Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 755 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (97) Equipment Adaptive (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (57)
Electrical System (205) Exterior Lighting (17) Power Train (200) Structure (34) Vehicle Speed Control (52)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Seat Belts (65) Suspension (28) Visibility (9)
Engine (81) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seats (8) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (183) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (12)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 103
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/23/2016 - LA VERGNE, TN
FORWARD COLLISION WARNING (FCW) OCCASIONALLY COMES ON WITHOUT REASON IN CITY TRAFFIC,INTERSTATES, AND COUNTRY ROADS (NO TRAFFIC OR OBSTRUCTIONS NEARBY) AND AT VARIOUS SPEEDS CAUSING A "BRAKE" WARNING SIGNAL AND SOMETIMES, NOT ALWAYS, ACTUALLY CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO BRAKE. RELATED TO THE FCW PROBLEM IS A WARNING SIGNAL THAT FREQUENTLY APPEARS THAT INDICATES THE ADAPTIVE CRUISE CONTROL/FCW ARE UNAVAILABLE. VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN SHOP NUMEROUS TIMES AND EXCEPT FOR ONE TIME THAT THE DEALERSHIP FOUND A PART MISSING, THE DEALERSHIP CONTINUES TO INDICATE THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM REMAINS ON-GOING AND HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. THE DATE OF OCCURANCE BELOW IS THE MOST RECENT EVENT WITH THE "BRAKE" WARNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/17/2016 - PLYMOUTH, MN
I DROVE MY CAR TO MY NEIGHBOR'S HOUSE, PUT MY JEEP IN PARK (WHILE IT WAS RUNNING), GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE, WENT TO THE BACK PASSENGER DOOR AND GOT MY DAUGHTER OUT OF THE VEHICLE, WE WALKED IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE, I DROPPED HER OFF AT THEIR HOUSE AND WHILE TALKING TO THE NEIGHBORS FOR A COUPLE OF MINUTES, MY VEHICLE ENGAGED BY ITSELF AND DROVE INTO THEIR GARAGE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/17/2016 - FAIRFAX, VA
WE HAVE HAD 4 INCIDENTS OF UNINTENDED BRAKING (PE15-021) FROM THE COLLISION CONTROL SYSTEM. EXTREME AUTONOMOUS BRAKING WHEN NOTHING WAS IN THE WAY. ADDITIONALLY, WE HAD ONE CASE OF UNINTENDED ACCELERATION IN LOW SPEED (LESS THAN 10 MPH) STOP & GO COMMUTER TRAFFIC RESULTING IN A REAR END CRASH WITH DAMAGE TO OUR JEEP AND THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF US AND THE NEXT VEHICLE IN FRONT OF THEM (3 VEHICLES TOTAL). JEEP ACCELERATED HARD ON ITS OWN WITHOUT PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/17/2016 - FAIRFAX, VA
WE HAVE HAD 4 INCIDENTS OF UNINTENDED BRAKING (PE15-021) FROM THE COLLISION CONTROL SYSTEM. EXTREME AUTONOMOUS BRAKING WHEN NOTHING WAS IN THE WAY. ADDITIONALLY, WE HAD ONE CASE OF UNINTENDED ACCELERATION IN LOW SPEED (LESS THAN 10 MPH) STOP & GO COMMUTER TRAFFIC RESULTING IN A REAR END CRASH WITH DAMAGE TO OUR JEEP AND THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF US AND THE NEXT VEHICLE IN FRONT OF THEM (3 VEHICLES TOTAL). JEEP ACCELERATED HARD ON ITS OWN WITHOUT PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/16/2016 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, IT ROLLED BACKWARDS OVER THE CONTACT'S RIGHT LEG. THE VEHICLE THEN RAN OVER A CURB AND CRASHED INTO A LAMP POST. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED LEG INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/10/2016 - LINCOLN, CA
ON AT LEAST TWO OCCASIONS THE JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE ROLLED AFTER THE SHIFTER WAS PLACED IN PARK POSITION. !. ON 11/18/2013 DOOR WAS AJAR WHILE DRIVER WAS ABOUT TO TURN OFF VEHICLE. JEEP SLIPPED OUT OF PARK AND SLOWLY BACKED INTO A CONCRETE BUTTRESS AT A GAS STATION CAUSING $900 DAMAGE TO THE DRIVER DOOR AND FRONT QUARTER PANEL. 2. IN THAT SAME WEEK, SHIFTER SLIPPED OUT OF PARK WHILE DRIVER WAS BEHIND VEHICLE TAKING A PHOTOGRAPH. SERIOUS INJURY PREVENTED BY PASSENGER WHO PUSHED THE SHIFTER BACK INTO PARK. VEHICLE TAKEN TO DEALER FOR THIS PROBLEM ON 11/22/2013. DEALER INSPECTED AND HAD INSPECTION BY CHRYSLER FIELD REP. BOTH DENIED PROBLEM. SEE ATTACHMENT. THE PROBLEM CONTINUES. IT IS NECESSARY TO CAREFULLY INSURE TRANSMISSION IS IN PARK BY HOLDING GEAR SHIFT IN PLACE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/10/2016 - LINCOLN, NH
VEHICLE SPONTANEOUSLY SHIFTED FROM PARK TO REVERSE WHEN OPERATOR REACHED INTO VEHICLE TO SHUT OFF ENGINE. VEHICLE WAS PARKED ON A DOWNWARD CITY STREET SLOPE (FACING DOWNHILL), AND REVERSED UPHILL, DRAGGING OPERATOR INTO AN INTERSECTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/10/2016 - RALEIGH, NC
GEAR SHIFTER DOES NOT MOVE FLUIDLY AND OFTEN IT IS UNCLEAR AS TO WHICH POSITION THE SHIFTER IS ACTUALLY ENGAGED. IT HAS OCCURRED THAT WHEN I THINK IT IS IN PARK, IT IS ACTUALLY IN NEUTRAL. I ACTUALLY PUSHED THE START/STOP ENGINE BUTTON THINKING THE CAR HAD SHUT OFF WHEN IN FACT IT WAS IN NEUTRAL AND WAS STILL RUNNING. HAD I NOT NOTICED THIS AT THE LAST MOMENT THE CAR COULD HAVE EASILY ROLLED INTO PARKING LOT TRAFFIC. THIS ALSO HAS OCCURRED WHEN PARKING IN MY GARAGE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/9/2016 - SOUTH VIENNA, OH
ELECTRONIC TRANSMISSION SHIFTER IS DIFFICULT TO USE. I HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE FOR 3 WEEKS AND HAVE ALREADY UNINTENTIONALLY HAD MY VEHICLE ROLL FROM A STOPPED POSITION. IN AN ATTEMPT TO PLACE THE VEHICLE IN "PARK" FROM "DRIVE," THE VEHICLE WAS ACCIDENTALLY SHIFTED INTO "REVERSE" DUE TO POOR OPERATOR FRIENDLINESS COMPARED TO TRADITIONAL SHIFTERS. SHIFTING THE VEHICLE FROM "NEUTRAL" HAS ALSO NOT REGISTERED CORRECTLY ON OCCASIONS DUE TO PREREQUISITES TO SHIFT OUT OF THAT GEAR (FOOT ON BRAKE AND BUTTON HELD DOWN). THE SHIFTER RELEASE BUTTON HAS VERY POOR FEEDBACK AND IS DIFFICULT TO USE AS WELL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/9/2016 - RIDGE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE GEAR WAS IN THE PARK POSITION, THE VEHICLE STILL MOVED FORWARD. THE FAILURE OCCURRED CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 103
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds