Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 120 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (1) Power Train (7) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (17) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (7) Structure (14) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (9) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (21) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/29/2015 - PUYALLUP, WA
I HAVE TO REPLACE BOTH LOW BEAM HEAD LAMPS APPROXIMATELY EVERY THREE WEEKS. I HAVE BOUGHT AND REPLACED 5 SETS SINCE OWNING THE CAR IN JUNE 2015. I CURRENTLY HAVE 40,000 MILES ON THE CAR.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/12/2015 - LELAND, NC
WIND SHIELD WIPER SWITCH QUIT WORKING AT 62,500 MILE.THE WIND SHIELD WIPER MOTOR IS NOW MAKING GRINDING NOISES AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED(74,000 MILES). BOTH PARTS BROKE WHEN WE WERE TRAVELING OUT OF STATE,DURING RAIN STORMS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/1/2015 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL APPLIED. THE CONTACT APPLIED EXTREME FORCE AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO UNINTENDEDLY ACCELERATE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED. THE VEHICLE TURNED RIGHT AND CRASHED INTO A TRASH DUMPSTER. THE DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED WHIPLASH. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER'S COLLISION CENTER WHO REPAIRED THE BODY DAMAGES AND WAS TO SEND A THIRD PARTY TO INVESTIGATE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING ON THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE THE REMEDY TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/1/2015 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL APPLIED. THE CONTACT APPLIED EXTREME FORCE AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO UNINTENDEDLY ACCELERATE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED. THE VEHICLE TURNED RIGHT AND CRASHED INTO A TRASH DUMPSTER. THE DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED WHIPLASH. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER'S COLLISION CENTER WHO REPAIRED THE BODY DAMAGES AND WAS TO SEND A THIRD PARTY TO INVESTIGATE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING ON THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE THE REMEDY TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/30/2015 - VERO BEACH, FL
MY WIFE WAS INVOLVED IN A TWO CAR CRASH WHEN A CAR COMING IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION MADE AN ILLEGAL LEFT TURN DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF HER. IT HAPPENED SO QUICK THAT SHE NEVER HAD TIME TO HIT HER BRAKES. SHE WAS TRAVELING BETWEEN 30 AND 35 MPH IN A 35 MPH ZONE ON A TWO LANE ROAD. I WOULD THINK THAT AT THAT SPEED IF ALL HER SAFETY EQUIPMENT WORKED SHE WOULD NOT SUFFER ANY INJURIES. HER SEAT BELT FAILED CAUSING THE SEAT LATCH TO FAIL AND SHE ENDED UP JAMMED INTO THE BOTTOM AND UNDER SIDE OF THE DASHBOARD. SHE SUFFERED A BLOW TO HER CHEST AND INJURIES TO HER KNEES, LOWER LEGS AND FOOT. SHE HAD SURGERY ON HER RIGHT KNEE SO WE COULD GET HER ON HER FEET AGAIN AND IS AWAITING SURGERY ON HER RIGHT SHOULDER. SHE HAD A PRE EXISTING HEART CONDITION THAT WAS RAISED TO EMERGENCY STATUS AFTER THE BLOW TO HER CHEST AND SHE HAD SURGERY FOR THAT AND THEY FOUND A SHORT CIRCUIT IN THE MIDDLE OF HER HEART AND ZAPPED IT. THERE IS ONLY A 2% CHANCE IT WILL EVER RETURN. I HAVE PICTURES OF THE FAILED SEAT BELT AND SEAT. THE SEAT BELT IS IN THE FULLY EXTENDED POSITION AND LOCKED AND CAN NOT BE RELEASED EVEN BY YANKING ON IT. I AM WRITING THIS REPORT SO THIS SITUATION CAN BE CHECKED AND IF FOUND FAULTY CAN BE CORRECTED BEFORE ANY ONE ELSE GOES THROUGH WHAT MY WIFE IS GOING THROUGH.

View Details

SEATS

9/30/2015 - VERO BEACH, FL
MY WIFE WAS INVOLVED IN A TWO CAR CRASH WHEN A CAR COMING IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION MADE AN ILLEGAL LEFT TURN DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF HER. IT HAPPENED SO QUICK THAT SHE NEVER HAD TIME TO HIT HER BRAKES. SHE WAS TRAVELING BETWEEN 30 AND 35 MPH IN A 35 MPH ZONE ON A TWO LANE ROAD. I WOULD THINK THAT AT THAT SPEED IF ALL HER SAFETY EQUIPMENT WORKED SHE WOULD NOT SUFFER ANY INJURIES. HER SEAT BELT FAILED CAUSING THE SEAT LATCH TO FAIL AND SHE ENDED UP JAMMED INTO THE BOTTOM AND UNDER SIDE OF THE DASHBOARD. SHE SUFFERED A BLOW TO HER CHEST AND INJURIES TO HER KNEES, LOWER LEGS AND FOOT. SHE HAD SURGERY ON HER RIGHT KNEE SO WE COULD GET HER ON HER FEET AGAIN AND IS AWAITING SURGERY ON HER RIGHT SHOULDER. SHE HAD A PRE EXISTING HEART CONDITION THAT WAS RAISED TO EMERGENCY STATUS AFTER THE BLOW TO HER CHEST AND SHE HAD SURGERY FOR THAT AND THEY FOUND A SHORT CIRCUIT IN THE MIDDLE OF HER HEART AND ZAPPED IT. THERE IS ONLY A 2% CHANCE IT WILL EVER RETURN. I HAVE PICTURES OF THE FAILED SEAT BELT AND SEAT. THE SEAT BELT IS IN THE FULLY EXTENDED POSITION AND LOCKED AND CAN NOT BE RELEASED EVEN BY YANKING ON IT. I AM WRITING THIS REPORT SO THIS SITUATION CAN BE CHECKED AND IF FOUND FAULTY CAN BE CORRECTED BEFORE ANY ONE ELSE GOES THROUGH WHAT MY WIFE IS GOING THROUGH.

View Details

ENGINE

9/23/2015 - PEORIA, AZ
STARTING IN SPRING 2013 AND CONTINUING DURING THE REST OF THE SPRING, SUMMER AND EARLY FALL IN THE HOTTEST MONTHS, AFTER PARKING MY PRIUS C OUTSIDE, IT ALWAYS HAD ISSUES STARTING, WHICH CONTINUES TO THIS DAY. I WILL PUT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION, START THE CAR, ALL THE DASH LIGHTS COME ON AND THE CAR WILL USUALLY NOT ALLOW ME TO PUT IT INTO REVERSE OR DRIVE. I HAVE TO TAKE THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION AND START IT AGAIN AT LEAST TWICE BEFORE IT STARTS NORMALLY AS IT DOES WHEN THE WEATHER IS COOLER AND/OR WHEN THE CAR IS PARKED IN MY GARAGE. A COUPLE OF TIMES, I MANAGED TO GET THE CAR TO GO INTO REVERSE, BUT IT WAS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO STEER AS IF THE PARKING BRAKE WAS ON. THEN THE VEHICLE STOPPED, LEAVING ME IN THE PATH OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR AND THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY CAN'T FIX IT UNLESS THEY CAN RECREATE THE PROBLEM. I HAVE TAKEN PICTURES AND VISEO, BUT THAT MAKES NO DIFFERENCE TO THEM. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED. THIS IS THE SECOND COMPLAINT I HAVE FILED RE: THIS MATTER AS MY FIRST DOES NOT SEEM TO APPEAR HERE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2015 - CLARENCE CENTER, NY
OVER THE LAST NINE MONTHS I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BULBS IN MY 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS 6 TIMES. WHEN I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER THEY STATED THAT IT WAS BECAUSE I WAS NOT USING TOYOTA CERTIFIED BULB AND I PAID OVER $150 TO HAVE THEM INSPECT THE HEADLIGHTS AND REPLACE THE BULBS. AFTER I HAD THE CERTIFIED BULBS INSTALLED, A BULB WENT OUT AGAIN. WHEN I RETURNED TO THE DEALER, I WAS TOLD THAT I NEEDED NEW WIRING FOR A COST IN EXCESS OF $250.00. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT TSB-0204-12 WAS ISSUED FOR FOR 2010-11 PRIUS FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THAT THE 2012 PRIUS HAVE THE EXACT SAME WIRING HARNESS, BUT THAT TOYOTA WAS NOT GOING TO FIX THAT PROBLEM FOR TEH 2012 MODELS AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO ABSORB THE COST MYSELF.

View Details

SEATS

6/22/2015 - POTOMAC, MD
I AM 5'3". THE HEADREST OF MY CAR IS DESIGNED TO ANGLE FORWARD AT THE TOP. THIS PUSHED MY HEAD DOWN AT A 15* ANGLE. IT IS PAINFUL TO DRIVE. I WILL HAVE TOREMOVE THE HEADREST COMPLETELY, LOSING ANY PROTECTION IN ANY ACCIDENT AND LOSING THE SUPPORT IT SHOUD GIVE MY HEAD NOW. I UNDERSTAND THIS DESIGN IS MANDATED BY YOUR AGENCY AND THAT ALL PEOPLE IN THE 5'0" TO 5'4" HEIGHT RANGE EXPERIENCE THIS PROBLEM. SINCE THE AVERAGE HEIGHT FOR AMERICAN WOMEN IS 5'5" YOUR REGULATION DISCOMFORTS AND/OR ENDANGERS HALF OF THE WOMEN IN THE COUNTRY. CHANGE THE REGULATION. ALLOW, OR REQUIRE, HEADRESTS THAT CAN SWIVEL TO CHANGE THE ANGLE OF ALIGNMENT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - BERKELEY, CA
I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT ON A HILL. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, I STEPPED ON THE GAS WITH NO RESPONSE. THE CAR SLID BACK AND I BRAKED. THE PANEL LIGHT AFFIRMED THAT THE CAR WAS SUPPOSED TO BE IN DRIVE. YET THERE WAS NO RESPONSE AT ALL. THE CAR SEEMED TO BE IN NEUTRAL. I PUT THE BLINKERS ON AND THE CARS BEHIND ME PASSED. THE PANEL LIGHTS AND RADIO WERE ON ALONG WITH THE BLINKERS. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND THEN TURNED IT ON AGAIN. IT WORKED WITHOUT A PROBLEM. I CALLED THE DEALER WHO STATED HE HAD NO IDEA WHAT HAPPENED AND THERE WAS NOTHING HE COULD CHECK. I HAVE DRIVEN THE CAR TO VARIOUS HILL TOPS AND STOPPED. THE PROBLEM DID NOT REPEAT ITSELF. IS THIS CAR SAFE TO DRIVE? IS THERE A WAY TO EVALUATE THE TRANSMISSION?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds