Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 198 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (22) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (44) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (40) Fuel System Diesel (22) Service Brakes (11) Tires (7) Wheels (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

1/6/2016 - PORTLAND, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL DOOR FAILED TO UNLOCK. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO LOCK AND UNLOCK THE VEHICLE DOORS SEVERAL TIMES AND THEN ACTIVATE THE FUEL DOOR LOCK SYSTEM TO UNLOCK THE FUEL DOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER TO HAVE THE FUEL TANK DOOR LOCK MODIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2015 - DEPAUW, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE STARTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED A BURNING ODOR EMITTING FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTO BODY REPAIR CENTER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/21/2015 - OLD FORGE, NY
THERE IS A SERIOUS DESIGN FLAW IN THE REAR AXLE OF THIS VEHICLE WHEREBY ROAD DEBRIS CAN STRIKE THE AXLE CAUSING IT TO BEND. I THINK THE DESIGN FLAW IS TWO-FOLD. 1. THE AXLE IS PLACED IN SUCH A MANNER THAT IT IS TOTALLY UNPROTECTED FROM ROAD DEBRIS. 2. THE METAL OF THE AXLE AND TRAILING ARMS IS NOT HARDENED TO A STRONG ENOUGH DEGREE TO WITHSTAND DEBRIS STRIKES AND SUBSEQUENT STRESS. DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, I RAN OVER A 4-6" PIECE OF TWO BY FOUR OR POSSIBLY ANGLE IRON (NOT SURE WHICH). THE OBJECT WAS KICKED UP BY THE FRONT COWLING. THE OBJECT MADE MULTIPLE IMPACT STRIKES UNDER THE CAR FROM FRONT TO BACK AS EVIDENCED BY THE MARKINGS LEFT ON THE ALUMINUM COVERED INSULATION THAT COVERS THE UNDERCARRIAGE, ULTIMATELY STRIKING THE REAR AXLE, CAUSING IT TO BEND. THE BEND IN THE AXLE IS FRONT-TO-BACK. THIS IS NOT FROM BACKING OVER ANY OBJECT (SEE CAMPAIGN 14V656000). THIS IS A SERIOUS DESIGN FLAW AND A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. THE REAR AXLE AND TRAILING ARMS ARE EXPOSED TO ROAD DEBRIS AND NOT OF SUFFICIENT STRENGTH TO WITHSTAND IMPACT AND SUBSEQUENT STRESS ON TRAILING ARMS. A THIN PIECE OF SHEET METAL IS NOT SUFFICIENT TO REMEDY THIS ISSUE AND IS EXPOSING AMERICAN DRIVERS TO SERIOUS CRASH POTENTIAL AND DEATH. YOU CAN ALSO SEE CHINA'S INVESTIGATION OF THIS ISSUE HERE: HTTP://WWW.DPAC.GOV.CN/XWDT/GZDT/201509/W020150911606237827139.PDF AND HERE: HTTP://WWW.DPAC.GOV.CN/VIDEO_XINSUTENG/

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/21/2015 - OLD FORGE, NY
THERE IS A SERIOUS DESIGN FLAW IN THE REAR AXLE OF THIS VEHICLE WHEREBY ROAD DEBRIS CAN STRIKE THE AXLE CAUSING IT TO BEND. I THINK THE DESIGN FLAW IS TWO-FOLD. 1. THE AXLE IS PLACED IN SUCH A MANNER THAT IT IS TOTALLY UNPROTECTED FROM ROAD DEBRIS. 2. THE METAL OF THE AXLE AND TRAILING ARMS IS NOT HARDENED TO A STRONG ENOUGH DEGREE TO WITHSTAND DEBRIS STRIKES AND SUBSEQUENT STRESS. DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, I RAN OVER A 4-6" PIECE OF TWO BY FOUR OR POSSIBLY ANGLE IRON (NOT SURE WHICH). THE OBJECT WAS KICKED UP BY THE FRONT COWLING. THE OBJECT MADE MULTIPLE IMPACT STRIKES UNDER THE CAR FROM FRONT TO BACK AS EVIDENCED BY THE MARKINGS LEFT ON THE ALUMINUM COVERED INSULATION THAT COVERS THE UNDERCARRIAGE, ULTIMATELY STRIKING THE REAR AXLE, CAUSING IT TO BEND. THE BEND IN THE AXLE IS FRONT-TO-BACK. THIS IS NOT FROM BACKING OVER ANY OBJECT (SEE CAMPAIGN 14V656000). THIS IS A SERIOUS DESIGN FLAW AND A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. THE REAR AXLE AND TRAILING ARMS ARE EXPOSED TO ROAD DEBRIS AND NOT OF SUFFICIENT STRENGTH TO WITHSTAND IMPACT AND SUBSEQUENT STRESS ON TRAILING ARMS. A THIN PIECE OF SHEET METAL IS NOT SUFFICIENT TO REMEDY THIS ISSUE AND IS EXPOSING AMERICAN DRIVERS TO SERIOUS CRASH POTENTIAL AND DEATH. YOU CAN ALSO SEE CHINA'S INVESTIGATION OF THIS ISSUE HERE: HTTP://WWW.DPAC.GOV.CN/XWDT/GZDT/201509/W020150911606237827139.PDF AND HERE: HTTP://WWW.DPAC.GOV.CN/VIDEO_XINSUTENG/

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/15/2015 - COLUMBIA FALLS, MT
DRIVING HOME AT NIGHT, BOTH LOWBEAM HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. THE DAYTIME RUNNING LAMPS STILL WORKED AS DID THE HIGH BEAMS. I REPLACED ONE OF THE HEADLIGHTS WITH A NEW BULD, AND IT STILL DID NOT WORK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/15/2015 - ENCINITAS, CA
STARTING AS THE WARRANTY EXPIRED AT 40K MILES, MY HORN BECAME INTERMITTENT. IT WOULD WORK FINE FOR A WHILE, THEN COMPLETELY STOP FOR A PERIOD; SOMETIMES A WEEK OR SO. BUT AS TIME PROGRESSED, IT WAS NOT WORKING MORE THAN WORKING. BY 50K MILES IT NOT LONGER WORKED AND NOW AT 60K IT HASN'T WORKED FOR A LONG TIME. VERY DANGEROUS. DEALER SAID TWICE THEY WOULD TRY TO GET IT FIXED BUT NEVER CAME THROUGH. SO WITH MY DIESEL "GOOD WILL" PACKAGE, I WILL USE THE $500 CREDIT TO REPLACE MY HORN THAT THEY SHOULD HAVE REPLACED EARLIER. LOT'S OF PEOPLE ONLINE HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. I THINK IT'S PART OF THE 2011 RECALL FOR HORN AND ALARM SYSTEM PROBLEMS, DON'T THINK THEY CARRIED THROUGH WITH THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/11/2015 - ELBA, AL
I WAS DRIVING ON A COUNTY ROAD WHEN I BEGAN TO LOSE POWER. THERE WAS TRAFFIC BEHIND ME. MY CAR BEGAN TO SHAKE AND MAKE A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND AS IT COUNTINUED TO COAST. AS SOON AS I WAS ABLE TO BEGIN TO PULL TO THE SHOULDER, MY CAR COMPLETELY AND VIOLENTLY DIED. IT WOULD NOT RESTART, LEAVING ME STRANDED AND CAUSING UPCOMING TRAFFIC TO AVOID ME. THE DEALERSHIP STATES IT IS HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILURE. THE ANALYSIS OF FUEL SHOWS A LUBRICITY FAILURE, WHICH THE DEALERSHIP STATED WAS DUE TO METAL SHAVINGS. IT WAS NEGATIVE FOR GASOLINE AND HAS NOT BEEN MIS-FUELED. THERE HAS BEEN MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THESE FAILURES, WHICH CAUSE THE METAL SHAVINGS TO CONTAMINATE THE FUEL SYSTEM. VW HAS EXTENDED COVERAGE TO THESE PUMPS, BUT DOES NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ONGOING FAILURES. "NOT PASSING THE LUBRICITY TEST" WHICH APPEARS TO BE CAUSED FROM THE PUMP FAILURE ITSELF, VOIDS THE EXTENDED COVERAGE, CAUSING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN REPAIRS.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

11/12/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, ANOTHER VEHICLE VEERED INTO THE CONTACT'S LANE. THE HORN MALFUNCTIONED AND FAILED TO ALERT THE OTHER PERSON. AS A RESULT, THE OTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/9/2015 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
BOTH OF THE LOW-BEAM HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AS I WAS DRIVING HOME ON A UNLIT HIGHWAY AT NIGHT. THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS WORKED WHEN I TURNED OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND THE HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHTS WORKED WHEN I TRIED USING THEM. THE NEXT MORNING I REPLACED BOTH LOW-BEAM HEADLIGHTS AND THEY STILL DO NOT WORK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/9/2015 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
BOTH OF THE LOW-BEAM HEADLIGHTS STOPPED WORKING AS I WAS DRIVING HOME ON A UNLIT HIGHWAY AT NIGHT. THE DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS WORKED WHEN I TURNED OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND THE HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHTS WORKED WHEN I TRIED USING THEM. THE NEXT MORNING I REPLACED BOTH LOW-BEAM HEADLIGHTS AND THEY STILL DO NOT WORK.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds