Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 144 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (1) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (20) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (9) Steering (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Seat Belts (9) Structure (17) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine (9) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes (25) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/2/2017 - DAVENPORT, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CABIN FILLED WITH RODENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR FILTER DID NOT HAVE A MESH GRILL COVERING, WHICH ALLOWED RODENTS TO ENTER THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THIS WAS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR HER CHILD. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/23/2017 - SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA
PIVOT BOLT INSIDE STEERING WHEEL CAME LOOSE, WAS WARNED IT HAD DROPPED TO WHERE IT COULD INTERFERE WITH BRAKE LINKAGES. FILED COMPLAINT WITH TOYOTA AND NEVER HEARD BACK SO FILING THIS COMPLAINT. (1) A LARGE BOLT INSIDE A SEALED AREA SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO COME LOOSE IF INSTALLED CORRECTLY (MANUFACTURING ERROR - SINGLE INSTANCE OR SYSTEMATIC?) AND (2) A LOOSE BOLT SHOULD NOT BE A RISK FOR A POSSIBLE CATASTROPHIC OUTCOME - LOSS OF BRAKES (DESIGN FLAW, LINKAGES SHOULD NOT BE SUSCEPTIBLE TO BEING JAMMED - THAT'S WHAT THEY WARNED ME ABOUT WHEN THEY ASKED FOR THE $330 TO FIX IT). THIS WAS DISCOVERED WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR REGULAR SERVICING, THEY TOLD ME THE STEERING FELT FUNNY.

View Details

STEERING

1/23/2017 - SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA
PIVOT BOLT INSIDE STEERING WHEEL CAME LOOSE, WAS WARNED IT HAD DROPPED TO WHERE IT COULD INTERFERE WITH BRAKE LINKAGES. FILED COMPLAINT WITH TOYOTA AND NEVER HEARD BACK SO FILING THIS COMPLAINT. (1) A LARGE BOLT INSIDE A SEALED AREA SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO COME LOOSE IF INSTALLED CORRECTLY (MANUFACTURING ERROR - SINGLE INSTANCE OR SYSTEMATIC?) AND (2) A LOOSE BOLT SHOULD NOT BE A RISK FOR A POSSIBLE CATASTROPHIC OUTCOME - LOSS OF BRAKES (DESIGN FLAW, LINKAGES SHOULD NOT BE SUSCEPTIBLE TO BEING JAMMED - THAT'S WHAT THEY WARNED ME ABOUT WHEN THEY ASKED FOR THE $330 TO FIX IT). THIS WAS DISCOVERED WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR REGULAR SERVICING, THEY TOLD ME THE STEERING FELT FUNNY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/13/2017 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
THE HEADLIGHTS TURN OFF INTERMITTENTLY. SOMETIMES THEY DO NOT ILLUMINATE WHEN THE CAR IS FIRST STARTED, OTHER TIMES THEY GO OFF AFTER HAVING BEEN ILLUMINATED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/23/2016 - THREE FORKS, MT
SINCE 2014 I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE DRIVERS SIDE BRIGHT AND DIM HEADLIGHTS ABOUT EVERY 4-6 MONTHS AND ON THE PASSENGER SIDE ABOUT EVERY 8 - 10 MONTHS. IS THERE A RECALL WITH A PROBLEM WITH THE HEADLIGHTS? I GOT A WARNING TICKET THIS MORNING AND DRIVE TO WORK IN THE DARK AND HOME IN THE DARK. MY ROUND TRIP IS 140/MILES DAILY. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN MOTION EACH TIME THEY HAVE GONE OUT. I HAD THE CASING CHECKED TO MAKE SURE IT WASN'T A PROBLEM WITH VIBRATION AND THAT WAS FINE. I NO LONGER GO TO THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS BECAUSE THEY ARE SO EXPENSIVE, BUT HAVE A SMALL SHOP CHANGE. I AM PICKING UP HEADLIGHTS FROM HELENA FORD/TOYOTA ON MY WAY HOME SO THEY CAN POP THEM IN WHEN I GET TO THREE FORKS, MT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/5/2016 - SWANSBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE HESITATED PRIOR TO ACCELERATING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE ACTUATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/18/2016 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 21 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE SEAT BELT ALSO FAILED TO HOLD THE DRIVER IN PLACE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A FRACTURED STERNUM, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,569.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/18/2016 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING 21 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY AND THE SEAT BELT ALSO FAILED TO HOLD THE DRIVER IN PLACE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A FRACTURED STERNUM, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,569.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/15/2016 - LOUISVILLE, KY
DOOR LOCKING MECHANISM, SECURITY ISSUE, VEHICLE WILL NOT LOCK DUE TO FAULTY LOCK ACTUATOR--- MAY EFFECT OTHER ACTUATORS. VEHICLE STATIONARY AND ON START UP FOR MOTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/15/2016 - LOUISVILLE, KY
DOOR LOCKING MECHANISM, SECURITY ISSUE, VEHICLE WILL NOT LOCK DUE TO FAULTY LOCK ACTUATOR--- MAY EFFECT OTHER ACTUATORS. VEHICLE STATIONARY AND ON START UP FOR MOTION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds