Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-250 - 2013 FORD F-250 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-250

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-250. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-250, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (15) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Diesel (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine (7) Seat Belts (2) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

7/26/2016 - MANVEL, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-250. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE'S FRONT END WOBBLED UNCONTROLLABLY. THE CONTACT STATED IT FELT AS IF HE WERE LOSING CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WHEELS AND ROTORS WERE THE CAUSE OF THE WOBBLE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE LOST COMPONENTS THAT NEEDED TO BE TIGHTENED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER AGAIN, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. ... UPDATED 08/23/16

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/26/2016 - MANVEL, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-250. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE'S FRONT END WOBBLED UNCONTROLLABLY. THE CONTACT STATED IT FELT AS IF HE WERE LOSING CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WHEELS AND ROTORS WERE THE CAUSE OF THE WOBBLE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE LOST COMPONENTS THAT NEEDED TO BE TIGHTENED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER AGAIN, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. ... UPDATED 08/23/16

View Details

WHEELS

6/6/2016 - MESA, AZ
HIGHWAY DRIVING FELT A VIBRATION. PULLED OVER, FOUND BULGE IN TREAD OF STOCK FORD MICHELIN LT275/65 R20 ON THE RIGHT REAR. MILEAGE 24,091. REPLACED WITH SAME TIRE. NOW, PULLING TOYHAULER, FELT SAME VIBRATION AGAIN. PULLED OVER, LEFT REAR HAS A BULGE. MILEAGE, 24,494. 403 MILES LATER. RELUCTANTLY REPLACED WITH SAME TIRE. NOW, DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, FELT THE VIBRATION AGAIN. JUST AS I GOT IN THE RIGHT LANE, FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLOWS. MILEAGE, 26,210. 1716 MILES LATER. SERIOUSLY HAVING DOUBTS ABOUT THESE MICHELIN TIRES FORD USES ON THEIR SUPER DUTY TRUCKS. EXTREMELY RELUCTANT TO REPLACE WITH MICHELINS AGAIN BUT NOW I HAVE NO CHOICE EXCEPT SPEND BIG BUCKS FOR A COMPLETE NEW SET OF TIRES. SO THIS TIME I REPLACE BOTH FRONT TIRES AT THE SAME TIME. WHY THERE IS NO ACTION ON THESE TIRES IS BEYOND ME. MICHELIN LTX275/65 R20 TIRES NEED TO BE RECALLED NOW.

View Details

STEERING

10/22/2015 - ESCONDIDO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-250. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A BENT FRAME, WHICH RESULTED IN A SHAKE IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE FAILURE WAS NOTICEABLE UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE AT SPEEDS APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE VEERED INDEPENDENTLY WHEN IT STRUCK A BUMP. THE VEHICLE ALSO HAD A BENT FRAME. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BENT FRAME RESULTED IN FAILURE WITH THE STEERING. THE VEHICLE HAD ALIGNMENTS, THE TIRE WAS REPLACED, AND THE STEERING STABILIZED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE TECHNICIAN ALSO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BENT FRAME WAS ACCEPTABLE AND DID NOT NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/22/2015 - ESCONDIDO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-250. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A BENT FRAME, WHICH RESULTED IN A SHAKE IN THE STEERING WHEEL. THE FAILURE WAS NOTICEABLE UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE AT SPEEDS APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE VEERED INDEPENDENTLY WHEN IT STRUCK A BUMP. THE VEHICLE ALSO HAD A BENT FRAME. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BENT FRAME RESULTED IN FAILURE WITH THE STEERING. THE VEHICLE HAD ALIGNMENTS, THE TIRE WAS REPLACED, AND THE STEERING STABILIZED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE TECHNICIAN ALSO DIAGNOSED THAT THE BENT FRAME WAS ACCEPTABLE AND DID NOT NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/15/2015 - PENN VALLEY, CA
HAVE HAD 2 SENSORS FAIL IN EGT ,THIS IS PART OF SMOG CONTROL, FORD DOESN'T WARRANTY. WORK WAS DONE BY GEWEKE FORD, YUBA CITY, CA 95991 ON 10/15/15 INVOICE 6117108/1.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/20/2015 - IDAHO CITY, ID
THE DASH LIGHTS ARE AUTO TURN ON/OFF, THERE IS NO MANUAL CONTROL. THIS WORKS GREAT IN TOTAL DARKNESS, SINCE THE LIGHTS ARE ON AND YOU CAN SEE THE NUMBERS. IN THE DAYTIME, WHEN DRIVING THROUGH TREES AND CANYONS THE DASH LIGHTS ARE OFF, YOU CAN NOT TURN THEM ON WITH THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH OR ANY OTHER MANUAL MEANS. THE REASON I BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT YOU CAN NOT SEE HOW FAST YOU ARE GOING, OR ANY OF YOUR GAUGES. MONITORING YOUR SPEED IS A MAIN FEATURE WHEN YOU DRIVE, AND I DOUBT THAT MY SHERIFF WILL EXCUSE ME FOR SPEEDING BECAUSE I CANNOT SEE HOW FAST I AM DRIVING. FROM A SAFETY STANDPOINT GOING TOO FAST INTO A CURVE CAN CAUSE YOU TO ROLL THE VEHICLE, AND I CANNOT SEE MY DASH PANEL SINCE I DRIVE THROUGH THE FOREST AND CANYONS EVERYDAY WHEN I LEAVE MY HOUSE. THERE IS A LIGHT SENSOR ON THE DASH BOARD, THAT IF YOU PUT A RAG OVER IT, THE DASH PANEL WILL LIGHT UP. IT SEEMS INSANE TO HAVE TO PUT A TOWEL ON THE DASH OF A $45,000 VEHICLE AND OVER RIDE THE COMPUTER. THE FORD DEALERSHIP HAS CHECKED IT OUT 4 TIMES UNDER WARRANTY AND THEY SAY THAT IT IS WORKING AS THE TRUCK WAS BUILT TO BE. THE ENGINEERS THEY HAVE DISCUSSED THIS WITH SAY IT IS THE WAY IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE. FOR THE MONEY AND THE SAFETY, I WANT TO BE ABLE TO TURN ON THESE LIGHTS. NOT ALL TRIM LEVELS OF THIS VEHICLE HAVE THIS ISSUE, BUT THAT DOESN'T MEAN THAT I SHOULD BE HELD HOSTAGE BY A COMPUTER. THANKS. 2013 IS NOT THE ONLY AFFECTED YEAR FOR THE F250 XLT TRIM UPDATED 10/21/15

View Details

SEATS

6/5/2015 - BURLINGTON, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-250. WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE VEHICLE WOULD SURGE FORWARD UNCONTROLLABLY CAUSING THE SEAT TO RECLINE. THE CONTACT STATED THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

6/5/2015 - BURLINGTON, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-250. WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE VEHICLE WOULD SURGE FORWARD UNCONTROLLABLY CAUSING THE SEAT TO RECLINE. THE CONTACT STATED THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2015 - BOERNE, TX
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THAT THIS ISSUE HAS HAPPENED. THE FIRST OCCASION WAS ON 1-22-15 WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, MESSAGE CENTER ALERT NOTIFIED THAT A EMISSIONS FAULT HAD OCCURRED AND VEHICLE WILL BE PUT INTO EMERGENCY MODE AND SPEED WILL BE LIMITED TO 50 MPH WITHIN 50 MILES. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER AND WAS NOTIFIED THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE DEF SYSTEM. AT THE SAME TIME, I WAS INFORMED THAT AN UPDATE WAS NEEDED (14E03 PROGRAM UPDATE). THIS WAS A FUEL SYSTEM CALIBRATION. ALL WORK WAS COMPLETED WITH NO EXPLANATION. I LEFT AND THE TRUCK SEEMED FINE WITH NO MESSAGES. THE SECOND ISSUE HAPPENED ON 2-3-15 O.D. READING 57393. I WAS DRIVING 75 MPH ON IH10 WHEN THE MESSAGE CENTER NOTIFIED ME THAT A EMISSIONS SYSTEM ERROR HAD OCCURRED AND THE VEHICLE SPEED IS NOW LIMITED TO 50 MPH. AS A RESULT, THE TRUCK BEGAN TO IMMEDIATELY SLOW TO 50 MPH. I LOOKED IN MY REARVIEW MIRROR AND NOTICE A SEMI-TRUCK CLOSING FROM BEHIND AT 70-75 MPH. WE WERE BOTH IN THE RIGHT HAND LANE AND ANOTHER CAR WAS NEXT TO THE TRUCK IN THE PASSING LANE. THE TRUCK HAD NO WAY TO MOVE OVER AND AVOID ME. AS THEY APPROACHED ME, I HAD TO MOVE RIGHT TO THE SHOULDER TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF THE PENDING DISASTER. THE SEMI-TRUCK STARTED TO JACKKNIFE AND BARELY MISSED ME. THE OTHER CAR HAD TO MOVE OVER INTO THE MEDIAN. THIS WAS HORRIBLE AND POTENTIALLY DEADLY. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER AND THEIR REPORT STATES THAT A NOX MODULE FAILED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE... NOT AN EMISSIONS ISSUE. HOW STUPID CAN YOU POSSIBLY BE TO PUT A POSSIBLE EMISSIONS PROBLEM IN FRONT OF ALL OF THE HUMAN LIVES AT STAKE. IN ADDITION, THERE SEEMS TO BE SEVERAL EMISSIONS SENSORS THAT CAN FAIL THAT WILL SHUT THE TRUCK DOWN IMMEDIATELY. THIS IS TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED. FORD ADMITTED THAT THEY OVERRIDE THIS LIMITATION FOR AMBULANCES. EITHER THE TRUCK IS SAFE OR IT'S NOT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds