Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 200 - 2012 CHRYSLER 200 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 138 complaints filed for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHRYSLER 200. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (11) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (23) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (16) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (35) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (14) Structure (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2015 - BELLE, MO
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY TURNED OVER, THE LIGHTS FLICKERED FOR THE GAGES AND SENSORS AS WELL AS THERE WAS A NOISE INDICATING THE FUEL PUMP WAS ON BUT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION AND DIAGNOSIS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. DYD

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/19/2015 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
THERE IS LOW HEAT OUTPUT FROM THE HEATER VENTS DUE TO THE HEATER CORE PLUGGING UP WITH "SLUDGE" AS CHRYSLER CALLS IT. THERE IS A CHRYSLER STAR TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE HOTLINE CASE, NUMBER S1207000008 EXPLAINING HEATER CORE RESTRICTION DUE TO SLUDGE CAUSING POOR HEATER SYSTEM PERFORMANCE. IT IS A WELL KNOWN PROBLEM WITH A LARGE NUMBER OF CHRYLSER 200 WHICH I AM SURE CAN BE VERIFIED BY CHRYSLER. I BELIEVE IT SHOULD BE A RECALL, OR AT LEAST AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ISSUE. THE STAR CASE STATES TO REPLACE THE HEATER CORE, RADIATOR, RADIATOR CAP AND REVERSE FLUSH THE ENTIRE SYSTEM IF THE CUSTOMER COMPLAINT CAN BE VERIFIED BY THE TECHNICIAN, HOWEVER IT DOES NOT EXPLAIN THE ACTUAL CAUSE OF THE SLUDGE. HERE ARE OTHER WEBLINKS RELATED TO THE SAME ISSUE THAT IS IN MY OPINION AN OBVIOUS PROBLEM THAT CHRYLSER SHOULD PLACE A RECALL ON IMMEDIATELY. HTTP://STARPARTS.CHRYSLER.COM/NEWSLETTERS/NEWSLETTER_OCT_2012.PDF HTTP://WWW.200FORUMS.COM/FORUM/10-CHRYSLER-200-ENGINE-TECHNICAL-DISCUSSION/1966-FYI-HEATER-CORE-6.HTML HTTP://WWW-ODI.NHTSA.DOT.GOV/OWNERS/SEARCHRESULTS;JSESSIONID=CNHMJLWQHT8GKGYHDRZYJPXXPX2LNZ4JBZS8MT3QB6TMZCTNS2RP!389628101?PRODTYPE=V&SEARCHTYPE=PROD&TARGETCATEGORY=A&SEARCHCRITERIA.MODEL=200&STATS=1306768%2C2%2C0%2C135%2C0%2C200&MAKESTATS=1306768%2C2%2C0%2C135%2C0%2C200%3B1369770%2C4%2C0%2C62%2C8%2C300%3B1883971%2C1%2C0%2C0%2C0%2CSEBRING%3B1306769%2C4%2C1%2C149%2C3%2CTOWN+AND+COUNTRY%3B&JSONBASEURL=%2FDOWNLOADS%2FFOLDERS%2F&SEARCHCRITERIA.MODEL_YR=2012&SEARCHCRITERIA.MAKE=CHRYSLER&SEARCHCRITERIA.PROD_IDS=1306768

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: HEATER CORE

2/17/2015 - OAKDALE , TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEFOGGER ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE MALFUNCTIONED AND PREVENTED THE CONTACT FROM SEEING THROUGH THE WINDSHIELD. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS A HEATER CORE RESTRICTION DUE TO SLUDGE, WHICH CAUSED POOR HEATER SYSTEM PERFORMANCE. THE SYSTEM WAS FLUSHED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/17/2015 - OAKDALE, TN
2012 CHRYSLER 200 HEATER ISSUE. VEHICLE WILL NOT WARM ON PASSENGER SIDE PREVENTING DEFOGGER TO REDUCE ICE OR SNOW FROM WINDSHIELD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP AND AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO REMOVE SLUDGE FROM THE RADIATOR AND HEATER CORE THE HEATER STILL WILL NOT MAINTAIN HEAT TO THE PASSENGER SIDE WHICH IS A SAFETY ISSUE IN KEEPING THE WINDSHIELD CLEAR OF ICE OR SNOW. DEALERSHIP INDICATED THAT HEATER CORE, RADIATOR AND COOLANT RESERVOIR WILL ALL NEED TO BE REPLACED. IN READING VARIOUS FORMS ITS KNOWN THAT CHRYSLER USES SOME TYPE OF CHEMICAL TO PLUG ANY PIN HOLES IN THE RADIATOR AND THIS PRODUCT IS CAUSING A SLUDGE IN THE SYSTEM AND CREATING THE PROBLEM. CHRYSLER WILL NOT OR INDICATED AFTER CALLING, THEY WILL NOT PAY THE $1700 COST OF THE REPAIRS THAT WERE CREATED DURING MANUFACTURING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - SENECA, SC
THERE IS AN AWFUL SMELL OF FUMES COMING THROUGH THE AIRVENTS INSIDE CAR. IT'S SO TERRIBLE THAT IT TAKES YOUR BREATH AWAY. WELL I FOUND OUT THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS BECAUSE IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THAC 7 HEATING SYSTEM. MOLD AND BATERIA HAS SET UP AROUND THE HEATER CORE AND THE ANTIFREEZE HAS STARTED LOOKING LIDE THICK GLUE OR SOMETHING. NOW MY HEAT DOES NOT WORK CORRECTLY. THE SMELL THAT'S COMING THROUGHT THE VENTS, WELL I HAD TO GO TO EMERGENCY ROOM BECAUSE I COULD NOT BREATH. THE SMELL SETTLES IN MY CLOTHES AND BY ME BREATHING IT IN, THE SMELL HAS SETLED IN MY NOSTRILS. BY THE TIME I GET TO WORK ALL MY CLOTHESI HAVE ON SMELLS. WENT TO HOSPITAL BECUASE IT HAS MADE ME SO SICK, MY YES BURN FROM THE SMELL.THIS IS DANGEROUS. THE MECHANIC I SAW SAID THE COMPARTMENT WHERE THE ANTIFREEZE IS NEEDS TO BE FLUSHED OUT AND THERMASTAT REPLACED AND PROBABLY VALVE GASKETS AND THE HEATER CORE MAY BE STOP UP ALSO SINCE THE ANTIFREEZE WAS LIKE GLUE,THE FUMES FROM THE VENTS IS BAD IT CAN AFFECT YOUR RESPITORY SYSTEM AND YOUR BREATHING. LAKE KEOWEE CHRSLYER DODGE OF SENCA SC WAS CALLED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. THEY SAID THEY NEEDED THE NUMBER FROM RECALL. WELL THIS LISCENSE MECHANIC IS GOING TO TELL ME HOW TO HANDLE THIS PROBLEM. THIS HAS AFFECTED MY HEALTH AND IT ALSO AFFECTED MY HEATING SYSTEM. IT WILL NOT WORK. I HAVE TO PUT ON FACE MASK SO I WON'T HAVE TO SMELL THAT AEFUL FUME. I ALREADY SPOKEN TO AN ATTORNEY ABOUT THIS

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/6/2015 - AURORA, CO
FIRST TIME DRIVING THE CAR IN SNOWY CONDITIONS,THERE WAS ABOUT AN INCH OF SNOW ON THE GROUND.I HAD A VERY HARD TIME CONTROLLING IT,IT WILL SWIRVE ALL OVER THE PLACE,I'M A TRUCK DRIVER USED TO THE WORST CONDITIONS,I WOULD SAY I'LL RATHER DRIVE A P/U TRUCK(2WD)WITHOUT EXTRA WEIGHT IN THE BED ON ICE..

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/23/2014 - SALAMANCA , NY
THERE IS LOW HEAT OUTPUT FROM THE HEATER VENTS DUE TO THE HEATER CORE PLUGGING UP WITH "SLUDGE" AS CHRYSLER CALLS IT. THERE IS A CHRYSLER STAR TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE HOTLINE CASE, NUMBER S1207000008 EXPLAINING HEATER CORE RESTRICTION DUE TO SLUDGE CAUSING POOR HEATER SYSTEM PERFORMANCE. IT IS A WELL KNOWN PROBLEM WITH A LARGE NUMBER OF CHRYLSER 200 AND DODGE AVENGERS WHICH I AM SURE CAN BE VERIFIED BY CHRYSLER. I BELIEVE IT SHOULD BE A RECALL, OR AT LEAST AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ISSUE. THE STAR CASE STATES TO REPLACE THE HEATER CORE, RADIATOR, RADIATOR CAP AND REVERSE FLUSH THE ENTIRE SYSTEM IF THE CUSTOMER COMPLAINT CAN BE VERIFIED BY THE TECHNICIAN, HOWEVER IT DOES NOT EXPLAIN THE ACTUAL CAUSE OF THE SLUDGE. THE SYMPTOM FIRST NOTICED IS LITTLE OR NO HEAT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE, THEN PROGRESSIVELY LOWER HEAT OUTPUT THE MORE PLUGGED THE HEATER CORE BECOMES AS TIME GOES ON. I BELIEVE IN COLD CLIMATES THIS COULD ALSO CAUSE THE WINDSHIELD TO STAY ICED OVER, OR BECOME ICED OVER AS YOU DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD DUE TO WIND CHILL FACTOR OF THE VEHICLE SPEED. IT COULD ALSO BE AGGRAVATED BY THE FACT THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER RUNS WITH THE HEATER ON DEFROST ( TO DRY INTERIOR AIR IN ORDER TO DE-FOG THE WINDSHIELD IN HUMID OR RAINY WEATHER) WHICH FURTHER COOLS THE ALREADY COLD AIR COMING FROM THE DEFROSTER VENT IF THE HEATER CORE EVENTUALLY BECOMES COMPLETELY PLUGGED. IN HOT CLIMATES, THE HEATER CORE STILL PLUGS UP, HOWEVER THE CUSTOMER MAY NEVER NOTICE THE SYMPTOMS. I ALSO HAPPEN TO BE CHRYSLER ACADEMY MASTER CERTIFIED IN ALL CORE CURRICULUM, POWERTRAIN, ELECTRICAL AND CHASSIS. ASE MASTER AND ADVANCED LEVEL CERTIFIED (A1 THROUGH A9 AND L1) ASE CERTIFIED PARTS SPECIALIST(P2)AND SERVICE CONSULTANT(C1) AND I HAVE AN AOS DEGREE IN AUTOMOTIVE TRADES FROM SUNY ALFRED. NEW YORK STATE DMV CERTIFICATIONS( F.E.E.T, S.T.E.P, C.A.P.S, F.I.S.T.). CREDNTIALS CAN BE VERIFIED UPON REQUEST.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/23/2014 - SALAMANCA , NY
THERE IS LOW HEAT OUTPUT FROM THE HEATER VENTS DUE TO THE HEATER CORE PLUGGING UP WITH "SLUDGE" AS CHRYSLER CALLS IT. THERE IS A CHRYSLER STAR TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE HOTLINE CASE, NUMBER S1207000008 EXPLAINING HEATER CORE RESTRICTION DUE TO SLUDGE CAUSING POOR HEATER SYSTEM PERFORMANCE. IT IS A WELL KNOWN PROBLEM WITH A LARGE NUMBER OF CHRYLSER 200 AND DODGE AVENGERS WHICH I AM SURE CAN BE VERIFIED BY CHRYSLER. I BELIEVE IT SHOULD BE A RECALL, OR AT LEAST AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ISSUE. THE STAR CASE STATES TO REPLACE THE HEATER CORE, RADIATOR, RADIATOR CAP AND REVERSE FLUSH THE ENTIRE SYSTEM IF THE CUSTOMER COMPLAINT CAN BE VERIFIED BY THE TECHNICIAN, HOWEVER IT DOES NOT EXPLAIN THE ACTUAL CAUSE OF THE SLUDGE. THE SYMPTOM FIRST NOTICED IS LITTLE OR NO HEAT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE, THEN PROGRESSIVELY LOWER HEAT OUTPUT THE MORE PLUGGED THE HEATER CORE BECOMES AS TIME GOES ON. I BELIEVE IN COLD CLIMATES THIS COULD ALSO CAUSE THE WINDSHIELD TO STAY ICED OVER, OR BECOME ICED OVER AS YOU DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD DUE TO WIND CHILL FACTOR OF THE VEHICLE SPEED. IT COULD ALSO BE AGGRAVATED BY THE FACT THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER RUNS WITH THE HEATER ON DEFROST ( TO DRY INTERIOR AIR IN ORDER TO DE-FOG THE WINDSHIELD IN HUMID OR RAINY WEATHER) WHICH FURTHER COOLS THE ALREADY COLD AIR COMING FROM THE DEFROSTER VENT IF THE HEATER CORE EVENTUALLY BECOMES COMPLETELY PLUGGED. IN HOT CLIMATES, THE HEATER CORE STILL PLUGS UP, HOWEVER THE CUSTOMER MAY NEVER NOTICE THE SYMPTOMS. I ALSO HAPPEN TO BE CHRYSLER ACADEMY MASTER CERTIFIED IN ALL CORE CURRICULUM, POWERTRAIN, ELECTRICAL AND CHASSIS. ASE MASTER AND ADVANCED LEVEL CERTIFIED (A1 THROUGH A9 AND L1) ASE CERTIFIED PARTS SPECIALIST(P2)AND SERVICE CONSULTANT(C1) AND I HAVE AN AOS DEGREE IN AUTOMOTIVE TRADES FROM SUNY ALFRED. NEW YORK STATE DMV CERTIFICATIONS( F.E.E.T, S.T.E.P, C.A.P.S, F.I.S.T.). CREDNTIALS CAN BE VERIFIED UPON REQUEST.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/12/2014 - TRENTON, NJ
UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES ON ITS OWN. THE ENGINE STALLS AND LOSS OF STEERING. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND BLINKS, AS WELL AS THE ENGINE LIGHT AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. ACCELERATION IS ONLY AT 20% OF WHAT IT NORMAY IS WITH ITERMITTENT THRUST OF POWER FOLLOWED BY ENGINE FAILURE. THIS LASTS FOR SEVERAL MILES THEN THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO DISSAPPER. CHRYSLER HAS NO IDEA A OUT THIS PROBLEM WITH THERE VEHICLES AND IF U TAKE IT TO AN AUTO REPAIR PLACE. IT SAYS SAYS THE VEHICLE IS FINE WHEN THEY PLUG IT IN. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THIS TO FIND OUT WHAT TO DO AND THE I TERNET IS SWAMPED BY PEOPLE WITH THIS CAR, THIS SAME YEAR OR AROUND THE SAME YEAR... WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS VEHICLE IS UNSAFE. LOGIC SUGGESTS THAT CHRYSLER WONT VOLUNTARILY RECALL THIS VEHICLE FOR FINANCIAL REASONS WHICH IS UNDERSTANDABLE BUT AT THE SAME TIME I DONT WANNA DIE BECAUSE I CANT CONTROL THIS CAR WHEN IT HAS THE ABOVE MENTIONED "EPISODE".

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/12/2014 - TRENTON, NJ
UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES ON ITS OWN. THE ENGINE STALLS AND LOSS OF STEERING. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND BLINKS, AS WELL AS THE ENGINE LIGHT AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. ACCELERATION IS ONLY AT 20% OF WHAT IT NORMAY IS WITH ITERMITTENT THRUST OF POWER FOLLOWED BY ENGINE FAILURE. THIS LASTS FOR SEVERAL MILES THEN THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO DISSAPPER. CHRYSLER HAS NO IDEA A OUT THIS PROBLEM WITH THERE VEHICLES AND IF U TAKE IT TO AN AUTO REPAIR PLACE. IT SAYS SAYS THE VEHICLE IS FINE WHEN THEY PLUG IT IN. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THIS TO FIND OUT WHAT TO DO AND THE I TERNET IS SWAMPED BY PEOPLE WITH THIS CAR, THIS SAME YEAR OR AROUND THE SAME YEAR... WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS VEHICLE IS UNSAFE. LOGIC SUGGESTS THAT CHRYSLER WONT VOLUNTARILY RECALL THIS VEHICLE FOR FINANCIAL REASONS WHICH IS UNDERSTANDABLE BUT AT THE SAME TIME I DONT WANNA DIE BECAUSE I CANT CONTROL THIS CAR WHEN IT HAS THE ABOVE MENTIONED "EPISODE".

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds