Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1031 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (118) Equipment Adaptive (18) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (85)
Electrical System (293) Exterior Lighting (29) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (42) Vehicle Speed Control (62)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Forward Collision Avoidance (2) Power Train (268) Structure (38) Visibility (13)
Engine (110) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seat Belts (74) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (21)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seats (29) Tires (2) Wheels (13)
Equipment (10) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (213) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 133
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/20/2017 - MAPLE VALLEY, WA
MY GIRLFRIEND WAS TRAVELING 60 MILES PER HOUR DOWN INTERSTATE 167 OUTSIDE OF PUYALLUP, WASHINGTON ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 5, 2016. WINTER HAD FINALLY ARRIVED WITH A LIGHT SNOW AND ICY ROADS. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY THE DASHBOARD ILLUMINATED AND THE SPEEDOMETER STOPPED RESPONDING. WE HAVE A VERY IMPORTANT PERSON IN MY LIFE, A MOM, AND A STEP-MOM, THAT IS TRAVELING AT THE RATED SPEED LIMIT IN POTENTIALLY ICY CONDITIONS AND WE HAVE LOST ALL SYSTEMS TO INCLUDE AIR SUSPENSION, AIRBAG SYSTEM, ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS) , ELECTRONIC BRAKING SYSTEM (EBS), TRACTION CONTROL.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/20/2017 - MAPLE VALLEY, WA
MY GIRLFRIEND WAS TRAVELING 60 MILES PER HOUR DOWN INTERSTATE 167 OUTSIDE OF PUYALLUP, WASHINGTON ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 5, 2016. WINTER HAD FINALLY ARRIVED WITH A LIGHT SNOW AND ICY ROADS. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY THE DASHBOARD ILLUMINATED AND THE SPEEDOMETER STOPPED RESPONDING. WE HAVE A VERY IMPORTANT PERSON IN MY LIFE, A MOM, AND A STEP-MOM, THAT IS TRAVELING AT THE RATED SPEED LIMIT IN POTENTIALLY ICY CONDITIONS AND WE HAVE LOST ALL SYSTEMS TO INCLUDE AIR SUSPENSION, AIRBAG SYSTEM, ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS) , ELECTRONIC BRAKING SYSTEM (EBS), TRACTION CONTROL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/20/2017 - MAPLE VALLEY, WA
MY GIRLFRIEND WAS TRAVELING 60 MILES PER HOUR DOWN INTERSTATE 167 OUTSIDE OF PUYALLUP, WASHINGTON ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 5, 2016. WINTER HAD FINALLY ARRIVED WITH A LIGHT SNOW AND ICY ROADS. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY THE DASHBOARD ILLUMINATED AND THE SPEEDOMETER STOPPED RESPONDING. WE HAVE A VERY IMPORTANT PERSON IN MY LIFE, A MOM, AND A STEP-MOM, THAT IS TRAVELING AT THE RATED SPEED LIMIT IN POTENTIALLY ICY CONDITIONS AND WE HAVE LOST ALL SYSTEMS TO INCLUDE AIR SUSPENSION, AIRBAG SYSTEM, ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS) , ELECTRONIC BRAKING SYSTEM (EBS), TRACTION CONTROL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/20/2017 - MAPLE VALLEY, WA
SAFETY DEFECT/NON COMPLIANCE DESCRIPTION AND SAFETY RISK THE ALTERNATOR MAY EXPERIENCE DIODE THERMAL FATIGUE FAILURE DUE TO CYCLICAL LOADS INDUCED BY ELECTRO-HYDRAULIC POWER STEERING. FAILED DIODES MAY ALSO DEVELOP A RESISTIVE SHORT CIRCUIT THAT CAN RESULT IN HEAT, SMOKE AND/OR FIRE ORIGINATING WITHIN THE ALTERNATOR. REPAIR DESCRIPTION THE ALTERNATOR PART NUMBER MUST BE INSPECTED ON ALL INVOLVED VEHICLES. VEHICLES FOUND WITH THE SUSPECT ALTERNATOR WILL HAVE IT REPLACED WITH A NEW ALTERNATOR CONTAINING IMPROVED DIODES ON ALL AFFECTED VEHICLES. RECALL STATUS INCOMPLETE BUT REPAIR PARTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE GET NOTIFIED WHEN PARTS ARE AVAILABLE ON DECEMBER 19, 2017 WE EXPERIENCED ONCE AGAIN ANOTHER PROBLEM. AFTER MY SON+S YOUTH BASKETBALL GAME, WE WENT TO THE PARKING LOT TO HEAD A COUPLE OF BLOCKS HOME AT APPROXIMATELY 8:15 PM. TURNING OUT ONTO THE ROADWAY, THE DASHBOARD LIT UP WITH WARNING LIGHT STATING THAT THE BATTERY WAS LOW AND THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING STARTED HOWLING. I SHUT DOWN AS MUCH OF THE INFOTAINMENT CENTER AS POSSIBLE TO CONSERVE POWER TO MAKE SURE THAT I MADE IT HOME. THE FRONT WINDSHIELD STARTED TO FOG UP SO I TURNED THE DEFROSTER ON LOW. AS SOON AS THE AIR STARTED COMING OUT, I COULD SMELL AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. UPON MY ARRIVAL HOME, I POPPED OPEN THE HOOD AND COULD SMELL ELECTRICAL BURN. I DECIDED TO SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESEARCH RECALLS AND TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS. I BELIEVE THIS NEW ISSUE FALLS UNDER RECALL T75.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/18/2017 - LYNBROOK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V572000 (SERVICE BRAKES, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER (GARDEN CITY JEEP CHRYSLER DODGE RAM SRT, 283 N FRANKLIN ST, HEMPSTEAD, NY 11550) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STEERING

12/6/2017 - EAST NASSAU, NY
DRIVER SEATBELT DOES NOT RETRACT TO TIGHTEN ON DRIVER WHILE DRIVING OR STATIONARY. SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE! ADDITIONALLY, NONE OF THE CONTROLS ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL WORK EVER; CRUISE CONTROL, PARK ASSIST, LANE DEPARTURE WARNING, ETC.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/6/2017 - EAST NASSAU, NY
DRIVER SEATBELT DOES NOT RETRACT TO TIGHTEN ON DRIVER WHILE DRIVING OR STATIONARY. SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE! ADDITIONALLY, NONE OF THE CONTROLS ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL WORK EVER; CRUISE CONTROL, PARK ASSIST, LANE DEPARTURE WARNING, ETC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/6/2017 - EAST NASSAU, NY
DRIVER SEATBELT DOES NOT RETRACT TO TIGHTEN ON DRIVER WHILE DRIVING OR STATIONARY. SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE! ADDITIONALLY, NONE OF THE CONTROLS ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE STEERING WHEEL WORK EVER; CRUISE CONTROL, PARK ASSIST, LANE DEPARTURE WARNING, ETC.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: HEAD RESTRAINT

12/6/2017 - PACOIMA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, A LOUD NOISE OCCURRED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER HEADREST AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RYDELL CHRYSLER DEALER (700 SAN FERNANDO RD, SAN FERNANDO, CA 91340, PHONE (866) 733-3506) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT AN ELECTRICAL CONCERN HEADREST RESTRAINT DID NOT LOCK INTO PLACE, AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT HEADREST RESTRAINT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RYDELL CHRYSLER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/6/2017 - PACOIMA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, A LOUD NOISE OCCURRED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER HEADREST AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RYDELL CHRYSLER DEALER (700 SAN FERNANDO RD, SAN FERNANDO, CA 91340, PHONE (866) 733-3506) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT AN ELECTRICAL CONCERN HEADREST RESTRAINT DID NOT LOCK INTO PLACE, AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT HEADREST RESTRAINT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RYDELL CHRYSLER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 133
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds