Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 327 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (61)
Communications (7) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (30) Steering (27) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (89) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (8) Structure (5) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seats (2) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine (56) Fuel System Diesel (22) Service Brakes (15) Tires (8) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/5/2018 - BERLIN, NJ
WINDSHIELD WIPERS DO NOT FUNCTION IN LOW TEMPERATURES. I OWN A 2012 VW JETTA. I FIRST NOTICED THIS DURING THE FIRST SNOWFALL WE HAD. I CLEARED THE VEHICLE OF ALL SNOW AND MADE SURE THAT THE WIPERS WERE NOT FROZEN TO THE WINDSCREEN. GETTING BACK IN THE VEHICLE I WENT TO TURN THE WIPERS ON AND THEY DID NOT MOVE. THE RELAY INSIDE OF THE CAR CAN BE HEARD CLICKING, BUT THE WIPERS DO NOT MOVE. I WAS FORCED TO DRIVE WITH EXTREMELY LOW VISIBILITY AS I WAS NOT ABLE TO CLEAR THE INCOMING SNOW OFF OF MY WINDSCREEN. WHEN I ARRIVED SAFELY BACK HOME I MOVED THE CAR TO A GARAGE IN ORDER TO SEE IF I COULD FIGURE OUT THE ISSUE. UPON BEING TURNED OFF AND STANDING IN THE GARAGE THE WIPERS BEGAN TO WORK AGAIN WHEN I TURNED THE VECHILE OVER. THE SAME THING HAS NOW HAPPENED 3 TIMES. TWO OF THESE INSTANCES OCCURRING WITHOUT ANY SNOWFALL, JUST LOW TEMPERATURES. THE RELAY CAN BE HEARD CLICKING BUT THE WIPERS DO NOT MOVE. THE FUSES ARE ALL IN THEIR PROPER POSITION AND ARE NOT BLOWN. THERE ARE A LARGE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT OTHER PEOPLE EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUES OF INOPERABLE WINDSHIELD WIPERS. THIS IS A SEVERE SAFETY CONCERN AS HAVING GOOD VISIBILITY IS ONE OF THE MOST CRUCIAL FACTORS IN PREVENTING ACCIDENTS. THE WIPERS USUALLY SEEM TO BECOME OPERATIONAL AGAIN ONCE THE VEHICLE IS WARMED IN THE SUN OR IF THE AMBIENT TEMPERATURE RISES ABOUT 30 OR SO DEGREES FAHRENHEIT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/18/2017 - RIVERDALE, GA
THE CAR RUNS GREAT FOR ABOUT 5-10 MILES AND THEN THE EPC LIGHT COMES ON AND THE CAR LOSES POWER AND RUNS AT IDLE SPEED. REPLACED NP 80 SENSOR AND EVAP CANISTER, CLEANED THROTTLE BODY AND IT STILL HAPPENS. CAR LUNGES FORWARD AT TIMES. I'LL PULL OVER, SHUT IT OFF AND THEN IT DRIVES FINE, THEN THE LIGHT COMES ON AGAIN. APPARENTLY THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING TO A LOT OF PEOPLE. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY JUST GAVE ME A BUNCH OF COSTLY REPAIR RECOMMENDATIONS BUT NO DEFINITIVE ANSWER.

View Details

SEATS

12/6/2017 - CLEARWATER, FL
AIRBAG, BRAKE, ABS LIGHTS ARE ON AND STAYS ON. 3 LOUD BEEPS WHEN TURNING ON THE CAR. RECEIVED RECALL NOTIFICATION BUT MY VIN DOES NOT SHOW RECALL WHEN LOOKED UP WHICH IS ALSO ALARMING. ACCORDING TO THE VW DEALER, THIS IS A FACTORY/ MANUFACTURER DEFECT (CHEAP PARTS FROM CHINA AND BAD INSTALLATION IS WHAT I TOLD) BUT THEY CANNOT FIX SINCE VIN IS NOT SHOWING UP IN THEIR SYSTEM. MY ENTIRE AIRBAG SYSTEM IS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN AS WELL AS BRAKE SYSTEM. I AM IN A PANIC!!! BUT DEALER WILL NOT FIX FACTORY DEFECT AND IS CHARGING $1700-$2200 TO FIX. THIS IS ALARMING AS WELL AS UNFAIR TO CONSUMERS!!! THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED!!! PEOPLE COULD DIE BECAUSE OF THIS. AND THIS IS NOT AN UNDERSTATEMENT! CORRECT YOUR YOUR RECALL AND VIN TRACKING SYSTEM AND FIX MY CAR! THANK YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/6/2017 - CLEARWATER, FL
AIRBAG, BRAKE, ABS LIGHTS ARE ON AND STAYS ON. 3 LOUD BEEPS WHEN TURNING ON THE CAR. RECEIVED RECALL NOTIFICATION BUT MY VIN DOES NOT SHOW RECALL WHEN LOOKED UP WHICH IS ALSO ALARMING. ACCORDING TO THE VW DEALER, THIS IS A FACTORY/ MANUFACTURER DEFECT (CHEAP PARTS FROM CHINA AND BAD INSTALLATION IS WHAT I TOLD) BUT THEY CANNOT FIX SINCE VIN IS NOT SHOWING UP IN THEIR SYSTEM. MY ENTIRE AIRBAG SYSTEM IS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN AS WELL AS BRAKE SYSTEM. I AM IN A PANIC!!! BUT DEALER WILL NOT FIX FACTORY DEFECT AND IS CHARGING $1700-$2200 TO FIX. THIS IS ALARMING AS WELL AS UNFAIR TO CONSUMERS!!! THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED!!! PEOPLE COULD DIE BECAUSE OF THIS. AND THIS IS NOT AN UNDERSTATEMENT! CORRECT YOUR YOUR RECALL AND VIN TRACKING SYSTEM AND FIX MY CAR! THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/6/2017 - CLEARWATER, FL
AIRBAG, BRAKE, ABS LIGHTS ARE ON AND STAYS ON. 3 LOUD BEEPS WHEN TURNING ON THE CAR. RECEIVED RECALL NOTIFICATION BUT MY VIN DOES NOT SHOW RECALL WHEN LOOKED UP WHICH IS ALSO ALARMING. ACCORDING TO THE VW DEALER, THIS IS A FACTORY/ MANUFACTURER DEFECT (CHEAP PARTS FROM CHINA AND BAD INSTALLATION IS WHAT I TOLD) BUT THEY CANNOT FIX SINCE VIN IS NOT SHOWING UP IN THEIR SYSTEM. MY ENTIRE AIRBAG SYSTEM IS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN AS WELL AS BRAKE SYSTEM. I AM IN A PANIC!!! BUT DEALER WILL NOT FIX FACTORY DEFECT AND IS CHARGING $1700-$2200 TO FIX. THIS IS ALARMING AS WELL AS UNFAIR TO CONSUMERS!!! THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED!!! PEOPLE COULD DIE BECAUSE OF THIS. AND THIS IS NOT AN UNDERSTATEMENT! CORRECT YOUR YOUR RECALL AND VIN TRACKING SYSTEM AND FIX MY CAR! THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/27/2017 - MCMINNVILLE, OR
MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON FOR NO APPARENT CAUSE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACED THE CLOCKSPRING CABLE AND SENT ME ON MY WAY. I WAS CHARGED OVER $400 FOR THIS. THAT SAME AFTERNOON THE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AND I TOOK IT BACK. AFTER 2 WEEKS THEY STILL HAVE MY CAR AND DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. I LOOKED UP INFORMATION ON YOUR SITE AND FOUND THAT OTHER JETTAS OF MY SAME YEAR HAD THIS PART UNDER RECALL. BUT WHEN I ASKED THE GUY AT THE GARAGE HE SAID MY CAR WAS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST. SO, I LOOKED ON YOUR SITE AGAIN AND SAW THAT 2012 JETTAS WERE IN FACT INCLUDED BUT IT DIDN'T APPEAR THAT MY SPECIFIC VIN NUMBER WAS INCLUDED. HOW CAN THIS BE POSSIBLE? I AM HAVING THE SAME TROUBLE WITH THE SAME PART AND DON'T FEEL I SHOULD HAVE PAID FOR THIS OR ANY FURTHER REPAIRS THAT MAY BE PENDING. MY QUESTION TO YOU IS, SHOULDN'T MY VIN NUMBER BE INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/26/2017 - ALAMO, CA
KEY GETS STUCK IN IGNITION AND CANNOT BE REMOVED. VEHICLE IS IN PARK. STEERING WHEEL IS NOT LOCKED AT THIS POINT. ENGINE CAN BE TURNED OFF, BUT KEY CANNOT BE REMOVED. VOLKSWAGEN HAS REPLACED IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER BUT PROBLEM REAPPEARS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/9/2017 - LITTLE FALLS, NY
2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA GLI 2.0 TURBO ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WHILE IN MOTION WAS MISFIRING CAUSING SPEED REDUCTION WITHOUT NOTICE, RUNNING ROUGH WHILE AT AN IDLE AND WOULD RATTLE UNDER LOAD ASCENDING A HILL. DEALERSHIP SERVICE MEMBER SAID THE TENSIONER CHAIN WAS ABOUT TO SNAP AT ONLY 80,000 MILES ON THE CAR. CONTINUED TO REPORT IF THE TENSIONER CHAIN SNAPPED, THE ENGINE WOULD DIE IMMEDIATELY. THIS COULD BE A MAJOR ISSUE WITH HIGHWAY DRIVING AND THE CAR UNEXPECTEDLY STOPPED ACCELERATING, THESE PARTS SHOULD LAST MORE THAN 120,000 MILES, IF NOT, THE LIFE OF A VEHICLE. I CONSIDER MYSELF LUCKY TO NOTICE THE PROBLEM BEFORE IT BECAME A BIGGER AND COSTLIER ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/7/2017 - VANCOUVER, WA
I AM NOW HAVING TO REPLACE THE IGNITION SWITCH FOR THE SECOND TIME SINCE BUYING IT CERTIFIED USED 2 YEARS AGO FROM HERZOG& MEIER. THE PROBLEM IS THE KEY IS STUCK IN ON, THE ONLY WAY TO KILL THE CAR OR TURN OFF IS TO DISCONNECT THE BATTERY.. THIS SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM THE DEALERSHIP AND VW KNOW ABOUT BUT HAVE NOT RECALLED. RESEARCH HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE THIS PROBLEM.. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL....

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/3/2017 - CLAYTON, NC
HEATER CORE NEEDS REPLACING AT 60,000 MILES

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds