Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2009 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 647 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (126) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (7) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (27) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (11) Visibility (14)
Engine (88) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (22) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Equipment (7) Power Train (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (161)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/18/2017 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
"6 SPEED MANUAL TRANSMISSION WILL NOT SHIFT INTO 3RD GEAR" WHEN ACCELERATING AT A SLOW TO MODERATE PACE, THE TRANSMISSION WILL NOT ENTER 3RD GEAR WHEN SHIFTING FROM 2ND GEAR. THE PROBLEM OCCURS RANDOMLY AND IS THEREFORE A DANGER TO EVERYONE ON THE ROAD. HONDA 3RD GEAR TSB ON 6 SPEED MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS DID NOT RESOLVE THE ISSUE. FOR A THOROUGH DESCRIPTION OF THIS ISSUE AS DESCRIBED BY ANOTHER PLEASE VISIT: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=5V_J9CT2JRQ

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/14/2017 - WAUKESHA, WI
I BOUGHT CAR CPO AND REAR PADS WERE SUPPOSED TO BE NEW. A YEAR LATER, I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY REAR BRAKE PADS (HIGH PITCH NOISE, BURNT SMELL). TOOK IT TO A DEALERSHIP. THEY CHARGED ME OVER $160.00 FOR CLEANING AND LUBRICATING. A MONTH AND A HALF LATER - THE SAME PROBLEM APPEARS AGAIN. TOOK IT TO A LOCAL MECHANIC. I WAS CHARGED $220 FOR CLEANING, LUBRICATING AND NEW BRAKE PADS REPLACEMENT. TWO AND A HALF YEARS LATER, STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS AGAIN. RUSTED REAR ROTORS, 20% LEFT OF THE REAR PADS. ALL NEEDS A REPLACEMENT - $350.00 BILL. I HAD PUT A LITTLE LESS THAN 20K MILES FOR THE PAST TWO AND A HALF YEARS. FRONT BRAKES HAVEN'T HAD AN ISSUE AND ARE STILL USABLE. IT APPEARS THAT I AM NOT ALONE AND A LOT OF OWNERS OF THE SAME MAKE AND MODEL REPORT THE SAME ISSUES. THIS IS SO RIDICULOUS. I WOULD LIKE HONDA TO ACKNOWLEDGE BAD DESIGN AND REPLACE IT IN THE VEHICLE ALTOGETHER.

View Details

ENGINE

9/13/2017 - RICHLAND, PA
HONDA ACCORD 2009 - CURRENTLY 62K MILES. ENGINE RATTLES ON START UP AND ALSO ON ACCELERATION. CONTACTED HONDA DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE SPORADIC FLASHING OIL LIGHT AND RATTLING NOISE. DEALERSHIP CONFIRMED NO LEAKING OIL, BUT THERE WAS OIL CONSUMPTION. NOW INVOLVED WITH A OIL CONSUMPTION TEST. DEALERSHIP COULDN'T REPLICATE THE RATTLING NOISE. WE NEVER RECEIVED THE NOTICE FROM HONDA ON THE SERVICE BULLETIN ABOUT OIL CONSUMPTION. CURRENTLY 1K MILES INTO THE CONSUMPTION TEST AND WE ARE HALFWAY TO THE LOWER MARK ON THE DIPSTICK. UPDATED THE DEALERSHIP OF THE STATUS AND WAS TOLD NOT TO BRING IT BACK UNTIL IT WAS AT THE LOWER MARK ON THE DIPSTICK. CAR CONTINUES TO HAVE THE RATTLING NOISE, WHICH NOW THE DEALERSHIP IS ADVISING US THAT IS A SEPARATE ISSUE. CURRENTLY STILL COVERED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR THIS ISSUE, BUT A TEST HAS TO BE COMPLETED BEFORE THE ISSUE IS RESOLVED. EXTENDED WARRANTY SHOULD HAVE TAKEN AFFECT WITHOUT ANY TESTING, SINCE THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE DEALT WITH IMMEDIATELY INSTEAD OF WAITING AROUND UNTIL SOMEONE GETS INJURED OR MORE DAMAGE IS DONE TO THE CAR. THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED FOR EVERY CAR THAT WAS LISTED IN THAT BULLETIN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/12/2017 - DUXBURY, MA
COMPLAINT INVOLVING WEBASTO AFTERMARKET RETRACTABLE SUNROOF. WHILE DRIVING INTO WORK ON 7 SEPTEMBER, 2017, ON A HIGHWAT, I CLOSED THE SUNROOF AND WHEN IT CLOSED I HEARD A LOUD POP AND LOOKED UP AND THE SUNROOF WAS GONE. I LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR AND OBSERVED A BLACK CAR TWO CARS BEHIND ME MAKING EMERGENCY MANEUVERING INTO OTHER LANE APPEARING TO AVOID SOMETHING. I PULLED OVER AND OBSERVED NO OTHER VEHICLES DOING THE SAME MOVEMENTS AND NO ACCIDENTS. I REPORTED THE INCIDENT TO THE STATE POLICE. I PURCHASED THE CAR NEW IN 2009, AND THE DEALERSHIP HAD THE SUNROOF INSTALLED PRIOR TO PURCHASING AND PICKUP OF THE CAR. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED NEW AND THE SUNROOF WAS COVERED IN THE ORIGINAL WARRANTY. WHEN I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP, THEY REFERRED ME TO THEIR INSTALLER WHO INFORMED ME THERE WAS A RECALL ON SOME MODELS. WHEN I CONTACTED THE COMPANY I LEARNED THAT MY SUNROOF WAS PART OF A RECALL ISSUED IN 2010, AND I WAS NEVER INFORMED OF THIS. THAT SUNROOF COULD HAVE KILLED SOMEONE THAT DAY. THE NEXT EVENING WHEN DRIVING THE RETRACTABLE INTERIOR COVER BLEW OUT AND THE METAL SUNROOF FRAME CAME APART AND METAL RODS CAME FLYING INTO THE DRIVER COMPARTMENTS DANGLING AND SWINGING. WHEN I REPORTED THIS TO THE COMPANY, THE REPRESENTATIVE APOLOGIZED AND STATED THAT HE SHOULD HAVE TOLD ME HOW TO SECURE THE INTERIOR COVER. THAT THIS RECALL IS 7 YEARS OLD AND I WAS NEVER INFORMED IN INEXCUSABLE. I HAVE ALWAYS HAD MY CAR SERVICES AT HONDA DEALERSHIPS, AND I WAS NEVER INFORMED ON THIS RECALL. SOMEONE COULD HAVE EASILY BEEN KILLED DIRECTLY BY THE FLYING SUNROOF, OR AS A RESULT OF SWERVING TO AVOID THE SUNROOF. IF THERE ARE ANY OTHER SUNROOFS THAT HAVE NOT BEEN REPAIRED, PEOPLE NEED TO KNOW.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/30/2017 - BREMERTON, WA
WE ARE EXPERIENCING EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION WITH MILEAGE UNDER 80,000 WITH OUR 2008/2009 HONDA ACCORD. WE HAVE DISCOVERED THERE HAS BEEN A SETTLEMENT FOR THIS PROBLEM ON VEHICLES WITH A WARRANTEE. HONDA HAS GIVEN US A RUN AROUND ABOUT OUR COMPLAINTS SAYING THE OUR CAR IS OLD, SUGGESTING THEREFORE THAT WE NEED TO GET A NEWER MODEL, AND BY CALLING US BACK FOR TWO 1,000 MILE CHECKS AND NOT TAKING OWNERSHIP OF THE PROBLEM THEY KNOW EXISTS. MY WISE HUSBAND WENT ON LINE BECAUSE OF HIS SUSPICIONS OF THEIR ACTIONS AND LEARNED HE WAS CORRECT: THERE HAVE BEEN ENOUGH OF THESE PROBLEMS REPORTED WITH THIS MODEL CAR THAT THERE HAS BEEN A CLASS ACTION SUIT WITH A SETTLEMENT EXTENDING THE WARRANTEE. HONDA IS REPORTED AS ISSUING TSB #11-033 IN JULY 2011. WE DID NOT RECEIVE THAT BULLETIN. WHY?

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/14/2017 - ST LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 17V030000 (AIR BAGS), 09E063000 (EQUIPMENT), AND 16V056000 (AIR BAGS). WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND CURTAIN AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT IMPACT OR WARNING. THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY, CAUSING EXTENSIVE INJURIES TO THE FRONT PASSENGER. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE PEDAL FAILED TO FUNCTION WHEN APPLYING FORCE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED HEAD, NECK, AND BACK PAINS. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED EXTENSIVE BRUISING, PAIN TO THE HEAD AND BACK, AND INJURIES TO THE LEFT ARM, COLLAR BONE, AND STERNUM. BOTH OCCUPANTS REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND DEEMED THE VEHICLE DESTROYED. THE DEALER (MUNGENAST ST. LOUIS HONDA, 5939 S LINDBERGH BLVD, ST. LOUIS, MO 63123, (314) 894-1330) WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT PROVIDED THE DTC TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN AS TO WHICH RECALL MAY HAVE BEEN ASSOCIATED WITH THE FAILURE OR IF A DIFFERENT FAILURE HAPPENED THAT WAS NOT RELATED TO THE OPEN RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING ON INSTRUCTIONS FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS WAITING ON A RESPONSE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE AIR BAG AND CRUISE CONTROL FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

8/14/2017 - ST LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 17V030000 (AIR BAGS), 09E063000 (EQUIPMENT), AND 16V056000 (AIR BAGS). WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND CURTAIN AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT IMPACT OR WARNING. THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY, CAUSING EXTENSIVE INJURIES TO THE FRONT PASSENGER. IN ADDITION, THE BRAKE PEDAL FAILED TO FUNCTION WHEN APPLYING FORCE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A TREE. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED HEAD, NECK, AND BACK PAINS. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED EXTENSIVE BRUISING, PAIN TO THE HEAD AND BACK, AND INJURIES TO THE LEFT ARM, COLLAR BONE, AND STERNUM. BOTH OCCUPANTS REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY AND DEEMED THE VEHICLE DESTROYED. THE DEALER (MUNGENAST ST. LOUIS HONDA, 5939 S LINDBERGH BLVD, ST. LOUIS, MO 63123, (314) 894-1330) WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT PROVIDED THE DTC TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN AS TO WHICH RECALL MAY HAVE BEEN ASSOCIATED WITH THE FAILURE OR IF A DIFFERENT FAILURE HAPPENED THAT WAS NOT RELATED TO THE OPEN RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING ON INSTRUCTIONS FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE CONTACT NOTIFIED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS WAITING ON A RESPONSE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE AIR BAG AND CRUISE CONTROL FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2017 - COON RAPIDS, MN
VTC ACTUATOR MAKING NOISE AND COLD STARTUP..STARTED AT ABOUT 60,000 MILES

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/28/2017 - MADISON, NJ
LEAKING SEAL ON PASSENGER HALF AXLE BEARING AFTER ONLY 29.2K MILES. CAR BOUGHT AS CERTIFIED IN 2014, ONLY 9K MILES DRIVEN SINCE PURCHASE. PART IS DEFECTIVE. VEHICLE INSPECTED FOR ROUTINE 30K SERVICE, NO WAY THIS PART FAILED IN THE 9K MILES I HAVE DRIVEN THE CAR. BEARING BURN OUT CAN CAUSE AXEL TO FAIL. FAILURE INDICATED ON SERVICE ORDER SUMMARY ATTACHED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/22/2017 - MOODY, AL
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, CAUSING SPARK PLUG MALFUNCTION

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds