Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2008 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 246 complaints filed for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2008 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment Adaptive (2) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (166) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (40)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (11) Steering (11) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (1) Structure (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/11/2014 - VENTURA, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON A 2 LANE MOUNTAIN ROAD AT NIGHT I TURNED THE HIGH BEAMS OFF FOR ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND WHEN I TURNED THEM BACK ON THERE WAS A BRIGHT FLASH AND THE HIGH BEAMS NO LONGER WORKED. TOYOTA HAS ISSUED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN THAT READS: "ON SOME 2008-2010 AVALON VEHICLES, THE HIGH BEAM/DRL BULB MAY BECOME INOPERATIVE OR SHATTER. A NEWLY DESIGNED HIGH BEAM/DRL HOUSING ASSEMBLY (INCLUDING THE APPLICABLE BULB) IS AVAILABLE IN THE EVENT THIS CONDITION HAS OCCURRED." TOYOTA WILL PROVIDE THE REPLACEMENT UNDER WARRANTY IF THE VEHICLE IS UNDER 5 YEARS OR 70,000 MILES. ORIGINALLY THEY ISSUED THE BULLETIN AUTHORIZING REPLACEMENT FOR 36 MONTHS OR 36,000 MILES AND SUBSEQUENTLY INCREASED IT TO 5 YEARS, 70,000 MILES. MY 5 YEARS WAS UP ON MARCH 20, 2014. THE LOCAL DEALER QUOTED ME $2,583.88 FOR THE REPAIR. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THIS IS A DEFINITE SAFETY ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED, SINCE IT INVOLVES THE HEADLIGHTS. WHILE HIGH BEAMS ARE NOT ALWAYS REQUIRED, 2 LANE ROADS AT NIGHT ARE CERTAINLY SAFER USING HIGH BEAMS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/6/2014 - ANDOVER, MN
HIGH BEAM/RUNNING BULBS WERE BURNT OUT. ON JULY 18,2014 HIGH BEAM BULBS BOTH FAILED A SECOND TIME AS I WAS DRIVING IN THE DARK AT FREEWAY SPEEDS. VEHICLE MILEAGE AT THE TIME WAS 80540. TOYOTA MUST BE MADE TO HAVE A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

8/4/2014 - PICKERINGTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH ON A DARK ROAD, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO TURN ON THE HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS WHICH FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE HIGH BEAM BULBS FRACTURED IN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY AS A RESULT THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,300.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/4/2014 - PICKERINGTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH ON A DARK ROAD, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO TURN ON THE HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS WHICH FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE HIGH BEAM BULBS FRACTURED IN THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY AS A RESULT THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,300.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/29/2014 - GAINESVILLE, FL
FRONT HEADLIGHTS SUDDENLY CUT OFF. I QUICKLY SWITCHED INTERIOR LIGHT CONTROL AND THEY IMMEDIATELY CAME BACK ON. WITH NO FURTHER OBVIOUS PROBLEMS I DISMISSED ISSUE AS INCIDENTAL. HOWEVER, APPROXIMATELY 6 WEEKS LATER I WAS TOLD MY PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT WAS OUT. HOWEVER, WHEN I CHECKED IT WAS WORKING. ON 7/7/14 I WAS STOPPED BY FHP AND GIVEN WARNING FOR PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT OUT. ON 7/12/14 GATORLAND TOYOTA REPLACED PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT BULB ($214.15) AND SAID EVERYTHING OK. ON 7/15/14 I WAS ADVISED THAT DRIVER SIDE HEADLIGHT OUT. ON 7/18/14 GATORLAND TOYOTA ADVISED BOTH FRONT HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLIES REQUIRED REPLACEMENT AT $2,219.95 PLUS TAX (FREE LABOR) TO INSTALL. SINCE OUT OR WARRANTY COSTS ALL MINE. THIS IS IN SPITE OF THE FACT THAT I HAVE FOLLOWED SERVICE MANUAL TO THE LETTER AND ALL WORK SINCE PURCHASE DATE PERFORMED AT GATORLAND (APPROXIMATELY 20 SERVICE CALLS). ON 7/29/14 THE TOYOTA REPRESENTATIVE INDICATED THEY COULD DO NOTHING AS CARE OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

7/15/2014 - CLIFTON PARK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, BOTH HIGH BEAM HEADLIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON ONE OCCASION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEAD LAMP ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,500.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/9/2014 - SPEARFISH, SD
MY HUSBAND AND SON WERE RECENTLY IN OMAHA AND EXPERIENCED SEVERE WEATHER (TORNADOS/THUNDERSTORMS/FLOODING). AS THEY WERE DRIVING BACK TO THE CAMPGROUND WEST OF OMAHA, DURING TORRENTIAL RAINS, THE HEADLIGHTS ON OUR 2008 TOYOTA AVALON TURNED OFF REPEATEDLY. MY HUSBAND HAD TO CONTINUE TO SWITCH THE LIGHTS OFF AND ON WHILE DRIVING TO GET THE LIGHTS TO STAY ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED IN THE PAST; HOWEVER, IT WAS NOT DURING ADVERSE DRIVING CONDITIONS. ABOUT A WEEK LATER, AS I WAS DRIVING THROUGH THE BLACK HILLS AT NIGHT (WHERE WE HAVE AN ABUNDANCE OF WILDLIFE), I EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM. I RESEARCHED A RESOLUTION TO FIGURE OUT WHAT MIGHT BE WRONG WITH THE HEADLIGHTS, THINKING IT MIGHT BE A LOOSE WIRE OR BAD BULBS. DURING MY RESEARCH, I DISCOVERED THAT TOYOTA HAD ISSUED A SERVICE BULLETIN IN 2011 (TCS-11-030) RELATED TO THIS PROBLEM. WE PURCHASED OUR VEHICLE IN NOVEMBER 2012, WHEN THE MILEAGE WAS AROUND 47,000 MILES. HAD WE KNOWN ABOUT THIS SERVICE BULLETIN WHEN WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2012, WE WOULD HAVE HAD THE ISSUE ADDRESSED. HOWEVER, SINCE WE DID NOT KNOW ABOUT THE RECALL AND HAVE NOT UNTIL VERY RECENTLY, DURING DANGEROUS DRIVING CONDITIONS, HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE LIGHTING, WE DID NOT ADDRESS IT. WHEN I CALLED TOYOTA TODAY, I WAS TOLD THAT, DUE TO OUR MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE (100,000 NOW), OUR VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER COVERED UNDER THE EXTENDED THAT WAS ISSUED (UNBEKNOWNST TO US) IN 2011. I WAS TOLD THAT I COULD TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A TOYOTA DEALER IN OUR AREA FOR DIAGNOSIS (AT OUR EXPENSE) AND POSSIBLY SOMETHING COULD BE DONE IF THE DIAGNOSIS REVEALED THAT OUR HEADLIGHT ISSUE WAS RELATED TO THE RECALL IN 2011 (THE RECALL SPECIFICALLY ADDRESSES AVALONS MANUFACTURED BETWEEN 2008 AND 2010). AS I EXPLAINED TO THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REP, WE MAY HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING THIS ISSUE DURING THE DAY BUT DIDN'T KNOW DUE TO THE FACT THAT WE DON'T RELY ON THE LIGHTS DURING DAYTIME.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

7/9/2014 - HUNTINGDON VALLEY, PA
MY LASER CRUISE CONTROL BECAME UNRELIABLE TOWARD THE END OF 2013. I HAD USED IT ON A DAILY BASIS FOR OVER 5 YEARS AND AM VERY FAMILIAR WITH THE WAY IT SHOULD PERFORM. WHEN TRACKING A VEHICLE DIRECTLY AHEAD OF ME ON A STRAIGHT AND LEVEL ROAD, THE LASER CONTROL SHOULD MAINTAIN A SAFE DISTANCE AND A SPEED THAT IS ESSENTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THE "LEAD" VEHICLE. THIS HAS NOT BEEN THE CASE FOR THE PAST 7 MONTHS. MY CAR WOULD OFTEN CONTINUE TO MAINTAIN A SPEED THAT WAS FASTER THAN THE "LEAD" CAR,AS IT WAS SAFELY SLOWING DOWN, AND COME SO CLOSE THAT I WOULD HAVE TO JAM ON MY BREAKS. I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALER, WHO INSISTED THAT THE LASER CRUISE CONTROL HAD BEEN DAMAGED IN AN ACCIDENT (THEREFORE MY EXTENDED WARRANTY WOULD NOT APPLY) AND I WOULD HAVE TO MAKE A CLAIM ON MY CAR INSURANCE. MY INSURANCE COMPANY AS WELL AS MY REPAIR SHOP COULD SEE NO DAMAGE THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSED THE MALFUNCTION. EVENTUALLY MY INSURANCE COMPANY AGREED TO PAY FOR THE "REPAIR". AFTER THE DEALER REPAIRED THE CAR WITH A NEW LASER CONTROL SENSOR THE PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED, ALTHOUGH NOT AS OFTEN. I'VE HAD IT BACK TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY INSIST IT MEETS ALL SPECIFICATIONS AND IS PERFORMING TO MANUFACTURER'S SPECS, AND THAT THERE IS NOTHING MORE THEY CAN DO FOR ME. CORPORATE TOYOTA BASICALLY WASHES THEIR HANDS OF THE INCIDENT BY SAYING EVERYTHING RELATED TO THIS MATTER IS AT THE DEALERS DISCRETION. ALTHOUGH I HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT YET, THIS MALFUNCTIONING "SAFETY" FEATURE PUTS ME AT JEOPARDY. I FEAR FOR MY LIFE EVERY TIME I USE IT. IT WOULD SEEM TO ME THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD SIMILAR PROBLEMS, AND MAY HAVE HAD SIGNIFICANT ACCIDENTS AS A RESULT. I HOPE YOU WILL LOOK INTO THIS MATTER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/9/2014 - HUNTINGDON VALLEY, PA
MY LASER CRUISE CONTROL BECAME UNRELIABLE TOWARD THE END OF 2013. I HAD USED IT ON A DAILY BASIS FOR OVER 5 YEARS AND AM VERY FAMILIAR WITH THE WAY IT SHOULD PERFORM. WHEN TRACKING A VEHICLE DIRECTLY AHEAD OF ME ON A STRAIGHT AND LEVEL ROAD, THE LASER CONTROL SHOULD MAINTAIN A SAFE DISTANCE AND A SPEED THAT IS ESSENTIALLY IDENTICAL TO THE "LEAD" VEHICLE. THIS HAS NOT BEEN THE CASE FOR THE PAST 7 MONTHS. MY CAR WOULD OFTEN CONTINUE TO MAINTAIN A SPEED THAT WAS FASTER THAN THE "LEAD" CAR,AS IT WAS SAFELY SLOWING DOWN, AND COME SO CLOSE THAT I WOULD HAVE TO JAM ON MY BREAKS. I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALER, WHO INSISTED THAT THE LASER CRUISE CONTROL HAD BEEN DAMAGED IN AN ACCIDENT (THEREFORE MY EXTENDED WARRANTY WOULD NOT APPLY) AND I WOULD HAVE TO MAKE A CLAIM ON MY CAR INSURANCE. MY INSURANCE COMPANY AS WELL AS MY REPAIR SHOP COULD SEE NO DAMAGE THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSED THE MALFUNCTION. EVENTUALLY MY INSURANCE COMPANY AGREED TO PAY FOR THE "REPAIR". AFTER THE DEALER REPAIRED THE CAR WITH A NEW LASER CONTROL SENSOR THE PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED, ALTHOUGH NOT AS OFTEN. I'VE HAD IT BACK TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY INSIST IT MEETS ALL SPECIFICATIONS AND IS PERFORMING TO MANUFACTURER'S SPECS, AND THAT THERE IS NOTHING MORE THEY CAN DO FOR ME. CORPORATE TOYOTA BASICALLY WASHES THEIR HANDS OF THE INCIDENT BY SAYING EVERYTHING RELATED TO THIS MATTER IS AT THE DEALERS DISCRETION. ALTHOUGH I HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT YET, THIS MALFUNCTIONING "SAFETY" FEATURE PUTS ME AT JEOPARDY. I FEAR FOR MY LIFE EVERY TIME I USE IT. IT WOULD SEEM TO ME THAT OTHERS HAVE HAD SIMILAR PROBLEMS, AND MAY HAVE HAD SIGNIFICANT ACCIDENTS AS A RESULT. I HOPE YOU WILL LOOK INTO THIS MATTER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/20/2014 - BELLEVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2008 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS WOULD ERRONEOUSLY SHUT OFF. WHEN THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH WAS TURNED OFF AND BACK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHTS WOULD FUNCTION NORMALLY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds