Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 78 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (4) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Diesel (14) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (5) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2013 - ROY , UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE WHEN APPLIED. THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL BODY REPAIR CENTER BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 23,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

11/24/2013 - BAYFIELD, MI
VW JETTA TDI REAR TANK PUMP HAS NO FILTER SOCK AND FUEL STARVED TO HIGH PRESSURE ALUMINUM PUMP WITHOUT HIGH PRESSURE FILTER OR MANIFOLD. NO SIGN OF METAL SHAVINGS! COST OF REPAIR 10000.00 I PHONED VW AMERICA AS CAR WAS IN WARRANTY AND THEY EMAILED BACK AND SAID THEY WOULD CONTACT ME AND THIS DID NOT HAPPEN.I HAD TO PAY THE BILL BUT MY INSURANCE COVERED ME FOR MOST COST.LOST 4 DAYS OF WORK AND HAD TO RENT A CAR.THIS CAR IS UNSAFE AND I FEEL TERRIBLE SAYING THIS AS I AM A DIESEL LOVER. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2013 - NEWARK, CA
WHILE MY DAUGHTER WAS SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT IN A LEFT HAND TURN LANE, ALL OF THE DASH LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLASH. SHE THOUGHT IF SHE TURNED THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT, IT WOULD CLEAR. SHE COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR, THE HAZARD LIGHTS WOULD NOT TURN ON, THE BACK DOORS WOULD NOT UNLOCK , THE RADIO COULD NOT BE TURNED OFF AND IT WAS PITCH DARK. THANK GOD, A MAN WITH A FAMILY PUSHED HER CAR TO OUT OF THE LEFT HAND TURN LANE AND INTO A GAS STATION PARKING LOT ACROSS THE STREET. UPON MY HUSBAND AND MY ARRIVAL, WE COULD NOT OPEN THE TRUNK EITHER TO ALLOW THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER ACCESS TO THE TOW HOOK. WE LEASED THIS CAR DUE TO ITS SAFETY FEATURES OF OUR COLLEGE AGE DAUGHTER. HAZARD LIGHTS SHOULD WORK REGARDLESS OF WHAT'S GOING ON WITH THE VEHICLE. HAD SOMEONE REARED ENDED THE VEHICLE DUE TO NO HAZARD LIGHTS, PASSENGERS IN THE BACK WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. OR IF IT HAD CAUGHT FIRE TO ONLY WAY TO EXIT WOULD BE THROUGH THE TWO FRONT DOORS. WE WERE TOLD BY THE VW DEALER THAT IT WAS A CONTROLLER THAT WENT OUT AND THAT HE HAS NEVER HEARD THIS HAPPENING BEFORE. I'M WRITING TO VW TO LET THEM KNOW THAT IF THIS IS TRUE FOR ALL VW PRODUCTS, IT IS A DESIGN FLAW THAT JEOPARDIZES EVERYONE THAT BUYS OR LEASES ONE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

11/15/2013 - EASTON, PA
WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK ONE MORNING WHILE IN THE MIDDLE OF MY DRIVE GOING 60MPH MY DIESEL GLOW PLUG LIGHT STARTED TO BLINK AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ALONG WITH LOSS OF POWER TO MY VEHICLE. HAD TO MANAGE TO AVOID TRAFFIC AND PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG. ULTIMATELY HAD CAR TOWED TO VW DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED CAR FROM . THEY LOOKED OVER THE CAR, TEST DROVE IT AND STATED THEY DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT AND RESET THE MIL AND I WAS ON MY WAY. THE NEXT DAY ON MY WAY TO WORK AGAIN , GLOW PLUG LIGHT STARTS TO BLINK ALONG WITH CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND LOSS OF POWER TO MY VEHICLE. HAVE CAR TAKEN BACK AGAIN AND THIS TIME THEY STATE IT WAS A BAD FUEL PUMP OVER THE FUEL TANK AND REPLACE IT AND RESET THE MIL AND GOT MY CAR BACK. THAT SAME DAY ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK THE LIGHTS COME ON AGAIN FOR A THIRD TIME WITH LOSS OF POWER TO MY VEHICLE. TAKE CAR BACK AND THIS TIME THEY REPLACE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. HAVEN'T HAD ANY ISSUES WITH IT SINCE BUT I SUSPECT THIS IS SOMETHING THAT IS OCCURRING IN ALOT OF VW'S FROM THIS YEAR AND FELT THE NEED TO REPORT IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

10/30/2013 - MILFORD, NJ
THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND DESTROYED THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM OF THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

10/2/2013 - PADDOCK LAKE, WI
I WAS TRYING ALONG AT 50 MPH AND THE GLOBE DIESEL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME AN. I KEPT TRYING TO DRIVE IT TO GET TO A SAFE PLACE TO LEAVE MY VEHICLE TO GET IT TOWED. VW COULD NOT DETERMINE IF WAS FUEL CONTAMINATION OR FAULTY FUEL PUMP. I COULDN'T MOVE THE CAR WHEN I GOT TO A STOP. IF THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE TO THE VW COMPANY WHY ARE THEY TRYING TO BLAME THE CONSUMERS THAT I PUT THE WRONG FUEL IN MY VEHICLE. VW INSTALLED THE FUEL GUARD WHICH WAS A RECALL, AND COVERED THE REST OF THE PARTS BUT NOW I AM LEFT WITH A YEAR OLD CAR THAT I HOPE HAS NO LONGER FURTHER ISSUES DUE TO VW NOT RECALLING AND FIXING AN ISSUE WITH THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

10/2/2013 - PADDOCK LAKE, WI
I WAS TRYING ALONG AT 50 MPH AND THE GLOBE DIESEL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME AN. I KEPT TRYING TO DRIVE IT TO GET TO A SAFE PLACE TO LEAVE MY VEHICLE TO GET IT TOWED. VW COULD NOT DETERMINE IF WAS FUEL CONTAMINATION OR FAULTY FUEL PUMP. I COULDN'T MOVE THE CAR WHEN I GOT TO A STOP. IF THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE TO THE VW COMPANY WHY ARE THEY TRYING TO BLAME THE CONSUMERS THAT I PUT THE WRONG FUEL IN MY VEHICLE. VW INSTALLED THE FUEL GUARD WHICH WAS A RECALL, AND COVERED THE REST OF THE PARTS BUT NOW I AM LEFT WITH A YEAR OLD CAR THAT I HOPE HAS NO LONGER FURTHER ISSUES DUE TO VW NOT RECALLING AND FIXING AN ISSUE WITH THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

8/13/2013 - BRADENTON, FL
I HAVE A VW JETTA TDI. THE DIESEL HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP WENT BAD WHILE I WAS DRIVING 70 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. LOST ALL ACCELERATION, HAD TO COAST 2 LANES OVER TO GET TO SHOULDER. HAD TO HAVE VEHICLE TOWED IN TO DEALER FOR SERVICE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/10/2013 - SANTA BARBARA, CA
AS I ACCELERATE TO MERGE ONTO THE FREEWAY, I SUDDENLY REALIZED THAT I DIDN'T HAVE ANY POWER TO SPEAK OF, WHICH WAS QUITE ALARMING. THIS HAD NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE. I WAS ABLE TO GAIN ENOUGH SPEED TO GET ON THE FREEWAY, BUT I INSTANTLY TURNED ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS REALIZING THAT I COULD NOT GAIN ENOUGH SPEED TO KEEP UP WITH THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. SHORTLY THEREAFTER, MY GLOW PLUG LIGHT CAME ON, AND I DROVE MY CAR 1 MILE TO THE NEAREST OFF RAMP. WHEN I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AND I DROVE 1 MILE TO MY SCHEDULED DOCTOR'S APPOINTMENT. I PARKED MY JETTA WITH PLANS TO ADDRESS THE MATTER AFTER MY APPOINTMENT. WHEN I RETURNED TO MY CAR, IT WOULD NOT START, AND I CALLED AAA TO TOW MY CAR TO THE NEAREST VW DEALERSHIP. AS I MENTIONED, THIS HAD NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE, AND I WAS IN ABSOLUTE SHOCK BECAUSE I LOVE MY CLEAN DIESEL, AND I HAVE ENCOURAGED 4 OTHER FRIENDS TO BUY THE EXACT SAME MODEL!!! AFTER LEAVING THE CAR AT THE VW DEALERSHIP, I BEGAN TO DO SOME RESEARCH ONLINE ABOUT THE ISSUES PEOPLE ARE HAVING WITH THE BOSCH HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMPS IN THE VW CLEAN DIESELS. HONESTLY, THIS HAS DEEPLY CHANGED HOW I FEEL ABOUT MY CAR, AND WORRIES ME GREATLY! IT IS INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS TO HAVE A CAR COMPLETELY LOSE POWER! :( FROM WHAT I UNDERSTAND, VW IS "SUGGESTING" THAT HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE HAVE PUT GAS IN THEIR DIESEL ENGINES. MY HUSBAND HAS HAD A JETTA DIESEL WAGON FOR 12 YEARS AND HAS OVER 200, 000 MILES ON IT, SO WE ARE WELL VERSED IN THE USE OF DIESEL. WE HAVE NEVER PUT GASOLINE IN OUR DIESEL CARS!!! WE ARE INCREDIBLY DISAPPOINTED IN THE WAY VW IS HANDLING THIS ISSUE. TO SUGGEST THAT HUNDREDS OF LOYAL, DEVOTED DIESEL FANS THAT HAVE PURCHASED THEIR CARS ARE AT FAULT IS AN ENORMOUS MISTAKE, AS IS SUGGESTING THAT CONSUMERS ARE NOT BUYING "QUALITY DIESEL." TAKE THAT UP WITH THE REFINERIES AND GAS STATIONS, VOLKSWAGEN, NOT YOUR LOYAL CUSTOMERS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

8/2/2013 - ROCKVILLE, MD
MY WIFE AND I WERE MERGING INTO TRAFFIC AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS WHEN THE 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA SPORTWAGEN TDI ENGINE STALLED. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR OFF THE ROAD ONTO A GRASS EMBANKMENT BEFORE A SEMI TRUCK PASSED WITHIN INCHES OF DRIVER SIDE. THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART. WE CALLED VW ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND WERE TOWED TO THE NEAREST VW DEALERSHIP. UPON MECHANIC INSPECTION, I WAS ADVISED THAT THE FUEL SYSTEM HAD FAILED, SPECIFICALLY THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. THE REPAIR REQUIRED THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM TO BE REPLACED, AS SHARDS OF BROKEN METAL AND DEBRIS CONTAMINATED THE FUEL TANK, PUMPS, LINES, FILTERS, ETC. VW AGREED TO MAKE THE EXPENSIVE REPAIRS UNDER WARRANTY (ESTIMATE $6K) BUT NOT WITHOUT ADVISING ME THAT THEY WERE NOT LIABLE TO MAKE REPAIRS UNDER WARRANTY DUE TO "DIESEL FUEL CONTAMINATION". I WAS ADVISED TO PURCHASE FUEL FROM "REPUTABLE" DIESEL FUEL STATIONS WITHOUT BEING ASKED WHERE I BOUGHT GAS (SHELL AND GULF NEAR MY HOME). VW ASKED MECHANIC TO PULL 1 LITER FUEL SAMPLE FOR TESTING AT VW. MECHANIC REPORTS THE SAMPLE PULLED APPEARED TO BE A CLEAN DIESEL FUEL SAMPLE. HE LEFT THE SAMPLE OUT OVERNIGHT TO SETTLE AND LOOK FOR PHASE SEPARATION OF WATER/FUEL. HE SAW NO SEPARATION IN THE MORNING. I HAVE LOVED MY DIESEL CAR, BUT VW HAS NOT YET SATISFIED ME WITH THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE. MY SAFETY AND RELIABILITY CONCERNS HAVE BEEN VERY MUCH DISCOUNTED, AND I HAVE BEEN MADE TO FEEL LIKE THIS WAS MY FAULT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds