Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 80 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (13) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (14) Service Brakes (5) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

1/20/2014 - VICTORVILLE, CA
CONTI PRO CONTACT (CONTINENTAL TIRE): THE TIRES CAME INSTALLED ON A 2012 VW JETTA 2.5 LE. AT 27,000 MILES THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE BLEW OUT WHILE DRIVING. THE PROBLEM WAS A TORN SIDEWALL. THE TIRE WAS REPLACED WITH ANOTHER CONTI PRO CONTACT. AT 53,216 MILES THE FRONT LEFT TIRE BLEW OUT WHILE DRIVING. ONCE AGAIN THE PROBLEM WAS A TORN SIDEWALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/17/2014 - MURRIETA, CA
ON THURSDAY, JANUARY 16, 2014, AT ABOUT 1145 HOURS, I WAS TRAVELLING SB I-15 IN THE NUMBER ONE LANE, IN MURRIETA, CA IN MY 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA TDI, WITH MY CRUISE CONTROL SET AT APPROXIMATELY 77 MILES PER HOUR. WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING, A WARNING LIGHT ON MY DASHBOARD (LATER IDENTIFIED AS THE GLOW PLUG LIGHT) BEGAN TO FLASH AND I SIMULTANEOUSLY LOST POWER. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO MERGE OVER TO THE WINCHESTER RD. OFF RAMP. AS I SLOWED AND CAME TO A STOP, MY VEHICLE STALLED AND I WAS UNABLE TO RESTART IT AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS. I WAS STRANDED IN THE CENTER LANE OF A THREE LANE OFF RAMP WHERE NUMEROUS VEHICLES NEARLY REAR ENDED ME. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED 9-1-1 FOR ASSISTANCE. AS A RESULT, A HIGHWAY PATROL UNIT ARRIVED WITHIN SEVERAL MINUTES TO PREVENT ME FROM BEING IN AN AUTO ACCIDENT. I TELEPHONED MY INSURANCE COMPANY AFTER CALLING 9-1-1 IN ORDER TO BE TOWED TO MURRIETA VOLKSWAGEN. SEVERAL HOURS LATER I RECEIVED WORD FROM THE DEALERSHIP THAT THEY FOUND NUMEROUS SHARDS OF METAL IN THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP (HPFP) AND GAS LINE. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO INFORMED ME THAT THEY WOULD BE SUBMITTING A CLAIM TO VOLKSWAGEN IN ORDER TO REPAIR THE DAMAGES, WHICH HAVE BEEN INITIALLY QUOTED AT $4000.00. THEY ALSO TOLD ME THEY WOULD NEED AT LEAST A WEEK TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. I HAVE READ NUMEROUS ACCOUNTS ONLINE WHERE TDI OWNERS HAVE COMPLAINED OF THE EXACT SAME ISSUES: FINDING SHARDS OF METAL IN THEIR FUEL FILTERS AS WELL AS EXPERIENCING A FAILURE OF THE HPFP. NO ONE ELSE SHOULD HAVE TO ENDURE THE DANGEROUS SITUATION I FOUND MYSELF IN YESTERDAY, LET ALONE THE EXPENSE I AM FACING IF VOLKSWAGEN DENIES THE CLAIM THE DEALERSHIP IS FILING ON MY BEHALF. PLEASE HELP ALL OF US. THIS IS A WIDESPREAD ISSUE THAT VOLKSWAGEN HAS NOT CORRECTED WITH THEIR TDI CLEAN DIESEL ENGINES. THANK YOU, GARRIN SMITH

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/15/2014 - NEW CUMBERLAND , WV
I WAS TRAVELING DOWN THE HIGHWAY THIS AFTERNOON GOING 70 MPH. ALL OF A SUDDEN, MY MOTHER AND I HEARD A LOUD BOOM, IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. GLASS FROM THE SUNROOF SUDDENLY COVERED US, THE FRONT SEATING AREA AND THE BACK SEAT. WE WERE THE ONLY CAR IN THE HIGHWAY, THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF ANY EXTERNAL OBJECT BEING THROWN AT MY VEHICLE AND THE SUNROOF GLASS S PUSHED UP, INDICATING THAT THE EXPLOSION HAPPENED FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE. I'VE READ OF SEVERAL INSTANCES OF THIS HAPPENING AND FEEL THIS IS A REAL SAFETY HAZARD. LUCKY, I DIDN'T LOSE CONTROL AND WE WERE JUST SHAKEN UP, BUT THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED. ALL OF MY WINDOWS WERE UP, THE SUNROOF WAS CLOSED, THERE'S NO REASON FOR SOMETHING LIKE THIS TO HAPPEN ON A CAR THAT ISN'T EVEN TWO YEARS OLD

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/15/2014 - COUNTRYSIDE, IL
WIPER BLADES STOPPED WORKING. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THEY WERE FROZEN. I DIDN'T BELIEVE IT BUT I TOOK THE CAR HOME AND WAITED IT OUT BUT IT KEPT HAPPENING. THE DAY BEFORE NEW YEARS EVE THEY COMPLETELY WENT OUT AND HAD TO FIND ANOTHER WAY HOME SINCE IT WAS SLEETING OUT. I GOT THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND COMPLAINED TO THE MANAGER THEY CHECKED IT OUT AND TOLD ME THAT THE SWITCH NEEDED REPLACING THEY GOT THE PART IN AND REPLACED IT. THE NEXT DAY THEY STOPPED WORKING AGAIN. THIS IS A YEAR OLD CAR, COMPLETELY RIDICULOUS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/7/2014 - NORTHAMPTON, MA
WIPER BLADES STOP WORKING AS THE LINKAGES FREEZE UP IN FREEZING COLD WET WEATHER WHEN THERE IS NO EXCESSIVE VISIBLE ICE AT THE BASE OF THE WIPER ARM. THE ONLY SOLUTION SO FAR HAS BEEN TO BRING THE CAR INTO A HEATED SHOP TO UN-FREEZE THE WIPERS. HAPPENS EVERY TIME IT RAINS, THEN GET A HARD FREEZE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2013 - ROY , UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE BRAKES FAILED TO ENGAGE WHEN APPLIED. THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL BODY REPAIR CENTER BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 23,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

11/24/2013 - BAYFIELD, MI
VW JETTA TDI REAR TANK PUMP HAS NO FILTER SOCK AND FUEL STARVED TO HIGH PRESSURE ALUMINUM PUMP WITHOUT HIGH PRESSURE FILTER OR MANIFOLD. NO SIGN OF METAL SHAVINGS! COST OF REPAIR 10000.00 I PHONED VW AMERICA AS CAR WAS IN WARRANTY AND THEY EMAILED BACK AND SAID THEY WOULD CONTACT ME AND THIS DID NOT HAPPEN.I HAD TO PAY THE BILL BUT MY INSURANCE COVERED ME FOR MOST COST.LOST 4 DAYS OF WORK AND HAD TO RENT A CAR.THIS CAR IS UNSAFE AND I FEEL TERRIBLE SAYING THIS AS I AM A DIESEL LOVER. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/18/2013 - NEWARK, CA
WHILE MY DAUGHTER WAS SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT IN A LEFT HAND TURN LANE, ALL OF THE DASH LIGHTS BEGAN TO FLASH. SHE THOUGHT IF SHE TURNED THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT, IT WOULD CLEAR. SHE COULD NOT RESTART THE CAR, THE HAZARD LIGHTS WOULD NOT TURN ON, THE BACK DOORS WOULD NOT UNLOCK , THE RADIO COULD NOT BE TURNED OFF AND IT WAS PITCH DARK. THANK GOD, A MAN WITH A FAMILY PUSHED HER CAR TO OUT OF THE LEFT HAND TURN LANE AND INTO A GAS STATION PARKING LOT ACROSS THE STREET. UPON MY HUSBAND AND MY ARRIVAL, WE COULD NOT OPEN THE TRUNK EITHER TO ALLOW THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER ACCESS TO THE TOW HOOK. WE LEASED THIS CAR DUE TO ITS SAFETY FEATURES OF OUR COLLEGE AGE DAUGHTER. HAZARD LIGHTS SHOULD WORK REGARDLESS OF WHAT'S GOING ON WITH THE VEHICLE. HAD SOMEONE REARED ENDED THE VEHICLE DUE TO NO HAZARD LIGHTS, PASSENGERS IN THE BACK WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE. OR IF IT HAD CAUGHT FIRE TO ONLY WAY TO EXIT WOULD BE THROUGH THE TWO FRONT DOORS. WE WERE TOLD BY THE VW DEALER THAT IT WAS A CONTROLLER THAT WENT OUT AND THAT HE HAS NEVER HEARD THIS HAPPENING BEFORE. I'M WRITING TO VW TO LET THEM KNOW THAT IF THIS IS TRUE FOR ALL VW PRODUCTS, IT IS A DESIGN FLAW THAT JEOPARDIZES EVERYONE THAT BUYS OR LEASES ONE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

11/15/2013 - EASTON, PA
WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK ONE MORNING WHILE IN THE MIDDLE OF MY DRIVE GOING 60MPH MY DIESEL GLOW PLUG LIGHT STARTED TO BLINK AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ALONG WITH LOSS OF POWER TO MY VEHICLE. HAD TO MANAGE TO AVOID TRAFFIC AND PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND FIGURE OUT WHAT WAS WRONG. ULTIMATELY HAD CAR TOWED TO VW DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED CAR FROM . THEY LOOKED OVER THE CAR, TEST DROVE IT AND STATED THEY DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT AND RESET THE MIL AND I WAS ON MY WAY. THE NEXT DAY ON MY WAY TO WORK AGAIN , GLOW PLUG LIGHT STARTS TO BLINK ALONG WITH CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND LOSS OF POWER TO MY VEHICLE. HAVE CAR TAKEN BACK AGAIN AND THIS TIME THEY STATE IT WAS A BAD FUEL PUMP OVER THE FUEL TANK AND REPLACE IT AND RESET THE MIL AND GOT MY CAR BACK. THAT SAME DAY ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK THE LIGHTS COME ON AGAIN FOR A THIRD TIME WITH LOSS OF POWER TO MY VEHICLE. TAKE CAR BACK AND THIS TIME THEY REPLACE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. HAVEN'T HAD ANY ISSUES WITH IT SINCE BUT I SUSPECT THIS IS SOMETHING THAT IS OCCURRING IN ALOT OF VW'S FROM THIS YEAR AND FELT THE NEED TO REPORT IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL

10/30/2013 - MILFORD, NJ
THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND DESTROYED THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM OF THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds