Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 96 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (4) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (7) Seats (3) Structure (11) Visibility (2)
Engine (6) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (16) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (23)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1) Power Train (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/4/2014 - BERNVILLE, PA
VEHICLE PASSENGER SIDE HID HEADLIGHT WENT OUT. VEHICLE IS LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD WITH 40,000 MILES.

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2014 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON MY RESIDENTIAL STREET AND STEPPED ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY. THE CAR FAILED TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP, AND INSTEAD WENT OVER THE CURB, VEERING TO THE RIGHT AND SIDE SWIPED THE LEFT SIDE OF MY NEIGHBOR'S CAR, NARROWLY MISSING HIS GARAGE.THE CAR THEN SIDE SWIPED A TREE ON MY LEFT (ON PROPERTY BETWEEN MY AND NEIGHBOR'S PROPERTY.) THE FRONT END OF THE CAR CRASHED INTO A TREE, SAVING ME FROM ROLLING ABOUT 900 FEET TO THE STREET BELOW. THE ENTIRE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT THE BRAKES NEVER ENGAGED (PEDAL WAS DOWN TO FLOOR) AND I FRANTICALLY TRIED TO STEER TO AVOID HITTING ANYTHING. A WITNESS, STANDING ON THE STREET, CONFIRMED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON. CAR WAS SERVICED BY TOYOTA (WORLD CLASS INSPECTION) 15 DAYS BEFORE THE INCIDENT. INSPECTION REPORT INDICATED BRAKE FLUID LEVEL AND BRAKE LINING WERE "CHECKED AND OK." AFTER THE INCIDENT THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SITE WHERE THE OPERATOR DEMONSTRATED TO ME THAT THE BRAKES WERE NONEXISTENT AND THE BRAKE FLUID LEVEL WAS STILL APPROPRIATE. CAR WAS DEEMED TOTALLED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2014 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON MY RESIDENTIAL STREET AND STEPPED ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY. THE CAR FAILED TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP, AND INSTEAD WENT OVER THE CURB, VEERING TO THE RIGHT AND SIDE SWIPED THE LEFT SIDE OF MY NEIGHBOR'S CAR, NARROWLY MISSING HIS GARAGE.THE CAR THEN SIDE SWIPED A TREE ON MY LEFT (ON PROPERTY BETWEEN MY AND NEIGHBOR'S PROPERTY.) THE FRONT END OF THE CAR CRASHED INTO A TREE, SAVING ME FROM ROLLING ABOUT 900 FEET TO THE STREET BELOW. THE ENTIRE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT THE BRAKES NEVER ENGAGED (PEDAL WAS DOWN TO FLOOR) AND I FRANTICALLY TRIED TO STEER TO AVOID HITTING ANYTHING. A WITNESS, STANDING ON THE STREET, CONFIRMED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON. CAR WAS SERVICED BY TOYOTA (WORLD CLASS INSPECTION) 15 DAYS BEFORE THE INCIDENT. INSPECTION REPORT INDICATED BRAKE FLUID LEVEL AND BRAKE LINING WERE "CHECKED AND OK." AFTER THE INCIDENT THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SITE WHERE THE OPERATOR DEMONSTRATED TO ME THAT THE BRAKES WERE NONEXISTENT AND THE BRAKE FLUID LEVEL WAS STILL APPROPRIATE. CAR WAS DEEMED TOTALLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/24/2014 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON MY RESIDENTIAL STREET AND STEPPED ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY. THE CAR FAILED TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP, AND INSTEAD WENT OVER THE CURB, VEERING TO THE RIGHT AND SIDE SWIPED THE LEFT SIDE OF MY NEIGHBOR'S CAR, NARROWLY MISSING HIS GARAGE.THE CAR THEN SIDE SWIPED A TREE ON MY LEFT (ON PROPERTY BETWEEN MY AND NEIGHBOR'S PROPERTY.) THE FRONT END OF THE CAR CRASHED INTO A TREE, SAVING ME FROM ROLLING ABOUT 900 FEET TO THE STREET BELOW. THE ENTIRE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT THE BRAKES NEVER ENGAGED (PEDAL WAS DOWN TO FLOOR) AND I FRANTICALLY TRIED TO STEER TO AVOID HITTING ANYTHING. A WITNESS, STANDING ON THE STREET, CONFIRMED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON. CAR WAS SERVICED BY TOYOTA (WORLD CLASS INSPECTION) 15 DAYS BEFORE THE INCIDENT. INSPECTION REPORT INDICATED BRAKE FLUID LEVEL AND BRAKE LINING WERE "CHECKED AND OK." AFTER THE INCIDENT THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SITE WHERE THE OPERATOR DEMONSTRATED TO ME THAT THE BRAKES WERE NONEXISTENT AND THE BRAKE FLUID LEVEL WAS STILL APPROPRIATE. CAR WAS DEEMED TOTALLED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/29/2014 - SUGAR LAND, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY 59 FEEDER ROAD SOUTHWARDS TOWARDS UNIVERSITY BLVD IN THE LEFT MOST LANE. A CAR CAME AND HIT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR. DUE TO THE IMPACT MY CAR ROLLED OVER ONTO THE CURB, HIT THE GRASS AND FLIPPED BACK INTO THE LANE AGAIN. I WAS IN COMPLETE AND UTTER SHOCK AND TRAUMA AND SOON ENOUGH I NOTICED THE BLOOD ON ME. MY LEFT SIDE (HEAD, SHOULDER AND ELBOW) WAS PAINING BADLY. MY SEAT BELT WAS STILL ON, MY LEG WAS ON THE BREAK, AND WINDOWS SHATTERED AND GLASS WAS ALL OVER THE PLACE, AIR BAGS WERE NOT DEPLOYED. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, MOVED SHIFT ROD INTO PARK POSITION AND APPLIED THE HAND BRAKE. A MAN AND HIS SON (I BELIEVE) WITNESSED THE ACCIDENT AND CAME TO ME WITHIN A FEW MINUTES. THEY CALLED EMS. WHILE WAITING FOR EMERGENCY TO ARRIVE, I GOT MY CELL PHONE FROM MY BACKPACK, WHICH WAS ON THE PASSENGER SEAT, AND CALLED MY FATHER. A FEW MINUTES LATER, ANOTHER PERSON, CAME UP TO ME AND SAID HE WITNESSED THE ACCIDENT AS WELL AND STAYED NEAR MY CAR. I DID NOT MOVE FROM THE DRIVER?S SEAT OR OPEN THE DOOR BECAUSE I WAS TOO AFRAID TO OPEN THE DOOR. FEW MINUTES LATER, THE EMERGENCY PERSONNEL CAME. THEY OPENED THE CAR DOOR AND CLEARED A FEW THINGS AND PUT ME ON A STRETCHER. THEY PUT A NECK BRACE AND RESTRAINED MY HEAD FROM MOVING AND STRAPPED ME ONTO THE STRETCHER. THEY PICKED UP MY BACKPACK AS WELL. MY DAD CAME AS THEY WERE PUTTING ME ON THE STRETCHER. I WAS IMMEDIATELY RUSHED TO THE NEAREST ER. I HAVE CONCERN ABOUT THE AIRBAG. WHY AIRBAGS WERE NOT DEPLOYED?. WOULD YOU BE ABLE TO INVESTIGATE? I AUTHORIZE MY FATHER (PHONE NUMBER PROVIDED BELOW) TO DISCUSS ABOUT THIS INCIDENT. UPDATED 08-20-14 UPDATED 8/28/2014

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/18/2014 - FAIRFAX, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE JERKED AND MADE A LOUD NOISE. THE VEHICLE RESUMED TO ITS NORMAL ACCELERATION AFTER THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON THREE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/18/2014 - FAIRFAX, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE JERKED AND MADE A LOUD NOISE. THE VEHICLE RESUMED TO ITS NORMAL ACCELERATION AFTER THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON THREE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/13/2014 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN A RESIDENTIAL GARAGE, IT STARTED TO ROLL AWAY IN REVERSE INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE ROLLED ALL THE WAY INTO THE STREET KNOCKING HER DOWN TO THE GROUND AND INTO A MAIL BOX. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A LACERATION TO HER LEFT LEG WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,900.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/29/2014 - MANHATTAN BEACH, CA
I WAS GETTING READY TO PULL OUT OF A PARKING SPACE IN A PARKING LOT. THE CAR WAS IN PARK, SO I PRESSED ON THE BRAKE, STARTED THE CAR AND PUT IT IN REVERSE. ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS A LOUD ROAR AND THE CAR SHOT FULL SPEED IN REVERSE, COMPLETELY OUT OF CONTROL. IT CLIPPED THE BUMPER OF A PARKED CAR AND SOME SHOPPING CARTS, THEN BACKED INTO A WALL WHICH STOPPED THE CAR. MIRACULOUSLY NO ONE WAS INJURED. THE CAR HAS BEEN TOTALED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/26/2014 - VENTURA, CA
AT APPROXIMATELY 14:35 ON SATURDAY MAY 24 2014, THE CAR BEHIND ME WAS HIT BY AN SUV THAT DIDN-++T BREAK WHEN HE CAME TO A TOTALLY STOPPED LONG LINE OF TRAFFIC ON HWY 101 SB. I ESTIMATE THAT THE SUV WAS TRAVELING AT A SPEED OF AT LEAST 55 MPH WHEN IT STRUCK THE CAR BEHIND ME. THE CAR BEHIND ME THEN STRUCK THE BACK OF MY 2012 PRIUS PLUG-IN VEHICLE PUSHING THE FRONT OF MY CAR INTO ANOTHER SUV IN FRONT OF ME. 4 VEHICLES WERE INVOLVED, OTHERS TOOK HEAVY DAMAGE. NONE OF MY AIRBAGS DEPLOYED, AND I BEGAN FEELING LOWER LEFT SIDE NECK PAINS THE DAY AFTER THE ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds