Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2009 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 647 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (126) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (7) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (27) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (11) Visibility (14)
Engine (88) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (22) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Equipment (7) Power Train (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (161)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/11/2018 - CHARLESTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE THE CONTACT'S SON WAS DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A STEEL POLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO THE CRASH. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER WAS NOT WEARING A SEAT BELT AND SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE HIP, LEGS, A TEAR IN HIS LUNGS, HEART DAMAGE, AND MEMORY LOSS. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. THE DRIVER WAS TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL BY AMBULANCE. THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER WAS WEARING A SEAT BELT AND WAS UNINJURED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE LOCAL DEALER. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 147,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/2/2018 - MENLO PARK, CA
MY CAR'S SUNROOF EXPLODED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I WAS DRIVING ON AN UNCOVERED STRETCH OF HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 60-65 MPH, AND SUDDENLY THERE WAS A LOUD BANG ON MY ROOF, FOLLOWED BY WHAT SOUNDED LIKE GRAVEL BEING DUMPED ON MY CAR. A FEW MINUTES LATER, I OPENED THE SUNROOF SHADE AND SAW THAT THE SUNROOF HAD SHATTERED. THERE WERE NO CARS OR TRUCKS IN FRONT OR ALONG SIDE MY CAR WHEN THIS HAPPENED - SO IT WASN'T DUE TO GRAVEL SPUN UP BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. I WASN'T ANYWHERE NEAR AN OVERPASS - SO THERE'S NO CHANCE SOMETHING WAS DUMPED ON MY CAR. THE TEMPERATURE WAS ABOUT 74 DEGREES - SO NO EXCESSIVE HEAT FROM THE SUN.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

2/21/2018 - GLENDALE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN EXPLOSIVE SOUND. WHILE THE SUN ROOF WAS OPEN, THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE SUN ROOF GLASS SHATTERED. THE FOLLOWING DAY, THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER (ARROWHEAD HONDA IN PEORIA, ARIZONA) WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE SUN ROOF EXPLODED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THE CONTACT LEFT A VOICE MESSAGE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/22/2018 - COLUMBUS, OH
MY ENGINE STARTED KNOCKING DUE TO EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, EVEN THO I CHANGED MY OIL ON TIME EVERY TIME. THERE WAS A LAWSUIT IN 2013, BUT HONDA SAID I DIDN'T QUALIFY TO GET MY ENGINE REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE BECAUSE IT WAS VIN # SPECIFIC AND STATE SPECIFIC. WHICH IS CRAP. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER HONDA. QUALITY HAS WENT WAY DOWN..

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/19/2018 - LEESBURG, VA
PREMATURE FAILURE OF REAR BRAKE PADS AND ROTORS @40K MILES. JUST OUTSIDE LIMITS OF HONDA BRAKE SETTLEMENT. REAR BRAKES FAILED AGAIN AT 100K WITH PADS, ROTORS, AND 1 CALIPER NEEDING REPLACEMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/10/2018 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, ANOTHER VEHICLE TURNED UNEXPECTEDLY IN FRONT OF THE CONTACT 'S VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STRUCK THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE OTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ONLY THE PASSENGER FRONTAL AIR BAG DEPLOYED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SUSTAINED A WHIPLASH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED BRUISING FROM THE AIR BAG, AND THE REAR PASSENGER SEATED ON THE RIGHT ALSO SUSTAINED A WHIPLASH. NO ONE RECEIVED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE INSURANCE COMPANY INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND DEEMED IT A TOTAL LOSS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC OR DEALER TO DETERMINE WHY THE OTHER AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE AIR BAGS WERE SUPPLEMENTARY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT CASE NUMBER: 06594835 WAS OPENED WITH THE MANUFACTURER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V346000 (AIR BAGS). THE RECALL HAD NOT BEEN SERVICED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 105,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/27/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE PASSENGER SIDE TURN SIGNAL LEVER FAILED TO REMAIN IN POSITION. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WAS BURNING OIL EXCESSIVELY WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT CALLED A LOCAL DEALER (MCGRATH CITY HONDA, 6720 W GRAND AVE CHICAGO IL, 60707) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL: SWITCH

12/27/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE PASSENGER SIDE TURN SIGNAL LEVER FAILED TO REMAIN IN POSITION. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WAS BURNING OIL EXCESSIVELY WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT CALLED A LOCAL DEALER (MCGRATH CITY HONDA, 6720 W GRAND AVE CHICAGO IL, 60707) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/8/2017 - OMAHA, NE
TAKATA RECALL, I JUST DON'T WANT IT TO AUTOMATICALLY GO OFF, THAT'S SCARY, AND IT SHOULD BE REPLACED BY TAKATA AT NO COST TO MYSELF. UNETHICAL, UNSAFE, AND A DANGER TO OTHER DRIVERS AS WELL!

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/5/2017 - GOLDEN VALLEY, AZ
"TAKATA RECALL" WHILE DRIVING, THE LIGHT INDICATING PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF LIGHT COMES ON THEN TURNS OFF, AFTER SEVERAL MINUTES IT COMES BACK ON. THAT WORRIES ME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds