Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 223 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (22) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (55) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (41) Fuel System Diesel (22) Service Brakes (12) Tires (8) Wheels (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/8/2016 - JAMESTOWN, NC
CAR'S FUSE # 6 KEEPS BLOWING WHICH CONTROLS THE BACK LIGHTS THAT TURNS ON AT NIGHT, WHEN FUSE BLOWS LIGHTS ON BACK GO OUT AND CARS BEHIND YOU CAN'T SEE YOU AND MAY CAUSE A COLLISION WHERE SERIOUS INJURY AND DEATH MAY RESULT. I THINK THIS AN ENGINEERING FLAW WHERE THEY CONNECTED THE BACK LIGHTS TO OTHER MODULES IN THE CAR, SO THE SHORT REMAINS AND CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT FUSE KEEPS BLOWING EVERY TIME YOU PUT A NEW ONE IN VW IS NOT WILLING TO LOOK AT THE PROBLEM AND GIVE ME A SOLUTION, THE SHORT IS NOT IN ANY OF THE LIGHTS ON THE BACK OF THE CAR, OR INSIDE THE CAR, VW IS REFUSING TO GIVE ME THE SCHEMATIC DIAGRAM FOR THAT CIRCUIT SO WE CAN TRACE THE PROBLEM, THEY INSIST ON TAKING IT TO THE DEALER WHERE IT IS GOING TO BE A VERY EXPENSIVE FIX TO TRACK DOWN THE SHORT WHERE IT IS AN ENGINEERING FLAW. ALSO THE AIR BAGS WARNING LIGHTS COME ON INTERMITTENTLY, AND SEAT BELTS WARNING LIGHTS COME ON AND START CHIMING WHILE YOU HAVE SEAT BELTS ON AND PROPERLY FASTENED, DO NOT KNOW IF SEAT BELT OR AIRBAGS ARE DEFECTIVE WHICH IS VERY UNSAFE IN MY OPINION, AND VW REFUSES TO LOOK AT MY PROBLEM WITHOUT A HEFTY DEALER CHARGE. PLEASE HELP

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/8/2016 - JAMESTOWN, NC
CAR'S FUSE # 6 KEEPS BLOWING WHICH CONTROLS THE BACK LIGHTS THAT TURNS ON AT NIGHT, WHEN FUSE BLOWS LIGHTS ON BACK GO OUT AND CARS BEHIND YOU CAN'T SEE YOU AND MAY CAUSE A COLLISION WHERE SERIOUS INJURY AND DEATH MAY RESULT. I THINK THIS AN ENGINEERING FLAW WHERE THEY CONNECTED THE BACK LIGHTS TO OTHER MODULES IN THE CAR, SO THE SHORT REMAINS AND CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT FUSE KEEPS BLOWING EVERY TIME YOU PUT A NEW ONE IN VW IS NOT WILLING TO LOOK AT THE PROBLEM AND GIVE ME A SOLUTION, THE SHORT IS NOT IN ANY OF THE LIGHTS ON THE BACK OF THE CAR, OR INSIDE THE CAR, VW IS REFUSING TO GIVE ME THE SCHEMATIC DIAGRAM FOR THAT CIRCUIT SO WE CAN TRACE THE PROBLEM, THEY INSIST ON TAKING IT TO THE DEALER WHERE IT IS GOING TO BE A VERY EXPENSIVE FIX TO TRACK DOWN THE SHORT WHERE IT IS AN ENGINEERING FLAW. ALSO THE AIR BAGS WARNING LIGHTS COME ON INTERMITTENTLY, AND SEAT BELTS WARNING LIGHTS COME ON AND START CHIMING WHILE YOU HAVE SEAT BELTS ON AND PROPERLY FASTENED, DO NOT KNOW IF SEAT BELT OR AIRBAGS ARE DEFECTIVE WHICH IS VERY UNSAFE IN MY OPINION, AND VW REFUSES TO LOOK AT MY PROBLEM WITHOUT A HEFTY DEALER CHARGE. PLEASE HELP

View Details

ENGINE

4/17/2016 - HOWARDS GROVE, WI
HAD CAR IN FOR NEW TIRES AND AFTER I LEFT THE MILEAGE WENT FROM MID 40S TO MID 30S, NO ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT, NO PARTICAL FILTER LIGHT, RETURNED TO DEALER AND DIDN'T OFFER TO CHECK IT. 24,000 MILES. IS THIS SOMETHING TO DO WITH DIESELGATE?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/17/2016 - HOWARDS GROVE, WI
HAD CAR IN FOR NEW TIRES AND AFTER I LEFT THE MILEAGE WENT FROM MID 40S TO MID 30S, NO ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT, NO PARTICAL FILTER LIGHT, RETURNED TO DEALER AND DIDN'T OFFER TO CHECK IT. 24,000 MILES. IS THIS SOMETHING TO DO WITH DIESELGATE?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/13/2016 - CORTARO, AZ
ON AN AFTERNOON IN EARLY FEBRUARY 2016, MY 2012 VW JETTA TDI WENT INTO 'LIMP' MODE AFTER STARTING IT AND DRIVING FOR LESS THAN TWO MINUTES OUT OF MY WORKPLACE PARKING LOT. I WAS BARELY ABLE TO GET IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND STOP, WHEN IT DIED COMPLETELY AND WOULD NOT START AGAIN. THE GLOW PLUG DASH LIGHT CAME ON. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY AND THEY DIAGNOSED THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP (HPFP) HAD FAILED, BLOWING ,METAL SHARDS THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM. THEY PERFORMED A DIESEL FUEL TEST, WHICH 'PASSED', SO ALL REPAIRS WERE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE CAR HAD 53,000 MILES ON IT AT THAT POINT. PARTS ALONE WOULD HAVE COST NEARLY $4000, AND I WAS NOT SHOWN WHAT THE LABOR COSTS WOULD HAVE BEEN! I THEN DISCOVERED THAT THIS IS A 'KNOWN' ISSUE BUT NOT UNDER RECALL, ONLY AN EXTENDED WARRANTY PERIOD. HAVING THE COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER THAT LIMP MODE RESULTED IN, AND BEING STRANDED FOR HOURS WAITING FOR A TOW, MADE ME RECONSIDER MY PURCHASE DECISION FOR THIS VEHICLE. I AM VERY GLAD I WAS NOT ON THE FREEWAY, AS THE FAILURE COULD HAVE BEEN DEADLY IN THAT DRIVING ENVIRONMENT. WITH THE CURRENT DIESEL EMISSIONS SCANDAL ONGOING, I AM 'STUCK' WITH THIS VEHICLE, UNLESS I WANT TO TAKE A DRASTIC HIT ON PRIVATE RESALE VALUE; NO ONE WILL TAKE IT IN TRADE. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM THAT NEEDS BETTER RESOLUTION.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/13/2016 - PENSACOLA, FL
MY FIRST CONCERN IS THE SEAT BELT WARNING LIGHT WILL NOT STOP MAKING AN ALARM NOISE. MY SEAT BELT IS PLUGGED IN, AND THE ALARM WILL NOT STOP AND THE DASHBOARD VIEWS IT AS UN PLUGGED AS WELL. CLEARLY, IT WAS PLUGGED IN. I TRIED TO TAKE IT OUT, INSERTING IT BACK IN SLOW AND FAST. NEITHER WAS ACKNOWLEDGED BY THE SYSTEM. AM I EVEN SAFE??? SECOND, THERE IS SOME SORT OF DELAY WHILE DRIVING. I JUST PURCHASED THE CAR IN DECEMBER 2015. IN MARCH 2016, THE CAR HAS SOME SORT OF DELAY WHILE I'M DRIVING. NOT DURING DECELERATION OR ACCELERATION. BUT IN THE 40 -50 MPH RANGE. I REALIZE, MAYBE IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE TURBO INJECTION. IT HAS STARTED HAPPENING AGAIN SPORADICALLY A MONTH LATER.... ??? PLEASE HELP WITH CLARITY ON THIS ISSUE. IS THERE FUEL INJECTION ISSUES WITH TDI? OKW

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/13/2016 - PENSACOLA, FL
MY FIRST CONCERN IS THE SEAT BELT WARNING LIGHT WILL NOT STOP MAKING AN ALARM NOISE. MY SEAT BELT IS PLUGGED IN, AND THE ALARM WILL NOT STOP AND THE DASHBOARD VIEWS IT AS UN PLUGGED AS WELL. CLEARLY, IT WAS PLUGGED IN. I TRIED TO TAKE IT OUT, INSERTING IT BACK IN SLOW AND FAST. NEITHER WAS ACKNOWLEDGED BY THE SYSTEM. AM I EVEN SAFE??? SECOND, THERE IS SOME SORT OF DELAY WHILE DRIVING. I JUST PURCHASED THE CAR IN DECEMBER 2015. IN MARCH 2016, THE CAR HAS SOME SORT OF DELAY WHILE I'M DRIVING. NOT DURING DECELERATION OR ACCELERATION. BUT IN THE 40 -50 MPH RANGE. I REALIZE, MAYBE IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE TURBO INJECTION. IT HAS STARTED HAPPENING AGAIN SPORADICALLY A MONTH LATER.... ??? PLEASE HELP WITH CLARITY ON THIS ISSUE. IS THERE FUEL INJECTION ISSUES WITH TDI? OKW

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2016 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO REMAIN IN POSITION AND THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE MOVED TO THE OPPOSITE POSITION WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL WAS TURNED. THE CONTACT VEERED TO THE LEFT AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE DIVIDER. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED NECK AND SHOULDER INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED FROM THE CRASH SCENE AND WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V656000 (SUSPENSION). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/17/2016 - GOSHEN, NY
DRIVER SIDE BULB KEEPS BURNING OUT. WAS REPLACED BY DEALER WITH OEM PARTS, BUT IT KEEPS BURNING OUT EVERY MONTH. THE DAYLIGHT RUNNING LIGHT ON THE DRIVER SIDE DOES NOT WORK. THEY KEEP REPLACING IT AND IT KEEPS BURNING OUT. I SEE MANY OTHER JETTA'S LIKE MINE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM ON THE ROAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/17/2016 - GOSHEN, NY
DRIVER SIDE BULB KEEPS BURNING OUT. WAS REPLACED BY DEALER WITH OEM PARTS, BUT IT KEEPS BURNING OUT EVERY MONTH. THE DAYLIGHT RUNNING LIGHT ON THE DRIVER SIDE DOES NOT WORK. THEY KEEP REPLACING IT AND IT KEEPS BURNING OUT. I SEE MANY OTHER JETTA'S LIKE MINE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM ON THE ROAD.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds