Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2013 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (1) Suspension (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (6) Unknown Or Other (27) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (7) Power Train (3) Steering (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/9/2016 - HENDERSON, NV
MY VEHICLE IS LESS THAN THREE YEARS OLD FROM DATE OF PURCHASE (OCT 2013) AND CURRENT MILEAGE IS JUST SHY OF 58K. MY DASHBOARD AROUND THE AIRBAGS IS CRACKED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. IT IS ALSO CRACKED JUST ABOVE THE DRIVER SIDE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. MY VEHICLE WAS NOT MOVING, IT WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY. MY CONCERN IS IN THE EVENT OF A VEHICLE ACCIDENT SHOULD THE AIRBAGS DEPLOY THAT THE BROKEN DASHBOARD PIECES WILL BECOME PROJECTILES. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH VIA SOCIAL MEDIA AND VARIOUS NEWS SOURCES, I HAVE LEARNED THAT THIS IS AN ISSUE WITH GM PRODUCTS (AVALANCHE, ESCALADE, SIERRA, SILVERADO, SUBURBAN, TAHOE, YUKON) FROM 2007 TO 2014. THESE VEHICLES SHOULD BE RECALLED TO HAVE THE DASHBOARDS REPLACED WITH A MORE SUITABLE MATERIAL THAT WILL NOT CRACK IN LESS THAN THREE YEARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/22/2016 - DAVIE, FL
THIS IS THE THIRD SUBURBAN I HAVE OWNED IN THE LAST 7 YEARS. I HAVE OWNED A 2008, 2011 AND NOW A 2013. THEY HAVE ALL HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. THE DASH BOARD CRACKS AT THE LEFT TOP CORNER OF THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. I AM AFRAID THAT IF THE AIR BAG GOES OFF THE DASH MAY SEPARATE INTO PIECES BECOMING FLYING OBJECTS. IN MY CURRENT 2013 VEHICLE THE DASH HAS ALSO STARTED TO CRACK ON THE DASH PANEL ON THE DRIVERS SIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/22/2016 - DAVIE, FL
THIS IS THE THIRD SUBURBAN I HAVE OWNED IN THE LAST 7 YEARS. I HAVE OWNED A 2008, 2011 AND NOW A 2013. THEY HAVE ALL HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. THE DASH BOARD CRACKS AT THE LEFT TOP CORNER OF THE PASSENGER AIRBAG. I AM AFRAID THAT IF THE AIR BAG GOES OFF THE DASH MAY SEPARATE INTO PIECES BECOMING FLYING OBJECTS. IN MY CURRENT 2013 VEHICLE THE DASH HAS ALSO STARTED TO CRACK ON THE DASH PANEL ON THE DRIVERS SIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/19/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
ON JAN. 11, 2016. I WAS SITTING IN MY VEHICLE ON A CVS PARKING LOT WHEN MY REAR HATCH GLASS EXPLODED. NOTHING HIT MY GLASS AND THE SURVEILLANCE VIDEO SHOWED NO ONE AROUND MY VEHICLE WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I WAS TOLD IT COULD HAVE BEEN FROM THE EXTREME COLD CONDITIONS IN COMBINATION WITH HAVING THE REAR DEFROST ON. GM WOULD NOT WARRANT THIS AS A DEFECT, AND I HAVE SEEN OTHER INSTANCES THAT THIS HAS OCCURRED WITH OTHER PEOPLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/13/2016 - SPRING, TX
THE DASHBOARD ON MY 2013 SUBURBAN, JUST OUT OF FACTORY WARRANTY WITH 40K MILES, SPONTANEOUSLY CRACKED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED. THIS CRACK COULD POTENTIALLY AFFECT THE FUNCTION AND/OR SAFETY OF THE AIRBAG IN THE CASE OF AN ACCIDENT OR DEPLOYMENT. I CONTACTED GM AND THEY CLAIM TO KNOW NOTHING ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND DENY THERE IS A PRODUCT DEFECT. I HAVE SINCE FOUND MANY OTHERS ONLINE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM, SOME OF WHOM HAVE FILED LEGAL ACTION AGAINST GM FOR THE SAME ISSUE. THERE IS ALSO A FACEBOOK PAGE WITH OVER 3200 MEMBERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM AND LACK OF RESPONSE FROM GM IN TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS OBVIOUSLY DEFECTIVE AND POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS PRODUCT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/25/2016 - COLUMBUS, MS
REAR LIFT GATE WHEN ATTEMPTING TO RAISE WILL RISE 1/2 WAY THEN COME BACK DOWN, THEN BACK UP, THEN BACK DOWN. SOMETIMES WILL GO ALL THE WAY UP AND WHEN I GO UNDER IT IT THE LIFT GATE WILL COME DOWN WITH FORCE HITTING ME ON MY HEAD. CONSTANT TROUBLE WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/5/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE DASHBOARD NEAR THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG HAS SPLIT/CRACKED. I AM CONCERNED THAT IT COULD COMPRISE THE DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIRBAG IN AN ACCIDENT GIVEN THE LOCATION OF THE CRACK. THE VEHICLE WAS LESS THEN 2 YEARS OLD WHEN THE CRACKING BEGAN, BUT CHEVROLET WOULD NOT INVESTIGATE THE INTEGRITY OF THE AIRBAG WITHOUT ME INCURRING A COST DUE TO BEING SLIGHTLY PAST THE 36K MILE WARRANTY. UPON SOME SIMPLE INTERNET SEARCHING, IT SEEMS THIS IS CRACKING IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE FOR OWNERS OF THESE TRUCKS. BUT, NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW IF IT WILL COMPROMISE THE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. I KNOW I WOULD PREFER TO NOT FIND THAT OUT IN AN ACCIDENT AND BELIEVE CHEVROLET SHOULD TAKE ACCOUNTABILITY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2015 - RANDOLPH, MA
MY VEHICLE IS ONLY 2 YEARS OLD. AT APPROXIMATELY 85000 MILES ON A CAR THAT IS PROPERLY MAINTAINED IT SUDDENLY STARTED TO BURN OUT SPARK PLUGS. AFTER NUMEROUS SPARK PLUG BURN OUTS AND SERVICE APPOINTMENTS I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENGINE IS DAMAGED BECAUSE THE NUMBER 1 CYLINDER WAS CRACKED AND OPENING THE ENGINE WAS THE ONLY WAY TO CONFIRM HOW SIGNIFICANT THE ISSUE WAS. AS THE COST AND REMEDY WAS UNKNOWN AND LONGTERM FIX SEEMED UNFAVORABLE TO ME, I TOOK THE OPTION TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. I HAVE TRIED TO GET TO A RESOLUTION WITH GM BUT GOT ABSOLUTELY NOWHERE. I AM IN A NETWORK OF OWNERS OF THESE VEHICLES AND A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF DRIVERS ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUE. SOME GM SERVICE STATIONS HAVE ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE ISSUE WAS NOT CORRECTED UNTIL THE 2015 MODEL YEAR. THIS TELLS ME THAT GM IS AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND HAS CHOSEN TO DO ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO ASSIST CUSTOMERS WITH THIS UNACCEPTABLE ISSUE. OVERVIEW OF THE MANY ISSUES: EXCESSIVE OIL USAGE SPARK PLUGS BURNING OUT OR FAILING SLUGGISH ENGINE CLICKING NOISE IN ENGINE PRIOR TO FIXING THE ENGINE, I SPENT APPROXIMATELY $1500 IN REPAIRS AND LOST WAGES AS I USE THE VEHICLE FOR WORK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/17/2015 - COUNTRYSIDE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RUNNING HEAD LAMPS AND DRIVER SIDE TAIL LIGHT BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUSES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,044.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/17/2015 - COUNTRYSIDE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RUNNING HEAD LAMPS AND DRIVER SIDE TAIL LIGHT BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUSES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,044.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds