Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2008 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 310 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (37) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (202) Power Train (11) Structure (20) Visibility (2)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/16/2017 - PITTSBURGH, PA
OUR 2008 TOYOTA AVALON WAS RAMMED FROM THE REAR WITH FULL FORCE FROM A HONDA CRV GOING 40 MPH. THE AVALON WAS SLOWING DOWN TO ALLOW A GROUNDHOG TO CROSS ON A STRAIGHT 2 LANE ROAD AT THE TIME, BUT THE DRIVER OF THE HONDA BEHIND SEEMS TO HAVE BEEN A DISTRACTED DRIVER BECAUSE SHE DID NOT STOP ACCELERATING. THE DRIVER OF THE AVALON SUFFERED HEAD, NECK, BACK AND HIP INJURIES AND WAS TRANSPORTED BY AMBULANCE TO THE HOSPITAL. THE DAMAGE TO BOTH VEHICLES IS EXTENSIVE-PICTURES OF THE AVALON ATTACHED. THE HONDA AIRBAG DEPLOYED, SAVING THAT DRIVER FROM INJURY. THE AIRBAG OF THE TOYOTA DID NOT DEPLOY-CLEARLY MALFUNCTIONING AND COULD HAVE PREVENTED SOME OF THE INJURIES IF IT HAD DEPLOYED PROPERLY. THERE IS A POLICE REPORT BUT IT IS NOT AVAILABLE TO US YET. THE INSURANCE COMPANIES ARE WORKING ON THE CLAIM. NO REPAIRS HAVE BEEN MADE YET AND IT IS NOT CLEAR WHETHER IT IS 'TOTALED'.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/16/2017 - PITTSBURGH, PA
OUR 2008 TOYOTA AVALON WAS RAMMED FROM THE REAR WITH FULL FORCE FROM A HONDA CRV GOING 40 MPH. THE AVALON WAS SLOWING DOWN TO ALLOW A GROUNDHOG TO CROSS ON A STRAIGHT 2 LANE ROAD AT THE TIME, BUT THE DRIVER OF THE HONDA BEHIND SEEMS TO HAVE BEEN A DISTRACTED DRIVER BECAUSE SHE DID NOT STOP ACCELERATING. THE DRIVER OF THE AVALON SUFFERED HEAD, NECK, BACK AND HIP INJURIES AND WAS TRANSPORTED BY AMBULANCE TO THE HOSPITAL. THE DAMAGE TO BOTH VEHICLES IS EXTENSIVE-PICTURES OF THE AVALON ATTACHED. THE HONDA AIRBAG DEPLOYED, SAVING THAT DRIVER FROM INJURY. THE AIRBAG OF THE TOYOTA DID NOT DEPLOY-CLEARLY MALFUNCTIONING AND COULD HAVE PREVENTED SOME OF THE INJURIES IF IT HAD DEPLOYED PROPERLY. THERE IS A POLICE REPORT BUT IT IS NOT AVAILABLE TO US YET. THE INSURANCE COMPANIES ARE WORKING ON THE CLAIM. NO REPAIRS HAVE BEEN MADE YET AND IT IS NOT CLEAR WHETHER IT IS 'TOTALED'.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/5/2017 - EVANSVILLE, IN
WHILE DRIVING, THE LEFT HID LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT RANDOMLY SHUTS OFF. WHEN I CYCLE THE ON/OFF SWITCH THE LIGHT COMES BACK ON, BUT WILL GO OFF RANDOMLY AGAIN. THE LIGHT DOES THIS IN DIFFERENT WEATHER AND DRIVING CONDITIONS. NO SET PATTERN. WHEN ADVISED OF THE PROBLEM THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP SAID THIS WAS AN PROBLEM WITH MY VEHICLE AND I WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR. I DID SOME RESEARCH ONLINE AND DETERMINED THE ISSUE WAS NOT ISOLATED TO MY VEHICLE. MANY OTHER 2008 TOYOTA AVALON OWNERS HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. TOYOTA DOES NOT WANT TO ADDRESS THIS ISSUE. GIVEN THE RANDOMNESS THAT THE LIGHTS TURN OFF, THIS IS DEFINITELY A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. A RECALL NEEDS TO BE ISSUED TO ENSURE TOYOTA FIXES THE PROBLEM PROPERLY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/28/2017 - RICHMOND, TX
RECENTLY PURCHASED A CAR. WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT THE HEADLIGHTS RANDOMLY GOE OFF AFTER A FEW MINUTES. UNFORTUNATELY THIS ISSUE WAS DISCOVERED WHILE MY RECENTLY LICENSED TEEN WAS DRIVING THE CAR... HUGE SAFETY ISSUE! I WENT TO DEALER TO HAVE LIGHT SYSTEM CHECKED OUT. THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE LIGHTS WERE BROKEN. I ASKED IF THEY COULD HAVE EXPLODED DO TO SOME SYSTEM MALFUNCTION. I WAS ASSURED THAT WAS NOT THE CASE AS THEY INSINUATED THAT WHOEVER PUT THEM IN IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DAMAGE, OFFERING ME A VERY COSTLY SOLUTION. HOWEVER THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT COULD CAUSE THIS PROBLEM. BEFORE AGREEING TO ANY REPAIRS, I DECIDED TO DO SOME RESEARCH. THEIR UNCERTAINTY LEFT ME UNEASY AND VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WITH COMING OUT OF POCKET FOR ANYTHING AT THAT POINT AND MY CHILD'S SAFETY IS MY TOP PRIORITY. UPON RESEARCHING, I FOUND OUT THESE PROBLEMS ARE KNOWN TO TOYOTA. THEY EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO 72,000 MILES, BUT, WOULD NOT COVER MY CAR ISSUE DUE TO MILEAGE AND YEAR SURPASSING THAT WHICH IS OUTLINED IN THE WARRANTY EXTENSION. HEADLIGHTS ARE ESSENTIAL AND QUITE FRANKLY REQUIRED BY LAW. THE EXTENSION SHOULD BE APPLIED WITH NO MILEAGE RESTRAINT AS HEADLIGHTS ARE A MAJOR SAFETY COMPONENT OF A VEHICLE. EVERY WHERE YOU GO DEALERS SWEAR BY THE AVALON BEING A COST EFFECTIVE AND VERY SAFE CHOICE WITH THIS ISSUE EXISTING, THEY HAVE NON THE LESS SHOVED A FOOT RIGHT DOWN THEIR OWN THROATS! THIS SHOULD EITHER BE A RECALL OR AN EXTENDED WARRANTY WITH UNLIMITED MILES. IF YOU CAN'T DO THIS TAKE THE CAR OFF THE MARKET/QUIT LETTING DEALERS SALE THE CAR ASSURING UNBEKNOWNST BUYERS OF THE CAR'S UNDENIABLE QUALITY FOR CHRIST'S SAKE!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/28/2017 - RICHMOND, TX
RECENTLY PURCHASED A CAR. WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT THE HEADLIGHTS RANDOMLY GOE OFF AFTER A FEW MINUTES. UNFORTUNATELY THIS ISSUE WAS DISCOVERED WHILE MY RECENTLY LICENSED TEEN WAS DRIVING THE CAR... HUGE SAFETY ISSUE! I WENT TO DEALER TO HAVE LIGHT SYSTEM CHECKED OUT. THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE LIGHTS WERE BROKEN. I ASKED IF THEY COULD HAVE EXPLODED DO TO SOME SYSTEM MALFUNCTION. I WAS ASSURED THAT WAS NOT THE CASE AS THEY INSINUATED THAT WHOEVER PUT THEM IN IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DAMAGE, OFFERING ME A VERY COSTLY SOLUTION. HOWEVER THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT COULD CAUSE THIS PROBLEM. BEFORE AGREEING TO ANY REPAIRS, I DECIDED TO DO SOME RESEARCH. THEIR UNCERTAINTY LEFT ME UNEASY AND VERY UNCOMFORTABLE WITH COMING OUT OF POCKET FOR ANYTHING AT THAT POINT AND MY CHILD'S SAFETY IS MY TOP PRIORITY. UPON RESEARCHING, I FOUND OUT THESE PROBLEMS ARE KNOWN TO TOYOTA. THEY EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO 72,000 MILES, BUT, WOULD NOT COVER MY CAR ISSUE DUE TO MILEAGE AND YEAR SURPASSING THAT WHICH IS OUTLINED IN THE WARRANTY EXTENSION. HEADLIGHTS ARE ESSENTIAL AND QUITE FRANKLY REQUIRED BY LAW. THE EXTENSION SHOULD BE APPLIED WITH NO MILEAGE RESTRAINT AS HEADLIGHTS ARE A MAJOR SAFETY COMPONENT OF A VEHICLE. EVERY WHERE YOU GO DEALERS SWEAR BY THE AVALON BEING A COST EFFECTIVE AND VERY SAFE CHOICE WITH THIS ISSUE EXISTING, THEY HAVE NON THE LESS SHOVED A FOOT RIGHT DOWN THEIR OWN THROATS! THIS SHOULD EITHER BE A RECALL OR AN EXTENDED WARRANTY WITH UNLIMITED MILES. IF YOU CAN'T DO THIS TAKE THE CAR OFF THE MARKET/QUIT LETTING DEALERS SALE THE CAR ASSURING UNBEKNOWNST BUYERS OF THE CAR'S UNDENIABLE QUALITY FOR CHRIST'S SAKE!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/3/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT FAILED TO OPERATE. THE BULB WAS REPLACED NUMEROUS TIMES; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE LOCATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/16/2017 - ASHEVILLE, NC
JUST ABOUT EVERY TIME I DRIVE THE VEHICLE AT NIGHT, ONE OR BOTH HEADLIGHTS WILL GO OUT. IN ORDER TO GET THE LIGHT OR LIGHTS BACK ON, I HAVE TO TURN THE LIGHTS OFF AND THEN BACK ON. THIS PRESENTS AN ONGOING POTENTIAL HAZARD, ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY BOTH GO OFF AT ONCE. THIS MODEL IS THE TOP OF THE LINE (LIMITED) AND HAS THE HID LIGHTS. I HAVE READ ON LINE THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WHO HAS EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM. I FURTHER UNDERSTAND THAT TOYOTA MAY HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT COULD RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT IF BOTH LIGHTS GO OUT AND I AM NOT ABLE TO GET THEM ON AGAIN WHILE I AM TRAVELING ON AN UNLIT ROAD. THIS LAST HAPPENED YESTERDAY AS I WILL INDICATE BELOW BUT IT HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR MORE THAN A FEW YEARS NOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/13/2016 - MOUNT AIRY, MD
INTERMITTENT HEADLIGHT FAILURE. HEADLIGHTS FAIL WITHOUT WARNING. EITHER DRIVERS,PASSENGER OR BOTH. HID HEADLIGHTS OEM.

View Details

STEERING

10/27/2016 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL ADJUSTER HAD TROUBLE REMAINING LOCKED. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL TO DROP VOLUNTARILY ONTO THE DRIVER'S LAP, WHICH MADE THE STEERING WHEEL IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/26/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
20008 TOYOTA AVALON. 72, 354 MILES. LAST YEAR THE REAR SUNSCREEN STARTED DEPLOYING ON IT'S OWN AND WOULD NOT RETRACT EVEN WHEN THE CAR WAS PUT IN REVERSE. THIS GREATLY RESTRICTS VISIBLITY DURING THE DAY AND MAKES IT IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE OUT THE REAR WINDOW AT NIGHT. I CHECKED ON LINE AND THIS SEEMS TO BE PROBLEM THAT MORE THAN ONE PERSON HAS HAD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds