Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 122 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (15) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (30) Fuel System Diesel (17) Service Brakes (7) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/31/2014 - CHESTERTON, IN
I WENT TO PASSENGER SIDE OF PARKED VEHICLE, OPENED DOOR, AND ADJUSTED SEAT POSITION BACKWARDS SLIGHTLY. THE NEXT MORNING I STARTED CAR AND AFTER SEVERAL MILES OF DRIVING , THE SOLID (NON-BLINKING) AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON. I CALLED 2 DEALERS IN AREA WHO TOLD ME TO BRING IT IN IMMEDIATELY FOR A $900 TO $1000 REPAIR. I HAD FAULT DIAGNOSED BY PROFESSIONAL AS A PASSENGER SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG FAULT TO THE IGNITER - SHORT TO GROUND. I WILL NOT PAY FOR THIS REPAIR WHICH IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECTIVE PART THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED. MY AIRBAG SYSTEM IS NOW DEACTIVATED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/29/2014 - LIVERMORE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE REDUCED IN SPEED AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILED AS A RESULT THE FUEL PUMP AND THE FUEL SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/2/2014 - PALM BEACH GARDENS, FL
MY CAR HAS APROX 39K MILES. HEARING A METALLIC GRINDING SOUND IN MY ENGINE WHILE DRIVING. TOOK IT TO A VW DEALER. THEY TOLD ME IT'S A HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILURE AND THAT NOT TO DRIVE IT AS IS. 1 WEEK LATER, PICKED UP MY "REPAIRED" CAR TO ONLY HAVE A HOWLING SOUND COMING FROM ENGINE WITHIN 1 HOUR OF PICKING IT UP. BROUGHT THE CAR BACK NEXT DAY AND WAS TOLD IT'S THE AUXILLARY FUEL PUMP FAILING. THAT WAS REPLACED. PICKED UP MY CAR YESTERDAY AND TODAY I HAVE A HIGH PITCHED HOWLING SOUND AGAIN FROM THE SAME PART OF MY ENGINE. RETURNING THE CAR AGAIN TO VW TOMORROW. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE MY CAR. APPARENTLY THIS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH VW TDI HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMPS. CAR CAN DIE ON ME ANY TIME. SO FAR REPAIRS COVERED UNDER POWER TRAIN WARRANTY. THIS IS LOOKING LIKE A LEMON TO ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/30/2014 - PURCHASE, NY
THE CLOCK SPRING IN THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED. ALSO REFERRED TO AS THE STEERING COLUMN ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE. THE FAILURE ILLUMINATED THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT AND ALL THE STEERING WHEEL SWITCHES AND HORN STOPPED WORKING. IT WAS JUST OVER THE 50,000 MI WARRANTY SO DEALER WOULD NOT REPAIR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/24/2014 - LEMON GROVE , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, AN UNUSUAL NOISE AND VIBRATION EMITTED OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHENEVER THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS ENGAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THERE WAS A RECALL RELATED TO THE FAILURE UNDER THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 11V490000 (FUEL SYSTEM, DIESEL) HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/19/2014 - ALTO, GA
ENGINE LIGHT AND ECM (ENGINE CONTROL MALFUNCTION) LIGHT BOTH COME ON. HAVE TAKEN THIS NEW CAR IN 6 TIMES IN 2 YEARS, AND THE LIGHTS ARE ON, YET AGAIN. AFTER VW REPLACED SENSORS (FOUR TIMES), AND WIRING (MODULE), AND HARNESS....ALL UNDER WARRANTY, THIS IS STILL A PROBLEM. AND I DO NOT KNOW IF IT IS A SAFETY DEFECT OR NOT. I WANT TO KNOW THAT BEFORE A CRASH, FIRE, OR FATALITY HAPPENS. PLEASE....IF THIS IS HAPPENING TO YOUR VEHICLE, MAKE IT KNOWN TO THIS SITE. THANKS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/19/2014 - ALTO, GA
ENGINE LIGHT AND ECM (ENGINE CONTROL MALFUNCTION) LIGHT BOTH COME ON. HAVE TAKEN THIS NEW CAR IN 6 TIMES IN 2 YEARS, AND THE LIGHTS ARE ON, YET AGAIN. AFTER VW REPLACED SENSORS (FOUR TIMES), AND WIRING (MODULE), AND HARNESS....ALL UNDER WARRANTY, THIS IS STILL A PROBLEM. AND I DO NOT KNOW IF IT IS A SAFETY DEFECT OR NOT. I WANT TO KNOW THAT BEFORE A CRASH, FIRE, OR FATALITY HAPPENS. PLEASE....IF THIS IS HAPPENING TO YOUR VEHICLE, MAKE IT KNOWN TO THIS SITE. THANKS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/19/2014 - ALTO, GA
ENGINE LIGHT AND ECM (ENGINE CONTROL MALFUNCTION) LIGHT BOTH COME ON. HAVE TAKEN THIS NEW CAR IN 6 TIMES IN 2 YEARS, AND THE LIGHTS ARE ON, YET AGAIN. AFTER VW REPLACED SENSORS (FOUR TIMES), AND WIRING (MODULE), AND HARNESS....ALL UNDER WARRANTY, THIS IS STILL A PROBLEM. AND I DO NOT KNOW IF IT IS A SAFETY DEFECT OR NOT. I WANT TO KNOW THAT BEFORE A CRASH, FIRE, OR FATALITY HAPPENS. PLEASE....IF THIS IS HAPPENING TO YOUR VEHICLE, MAKE IT KNOWN TO THIS SITE. THANKS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/20/2014 - FREMONT, CA
MIDNIGHT, DRIVING BACK FROM A FRIENDS HOUSE. MY 16 MONTH OLD (OR RATHER NEW) JETTA SE 2012, SHAKES UP WHEN I TURN ON IGNITION. I GIVE IT 2-3 SECONDS TO CALM DOWN. IT DOESN'T. INSTEAD, THE EPC LIGHT GOES ON. THEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. HMM... WEIRD. THOSE WEREN'T ON LIKE 2 HOURS BACK, OR EVER INFACT. BEING THE SMART TECHIE THAT I AM, I TRY THE HIGHLY TECHNICAL SOLUTION TO ANY PROBLEM THAT I DON'T QUITE UNDERSTAND - I TRY TO TURN IT OFF AND ON AGAIN. THE SAME GOD AWFUL SHAKING AND STUTTERING. BUT NO EPC LIGHT. I THINK TO MYSELF, MAYBE THIS IS JUST A TRANSIENT THING. TRY TO PULL OUT OF THE PARKING SPACE, AND THERE IT IS ... THE [XXX] EPC AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. BUT MY HOME'S ONLY A MILE AWAY, MAYBE THINGS GET BETTER ON THE WAY THERE. YOU KNOW, ITS A NEW CAR (BOUGHT 16 MONTHS BACK, BRAND NEW, AND HAS ~7600 MILES ON IT). BUT NO, AS I TRY TO "DRIVE" THE PIECE OF [XXX], IT STARTS SHAKING MORE VIOLENTLY WHEN I GET TO 25 MILES AND HOUR. SO, I PULL OVER, AND A QUICK GOOGLE SEARCH TELLS ME TO STAY BELOW 20 MPH AND GET IT TO A DEALER ASAP. SO I GET THE CAR TOWED, AND THE NEXT DAY THE DEALER TELLS ME ITS A FAULTY IGNITION COIL THAT HAS BEEN REPLACED AND TESTED AND THINGS SHOULD JUST WORK. BUT I'M SCARED TO GET IN THAT CAR AGAIN. WHAT IF THIS WOULD'VE HAPPENED FARTHER AWAY FROM MY HOUSE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/20/2014 - FREMONT, CA
MIDNIGHT, DRIVING BACK FROM A FRIENDS HOUSE. MY 16 MONTH OLD (OR RATHER NEW) JETTA SE 2012, SHAKES UP WHEN I TURN ON IGNITION. I GIVE IT 2-3 SECONDS TO CALM DOWN. IT DOESN'T. INSTEAD, THE EPC LIGHT GOES ON. THEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. HMM... WEIRD. THOSE WEREN'T ON LIKE 2 HOURS BACK, OR EVER INFACT. BEING THE SMART TECHIE THAT I AM, I TRY THE HIGHLY TECHNICAL SOLUTION TO ANY PROBLEM THAT I DON'T QUITE UNDERSTAND - I TRY TO TURN IT OFF AND ON AGAIN. THE SAME GOD AWFUL SHAKING AND STUTTERING. BUT NO EPC LIGHT. I THINK TO MYSELF, MAYBE THIS IS JUST A TRANSIENT THING. TRY TO PULL OUT OF THE PARKING SPACE, AND THERE IT IS ... THE [XXX] EPC AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. BUT MY HOME'S ONLY A MILE AWAY, MAYBE THINGS GET BETTER ON THE WAY THERE. YOU KNOW, ITS A NEW CAR (BOUGHT 16 MONTHS BACK, BRAND NEW, AND HAS ~7600 MILES ON IT). BUT NO, AS I TRY TO "DRIVE" THE PIECE OF [XXX], IT STARTS SHAKING MORE VIOLENTLY WHEN I GET TO 25 MILES AND HOUR. SO, I PULL OVER, AND A QUICK GOOGLE SEARCH TELLS ME TO STAY BELOW 20 MPH AND GET IT TO A DEALER ASAP. SO I GET THE CAR TOWED, AND THE NEXT DAY THE DEALER TELLS ME ITS A FAULTY IGNITION COIL THAT HAS BEEN REPLACED AND TESTED AND THINGS SHOULD JUST WORK. BUT I'M SCARED TO GET IN THAT CAR AGAIN. WHAT IF THIS WOULD'VE HAPPENED FARTHER AWAY FROM MY HOUSE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds