Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2008 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 279 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (2) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (185) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (42)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (11) Steering (11) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Structure (13) Visibility Wiper (4)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/18/2015 - PALOS PARK, IL
THE CAR ACCELERATED ON IT'S OWN, BRAKES WERE LOCKED !!! I MADE A LEFT TURN AFTER A STOP SIGN AND THE CAR JUST TOOK OFF ON IT'S OWN - ACCELERATING UP TO 50 MILES PER HOUR. I SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES, BUT THEY WERE LOCKED. I QUICKLY PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, IT SLOWED THE CAR DOWN ABOUT 10-12 MILES. TO AVOID CARS IN FRONT OF ME - I THEN PUT THE CAR IN PARK. AFTER AN UGLY NOISE AND JERKING OF THE CAR...IT DID STOP! THERE WERE NO INJURIES OR PROPERTY DAMAGE. IT WAS A HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. THE CAR WAS IN FULL THROTTLE! HAD IT TOWED TO A MECHANIC.....IT WAS STILL AT FULL THROTTLE WHEN HE LOOKED AT IT A COUPLE DAYS LATER. HE ADVISED ME TO CALL TOYOTA. TOYOTA SAID IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I JUST WANT MY CAR FIXED,

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/18/2015 - PALOS PARK, IL
THE CAR ACCELERATED ON IT'S OWN, BRAKES WERE LOCKED !!! I MADE A LEFT TURN AFTER A STOP SIGN AND THE CAR JUST TOOK OFF ON IT'S OWN - ACCELERATING UP TO 50 MILES PER HOUR. I SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES, BUT THEY WERE LOCKED. I QUICKLY PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, IT SLOWED THE CAR DOWN ABOUT 10-12 MILES. TO AVOID CARS IN FRONT OF ME - I THEN PUT THE CAR IN PARK. AFTER AN UGLY NOISE AND JERKING OF THE CAR...IT DID STOP! THERE WERE NO INJURIES OR PROPERTY DAMAGE. IT WAS A HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. THE CAR WAS IN FULL THROTTLE! HAD IT TOWED TO A MECHANIC.....IT WAS STILL AT FULL THROTTLE WHEN HE LOOKED AT IT A COUPLE DAYS LATER. HE ADVISED ME TO CALL TOYOTA. TOYOTA SAID IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I JUST WANT MY CAR FIXED,

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/11/2015 - LEXINGTON, KY
I PUT ON MY BRIGHTS WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, ON A DARK PART OF THE INTERSTATE. AFTER A WHILE THEY WENT OUT... IMMEDIATELY AND SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE LEFT HAND SIDE STALK CONTROLS THE HEADLIGHTS ("ON" AND "AUTO-ON" POSITIONS), AND BRIGHTS. NOTABLY THE BRIGHTS ARE A SEPARATE BULB. THE "AUTO-ON" (IF IT GETS DARK) WAS THE SETTING FOR WHICH THEY WENT OUT. I PULLED OVER AT AN EXIT, TRIED THE BRIGHTS AGAIN AFTER TURNING OFF MY HEADLIGHTS AND PUTTING THEM TO THE "ON" SETTING (AS OPPOSED TO "AUTO-ON"), AND THE BRIGHTS DID NOT WORK AND ACTUALLY TURNED OFF MY REGULAR HEADLIGHTS. THIS IS DANGEROUS. I SEE IT IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPORTED. I FOUND TOYOTA HAD A QUIET, UNANNOUNCED SERVICE UPGRADE FOR FAULTY DESIGN, DID NOT ADVERTISE IT, RECALL IT, OR SEND A WARNING NOTE OR OFFER TO FIX TO OWNERS, AND ARBITRARILY SET THE LIMITATION AT 5 YRS / 72,000 MILES. IF THEY ACKNOWLEDGED A PROBLEM, WHY PUT A LIMIT ON SOMETHING THAT IS NOT SAFE? THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/17/2015 - WANTAGH, NY
TOTAL FAILURE OF BOTH HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS. TOYOTA REFUSES TO CONSIDER THIS A WARRANTY ITEM. ALTHOUGH THIS IS A SAFETY ITEM IN N.Y. STATE, TOYOTA DOES NOT FEEL THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. UPON CHECKING THE INTERNET, I FIND THAT MY PROBLEM IS NOT AN ISOLATED CASE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/12/2015 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE LOW BEAM HEAD LAMPS FUNCTIONED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/2/2015 - MIAMI, FL
DASHBOARD IS STICKY AND SHINY. THE SHEEN ON THE DASH ALSO CREATES A GLARE ON SUNNY DAYS, WHICH CREATES A SAFETY HAZARD. TOYOTA IS AVOIDING A RECALL FOR THE USE OF INFERIOR PARTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/2/2015 - MIAMI, FL
DASHBOARD IS STICKY AND SHINY. THE SHEEN ON THE DASH ALSO CREATES A GLARE ON SUNNY DAYS, WHICH CREATES A SAFETY HAZARD. TOYOTA IS AVOIDING A RECALL FOR THE USE OF INFERIOR PARTS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/29/2015 - BATON ROUGE, LA
I WAS COASTING, BARELY MOVING WHEN I HEARD THE ENGINE REV UP AND ACCELERATE. MY FOOT WAS NOT ON THE GAS. BEFORE I COULD APPLY BRAKES MY CAR HIT THE HOUSE. I WAS ABOUT 2 FEET FROM THE HOUSE SO THERE WAS NOT MUCH TIME TO REACT. THIS ALL TOOK PLACE IN 1-2 SECONDS. I HAD TURNED INTO A DRIVEWAY TO PARK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/19/2015 - ENGLEWOOD, FL
LIGHTS JUST STOPPED WORKING. TOYOTA ACKNOWLEDGED THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE HEAD LIGHTS AND WROTE SEVERAL DEALER SERVICE MEMOS CONCERNING THIS PROBLEM. AFTER TALKING WITH TOYOTA CONSUMER AFFAIRS THAT THIS WAS WAS THEIR PROBLEM AND THEY SHOULD FIX IT, THEY SAID IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THEY EVEN ADVISED ME THAT THE LOW BEAMS MAY FAIL. THEY WERE NOT CONCERNED ABOUT MY SAFETY AND TOLD ME JUST ABOUT TO POUND SAND. THEY COULD CARE LESS ABOUT THIS, EVEN THOUGH THEY'RE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. MY SAFETY MEANS NOTHING, EVEN AFTER OWNING 5 TOYOTA VEHICLES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/14/2015 - POMPANO BEACH, FL
THERE WAS ONE CRACK THAT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD, ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. SINCE THEN, THERE IS ONE LONG DEEP CRACK ALONG THE TOP FRONT EDGE OF THE DASHBOARD THAT EXTENDS ALMOST THE ENTIRE LENGTH. ADDITIONALLY, THERE ARE 23 MORE CRACKS BETWEEN THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE. BECAUSE THIS DASHBOARD HAS THE AIRBAG INSIDE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WE DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH THE CRACKED DASHBOARD. ANYTHING THAT WOULD MAKE AN AIRBAG GO OFF TOO SOON OR GO OFF TOO LATE COULD BE VERY SERIOUS. IT IS OUR OPINION, THAT THIS IS A DEFECTIVE PART AND TOYOTA SHOULD RECALL THE CAR AND ISSUE A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN OR POLICY THAT GIVES DEALERSHIPS DIRECTION TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds