Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 128 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (16) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (33) Fuel System Diesel (18) Service Brakes (8) Tires (6) Wheels (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/8/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MY CAR IS A 2012 VW JETTA TDI, CLEAN DIESEL. I WAS DRIVING FROM SAN DIEGO CA TO LAS VEGAS NV. IT WAS OVER 100 DEGREES. I WAS TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE 15 NORTH ABOUT 70 MILES PER HOUR. 80 MILES FROM LAS VEGAS, GLOW LIGHT INDICATOR CAME ON, CAR LOST POWER. I PULLED OVER AND CAR STALLED, WOULD NOT RESTART. CALLED VW, TOLD THEM ABOUT THE GLOW LIGHT INDICATOR. THEY AGREED TO TOW THE CAR TO LV. WE SAT ON THE ROAD SIDE FOR MORE THAN 4 HOURS IN 100+ DEGREE HEAT. VW REPAIRED THE CAR IN 6 DAYS, NO COST TO ME EXCEPT RENTAL CAR. CAUSE WAS DESCRIBED AS 'METAL SHAVINGS IN FUEL SYSTEM' LATER REFERRED TO AS HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILURE. VW REPLACED THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM (INJECTORS, LINES, FILTER, FUEL PUMP ETC). HOWEVER AT THIS TIME I DO NOT KNOW IF THE SAME TYPE OF HPFP WAS USED OR A NEWLY REDESIGNED ONE. I AM TRYING TO CLARIFY THAT. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A DESIGN FLAW OF SOME TYPE. IT CAN NOT BE CAUSED BY BAD FUEL. THE FUEL FILTER WOULD HAVE CAUGHT ANY METAL SHAVINGS. ANY METAL IN THE FUEL DOWNSTREAM OF THE FUEL FILTER HAD TO COME FROM THE CAR ITSELF. NOT ONLY THAT, HAVING FOLLOWED THE RECOMMENDED MAINTENANCE SCHEDULE FOR MY CAR, MY FUEL FILTER WAS REPLACED AT 20K MILES. HTTP://PICS.TDICLUB.COM/DATA/516/2012_JETTA.PDF SIMILAR COMPLAINT (NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : EA11003) DOES NOT SEEM TO COVER 2012 MODELS SO I AM FILING THIS ONE INSTEAD.

View Details

ENGINE

8/29/2014 - CERRITOS, CA
WITH NO PRIOR INDICATION, THE ENGINE GLOW PLUG LIGHT BEGAN FLASHING WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. WITHIN FEW MINUTES, THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR STARTED TO LOOSE POWER. ENGINE NOISE PITCH CHANGED, AND WAS ABLE TO PULL THE CAR OF THE MAIN FREEWAY AND BARELY MADE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. AS SOON AS WE MADE IT TO THE DEALER PARKING LOT, THE ENGINE CUT OFF. DIAGNOSTIC OF THE CAR SHOWED THAT THE CAR SUFFERED A CATASTROPHIC HPFP FAILURE WHICH CAUSED DEBRIS CONTAMINATION THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM. 4 DAYS LATER, THE ENGINE HAD ITS HPFP, FUEL LINES, INJECTORS, AND AUXILIARY PUMP REPLACED. FUEL TANK WAS FLUSHED AND CLEANED OUT FROM DEBRIS. COST UNDER WARRANTY WAS $5500. THE DEALER SAID THAT THEY'VE HAD 50 CARS EXHIBITING SIMILAR CONDITIONS. CAUSE OF THE FAILURE IS UNDER INVESTIGATION BY VW. AS OWNERS, WE HAVE NO CLUES WHAT TO DO OR WHEN THIS WILL RE-OCCUR AGAIN WHICH DOES NOT GIVE ME ANT SENSE OF CONFIDENCE. I ALWAYS FILL AT THE SAME CHEVRON STATION SO IT IS NOT THE QUALITY OF THE DIESEL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/29/2014 - CERRITOS, CA
WITH NO PRIOR INDICATION, THE ENGINE GLOW PLUG LIGHT BEGAN FLASHING WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. WITHIN FEW MINUTES, THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR STARTED TO LOOSE POWER. ENGINE NOISE PITCH CHANGED, AND WAS ABLE TO PULL THE CAR OF THE MAIN FREEWAY AND BARELY MADE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. AS SOON AS WE MADE IT TO THE DEALER PARKING LOT, THE ENGINE CUT OFF. DIAGNOSTIC OF THE CAR SHOWED THAT THE CAR SUFFERED A CATASTROPHIC HPFP FAILURE WHICH CAUSED DEBRIS CONTAMINATION THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM. 4 DAYS LATER, THE ENGINE HAD ITS HPFP, FUEL LINES, INJECTORS, AND AUXILIARY PUMP REPLACED. FUEL TANK WAS FLUSHED AND CLEANED OUT FROM DEBRIS. COST UNDER WARRANTY WAS $5500. THE DEALER SAID THAT THEY'VE HAD 50 CARS EXHIBITING SIMILAR CONDITIONS. CAUSE OF THE FAILURE IS UNDER INVESTIGATION BY VW. AS OWNERS, WE HAVE NO CLUES WHAT TO DO OR WHEN THIS WILL RE-OCCUR AGAIN WHICH DOES NOT GIVE ME ANT SENSE OF CONFIDENCE. I ALWAYS FILL AT THE SAME CHEVRON STATION SO IT IS NOT THE QUALITY OF THE DIESEL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - PLAYA DEL REY, CA
33,600 MILES WITH NO PROBLEMS AT ALL ON VW TDI SPORTWAGEN. LOS ANGELES TO LAKE HAVASU, AZ FRIDAY, AFTERNOON JULY 11, 2014, 300 MILES IN 110 DEGREE WEATHER. PARKED FOR 2 HOURS, DROVE TO MARKET. GLOW PLUG LIGHT CAME ON, ENGINE STUMBLED, DIED, NO RESTART. WALKED TO 2ND HOME. NEXT DAY - NO START, CALLED VW, TOWED 150 MILES TO LAS VEGAS, RENTED CAR IN AZ FOR WEEKEND AND DRIVE BACK TO LA. LV VW DEALER SAYS "OUT OF FUEL". REPLY "IMPOSSIBLE, ONLY DROVE 300 MILES". ON MONDAY, DEALER CALLS TO SAY IT MAY TAKE A WEEK, IT IS THE FUEL PUMP AND HE IS WORKING ON GETTING COVERAGE FOR WORK FROM VW. REPLY "STILL UNDER WARRANTY, WHY WOULDN'T VW COVER". NO ANSWER. ON WEDNESDAY CALLS TO SAY HAVE TO ORDER PARTS, METAL PARTICLES IN THE FUEL SYSTEM, MAY BE LONGER.(FINAL COUNT 11 DAYS FROM FAILURE TO REPAIR). WITH ADDITIONAL DAYS ON RENTAL, OUT OF STATE DROP OF FEE, HOTEL ROOM, ETC. ABOUT $800 IN OUTLAY (NOT COUNTING TIME TO TRAVEL TO LAS VEGAS TO PICK UP CAR AND BACK TO LA).

View Details

ENGINE

8/19/2014 - HOUSTON , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SUCCESSFULLY MOVE THE VEHICLE OFF THE HIGHWAY BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE OR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/19/2014 - HOUSTON , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SUCCESSFULLY MOVE THE VEHICLE OFF THE HIGHWAY BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE OR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/13/2014 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
THE 2012 JETTA TDI SPORTWAGEN WAS WORKING PERFECTLY AS WE DROVE TO A LOCAL CONCERT IN THE PARK. AFTER STOPPING FOR APPROXIMATELY 2.5 HOURS FOR THE CONCERT MY WIFE, EIGHT-MONTH OLD CHILD AND I STARTED THE VEHICLE TO HEAD BACK HOME, AT THIS TIME THE VEHICLE STARTED AND WAS WORKING PROPERLY. AFTER DRIVING APPROXIMATELY ONE-MILE I PUSHED THE ACCELERATOR TO GO OVER A SMALL BRIDGE AND THE VEHICLE HAD ALMOST NO POWER THEN THE GLOW PUG LIGHTS AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I THEN PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT TO SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE TO BE SURE WE WERE SAFE AND DID NOT CAUSE ANY DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. AFTER A MINUTE I TRIED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE AND ALL SEEMED OK AGAIN FOR ABOUT A 1/2 MILE AND THEN THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED, VERY LOW POWER GLOW PUG LIGHT AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. WE WERE ONLY TWO MILES FROM HOME SO AS THE ENGINE TEMP WAS GOOD I CONTINUED HOME ON SURFACE STREETS WITH LITTLE POWER AND MADE IT HOME. CALLED OUR LOCAL DEALER AND DROVE TO THEM THE NEXT DAY, THEY SEEMED TO KNOW THE ISSUE WHEN I CALLED AND AS EXPECTED, THE SAME ISSUE AS SO MANY OTHERS! THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP, (HPFP) HAD FAILED AND METAL SHAVINGS WERE STREWN THROUGHOUT THE FUEL SYSTEM. VOLKSWAGEN REPLACED THE ENTIRE FUEL SYSTEM UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE REAL ISSUE REMAINS. WHEN WILL THE NHSTA OR VOLKSWAGEN STEP UP TO RECALL VEHICLES AND CORRECT THIS CHRONIC PROBLEM! I AM FORTUNATE THAT MY FAMILY WAS NOT INJURED BUT READING MANY OTHERS STATEMENTS IT WILL ONLY BE A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED OR SERIOUSLY INJURED AS A DIRECT RESULT OF THE FUEL PUMP FAILURE PROBLEM. THERE WAS A 1/2 TANK OF FUEL AND THIS WAS DEFINITELY NOT A FUELING PROBLEM. I PERSONALLY AND ALWAYS FUEL THE VEHICLE, USE MAJOR CHAIN BRANDS AND ALWAYS DIESEL!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2014 - HILLSBOROUGH, NC
KEY WILL NOT TURN TO SHUT ENGINE OFF , TURN KEY FORWARD LIKE STARTING CAR , THEN RELEASE KEY SO IT SPRINGS BACK AND REMOVE KEY. DEFECT, COULD NOT SHUT CAR OFF WHILE PUMPING GAS, HAD TO WAIT TILL I WAS HOME TO LOOKUP ON INTERNET HOW TO TURN KEY OFF.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/31/2014 - CHESTERTON, IN
I WENT TO PASSENGER SIDE OF PARKED VEHICLE, OPENED DOOR, AND ADJUSTED SEAT POSITION BACKWARDS SLIGHTLY. THE NEXT MORNING I STARTED CAR AND AFTER SEVERAL MILES OF DRIVING , THE SOLID (NON-BLINKING) AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON. I CALLED 2 DEALERS IN AREA WHO TOLD ME TO BRING IT IN IMMEDIATELY FOR A $900 TO $1000 REPAIR. I HAD FAULT DIAGNOSED BY PROFESSIONAL AS A PASSENGER SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG FAULT TO THE IGNITER - SHORT TO GROUND. I WILL NOT PAY FOR THIS REPAIR WHICH IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECTIVE PART THAT SHOULD BE RECALLED. MY AIRBAG SYSTEM IS NOW DEACTIVATED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/29/2014 - LIVERMORE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE REDUCED IN SPEED AND STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP FAILED AS A RESULT THE FUEL PUMP AND THE FUEL SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds