Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 991 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (114) Equipment Adaptive (18) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (81)
Electrical System (277) Exterior Lighting (28) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (42) Vehicle Speed Control (60)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Forward Collision Avoidance (2) Power Train (266) Structure (38) Visibility (11)
Engine (103) Fuel Propulsion System (31) Seat Belts (72) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (20)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seats (18) Tires (2) Wheels (13)
Equipment (9) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (208) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 128
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

9/19/2017 - LEE SUMMIT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. LEE SUMMIT DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM (1051 SE OLDHAM PARKWAY, LEE SUMMIT, MISSOURI 64081) WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REPLACED AN UNKNOWN WIRE IN THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED A SECOND TIME AS NEEDING THE WIRING HARNESS REPLACED UNDER THE DRIVER'S SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,300.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/19/2017 - LEE SUMMIT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. LEE SUMMIT DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM (1051 SE OLDHAM PARKWAY, LEE SUMMIT, MISSOURI 64081) WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REPLACED AN UNKNOWN WIRE IN THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED A SECOND TIME AS NEEDING THE WIRING HARNESS REPLACED UNDER THE DRIVER'S SEAT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,300.

View Details

SEATS

9/15/2017 - MAUMELLE, AR
VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH 'ACTIVE HEADRESTS' WHICH ARE INTENDED TO DEPLOY IN EVENT OF COLLISION. FRONT PASSENGER HEADREST MALFUNCTIONED AND DEPLOYED WHILE DRIVING AND UNOCCUPIED. FRONT PASSENGER SEAT IS RARELY OCCUPIED AND VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN IN A COLLISION. THE INTERNAL COMPONENTS OF THE HEADREST ARE BROKEN AND IT CANNOT BE RESET. CHRYSLER HAS REFUSED TO OFFER ASSISTANCE FOR THIS IMPORTANT SAFETY COMPONENT GIVEN THAT THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY. GIVEN THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ITEM THAT I SHOULD BE ABLE TO DEPEND ON, THE FACT THAT THE FRONT SEAT IS RARELY OCCUPIED AND THEREFORE BEEN SUBJECTED TO MINIMAL WEAR AND TEAR AND THAT MY RESEARCH FINDS THIS TO BE AN ONGOING ISSUE WITH JEEP VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH THIS FEATURE, IT APPEARS THAT THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

SEATS

9/11/2017 - SHELBY, NC
I GOT IN MY CAR ONE EVENING AND NOTICED THE PASSENGER SIDE ACTIVE HEAD RESTRAINT WAS POPPED OPEN. APPARENTLY THIS HAPPENED WHILE THE CAR WAS SITTING IN MY GARAGE. I HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT AND THIS SEAT VERY RARELY HAS ANYONE SITTING IN IT. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP, THE SERVICE REP. SAID THE CHRYSLER REP. WAS THERE THAT DAY. THE SERVICE REP. CAME BACK TO ME A LITTLE WHILE LATER AND SAID, "APPARENTLY THIS IS HAPPENING QUITE A BIT. THE CHRYSLER REP. HAS YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION. THEY WILL INVESTIGATE AND GET IN TOUCH WITH YOU." OVER A WEEK LATER, THEY FINALLY SENT AN E-MAIL SAYING THEY WOULD NOT REPLACE THE PART BECAUSE THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY. THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE THAT HAS FAILED!!! OTHERS HAVE POSTED ON THE INTERNET THAT THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO THEM, SOME WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD! I THINK THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL TO REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE ACTIVE HEAD RESTRAINTS!!! NOT ONLY IS A BROKEN ONE GOING TO FAIL TO PROTECT SOMEONE IN A WRECK, BUT ONE POPPING OPEN WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD CAN CAUSE A WRECK! THE PLASTIC PARTS INSIDE THE HEAD RESTRAINT ARE APPARENTLY NOT STRONG ENOUGH FOR THE TENSION THAT IS PLACED ON THEM. CHRYSLER SHOULD REPLACE THESE DEFECTIVE SAFETY DEVICES!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

8/30/2017 - PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HENDRICKSON CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (LOCATED AT 114 N 8TH STREET, MONTICELLO, IN 47960; (574) 583-6151) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 800-334-9200 AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO ASSIST SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. A CASE NUMBER WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2017 - EAST ORANGE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V435000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER NIELSEN DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM LOCATED AT 175 NJ-10, EAST HANOVER, NJ 07936; (973) 884-2100 WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 800-992-1997 AND WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

8/23/2017 - BOULDER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING, THE STEERING WHEEL JERKED INADVERTENTLY. THE CONTACT HEARD A SCREECHING NOISE COMING FROM THE WHEELS AND THE WHEELS BEGAN TO ADJUST INADVERTENTLY. ALSO, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND THE BLINKERS MALFUNCTIONED. THE TRACTION CONTROL ACTIVATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO TURN WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO POLLARD JEEP (LOCATED AT 5075 EAST PEARL PKWY, BOULDER, CO 80301, (303) 447-8187) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V636000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/23/2017 - BOULDER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING, THE STEERING WHEEL JERKED INADVERTENTLY. THE CONTACT HEARD A SCREECHING NOISE COMING FROM THE WHEELS AND THE WHEELS BEGAN TO ADJUST INADVERTENTLY. ALSO, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND THE BLINKERS MALFUNCTIONED. THE TRACTION CONTROL ACTIVATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO TURN WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO POLLARD JEEP (LOCATED AT 5075 EAST PEARL PKWY, BOULDER, CO 80301, (303) 447-8187) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V636000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/23/2017 - BOULDER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING, THE STEERING WHEEL JERKED INADVERTENTLY. THE CONTACT HEARD A SCREECHING NOISE COMING FROM THE WHEELS AND THE WHEELS BEGAN TO ADJUST INADVERTENTLY. ALSO, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND THE BLINKERS MALFUNCTIONED. THE TRACTION CONTROL ACTIVATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO TURN WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO POLLARD JEEP (LOCATED AT 5075 EAST PEARL PKWY, BOULDER, CO 80301, (303) 447-8187) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V636000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/23/2017 - GASTON, SC
I PURCHASED MY USED 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE FROM JT'S CHRYSLER & JEEP IN LEXINGTON, SC ON MAY 27TH, 2017. SOMETIME A FEW WEEKS LATER IN JUNE, WE STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH OUR RADIO AND TOUCH SCREEN PANEL. IT DID AN AUTOMATIC UPDATE BY ITSELF (SCREEN SAID TO KEEP VEHICLE RUNNING FOR 15 MINS TO COMPLETE) AND NOW IT WILL NOT SAVE ANY PRESETS THAT WE TRY AND SAVE TO IT. THE VOLUME TO THE RADIO WORKS FINE SOME DAYS, OTHER DAYS, WE CANNOT GET THE VOLUME TO WORK ON THE RADIO AT ALL...OR WORSE, SOMETIMES IT WILL LET US TURN THE VOLUME UP SOME AND THEN WE CANNOT GET IT TO TURN BACK DOWN (CAUSING ISSUES WHEN I NEED TO HEAR THINGS OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE) UNTIL WE POWER THE IGNITION DOWN. IT HAS AFFECTED THE NAVIGATION AND SPEAKERS TO SOME DEGREE ALREADY AND WE HAVE TAKEN IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TWICE TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT WITH NO RESOLUTION. THEY HAVE TOLD US THEY TRIED A "FLASH UPDATE" BUT IT STILL HAS NOT HELPED. WE CONSTANTLY GET AN ERROR MESSAGE STATING "VEHICLE PHONE NEEDS SERVICE". I DID SOME RESEARCH AFTER OUR LAST SERVICE APPOINTMENT AND REALIZED THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE RADIO'S FOR THIS MODEL AND YEAR JEEP FOR THE SAME ISSUES WE ARE HAVING BUT, I DO NOT SEE OUR VIN # LISTED IN THE RECALL. I AM LOOKING FOR SOMEONE TO SHED SOME LIGHT IF POSSIBLE ON HOW WE CAN GO ABOUT GETTING THIS RESOLVED. THANK YOU!

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 128
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds