Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2008 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 251 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (169) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (11) Steering (11) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2014 - ROSEVILLE, CA
WENT TO USE HIGH BEAMS ON DESERT ROAD TOWARDS LANCASTER CA, PUT HIGH BEAMS ON, THEY STAYED ON FOR ABOUT 3 MINUTES THEN ALL FRONT LIGHTING WENT OUT. WENT TO DEALER (ROSEVILLE TOYOTA) TO CHECK ON THE PROBLEM, DEALER SAID THEY WERE NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY EVEN THOUGH TOYOTA KNOWS OF PROBLEM. WILL COST 3,000.00 TO REPAIR WITH REPLACED HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLIES. CAR HAS ONLY 39,000 MILES ON IT AND AN EXTENDED WARRANTY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/20/2014 - ROSEVILLE, CA
WENT TO USE HIGH BEAMS ON DESERT ROAD TOWARDS LANCASTER CA, PUT HIGH BEAMS ON, THEY STAYED ON FOR ABOUT 3 MINUTES THEN ALL FRONT LIGHTING WENT OUT. WENT TO DEALER (ROSEVILLE TOYOTA) TO CHECK ON THE PROBLEM, DEALER SAID THEY WERE NOT COVERED BY WARRANTY EVEN THOUGH TOYOTA KNOWS OF PROBLEM. WILL COST 3,000.00 TO REPAIR WITH REPLACED HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLIES. CAR HAS ONLY 39,000 MILES ON IT AND AN EXTENDED WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/10/2014 - HIALEAH, FL
DECEMBER 2012: I NOTICED A SMALL CRACK AT RIGHT SIDE OF DASHBOARD. BY APRIL 2014 AT LEAST 10 MORE CRACKS APPEARED ON UPPER, LOWER, AND SIDE SURFACES OF DASHBOARD. SOME CRACKS EXTEND THE ENTIRE WIDTH OF THE DASHBOARD AND SOME AROUND THE AIR BAG. I AM CONCERNED THAT IF THERE IS AN AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT; OCCUPANTS COULD BE INJURED BY DASHBOARD DEBRIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/10/2014 - HIALEAH, FL
DECEMBER 2012: I NOTICED A SMALL CRACK AT RIGHT SIDE OF DASHBOARD. BY APRIL 2014 AT LEAST 10 MORE CRACKS APPEARED ON UPPER, LOWER, AND SIDE SURFACES OF DASHBOARD. SOME CRACKS EXTEND THE ENTIRE WIDTH OF THE DASHBOARD AND SOME AROUND THE AIR BAG. I AM CONCERNED THAT IF THERE IS AN AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT; OCCUPANTS COULD BE INJURED BY DASHBOARD DEBRIS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/7/2014 - MUSCLE SHOALS, AL
I HAVE A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. I WAS TRAVELING SEPTEMBER 2, 2014, AT APPROXIMATELY 9:00 P.M. ON HIGHWAY 49 IN ALABAMA. THE CONTROL FOR THE HEADLIGHTS WAS IN THE "ON" POSITION AND THEY BEGAN TO FLICKER AND GREW DIMMER AND DIMMER, UNTIL THEY COMPLETELY WENT OUT. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED THE HEADLIGHT CONTROL KNOB TO THE "AUTO" POSITION AND THE HEADLIGHTS CAME BACK ON. WHEN THE HEADLIGHT CONTROL IS IN THE AUTO POSITION, THE FOG LIGHTS WILL COME ON AND REMAIN ON, REGARDLESS OF THE TIME OF DAY OR NIGHT. HOWEVER,IN THE AUTO POSITION, THE HEADLIGHTS WILL REMAIN OFF UNTIL THE SENSOR DETECTS THE ABSENCE OF DAYLIGHT. THEN THE HEADLIGHTS WILL COME ON AUTOMATICALLY WHILE DRIVING. THANK GOODNESS, THEY OPERATED IN THE AUTO POSITION. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A SHOP WITH A LONG STANDING REPUTATION FOR QUALITY WORKMANSHIP INVOLVING ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. I WAS INFORMED I NEEDED A NEW HID BULB AND BALLAST. THE TOTAL FOR THE PARTS AND LABOR TOTALED $696.95. HE CHECKED THE PASSENGER SIDE AS WELL, WHICH FLICKERED TWICE WITHIN 45 MINUTES. THEY DID NOT NOTICE ANY PROBLEM THE REST OF THE DAY. SHOULD IT BECOME A PROBLEM IN THE NEAR FUTURE. THAT WILL BE ANOTHER $696.95! I HAVE COME ACROSS NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS FROM OWNERS OF THIS MODEL AND DISCUSSIONS SEEKING SOLUTIONS. IT WOULD BE A SHAME FOR SOMEONE TO DIE IN A SITUATION SIMILAR TO THE ONE I EXPERIENCED BECAUSE HE OR SHE PANICKED AND HIT SOMEONE, OR LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/4/2014 - GERMANTOWN, MD
I OWN A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH ON A HIGHWAY, I ATTEMPTED TO TURN ON THE HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS WHICH FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A TOYOTA DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE HIGH BEAM BULBS FAILED IN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY AS A RESULT THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER KNOWS ABOUT THIS DEFECT AND HAS EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO 5 YEARS OR 75000 MILES, WHICHEVER OCCURS EARLIER. MY CAR HAS COMPLETED 5 YEARS, BUT THE MILAGE IS BELOW 75000. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000. THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE ASKED TO REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE PARTS WITH OUT ANY CHARGE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/11/2014 - VENTURA, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON A 2 LANE MOUNTAIN ROAD AT NIGHT I TURNED THE HIGH BEAMS OFF FOR ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND WHEN I TURNED THEM BACK ON THERE WAS A BRIGHT FLASH AND THE HIGH BEAMS NO LONGER WORKED. TOYOTA HAS ISSUED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN THAT READS: "ON SOME 2008-2010 AVALON VEHICLES, THE HIGH BEAM/DRL BULB MAY BECOME INOPERATIVE OR SHATTER. A NEWLY DESIGNED HIGH BEAM/DRL HOUSING ASSEMBLY (INCLUDING THE APPLICABLE BULB) IS AVAILABLE IN THE EVENT THIS CONDITION HAS OCCURRED." TOYOTA WILL PROVIDE THE REPLACEMENT UNDER WARRANTY IF THE VEHICLE IS UNDER 5 YEARS OR 70,000 MILES. ORIGINALLY THEY ISSUED THE BULLETIN AUTHORIZING REPLACEMENT FOR 36 MONTHS OR 36,000 MILES AND SUBSEQUENTLY INCREASED IT TO 5 YEARS, 70,000 MILES. MY 5 YEARS WAS UP ON MARCH 20, 2014. THE LOCAL DEALER QUOTED ME $2,583.88 FOR THE REPAIR. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THIS IS A DEFINITE SAFETY ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED, SINCE IT INVOLVES THE HEADLIGHTS. WHILE HIGH BEAMS ARE NOT ALWAYS REQUIRED, 2 LANE ROADS AT NIGHT ARE CERTAINLY SAFER USING HIGH BEAMS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/6/2014 - ANDOVER, MN
HIGH BEAM/RUNNING BULBS WERE BURNT OUT. ON JULY 18,2014 HIGH BEAM BULBS BOTH FAILED A SECOND TIME AS I WAS DRIVING IN THE DARK AT FREEWAY SPEEDS. VEHICLE MILEAGE AT THE TIME WAS 80540. TOYOTA MUST BE MADE TO HAVE A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

8/4/2014 - PICKERINGTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH ON A DARK ROAD, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO TURN ON THE HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS WHICH FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE HIGH BEAM BULBS FRACTURED IN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY AS A RESULT THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,300. UPDATED 9/4/14

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/4/2014 - PICKERINGTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH ON A DARK ROAD, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO TURN ON THE HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS WHICH FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE HIGH BEAM BULBS FRACTURED IN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY AS A RESULT THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,300. UPDATED 9/4/14

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds