Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2008 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 295 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (197) Power Train (11) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (43)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (2) Structure (17) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/5/2016 - MOUNT PROSPECT, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, BOTH HIGH BEAM HEAD LAMPS EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT BOTH HEAD LAMP ASSEMBLIES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

12/30/2015 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING SERVICED, THE TECHNICIAN DISCOVERED THAT BOTH HEADLAMPS WERE NOT CORRESPONDING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT BOTH HEADLAMP ASSEMBLIES BLEW OUT AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,187.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/28/2015 - NICEVILLE, FL
THE HIGH BEAM LIGHTS ARE KNOWN TO EXPLODE ON SOME 2008 AND 2010 MODELS. MY HIGH BEAM LIGHTS EXPLODED WITH 66,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED WHILE MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. I ROUTINELY DRIVE IN AN AREA WITH A HEAVY DEER POPULATION. I CANNOT SEE THESE HAZARDS AT NIGHT WITH OUT HIGH BEAMS.TOYOTA HAD AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS ISSUE (5 YEARS, 70,000 MILES). SINCE MY CAR IS OVER WARRANTY IN YEARS BUT NOT MILES, TOYOTA REFUSES TO REPLACE THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLIES. THEY ARE TELLING ME THE COST WILL BE OVER $2,000. I CONSIDER THIS A SAFETY HAZARD AND AM VERY UPSET THAT TOYOTA WILL NOT FIX THIS PROBLEM ON MY $40,000 TOP OF THE LINE TOYOTA. I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT TO THE DOT, NTSB, AND ATTORNEY GENERAL. YOU CAN CONTACT ME AT 850.865.5203. TIM SWOPE, 617 KILCULLEN DR., NICEVILLE, FL 32578.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/28/2015 - NICEVILLE, FL
THE HIGH BEAM LIGHTS ARE KNOWN TO EXPLODE ON SOME 2008 AND 2010 MODELS. MY HIGH BEAM LIGHTS EXPLODED WITH 66,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED WHILE MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. I ROUTINELY DRIVE IN AN AREA WITH A HEAVY DEER POPULATION. I CANNOT SEE THESE HAZARDS AT NIGHT WITH OUT HIGH BEAMS.TOYOTA HAD AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS ISSUE (5 YEARS, 70,000 MILES). SINCE MY CAR IS OVER WARRANTY IN YEARS BUT NOT MILES, TOYOTA REFUSES TO REPLACE THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLIES. THEY ARE TELLING ME THE COST WILL BE OVER $2,000. I CONSIDER THIS A SAFETY HAZARD AND AM VERY UPSET THAT TOYOTA WILL NOT FIX THIS PROBLEM ON MY $40,000 TOP OF THE LINE TOYOTA. I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT TO THE DOT, NTSB, AND ATTORNEY GENERAL. YOU CAN CONTACT ME AT 850.865.5203. TIM SWOPE, 617 KILCULLEN DR., NICEVILLE, FL 32578.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/30/2015 - KENTWOOD, MI
THE HEADLIGHTS FOR THE AVALON ONLY WORK INTERMITTENTLY. THE LIGHTING SYSTEM WILL WORK WHEN THE VEHICLE IS FIRST STARTED AND AFTER A FEW MINUTES, ONE OF THE LIGHTS WILL NO LONGER WORK. IN THE DARK, THIS CREATES A SAFETY CONCERN FOR ONCOMING CARS AND LIMITS OUR ABILITY TO SEE PEOPLE AND OTHER ITEMS IN THE ROAD.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/23/2015 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE HIGH BEAM HEAD LAMP AND THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEAD LAMPS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOW BEAM AND HIGH BEAM BULBS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE DRIVER SIDE LOW BEAM HEAD LAMP FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE LOW BEAM HEAD LAMP BULB NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER FOUR YEARS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2015 - SACRAMENTO, CA
ALL OF A SUDDEN THE HIGH-BEAM HEAD LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING WHEN THE CAR WAS IN MOTION ON THE FREEWAY. LOW -BEAM LIGHTS WORK. THIS IS A REAL SAFETY HAZARD AND IS OBVIOUSLY A TOYOTA ENGINEERING FLAW. TOYOTA DID HAVE A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT FOR THIS VEHICLE - 75,000 MILES OR 5 YEARS, WHICHEVER COMES FIRST. MY CAR HAS 52,000 MILES BUTS IS OVER 5 YEARS OLD. TOYOTA IS WELL AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO FIX THIS, FREE OF CHARGE AND I SHOULD NOT BE REQUIRED TO PAY FOR THE FIX OF $2,500 PLUS LABOR, WHICH IS OUTRAGEOUS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/17/2015 - SACRAMENTO, CA
ALL OF A SUDDEN THE HIGH-BEAM HEAD LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING WHEN THE CAR WAS IN MOTION ON THE FREEWAY. LOW -BEAM LIGHTS WORK. THIS IS A REAL SAFETY HAZARD AND IS OBVIOUSLY A TOYOTA ENGINEERING FLAW. TOYOTA DID HAVE A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT FOR THIS VEHICLE - 75,000 MILES OR 5 YEARS, WHICHEVER COMES FIRST. MY CAR HAS 52,000 MILES BUTS IS OVER 5 YEARS OLD. TOYOTA IS WELL AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO FIX THIS, FREE OF CHARGE AND I SHOULD NOT BE REQUIRED TO PAY FOR THE FIX OF $2,500 PLUS LABOR, WHICH IS OUTRAGEOUS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/14/2015 - BREMERTON, WA
TOOK MY CAR TO THE LOCAL DEALER TOO HAVE HEADLIGHTS LOOKED AT BECAUSE A POLICE OFFICER PULLED ME OVER FOR "NO HEADLIGHT PASSENGER SIDE". WHEN I TURNED THE LIGHTS ON FOR HIM, IT CAME BACK ON. THEN I FOUND BOTH HIGH BEAMS BURNED OUT AND THE DRL'S ALSO DID NOT WORK. SO, OFF TO THE DEALER. THEY FOUND BOTH HIGH BEAM BULBS EXPLODED, AND COULD NOT REPRODUCE ANYTHING ELSE / FIND ANY OTHER PROBLEM. THEY REMOVED THE HIGH BEAM BULBS BUT NEGLECTED TO INFORM ME. NOW AFTER SOME RESEARCH I FOUND OUT THESE PROBLEMS ARE KNOWN TO TOYOTA. THEY EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO 72,000 MILES, BUT, WOULD NOT COVER MY CAR THAT I BOUGHT FROM THEM WITH 82,000 MILES ON IT... MY CAR NOW HAS 97,000 MILES ON IT BUT NOTHING DOES ME ANY GOOD WHEN THE LIGHTS GO OUT CROSSING THE ROCKY MOUNTAINS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT... TALK ABOUT A AHA MOMENT. IT IS A COMPLETE SAFETY ISSUE WETHER THEY ADMIT IT OR NOT.. I HAVE BOUGHT MY 3 CARS FOR THE SAME DEALERSHIP / SALESMAN... MY LIFE AND THE LIVES OF MY FAMILY ARE WAY MORE IMPORTANT THAN A HEADLIGHT ISSUE. I HAVE REPLACED THE HIGH BEAM BULBS MYSELF, NOW WORKING ON THE LOW BEAMS BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN TOLD THEY WILL GO OUT SOON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/13/2015 - SACRAMENTO, CA
ALL OF A SUDDEN THE HIGH-BEAM HEAD LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING WHEN THE CAR WAS IN MOTION ON THE FREEWAY. LOW -BEAM LIGHTS WORK. THIS IS A REAL SAFETY HAZARD AND IS OBVIOUSLY A TOYOTA ENGINEERING FLAW. TOYOTA DID HAVE A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT FOR THIS VEHICLE - 75,000 MILES OR 5 YEARS, WHICHEVER COMES FIRST. MY CAR HAS 52,000 MILES BUTS IS OVER 5 YEARS OLD. TOYOTA IS WELL AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO FIX THIS, FREE OF CHARGE AND I SHOULD NOT BE REQUIRED TO PAY FOR THE FIX OF $2,500 PLUS LABOR, WHICH IS OUTRAGEOUS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds