Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 196 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (22) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (43) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (7) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (32) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (40) Fuel System Diesel (22) Service Brakes (11) Tires (7) Wheels (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/15/2015 - COLUMBIA FALLS, MT
DRIVING HOME AT NIGHT, BOTH LOWBEAM HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. THE DAYTIME RUNNING LAMPS STILL WORKED AS DID THE HIGH BEAMS. I REPLACED ONE OF THE HEADLIGHTS WITH A NEW BULD, AND IT STILL DID NOT WORK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/15/2015 - ENCINITAS, CA
STARTING AS THE WARRANTY EXPIRED AT 40K MILES, MY HORN BECAME INTERMITTENT. IT WOULD WORK FINE FOR A WHILE, THEN COMPLETELY STOP FOR A PERIOD; SOMETIMES A WEEK OR SO. BUT AS TIME PROGRESSED, IT WAS NOT WORKING MORE THAN WORKING. BY 50K MILES IT NOT LONGER WORKED AND NOW AT 60K IT HASN'T WORKED FOR A LONG TIME. VERY DANGEROUS. DEALER SAID TWICE THEY WOULD TRY TO GET IT FIXED BUT NEVER CAME THROUGH. SO WITH MY DIESEL "GOOD WILL" PACKAGE, I WILL USE THE $500 CREDIT TO REPLACE MY HORN THAT THEY SHOULD HAVE REPLACED EARLIER. LOT'S OF PEOPLE ONLINE HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. I THINK IT'S PART OF THE 2011 RECALL FOR HORN AND ALARM SYSTEM PROBLEMS, DON'T THINK THEY CARRIED THROUGH WITH THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/11/2015 - ELBA, AL
I WAS DRIVING ON A COUNTY ROAD WHEN I BEGAN TO LOSE POWER. THERE WAS TRAFFIC BEHIND ME. MY CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE AND MAKE A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND AS IT COUNTINUED TO COAST. AS SOON AS I WAS ABLE TO BEGIN TO PULL TO THE SHOULDER, MY CAR COMPLETELY AND VIOLENTLY DIED. IT WOULD NOT RESTART, LEAVING ME STRANDED AND CAUSING UPCOMING TRAFFIC TO AVOID ME. THE DEALERSHIP STATES IT IS HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILURE. THE ANALYSIS OF FUEL SHOWS A LUBRICITY FAILURE, WHICH THE DEALERSHIP STATED WAS DUE TO METAL SHAVINGS. IT WAS NEGATIVE FOR GASOLINE AND HAS NOT BEEN MIS-FUELED. THERE HAS BEEN MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THESE FAILURES, WHICH CAUSE THE METAL SHAVINGS TO CONTAMINATE THE FUEL SYSTEM. VW HAS EXTENDED COVERAGE TO THESE PUMPS, BUT DOES NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ONGOING FAILURES. "NOT PASSING THE LUBRICITY TEST" WHICH APPEARS TO BE CAUSED FROM THE PUMP FAILURE ITSELF, VOIDS THE EXTENDED COVERAGE, CAUSING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN REPAIRS.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

11/12/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, ANOTHER VEHICLE VEERED INTO THE CONTACT'S LANE. THE HORN MALFUNCTIONED AND FAILED TO ALERT THE OTHER PERSON. AS A RESULT, THE OTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/9/2015 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
BOTH OF THE LOW-BEAM HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AS I WAS DRIVING HOME ON A UNLIT HIGHWAY AT NIGHT. THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS WORKED WHEN I TURNED OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND THE HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHTS WORKED WHEN I TRIED USING THEM. THE NEXT MORNING I REPLACED BOTH LOW-BEAM HEADLIGHTS AND THEY STILL DO NOT WORK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/9/2015 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
BOTH OF THE LOW-BEAM HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AS I WAS DRIVING HOME ON A UNLIT HIGHWAY AT NIGHT. THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS WORKED WHEN I TURNED OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND THE HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHTS WORKED WHEN I TRIED USING THEM. THE NEXT MORNING I REPLACED BOTH LOW-BEAM HEADLIGHTS AND THEY STILL DO NOT WORK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/9/2015 - HUNTINGTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC POWER CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SLOW DOWN TO 35 MPH. THE FAILURE OCCURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 47,890.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/7/2015 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
REAR SEAT BELT HOUSINGS BROKEN, REAR SEAT CENTER LOCATION WHERE TWO HOUSINGS ARE CO-LOCATED. ONE OF THE TWO HOUSINGS DOES NOT LATCH THE BELT CLIP RENDERING THIS SEAT LOCATION USELESS AS THE OCCUPANT WILL NOT HAVE A WORKING SEAT BELT. USING A CALIPER THE HOUSING IN ONE AREA LOOKS TO MEASURE AT 40/1000 OF AN INCH THICK. LOOK AT ATTACHED PHOTOS FOR DAMAGE AND METHOD ON HOW DAMAGE OCCURS. WHEN THE SHORT SEAT IS DROPPED AND THE TWO SEAT BUCKLES ARE NOW LOCATED OVER UNDER THE LONGER SEAT BACK. THEY ARE EXPOSED TO A METAL BRACKET INSIDE THE LONGER SEAT BACK THAT IS VERY CLOSE TO THE SURFACE OF THE SEAT FABRIC. AS THE LONGER SEAT IS DROPPED THE METAL BRACKET LOCATED UNDER THE SURFACE OF THE FABRIC IN THE SEAT IN MY OPINION COMES IN CONTACT WITH THE BUCKLES AND HAS CAUSED THIS DAMAGE. THIS DAMAGE HAS EFFECTED THE SEAT BELTS FUNCTIONING CORRECTLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/29/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
THE HORN FAILED TWICE IN THE FIRST YEAR OF OWNERSHIP (LATE 2012) AND A THIRD TIME A LITTLE AFTER THREE YEARS. THE FIRST TIME, THE HORN SYSTEM WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY WITH A PART FROM ANOTHER VEHICLE AT THE DEALERSHIP. ABOUT TWO MONTHS LATER, IT WENT OUT. THE SECOND TIME THE HORN RELAY WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY USING NEW PARTS. THIS HORN FIX WORKED FOR 2013-LATE 2015. THIS THIRD TIME MOST LIKELY WILL NEED TO BE REPLACED AS WELL (AND LESS THAN A MONTH OUT OF WARRANTY). IN ALL INSTANCES, THE HORN BEGINS TO PRODUCE A MUTED/WEAK HONKING SOUND MOST NOTICEABLE WHEN LOCKING THE VEHICLE. THIS WILL HAPPEN FOR ABOUT A MONTH OR SO BEFORE IT FINALLY GOES OUT. PRESSING THE KEY (LOCKING & EMERGENCY ALERT BUTTON) OR THE CENTER OF THE STEERING WHEEL CONFIRMS THAT THE HORN IS INOPERABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2015 - LITHIA, FL
VEHICLE HAS 38,000 MILES, WE'RE THE ORIGINAL OWNER, HORN BECAME INTERMITTENT, THEN STOPPED WORKING. WE TOOK IT TO THE VW DEALER IN BRANDON, FL. THEY SAID THERE'S A RECALL ABOUT TO BE ANNOUNCED IN NOVEMBER THAT WILL COVER THE HORN, AND THE POTENTIAL FOR AN AIRBAG EARNING LIGHT. WE'RE LEFT WITH MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD WITH NOT HAVING A HORN. THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT WOULD COST OVER $2000.00 TO FIX, THEY WON'T HAVE THE PARTS UNTIL THE RECALL IS SENT. THIS CAN'T BE RIGHT AND FEEL WE'RE BEING PUT AT RISK WHILE THEY FIGURE OUT WHAT THEY WANT TO DO.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds