Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2009 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 647 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (126) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (7) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (27) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (11) Visibility (14)
Engine (88) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (22) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Equipment (7) Power Train (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (161)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/10/2017 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
LAST MONDAY MORNING, I DROVE ON A 2-LANE NEIGHBORHOOD ROAD AT 25MPH SINCE IT WAS RAINING. MY CAR SUDDENLY LOST CONTROL. I TOUCHED THE BRAKES. HOWEVER, THE BRAKES DID NOT WORK ANYMORE. THE WINDSHIELD STARTED FOG IMMEDIATELY. I COULD NOT SEE ANYTHING WHILE MY CAR STILL MOVED FORWARDED. I FORCED THE SPEED SHAFT INTO THE PARK POSITION. MY CAR STOPPED ON THE OPPOSITE LANE. LUCKILY, THERE WAS NO VEHICLE FROM THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION. I WAS SAFE. THE ACCIDENT LOCATION IS ONE MILE AWAY FROM INTERSTATE. IF THIS HAPPED ON THE INTERSTATE, TRAGEDY WOULD BE INEVITABLE. AFTER MY CAR WAS TOWED TO THE BODY SHOP, I FOUND THAT THE RIGHT-FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM WAS FRACTURED AT THE BUSHING LOCATION. THE FRACTURE SECTION WAS NOT NEW AT ALL. IT IS A TYPICAL STRESS CORROSION FRACTURE OVER YEARS. IT SHOULD START AT THE ORIGINAL DEFECT. I CALLED HONDA ACCORD MANUFACTURING USA LAST FRIDAY. THEY DENIED DISCUSSING HOW THIS PART WAS FAILED OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2017 - MORRISTOWN, NJ
WHILE DRIVING AT ABOUT 55 MPH ON ROUTE I-287 IN MORRISTOWN, NJ, THE CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE BADLY AND THE ENGINE MADE A LOUD RUMBLING NOISE. I GOT THE CAR TO MY LOCAL SERVICE STATION IN MORRISTOWN, WHERE MY MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT ONE OF MY SPARK PLUGS HAD FAILED TO FUNCTION, HAVING BEEN BADLY OIL FOULED. HE REPLACED THE SPARK PLUG AND SAID THE COMPUTER SCANNER SHOWED CODE P0303 MISFIRE CYLINDER #3. HE ALSO NOTED THAT HONDA HAS A SERVICE CAMPAIGN FOR PISTON RING REPLACEMENT INITIATED IN 2013 TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO HONDA ON MONDAY, FEBRUARY 13. THEY REPLACED 3 OF THE 4 SPARK PLUGS IN QUESTION (1 HAVING ALREADY BEEN REPLACED) AND UPDATED THE CAR+S COMPUTER PROGRAM, CALLING THAT STEP ONE IN SOLVING THE PROBLEM. THE HONDA SERVICE MANAGER EXPLAINED THAT HONDA+S PROTOCOL FOR THIS IS TO UPDATE THE SOFTWARE AND REPLACE SPARK PLUGS AND THEN WAIT TO SEE IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN. (I LATER CONFIRMED THIS PROTOCOL BY PHONE WITH HONDA AMERICA.) LACKING THAT, HONDA WILL NOT REIMBURSE THE DEALERSHIP IF THEY DO THE REPAIR, BUT THIS FIX SEEMS TO WORK ABOUT HALF THE TIME. WHEN THE SERVICE CAMPAIGN WAS INITIATED IN 2013, I WAS NOT NOTIFIED. CLEARLY, HONDA RECOGNIZED THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM OF OIL LEAKING INTO THE CYLINDERS BUT DID NOT ISSUE A RECALL, AS I BELIEVE THEY SHOULD HAVE. IN MY CASE, MY ENGINE FAILED WHILE I WAS DRIVING AT HIGH SPEED ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY. THIS IS NOT SOMETHING I WOULD LIKE TO HAPPEN AGAIN, BUT MY LOCAL MECHANIC SAYS IT DEFINITELY WILL HAPPEN AGAIN, BECAUSE HONDA DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. REPLACING SPARK PLUGS IS NO MORE THAN A BAND AID. I+M LEFT WITH A SERIOUS AND EXPENSIVE PROBLEM, AND HONDA+S INTENTION IS TO SKIRT THE REAL ISSUE BY RISKING MY SAFETY IN ORDER TO AVOID ACCOUNTABILITY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/3/2017 - MORRISTOWN, NJ
WHILE DRIVING AT ABOUT 55 MPH ON ROUTE I-287 IN MORRISTOWN, NJ, THE CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE BADLY AND THE ENGINE MADE A LOUD RUMBLING NOISE. I GOT THE CAR TO MY LOCAL SERVICE STATION IN MORRISTOWN, WHERE MY MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT ONE OF MY SPARK PLUGS HAD FAILED TO FUNCTION, HAVING BEEN BADLY OIL FOULED. HE REPLACED THE SPARK PLUG AND SAID THE COMPUTER SCANNER SHOWED CODE P0303 MISFIRE CYLINDER #3. HE ALSO NOTED THAT HONDA HAS A SERVICE CAMPAIGN FOR PISTON RING REPLACEMENT INITIATED IN 2013 TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO HONDA ON MONDAY, FEBRUARY 13. THEY REPLACED 3 OF THE 4 SPARK PLUGS IN QUESTION (1 HAVING ALREADY BEEN REPLACED) AND UPDATED THE CAR+S COMPUTER PROGRAM, CALLING THAT STEP ONE IN SOLVING THE PROBLEM. THE HONDA SERVICE MANAGER EXPLAINED THAT HONDA+S PROTOCOL FOR THIS IS TO UPDATE THE SOFTWARE AND REPLACE SPARK PLUGS AND THEN WAIT TO SEE IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN. (I LATER CONFIRMED THIS PROTOCOL BY PHONE WITH HONDA AMERICA.) LACKING THAT, HONDA WILL NOT REIMBURSE THE DEALERSHIP IF THEY DO THE REPAIR, BUT THIS FIX SEEMS TO WORK ABOUT HALF THE TIME. WHEN THE SERVICE CAMPAIGN WAS INITIATED IN 2013, I WAS NOT NOTIFIED. CLEARLY, HONDA RECOGNIZED THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM OF OIL LEAKING INTO THE CYLINDERS BUT DID NOT ISSUE A RECALL, AS I BELIEVE THEY SHOULD HAVE. IN MY CASE, MY ENGINE FAILED WHILE I WAS DRIVING AT HIGH SPEED ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY. THIS IS NOT SOMETHING I WOULD LIKE TO HAPPEN AGAIN, BUT MY LOCAL MECHANIC SAYS IT DEFINITELY WILL HAPPEN AGAIN, BECAUSE HONDA DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. REPLACING SPARK PLUGS IS NO MORE THAN A BAND AID. I+M LEFT WITH A SERIOUS AND EXPENSIVE PROBLEM, AND HONDA+S INTENTION IS TO SKIRT THE REAL ISSUE BY RISKING MY SAFETY IN ORDER TO AVOID ACCOUNTABILITY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/3/2017 - ESTERO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 75 MPH ANOTHER VEHICLE REAR ENDED THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE AT A 180 DEGREE ANGLE INTO THREE LANES, A 360 DEGREE ANGLE HEAD ON INTO THE GUARDRAIL, AND THEN ONTO THE SHOULDER OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED NECK, HEAD, AND BACK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED NECK, BACK, AND HEAD INJURIES THAT ALSO REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT AND THEN TO AN INSURANCE TOWING LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V346000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000. UPDATED 06/08/17 UPDATED 06/18/17**** UPDATED 06/27/17

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/31/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WE'VE BEEN CALLING GUNN HONDA IN SAN ANTONIO TX SINCE AUGUST OF 2016. SINCE THEN, AT EACH CALL WE'VE HEARD "THE PARTS WON'T BE IN FOR TWO WEEKS, AND WE'LL CALL YOU". WE RECEIVED A LETTER FROM HONDA TODAY TO ASK IF THE CAR HAD BEEN SOLD OR DEMOLISHED, SO WE CALLED GUNN HONDA. THEY SAID THEY HADN'T EVER HEARD OF US, BUT THEY'LL TAKE THE CAR MONDAY. THEY WON'T SAY HOW LONG REPAIRS WILL TAKE. I FEAR AS THIS IS A RECALL INSTEAD OF A "PAYING" JOB, THEY'LL KEEP THE CAR FOR ANOTHER SIX MONTHS WITH AN ESTIMATE OF "TWO WEEKS".

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/30/2017 - SMYRNA, GA
TAKATA RECALL, I'VE BEEN WAITING 5-6 MONTHS FOR THE DEALER TO FIX THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG. THEY'VE NOT RECEIVED A REPLACEMENT PART YET. I CAN'T DRIVE MY CAR WITH A FRONT SEAT PASSENGER SAFELY. WILL HONDA PAY FOR A RENTAL CAR? APPRECIATE ANY HELP WITH THIS MESS... THANKS

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/13/2017 - WICHITA, KS
I HAVE CONTACTED MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP TWICE ABOUT THIS RECALL. THEY DID NOT HAVE A STATUS ON MY REPAIR PARTS. THAT WAS OVER 4 MONTHS AGO. IT HAS BEEN 8 MONTHS SINCE I FIRST CONTACTED THEM ABOUT THIS RECALL. 2 MONTHS IS STANDARD FOR A RECALL? THIS WILL BE GOING ON FOR 2 YEARS AT THIS RATE! WAY TO GO HONDA, AND WAY TO GO NHTSA. HOW MANY MORE LIVES HAVE BEEN LOST ON THIS RECALL???

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/27/2017 - GOODYEAR, AZ
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 16V346000 AND 16V056000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/16/2017 - FORDS, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS A KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED INTO THE DRIVEWAY AND NOTICED THAT THE CALIPER WAS RUBBING TOGETHER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/7/2017 - ST. LOUIS, MO
HELLO, NEITHER THE NHTSA RECALL WEBSITE NOR HONDA'S WEBSITE INDICATES THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE AIRBAG IGNITER ON MY VEHICLE, YET THE DEALERSHIP MAILED/CALLED ME ABOUT AN AIRBAG SAFETY RECALL. WHEN I QUESTIONED THEM, THEY WERE ABLE TO SHOW THAT THEY VERIFIED THE RECALL APPLIES TO MY VEHICLE. MY QUESTION/CONCERN: WHY WOULD THE DEALER HAVE ACCESS TO SAFETY INFORMATION THAT IS HIDDEN FROM THE PUBLIC? I'VE BEEN DRIVING AROUND WITH A CRITICAL SAFETY DEFECT WITH A FALSE SENSE OF SAFETY. INFORMATION FROM DEALER: THE FOLLOWING IS WHAT THE HONDA DATABASE IS SHOWING FOR WHAT IS OUTSTANDING ON YOUR VEHICLE. VIN INQUIRY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT DEALER INFORMATION DEALER: [XXX] 02/07/2017 IDENTIFICATION: [XXX] PRINT SELECTED BACK * INDICATES AN ALPHA VIN * PRINT ITEM VIN DESCRIPTION VIEW DETAIL 1 [XXX] VEHICLE INFORMATION VIN [XXX] PDI DEALER 207103 MODEL ACCORD PDI DATE 07/01/2009 MODEL YEAR 2009 DEMONSTRATOR DATE ENGINE NO. K24Z32883171 DELIVERY DATE 08/31/2009 EMISSION TYPE KA MILEAGE AT PURCHASE 10 SELLING DEALER [XXX] STEPHEN VINCEL HONDA OWNER INFORMATION ORIGINAL OWNER [XXX] CURRENT OWNER [XXX] WARRANTY EXTENSION / CANCELLATION INFORMATION FACTORY EXTENSION - NO. OF MILES FACTORY EXTENSION - NO. OF DAY(S) FACTORY EXTENSION WARRANTY TYPE WARRANTY CANCELLATION DATE OPEN CAMPAIGN / RECALL INFORMATION 17-002: PASSENGER AIRBAG INFLATOR INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds