Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 153 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (1) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (22) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (10) Steering (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (17) Seat Belts (9) Structure (17) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine (10) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes (28) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/9/2017 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON A DRY SURFACE STREET, THE "CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM" LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE BRAKE PEDAL FELT LIKE I HAD TO APPLY MORE PRESSURE TO STOP AND IT SEEMED TO TRAVEL FURTHER TOWARD THE FLOORBOARD THAN NORMAL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/5/2017 - GAINESVILLE, FL
I RECEIVED THE WARNING, PLEASE CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM. AFTER CHECKING THE DTC THE FOLLOWING CODE APPEARED ON THE COMPUTER: P0A08:DC/DC CONVERTER CIRCUIT STATUS WHICH INDICATES AN INVERTER PROBLEM. LOOKING AT THE RECALL WEBSITE USING VIN NUMBER, SHOWED NO RECALL CONCERNING THIS. THE PROBLEM HAPPENED MANY TIMES WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY OR A HIGHWAY

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/5/2017 - GAINESVILLE, FL
I RECEIVED THE WARNING, PLEASE CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM. AFTER CHECKING THE DTC THE FOLLOWING CODE APPEARED ON THE COMPUTER: P0A08:DC/DC CONVERTER CIRCUIT STATUS WHICH INDICATES AN INVERTER PROBLEM. LOOKING AT THE RECALL WEBSITE USING VIN NUMBER, SHOWED NO RECALL CONCERNING THIS. THE PROBLEM HAPPENED MANY TIMES WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY OR A HIGHWAY

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/30/2017 - JACKSON, MS
HEADLIGHTS KEEP BLOWING OUT. SINCE PURCHASING THE CAR NEW, HAVE HAD TO REPLACE HEADLIGHTS FIVE TIME. ONE HEADLIGHT IS OUT AS WE SPEAK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/25/2017 - WEST ORANGE, NJ
LOW BEAM HEADLAMPS CONTINUALLY FAIL, AND ARE VERY DIM EVEN AFTER INSTALLING NEW BULBS. I'VE HAD TO REPLACE BULBS NO LESS THAT 4 TIMES SINCE 2012! NOT ONLY IS THIS AN EXPENSE, BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY, POSES A SIGNIFICANT HAZARD. THERE IS NO WARNING OR SPECIFIC MILEAGE. I'VE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE HEADLIGHT BULBS IN ANY OTHER CAR I'VE OWNED. SOMETHING MUST BE WRONG WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FOR THIS TO CONTINUALLY BE HAPPENING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/23/2017 - SAN DIMAS, CA
2012 TOYOTA PRIUS HAS BEEN CONSUMING LARGE AMOUNTS OF OIL SINCE 89000 MILES. DEALER COMPLETED AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST, OF COURSE IF PASSED. DEALER STATED RAVE4'S AND CAMRY'S HAVE HAD SAME ISSUE AND THEY ISSUE RECALLS. TOYOTA HAS YET TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY AND REPLACE THE PISTIONS TO CORRECT THE OIL CONSUMPTION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/17/2017 - BECKLEY, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, BOTH THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED TWICE IN THE PAST. THE VEHICLE WAS SCHEDULED TO BE TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO HAVE THE VEHICLE DIAGNOSED AND STATED THAT HE WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY REPAIRS UNDER CASE NUMBER: 170517007. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/17/2017 - BECKLEY, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, BOTH THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED TWICE IN THE PAST. THE VEHICLE WAS SCHEDULED TO BE TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO HAVE THE VEHICLE DIAGNOSED AND STATED THAT HE WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY REPAIRS UNDER CASE NUMBER: 170517007. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/2/2017 - ATLANTA, GA
FOR SOME TIME I HAVE NOTICED THAT WHEN BRAKING, IF MY CAR HIT A BUMP, THE BRAKES WOULD DISENGAGE FOR A SECOND OR TWO EVEN IF THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS FULLY PRESSED, AND THE CAR WOULD LURCH FORWARD UNTIL THE BRAKES REENGAGED. IT WAS A SIMILAR SENSATION TO HYDROPLANING, EVEN THOUGH IT WOULD OCCUR ON A DRY ROAD. THE ANTILOCK BRAKING SYSTEM LIGHT WOULD BE ON WHILE THE BRAKES WERE OUT, AND I AM TOLD THAT THE BRAKE LIGHTS ON THE BACK OF MY CAR ALSO WERE ON, BUT NO BRAKE FUNCTION FOR A SECOND OR TWO. A FEW DAYS AGO I WAS BRAKING AT A STOPLIGHT IN NORMAL WEATHER CONDITIONS AND THE BRAKES DID NOT WORK AT ALL. I HAD TO STOP THE CAR USING THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. THE MECHANIC HAS BEEN UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. MY CAR ONLY HAS 30K MILES ON IT AND HAS BEEN WELL-MAINTAINED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2017 - TEMECULA, CA
MY PRIUS IS USING 1 QUART OF OIL PER 900 MILES, THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP DID A OIL STUDY AND VERIFIED THAT INDEED THE CAR IS USING 1 QUART PER 900 MILES, BUT WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT AND STATED MY CAR IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY AND COULD BE REBUILT FOR 9000 DOLLARS-THIS IS A COMMUTER CAR ONLY AND HAS ONLY BEEN USED FOR OPEN ROAD DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds