Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 200 - 2012 CHRYSLER 200 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 132 complaints filed for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHRYSLER 200. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (11) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (23) Seats (2) Tires (1) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (16) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (35) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (14) Structure (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - SENECA, SC
THERE IS AN AWFUL SMELL OF FUMES COMING THROUGH THE AIRVENTS INSIDE CAR. IT'S SO TERRIBLE THAT IT TAKES YOUR BREATH AWAY. WELL I FOUND OUT THERE IS A RECALL ON THIS BECAUSE IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THAC 7 HEATING SYSTEM. MOLD AND BATERIA HAS SET UP AROUND THE HEATER CORE AND THE ANTIFREEZE HAS STARTED LOOKING LIDE THICK GLUE OR SOMETHING. NOW MY HEAT DOES NOT WORK CORRECTLY. THE SMELL THAT'S COMING THROUGHT THE VENTS, WELL I HAD TO GO TO EMERGENCY ROOM BECAUSE I COULD NOT BREATH. THE SMELL SETTLES IN MY CLOTHES AND BY ME BREATHING IT IN, THE SMELL HAS SETLED IN MY NOSTRILS. BY THE TIME I GET TO WORK ALL MY CLOTHESI HAVE ON SMELLS. WENT TO HOSPITAL BECUASE IT HAS MADE ME SO SICK, MY YES BURN FROM THE SMELL.THIS IS DANGEROUS. THE MECHANIC I SAW SAID THE COMPARTMENT WHERE THE ANTIFREEZE IS NEEDS TO BE FLUSHED OUT AND THERMASTAT REPLACED AND PROBABLY VALVE GASKETS AND THE HEATER CORE MAY BE STOP UP ALSO SINCE THE ANTIFREEZE WAS LIKE GLUE,THE FUMES FROM THE VENTS IS BAD IT CAN AFFECT YOUR RESPITORY SYSTEM AND YOUR BREATHING. LAKE KEOWEE CHRSLYER DODGE OF SENCA SC WAS CALLED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. THEY SAID THEY NEEDED THE NUMBER FROM RECALL. WELL THIS LISCENSE MECHANIC IS GOING TO TELL ME HOW TO HANDLE THIS PROBLEM. THIS HAS AFFECTED MY HEALTH AND IT ALSO AFFECTED MY HEATING SYSTEM. IT WILL NOT WORK. I HAVE TO PUT ON FACE MASK SO I WON'T HAVE TO SMELL THAT AEFUL FUME. I ALREADY SPOKEN TO AN ATTORNEY ABOUT THIS

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/6/2015 - AURORA, CO
FIRST TIME DRIVING THE CAR IN SNOWY CONDITIONS,THERE WAS ABOUT AN INCH OF SNOW ON THE GROUND.I HAD A VERY HARD TIME CONTROLLING IT,IT WILL SWIRVE ALL OVER THE PLACE,I'M A TRUCK DRIVER USED TO THE WORST CONDITIONS,I WOULD SAY I'LL RATHER DRIVE A P/U TRUCK(2WD)WITHOUT EXTRA WEIGHT IN THE BED ON ICE..

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/23/2014 - SALAMANCA , NY
THERE IS LOW HEAT OUTPUT FROM THE HEATER VENTS DUE TO THE HEATER CORE PLUGGING UP WITH "SLUDGE" AS CHRYSLER CALLS IT. THERE IS A CHRYSLER STAR TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE HOTLINE CASE, NUMBER S1207000008 EXPLAINING HEATER CORE RESTRICTION DUE TO SLUDGE CAUSING POOR HEATER SYSTEM PERFORMANCE. IT IS A WELL KNOWN PROBLEM WITH A LARGE NUMBER OF CHRYLSER 200 AND DODGE AVENGERS WHICH I AM SURE CAN BE VERIFIED BY CHRYSLER. I BELIEVE IT SHOULD BE A RECALL, OR AT LEAST AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ISSUE. THE STAR CASE STATES TO REPLACE THE HEATER CORE, RADIATOR, RADIATOR CAP AND REVERSE FLUSH THE ENTIRE SYSTEM IF THE CUSTOMER COMPLAINT CAN BE VERIFIED BY THE TECHNICIAN, HOWEVER IT DOES NOT EXPLAIN THE ACTUAL CAUSE OF THE SLUDGE. THE SYMPTOM FIRST NOTICED IS LITTLE OR NO HEAT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE, THEN PROGRESSIVELY LOWER HEAT OUTPUT THE MORE PLUGGED THE HEATER CORE BECOMES AS TIME GOES ON. I BELIEVE IN COLD CLIMATES THIS COULD ALSO CAUSE THE WINDSHIELD TO STAY ICED OVER, OR BECOME ICED OVER AS YOU DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD DUE TO WIND CHILL FACTOR OF THE VEHICLE SPEED. IT COULD ALSO BE AGGRAVATED BY THE FACT THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER RUNS WITH THE HEATER ON DEFROST ( TO DRY INTERIOR AIR IN ORDER TO DE-FOG THE WINDSHIELD IN HUMID OR RAINY WEATHER) WHICH FURTHER COOLS THE ALREADY COLD AIR COMING FROM THE DEFROSTER VENT IF THE HEATER CORE EVENTUALLY BECOMES COMPLETELY PLUGGED. IN HOT CLIMATES, THE HEATER CORE STILL PLUGS UP, HOWEVER THE CUSTOMER MAY NEVER NOTICE THE SYMPTOMS. I ALSO HAPPEN TO BE CHRYSLER ACADEMY MASTER CERTIFIED IN ALL CORE CURRICULUM, POWERTRAIN, ELECTRICAL AND CHASSIS. ASE MASTER AND ADVANCED LEVEL CERTIFIED (A1 THROUGH A9 AND L1) ASE CERTIFIED PARTS SPECIALIST(P2)AND SERVICE CONSULTANT(C1) AND I HAVE AN AOS DEGREE IN AUTOMOTIVE TRADES FROM SUNY ALFRED. NEW YORK STATE DMV CERTIFICATIONS( F.E.E.T, S.T.E.P, C.A.P.S, F.I.S.T.). CREDNTIALS CAN BE VERIFIED UPON REQUEST.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/23/2014 - SALAMANCA , NY
THERE IS LOW HEAT OUTPUT FROM THE HEATER VENTS DUE TO THE HEATER CORE PLUGGING UP WITH "SLUDGE" AS CHRYSLER CALLS IT. THERE IS A CHRYSLER STAR TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE HOTLINE CASE, NUMBER S1207000008 EXPLAINING HEATER CORE RESTRICTION DUE TO SLUDGE CAUSING POOR HEATER SYSTEM PERFORMANCE. IT IS A WELL KNOWN PROBLEM WITH A LARGE NUMBER OF CHRYLSER 200 AND DODGE AVENGERS WHICH I AM SURE CAN BE VERIFIED BY CHRYSLER. I BELIEVE IT SHOULD BE A RECALL, OR AT LEAST AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ISSUE. THE STAR CASE STATES TO REPLACE THE HEATER CORE, RADIATOR, RADIATOR CAP AND REVERSE FLUSH THE ENTIRE SYSTEM IF THE CUSTOMER COMPLAINT CAN BE VERIFIED BY THE TECHNICIAN, HOWEVER IT DOES NOT EXPLAIN THE ACTUAL CAUSE OF THE SLUDGE. THE SYMPTOM FIRST NOTICED IS LITTLE OR NO HEAT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE, THEN PROGRESSIVELY LOWER HEAT OUTPUT THE MORE PLUGGED THE HEATER CORE BECOMES AS TIME GOES ON. I BELIEVE IN COLD CLIMATES THIS COULD ALSO CAUSE THE WINDSHIELD TO STAY ICED OVER, OR BECOME ICED OVER AS YOU DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD DUE TO WIND CHILL FACTOR OF THE VEHICLE SPEED. IT COULD ALSO BE AGGRAVATED BY THE FACT THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER RUNS WITH THE HEATER ON DEFROST ( TO DRY INTERIOR AIR IN ORDER TO DE-FOG THE WINDSHIELD IN HUMID OR RAINY WEATHER) WHICH FURTHER COOLS THE ALREADY COLD AIR COMING FROM THE DEFROSTER VENT IF THE HEATER CORE EVENTUALLY BECOMES COMPLETELY PLUGGED. IN HOT CLIMATES, THE HEATER CORE STILL PLUGS UP, HOWEVER THE CUSTOMER MAY NEVER NOTICE THE SYMPTOMS. I ALSO HAPPEN TO BE CHRYSLER ACADEMY MASTER CERTIFIED IN ALL CORE CURRICULUM, POWERTRAIN, ELECTRICAL AND CHASSIS. ASE MASTER AND ADVANCED LEVEL CERTIFIED (A1 THROUGH A9 AND L1) ASE CERTIFIED PARTS SPECIALIST(P2)AND SERVICE CONSULTANT(C1) AND I HAVE AN AOS DEGREE IN AUTOMOTIVE TRADES FROM SUNY ALFRED. NEW YORK STATE DMV CERTIFICATIONS( F.E.E.T, S.T.E.P, C.A.P.S, F.I.S.T.). CREDNTIALS CAN BE VERIFIED UPON REQUEST.

View Details

ENGINE

12/12/2014 - TRENTON, NJ
UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES ON ITS OWN. THE ENGINE STALLS AND LOSS OF STEERING. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND BLINKS, AS WELL AS THE ENGINE LIGHT AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. ACCELERATION IS ONLY AT 20% OF WHAT IT NORMAY IS WITH ITERMITTENT THRUST OF POWER FOLLOWED BY ENGINE FAILURE. THIS LASTS FOR SEVERAL MILES THEN THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO DISSAPPER. CHRYSLER HAS NO IDEA A OUT THIS PROBLEM WITH THERE VEHICLES AND IF U TAKE IT TO AN AUTO REPAIR PLACE. IT SAYS SAYS THE VEHICLE IS FINE WHEN THEY PLUG IT IN. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THIS TO FIND OUT WHAT TO DO AND THE I TERNET IS SWAMPED BY PEOPLE WITH THIS CAR, THIS SAME YEAR OR AROUND THE SAME YEAR... WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS VEHICLE IS UNSAFE. LOGIC SUGGESTS THAT CHRYSLER WONT VOLUNTARILY RECALL THIS VEHICLE FOR FINANCIAL REASONS WHICH IS UNDERSTANDABLE BUT AT THE SAME TIME I DONT WANNA DIE BECAUSE I CANT CONTROL THIS CAR WHEN IT HAS THE ABOVE MENTIONED "EPISODE".

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/12/2014 - TRENTON, NJ
UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES ON ITS OWN. THE ENGINE STALLS AND LOSS OF STEERING. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND BLINKS, AS WELL AS THE ENGINE LIGHT AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. ACCELERATION IS ONLY AT 20% OF WHAT IT NORMAY IS WITH ITERMITTENT THRUST OF POWER FOLLOWED BY ENGINE FAILURE. THIS LASTS FOR SEVERAL MILES THEN THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO DISSAPPER. CHRYSLER HAS NO IDEA A OUT THIS PROBLEM WITH THERE VEHICLES AND IF U TAKE IT TO AN AUTO REPAIR PLACE. IT SAYS SAYS THE VEHICLE IS FINE WHEN THEY PLUG IT IN. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THIS TO FIND OUT WHAT TO DO AND THE I TERNET IS SWAMPED BY PEOPLE WITH THIS CAR, THIS SAME YEAR OR AROUND THE SAME YEAR... WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS VEHICLE IS UNSAFE. LOGIC SUGGESTS THAT CHRYSLER WONT VOLUNTARILY RECALL THIS VEHICLE FOR FINANCIAL REASONS WHICH IS UNDERSTANDABLE BUT AT THE SAME TIME I DONT WANNA DIE BECAUSE I CANT CONTROL THIS CAR WHEN IT HAS THE ABOVE MENTIONED "EPISODE".

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/12/2014 - TRENTON, NJ
UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS ALL OF A SUDDEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES ON ITS OWN. THE ENGINE STALLS AND LOSS OF STEERING. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND BLINKS, AS WELL AS THE ENGINE LIGHT AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON. ACCELERATION IS ONLY AT 20% OF WHAT IT NORMAY IS WITH ITERMITTENT THRUST OF POWER FOLLOWED BY ENGINE FAILURE. THIS LASTS FOR SEVERAL MILES THEN THE PROBLEM SEEMS TO DISSAPPER. CHRYSLER HAS NO IDEA A OUT THIS PROBLEM WITH THERE VEHICLES AND IF U TAKE IT TO AN AUTO REPAIR PLACE. IT SAYS SAYS THE VEHICLE IS FINE WHEN THEY PLUG IT IN. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THIS TO FIND OUT WHAT TO DO AND THE I TERNET IS SWAMPED BY PEOPLE WITH THIS CAR, THIS SAME YEAR OR AROUND THE SAME YEAR... WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THIS VEHICLE IS UNSAFE. LOGIC SUGGESTS THAT CHRYSLER WONT VOLUNTARILY RECALL THIS VEHICLE FOR FINANCIAL REASONS WHICH IS UNDERSTANDABLE BUT AT THE SAME TIME I DONT WANNA DIE BECAUSE I CANT CONTROL THIS CAR WHEN IT HAS THE ABOVE MENTIONED "EPISODE".

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/27/2014 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

10/23/2014 - CLARK, NJ
2012 CHRYSLER 200. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PAINT BUBBLING AND RUST ON VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER NOTICED THE PAINT ABOVE THE PASSENGER SIDE HEAD LIGHT WAS BUBBLING, INDICATING RUST. HE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR AN INSPECTION. THE DEALER STATED IT APPEARED THE VEHICLE HAD PREVIOUSLY BEEN PAINTED. CHRYSLER INSTRUCTED THE CONSUMER TO SEND PICTURES OF THE VEHICLE. AFTER LOOKING AT THE PICTURES, CHRYSLER STATED THE PROBLEM WAS DUE TO AN ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/18/2014 - ISANTI, MN
WITHIN 2 DAYS OF PURCHASING THIS VEHICLE, REAR BRAKES WERE SQUEALING LIKE THEY WOULD DO IF THEY WERE DUE TO BE REPLACED. I BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SUPPOSEDLY INSPECTED THEM AND TOLD ME "ITS JUST RUST FROM SITTING ON THE LOT AND IT WILL CLEAR UP AFTER YOU DRIVE IT A WHILE", IT CONTINUED AND A COUPLE MONTHS FOLLOWING THE FIRST VISIT I RETURNED WITH THE VEHICLE AND TOLD THEM IT STILL WAS MAKING THE NOISE AND THEY CHECKED IT OUT AGAIN AND SAID "OH, ITS JUST DUST ON THE BRAKES AND IF YOU STEP ON YOUR BRAKES HARD AT ABOUT 40 MPH THAT SHOULD TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM". HERE WE ARE 2 YEARS LATER AND THE REAR BRAKES STILL MAKE THE SQUEALING NOISE. ABOUT JUNE/JULY OF THIS YEAR TIMEFRAME I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE IN TO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE I HAVE ABOUT 5 DIFFERENT SPOTS ON THE HOOD AND GRILL OF THE VEHICLE HAS THE PAINT "BLISTERING" AND RUST UNDERNEATH. THE DEALERSHIP DIDN'T CALL ME AND TELL ME WHAT THEY WERE GOING TO DO ABOUT IT SO I CALLED THEM ABOUT A MONTH LATER. THE WARRANTY GUY AT THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT CHRYSLER WAS GOING TO "SEND A WHOLE NEW HOOD" WHICH I GUESS DIDN'T MAKE MUCH SENSE TO ME BUT WHATEVER. TO DATE I HAVEN'T HEARD FROM THE DEALERSHIP ANY FURTHER ON THIS MATTER AND THE VEHICLE IS NEARING THE LIMITS ON THE WARRANTY PERIOD FOR MILEAGE. THE DEALERSHIP I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH IS JOHN HIRSCH'S MOTORS IN CAMBRIDGE, MN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds