Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 200 - 2012 CHRYSLER 200 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 201 complaints filed for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHRYSLER 200. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (3) Seat Belts (8) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (25) Seats (3) Suspension (13) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (20) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (47) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (21) Steering (34) Unknown Or Other (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/8/2016 - OXON HILL, MD
ON APRIL 26, 2012, I PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2012 CHRYSLER FROM AN OFFICIAL CHRYSLER CORPORATION DEALERSHIP. SINCE THEN THIS CAR HAS BEEN PUT IN THE SHOP APPROXIMATELY 30 TIMES FOR FROM MEDIUM TO MAJOR PROBLEMS. THE 1ST MAJOR PROBLEM WAS 9/26/212 WHICH WAS DIAGNOSED AS GEAR-RACK AND PINON. IT HAS HAD TWO LIFTERS(RELATIVE TO THE MOTOR) BECAUSE OF LOUD TAPPING. THREE HEATER CORDS; A COUPLE OF RE-CALLS;TRANSMISSIONS LEAKS; INTERNAL ENGINE DAMAGES; HEADLAMPS NEEDED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENTS; WASHER FLUID TANK LEAKED AND NEEDED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENT; THE CAR HORN FAILED TO BLOW ON DEMAND; BRAKES NEEDED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENTS; CAMSHAFT, ROCKERS HAD TO BE REPLACED TWICE; HEATER CORD EXPERIENCED INTERNAL FAILURE AND HAD TO BE REPLACED; BRAKE PADS; BRAKE LIGHT (DASHBOARD) HAS BEEN BEEPING ON SINCE 2013 AND IS STILL DOING THE SAME THING TODAY; ENGINE AIR FILTER HAD TO BE REPLACED; AND A HOST OF OTHER VEHICLE PROBLEMS THAT SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING ON A BRAND SPANKING NEW 2012 VEHICLE!! PLEASE ASSIST AND ADVISE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/8/2016 - OXON HILL, MD
ON APRIL 26, 2012, I PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2012 CHRYSLER FROM AN OFFICIAL CHRYSLER CORPORATION DEALERSHIP. SINCE THEN THIS CAR HAS BEEN PUT IN THE SHOP APPROXIMATELY 30 TIMES FOR FROM MEDIUM TO MAJOR PROBLEMS. THE 1ST MAJOR PROBLEM WAS 9/26/212 WHICH WAS DIAGNOSED AS GEAR-RACK AND PINON. IT HAS HAD TWO LIFTERS(RELATIVE TO THE MOTOR) BECAUSE OF LOUD TAPPING. THREE HEATER CORDS; A COUPLE OF RE-CALLS;TRANSMISSIONS LEAKS; INTERNAL ENGINE DAMAGES; HEADLAMPS NEEDED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENTS; WASHER FLUID TANK LEAKED AND NEEDED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENT; THE CAR HORN FAILED TO BLOW ON DEMAND; BRAKES NEEDED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENTS; CAMSHAFT, ROCKERS HAD TO BE REPLACED TWICE; HEATER CORD EXPERIENCED INTERNAL FAILURE AND HAD TO BE REPLACED; BRAKE PADS; BRAKE LIGHT (DASHBOARD) HAS BEEN BEEPING ON SINCE 2013 AND IS STILL DOING THE SAME THING TODAY; ENGINE AIR FILTER HAD TO BE REPLACED; AND A HOST OF OTHER VEHICLE PROBLEMS THAT SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING ON A BRAND SPANKING NEW 2012 VEHICLE!! PLEASE ASSIST AND ADVISE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2016 - OXON HILL, MD
ON APRIL 26, 2012, I PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2012 CHRYSLER FROM AN OFFICIAL CHRYSLER CORPORATION DEALERSHIP. SINCE THEN THIS CAR HAS BEEN PUT IN THE SHOP APPROXIMATELY 30 TIMES FOR FROM MEDIUM TO MAJOR PROBLEMS. THE 1ST MAJOR PROBLEM WAS 9/26/212 WHICH WAS DIAGNOSED AS GEAR-RACK AND PINON. IT HAS HAD TWO LIFTERS(RELATIVE TO THE MOTOR) BECAUSE OF LOUD TAPPING. THREE HEATER CORDS; A COUPLE OF RE-CALLS;TRANSMISSIONS LEAKS; INTERNAL ENGINE DAMAGES; HEADLAMPS NEEDED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENTS; WASHER FLUID TANK LEAKED AND NEEDED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENT; THE CAR HORN FAILED TO BLOW ON DEMAND; BRAKES NEEDED IMMEDIATE REPLACEMENTS; CAMSHAFT, ROCKERS HAD TO BE REPLACED TWICE; HEATER CORD EXPERIENCED INTERNAL FAILURE AND HAD TO BE REPLACED; BRAKE PADS; BRAKE LIGHT (DASHBOARD) HAS BEEN BEEPING ON SINCE 2013 AND IS STILL DOING THE SAME THING TODAY; ENGINE AIR FILTER HAD TO BE REPLACED; AND A HOST OF OTHER VEHICLE PROBLEMS THAT SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING ON A BRAND SPANKING NEW 2012 VEHICLE!! PLEASE ASSIST AND ADVISE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/6/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
MY CARS A/C HEATER BLEND DOOR ACTUATOR HAS GONE OUT. UPON MY RESEARCH I SEE THERE ARE NUMEROUS CHRYSLER 200 OWNERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING GM RECALLED THE SAME PART FROM THE SAME MANUFACTURER. SHOULDN'T CHRYSLER RECALL THE PART AS WELL? THE PROBLEM IS PERSISTENT IN THE PART CONTINUALLY CLICKS, COLD AIR RUNNING THROUGH THE VENTS WHEN THE HEATER IS ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/4/2016 - ANDERSON, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE HEATING SYSTEM WAS ACTIVATED AND COLD AIR EMITTED ONLY FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE VENTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/4/2016 - ASTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE PASSENGERS SIDE HEADLIGHT BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEADLIGHT MODULE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE LED LIGHT BULB WAS NOT REPLACEABLE BY ITSELF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/31/2015 - BURLINGTON, VT
I BOUGHT MY 2012 CHRYSLER 200 NEW. NOW HAVING HEATING ISSUE, HOT AIR ON THE DRIVER SIDE COLD AIR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. I LIVE IN A NORTHEAST AND IT'S VERY COLD. I CAN'T GET THE CAR WARM ENOUGH FOR WINDSHIELD TO HEAT ON BOTH SIDES SO THAT IT DOESN'T ICE UP. THIS COULD BECOME A POTENTIAL HAZARD WHEN YOUR VISION IS RESTRICTED BECAUSE YOU CANT DEFROST YOUR WINDSHIELD DUE TO A DESIGN FLAW IN THE HEATER SYSTEM THAT CHRYSLER DOESN'T WANT TO HAVE TO REPAIR. ALSO MY KIDS ARE FREEZING IN THE BACK SEAT. HOW MANY HAVE TO BE INJURED OR KILLED FROM THIS DESIGN ISSUE AND OR TO HAVE A FACTORY RECALL DONE? OR KIDS WITH HYPOTHERMIA?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/29/2015 - DIXMONT, ME
CHRYSLER 200 HEATING ISSUE, HOT AIR ON THE DRIVER SIDE COLD AIR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. I LIVE IN A NORTHERN STATE AND IN THE WINTER ESPECIALLY DURING STORMS THE WINDSHIELD NEEDS TO BE HEATED ON BOTH SIDES SO THAT IT DOESN'T ICE UP. THIS COULD BECOME A POTENTIAL HAZARD WHEN YOUR VISION IS RESTRICTED BECAUSE YOU CANT DEFROST YOUR WINDSHIELD DUE TO A DESIGN FLAW IN THE HEATER SYSTEM THAT CHRYSLER DOESN'T WANT TO HAVE TO REPAIR. HOW MANY HAVE TO BE INJURED OR KILLED IN ORDER FOR THIS TO BECOME A DESIGN ISSUE AND HAVE A FACTORY RECALL DONE. NOTHING HAS HAPPEN TO US YET BUT TODAY IS THE FIRST STORM OF THE SEASON

View Details

ENGINE

12/28/2015 - ROGERS, AR
I OWN A 2012 CHRYSLER 200, THE ENGINE STOPS/FAILS ABOUT EVERY TWO MONTHS WHILE BRAKING OR WHILE STOPPED. THIS IS DANGEROUS AS IT CAN STOP ANYWHERE AND THEY MIGHT REAR END THE CAR OR SOMETHING. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP 4 DIFFERENT TIMES WITH THE SAME ISSUE, THE FIRST TIME THEY CHANGED THE PCM. AFTER ABOUT 2 MONTHS THE CAR'S ENGINE STOPPED WHILE BRAKING OR WHILE AT A STOPLIGHT. THE 2ND AND 3RD TIME I TOOK THE CAR THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AND GAVE IT TO ME AFTER A COUPLE OF DAYS. THE 4TH TIME WHEN I TOOK THE CAR THEY SAID THAT IT WAS THE BATTERY AND THEY PUT IN A NEW BATTERY. WELL ABOUT 2 DAYS AGO THE CAR STOPPED AGAIN WHILE AT A STOPLIGHT. I HAVE NOT TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AS THEY NEVER FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. I AM TIRED OF THEM NOT FINDING WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. I BELIEVE THAT I SPEAK FOR MANY CHRYSLER 200 OWNERS WHEN I SAY THAT AN INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE DONE FOR THE WHOLE CHRYSLER GROUP, ESPECIALLY TO THE 200, WHICH HAVE MANY COMPLAINTS ONLINE AND NONE ONE SEEMS TO FIND THE SOLUTION. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS FOR THE SAFETY OF THE DRIVERS. I AM SO SICK AND TIRED OF THE MOPAR MECHANICS NOT FINDING ANYTHING. I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE IS WITH THE PCM, COMPUTER, OR ENGINE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/28/2015 - ROGERS, AR
I OWN A 2012 CHRYSLER 200, THE ENGINE STOPS/FAILS ABOUT EVERY TWO MONTHS WHILE BRAKING OR WHILE STOPPED. THIS IS DANGEROUS AS IT CAN STOP ANYWHERE AND THEY MIGHT REAR END THE CAR OR SOMETHING. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP 4 DIFFERENT TIMES WITH THE SAME ISSUE, THE FIRST TIME THEY CHANGED THE PCM. AFTER ABOUT 2 MONTHS THE CAR'S ENGINE STOPPED WHILE BRAKING OR WHILE AT A STOPLIGHT. THE 2ND AND 3RD TIME I TOOK THE CAR THEY DID NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AND GAVE IT TO ME AFTER A COUPLE OF DAYS. THE 4TH TIME WHEN I TOOK THE CAR THEY SAID THAT IT WAS THE BATTERY AND THEY PUT IN A NEW BATTERY. WELL ABOUT 2 DAYS AGO THE CAR STOPPED AGAIN WHILE AT A STOPLIGHT. I HAVE NOT TAKEN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AS THEY NEVER FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. I AM TIRED OF THEM NOT FINDING WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. I BELIEVE THAT I SPEAK FOR MANY CHRYSLER 200 OWNERS WHEN I SAY THAT AN INVESTIGATION NEEDS TO BE DONE FOR THE WHOLE CHRYSLER GROUP, ESPECIALLY TO THE 200, WHICH HAVE MANY COMPLAINTS ONLINE AND NONE ONE SEEMS TO FIND THE SOLUTION. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS FOR THE SAFETY OF THE DRIVERS. I AM SO SICK AND TIRED OF THE MOPAR MECHANICS NOT FINDING ANYTHING. I DO NOT KNOW IF THE ISSUE IS WITH THE PCM, COMPUTER, OR ENGINE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds