Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 302 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (59)
Communications (6) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (27) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (86) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (8) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (2) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (52) Fuel System Diesel (22) Service Brakes (15) Tires (8) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/25/2017 - LONG BEACH, CA
5-SPEED MANUAL TRANSMISSION FAILED AFTER ONLY 80,200 MILES. UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS, ACCELERATING AFTER A STOP, THERE WAS A NOTICEABLE "CLUNK" SOUND AFTER SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND GEAR, AND THEN A CONTINUOUS LOUD RATTLING SOUND IN ALL THE GEARS 2ND-5TH. VEHICLE REMAINED DRIVABLE THOUGH WITH A CONTINUOUS CLATTERING SOUND IN 2ND-5TH GEARS AND WITH A SLIGHT SHUDDERING WHILE IN MOTION. VEHICLE HAD RECENTLY RECEIVED REGULAR 80,000 SERVICE. NO INDICATION OF A PROBLEM EXISTED UNTIL IT WAS MANIFEST IN THIS FAILURE. VEHICLE REMAINED DRIVABLE THOUGH NORMAL SPEEDS ENOUGH TO TAKE TO DEALERSHIP APPROXIMATELY 40 MILES AWAY. DIAGNOSIS WAS A PROBLEM IN THE GEARBOX NECESSITATING A REPLACEMENT OF THE TRANSMISSION. GIVEN THE RELIABILITY OF MOST MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS, I CONSIDER THIS FAILURE TO BE PREMATURE IN COMPARISON TO ITS EXPECTED SERVICE LIFE, AND THEREFORE MOST LIKELY DUE TO SOME DEFECT IN THE UNIT. VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY IN FOR SERVICE TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED. WILL PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION ONCE THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN RETURNED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2017 - TRAIL CREEK, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC POWER CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE LOST ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT MERGED THE VEHICLE TO THE ROAD SHOULDER TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND THEN RESTARTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN EXPERIENCING THE FAILURE FOR APPROXIMATELY SIX MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC (WALLEN AUTO II IN MICHIGAN CITY, INDIANA) FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS REPLACED TWICE, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/21/2017 - TRAIL CREEK, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ELECTRONIC POWER CONTROL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE LOST ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT MERGED THE VEHICLE TO THE ROAD SHOULDER TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF AND THEN RESTARTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN EXPERIENCING THE FAILURE FOR APPROXIMATELY SIX MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC (WALLEN AUTO II IN MICHIGAN CITY, INDIANA) FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS REPLACED TWICE, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/9/2017 - FONTANA, CA
KEY STUCK IN IGNITION, UNABLE TO TURN OFF ENGINE ONLY BY RELEASING THE CLUTCH IN FIRST GEAR. PROBLEM HAPPENS ALL THE TIME BUT I HAVE BEEN ABLE WIGGLE IT OUT, HOWEVER NOW ITS STUCK FOR SURE!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2017 - AUSTIN, TX
IGNITION LOCKS UP PREVENTING KEY FROM BEING RELEASED OR ENGINE TURNING OFF. AFTER INSPECTION VW CAN FIND NO FAULT BY DRIVER, BUT NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. REQUIRED IGNITION PARTS REPLACEMENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/1/2017 - PLATTEVILLE, WI
KEY GETS STUCK IN IGNITION WHEN TURNING OFF THE ENGINE. I PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY AT HOME ON LANCASTER ST IN PLATTEVILLE WISOCINSIN AND WENT TO TURN MY CAR OFF. I COULD NOT TURN THE KEY BACKWARDS TO SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE. MY CAR RAN FOR ABOUT 2 HOURS WHILE I CALLED AROUND TO MECHANICS AND DEALERSHIPS TRYING TO FIND SOMEONE WHO COULD HELP ME. THE VW DEALERSHIP IN DUBUQUE IOWA THAT I CALLED TOLD ME THAT HE HAS HEARD THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON ISSUE BUT HE DIDN'T KNOW HOW TO HELP ME. HE TOLD ME I COULD TRY BREAKING THE KEY. HOWEVER THAT MADE NO SENSE BECAUSE THE CAR WOULD STILL BE RUNNING, I WOULD STILL HAVE TO PAY TO GET THE KEY OUT, REPLACE WHATEVER IS WRONG WITH IT, AND BUY A NEW VERY EXPENSIVE KEY. MY CAR IS NOW SITTING AT A MECHANIC IN BENTON WISCONSIN WITH THE KEY STILL STUCK IN THE IGNITION.. I'M SURE HE UNHOOKED THE BATTERY SO THE ENGINE WOULD SHUT OFF. NOW I AM OUT A VEHICLE FOR 4-5 DAYS WITH THE HOLIDAY WEEKEND SO WHO KNOWS HOW SERIOUS THIS IS OR HOW SOON IT CAN BE FIXED. I WOULD APPRECIATE A RESPONSE OR SOME FEEDBACK. I AM A COLLEGE STUDENT L, I JUST BOUGHT MYSELF THIS CAR A YEAR AGO. THIS SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/29/2017 - SEEKONK, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE THE CONTACT'S SON WAS DRIVING 50 MPH, THE DRIVER HEARD A BANGING SOUND EVERY TIME THE VEHICLE JOLTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SCOTT VOLKSWAGEN (777 TAUNTON AVE, EAST PROVIDENCE, RI 02914) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE STRUT COIL SPRING FAILED AND BOTH FRONT STRUTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/19/2017 - BURLINGTON, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, BUT THE VEHICLE STALLED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO THE TIMING CHAIN SLIPPING. THE CONTACT WAS GIVEN THE OPTION OF REPLACING THE ENGINE OR PERFORMING A TIMING CHAIN SERVICE AND VALVE REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND THE DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,475.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/18/2017 - ALAMO, CA
VEHICLE WILL NOT TURN OFF. KEY GETS STUCK IN IGNITION SWITCH AND YOU CANNOT TURN OFF VEHICLE OR REMOVE KEY. DEALER SAYS THIS IS COMMON AND ONCE IT STARTS HAPPENING, YOU CANNOT TURN OFF THE ENGINE ROUTINELY. TO FINALLY TURN IT OFF, YOU HAVE TO USE TREMENDOUS FORCE AND IF THAT DOESN'T WORK, DRIVE THE VEHICLE AROUND FOR A BIT AND THEN TRY AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2017 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
KEY STUCK IN ON OR OFF POSITION - CAN'T TURN CAR OFF. CAN'T TURN IT ON. PLEASE LOOK AT THE COMPLAINTS UNDER UNKNOWN/OTHER - THERE ARE 38 OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE KEY GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITION IN EITHER THE ON OR OFF POSITION. PEOPLE DON'T REALIZE IT FALLS UNDER ELECTRICAL. I CAN'T TURN MY CAR ON HALF THE TIME AND CAN'T TURN IT OFF OTHER TIMES. THE KEY IS JUST STUCK IN THE IGNITION SWITCH AND NOTHING I DO WILL MAKE IT MOVE. IT'S JUST BEEN TOWED TO THE SHOP FOR THE LAST TIME! VW KNOWS ABOUT THIS, THE DEALERS KNOW ABOUT THIS. IT'S DANGEROUS! WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO WHEN I COME OUT OF A MALL IN THE DARK AND MY KEY WON'T TURN IN THE LOCK? OR WHEN I GO TO PARK SOMEWHERE AND THE CAR WON'T TURN OFF IN THE 92-DEGREE HEAT. I AM A SINGLE WOMAN AND THIS IS EXTREMEMLY DANGEROUS. IMAGINE IF THER ARE CHILDREN IN THE CAR AND YOU CAN'T TURN IT OFF? I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING EVERYONE ELSE HAS TRIED AND NOW I'M GOING TO TRADE THE CAR IN. BUT SOMEOE NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. THE DEALER (AND MULTIPLE WEBSITES) SAY IT'S THE IGNITION CYLINDER AND VERY COMMON WITH THESE CARS. DEALERS WANT $600 AND UP TO FIX IT. AND SOME PEOPLE HAVE REPLACED THEIRS MORE THAN ONCE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR NEARLY A YEAR WITH MY CAR. MY CAR ONLY HAS 70,000 MILES ON IT. THERE ARE OTHERS WITH EVEN FEWER MILES. WHY IS NO ONE PAYING ATTENTION TO THIS??? READ THE COMPLAINTS UNDER UNKNOWN/OTHER - THIS IS A VERY VERY COMMON COMPLAINT WITH THESE VEHICLES AND VERY DANGEROUS. WHERE IS THE RECALL?????

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds