Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2008 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 276 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (184) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (11) Steering (11) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Structure (12) Visibility Wiper (4)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/12/2015 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE LOW BEAM HEAD LAMPS FUNCTIONED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/2/2015 - MIAMI, FL
DASHBOARD IS STICKY AND SHINY. THE SHEEN ON THE DASH ALSO CREATES A GLARE ON SUNNY DAYS, WHICH CREATES A SAFETY HAZARD. TOYOTA IS AVOIDING A RECALL FOR THE USE OF INFERIOR PARTS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/2/2015 - MIAMI, FL
DASHBOARD IS STICKY AND SHINY. THE SHEEN ON THE DASH ALSO CREATES A GLARE ON SUNNY DAYS, WHICH CREATES A SAFETY HAZARD. TOYOTA IS AVOIDING A RECALL FOR THE USE OF INFERIOR PARTS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/29/2015 - BATON ROUGE, LA
I WAS COASTING, BARELY MOVING WHEN I HEARD THE ENGINE REV UP AND ACCELERATE. MY FOOT WAS NOT ON THE GAS. BEFORE I COULD APPLY BRAKES MY CAR HIT THE HOUSE. I WAS ABOUT 2 FEET FROM THE HOUSE SO THERE WAS NOT MUCH TIME TO REACT. THIS ALL TOOK PLACE IN 1-2 SECONDS. I HAD TURNED INTO A DRIVEWAY TO PARK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/19/2015 - ENGLEWOOD, FL
LIGHTS JUST STOPPED WORKING. TOYOTA ACKNOWLEDGED THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE HEAD LIGHTS AND WROTE SEVERAL DEALER SERVICE MEMOS CONCERNING THIS PROBLEM. AFTER TALKING WITH TOYOTA CONSUMER AFFAIRS THAT THIS WAS WAS THEIR PROBLEM AND THEY SHOULD FIX IT, THEY SAID IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THEY EVEN ADVISED ME THAT THE LOW BEAMS MAY FAIL. THEY WERE NOT CONCERNED ABOUT MY SAFETY AND TOLD ME JUST ABOUT TO POUND SAND. THEY COULD CARE LESS ABOUT THIS, EVEN THOUGH THEY'RE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. MY SAFETY MEANS NOTHING, EVEN AFTER OWNING 5 TOYOTA VEHICLES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/14/2015 - POMPANO BEACH, FL
THERE WAS ONE CRACK THAT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD, ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. SINCE THEN, THERE IS ONE LONG DEEP CRACK ALONG THE TOP FRONT EDGE OF THE DASHBOARD THAT EXTENDS ALMOST THE ENTIRE LENGTH. ADDITIONALLY, THERE ARE 23 MORE CRACKS BETWEEN THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE. BECAUSE THIS DASHBOARD HAS THE AIRBAG INSIDE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WE DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH THE CRACKED DASHBOARD. ANYTHING THAT WOULD MAKE AN AIRBAG GO OFF TOO SOON OR GO OFF TOO LATE COULD BE VERY SERIOUS. IT IS OUR OPINION, THAT THIS IS A DEFECTIVE PART AND TOYOTA SHOULD RECALL THE CAR AND ISSUE A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN OR POLICY THAT GIVES DEALERSHIPS DIRECTION TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SEATS

1/13/2015 - PORTER, TX
I WAS READING YOUR RECALL NOTICE 14V-743 I CALLED MY TOYOTA SERVICE DEPT AND THEY SAID THIS ONLY APPLIED TO VEHICLES THAT WENT THRU THE SOUTHEAST TOYOTA DISTRIBUTORS, I BELIEVE MINE WENT THROUGH GULF STATES TOYOTA IN HOUSTON. MY WIFE NOTICED A BURNING SMELL WHEN I USED MY SEAT HEATERS SO I HAVE QUIT USING THEM. WOULD THIS PROBLEM APPLY TO ALL CARS LISTED IN THE SOUTHEAST TOYOTA BULLETIN OR ONLY CARS THAT WENT THRU THEIR FACILITY?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: ROOF AND PILLARS

1/9/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 55-60 MPH, WATER LEAKED INTO THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE ROOF. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000. UPDATED 02/24/15

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: ROOF AND PILLARS

1/9/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING BETWEEN 55-60 MPH WHEN THE ROOF BEGAN LEAKING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000. UPDATED 02/24/15

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/29/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
HIGH BEAM HEADLAMPS STOP WORKING. REPLACEMENT BULBS BURN OUT PREMATURELY. TOYOTA REFUSES TO FIX EVEN THOUGH THEY HAD A CUSTOMER SUPPORT BULLETIN. TOYOTA HAD INCORRECT ADDRESS ON FILE SO I DID NOT RECEIVE BULLETIN WITHIN WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PERIOD (1 MONTH LATE). DEALER PROMISED TO CHECK BUT OVER THE COURSE OF 4 MONTHS, DID NOT CONTACT TOYOTA. MY DIRECT CONTACT TO TOYOTA WAS THEN 5 MONTHS OUTSIDE OF WARRANTY. HIGH BEAM BULBS REPLACED TWICE, AND STILL PROBLEMS ON A REGULAR BASIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds