Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 143 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (18) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (33) Fuel System Diesel (20) Service Brakes (9) Tires (7) Wheels (6)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/4/2014 - PERRIS, CA
THE HORN ON THIS VEHICLE BECOMES UNRESPONSIVE AT TIMES. WHEN IT DOES WORK, THE HORN TONE IS VERY LOW AND IS DIFFICULT TO HEAR. THIS COULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE. IT ALSO CONCERNS ME SINCE AN OPERATIONAL HORN IS NEEDED TO PASS THE STATE SAFETY INSPECTION. I HAVE NOT TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP YET FOR REPAIR, BUT A QUICK INTERNET SEARCH, I HAVE CONFIRMED THIS IS FAR TOO COMMON PROBLEM ON NEWER MODEL JETYTA'S

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - BEDFORD, VA
THE HORN ON THIS VEHICLE BECOMES UNRESPONSIVE AT TIMES. WHEN IT DOES WORK, THE HORN TONE IS VERY LOW AND IS DIFFICULT TO HEAR. THIS COULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE. IT ALSO CONCERNS ME SINCE AN OPERATIONAL HORN IS NEEDED TO PASS THE STATE SAFETY INSPECTION. I HAVE NOT TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP YET FOR REPAIR, BUT A QUICK INTERNET SEARCH, I HAVE CONFIRMED THIS IS FAR TOO COMMON PROBLEM ON NEWER MODEL JETTA'S.

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
WHILE TRAVELING AT A CONSTANT SPEED BETWEEN 10 AND 15 MPH THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO JERK HARSHLY, AND AFTER ABOUT 2-3 SECONDS OF JERKING THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. THE JERKING HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES, AND HAS BEEN GETTING WORSE OVER THE PAST 10,000 MILES. THE VEHICLE HAS STALLED TWICE NOW, ONCE AT ABOUT 68,900 MILES, AND AGAIN AT APPROXIMATELY 71,500 MILES. THE SECOND INCIDENT HAPPENED MORE QUICKLY AND IN A PARKING GARAGE AND NEARLY RESULTED IN A COLLISION. THE JERKING HAPPENS AT ALL SPEEDS, INCLUDING ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - BELLEVILLE, IL
I PURCHASED A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN IN AUGUST 9, 2012. ONE WEEK LATER AFTER PURCHASE, THE CAR STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING WITH NO WARNING. I CALLED HERTZ CAR SALES WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR AND TO NO AVAIL THE PROBLEM DID NOT GET RESOLVED. I THEN NOTICED THAT THE HORN WORKS AT TIME AND THEN DOESN'T WORK. I REALLY SHOULDN'T HAVE TO EXPLAIN WHAT A SAFETY HAZARD THE CAR CAN BE IF YOU CAN'T ALERT ANOTHER DRIVER WITH YOUR HORN. I THEN DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT VOLKSWAGEN DID A RECALL FOR THE 2011 MODEL BUT DID NOT INCLUDE THE 2012 MODEL WHICH IS OBVIOUS THAT THE SAME PROBLEM EXIST. I CALLED VOLKSWAGEN AND FOUND OUT THAT MY CAR WAS MANUFACTURED 2/2012. IF THE SAME PART WAS USED IN MY CAR WHICH IS SHOWING THE EXACT SAME MALFUNCTIONED PARTS THAT WERE RECALLED IN 2011. IT IS MORE THAN LIKELY THAT THE EARLIER 2012 MODELS HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE 2011 PROBLEM. I USED THIS CAR TO GET MYSELF AND MY SON BACK AND FORTH TO DR.'S APPOINTMENTS, SCHOOL AND OTHER DAILY ERRANDS. I CONSIDER THE CAR TO BE A HAZARD WITH THE HORN MALFUNCTIONING AND THE CAR STOPPING I THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

10/14/2014 - BELLEVILLE, IL
I PURCHASED A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN IN AUGUST 9, 2012. ONE WEEK LATER AFTER PURCHASE, THE CAR STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING WITH NO WARNING. I CALLED HERTZ CAR SALES WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR AND TO NO AVAIL THE PROBLEM DID NOT GET RESOLVED. I THEN NOTICED THAT THE HORN WORKS AT TIME AND THEN DOESN'T WORK. I REALLY SHOULDN'T HAVE TO EXPLAIN WHAT A SAFETY HAZARD THE CAR CAN BE IF YOU CAN'T ALERT ANOTHER DRIVER WITH YOUR HORN. I THEN DID SOME RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT VOLKSWAGEN DID A RECALL FOR THE 2011 MODEL BUT DID NOT INCLUDE THE 2012 MODEL WHICH IS OBVIOUS THAT THE SAME PROBLEM EXIST. I CALLED VOLKSWAGEN AND FOUND OUT THAT MY CAR WAS MANUFACTURED 2/2012. IF THE SAME PART WAS USED IN MY CAR WHICH IS SHOWING THE EXACT SAME MALFUNCTIONED PARTS THAT WERE RECALLED IN 2011. IT IS MORE THAN LIKELY THAT THE EARLIER 2012 MODELS HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE 2011 PROBLEM. I USED THIS CAR TO GET MYSELF AND MY SON BACK AND FORTH TO DR.'S APPOINTMENTS, SCHOOL AND OTHER DAILY ERRANDS. I CONSIDER THE CAR TO BE A HAZARD WITH THE HORN MALFUNCTIONING AND THE CAR STOPPING I THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING.

View Details

TIRES

10/13/2014 - CA, CA
2012 JETTA WITH SEVERE CRACKING ON THE INSIDE OF THE TIRES. 205/55/16. CALLED HANKOOK AND THEY RESPONDED THAT THEY HAVE NEVER SEEN THIS BEFORE. VW DEALER HAS PHOTOS OF 20 CARS WITH THE SAME CONCERN, BUT TIRES ARE NOT COVERED BY VW, ONLY THROUGH TIRE MANUFACTURER. AFTER READING ALL THE OTHER HANCOOK OPTIMO 725A TIRE SEVER CRACKING, THIS IS A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM AND NEEDS INVESTIGATION

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/4/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHILE PULLING INTO INTERSECTION, IGNITION QUIT. TOW TRUCK DRIVER RESTARTED VEHICLE. DEALER FOUND FAULT WITH ELECTRONIC IGNITION. REPLACED IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

ENGINE

10/1/2014 - ANN ARBOR, MI
THE VEHICLE TENDS TO STUTTER, LURCH, OR HESITATE AT LOW SPEEDS. THIS HAS CAUSED SEVERAL DANGEROUS SITUATIONS WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELARATE INTO ANOTHER LANE OR ONTO THE ROAD FROM A DRIVEWAY. THE DEALER HAS INFORMED ME THAT THIS IS NORMAL BEHAVIOR FOR THEDSG TRANSMISSION AND THERE IS NO FIX. AN INTERNET SEARCH SHOWS THAT MANY OTHER DRIVERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT THIS IS "NORMAL" PERFORMANCE, AND I AM CONCERNED ABOUT IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/1/2014 - ANN ARBOR, MI
THE VEHICLE TENDS TO STUTTER, LURCH, OR HESITATE AT LOW SPEEDS. THIS HAS CAUSED SEVERAL DANGEROUS SITUATIONS WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELARATE INTO ANOTHER LANE OR ONTO THE ROAD FROM A DRIVEWAY. THE DEALER HAS INFORMED ME THAT THIS IS NORMAL BEHAVIOR FOR THEDSG TRANSMISSION AND THERE IS NO FIX. AN INTERNET SEARCH SHOWS THAT MANY OTHER DRIVERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT THIS IS "NORMAL" PERFORMANCE, AND I AM CONCERNED ABOUT IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/30/2014 - LAWRENCE, KS
I WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT HEADED UP HILL. THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN I RELEASED THE BRAKES & CLUTCH WHILE PUSHING THE GAS PEDAL. MUCH TO MY SURPRISE THIS KILLED THE ENGINE. (I HAVE DRIVEN STICKS SHIFTS FOR 50 YEARS.) THE CAR STOPPED ABRUPTLY. THE CAR BEHIND ME HAVING SEEN MY BRAKE LIGHTS GO OFF AND MY CAR BEGIN TO MOVE HAD TO SLAM ON HIS BRAKES TO AVOID HITTING ME. HIS HONKING AND RUDE GESTURES WERE NOT NECESSARY, BUT UNDERSTANDABLE. WE WERE PROBABLY BOTH CURSING, I KNOW I WAS. COMPLAINING TO THE DEALER I WAS AMAZED TO LEARN IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO THIS! IN ADDITION, SINCE THE THEN I HAVE FIGURED OUT THAT IF ONE SETS THE HANDBRAKE TO SOON THE THE ELECTRONICS WILL EVENTUALLY RELEASE THE HYDRAULIC PRESSURE AND THE PARKING BRAKE WHICH HAD BEEN PULLED TO THE FULL EXTENT OF ITS TRAVEL NOW HAS SEVERAL MORE CLICKS LEFT TO GO AND IS NOT FULLY SET. WE LEARNED THIS WHEN THE UNOCCUPIED CAR ROLLED DOWN THE DRIVEWAY INTO A TREE ACROSS THE STREET. WE WERE NOT PLEASED. (VW OF AMERICA, HOWEVER, WAS NOT CONCERNED.) TO REALLY KEEP US GUESSING THIS "FEATURE" DOES NOT CONSISTENTLY ACTIVATE - THERE IS A RANGE OF DEGREES OF SLOPE WHERE IT MAY OR MAY NOT COME INTO PLAY. HAVING IT NOT HOLD WHEN ONE EXPECTS IT TO HAS CAUSED MINOR DAMAGE AND SEVERAL MORE CLOSE CALLS. VWOA WILL NOT ALLOW DEALERS TO DEACTIVATE. TRYING TO REPLACE THE CAR WITH SOMETHING MORE DRIVABLE I HAVE LEARNED THIS HAS BECOME A WIDESPREAD CURSE ON MANY NEWER VEHICLES, EVEN THOSE WITH AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSIONS. THIS IDEA IS NOT ONLY WRONG IT IS WRONG-HEADED. HOW IN GOD'S NAME CAN A DELIBERATE BRAKE MALFUNCTION BE PALMED OFF AS A "SAFETY FEATURE". AND IF THERE ARE PEOPLE SO INCOMPETENT AS TO NEED OR WANT THIS, WHY MUST THE REST OF US BE PLAGUED WITH IT. LIKE MOST ANSWERS TO ANY QUESTION NO ONE HAS ASKED IT IS WRONG. IT IS WRONG AND DANGEROUS. AND IN CASE YOU HADN'T NOTICED, ANNOYING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds