Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 106 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (15) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (14) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (8) Seats (4) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (23)
Engine (6) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (18) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

1/25/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON I-45 AT 55 OR 60 MPH AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. IT IS STILL THAT WAY, BRAKE FLUID LEVEL IS OK. TOYOTACARE PLAN IS EXPIRED. IS THERE A RECALL FOR THESE VEHICLES? THANKS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/13/2015 - RAVENA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, IT ROLLED AWAY IN REVERSE INDEPENDENTLY. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE ROLLED OVER THE CONTACT+S LEG AND CRASHED INTO A BUILDING. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A BROKEN LEG, A FRACTURED KNEE THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A BODY SHOP WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

SEATS

12/31/2014 - BATON ROUGE, LA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE WITH MY FACTORY INSTALLED SEAT WARMER ON THE DRIVER'S SEAT ON. I GOT OUT AT A GAS STATION TO GO TO THE BATHROOM. WHEN I SAT DOWN ON THE TOILET I FELT AN EXCRUCIATING PAIN ON MY LEFT UPPER BACK SIDE OF THE THIGH. THE CAR SEAT GAVE ME SECOND DEGREE BURNS ON THE BACK OF MY UPPER LEFT THIGH. I WENT TO THE ER THE NEXT MORNING WHEN MORE BLISTERS APPEARED SO THAT THE OPEN AND CLOSED BLISTERS COULD BE CLEANED AND DRESSED. I WAS GIVEN A TETANUS SHOT AS WELL. I CONTACTED TOYOTA THE DAY AFTER THE INCIDENT AFTER BEING SEEN BY THE ER. I SPOKE WITH A CLAIMS ADVISER ON DEC. 1, 2014 WHO ASKED ME TO EMAIL PICTURES OF THE DRIVER'S SEAT AND PICTURES OF MY BURNS. I WAS THEN CONTACTED DEC. 9, 2014 BY TOYOTA TO BE TOLD A TOYOTA INSPECTOR WOULD INSPECT THE VEHICLE ON DEC. 18, 2014. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED AND I HAVE NOT BEEN GIVEN ANY INFORMATION TO DATE (12/31/14) NOR HAS MY VEHICLE BEEN FIXED. I AM AWAITING TOYOTA TO CONTACT ME ON THE OUTCOME OF THE INSPECTION. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME I COLD NOT HAVE THE SEAT WARMER FIXED UNTIL TOYOTA WENT THROUGH THEIR PROCESS OF DOCUMENTING THE INCIDENT DUE TO ME BEING INJURED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/14/2014 - RIVERVIEW, FL
I WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END COLLISION WITH A BOBCAT FRONT END LOADER. I STRUCK THE IMPLEMENT BROADSIDE GOING 35 MPH. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO THE IMPLEMENT. MY CAR WAS TOTALED AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. AFTER GOING TO THE HOSPITAL AND A CHEST X-RAY, ULTRASOUND, AND CT SCAN, IT WAS DIAGNOSED I HAD FRACTURED MY STERNUM. I AM SIX FEET TALL AND HAD MY SEAT ALL THE WAY BACK. I AM QUESTIONING WHETHER THERE HAVE BEEN ANY OTHER PEOPLE SUSTAINING A FRACTURED STERNUM DUE TO AN AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT AT 35 MPH?

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/14/2014 - RIVERVIEW, FL
I WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END COLLISION WITH A BOBCAT FRONT END LOADER. I STRUCK THE IMPLEMENT BROADSIDE GOING 35 MPH. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO THE IMPLEMENT. MY CAR WAS TOTALED AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. AFTER GOING TO THE HOSPITAL AND A CHEST X-RAY, ULTRASOUND, AND CT SCAN, IT WAS DIAGNOSED I HAD FRACTURED MY STERNUM. I AM SIX FEET TALL AND HAD MY SEAT ALL THE WAY BACK. I AM QUESTIONING WHETHER THERE HAVE BEEN ANY OTHER PEOPLE SUSTAINING A FRACTURED STERNUM DUE TO AN AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT AT 35 MPH?

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/14/2014 - RIVERVIEW, FL
I WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END COLLISION WITH A BOBCAT FRONT END LOADER. I STRUCK THE IMPLEMENT BROADSIDE GOING 35 MPH. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO THE IMPLEMENT. MY CAR WAS TOTALED AND THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED. AFTER GOING TO THE HOSPITAL AND A CHEST X-RAY, ULTRASOUND, AND CT SCAN, IT WAS DIAGNOSED I HAD FRACTURED MY STERNUM. I AM SIX FEET TALL AND HAD MY SEAT ALL THE WAY BACK. I AM QUESTIONING WHETHER THERE HAVE BEEN ANY OTHER PEOPLE SUSTAINING A FRACTURED STERNUM DUE TO AN AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT AT 35 MPH?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/28/2014 - HOLIDAY, FL
I WENT TO START MY PRIUS V. AFTER IT WAS STARTED, A NUMBER OF THE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON INCLUDING THE ABS AND STABILITY CONTROL. I WAS STUNNED SINCE I HAD MY 30000 MILE CHECK UP IN MAY WITH NO PROBLEMS. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR, THE DEALER DETERMINED THAT RODENTS HAD EATEN THROUGH A NUMBER OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS BECAUSE OF THE SOY BASED WIRING. (I UNDERSTAND NOW THAT IT'S "BIOGRADABLE SOY BASED WIRING INSULATION.) I GENERALLY PARK MY CAR AT ONLY TWO LOCATIONS - MY HOME AND MY WORK. I HAD NEVER SEEN ANY RODENTS OF ANY TYPE! I CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ONE OF THE WIRES TO THE ENGINE, OR AIRBAGS, OR ANY SYSTEM FOR THAT MATTER SEPARATED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. APPARENTLY, TOYOTA IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT IS TRYING TO DOWNPLAY IT! I WAS TOLD IT'S NOT A WARRANTY ITEM. MY CAR REQUIRES TWO NEW WIRING HARNESSES, THE ALARM WIRING, AND THE AIRBAG HARNESS PLUS OTHER REPAIRS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/28/2014 - HOLIDAY, FL
I WENT TO START MY PRIUS V. AFTER IT WAS STARTED, A NUMBER OF THE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON INCLUDING THE ABS AND STABILITY CONTROL. I WAS STUNNED SINCE I HAD MY 30000 MILE CHECK UP IN MAY WITH NO PROBLEMS. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR, THE DEALER DETERMINED THAT RODENTS HAD EATEN THROUGH A NUMBER OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS BECAUSE OF THE SOY BASED WIRING. (I UNDERSTAND NOW THAT IT'S "BIOGRADABLE SOY BASED WIRING INSULATION.) I GENERALLY PARK MY CAR AT ONLY TWO LOCATIONS - MY HOME AND MY WORK. I HAD NEVER SEEN ANY RODENTS OF ANY TYPE! I CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ONE OF THE WIRES TO THE ENGINE, OR AIRBAGS, OR ANY SYSTEM FOR THAT MATTER SEPARATED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. APPARENTLY, TOYOTA IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT IS TRYING TO DOWNPLAY IT! I WAS TOLD IT'S NOT A WARRANTY ITEM. MY CAR REQUIRES TWO NEW WIRING HARNESSES, THE ALARM WIRING, AND THE AIRBAG HARNESS PLUS OTHER REPAIRS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/28/2014 - HOLIDAY, FL
I WENT TO START MY PRIUS V. AFTER IT WAS STARTED, A NUMBER OF THE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON INCLUDING THE ABS AND STABILITY CONTROL. I WAS STUNNED SINCE I HAD MY 30000 MILE CHECK UP IN MAY WITH NO PROBLEMS. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR, THE DEALER DETERMINED THAT RODENTS HAD EATEN THROUGH A NUMBER OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS BECAUSE OF THE SOY BASED WIRING. (I UNDERSTAND NOW THAT IT'S "BIOGRADABLE SOY BASED WIRING INSULATION.) I GENERALLY PARK MY CAR AT ONLY TWO LOCATIONS - MY HOME AND MY WORK. I HAD NEVER SEEN ANY RODENTS OF ANY TYPE! I CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ONE OF THE WIRES TO THE ENGINE, OR AIRBAGS, OR ANY SYSTEM FOR THAT MATTER SEPARATED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. APPARENTLY, TOYOTA IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM BUT IS TRYING TO DOWNPLAY IT! I WAS TOLD IT'S NOT A WARRANTY ITEM. MY CAR REQUIRES TWO NEW WIRING HARNESSES, THE ALARM WIRING, AND THE AIRBAG HARNESS PLUS OTHER REPAIRS.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

10/24/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
WHEN GOING FROM PARK TO DRIVE FORWARD, THE CAR SLIPS INTO REVERSE!!! I'VE TAKEN IT TO TOYOTA MULTIPLE TIMES AND THEY SAY THEY FIND NOTHING WRONG! I HAVE TO BE VERY CAREFUL TO BE SURE THE CAR IS ACTUALLY IN DRIVE BEFORE MOVING IT OR I COULD BACK INTO SOMETHING OR SOMEONE BY MISTAKE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds