Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 240 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (29)
Communications (5) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (24) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (65) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (8) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (44) Fuel System Diesel (22) Service Brakes (13) Tires (8) Wheels (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/6/2016 - OREGON, WI
KEY GETS STUCK IN IGNITION WHEN TURNING OFF THE ENGINE. THE KEY WILL NOT GO INTO THE BACK (OFF) POSITION, SO THE CAR REMAINS RUNNING. THIS IS APPARENTLY A KNOWN PROBLEM ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP, SO IT SHOULD BE A COVERED REPAIR UNDER A RECALL. THIS IS NOT AN INEXPENSIVE FIX.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/21/2016 - CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEFT FOOT, LEFT KNEE, AND LEFT ARM. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE CHEST, ARMS, AND LEFT LEG THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V483000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/20/2016 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
I WAS TURNING A BLIND 90 DEGREE CORNER ON MY PRIVATE ROAD GOING APPROX. 10-15 MILES PER HOUR WHEN I COLLIDED WITH MY ROOMMATE WHO WAS RETURNING HOME. UNFORTUNATELY WE WERE AT THE SAME PLACE AT THE SAME TIME AND COULDN'T SEE EACH OTHER. MY AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND WHEN THEY DID, THE DRIVER'S AIRBAG COVER (WHERE THE VW LOGO IS) ON THE CENTER STEERING COLUMN, FLAPPED OPEN AND OVER ONTO MY LEFT FOREARM LIKE A SUPER HOT BRANDING IRON. THE VW LOGO BOTH SEARED INTO AND CUT INTO MY ARM. I WILL MOST LIKELY BE SCARRED FOR LIFE. I FEEL THAT THIS METAL VW LOGO IN THE CENTER OF THE STEERING WHEEL IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/20/2016 - SUNDERLAND, MD
KEY GETS STUCK IN IGNITION WHEN TURNING OFF THE ENGINE. (CAR IN PARK, STATIONARY.) MUST TURN KEY BACK AND FORTH SEVERAL TIMES TO REMOVE. ONGOING SINCE EARLY AUGUST.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/9/2016 - VILLANOVA, PA
MY KEY KEEPS GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITION. IT WON'T TURN AT ALL. I HAD TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP, AND EVEN THEY HAD TROUBLE TURNING IF OFF. THEN THEY COULDN'T TURN IT BACK ON. LUCKILY I HAD JUST GOTTEN HOME FROM WORK, SO I WASN'T STUCK ANYWHERE. APPARENTLY THIS IS NOT A NEW ISSUE, AND IT'S QUITE RIDICULOUS THAT I'M NOW GOING TO HAVE TO SPEND $500 TO REPLACE A PART THAT VW SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR. MY CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/8/2016 - NOLENSVILLE, TN
KEY GETS STUCK IN IGNITION WHEN TURNING OFF THE ENGINE. WHEN I ARRIVE AT A DESTINATION, I PUT THE CAR INTO PARK AND THEN TRY TO REMOVE THE KEY AND IT WON'T COME OUT. I HAVE TO JIGGLE THE KEY AND MANEUVER IT FOR SEVERAL MINUTES UNTIL IT COMES OUT. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND ANNOYING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/3/2016 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
SOMETIMES THE KEY WILL NOT TURN ON. IT GOES IN, BUT WILL NOT TURN. IT SEEMS TO BE WHEN THE WEATHER IS WARMER. ALSO, SOMETIMES IT TAKES SEVERAL MINUTES TO TURN THE KEY OFF. WHEN THAT HAPPENS, I JUST SIT THERE TRYING, WHILE THE CAR CONTINUES TO RUN. I HEAR IT'S $550-750 TO HAVE THIS REPAIRED, BUT IS VERY COMMON BASED ON WHAT I'M FINDING ONLINE. IT STARTED HAPPENING IN APRIL 2014. IT'S RIDICULOUS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/2/2016 - LONGWOOD, FL
WHEN TURNING OFF THE IGNITION, THE KEY REMAINS IN THE ON POSITION, NOT ALLOWING ME TO TURN OFF THE ENGINE AND REMOVE THE KEY. THE KEY IS STUCK IN THE IGNITION. THIS HAS HAPPENED OVER 100 TIMES, THE LOCAL DEALER SAYS IT IS NOT THEIR ISSUE AND WILL COST ME $550 TO REPLACE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2016 - BURKBURNETT, TX
KEY GOT STUCK IN THE IGNITION WITH MOTOR RUNNING. COULD NOT TURN TO "OFF" POSITION. ALTHOUGH I COULD KILL THE MOTOR BY RELEASING THE CLUTCH (MANUAL TRANSMISSION), I STILL COULD NOT TURN THE KEY OFF AND, THEREFORE, WOULD HAVE TO JUST LET THE BATTERY DIE AFTER MANY HOURS OF SITTING THERE WITH THE KEY ON. I COULD NOT LEAVE THE VEHICLE UNATTENDED AS ANYONE COULD HAVE GOTTEN IN, STARTED IT RIGHT UP, AND LEFT WITH IT. DID A GOOGLE SEARCH AND FOUND THAT OPINION PLACED THE BLAME ON A FAULTY IGNITION SWITCH. ALSO DISCOVERED MANY OTHERS WITH THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM WHO HAD TO HAVE THEIR IGNITION SWITCHES REPLACED, SO THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH VOLKSWAGEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/18/2016 - BEAVERCREEK, OH
THE KEY IS STUCK IN THE "ON" POSITION IN THE IGNITION WITH THE CAR RUNNING. THE KEY WILL NOT PHYSICALLY MOVE FROM THE "ON" TO "OFF" POSITION TO TURN THE CAR OFF. AFTER LOOKING THIS UP IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS TYPE OF VW. THE CAR IS ABLE TO SHIFT BETWEEN PARK, DRIVE, AND NEUTRAL. WHEN PUTTING THE CAR IN PARK TO TURN THE VEHICLE OFF THE KEY DOESN'T BUDGE

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds