Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 167 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (1) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (24) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (11) Steering (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (20) Seat Belts (9) Structure (18) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine (11) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes (34) Unknown Or Other (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM: INVERTER

4/2/2018 - LA VERNE, CA
MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING THE CAR PREPARING TO TURN TO ENTER THE FREEWAY WHEN THE PRIUS LOST ALL DRIVING POWER SPONTANEOUSLY AT THE SAME TIME PROMPTED WITH A WARNING ON THE SCREEN +CHECK HYBRID SYSTEM AND PARK IN A SAFE PLACE+. THE CAR LOST ALL DRIVING POWER INCLUDING POWER STEERING BUT MY HUSBAND WAS ABLE TO GLIDE THE VEHICLE ACROSS SEVERAL LANES TO A PARKED POSITION BEFORE THE FREEWAY ENTRANCE. THE CAR NEVER RESUMED ITS ABILITY TO DRIVE DESPITE TURNING IT OFF AND AN ATTEMPT TO RESTART. THE PRIUS WAS TOWED TO THE HOUSE AND TOWED AGAIN TO THE DEALERSHIP THE FOLLOWING DAY FOR AN ASSESSMENT AND REPAIR. AS A TOYOTA CUSTOMER, WE WERE INFORMED THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED INVERTER/COMPONENT FAILURE. MY VEHICLE HAD A RECALL YEARS EARLIER TO REFLASH SOFTWARE IN THE PRIUS INVERTER, BUT THIS DID NOT RESOLVE/PREVENT THE SPONTANEOUS INVERTER FAILURE WE EXPERIENCED ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 28, 2018. IT HAS BEEN BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION THAT TOYOTA CORPORATION IS AWARE OF SEVERAL CUSTOMERS REPORTING SIMILAR OR NEAR IDENTICAL CIRCUMSTANCES, BUT ARE NOT ISSUING A RECALL TO PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING TO A TOYOTA DRIVER ON THE ROAD. TOYOTA IS AGREEING TO REPLACE PARTS AT NO COST TO ME, WITH NO GUARANTEE THIS WILL CORRECT ANY INVERTER FAILURE. I HAVE REQUESTED THE SYSTEM BE REPLACED BASED ON TOYOTA+S CORRECTIVE ACTION ON THE NEWEST PRIUS MODELS, BUT THEY HAVE DENIED MY REQUEST. IF TOYOTA IS ACKNOWLEDGING COST FOR THIS VEHICLE FAILURE, WHY IS IT NOT A RECALL? IF TOYOTA HAS MADE ATTEMPTS TO CORRECT THIS VEHICLE FAILURE IN NEWER PRIUS MODELS BY INSTALLING IMPROVED INVERTER SYSTEMS, WHY AM I BEING DENIED THE SAFETY OF ALSO HAVING AN IMPROVED AND NEW INVERTER SYSTEM INSTALLED IN MY PRIUS AFTER WHAT WE HAVE EXPERIENCED AND REPORTED TO BOTH THE TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND TOYOTA CORPORATION? PLEASE INVESTIGATE BEFORE INJURY OR FATALITY COMES FROM THIS CORPORATE NEGLECT OF AN IDENTIFIED PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/3/2018 - SILVER SPRING, MD
ON MY WAY HOME I SUDDENLY SAW A SIGN ON THE SCREEN "CHECK THE HYBRID SYSTEM. STOP IN A SAFE PLACE". I PULLED OVER, SMELLED SMOKE AND SAW SMOKE IN THE REAR. I OPENED THE TRUNK ANS FRIGHTENED BY FLAME. I PULLED THINGS OUT AND COVERED THE FLAME WITH TWO BIG TOWELS AND SUCCEEDED IN PUTTING IT OUT, ALTHOUGH I GOT BURNED ON MY FINGERS. I CALLED GEICO. THEY SENT A TOWING CAR AND IT TOOK MY CAR TO MY APARTMENT. WHEN GEICO TOOK MY CAR TO A COLLISION CENTER, THEY SAID IT IS TOTAL LOSS AFTER INSPECTING IT. I CLAIMED IT TO TOYOTA. THEY INSPECTED IT, BUT SAID THAT THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE THAT THE CAR HAD ELECTRICAL OR MECHANICAL DEFECT. I DID NOTHING BUT DRIVING THE CAR, BUT IT CAUGHT FIRE. WHOSE RESPONSIBILITY IS THAT? I BELIEVE THE PRODUCER SHOULD TAKE THE RESPONSIBILITY BUT THEY DO NOT. WHERE CAN I BE COMPENSATED FOR THE LOSS?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/8/2018 - NAPLES, FL
WHILE DRIVING AT 45MPH VSC, PARKING BRAKE, AND ABS LIGHTS COMES ON AND STAYS ON AFTER RESEARCH IT SEEMS TO BE A FAIRLY COMMON ISSUE WITH THE 2012 PRIUS. STILL WAITING FOR TOYOTA TO DO SMETHING ABOUT IT

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/26/2018 - DORAL, FL
THE ABS, TRACTION CONTROL, AND BRAKE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP, WHERE I WAS TOLD THE DIAGNOSTIC HAS ALARM DTC C1391 AND THIS IS A MAJOR BRAKE HAZARD. THE DEALER STATE THE ABS BRAKE SYSTEM NEED TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $4,504.63 PLUS TAXES. I EXPLAINED TO THE DEALER THE CAR IS MAKING A SOUND LIKE THE ABS IS KICKING IN WHEN IT COME TO A STOP. THE NOISE PERSIST COMING IN AND OUT EVEN WHEN THE CAR IS PARKED AND OFF. MY 2012 PRIUS HAS ONLY 74K MILES. THE BRAKES PEDALS FEEL WEIRD AND LOOSE. I RED TOYOTA EXTENDED THE WARRANTY FOR THIS ISSUE DUE THE BRAKE ACTUATOR FAILURE DUE MANUFACTORY ISSUES. THE DEALER STATE MY VIN IS NOT THERE. WHAT ARE THEY WAITING TO FIX THIS ISSUE ON THE 2012 PRIUS??? WE NEED TO HAVE TOYOTA FIX THIS PROBLEM FOR ALL CARS BEFORE CATASTROFIC EVENT HAPPEN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/14/2017 - MANASSAS, VA
WHEN BRAKING DURING NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS, A MIXTURE OF CITY AND HIGHWAY, THE CAR MAKES A SOUND LIKE THE ABS IS KICKING IN. WHEN COMING TO A STOP, THE NOISE PERSISTS UNTIL RELEASING THE BRAKE PEDAL. SHORTLY AFTER THIS STARTED, THE ABS, TRACTION CONTROL, AND BRAKE WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP WHERE I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE BRAKE ACTUATOR NEEDED REPLACE AT THE COST OF $3600. MY 2012 PRIUS ONLY HAS 76K MILES ON IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/4/2017 - BELLEVUE, WA
VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL, ANTI-LOCK BRAKE, AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY TURN OFF. A FEW TIMES IT SHUT DOWN THE HYBRID SYSTEM AND TELL ME TO STOP . NOW ALL THOSE LIGHTS ARE ALL ON AND I AM DRIVING WITHOUT VSS, ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL. BRAKING IS GETTING HARDER. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THE COST IS $3500. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PRIUS PROBLEM PROBLEM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/4/2017 - BELLEVUE, WA
VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL, ANTI-LOCK BRAKE, AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY TURN OFF. A FEW TIMES IT SHUT DOWN THE HYBRID SYSTEM AND TELL ME TO STOP . NOW ALL THOSE LIGHTS ARE ALL ON AND I AM DRIVING WITHOUT VSS, ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL. BRAKING IS GETTING HARDER. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THE COST IS $3500. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PRIUS PROBLEM PROBLEM

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/4/2017 - BELLEVUE, WA
VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL, ANTI-LOCK BRAKE, AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY TURN OFF. A FEW TIMES IT SHUT DOWN THE HYBRID SYSTEM AND TELL ME TO STOP . NOW ALL THOSE LIGHTS ARE ALL ON AND I AM DRIVING WITHOUT VSS, ABS AND TRACTION CONTROL. BRAKING IS GETTING HARDER. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME THE COST IS $3500. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS A KNOWN PRIUS PROBLEM PROBLEM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/2/2017 - SYLMAR, CA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. WHEN I CHECKED THE OIL LEVEL BEFORE THE NEXT SCHEDULED OIL CHANGE, I FOUND NO OIL ON THE DIPSTICK. ON MY LAST OIL CHANGE, I WAS NOT TOLD I HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY OIL CONSUMPTION. HAD TO BUY OIL IN A HURRY AS I DID NOT WANT TO DRIVE THE CAR WITHOUT OIL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/12/2017 - FREDERICA, DE
ON JULY 28, 2017, I WAS DRIVING ALONG WITH MY THREE CHILDREN. I PULLED INTO A DRIVEWAY TO PARK MY VEHICLE BEHIND A PARKED VEHICLE. THERE WAS APPROXIMATELY A 2 FOOT SPAN BETWEEN THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE AND THE FRONT OF MY 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. TO THE RIGHT OF THE PARKED VEHICLE WAS A PARKED TRUCK. BEING THAT I WAS PULLING INTO A SPACE TO PARK MY VEHICLE, I WAS TRAVELING EXTREMELY SLOWLY. I BEGAN TO PRESS ON MY BRAKE TO PARK THE VEHICLE AND INSTANTLY KNEW THERE WAS A PROBLEM. UPON DEPRESSING THE BRAKE, SEVERAL LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLASH WITHIN THE DASH TO INCLUDE BUT NOT LIMITED TO THE ABS, WARNING LIGHT, AND THE LIGHT WITH VEHICLE SWERVE LINES. OTHER LIGHTS WERE ALSO FLASHING, BUT I DO NOT RECALL EACH ONE. THE BRAKE PAD INSTANTLY WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR WITH NO PRESSURE. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP AND CONTINUED TO TRAVEL FORWARD WITH ACCELERATION. TO AVOID HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME I BEGAN TO TURN MY WHEEL TO THE RIGHT. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE AND CAME INTO CONTACT WITH THE TRUCK THAT WAS TO MY FRONT-RIGHT. MY PRIUS FAILED TO SLOW OR STOP. IT CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE AND BEGAN PUSHING THE TRUCK UP THE DRIVEWAY AND INTO THE METAL GARAGE DOOR WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING DEPRESSED THE ENTIRE TIME. EVENTUALLY, THE CAR CAME TO A STOP AND THE LIGHTS CONTINUED TO FLASH PRIOR, DURING, AND AFTER THE INCIDENT. AFTER THE CAR WAS TOWED TREAD WHEEL MARKS WERE FOUND ON THE DRIVEWAY WHERE THE WHEELS SPUN AND LEFT AN IMPRINT IN THE ASPHALT. I AND MY CHILDREN WERE UNINJURED HOWEVER, THE INCIDENT WAS INCREDIBLY TRAUMATIC. THE VEHICLE WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS BY MY INSURANCE COMPANY AND AS OF YET TO BE PROCESSED FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING BY TOYOTA. THE TOYOTA CARE SERVICE WAS INFORMED OF THE ACCIDENT. TOYOTA BELIEVES IT TO BE ASSOCIATED WITH THE INTELLIGENCE COMPONENT OF THE VEHICLE, HOWEVER DETERMINATION IS CURRENTLY UNKNOWN UNTIL DIAGNOSTIC IS PERFORMED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds