Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 780 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (97) Equipment Adaptive (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (60)
Electrical System (209) Exterior Lighting (19) Power Train (213) Structure (35) Vehicle Speed Control (52)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel Propulsion System (18) Seat Belts (65) Suspension (28) Visibility (9)
Engine (83) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seats (8) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (186) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (13)
Equipment (7) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 105
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/31/2016 - GRETNA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE TO THE DRIVE POSITION, THE GEAR REMAINED IN NEUTRAL. WHILE DRIVING ON AN INCLINE, THE CONTACT PLACED THE VEHICLE IN DRIVE AND IT BEGAN TO REVERSE WITHOUT WARNING AND CRASHED INTO A TREE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE FAILURE OCCURRED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/25/2016 - HANOVER, PA
HAVE 2 RECALLS, P36/NHTSA 14V-391 AND P67/NHTSA 14V-643, THAT HAVE YET TO BE FIXED. THE P36 IS FROM AUGUST 2014 AND P67 FROM APPROX 1YR AGO.THE DEALER, NOW APPLE CHRYSLER/JEEP HANOVER, PA, TOLD ME I AM ON A WAITING LIST DUE TO NO PARTS TO FIX FOR P36 AND HAVE ASKED THEM SEVERAL TIMES FOR P67 TO INCLUDE DURING NORMAL SERVICE. NEITHER HAVE BEEN FIXED TO DATE. WROTE CHRYSLER SOME 6 MONTHS AGO ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY PASSED ME TO THE DEALER WHO SAID THEY WOULD GET BACK TO ME - STILL NO RESPONSE. EMAILED A COMPLAINT TO CHRYSLER CORP AGAIN TODAY. MY WIFE ONLY DRIVES THE VEHICLE WHEN SHE MUST, FOR FEAR IT MAY CATCH FIRE OR THE PASSIVE RESTRAINT SYSTEM TO FAIL WITH GRANDCHILDREN ABOARD. THESE RECALLS, OVER A YEAR OLD, SHOWS CHRYSLER HAS NO REGARD FOR IT'S CUSTOMERS LETTING THEM DRIVE UNSAFE VEHICLES FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2016 - HANOVER, PA
HAVE 2 RECALLS, P36/NHTSA 14V-391 AND P67/NHTSA 14V-643, THAT HAVE YET TO BE FIXED. THE P36 IS FROM AUGUST 2014 AND P67 FROM APPROX 1YR AGO.THE DEALER, NOW APPLE CHRYSLER/JEEP HANOVER, PA, TOLD ME I AM ON A WAITING LIST DUE TO NO PARTS TO FIX FOR P36 AND HAVE ASKED THEM SEVERAL TIMES FOR P67 TO INCLUDE DURING NORMAL SERVICE. NEITHER HAVE BEEN FIXED TO DATE. WROTE CHRYSLER SOME 6 MONTHS AGO ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND THEY PASSED ME TO THE DEALER WHO SAID THEY WOULD GET BACK TO ME - STILL NO RESPONSE. EMAILED A COMPLAINT TO CHRYSLER CORP AGAIN TODAY. MY WIFE ONLY DRIVES THE VEHICLE WHEN SHE MUST, FOR FEAR IT MAY CATCH FIRE OR THE PASSIVE RESTRAINT SYSTEM TO FAIL WITH GRANDCHILDREN ABOARD. THESE RECALLS, OVER A YEAR OLD, SHOWS CHRYSLER HAS NO REGARD FOR IT'S CUSTOMERS LETTING THEM DRIVE UNSAFE VEHICLES FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/24/2016 - CHESAPEAKE CITY, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHIFTED OUT OF GEAR WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO SWITCH GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER AND THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE RECURRED AT LEAST FOUR TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY FOR A TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT AND TWO VALVE BODIES. THE CONTACT RETRIEVED THE VEHICLE FROM THE DEALER ON MARCH 12, 2016. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,000. UPDATED 05/10/16

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/22/2016 - HAVRE DE GRACE, MD
WHEN I SAW THE NEWS STORY ON 3/21/16 ABOUT THE GEAR SHIFTER, IN MY 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, IT VALIDATED WHAT I HAD BEEN EXPERIENCING. I HAD DISLIKED THE DESIGN SINCE THE FIRST DAY I OWNED THE CAR. WHEN I SHIFTED, I WAS ALWAYS IN THE WRONG GEAR. A FELLOW JEEP OWNER SUGGESTED, I SHIFT AS HARD AS I COULD INTO PARK AND THE SAME FOR DRIVE. IT WORKED MOST OF THE TIME. I HAVE OFTEN STARTED TO EXIT THE CAR ONLY TO FIND IT WAS IN REVERSE, NOT PARK AND I OFTEN PUT IT IN PARK WHEN I MEAN TO REVERSE AS WELL AS SPORT MODE WHEN I WANT DRIVE. LUCKILY, A SIGNAL DOES GO OFF AND I CAN PUT MY FOOT BACK ON THE BREAK AND SHIFT IT INTO PARK. I HAD NEVER EXITED THE CAR AND HAD IT ROLL, BUT IT MAKES SENSE THAT SOMEONE WOULD. IT IS A HORRIBLE DESIGN AND I AM HOPING FOR A RECALL THAT WOULD MAKE JEEP REPLACE THE GEAR SHIFTER. I HAD TO ENTER A DATE THAT IT HAPPENED BELOW, BUT IT HAPPENS ALL THE TIME. I CANNOT ACTUALLY REPORT AN ACCIDENT/INCIDENT, I SIMPLY WANT TO VALIDATE THE THEORY THAT THE DESIGN IS FLAWED AND DANGEROUS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/22/2016 - EAGLE CREEK, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE PLACING THE GEAR SHIFT INTO PARK, THE GEAR SHIFT BECAME INOPERABLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 4,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/22/2016 - AVON, OH
WE ARE LEASING A 2014 JEEP CHEROKEE COMPONEN:T GEAR SHIFT- VEHICLE ROLLED BACK AFTER THINKING IT WAS IN PARK BUT DRIVER WAS ABLE TO JUMP BACK IN AND STOP IT ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, BUT ON ONE OCCASION, VEHICLE ROLLED BACKWARD IN A PARKING GARAGE INTO A CEMENT PILLAR AFTER EXITING THE CAR THINKING IT WAS IN THE PARK POSITION CAUSING SEVERE DAMAGE TO THE REAR AND DRIVER SIDE. NEW GEAR SHIFT DESIGN VERY TRICKY AND COULD BE POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2016 - MIDDLE TOWN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 21,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/22/2016 - WOODMERE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE AND SHIFTING INTO THE PARK POSITION, THE VEHICLE WENT INTO REVERSE AND DRAGGED THE DRIVER WHILE ATTEMTPING TO EXIT. DURING THE INCIDENT, THE DRIVER SUFFERED AN INJURED LEFT SHOULDER. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT NO INFORMATION WAS AVAILABLE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/22/2016 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
I PLACED MY 2014 GRAND CHEROKEE OVERLAND (4 MONTHS OLD 1900 MILES) IN PARK AND LEFT IT RUNNING WHILE EXITING TO GET MY MAIL FROM MY MAILBOX. UPON EXITING, I VALIDATED MY JEEP WAS IN PARK ON THE SHIFTER. IT DID NOT MOVE WHEN I LET OFF THE BREAK (ON COMPLETE LEVEL GROUND), THE BACKUP CAMERA DISPLAY WAS NOT PRESENT, AND THE VEHICLE DID NOT CHIME WHEN EXITING TO SHOW THE VEHICLE WAS STILL IN GEAR. I DID NOT HAVE THE EMERGENCY BREAK ACTIVATED. I WALKED 50 FEET TO MY MAILBOX AS I NOTICED THE VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING IN REVERSE TOWARDS MY NEIGHBOR'S HOUSE. I RAN AFTER IT AS IT DROVE THROUGH MY NEIGHBOR'S LANDSCAPING AND WAS READY TO RUN INTO HIS GARAGE DOOR. I CAUGHT UP TO THE VEHICLE, JUMPED IN IT SIDEWAYS TO HIT THE BREAK, WAS THROWN OUT OF THE VEHICLE AND IT SLAMMED INTO THE GARAGE DOOR. HAD I NOT PARTIALLY STOPPED THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO FULL IMPACT, THE DAMAGE WOULD HAVE BEEN EVEN EXTENSIVE. LUCKILY I JUST HAD MINOR CUTS AND BRUISES AND NO ONE ELSE WAS HURT, BUT THERE WAS DAMAGE TO THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE BUMPER OF MY JEEP (STRESS MARKS AND PAINT DAMAGE) AND I HAD TO REPLACE MY NEIGHBOR'S FULL GARAGE DOOR. I TOOK MY JEEP INTO MY DEALERSHIP THE NEXT DAY (10/13/14) AND THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT REPEAT THE ISSUE, HOWEVER, THEY HAD TO APPLY A TRANSMISSION SOFTWARE UPDATE THAT CONTROLLED DOWNSHIFTING GEAR RATIOS ABOUT COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP. I FIND THIS IRONIC THIS HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH MY TIMELY TRANSMISSION ISSUE. AS I HAVE SEEN MANY MORE CASES AND NEWS STORIES REPORTED ON THIS ISSUE, I WANTED TO ENSURE I REPORTED MINE TO HELP JEEP TAKE NEEDED ACTION TO PREVENT ANY FURTHER ACCIDENTS OR INJURIES.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 105
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds