Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2008 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 303 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (36) Equipment Adaptive (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (197) Power Train (11) Structure (19) Visibility (2)
Engine (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/13/2016 - MOUNT AIRY, MD
INTERMITTENT HEADLIGHT FAILURE. HEADLIGHTS FAIL WITHOUT WARNING. EITHER DRIVERS,PASSENGER OR BOTH. HID HEADLIGHTS OEM.

View Details

STEERING

10/27/2016 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL ADJUSTER HAD TROUBLE REMAINING LOCKED. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL TO DROP VOLUNTARILY ONTO THE DRIVER'S LAP, WHICH MADE THE STEERING WHEEL IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/26/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
20008 TOYOTA AVALON. 72, 354 MILES. LAST YEAR THE REAR SUNSCREEN STARTED DEPLOYING ON IT'S OWN AND WOULD NOT RETRACT EVEN WHEN THE CAR WAS PUT IN REVERSE. THIS GREATLY RESTRICTS VISIBLITY DURING THE DAY AND MAKES IT IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE OUT THE REAR WINDOW AT NIGHT. I CHECKED ON LINE AND THIS SEEMS TO BE PROBLEM THAT MORE THAN ONE PERSON HAS HAD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/24/2016 - PORTLAND, OR
NHTSA, I WOULD LIKE REPORT AN INCIDENT OF +SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION+ WHEN DRIVING MY 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. I WAS DRIVING WITH MY WIFE, TIFFANY STEVENS, ON SUNDAY, 10/23/16 TRAVELING WEST ON WALKER ROAD IN BEAVERTON, OREGON AT 11:05AM (ADDRESS: 11375 SW WALKER RD, PORTLAND, OR 97225) . I WAS STOPPED BEHIND (2) CARS WAITING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT WITH MY RIGHT FOOT ON THE BRAKE. THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE. SUDDENLY THE CAR ENGINE QUICKLY REVVED UP. MY CAR SURGED FORWARD AS I DEPRESSED MY RIGHT FOOT ON THE BRAKE FURTHER. THANKFULLY MY CAR ONLY SURGED FORWARD A FOOT OR TWO AND THEN THE ENGINE RETURNED TO IDLE. NO CONTACT WAS MADE TO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. THIS INCIDENT WAS VERY SCARY FOR ME AND MY WIFE AND I AM VERY CONCERNED THAT THIS +SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION+ IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND WILL CAUSE HARM TO ME, MY FAMILY AND OTHERS. REGARDS, TOM STEVENS 14883 SW ASHLEY DR. PORTLAND, OR 97224 CELL: 503-929-3255

View Details

ENGINE

7/13/2016 - MASTIC, NY
WATER PUMP WHILE DRIVING FAILED AT 62,902 MILES ON 06/23/14, WAS REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY BY TOYOTA. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND CUT OUT ENGINE WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 2 WEEKS LATER ON LIE I-495 IN NYC, HAD TO BE TOWED TO TOYOTA, TOLD AIR WASN'T BLED PROPERLY AFTER WATER PUMP REPAIR. AGAIN FAILED IN MAY, 2016 AT 86,000 MILES WHILE DRIVING AND REPAIRED AT PRIVATE SHOP. AGAIN FAILED 07/08/16 AT 87,175 WHILE DRIVING AND REPAIRED BY TOYOTA.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/10/2016 - RICHFIELD, MN
TAKATA RECALL MARCH 9TH 2016 9:30PM I WAS ACCELERATING ONTO THE HIGHWAY FROM THE ONRAMP TO ABOUT 70MPH WHEN THE CAR KEPT ACCELERATING AFTER PRESSING THE BRAKE SO I CONTINUED TO PRESS THE BRAKE BUT THERE WAS NO RELEASE OF ACCELERATION SO PUT THE GEAR IN NEUTRAL AND I FOUND ROOM TO PULL TO THE RIGHT SIDE AND TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK. I GAVE IT 15 SECONDS AND RE-STARTED BUT IT WAS STILL ACCELERATING, I REPEATED THIS AGAIN WITH THE SAME RESULTS. I LEFT ITHE ENGINE OFF FOR A FULL MINUTE AND RE-STARTED TO FIND IT HAD RESET. I THEN CHECKED THE FLOOR MAT AND FOUND IT INTACKED AND PINNED TO THE FLOOR PINS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/4/2016 - POWELL BUTTE, OR
CASE # 1509281592 COMPLAINT OF ENGINE FAILURE DUE TO LEAKING "SOFT PLUG" TYPE PART ON VALLEY OF ENGINE. INSTALLED AT THE TOYOTA ASSEMBLY PLANT. THIS PART LEAKED AND ALLOWED ANTI-FREEZE FLUID TO ENTER THE VALLEY AND MIX WITH THE OIL. OVER TIME THIS CAUSED A HARD COATING ON ALL PARTS. THE VALVE GUIDE SEALS WERE RUINED AND THE PVC AND PICK UP TUBE WERE ALMOST COMPLETELY BLOCKED. THIS CAUSED THE ENGINE TO BURN OIL AND SMOKE. TOYOTA'S FIX WAS TO BUY A NEW ENGINE FOR $6,826.97. THEY DID NOT WANT TO FIX MY ENGINE. JUST SELL PARTS AND LABOR. I TOOK IT TO A SHOP AND THEY FIXED MY ENGINE FOR LESS THEN HALF OF THAT. TOYOTA IS AT FAULT FOR NOT INSTALLING PARTS IN THE ENGINE CORRECTLY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/5/2016 - MOUNT PROSPECT, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, BOTH HIGH BEAM HEAD LAMPS EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT BOTH HEAD LAMP ASSEMBLIES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

12/30/2015 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING SERVICED, THE TECHNICIAN DISCOVERED THAT BOTH HEADLAMPS WERE NOT CORRESPONDING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT BOTH HEADLAMP ASSEMBLIES BLEW OUT AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,187.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/28/2015 - NICEVILLE, FL
THE HIGH BEAM LIGHTS ARE KNOWN TO EXPLODE ON SOME 2008 AND 2010 MODELS. MY HIGH BEAM LIGHTS EXPLODED WITH 66,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED WHILE MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. I ROUTINELY DRIVE IN AN AREA WITH A HEAVY DEER POPULATION. I CANNOT SEE THESE HAZARDS AT NIGHT WITH OUT HIGH BEAMS.TOYOTA HAD AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THIS ISSUE (5 YEARS, 70,000 MILES). SINCE MY CAR IS OVER WARRANTY IN YEARS BUT NOT MILES, TOYOTA REFUSES TO REPLACE THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLIES. THEY ARE TELLING ME THE COST WILL BE OVER $2,000. I CONSIDER THIS A SAFETY HAZARD AND AM VERY UPSET THAT TOYOTA WILL NOT FIX THIS PROBLEM ON MY $40,000 TOP OF THE LINE TOYOTA. I AM FILING THIS COMPLAINT TO THE DOT, NTSB, AND ATTORNEY GENERAL. YOU CAN CONTACT ME AT 850.865.5203. TIM SWOPE, 617 KILCULLEN DR., NICEVILLE, FL 32578.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds