN EXPECT FOR ONE OR BOTH TO FAIL ABOUT THREE TIMES. IT'S DANGEROUS. I WAS TOLD THAT THE COMPANY HAS SENT NOTIFICATIONS TO THE DEALERS BUT ARE REFUSING TO ADMINISTER A RECALL. THEY OFFERED ME A $750 CREDIT TO HAVE IT REPAIRED. HOWEVER, AS YOU CAN SEE FROM THE MANY PREVIOUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, IT COSTS OVER $2,000 TO FIX IT (AND THAT'S NOT A GUARANTEE). THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW. THEREFORE, IT SHOULD NOT BE AFFECTED BY A WARRANTY. I'M SHOCKED AT THE VOLUME OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE WITH NO ACTIONS BY THE COMPANY. THEY ARE MORALLY (IF NOT ETHICALLY AND LEGALLY) OBLIGATED TO ISSUE A RECALL AND REPAIR THEIR R&D FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/11/2014 - MACON, GA
I DON'T REMEMBER THE EXACT TIME & DATE THIS STARTED, BUT IT IS CONTINUOUS & REPETITIVE. THE HEADLIGHTS CONSISTENTLY TURN OFF WHILE DRIVING. FOR A TRIP OF ABOUT TEN MILES, I CAN EXPECT FOR ONE OR BOTH TO FAIL ABOUT THREE TIMES. IT'S DANGEROUS. I WAS TOLD THAT THE COMPANY HAS SENT NOTIFICATIONS TO THE DEALERS BUT ARE REFUSING TO ADMINISTER A RECALL. THEY OFFERED ME A $750 CREDIT TO HAVE IT REPAIRED. HOWEVER, AS YOU CAN SEE FROM THE MANY PREVIOUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, IT COSTS OVER $2,000 TO FIX IT (AND THAT'S NOT A GUARANTEE). THIS IS A DESIGN FLAW. THEREFORE, IT SHOULD NOT BE AFFECTED BY A WARRANTY. I'M SHOCKED AT THE VOLUME OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE WITH NO ACTIONS BY THE COMPANY. THEY ARE MORALLY (IF NOT ETHICALLY AND LEGALLY) OBLIGATED TO ISSUE A RECALL AND REPAIR THEIR R&D FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds