Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN JETTA - 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 291 complaints filed for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (53)
Communications (6) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (27) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (85) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (8) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (1) Suspension (7) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (51) Fuel System Diesel (22) Service Brakes (14) Tires (8) Wheels (8)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/17/2017 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
KEY STUCK IN ON OR OFF POSITION - CAN'T TURN CAR OFF. CAN'T TURN IT ON. PLEASE LOOK AT THE COMPLAINTS UNDER UNKNOWN/OTHER - THERE ARE 38 OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE KEY GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITION IN EITHER THE ON OR OFF POSITION. PEOPLE DON'T REALIZE IT FALLS UNDER ELECTRICAL. I CAN'T TURN MY CAR ON HALF THE TIME AND CAN'T TURN IT OFF OTHER TIMES. THE KEY IS JUST STUCK IN THE IGNITION SWITCH AND NOTHING I DO WILL MAKE IT MOVE. IT'S JUST BEEN TOWED TO THE SHOP FOR THE LAST TIME! VW KNOWS ABOUT THIS, THE DEALERS KNOW ABOUT THIS. IT'S DANGEROUS! WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO WHEN I COME OUT OF A MALL IN THE DARK AND MY KEY WON'T TURN IN THE LOCK? OR WHEN I GO TO PARK SOMEWHERE AND THE CAR WON'T TURN OFF IN THE 92-DEGREE HEAT. I AM A SINGLE WOMAN AND THIS IS EXTREMEMLY DANGEROUS. IMAGINE IF THER ARE CHILDREN IN THE CAR AND YOU CAN'T TURN IT OFF? I'VE TRIED EVERYTHING EVERYONE ELSE HAS TRIED AND NOW I'M GOING TO TRADE THE CAR IN. BUT SOMEOE NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. THE DEALER (AND MULTIPLE WEBSITES) SAY IT'S THE IGNITION CYLINDER AND VERY COMMON WITH THESE CARS. DEALERS WANT $600 AND UP TO FIX IT. AND SOME PEOPLE HAVE REPLACED THEIRS MORE THAN ONCE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR NEARLY A YEAR WITH MY CAR. MY CAR ONLY HAS 70,000 MILES ON IT. THERE ARE OTHERS WITH EVEN FEWER MILES. WHY IS NO ONE PAYING ATTENTION TO THIS??? READ THE COMPLAINTS UNDER UNKNOWN/OTHER - THIS IS A VERY VERY COMMON COMPLAINT WITH THESE VEHICLES AND VERY DANGEROUS. WHERE IS THE RECALL?????

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2017 - COSTA MESA, CA
CAR WOULD NOT START SUDDENLY... VW DEALERSHIP SAID ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THERE WAS NO INDICATION ANYTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. IT WAS DRIVING NORMALLY, NO ABNORMAL NOISES, NO CHECK ENGINE OR OTHER WARNING LIGHTS. LUCKILY, WE FOUND OUT ENGINE HAD FAILED WHEN TRYING TO START A PARKED VEHICLE. IT MAY HAVE BEEN AN UNSAFE SITUATION HAD THE ENGINE FAILED WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/12/2017 - KEY LARGO, FL
THE KEY CONTINUED TO GET STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND IT WAS ALSO VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN THE KEY TO START THE ENGINE. AT ONE POINT, THE KEY WAS UNABLE TO BE REMOVED AND COULD NOT TURN THE CAR OFF WHILE MY DAUGHTER HAD IT. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO VW DEALERSHIP AND THE IGNITION HOUSING HAD TO BE REPLACED. APPARENTLY, THIS HAS BEEN A RECURRENT PROBLEM.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/4/2017 - DACULA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN WOULD NOT SOUND AND THE HEADLAMPS WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE. THE FAILURES OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED, BUT THE HEADLAMPS WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

4/4/2017 - DACULA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 VOLKSWAGEN JETTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HORN WOULD NOT SOUND AND THE HEADLAMPS WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE. THE FAILURES OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED, BUT THE HEADLAMPS WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/13/2017 - VACAVILLE, CA
LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT BULBS FAIL FREQUENTLY. I PURCHASED THE CAR APPROX. 1 YEAR AGO AND HAVE HAD TO REPLACE EACH LOWBEAM BULB TWICE ALREADY. THEY HAVE FAILED ONE AT A TIME, SO I HAVE NOT LOST BOTH WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/26/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
I WAS NEITHER ABLE TO TURN OFF MY CAR, NOR TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION, IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO LOCK THE CAR FROM THE OUTSIDE. LEAVING AN UNLOCKED, RUNNING CAR JUST TO BE ABLE TO PROCURE THE SPARE KEY IN THE HOPES THAT THE CAR COULD AT LEAST BE LOCKED BY UTILIZING THE SECOND KEY ARE SIGNIFICANT SAFETY RISKS. FURTHERMORE, THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED LATE ON A WEEKEND NIGHT, NOWHERE NEAR THE SPARE KEY, RENDERING ME INCAPABLE OF TAKING THE CAR TO A DEALERSHIP WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME, FORCING ME TO LEAVE AN UNLOCKED CAR RUNNING FOR MANY HOURS. RUNNING EVENTUALLY OUT OF OPTIONS TO STAY WITH THE CAR, THE KEY BROKE OFF IN A LAST DESPERATE ATTEMPT TO TURN OFF THE CAR. LIVING IN A MAJOR CITY WITH MANY UNSAFE NEIGHBORHOODS UNDERLINES THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING ABLE TO START AND TURN OFF A VEHICLE WHEN NEEDED, AS WELL AS TO LOCK THE VEHICLE TO KEEP ITS PASSENGERS AND CONTENTS SAFE AT ALL TIMES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/11/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
"TAKATA RECALL" "WATER PUMP" I GOT MANY RECALLS ON MY JETTA GLI 2012á . THE LAST RECALL I GOT ON THE MAIL WAS ON NOVEMBER ,2016 FOR THE AIRBAG CONTROL . AFTER I DROPPED MY CAR FOR THE RECALL I PICKED IT UP SAME DAY . I NOTICED THAT THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON FOR THE FIRST TIME I HAVEN'T HAD ANY ISSUES LIKE THIS BEFORE . I RETURNED BACK TO THE DEALER AND INFORMED THEM , THEY SAID YOU HAVE TO LEAVE IT AND WE'RE SORRY WE DIDN'T TAKE CARE OF THAT . I DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO LEAVE IT THERE FOR ONE MORE DAY . NOW THEY'RE ASKING ME TO PAY FOR IT AROUND $992 ! I GOT ALL OF THE VOICEMAIL FROM THE DEALER THEY CALLED ME TO APOLOGIZE FOR THE AIRBAG LIGHT AND ASKED ME TO COME BACK TO FIX SINCE IT CAME UP AFTER I DROPPED IT FOR THE RECALL . ALSO , I HAVE SHOWED THE QUOTE FOR THE WATER LEAKING TO MANY AUTO CARE CENTERS IN HOUSTON . THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS KIND OF CAR WITH 2.0 ENGINE HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE WATER PUMP AND THEY WILL NEVER GET INVOLVED WHIT THIS CAR BECAUSE TO MANY PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ENGINE AND CAR MODEL HAD THE SAME PROBLEM SEVERAL TIMES . MY CAR ONLY GOT 60K MILE ON IT AND NEVER BEEN INTO AND ACCIDENT IT'S BEEN LESS THAN 5 YEARS NOW SINCE I PURCHASED THE CAR . I PAID 28K DOLLARS CASH FROM THE FIRST DAY JUST BECAUSE I TRUSTED IN VW. I HAVE CONTACTED VW OF AMERICA , BUT THEY DIDN'T HELP ME WITH MY CASE AND ASKED ME TO PAY FOR IT .á

View Details

ENGINE

2/11/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
"TAKATA RECALL" "WATER PUMP" I GOT MANY RECALLS ON MY JETTA GLI 2012á . THE LAST RECALL I GOT ON THE MAIL WAS ON NOVEMBER ,2016 FOR THE AIRBAG CONTROL . AFTER I DROPPED MY CAR FOR THE RECALL I PICKED IT UP SAME DAY . I NOTICED THAT THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON FOR THE FIRST TIME I HAVEN'T HAD ANY ISSUES LIKE THIS BEFORE . I RETURNED BACK TO THE DEALER AND INFORMED THEM , THEY SAID YOU HAVE TO LEAVE IT AND WE'RE SORRY WE DIDN'T TAKE CARE OF THAT . I DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO LEAVE IT THERE FOR ONE MORE DAY . NOW THEY'RE ASKING ME TO PAY FOR IT AROUND $992 ! I GOT ALL OF THE VOICEMAIL FROM THE DEALER THEY CALLED ME TO APOLOGIZE FOR THE AIRBAG LIGHT AND ASKED ME TO COME BACK TO FIX SINCE IT CAME UP AFTER I DROPPED IT FOR THE RECALL . ALSO , I HAVE SHOWED THE QUOTE FOR THE WATER LEAKING TO MANY AUTO CARE CENTERS IN HOUSTON . THEY TOLD ME THAT THIS KIND OF CAR WITH 2.0 ENGINE HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE WATER PUMP AND THEY WILL NEVER GET INVOLVED WHIT THIS CAR BECAUSE TO MANY PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ENGINE AND CAR MODEL HAD THE SAME PROBLEM SEVERAL TIMES . MY CAR ONLY GOT 60K MILE ON IT AND NEVER BEEN INTO AND ACCIDENT IT'S BEEN LESS THAN 5 YEARS NOW SINCE I PURCHASED THE CAR . I PAID 28K DOLLARS CASH FROM THE FIRST DAY JUST BECAUSE I TRUSTED IN VW. I HAVE CONTACTED VW OF AMERICA , BUT THEY DIDN'T HELP ME WITH MY CASE AND ASKED ME TO PAY FOR IT .á

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2017 - YONKERS, NY
THE FIRST THING I NOTICED AFTER DRIVING THE CAR WAS THE SMELL OF BURNING OIL OCCASIONALLY, THEN UPON OPENING THE HOOD AND REMOVING THE ENGINE COVER THERE WAS MINOR OIL SEEPAGE FROM THE VALVE COVER. THE CAR ITSELF IS 2012 JETTA GLI AND ONLY HAS ABOUT 27,500 MILES AS I TYPE THIS MESSAGE. BUT IT GETS WORSE, I NOTICE THE OIL LEVEL DROPPING AND HAVING TO PUT REFILL IT ABOUT 2 OR 3 TIMES A MONTH. AT THIS POINT I KNOW SOMETHING ISN'T RIGHT AND ITS NOT JUST A FAULTY VALVE COVER GASKET. DID SOME READING ONLINE AND I SUSPECTED IT WAS A FAULTY OIL SEPARATOR/PCV SYSTEM CREATING TOO MUCH CRANK CASE PRESSURE. I ALSO CHECKED THE REAR MAIN SEAL RECENTLY AND SEE OIL LEAKING BETWEEN THE MOTOR AND TRANSMISSION, SUGGESTING THE RMS HAS BEGAN TO FAIL. MY QUESTION IS IF THE CAR WAS "CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED" AND PCV VALVE FAILURE IS SOME WHAT COMMON FOR BOTH TSI AND FSI ENGINES, WHY WASN'T THE VEHICLES PCV INSPECTED FOR FAILURE OR CHANGED ENTIRELY WITH THE NEW REVISION? THERE ARE MANY REVISIONS ON THE OIL SEPARATOR/PCV VALVE FROM WHAT I SEE. SHOULDN'T THE DAMAGE TO THE RMS REPLACEMENT BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER SINCE IT WAS DUE TO PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE OIL SEPARATOR, THAT IS KNOWN TO BE PRONE TO FAILURE OR FAULTY FROM THE FACTORY? CURRENTLY IM NOT DRIVING THE CAR AND WAITING FOR THE NEWEST REVISION OF THE OIL SEPARATOR BUT SINCE THE RMS HAS ALREADY BEGAN SEEPING OIL ITS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE IT FAILS COMPLETELY. BEING A TRADE SCHOOL STUDENT WHO IS LOST HIS JOB RIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS LAST YEAR THIS UNEXPECTED FAILURE OF THE REAR MAIN SEAL AT ONLY 27,500 MILES, REGARDLESS OF VEHICLE AGE IS UNEXPECTED AND AT A SEVERE INCONVENIENCE. IF VOLKSWAGEN CANNOT PROVIDE AT LEAST THE LABOR COST FOR THE RMS REPLACEMENT I CANT SAY ILL EVER BUY ANOTHER VW FROM A DEALERSHIP AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds