Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 200 - 2012 CHRYSLER 200 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 233 complaints filed for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHRYSLER 200. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (8) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (51) Exterior Lighting (26) Seats (4) Suspension (13) Visibility (10)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (22) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Power Train (22) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (20)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/20/2016 - PIKEVILLE, KY
AIRBAG SENSOR LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON INTERMITTENTLY. I TOOK TO DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID WOULD BE FEE FOR DOING SENSOR CHECK. WE CALLED CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID IT WAS NOT UNDER RECALL. I TOOK TO ADVANCE AUTO AND THEY RAN A SENSOR CHECK FOR FREE FOR ME AND THEY SAID THERE WERE "ZERO" ISSUES OR PROBLEMS WHICH IS NOT RIGHT BECAUSE THE LIGHT AND DINGING COME ON INTERMITTENTLY EVERY FEW MINUTES WHEN DRIVING. WHAT IS STRANGE IS THAT IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN MY HUSBAND IS DRIVING THE CAR. WHEN I DRIVE IT, IT DOESN'T HAPPEN. THE LADY AT THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS STRANGE, BUT THAT THE TRANSMISSION RECOGNIZES DIFFERENT PEOPLE DRIVING AND TRIES TO ADJUST FOR IT AND MAYBE THAT WAS IT? THE OTHER DEALERS SAID THAT WAS SOMETHING THEY'D NEVER HEARD OF. MEANWHILE, THEY SAY THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO IF THERE IS NO SENSOR LIGHT APPEARING WHEN I TAKE IT IN, OR NOT SHOWING UP ON THE ERROR REPORT FROM THE SCAN. SO, I AM STUCK WITH DRIVING A CAR THAT CONSTANTLY DINGS, LIGHTS COME ON, AND WHEN I READ THE MANUAL IT SAID "TAKE TO THE DEALERSHIP IMMEDIATELY IF THIS HAPPENS!". IT IS SCARY, ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAVE MY CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN IN THE CAR, TO WORRY WHETHER MY AIRBAG IS GOING TO EXPLODE AT ANY GIVEN TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. I WOULD SINCERELY REQUEST CHRYSLER TAKE CARE OF THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2016 - STAUNTON, VA
THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY VEHICLE I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IN HARRISONBURG VA TO BE REPAIRED. THEY ONLY FIXED THE ACTIVE HEAD RESTRAINTS. MY CAR FAILED A STATE INSPECTION DUE TO MY AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATING. I HAVE READ THAT "CERTAIN" CHRYSLER 200'S 2012 THEY ARE TO REPROGRAM THE TIPM THEN REPLACE THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT MODULE IF NEEDED. THEY REFUSED TO REPLACE THIS GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE OF $400. I CALLED CHRYSLER AND THEY ALSO SAID MY CAR WAS NOT RECALLED BASED ON THE VIN AND MY ISSUE. I AM A SINGLE MOTHER WITH TWO KIDS MY CAR HAS 67,000 MILES ON IT HAS NEVER BEEN WRECKED OR DAMAGED AND I BELIEVE CHRYSLER SHOULD REPLACE THIS. MY CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD AN AIRBAG SHOULD NOT BECOME DEFECTIVE IN 4 YEARS. THIS EXACT ISSUE IS WHAT OTHER 2012 CHRYSLER 200S HAVE ALSO. I AM STILL UNABLE TO HAVE MY CAR PASS A STATE INSPECTION AND I ALSO INFORMED CHRYSLER THAT WHEN PASSENGERS RIDE IN THAT SEAT THEY ARE PUTTING LIVES AT RISK BY NOT ACTING QUICKLY. IT IS DANGEROUS AND CHRYSLER SHOULD RECALL ALL 2012 200'S. IT HEY INFORMED ME THE PROBLEM IS IN THE DASH I DON'T EVEN FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY CAR WHAT IF MY AIR BAGS DON'T DEPLOY? I WILL LIVE WITH THAT THE REST OF MY LIFE AND CHRYSLER SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR NEGLIGENCE. JUST BECAUSE MY VIN NUMBER DOESN'T MATCH AT THIS TIME OR THE TIME FRAME THEY CLAIM THE DEFECTS WERE INSTALLED DOESN'T MEAN THE PART THEY INSTALLED ISN'T DEFECTIVE. I HOPE YOU ALL TAKE THIS MATTER VERY SERIOUSLY. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT COULD TAKE OR SAVE LIVES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/15/2016 - STAUNTON, VA
THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY VEHICLE I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP IN HARRISONBURG VA TO BE REPAIRED. THEY ONLY FIXED THE ACTIVE HEAD RESTRAINTS. MY CAR FAILED A STATE INSPECTION DUE TO MY AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATING. I HAVE READ THAT "CERTAIN" CHRYSLER 200'S 2012 THEY ARE TO REPROGRAM THE TIPM THEN REPLACE THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT MODULE IF NEEDED. THEY REFUSED TO REPLACE THIS GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE OF $400. I CALLED CHRYSLER AND THEY ALSO SAID MY CAR WAS NOT RECALLED BASED ON THE VIN AND MY ISSUE. I AM A SINGLE MOTHER WITH TWO KIDS MY CAR HAS 67,000 MILES ON IT HAS NEVER BEEN WRECKED OR DAMAGED AND I BELIEVE CHRYSLER SHOULD REPLACE THIS. MY CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD AN AIRBAG SHOULD NOT BECOME DEFECTIVE IN 4 YEARS. THIS EXACT ISSUE IS WHAT OTHER 2012 CHRYSLER 200S HAVE ALSO. I AM STILL UNABLE TO HAVE MY CAR PASS A STATE INSPECTION AND I ALSO INFORMED CHRYSLER THAT WHEN PASSENGERS RIDE IN THAT SEAT THEY ARE PUTTING LIVES AT RISK BY NOT ACTING QUICKLY. IT IS DANGEROUS AND CHRYSLER SHOULD RECALL ALL 2012 200'S. IT HEY INFORMED ME THE PROBLEM IS IN THE DASH I DON'T EVEN FEEL SAFE DRIVING MY CAR WHAT IF MY AIR BAGS DON'T DEPLOY? I WILL LIVE WITH THAT THE REST OF MY LIFE AND CHRYSLER SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR NEGLIGENCE. JUST BECAUSE MY VIN NUMBER DOESN'T MATCH AT THIS TIME OR THE TIME FRAME THEY CLAIM THE DEFECTS WERE INSTALLED DOESN'T MEAN THE PART THEY INSTALLED ISN'T DEFECTIVE. I HOPE YOU ALL TAKE THIS MATTER VERY SERIOUSLY. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT COULD TAKE OR SAVE LIVES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/27/2016 - SLORISSANT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE SLOWED TO 20 MPH AND WENT INTO LIMP MODE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,200.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2016 - SLORISSANT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE SLOWED TO 20 MPH AND WENT INTO LIMP MODE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2016 - MAPLE HTS, OH
MY CAR HEATING SYSTEM ONLY HEAT HALF OF THE CAR AND YOU CAN SMELL ANTIFREEZE COMING THROUGH THE VENTS. THE PASSENGER FROM WINDOW HAS STOP WORKING, IT WILL COME DOWN BUT WANT GO UP. AND THE TWO WINDOWS IN THE BACK IS TRYING TO STOP WORKING. I JUST GOT THIS CAR ON 11/01/2015 WITH ONLY 32,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/20/2016 - MAPLE HTS, OH
MY CAR HEATING SYSTEM ONLY HEAT HALF OF THE CAR AND YOU CAN SMELL ANTIFREEZE COMING THROUGH THE VENTS. THE PASSENGER FROM WINDOW HAS STOP WORKING, IT WILL COME DOWN BUT WANT GO UP. AND THE TWO WINDOWS IN THE BACK IS TRYING TO STOP WORKING. I JUST GOT THIS CAR ON 11/01/2015 WITH ONLY 32,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2016 - SOUTHFIELD, MI
WHILE ON THE FREEWAY IN THE RAIN, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOP IN MOTION AND STAY IN UPWARD POSITION AGAINST THE WINDSHIELD. FREEZE UP OF WIPERS IS INTERMITTENT. WIPERS DO NOT ALWAYS RESPOND TO OFF POSITION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/17/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY, THE RPM GAUGE INCREASED FROM 0-4, AND THE SPEEDOMETER GAUGE FAILED TO DISPLAY THE ACTUAL SPEED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY, THE RPM GAUGE INCREASED FROM 0-4, AND THE SPEEDOMETER GAUGE FAILED TO DISPLAY THE ACTUAL SPEED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds