Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 27 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Structure (2) Visibility (15)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Equipment (1) Power Train (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/9/2014 - MILLSBORO, DE
9-3-14 GOT INTO VEHICLE THAT WAS PARKED IN MY GARAGE. FOUND HORIZONTAL CRACK RUNNING FROM BEHIND REAR VIEW MIRROR ABOUT 8" IN BOTH DIRECTIONS AND CURVING UP TO THE ROOF LINE. ADDITIONALLY THERE IS A VERTICLAL CRACK THAT INTERSECTS THE HORIZONTAL ONE AT IT RUNS DIRECTLY UP TO THE ROOF LINE. THERE WAS NO CONTACT WITH ANY OBJECT OR ROAD HAZZARD THAT CAUSED THIS AS THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN A CLOSED AND SECURED GARAGE. CONTACTED VW DEALER WHO ADVISED ME TO TAKE VEHICLE TO DEALERSHIP. ONCE THERE THE VEHICLE AND THE CRACKED WINDSHIELD WERE PHOTOGRAPHED BY DEALERSHIP PERSONNEL. I WAS INFORMED THAT A CLAIM WOULD BE SUBMITTED TO THE MANUFACTURER. ON 9-9-14 I WAS INFORMED THAT THE CLAIM HAD BEEN DENIED BY HE MAUFACTURER'S REPRESENTATIVE STATING THAT IT WAS THEIR OPINION THAT THE WINDSHIELD HAD BEEN CONTACTED BY SOME OBJECT. IT IS MY OPINION THAT THIS IS A STRESS FRACTURE AND THERE IS NO EVIDENCE THAT THE WINDSHIELD HAD BEEN STRUCK BY ANY OBJECT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/4/2014 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
I HAVE ONLY OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR UNDER A MONTH. NOTICEABLE LAG FROM DEAD START AS WELL AS LOW SPEEDS AND TRYING TO ACCELERATE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/3/2014 - OCEAN CITY, NJ
WINDSHIELD CRACKED BEHIND REAR VIEW MIRROR. STARTED AT THE TOP SEAM OF THE GLASS. WAS NOT HIT BY A ROCK.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/10/2014 - WEST ALLIS, WI
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, GOING ABOUT 60MPH, WHEN I NOTICED A SLIGHT, HIGH PITCHED RATTLE. A COUPLE OF MINUTES LATER, WHILE STILL ON THE HIGHWAY, I NOTICED A CRACK IN THE WINDSHIELD RIGHT IN THE CENTER OF THE VEHICLE JUST BEHIND THE REARVIEW MIRROR. ONCE I GOT HOME I CHECKED IT OUT AND THE GLASS IS CRACKED STRAIGHT DOWN FROM THE CENTER OF THE CAR AND THEN SPLITS OFF LEFT AND RIGHT AT THE REARVIEW MIRROR. YOU CAN PHYSICALLY FEEL THE BREAK FROM THE OUTSIDE.

View Details

STEERING

7/26/2013 - BOTHELL, WA
THERE IS A HIGH PITCH WHISTLING NOISE IN THE STEERING SYSTEM. IT IS PRESENT WHEN THE VEHICLE IS SITTING STILL AND WHILE THE VEHICLE IS TRAVELING. THE NOISE ONLY INCREASES WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL IS MOVED BACK AND FORTH. IT IS AN INTERMITTENT SOUND. THE DEALERSHIP HAS REPLACED THE POWER STEERING PUMP TWICE AND THE SOUND DID NOT GO AWAY. THEY DROVE A BRAND NEW BUG AND TOLD US THAT ALL THE BUGS HAVE THE SAME NOISE. THE SOUND IS LIKE WHEN A WINDOW IS SLIGHTLY OPEN WHILE TRAVELING AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/9/2013 - GATESVILLE, TX
WINDSHIELD CRACK HORIZONTALLY FROM ROOFTOP DOWN IN TWO PLACES BEHIND REARVIEW MIRROR.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

7/9/2013 - GATESVILLE, TX
WINDSHIELD CRACK HORIZONTALLY FROM ROOFTOP DOWN IN TWO PLACES BEHIND REARVIEW MIRROR.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

6/5/2013 - HACKETTSTOWN, NJ
MY WINDSHIELD CRACKED ON ITS OWN WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT A RATE OF 60MPH. THERE WERE NO CHIPS OR SPLITS FROM ROCKS. I HEARD A CRACKING NOISE AND WATCHED AS THE MY WINDSHIELD CRACKED FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE MIDWAY TO THE MIDDLE OF THE WINDOW. WHEN I PULLED OVER TO MAKE SURE MY CAR WAS SAFE TO DRIVE, I SAW THAT THE CRACK HAPPENED ON THE INTERIOR OF THE WINDOW.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/5/2013 - HACKETTSTOWN, NJ
MY WINDSHIELD CRACKED ON ITS OWN WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT A RATE OF 60MPH. THERE WERE NO CHIPS OR SPLITS FROM ROCKS. I HEARD A CRACKING NOISE AND WATCHED AS THE MY WINDSHIELD CRACKED FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE MIDWAY TO THE MIDDLE OF THE WINDOW. WHEN I PULLED OVER TO MAKE SURE MY CAR WAS SAFE TO DRIVE, I SAW THAT THE CRACK HAPPENED ON THE INTERIOR OF THE WINDOW.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/4/2013 - CENTER POINT, IA
FRONT WINDOW BROKE WHEN PULLING INTO THE DRIVEWAY. NO VISIBLE ROCK CHIP, WINDOW JUST BROKE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds