Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA PRIUS - 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 99 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (1) Power Train (4) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (13) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (7) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (23)
Engine (6) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (16) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Other (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/7/2014 - PORT ORANGE, FL
TURNING RIGHT FROM A STOP SIGN STOP, THE CAR TOOK OFF IN AN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND COULD NOT BE STOPPED UNTIL IT HIT A CURB. THE FORCE BROKE THE BALL JOINT OF THE DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL CAUSING THE WHEEL TO TURN APPROX 45 DEGREES. THE CAR THEN SKIDDED ABOUT 20 YARDS AND CAME TO A STOP WITH THE MOTOR RACING. IT WAS A SINGLE CAR CRASH WITH NO BODILY INJURY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/7/2014 - PORT ORANGE, FL
TURNING RIGHT FROM A STOP SIGN STOP, THE CAR TOOK OFF IN AN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND COULD NOT BE STOPPED UNTIL IT HIT A CURB. THE FORCE BROKE THE BALL JOINT OF THE DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL CAUSING THE WHEEL TO TURN APPROX 45 DEGREES. THE CAR THEN SKIDDED ABOUT 20 YARDS AND CAME TO A STOP WITH THE MOTOR RACING. IT WAS A SINGLE CAR CRASH WITH NO BODILY INJURY.

View Details

WHEELS

10/7/2014 - PORT ORANGE, FL
TURNING RIGHT FROM A STOP SIGN STOP, THE CAR TOOK OFF IN AN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND COULD NOT BE STOPPED UNTIL IT HIT A CURB. THE FORCE BROKE THE BALL JOINT OF THE DRIVER'S SIDE WHEEL CAUSING THE WHEEL TO TURN APPROX 45 DEGREES. THE CAR THEN SKIDDED ABOUT 20 YARDS AND CAME TO A STOP WITH THE MOTOR RACING. IT WAS A SINGLE CAR CRASH WITH NO BODILY INJURY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/1/2014 - BLAIRSVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA PRIUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO DRIVE IN A STRAIGHT LINE AND DRIFTED TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT. THE CONTACT HAD TO CONSTANTLY ADJUST THE STEERING WHEEL. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/12/2014 - GOLD CANYON, AZ
I WAS REAR ENDED WHILE STOPPED, BY A VEHICLE REPORTED TO BE DOING 40 MPH. MY VEHICLE SUSTAINED REAR BUMPER DAMAGE FROM THE CAR HITTING MINE AND FRONT BUMPER / ENGINE COMPARTMENT DAMAGE FROM THE CAR I SUBSEQUENTLY HIT. TOTAL DAMAGE IN EXCESS OF $11,000. THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY, BUT I DIDN'T KNOW IF THE IMPACT WAS SEVERE ENOUGH TO ACTIVATE IT. HOWEVER, WHEN REVIEWING THE REPAIR INVOICE, I NOTICED THE AIR BAG SENSOR WAS REPLACED. APPARENTLY IT SHOULD HAVE ACTIVATED THE SYSTEM BUT DIDN'T.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/4/2014 - BERNVILLE, PA
VEHICLE PASSENGER SIDE HID HEADLIGHT WENT OUT. VEHICLE IS LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD WITH 40,000 MILES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/24/2014 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON MY RESIDENTIAL STREET AND STEPPED ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY. THE CAR FAILED TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP, AND INSTEAD WENT OVER THE CURB, VEERING TO THE RIGHT AND SIDE SWIPED THE LEFT SIDE OF MY NEIGHBOR'S CAR, NARROWLY MISSING HIS GARAGE.THE CAR THEN SIDE SWIPED A TREE ON MY LEFT (ON PROPERTY BETWEEN MY AND NEIGHBOR'S PROPERTY.) THE FRONT END OF THE CAR CRASHED INTO A TREE, SAVING ME FROM ROLLING ABOUT 900 FEET TO THE STREET BELOW. THE ENTIRE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT THE BRAKES NEVER ENGAGED (PEDAL WAS DOWN TO FLOOR) AND I FRANTICALLY TRIED TO STEER TO AVOID HITTING ANYTHING. A WITNESS, STANDING ON THE STREET, CONFIRMED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON. CAR WAS SERVICED BY TOYOTA (WORLD CLASS INSPECTION) 15 DAYS BEFORE THE INCIDENT. INSPECTION REPORT INDICATED BRAKE FLUID LEVEL AND BRAKE LINING WERE "CHECKED AND OK." AFTER THE INCIDENT THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SITE WHERE THE OPERATOR DEMONSTRATED TO ME THAT THE BRAKES WERE NONEXISTENT AND THE BRAKE FLUID LEVEL WAS STILL APPROPRIATE. CAR WAS DEEMED TOTALLED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2014 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON MY RESIDENTIAL STREET AND STEPPED ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY. THE CAR FAILED TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP, AND INSTEAD WENT OVER THE CURB, VEERING TO THE RIGHT AND SIDE SWIPED THE LEFT SIDE OF MY NEIGHBOR'S CAR, NARROWLY MISSING HIS GARAGE.THE CAR THEN SIDE SWIPED A TREE ON MY LEFT (ON PROPERTY BETWEEN MY AND NEIGHBOR'S PROPERTY.) THE FRONT END OF THE CAR CRASHED INTO A TREE, SAVING ME FROM ROLLING ABOUT 900 FEET TO THE STREET BELOW. THE ENTIRE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT THE BRAKES NEVER ENGAGED (PEDAL WAS DOWN TO FLOOR) AND I FRANTICALLY TRIED TO STEER TO AVOID HITTING ANYTHING. A WITNESS, STANDING ON THE STREET, CONFIRMED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON. CAR WAS SERVICED BY TOYOTA (WORLD CLASS INSPECTION) 15 DAYS BEFORE THE INCIDENT. INSPECTION REPORT INDICATED BRAKE FLUID LEVEL AND BRAKE LINING WERE "CHECKED AND OK." AFTER THE INCIDENT THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SITE WHERE THE OPERATOR DEMONSTRATED TO ME THAT THE BRAKES WERE NONEXISTENT AND THE BRAKE FLUID LEVEL WAS STILL APPROPRIATE. CAR WAS DEEMED TOTALLED.

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2014 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON MY RESIDENTIAL STREET AND STEPPED ON THE BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN TO MAKE A LEFT TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY. THE CAR FAILED TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP, AND INSTEAD WENT OVER THE CURB, VEERING TO THE RIGHT AND SIDE SWIPED THE LEFT SIDE OF MY NEIGHBOR'S CAR, NARROWLY MISSING HIS GARAGE.THE CAR THEN SIDE SWIPED A TREE ON MY LEFT (ON PROPERTY BETWEEN MY AND NEIGHBOR'S PROPERTY.) THE FRONT END OF THE CAR CRASHED INTO A TREE, SAVING ME FROM ROLLING ABOUT 900 FEET TO THE STREET BELOW. THE ENTIRE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT THE BRAKES NEVER ENGAGED (PEDAL WAS DOWN TO FLOOR) AND I FRANTICALLY TRIED TO STEER TO AVOID HITTING ANYTHING. A WITNESS, STANDING ON THE STREET, CONFIRMED MY BRAKE LIGHTS WERE ON. CAR WAS SERVICED BY TOYOTA (WORLD CLASS INSPECTION) 15 DAYS BEFORE THE INCIDENT. INSPECTION REPORT INDICATED BRAKE FLUID LEVEL AND BRAKE LINING WERE "CHECKED AND OK." AFTER THE INCIDENT THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A REPAIR SITE WHERE THE OPERATOR DEMONSTRATED TO ME THAT THE BRAKES WERE NONEXISTENT AND THE BRAKE FLUID LEVEL WAS STILL APPROPRIATE. CAR WAS DEEMED TOTALLED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/29/2014 - SUGAR LAND, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY 59 FEEDER ROAD SOUTHWARDS TOWARDS UNIVERSITY BLVD IN THE LEFT MOST LANE. A CAR CAME AND HIT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR. DUE TO THE IMPACT MY CAR ROLLED OVER ONTO THE CURB, HIT THE GRASS AND FLIPPED BACK INTO THE LANE AGAIN. I WAS IN COMPLETE AND UTTER SHOCK AND TRAUMA AND SOON ENOUGH I NOTICED THE BLOOD ON ME. MY LEFT SIDE (HEAD, SHOULDER AND ELBOW) WAS PAINING BADLY. MY SEAT BELT WAS STILL ON, MY LEG WAS ON THE BRAKE AND WINDOWS SHATTERED AND GLASS WAS ALL OVER THE PLACE, AIR BAGS WERE NOT DEPLOYED. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, MOVED SHIFT ROD INTO PARK POSITION AND APPLIED THE HAND BRAKE. A MAN AND HIS SON (I BELIEVE) WITNESSED THE ACCIDENT AND CAME TO ME WITHIN A FEW MINUTES. THEY CALLED EMS. WHILE WAITING FOR EMERGENCY TO ARRIVE, I GOT MY CELL PHONE FROM MY BACKPACK, WHICH WAS ON THE PASSENGER SEAT, AND CALLED MY FATHER. A FEW MINUTES LATER, ANOTHER PERSON, CAME UP TO ME AND SAID HE WITNESSED THE ACCIDENT AS WELL AND STAYED NEAR MY CAR. I DID NOT MOVE FROM THE DRIVERS SEAT OR OPEN THE DOOR BECAUSE I WAS TOO AFRAID TO OPEN THE DOOR...FEW MINUTES LATER, THE EMERGENCY PERSONNEL CAME. THEY OPENED THE CAR DOOR AND CLEARED A FEW THINGS AND PUT ME ON A STRETCHER. THEY PUT A NECK BRACE AND RESTRAINED MY HEAD FROM MOVING AND STRAPPED ME ONTO THE STRETCHER. THEY PICKED UP MY BACKPACK AS WELL. MY DAD CAME AS THEY WERE PUTTING ME ON THE STRETCHER. I WAS IMMEDIATELY RUSHED TO THE NEAREST ER. .. I HAVE CONCERN ABOUT THE AIRBAG. WHY THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY?. WOULD YOU BE ABLE TO INVESTIGATE? I AUTHORIZE MY FATHER (PHONE NUMBER PROVIDED BELOW) TO DISCUSS ABOUT THIS INCIDENT. UPDATED 08-20-14 UPDATED 8/28/2014 ..UPDATED 09-09-14

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds