Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 200 - 2012 CHRYSLER 200 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 97 complaints filed for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHRYSLER 200. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHRYSLER 200, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (21) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (12) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (25) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (18) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/18/2014 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS WERE ACTIVATED AND FAILED TO SUFFICIENTLY ILLUMINATE THE ROAD AT A DISTANCE OF THIRTY FEET AND OVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER THREE TIMES AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO LOCATE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE 2,000. JS

View Details

STEERING

3/31/2014 - SELAH, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHRYSLER 200. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH IN RAINY WEATHER, THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SKID. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE BOTH REAR TIRES WERE REPLACED. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN ON WET ROAD SURFACES AT ANY GIVEN SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE A REAR END WHEEL ALIGNMENT WAS PERFORMED AND THE TOW WAS REPLACED. THE FAILURE PERSISTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2014 - KIMBALL, MI
ENTERING FREEWAY WAS ACCELERATING,MERGED INTO A LANE AND TOOK FOOT OFF OF THE ACCELERATOR AND THE CAR RPMS KEPT CLIMBING AND SPEED KEPT INCREASING WITHIN 10 SECONDS IT STOPS AND WILL RESPOND NORMALLY USUALLY HAPPENS WHEN THERE IS A QUICK ATTEMPT TO ACCELERATE

View Details

ENGINE

3/5/2014 - KIMBALL, MI
ENTERING FREEWAY WAS ACCELERATING,MERGED INTO A LANE AND TOOK FOOT OFF OF THE ACCELERATOR AND THE CAR RPMS KEPT CLIMBING AND SPEED KEPT INCREASING WITHIN 10 SECONDS IT STOPS AND WILL RESPOND NORMALLY USUALLY HAPPENS WHEN THERE IS A QUICK ATTEMPT TO ACCELERATE

View Details

ENGINE

3/5/2014 - KIMBALL, MI
SHIFTED THE VEHICLE INTO REVERSE, WHEN THE VEHCILE IS THEN PUT INTO DRIVE THERE IS A LOUD BANG

View Details

SEATS

3/5/2014 - KIMBALL, MI
PURCHASED NEW FROM CHRYSLER DEALERS LOT IN APRIL 2012. WHEN CLEANING BACK SEATS WITH VACUUM NOTICED FRAYED FABRIC ON THE SEATS WERE THE STITCHING IS, AS IF THE STICHES HAD SEVERED THE FABRIC AND IN JUST ABOUT EVERY STICH ON EVERY SEAT SAME THING TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT ASSESSED AND WAS TOLD THEY WOULD CONTACT CHRYSLER AND CALL ME. I HAD TO TAKE THE CAR BACK IN FOR PHOTOS TO BE TAKEN AND IT TURNED OUT THEY WERE NOT ADEQUATE (BLACK INTERIOR) SO I WAITED AND WAITED AND CALLED TO SEE WHAT THE HOLD UP WAS AND WAS TOLD CHRYSLER NEEDED BETTER PICTURES.WENT BACK TO DEALERSHIP AND SHOWED THEM EXACTLY WHAT THE ISSUE WAS AND PUSHED ON THE SEAT TO REVEAL THAT INDEED THERE WAS FRAYED MATERIAL.CHRYSLER CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND TOLD THEM TO GET PICTURES WITHOUT PUSHING ON THE SEAT, TOOK IT IN AGAIN AND HAD PICTURES TAKEN AND WAS TOLD IN THE MEAN TIME THE DEALERSHIP WAS TOLD BY CHRYSLER TO GET A QUOTE FROM AN UPHOLSTERER IN REGARDS TO NEW FRONT AND BACK SEATS. I HAD TO CALL THE DEALERSHIP ONCE AGAIN AFTER NOT HEARING FROM THEM FOR AN EXTENDED AMOUNT OF TIME ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT CHRYSLER IS NOT GOING TO REPLACE THE SEATS,THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2014 - KIMBALL, MI
PURCHASED NEW FROM CHRYSLER DEALER LOT IN APRIL 2012. ON OCCASION MOST COMMONLY IN SUMMER MONTHS,WHEN THE VEHICLE IS TURNED OFF THE IGNITION WILL NOT RELEASE THE KEY IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO GET THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION I HAVE TO START THE CAR AND TURN IT OFF SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE IT WILL RELEASE THE KEY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/5/2014 - KIMBALL, MI
PURCHASE NEW OFF THE CHRYSLER DEALER LOT APRIL 2012.THERE ARE THREE KNOBS THAT CONTROL THE HEATING AND COOLING IN THE CAR WHEN THE BLOWER IS TURNED TO A LOW SETTING IT WILL BLOW HOT AIR REGARDLESS OF THEMPERATURE THAT IS SELECTED FOR EXAMPLE IF IT IS SITTING AT 66DEGREES IT WILL BLOW EXTREAMLY HOT AIR AND ONLY IF THE BLOWER IS SET TO MAX WILL IT EVENTUALLY COOL DOWN TO THE SELECTED TEMPERATURE. ONCE THE COOLER TEMPERATURE IS ACQUIRED, IF THE BLOWER IS TURNED DOWN IT WILL EVENTUALLY GO BACK TO BLOWING ONLY REALLY HOT AIR REGARDLESS OF TEMPERATURE SETTING.

View Details

STEERING

3/5/2014 - KIMBALL, MI
PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE NEW OFF THE LOT APRIL 2012.THIS ISSUE I CURRENTLY HAVE BECAME AN ISSUE FOR ME IN FEB 2014 WITH THE WINTER WEATHER I ENTERED FREEWAY TRIED TO GAIN SPEED ONCE SPEEDOMETER HIT 50ISH NOTICED THE THE CAR BEGAN TO BRAKE LOOSE AND SWAY SIDE TO SIDE REALLY QUICK AND SCARY,IMMEDIATELY SLOWED DOWN SENSATION WENT AWAY COULD NOT DRIVE ABOVE 40MPH, WHILE ALL TRAFFIC AROUND ME ON THE FREEWAY WERE TRAVELING AT A MUCH GREATER SPEEDS I FIGURED IT WAS JUST BY CHANCE I HIT AN ICE PATCH.I ATTEMPTED TO SPEED UP AND ONCE HIT 45MPH THE SIDE TO SIDE SWAY ONCE AGAIN WAS PRESENT EXITED THE FREEWAY AND DO NOT TRAVEL ABOVE 40 IN ANY WET,SNOW,ICY WEATHER BUT REGARDLESS OF SPEED IF I HIT ANYTHING SLICK I SWAY, THE LOW SPEEDS JUST HELP ME MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE CAR.MY HUSBAND THOUGHT I MUST JUST NEED A WINTER TIRE,(THERE ARE A SET OF 4 GOODYEAR EGALES ON IT PRESENTLY) UNTIL HE DROVE IT AND DETERMINED THERE WAS DEFINATELY A SERIOUS ISSUE JACKED IT UP TO REVEAL THAT IT WAS THE THE INNER TIE RODS COMPLETELY WIPED OUT CONTRIBUTING TO THE SWAY.CONTACTED THE DELARSHIP TO RESOLVE IT(MIND YOU THE MILEAGE WAS NOW AT 37050) WAS TOLD THEY WOULD DO AN INSPECTION FOR $85 AND WOULD CALL CHRYSLER TO SEE IF THEY WOULD HONOR A REPAIR SINCE IT IS OUT OF WARRENTY HOWEVER NO GUARANTEE THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD BE COVERED NON THE LESS A FRONT END ALIGNMENT.I COULD NOT LEAVE MY CAR FOR 3 DAYS FOR DIAGNOSIS NOR AFFORD 85$ THAT WOULD NOT EVEN GO TWORDS THE REPAIR.I CALLED CHRYSLER ONLY TO BE TOLD THEY CAN NOT GUARANTEE ANYTHING NOR WOULD CHRYSLER CONSIDER ANYTHING UNTIL I HAVE AN INSPECTION DONE THAT THERE ARE NO DISCOUNTS NO COURTESY INSPECTION TO BE HAD.BOUGHT A NEW CAR TO AVOID ISSUES SUCH AS THESE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/4/2014 - BAKERSFIELD , CA
THIS VEHICLE OUT OF SERVICE .COULD OF CAUSE A COLLISION OR CAUSE BODY INJURY OR DEATH , I STARTED THE CAR WENT ABOUT 100 FEET OR MORE, CAR MADE A LOUD NOISE ,CAR STOPPED SUDDENLY BY ITSELF, THEN BRAKE PART FLEW RIGHT OFF RIGHT ON THE ROAD. HAD TO PUSH CAR TO THE NEAREST CORNER. CALLED DEALER SERVICE, CALLED MY INSURANCE. I HAVE FULL COVERAGE, BUT NO RESPONSE AT THE TIME. I SIGNED HARDSHIP PACKET FROM THE BANK FOR HELP, BUT WAS REPOSSESSED, SO DEALER COULD NOT PICK THE CAR . I MADE A COMPLAINT FEBRUARY 12,2013 TO BAKERSFIELD CHRYSLER - JEEP ABOUT MY BRAKES SQUEALS AND MY TIRES ALWAYS DISPLAY LOW PRESSURE. SERVICE DEALER SAID THERE IS NOTHING TO FIX THEY SQUEAL BECAUSE OF DIRT AND THEY ARE WET AND TIRES NEED MORE AIR BECAUSE OF WEATHER CHANGE. I BROUGHT THIS CAR BRAND NEW. I SENT A FORMAL WRITTEN LETTER ADDRESSED TO NHTSA, PLUS DOCUMENTS THAT WILL SUBSTANTIATE MY SITUATION. UPDATED 03/13/14

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds