Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2009 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 647 complaints filed for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2009 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2009 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (126) Exterior Lighting (22) Seat Belts (7) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (27) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (48) Suspension (11) Visibility (14)
Engine (88) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (22) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Equipment (7) Power Train (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (161)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 60
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/26/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
TAKATA RECALL. I RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION LETTER ABOUT THE RECALL IN JULY 2016 AND WAS INSTRUCTED NOT TO ALLOW PASSENGERS TO SIT IN THE FRONT SEAT. I WAS TOLD THE REMEDY PARTS WOULD BE AVAILABLE IN LATE SUMMER OR FALL OF 2016. I'VE ASKED THE DEALER (PASADENA HONDA) ABOUT IT SEVERAL TIMES, BUT I'M TOLD THE PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE. IT'S QUITE AN INCONVENIENCE TO BE UNABLE TO USE MY PASSENGER FRONT SEAT. HONDA HAS NOT INDICATED WHEN I WILL, IN TRUTH, BE ABLE TO HAVE THE PROBLEM FIXED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/25/2017 - ACWORTH, GA
TARKATA RECALL - I RECEIVED NOTIFICATION FROM HONDA MOTOR CO. IN JULY 2016, ASKING TO TAKE AUTO TO DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALERSHIP. WHEN I ARRIVED, THEY SAID THEY KNEW NOTHING ABOUT PROBLEM AND THEY WOULD LOOK INTO IT AND ADVISE ME. THEY NEVER DID, SO I WENT BACK ON 8/31/16 AND SPOKE WITH ADVISOR, PAUL MLYNAREK. HE SAID HONDA HAD NOT SENT THEM THE PARTS TO REPAIR VEHICLE. THEY CONTINUED TO GIVE ME THE VERY SAME RESPONSE EACH TIME I CALLED. I FEEL THAT 7-MONTHS IS AMPLE TIME TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/13/2017 - PACIFICA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V346000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/6/2017 - CENTENNIAL, CO
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR A VEHICLE TRADE IN, BUT WAS DENIED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED OF THE VEHICLE'S INVOLVEMENT IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V346000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/4/2017 - CASCO, ME
MY 2009 HONDA ACCORD WAS PURCHASED BY OUR LOCAL HONDA DEALER OFF THE LOT BRAND NEW. VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS A GOOD VEHICLE AND NO SERIOUS PROBLEMS. IT WAS IN A MINOR CRASH AND HAD SOME OF THE FRAME READJUSTED. RECENTLY, (WITHIN 6 MONTHS) I HAVE NOTICED THE VEHICLE CONSUMING MORE OIL THAN USUAL. I FOLLOWED UP WITH HONDA TO SEE WHAT I COULD DO WITH THE EXTENDED WARRANTY NOTICE I RECEIVED IN THE MAIL REGARDING THE VEHICLE. THE EXTENDED WARRANTY STATED THAT THE PISTON RINGS MAY BE STICKING MORE THAN USUAL AND THE VEHICLE COULD BE CONSUMING MORE OIL THAN NORMAL. THE WARRANTY STATED IT WAS GOOD FOR UP TO 8 YEARS FROM THE PURCHASE OR 125,000 MILES, WHICHEVER CAME FIRST. AT THE TIME THE HONDA WAS AT 134,000 MILES. HONDA TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO MY LOCAL HONDA DEALER AND ASK HOW TO START THE PROCESS ON THE PISTON RINGS. THE LOCAL DEALER STATED THEY NEEDED TO START WITH AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST WITH AN OIL CHANGE, THEN I WOULD HAVE TO COME BACK AFTER 1,000 MILES FOR THEM TO TRACK THE OIL. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN AND WAS DEALT WITH MORE BAD NEWS. THE LOCAL DEALER STATED THAT I COULD NOT START THE OIL CONSUMPTION TEST UNTIL I FIXED TWO OTHER OIL LEAKS THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS. I WAS TOLD THE VEHICLE HAS A VALVE GASKET LEAK WHICH ALSO NEEDED A VALVE ADJUSTMENT AS WELL AS A CRANK SEAL LEAK. THE LOCAL DEALER QUOTED ME THAT THE VALVE GASKET WOULD COST $225, THE VALVE ADJUSTMENT WOULD BE $325, AND THE CRANK SEAL LEAK WOULD BE $245. EVERYWHERE I HAVE HEARD OTHERWISE THE COST OF THESE FIXES WOULD BE MUCH MORE THAN I WAS QUOTED. AFTER RECEIVING THIS NEWS I CALLED HONDA AGAIN TO CREATE A CLAIM. I STILL HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO SPEAK TO MY CASE REPRESENTATIVE ON THE PROBLEM. MY CONCERN IS THAT THE STICKING PISTON RINGS COULD HAVE LEAD TO THE TWO OTHER LEAKS MY VEHICLE IS HAVING. I FEEL AS THOUGH HONDA NEEDS TO COVER THE COSTS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM SEEING AS THOUGH THE PISTON RINGS ARE AN ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/27/2016 - SUNNYVALE, CA
AIRBAG (UNKNOWN WHETHER TAMARA) RECALL: REC'D LETTER FROM AMERICAN HONDA DATED JULY 2016 NOTIFYING ME OF RECALL AND SAYING "HONDA WILL SEND YOU ANOTHER LETTER WHEN PARTS BECOME AVAILABLE...". AS OF TODAY (12/27/16) I'VE RECEIVED NOTHING, SO I CALLED MY LOCAL DEALER - LARRY HOPKINS HONDA; SUNNYVALE CA. WAS TOLD THEY HAVE PARTS; HAVE HAD THEM FOR A WHILE! - BUT NEXT APPOINTMENT ISN'T UNTIL MARCH 16. WAS ALSO THEY COULD HAVE GOT ME IN SOONER HAD I CALLED SOONER ! WHY WASN'T I NOTIFIED SOONER BY AMERICAN HONDA? I REGULARLY TRANSPORT A 95 YEAR OLD MOTHER, AS WELL AS A DISABLED BROTHER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/13/2016 - HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V346000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 01/25/18

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2016 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
I HEAR THE RATTLE NOISE WHEN COLD START ENGINE ONLY 87,000 MILES I READ THE BULLETIN SERVICE THEY SAID THAT NOISE FROM DEFECTIVE VTC ACTUATOR THAT VALVE IS CONTROL TIMING TO ADVANCE AND RETART DEPEND ON ENGINE SPEED TO HELP CONTROL EMISSION TO HELP THE ENVIRONMENT AND LESS POLLUTION

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/30/2016 - GREENVILLE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WITHIN MONTHS OF OWNING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS WATER INTRUSION DURING HEAVY RAIN. THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE PANELING, ELECTRICAL FUNCTION AREA, AND SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG AREA WAS WET. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED AND DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 02/03/17 UPDATED 7/11/18

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/30/2016 - GREENVILLE, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2009 HONDA ACCORD. WITHIN MONTHS OF OWNING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS WATER INTRUSION DURING HEAVY RAIN. THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE PANELING, ELECTRICAL FUNCTION AREA, AND SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG AREA WAS WET. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED AND DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000. UPDATED 02/03/17 UPDATED 7/11/18

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 60
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds