Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 441 complaints filed for the 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (10) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (55) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seats (4) Suspension (13) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (40) Exterior Lighting (130) Service Brakes (84) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (26) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (61) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (21) Steering (78)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/29/2019 - WESLACO, TX
STARTED HAVING TROUBLE WITH BRAKES, PEDAL IS GETTING HARD AT LOW SPEEDS. DONT HAVE TROUBLE UNTIL IN AT RED LIGHTS OR STOP SIGNS. NO CHECK ENGINE SEEMS TO COME UP YET.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2019 - WESTMINSTER, MD
DRIVING VEHICLE AT A LOW SPEED INTO A PARKING LOT, WHEN SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING, IT COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. NO POWER WHATSOEVER, UNABLE TO PUT ON HAZARD LIGHTS. DISCONNECTED BATTERY NEUTRAL AND HOT FOR ABOUT 10-15 MIN. RECONNECTED AND IT STARTED BACK UP. THERE WAS A DASHBOARD MESSAGE TO ROLL DRIVING WINDOW UP AND DOWN. THIS HAS HAPPENED IN THE PAST, BUT ONLY WHEN STARTING, NEVER WHILE IN DRIVE AND IN FORWARD MOTION! IN THE PAST I HAD IT DIAGNOSED FOR THE NO CRANK NO START AND FOR $400 I UPDATED THE BCM. TYPICALLY, WITH NO CRANK NO START, I WOULD DISCONNECT BATTERY NEUTRAL FOR 10 MINUTES, RECONNECT AND START UP SLOWLY, IE: TURN IGNITION TO ON, WAIT 1 MIN THEN CRANK IT TO START. I HAVE ACCEPTED THE OCCASIONAL NO CRANK NO START, BUT THE IDEA THAT THIS HAPPENED IN DRIVE IS UNACCEPTABLE AND INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/25/2019 - BROOKSVILLE, FL
WHEN TRUCK IS PUT IN REVERSE, ALL POWER BRAKES ARE LOST. ASSUMPTION IS A FAULT VACUUM PUMP

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/22/2019 - BATON ROUGE, LA
TAKATA RECALL, PARKING ASSIST SENSORS QUIT WORKING. ABS LIGHTS STAY ON WITH THE ALERT "SERVICE STABILITRAK". MANUFACTURE FAULTY ELECTRICAL GROUND IS POSSIBLY THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. MY TRUCK IS NOT EVEN 5 YEARS OLD YET. THERE HAVE ALREADY BEEN A LOT OF REPORTS OF THIS SAME ISSUE BY OTHER OWNERS. THIS IS A SAFETY PROBLEM THAT CAN CAUSE COLLISIONS WHEN DEPENDING ON THIS FEATURE TO WORK.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/22/2019 - BATON ROUGE, LA
TAKATA RECALL, PARKING ASSIST SENSORS QUIT WORKING. ABS LIGHTS STAY ON WITH THE ALERT "SERVICE STABILITRAK". MANUFACTURE FAULTY ELECTRICAL GROUND IS POSSIBLY THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. MY TRUCK IS NOT EVEN 5 YEARS OLD YET. THERE HAVE ALREADY BEEN A LOT OF REPORTS OF THIS SAME ISSUE BY OTHER OWNERS. THIS IS A SAFETY PROBLEM THAT CAN CAUSE COLLISIONS WHEN DEPENDING ON THIS FEATURE TO WORK.

View Details

STEERING

6/13/2019 - COLLINSVILLE, OK
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY WHEN COMPLETE POWER STEERING FAILURE OCCURRED. IT WAS RAINING AT THE TIME, AND THIS TOOK PLACE APPROXIMATELY 30 SECONDS AFTER DRIVING THROUGH A SHALLOW PUDDLE IN MY LANE WITH THE DRIVER SIDE TIRES. VEHICLE WAS IMMEDIATELY VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER, EVEN AT HIGHWAY SPEED. I AM A FIT MALE WITH STRONG ARMS AND IT WAS ALMOST MORE STEERING RESISTANCE THAN I COULD MANAGE. HAD THIS OCCURRED WHILE TURNING, I DOUBT I WOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL THE DIRECTION OF THE VEHICLE. EVEN WHILE DRIVING IN A STRAIGHT LINE, IF THIS HAD HAPPENED TO A PERSON WITH VERY MUCH LESS UPPER BODY STRENGTH, THEY WOULD HAVE BEEN IN REAL TROUBLE, AS THEY WOULD BE UNABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE SAFELY OFF OF THE ROADWAY. THE SHOP DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS BEING A FAILED ELECTRIC POWERED RACK AND PINION (STEERING GEAR). THEY SAID THAT THIS WAS NOT RELATED TO THE PREVIOUSLY ISSUED RECALL ON THE POWER STEERING, AND THAT IT REQUIRED REPLACEMENT OF THE APPARENTLY SHORTED OUT STEERING GEAR.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/12/2019 - CHAMBERSBURG, PA
WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS JUST STOP WORKING, THE HEAD LIGHT INDICATOR COMES ON AND THERE IS NO RESPONSE FROM WINDSHIELD WIPERS, THE RAIN GETS HARDER AND TURNED THE WIPERS BACK OFF THE HEADLIGHT INDICATOR GOES OFF, TRY TURNING THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BACK ON AND NOTHING. SO WHEN ON AN INTERSTATE IN RAIN WITH SEMI TRUCKS AROUND YOU OR JUST FOLLOWING ANOTHER VEHICLE, IF IT IS RACING OR POURING OR WHATEVER THE WEATHER, YOU NEED THE WIPERS TO WORK, THIS IS A BIG PROBLEM, I HAVE SEARCHED ON LINE ISSUES OF THIS AND IT IS SOMETHING THAT HAS BEEN A COMPLAINT FROM BRAND NEW AND STILL ON GOING. RECALLS WERE ONLY POSTED FOR 2 MODELS OF VEHICLES BUT THE PROBLEM IS WITH THE PICKUPS AS WELL. THE WIPERS ARE A VERY IMPORTANT PART OF A SAFE RIDE AND IT IS IMPORTANT TO HAVE THIS ISSUE FIXED. THE PRICE WE PAY FOR VEHICLES THEY SHOULD BE SAFELY EQUIPPED FOR THIS PRICE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/5/2019 - TWINSBURG, OH
WHILE BACKING SLOWLY ON A BOAT LAUNCH RAMP, PETAL WAS DEPRESSED ALL THE WAY AND THE TOW VEHICLE DID NOT STOP IMMEDIATELY. FELT AS THOUGH THE PETAL WAS TO THE FLOOR, VEHICLE ROLLED UP TO SEVERAL FEET BEFORE STOPPING. TOWING ROUGHLY 6800 LB. WHICH IS WITHIN SPECIFICATION LIMIT FOR THIS SPECIFIC VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/31/2019 - MOUNT HOLLY, NC
THE GMC SIERRA TRUCK WILL LOOSE POWER STEERING WHILE IT IS BEING DRIVEN. THIS HAS OCCURRED THREE TIMES SO FAR. THERE APPEARS TO BE SOME TYPE OF ELECTRICAL ERROR WITH THE TRAILER BRAKE. THEN, NUMEROUS WARNING LIGHTS COME ON AND THE TRUCK LOOSES POWER STEERING. IT IS DANGEROUS AND DIFFICULT TO DRIVE AT THAT POINT. IT IS RANDOM. THE TRUCK WILL CONNECT AGAIN AND EVERYTHING WILL FUNCTION LIKE NORMAL. THE TRUCK WAS TAKEN TO A GM DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THERE WAS COMMUNICATION ERRORS. THE FUSE BLOCK WAS REPLACED FOR ALMOST 600 DOLLARS. THEN, THE VEHICLE DID THE SAME THING AGAIN AFTER THAT REPAIR. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE SAME DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS AT THEIR SHOP FOR 8 DAYS. THEY WERE UNABLE TO GET THE ERROR SO NO REPAIRS WERE MADE. I HAVE CONTACTED GM CORP ON THREE OCCASIONS. THE SENIOR ADVISOR ASSIGNED TO MY CASE HAS NOT EVER CONTACTED ME ABOUT THE ISSUE. THEY ADVISED THAT SOMEONE WITH GM WOULD CONTACT ME IN 2 DAYS. IT HAS BEEN OVER 8 DAYS. PICKING THE VEHICLE BACK UP FROM THE DEALER. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I FEEL THAT THE GM ENGINEERS HAVE KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THESE ISSUES BUT NO ONE WILL EVEN CALL ME BACK. THERE IS SOME ELECTRICAL GLITCH THAT CAN CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO LOOSE ITS POWER STEERING. RESEARCH SHOWS THAT 690,000 TRUCKS WERE RECALLED IN 2017 IN REFERENCE TO RECALL # 17276 . THE DEALERSHIP ADVISED THAT MY TRUCK RECEIVED THE NECESSARY ITEMS FOR THAT IN 2017. I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. I CURRENTLY HAVE A TRUCK THAT IS NOT SAFE AND GM DOESN'T SEEM TO BE CONCERNED ABOUT IT. IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD. I'M SURE OTHER TRUCK OWNERS HAVE HAD SIMILAR ISSUES. I DO NOT WANT SOMEONE TO BE INJURED OR KILLED BECAUSE GM WILL NOT STEP UP AND HANDLE THIS ISSUE. I LOST POWER STEERING ON MAY 14TH, 15TH AND 23RD 2019.

View Details

STEERING

5/30/2019 - ANIAK, AK
MY ELECTRICAL POWER STEERING HAS GIVEN OUT. I CANT STEER WHATSOEVER. IT IS ON RECALL. WE FO HAVE A LOCAL SHOP BUT IT IS NOT A GM SHOP. WE DID TRY WORKING WITH GM AND ALSO THE SELLER-AK SALES AND SERVICE TO TRY GET IT FIXED. THEY WILL NOT HELP ME WHATSOEVER. I LOVE IN THE BUSH WHICH MEANS WE HAVE LIMITED ACCESS. IF I WANTED TO GET THIS FIXED I'D HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET OVER I GRAND TO GET MY VEHICLE BARGED TO AMCHORAGE, AK. WHICH I DONT HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY. I STILL OWE OVER 11 GRAND ON MY TRUCK. I'M SOL AS TO WHAT TO DO.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds