Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC SIERRA 1500 - 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 441 complaints filed for the 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (10) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (55) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seats (4) Suspension (13) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (40) Exterior Lighting (130) Service Brakes (84) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (26) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (61) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (21) Steering (78)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/12/2019 - PALMDALE, CA
BRAKES LOOSE PRESSURE, WHEN PRESSED ON UPHILL/DOWN HILL,IN REVERSE. AC HOSE FROM CONDENSER TO COMPRESSOR IS FAULTY LEAK OUT ALL FLUID

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/12/2019 - PALMDALE, CA
BRAKES LOOSE PRESSURE, WHEN PRESSED ON UPHILL/DOWN HILL,IN REVERSE. AC HOSE FROM CONDENSER TO COMPRESSOR IS FAULTY LEAK OUT ALL FLUID

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/25/2019 - WAUKESHA, WI
THIS OCCURRENCE HAPPENED IN THE SPRING OF 2018. I HAD EXITED THE HIGHWAY AFTER A 25 MINUTE DRIVE AND SAT IN A LONG LINE TO ENTER A BALLPARK. THE WAIT IN THIS SLOW MOVING LINE MAY HAVE BEEN A HALF HOUR. IN THIS HALF HOUR, I WOULD LET OFF THE BRAKE TO ROLL FORWARD AND REAPPLY THE BRAKE. IT WAS MOSTLY DOWN HILL SO THE GAS PEDAL WAS UNNECESSARY. WHEN WE PAYED FOR PARKING, WE WERE ASKED TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, POINTING IN THE WRONG DIRECTION FOR PARKING. THE VEHICLE WAS PUT IN PARK. AFTER ISSUES WERE RESOLVED, I PUT THE VEHICLE IN DRIVE AND TURNED AROUND FOR PARKING. IT WAS HERE THAT I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL TO GET BACK IN LINE, BUT WHEN I HIT THE BRAKE AS I ENTERED MY SPOT, THE BRAKE REFUSED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. I CONTINUED TO PRESS THE BRAKE, BRACING MY BACK AGAINST THE SEAT BACK REST, AND COULD FEEL US SLOWING, BUT NOT TO THE DEGREE I WAS PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL FOR. NO ACCIDENT OCCURRED AND THE SPEED I WAS SLOWING DOWN FROM COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE THAN 15 MPH. AS WE ENTERED THE PARKING LOT, THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. I COULD ONLY SLOW THE VEHICLE BY BRACING AGAINST THE BRAKE PEDAL. I COULD NOT GET THE VEHICLE TO SUDDEN STOP FROM A ROLLING SPEED. I REVERSED INTO MY PARKING SPOT, PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, APPLIED THE PARKING BRAKE, AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE. WHEN I RETURNED FROM THE BALL GAME, I STARTED THE VEHICLE BACK UP, TOOK OFF THE PARKING BRAKE, PUT IT IN DRIVE AND TESTED THE BRAKES IN THE PARKING LOT. THE BRAKES FUNCTIONED LIKE NORMAL. DEPRESSING THE BRAKES HARD WOULD MAKE THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STOP. I HAVE NOT HAD THIS ISSUE SINCE. I HAVE NOT RETURNED TO THE BALLPARK YET, BUT I HAVE BEEN IN TRAFFIC JAMS AND BEEN TO OTHER ENTERTAINMENT EVENTS WHICH WOULD SIMULATE THE SAME SITUATIONS.

View Details

STEERING

2/25/2019 - NEW IBERIA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE STEERING FAILED AND THE VEHICLE BECAME DIFFICULT TO STEER. ALSO, THE SERVICE VEHICLE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MUSSON PATOUT BUICK GMC (214 U.S. 90 FRONTAGE RD, NEW IBERIA, LA 70560, (337) 465-4161) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING MOTOR PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/18/2019 - WEST COVINA, CA
ON 2/12/19 I WAS DRIVING DOWN A BUSY STREET AT ABOUT 1:30PM I WAS TRYING TO APPLY MY BREAKS AND I COULD NOT STOP THERE WAS NO BREAKS. I HAD TO SWERVE INTO A LITTLE STREET TO AVOID CRASHING INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. I PUT MY TRUCK INTO PARK TO STOP MY VEHICLE FROM CRASHING. I HAD MY TRUCK TOWED TO MY MECHANIC AND MY VACUUM PUMP HAD TO BE REPLACED. WHICH THAT IS PART OF MY BREAKING SYSTEM. THE REASON I'M MAKING THIS COMPLAINT IS BECAUSE THIS COULD HAVE ENDED UP IN A FATALITY WHICH I WANT TO AVOID. THIS PART NEEDS TO BE RECALLED AND ALL VEHICLES NEED TO BE CHECKED BEFORE THIS HAPPENS TO SOMEONE ELSE. BECAUSE IT HAPPENED TO ME IT CAN HAPPEN TO ANYONE THAT OWNS THIS VEHICLE. MY TRUCK HAD LOW MILES ONLY 76,470. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/11/2019 - ABILENE, TX
HEADLIGHTS ON MY 2014 GMC SIERRA 1500 SLT ARE TOTALLY INADEQUATE ON HIGH OR LOW BEAM. THE LIGHTING DISTANCE IS INADEQUATE AND IS SO DIRECTIONAL THAT THERE IS NO SIDE FLAIR LIGHTING FOR TURNING LIKE YOU HAVE WITH CONVENTIONAL HEADLIGHTS. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED IMMEDIATELY BY THE NHTSA. I HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR 41/2 YEARS AND THE PROBLEM IS ONGOING SINCE I BOUGHT IT. THE DEALER HAS NO SOLUTION. NEW HI/LOW BULBS, DEALER INSTALLED AND STILL VERY DIM AND UNSAFE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/5/2019 - MT. PLEASANT, TN
WHEN SLOWING DOWN, THE BRAKE PEDAL ON THE VEHICLE WOULD BECOME HARD TO PRESS. ONCE THE BREAK PEDAL BECAME HARD, IT WOULD TAKE A LONGER DISTANCE TO STOP THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY. IT HAPPENED AT SLOWER SPEEDS, FOR EXAMPLE AS I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/30/2019 - OSSINING, NY
BRAKE PEDAL BECAME HARD AND WAS DIFFICULT TO STOP PROPERLY. I FELT THAT I HAD NO CONTROL OVER THIS VEHICLE. .I BROUGHT THE TRUCK TO VAIL GMC IN MT KISCO ,NY ON SEPT 22, 2017 THEY SAID IT WAS THE VACUUM PUMP AND HAD TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $353.16. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAD 40256 MILES ON IT JUST OUT OF WARRANTY. IT WAS BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION THAT THIS A REAL PROBLEM WITH THIS ISSUE NATIONALLY. THIS IS A POTENTIALLY A DANGEROUS CONDITION AND IS UNSAFE.THIS BRAKING PROBLEM WAS ON THE THE CITY STREET AND PARKING LOT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/28/2019 - BOSTON, MA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AND A MESSAGE STATING "SERVICE STABILITRACK" MESSAGE APPEARS SIMULTANEOUSLY WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL, THE CAR LOSES THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE AND MAINTAIN SPEED. I KEPT DRIVING BECAUSE THERE WAS NO SAFE PLACE TO STOP, AND AFTER A FEW MILES THE DOOR LOCKS UNLOCKED THEN LOCKED, THE INFO SCREEN FLASHED AND THEN THE ENGINE REVVED AND APPEARED TO DRIVE NORMALLY. SEVERAL MILES LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN, OVER AND OVER. WHEN I REACHED MY NIEGHBORHOOD THE CAR COMPLETELY POWERED OFF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/28/2019 - BOSTON, MA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AND A MESSAGE STATING "SERVICE STABILITRACK" MESSAGE APPEARS SIMULTANEOUSLY WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL, THE CAR LOSES THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE AND MAINTAIN SPEED. I KEPT DRIVING BECAUSE THERE WAS NO SAFE PLACE TO STOP, AND AFTER A FEW MILES THE DOOR LOCKS UNLOCKED THEN LOCKED, THE INFO SCREEN FLASHED AND THEN THE ENGINE REVVED AND APPEARED TO DRIVE NORMALLY. SEVERAL MILES LATER IT HAPPENED AGAIN, OVER AND OVER. WHEN I REACHED MY NIEGHBORHOOD THE CAR COMPLETELY POWERED OFF.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds