Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2009 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 647 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (126) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (7) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (27) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (11) Visibility (14)
Engine (88) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (22) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Equipment (7) Power Train (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (161)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/12/2018 - JERICHO, NY
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 18V042000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (HONDA CITY, 501 GRUMMAN RD W, BETHPAGE, NY 11714, (516) 717-4766) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

11/30/2018 - OAK VIEW, CA
OCEAN HONDA IS WHERE I TAKE MY HONDA FOR SERVICE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAD BEEN COMING ON OVER A YEAR OR SO. I WAS TOLD MY CAR IS USING TOO MUCH OIL AND NEEDED PISTONS, RINGS AND VALVE REPAIR. THAT COST ALMOST $6000.00. FROM RESEARCH I DISCOVERED THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THIS ENGINE GENERATION. THE CAR WAS IN MOTION WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I WAS TOLD BY OTHER MECHANICS THAT I SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN A NEW ENGINE, IT WOULD HAVE BEEN LESS EXPENSIVE. I FOUND INFORMATION THAT THE NHTSA ISSUED A NOTICE TO ADD YEARS TO THE WARRANTY WHICH WOULD COVER MY SITUATION. AS OF THE REPAIR I HAD OWNED THE CAR FOR 6 YEARS. I NEED THE INFORMATION ON TSB A12-087.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/13/2018 - MURFREESBORO, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH AND MERGING ONTO THE FREEWAY, THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONTAL AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,741.

View Details

ENGINE

11/9/2018 - KENSINGTON, MD
VTC ACTUATOR IS BAD AND REQUIRES REPLACING ALONG WITH PISTON RINGS, ACCORDING TO THE DEALER. THE COST IS $2400.00. WHILE I KNOW THERE WILL BE THINGS THAT HAPPEN TO AGING VEHICLES, THIS IS AN ISSUE FOR A VERY LARGE NUMBER OF 2008-2013 HONDAS.

View Details

SEATS

10/24/2018 - POWDER SPRINGS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER'S SEAT RECLINED BACKWARDS AND WOULD NOT LOCK IN POSITION. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED EVERYDAY FOR THE PAST SIX MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/25/2018 - EASTON, PA
POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:CONTROL MODULE (TCM, PCM) & CAR STALL AND ENGINE IS SHUDDERING NOW. HONDA WILL NOT HONOR THE RECALL BASED ON A VIN #, MY CAR IS DOING WHAT IT STATES IN THE RECALL. SO I GUESS I'M ON THE HOOK FOR A TRANS REPAIR / REPLACE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2018 - STILLWATER, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE MISFIRED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO INVER GROVE HONDA (4605 S ROBERT TRAIL, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN 55077, (651) 306-8600) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS AN OIL FOULED SPARK PLUG FAILURE AND THE SPARK PLUGS NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER, BUT THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE AND NO FAILURE CODE WAS FOUND. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,232.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/4/2018 - FALL RIVER, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED, WHICH WAS A SAFETY CONCERN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO COLONIAL HONDA OF DARTMOUTH (225 STATE RD, DARTMOUTH, MA 02747, (508) 996-6800) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUPPLEMENTAL RESTRAINT SYSTEM SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ADDITIONAL DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WAS NEEDED TO DETERMINE IF THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT BELT BUCKLE SENSOR AND THE SEAT MAT NEEDED REPLACEMENT ALSO. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/30/2018 - MACON, GA
EACH TIME WHEN I START UP MY CAR, MY CAR STALLS AND MAKES MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COME ON. ITS BEEN HAPPENING ALOT SINCE I GOT THE CAR IN JULY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/17/2018 - ORIENT, OH
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT CALLED ON BEHALF OF THE DRIVER. WHILE THE DRIVER WAS OPERATING THE VEHICLE WHILE INTOXICATED, THE VEHICLE SKIDDED OFF THE ROADWAY. THE SPEED WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIR BAG DEPLOYED, BUT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO FULLY INFLATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SUSTAINED A BROKEN FOOT THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION, BUT THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER (WHO WAS THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER) PASSED AWAY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT WHERE IT WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED BY A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds