Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 208 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (17)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (22) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (49) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (41) Fuel System Diesel (22) Service Brakes (12) Tires (8) Wheels (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/17/2016 - GOSHEN, NY
DRIVER SIDE BULB KEEPS BURNING OUT. WAS REPLACED BY DEALER WITH OEM PARTS, BUT IT KEEPS BURNING OUT EVERY MONTH. THE DAYLIGHT RUNNING LIGHT ON THE DRIVER SIDE DOES NOT WORK. THEY KEEP REPLACING IT AND IT KEEPS BURNING OUT. I SEE MANY OTHER JETTA'S LIKE MINE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM ON THE ROAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/17/2016 - GOSHEN, NY
DRIVER SIDE BULB KEEPS BURNING OUT. WAS REPLACED BY DEALER WITH OEM PARTS, BUT IT KEEPS BURNING OUT EVERY MONTH. THE DAYLIGHT RUNNING LIGHT ON THE DRIVER SIDE DOES NOT WORK. THEY KEEP REPLACING IT AND IT KEEPS BURNING OUT. I SEE MANY OTHER JETTA'S LIKE MINE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM ON THE ROAD.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/17/2016 - JOHNSTON, RI
MY HEADLIGHTS KEEP BURNING OUT. I REPLACED THEM 4 TIMES IN THE LAST TWO MONTHS! THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BULB HARNESSES. THERE WAS A POINT WHERE BOTH HEADLIGHTS BURNED OUT AT THE SAME TIME AND I HAD NO LIGHTS! I DID RESEARCH ON THIS MATTER TO FIND MANY JETTA OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE THESE BULBS ARE NOT CHEAP TO KEEP REPLACING THEM EVERY COUPLE OF MONTHS, AND THE SAFETY ISSUE HAS TO BE CONSIDERED HERE. I WAS PARKED THANK GOD O NOTICED NO LIGHTS BEFORE O DROVE. IF WHERE I LIVED WAS LIT UP I NEVER WOULD HAVE NOTICED BOTH MY BULBS WERE BURNT OUT!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/7/2016 - OWINGS MILLS, MD
FOR OVER A YEAR, MY CAR WAS HAVING HESITATION ISSUES. I KEPT CALLING MY DEALER AND GOING IN FOR REGULAR SERVICE. AT ONE POINT, MY CAR STARTED BUT THEN TURNED OFF TWO TIMES. I KEPT GETTING DIFFERENT STORIES..."UNABLE TO REPLICATE", "A FAULTY VALVE, CODE P2004." ON MY WAY TO WORK 2/23/16, MY CAR LOST POWER ON ACCELERATION. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND THE COIL (TDI) LIGHT CAME ON. I PULLED OVER AND TURNED OFF THE CAR AND WAITED. THEN STARTED THE CAR AGAIN, BEGAN DRIVING, AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN. I CALLED THE TOW TRUCK. DEALER SERVICE MANAGER (FITZGERALD - ANDREW) GAVE ME THE RUN AROUND -- TELLING ME THAT I PUT CONTAMINATED FUEL IN MY CAR. I CALLED SUNOCO AND MY, GEICO, IMMEDIATELY. THE MOST UPSETTING PART OF ALL OF THIS WAS HOW ANDREW APPROACHED THE PROBLEM, EXAGGERATED MY INVOLVEMENT IN IT AND ARROGANTLY USED HIS POSITION TO SHOW BLAME TO ME -- NEVER EXPLAINING THIS IS AN EXTENDED RECALL AND WHY! I AM NOW GETTING MY FUEL PUMP FIXED UNDER THE WARRANTY. BUT.... THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL NOW. I KNOW THAT THIS PROBLEM WAS ON-GOING FOR ME FOR A WHOLE YEAR, AND I BELIEVE THAT IT HAS DAMAGED MY CAR, AND I CANNOT PROVE THIS. PLEASE SAVE OTHER OWNERS AND RECALL THIS PART.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/2/2016 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V656000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE DEALER STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED TO PERFORM THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/25/2016 - SILVERTHORNE, CO
WHEN THE WEATHER IS COLD (BELOW FREEZING), WHILE DRIVING, AFTER SITTING OUTSIDE OVERNIGHT, OR IN SNOWY CONDITIONS, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FREEZE AND DO NOT WORK UNTIL THE WEATHER WARMS UP, OR THE VEHICLE IS PARKED IN A GARAGE. I LIVE IN THE MOUNTAINS OF COLORADO AND THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING ISSUE DURING COLD AND SNOWY WEATHER. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AS THE ROADWAY IS NO LONGER VISIBLE BECAUSE THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS NO LONGER WORK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/9/2016 - FAIRFAX, VA
AFTER OPENING THE TRUNK ON DRIVE WAY, THE TRUNK LID FELL FREELY AND HIT MY WIFE'S FOREHEAD (VERY CLOSE TO HER EYES).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/22/2016 - EL DORADO HILLS, CA
AFTER DRIVING AND ARRIVING AT DESTINATION, CANNOT TURN THE CAR OFF, NOR GET THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION. SOMETIMES IT TAKES 15 MINUTES OF TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL AND TRYING TO TURN THE KEY OVER AND OVER WHEN THE KEY WILL FINALLY TURN AND THE CAR WILL TURN OFF. THEY KEY FEELS STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND THE CAR WILL NOT TURN OFF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/12/2016 - KATY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN AND SECURITY SYSTEM DID NOT FUNCTION WHEN ATTEMPTING TO LOCK THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO REPLACE THE SPARKS PLUGS ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,868.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/6/2016 - WOODSTOCK, NY
PURCHASED CERTIFIED PREOWNED IN MAY. 2ND TIME WHEN IT IS COLD OUT THAT WIPERS WILL NOT TURN ON. THE 1ST TIME THIS HAPPENED IN OCTOBER, IT TOOK OVER 5 MINUTES OF DRIVING THE CAR WITH DEFROSTER ON HIGH FOR THEM TO START WORKING I CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT IT HAD BEEN COLD THAT MORNING AND THE WIPERS WERE PROBABLY FROZEN TO THE WINDOW, EVEN AFTER I TOLD THEM I HAD LET THE CAR WARM UP FOR 10 MINUTES. THE 2ND TIME WAS THIS MORNING, I LET THE CAR WARM UP FOR 15 MINUTES SINCE IT WAS ABOUT 5 DEGREES OUT AND EVEN AFTER DRIVING THE CAR FOR 1 HOUR, THE WIPERS STILL WOULD NOT TURN ON. I CALLED THE DEALER, MADE AN APPT TO BRING IN THAT DAY AND THE WIPERS STARTED WORKING AROUND NOONTIME. WHEN I WENT TO THE DEALER, I WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD LOOK AT IT, HOWEVER, IF THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING AND THERE WAS A GOOD CHANCE THAT THEY WOULDN'T SINCE IT DID NOT MAKE SENSE THAT THEY WOULD JUST START WORKING THAT THERE WOULD BE A CHARGE OF $105.00 PER HOUR IF IT TURNED OUT TO BE NOT COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY. I HAVE FOUND SEVERAL COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS SAME ISSUE ON LINE, I THINK IT IS TIME FOR A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds