Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 109 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (16) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (6) Structure (14) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Seats (4) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (23)
Engine (6) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (19) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/10/2015 - SPANISH FORK, UT
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALL OF THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED BUT WAS NOT ABLE TO MOVE FORWARD OR REVERSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V053000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/8/2015 - MILL CREEK, WA
I OWN A 2012 PRIUS WITH THE TECHNOLOGY PACKAGE, INCLUDING RADAR ADAPTIVE CRUISE CONTROL. I BELIEVE THESE SAME RADAR SENSORS ARE ALSO USED TO DETECT IMMINENT COLLISIONS IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE, EVEN WHEN CRUISE CONTROL MODE IS NOT ENGAGED. ABOUT A MONTH AGO, WHILE DRIVING NORTH ON INTERSTATE 5 IN DOWNTOWN SEATTLE AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MILES PER HOUR, AND WITHOUT CRUISE CONTROL ENGAGED, MY PRIUS WENT INTO "IMMINENT COLLISION MODE" DESPITE THE FACT THAT THERE WAS NOTHING IN FRONT OF ME -- NO VEHICLES, NO DEBRIS, NO OBSTRUCTIONS. BEFORE SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES, MY SEAT BELT WAS "TIGHTENED" AND THE BRAKES WERE AUTOMATICALLY APPLIED AT FULL FORCE, EVEN WITHOUT MY FOOT TOUCHING THE BRAKE. THIS WAS INCREDIBLY JARRING AND DISTURBING, AND COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT IF THERE WAS A VEHICLE BEHIND ME. FORTUNATELY, THERE WAS NO VEHICLE BEHIND ME AT THIS TIME. AFTER ABOUT TWO SECONDS OF FULL BRAKING, THE VEHICLE "DISENGAGED" COLLISION MODE AND ALLOWED ME PROCEED AND RETURN TO SPEED. I CALLED THE TOYOTA OF SEATTLE DEALERSHIP AND SPOKE TO THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY WERE UNAWARE OF THIS ISSUE, AND SUGGESTED THAT I BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICING. THEY CONFIRMED THERE WERE NO OUTSTANDING RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD COST AT LEAST $100 FOR A BASIC DIAGNOSTIC, AND IF SENSORS HAD TO BE REPLACED, IT COULD COST HUNDREDS OR EVEN THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS. BECAUSE I AM CURRENTLY UNEMPLOYED AND LOOKING FOR WORK, I DID NOT BRING MY VEHICLE INTO THE SERVICE CENTER. I FEEL THIS IS TOYOTA'S OBLIGATION TO FIX, AND SHOULDN'T REQUIRE ME SPENDING MONEY OUT OF POCKET. I WOULD LIKE SOME KIND OF RESPONSE FROM TOYOTA ON THIS ISSUE. I HAVE AVOIDED USING THE RADAR CRUISE CONTROL SINCE THIS MOMENT, BUT THE FACT THAT IT OCCURRED WHILE NOT IN THIS MODE MAKES ME FEEL THAT THE CAR COULD "TAKE CONTROL" AT ANY MOMENT AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THANKS, RYAN

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/8/2015 - MILL CREEK, WA
I OWN A 2012 PRIUS WITH THE TECHNOLOGY PACKAGE, INCLUDING RADAR ADAPTIVE CRUISE CONTROL. I BELIEVE THESE SAME RADAR SENSORS ARE ALSO USED TO DETECT IMMINENT COLLISIONS IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE, EVEN WHEN CRUISE CONTROL MODE IS NOT ENGAGED. ABOUT A MONTH AGO, WHILE DRIVING NORTH ON INTERSTATE 5 IN DOWNTOWN SEATTLE AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MILES PER HOUR, AND WITHOUT CRUISE CONTROL ENGAGED, MY PRIUS WENT INTO "IMMINENT COLLISION MODE" DESPITE THE FACT THAT THERE WAS NOTHING IN FRONT OF ME -- NO VEHICLES, NO DEBRIS, NO OBSTRUCTIONS. BEFORE SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES, MY SEAT BELT WAS "TIGHTENED" AND THE BRAKES WERE AUTOMATICALLY APPLIED AT FULL FORCE, EVEN WITHOUT MY FOOT TOUCHING THE BRAKE. THIS WAS INCREDIBLY JARRING AND DISTURBING, AND COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT IF THERE WAS A VEHICLE BEHIND ME. FORTUNATELY, THERE WAS NO VEHICLE BEHIND ME AT THIS TIME. AFTER ABOUT TWO SECONDS OF FULL BRAKING, THE VEHICLE "DISENGAGED" COLLISION MODE AND ALLOWED ME PROCEED AND RETURN TO SPEED. I CALLED THE TOYOTA OF SEATTLE DEALERSHIP AND SPOKE TO THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY WERE UNAWARE OF THIS ISSUE, AND SUGGESTED THAT I BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICING. THEY CONFIRMED THERE WERE NO OUTSTANDING RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD COST AT LEAST $100 FOR A BASIC DIAGNOSTIC, AND IF SENSORS HAD TO BE REPLACED, IT COULD COST HUNDREDS OR EVEN THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS. BECAUSE I AM CURRENTLY UNEMPLOYED AND LOOKING FOR WORK, I DID NOT BRING MY VEHICLE INTO THE SERVICE CENTER. I FEEL THIS IS TOYOTA'S OBLIGATION TO FIX, AND SHOULDN'T REQUIRE ME SPENDING MONEY OUT OF POCKET. I WOULD LIKE SOME KIND OF RESPONSE FROM TOYOTA ON THIS ISSUE. I HAVE AVOIDED USING THE RADAR CRUISE CONTROL SINCE THIS MOMENT, BUT THE FACT THAT IT OCCURRED WHILE NOT IN THIS MODE MAKES ME FEEL THAT THE CAR COULD "TAKE CONTROL" AT ANY MOMENT AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THANKS, RYAN

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

2/8/2015 - MILL CREEK, WA
I OWN A 2012 PRIUS WITH THE TECHNOLOGY PACKAGE, INCLUDING RADAR ADAPTIVE CRUISE CONTROL. I BELIEVE THESE SAME RADAR SENSORS ARE ALSO USED TO DETECT IMMINENT COLLISIONS IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE, EVEN WHEN CRUISE CONTROL MODE IS NOT ENGAGED. ABOUT A MONTH AGO, WHILE DRIVING NORTH ON INTERSTATE 5 IN DOWNTOWN SEATTLE AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MILES PER HOUR, AND WITHOUT CRUISE CONTROL ENGAGED, MY PRIUS WENT INTO "IMMINENT COLLISION MODE" DESPITE THE FACT THAT THERE WAS NOTHING IN FRONT OF ME -- NO VEHICLES, NO DEBRIS, NO OBSTRUCTIONS. BEFORE SLAMMING ON THE BRAKES, MY SEAT BELT WAS "TIGHTENED" AND THE BRAKES WERE AUTOMATICALLY APPLIED AT FULL FORCE, EVEN WITHOUT MY FOOT TOUCHING THE BRAKE. THIS WAS INCREDIBLY JARRING AND DISTURBING, AND COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS ACCIDENT IF THERE WAS A VEHICLE BEHIND ME. FORTUNATELY, THERE WAS NO VEHICLE BEHIND ME AT THIS TIME. AFTER ABOUT TWO SECONDS OF FULL BRAKING, THE VEHICLE "DISENGAGED" COLLISION MODE AND ALLOWED ME PROCEED AND RETURN TO SPEED. I CALLED THE TOYOTA OF SEATTLE DEALERSHIP AND SPOKE TO THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY WERE UNAWARE OF THIS ISSUE, AND SUGGESTED THAT I BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICING. THEY CONFIRMED THERE WERE NO OUTSTANDING RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD COST AT LEAST $100 FOR A BASIC DIAGNOSTIC, AND IF SENSORS HAD TO BE REPLACED, IT COULD COST HUNDREDS OR EVEN THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS. BECAUSE I AM CURRENTLY UNEMPLOYED AND LOOKING FOR WORK, I DID NOT BRING MY VEHICLE INTO THE SERVICE CENTER. I FEEL THIS IS TOYOTA'S OBLIGATION TO FIX, AND SHOULDN'T REQUIRE ME SPENDING MONEY OUT OF POCKET. I WOULD LIKE SOME KIND OF RESPONSE FROM TOYOTA ON THIS ISSUE. I HAVE AVOIDED USING THE RADAR CRUISE CONTROL SINCE THIS MOMENT, BUT THE FACT THAT IT OCCURRED WHILE NOT IN THIS MODE MAKES ME FEEL THAT THE CAR COULD "TAKE CONTROL" AT ANY MOMENT AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THANKS, RYAN

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/2/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
AFTER STARTING THE CAR, IT WOULD NOT GO INTO GEAR. THE DASHBOARD WAS LIT BUT I COULD NOT GET THE CAR MOVING. AFTER FIDDLING AROUND FOR SOMETIME, IT FINALLY CLICKED AND I WAS ABLE TO GO INTO REVERSE. THE CAR FUNCTIONED FINE UNTIL LATER THAT DAY I MADE A DROP-OFF STOP AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED. THE DASH BOARD WAS LIT BUT I COULD NOT GET THE CAR MOVING. I WAS STALLED ALMOST IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. THE NEXT DAY I TOOK IT TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND THEY DID THE MOST EXTENSIVE COMPUTER GENERATED DIAGNOSIS ON THE CAR BUT COULD FIND NO INDICATORS OF THE PROBLEM. I REPORTED THIS TO TOYOTA HEADQUARTERS WHO SAID THEY'D INVESTIGATE BUT THERE IS NO INTERNAL SYSTEM FOR REPORTING BACK TO ME ON THEIR FINDINGS. I DID RESEARCH ON THE CONSUMER REPORTS WEBSITE AND SAW OTHERS HAVE REPORTED SIMILAR PROBLEMS. MY FEAR IS GETTING 'STUCK' IN UNWANTED TIMES AND UNDESIRED LOCATIONS. THE FACT THAT THE COMPANY DOESN'T RECOGNIZE THE PROBLEM IS TROUBLING. I PLAN TO GET A NEW CAR RATHER THAN WORRY ABOUT THIS ONE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/25/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON I-45 AT 55 OR 60 MPH AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. IT IS STILL THAT WAY, BRAKE FLUID LEVEL IS OK. TOYOTACARE PLAN IS EXPIRED. IS THERE A RECALL FOR THESE VEHICLES? THANKS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/13/2015 - RAVENA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, IT ROLLED AWAY IN REVERSE INDEPENDENTLY. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER THE CONTACT+S LEG AND CRASHED INTO A BUILDING. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A BROKEN LEG, A FRACTURED KNEE THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A BODY SHOP WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

SEATS

12/31/2014 - BATON ROUGE, LA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE WITH MY FACTORY INSTALLED SEAT WARMER ON THE DRIVER'S SEAT ON. I GOT OUT AT A GAS STATION TO GO TO THE BATHROOM. WHEN I SAT DOWN ON THE TOILET I FELT AN EXCRUCIATING PAIN ON MY LEFT UPPER BACK SIDE OF THE THIGH. THE CAR SEAT GAVE ME SECOND DEGREE BURNS ON THE BACK OF MY UPPER LEFT THIGH. I WENT TO THE ER THE NEXT MORNING WHEN MORE BLISTERS APPEARED SO THAT THE OPEN AND CLOSED BLISTERS COULD BE CLEANED AND DRESSED. I WAS GIVEN A TETANUS SHOT AS WELL. I CONTACTED TOYOTA THE DAY AFTER THE INCIDENT AFTER BEING SEEN BY THE ER. I SPOKE WITH A CLAIMS ADVISER ON DEC. 1, 2014 WHO ASKED ME TO EMAIL PICTURES OF THE DRIVER'S SEAT AND PICTURES OF MY BURNS. I WAS THEN CONTACTED DEC. 9, 2014 BY TOYOTA TO BE TOLD A TOYOTA INSPECTOR WOULD INSPECT THE VEHICLE ON DEC. 18, 2014. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED AND I HAVE NOT BEEN GIVEN ANY INFORMATION TO DATE (12/31/14) NOR HAS MY VEHICLE BEEN FIXED. I AM AWAITING TOYOTA TO CONTACT ME ON THE OUTCOME OF THE INSPECTION. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME I COLD NOT HAVE THE SEAT WARMER FIXED UNTIL TOYOTA WENT THROUGH THEIR PROCESS OF DOCUMENTING THE INCIDENT DUE TO ME BEING INJURED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/14/2014 - RIVERVIEW, FL
I WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END COLLISION WITH A BOBCAT FRONT END LOADER. I STRUCK THE IMPLEMENT BROADSIDE GOING 35 MPH. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO THE IMPLEMENT. MY CAR WAS TOTALED AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. AFTER GOING TO THE HOSPITAL AND A CHEST X-RAY, ULTRASOUND, AND CT SCAN, IT WAS DIAGNOSED I HAD FRACTURED MY STERNUM. I AM SIX FEET TALL AND HAD MY SEAT ALL THE WAY BACK. I AM QUESTIONING WHETHER THERE HAVE BEEN ANY OTHER PEOPLE SUSTAINING A FRACTURED STERNUM DUE TO AN AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT AT 35 MPH?

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/14/2014 - RIVERVIEW, FL
I WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END COLLISION WITH A BOBCAT FRONT END LOADER. I STRUCK THE IMPLEMENT BROADSIDE GOING 35 MPH. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO THE IMPLEMENT. MY CAR WAS TOTALED AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. AFTER GOING TO THE HOSPITAL AND A CHEST X-RAY, ULTRASOUND, AND CT SCAN, IT WAS DIAGNOSED I HAD FRACTURED MY STERNUM. I AM SIX FEET TALL AND HAD MY SEAT ALL THE WAY BACK. I AM QUESTIONING WHETHER THERE HAVE BEEN ANY OTHER PEOPLE SUSTAINING A FRACTURED STERNUM DUE TO AN AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT AT 35 MPH?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds