Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (2) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/2/2017 - WALDORF, MD
KEY GETS CONSTANTLY GETS STUCK IN THE IGNITION WHEN TURNING THE CAR OFF. THE CAR IS IN PARK AND THE KEY STUCK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2017 - FORT WORTH, TX
KEY GETS STUCK IN IGNITION WHEN TURNING OFF THE ENGINE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/4/2017 - MEDFORD, MA
I WAS DRIVING AND THE EPC LIGHT CAME ON. AT THE DEALERSHIP I WAS TOLD THE CAR NEEDED A CARBON CLEANING WHICH IS A $900 JOB. BEING THAT MY CAR IS ONLY 5 YEARS OLD AND ONLY HAS 40K MILES I WAS SHOCKED. AFTER DOING RESEARCH AND TALKING TO THE DEALERSHIP I LEARNED THAT ALL 2012 BETTLES WITH THIS DIRECT FUEL INJECTION DESIGN HAVE THIS PROBLEM. IT IS SYSTEMATIC ISSUE WITHIN THE DESIGN OF THE FUEL INJECTION THAT CAUSES THE COILS TO FAIL AND THE CAR TO NEED A $900 CARBON CLEANING DONE EVERY FEW YEARS. HIGH GRADE GASOLINE OR/AND FUEL INJECTION CLEANER DOES NOT HELP. I CALLED THE VW AND THEY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/4/2017 - MEDFORD, MA
I WAS DRIVING AND THE EPC LIGHT CAME ON. AT THE DEALERSHIP I WAS TOLD THE CAR NEEDED A CARBON CLEANING WHICH IS A $900 JOB. BEING THAT MY CAR IS ONLY 5 YEARS OLD AND ONLY HAS 40K MILES I WAS SHOCKED. AFTER DOING RESEARCH AND TALKING TO THE DEALERSHIP I LEARNED THAT ALL 2012 BETTLES WITH THIS DIRECT FUEL INJECTION DESIGN HAVE THIS PROBLEM. IT IS SYSTEMATIC ISSUE WITHIN THE DESIGN OF THE FUEL INJECTION THAT CAUSES THE COILS TO FAIL AND THE CAR TO NEED A $900 CARBON CLEANING DONE EVERY FEW YEARS. HIGH GRADE GASOLINE OR/AND FUEL INJECTION CLEANER DOES NOT HELP. I CALLED THE VW AND THEY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/4/2017 - MEDFORD, MA
I WAS DRIVING AND THE EPC LIGHT CAME ON. AT THE DEALERSHIP I WAS TOLD THE CAR NEEDED A CARBON CLEANING WHICH IS A $900 JOB. BEING THAT MY CAR IS ONLY 5 YEARS OLD AND ONLY HAS 40K MILES I WAS SHOCKED. AFTER DOING RESEARCH AND TALKING TO THE DEALERSHIP I LEARNED THAT ALL 2012 BETTLES WITH THIS DIRECT FUEL INJECTION DESIGN HAVE THIS PROBLEM. IT IS SYSTEMATIC ISSUE WITHIN THE DESIGN OF THE FUEL INJECTION THAT CAUSES THE COILS TO FAIL AND THE CAR TO NEED A $900 CARBON CLEANING DONE EVERY FEW YEARS. HIGH GRADE GASOLINE OR/AND FUEL INJECTION CLEANER DOES NOT HELP. I CALLED THE VW AND THEY REFUSED TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/9/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, FUEL LEAKED ONTO THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AS HAVING A LEAKY DETECTION PUMP. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/4/2016 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE THE AIR BAG SENSOR WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, EVERY FEW THOUSAND MILES, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/13/2016 - COOK, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER DUE TO THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATING. THE MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO RETRIEVE A FAULT CODE ON THE VEHICLE FOR THE EXHAUST CAMSHAFT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE EXHAUST CAMSHAFT FRACTURED AND CAUSED A BLOCKAGE OF THE EXHAUST FUEL LEAVING THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER WARRANTY WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WARNING ILLUMINATED; HOWEVER, THE DEALER FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2016 - QUEEN CREEK, AZ
VEHICLE DIES WHILE DRIVING. HAS HAPPENED ON COUNTLESS OCCASIONS WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT, TURNING, STOPPED AT LIGHT, ETC. NO WARNING. ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUTS OFF. MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD AS THIS HAS HAPPENED WHILE TURNING LEFT INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND WHILE TRAVELING DOWN A ROAD AT 50 MPH WITH OTHER VEHICLES DOING THE SAME SPEED BEHIND ME. STARTED ABOUT 1 YEAR AGO AND HAVE BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES TRYING TO FIX. SO FAR THEY HAVE TRIED A COMPUTER RESET AND REPLACING THE CRANKSHAFT SENSOR, NEITHER HAVE WORKED. CAR IS CURRENTLY BACK IN THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE SECOND TIME IN A WEEK FOR THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING: RACK AND PINION: RACK

3/7/2016 - BLUE POINT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 26,399. UPDATED 04/29/16

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds