Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1005 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (115) Equipment Adaptive (18) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (83)
Electrical System (286) Exterior Lighting (28) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (42) Vehicle Speed Control (60)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Forward Collision Avoidance (2) Power Train (268) Structure (38) Visibility (11)
Engine (105) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seat Belts (73) Suspension (30) Visibility Wiper (21)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seats (19) Tires (2) Wheels (13)
Equipment (9) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (209) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 130
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/4/2017 - COLLEYVILLE, TX
ENGINE FAILED. THE ENGINE (5.7L HEMI) FAILED IN MIDDLE OF SIX LANE ROAD. FORTUNATELY NOT MUCH TRAFFIC AROUND VEHICLE WHEN ENGINE FAILED. IF THIS HAPPENED ON INTERSTATE IT COULD HAVE A SUBSTANTIAL SAFETY RISK. MECHANIC REPORTED THE ENGINE LOST A ROD AND DAMAGED THE BLOCK. SINCE VEHICLE UNDER WARRANTY, THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED. ONLY 47000 MILES ON ENGINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/3/2017 - STUART, FL
THE ACTIVE HEAD REST FOR MY 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE HAD SPONTANEOUSLY DEPLOYED WHILE PARKED IN MY GARAGE. I HAD TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR AND I WAS TOLD THE PLASTIC CLIPS WERE BROKEN AND IT COULDN'T BE RESET AND THE HEAD REST NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT MY EXPENSE. APPARENTLY THIS IS NOT A VEHICLE RECALL ISSUE BUT POSSIBLY SHOULD BE LOOKED INTO AS ONE. I HAVE FOLLOWED UP THIS TYPE OF ISSUE ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND MULTIPLE CASES WITH SIMILAR OR THE EXACT TYPE OF ISSUE. THIS POSES A HUGE SAFETY HAZARD, IF I HAD BEEN DRIVING, AND THE HEADREST DEPLOYED IN THIS MANNER IT COULD HAVE CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

11/2/2017 - PFAFFTOWN, NC
ON 9-08-2017, MY WIFE AND I WERE RETURNING TO PFAFFTOWN, NC FROM GARDEN CITY, SC. A FEW MILES INTO THE DRIVE I THOUGHT I HEARD A HIGH PITCHED SOUND, BUT COULD NOT LOCATE IT. THEN WE THOUGHT WE SMELLED SOMETHING HOT, BUT THOUGHT IS WAS AN OLD TRUCK AHEAD OF US, BUT A FEW MILES LATER I GOT A LOW VOLTAGE SIGN AND TOLD MY WIFE TO CAR THE NEAREST JEEP DEALERSHIP AS WE HAD ENTERED CONWAY, SC. HAVING SOME BASIC ENGINE KNOWLEDGE I KNEW THE ALTERNATOR WASN'T CHARGING THE BATTERY AND THAT I WOULD LOSE ALL POWER. LUCKILY FOR US THE DEALERSHIP WAS LESS THAN 1.5 MILES AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE TO IT. WHEN I OPENED THE HOOD I FOUND THE ALTERNATOR SMOKING AND ALMOST HOT ENOUGH TO CATCH FIRE DUE TO OVERCHARGING. LUCKILY THE DEALERSHIP WAS ABLE TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND WE WERE ON OUR WAS HOME IN ABOUT AN HOUR, BUT WITH A $806.00 COST FOR THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE HAD 74109 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. WHEN I GOT HOME MY MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEES FOR EXACTLY WHAT HAPPEN TO MINE. I CHECKED THIS WEBSITE AND FIAT/ CHRYSLER AND FOUND MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. I ALSO TALKED TO A NICE CHRYSLER REPRESENTATIVE OVER THE PHONE. SHE ALSO SAID THAT IT WAS NOT INCLUDED. IT JUST SEEMS TO ME THAT MY VEHICLE, WHICH IS THE SAME MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR AS THOSE UNDER RECALL, AND HAD THE EXACT PROBLEM ADDRESSED BY THE RECALL SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE RECALL. AND NOTE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CLOSE TO LOSING ALL ELECTRICAL POWER, WHICH AFFECTS THE STEERING AND TRANSMISSION ON THESE VEHICLES AND I COULD HAVE LOST CONTROL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/2/2017 - PFAFFTOWN, NC
ON 9-08-2017, MY WIFE AND I WERE RETURNING TO PFAFFTOWN, NC FROM GARDEN CITY, SC. A FEW MILES INTO THE DRIVE I THOUGHT I HEARD A HIGH PITCHED SOUND, BUT COULD NOT LOCATE IT. THEN WE THOUGHT WE SMELLED SOMETHING HOT, BUT THOUGHT IS WAS AN OLD TRUCK AHEAD OF US, BUT A FEW MILES LATER I GOT A LOW VOLTAGE SIGN AND TOLD MY WIFE TO CAR THE NEAREST JEEP DEALERSHIP AS WE HAD ENTERED CONWAY, SC. HAVING SOME BASIC ENGINE KNOWLEDGE I KNEW THE ALTERNATOR WASN'T CHARGING THE BATTERY AND THAT I WOULD LOSE ALL POWER. LUCKILY FOR US THE DEALERSHIP WAS LESS THAN 1.5 MILES AND I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE TO IT. WHEN I OPENED THE HOOD I FOUND THE ALTERNATOR SMOKING AND ALMOST HOT ENOUGH TO CATCH FIRE DUE TO OVERCHARGING. LUCKILY THE DEALERSHIP WAS ABLE TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR AND WE WERE ON OUR WAS HOME IN ABOUT AN HOUR, BUT WITH A $806.00 COST FOR THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE HAD 74109 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. WHEN I GOT HOME MY MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEES FOR EXACTLY WHAT HAPPEN TO MINE. I CHECKED THIS WEBSITE AND FIAT/ CHRYSLER AND FOUND MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. I ALSO TALKED TO A NICE CHRYSLER REPRESENTATIVE OVER THE PHONE. SHE ALSO SAID THAT IT WAS NOT INCLUDED. IT JUST SEEMS TO ME THAT MY VEHICLE, WHICH IS THE SAME MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR AS THOSE UNDER RECALL, AND HAD THE EXACT PROBLEM ADDRESSED BY THE RECALL SHOULD BE COVERED BY THE RECALL. AND NOTE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CLOSE TO LOSING ALL ELECTRICAL POWER, WHICH AFFECTS THE STEERING AND TRANSMISSION ON THESE VEHICLES AND I COULD HAVE LOST CONTROL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2017 - BLAINE, MN
I HAVE A RECURRING PROBLEM WITH MY 2017 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR A PERIOD OF 17 MONTHS. MY PROBLEM STARTED IN MAY, 2016 WHEN MY NAVIGATION SYSTEM FAILED BY GIVING ME THE WRONG INFORMATION BY INSTRUCTING ME TO TURN INTO A ONE WAY (WRONG WAY) TRAFFIC LANE. THIS HAS SINCE HAPPENED MANY TIMES SINCE THEN BY DIRECTING ME INCORRECTLY. THE COMPLETE NAVIGATION SYSTEM, CLOCK & COMPASS, PERIODICALLY DON'T WORK. ON OCCASION I RECEIVE THE FOLLOWING MESSAGE ON MY VEHICLE'S COMPUTER SCREEN "VEHICLE PHONE REQUIRES SERVICE PLEASE CONTACT YOUR DEALER." AFTER NUMEROUS APPOINTMENTS WITH THE DEALER & TELLING THEM THAT THE PROBLEM IS NOT WITH MY PHONE THEY FINALLY SAID THEY COULD NOT REPAIR THE PROBLEM AND GAVE ME AN 800 NUMBER TO CALL THE MANUFACTURER CUSTOMER SERVICE. AFTER NUMEROUS DISCUSSIONS WITH VARIOUS CUSTOMER SERVICE PEOPLE OVER A PERIOD OF TWO MONTHS, ON 9/28/2017 CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSON PATRICIA SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE HOWEVER THAT A "JEEP SERVICE BULLETIN #08-028-17 WITH UPDATES TO SOFTWARE LEVEL 17.11.07 WILL OCCUR IN A PHASED ROLL-OUT AND MAYBE THE PROBLEM WILL GO AWAY." THEY TOLD ME I WOULD RECEIVE DOWNLOAD INSTRUCTIONS BUT COULD NOT TELL ME WHEN THESE INSTRUCTIONS WOULD BE SENT OUT. THE SYSTEM WILL WORK PERIODICALLY BUT FAILS MORE OFTEN THAN NOT. YESTERDAY I WAS AGAIN USING THE NAVIGATION IN AN AREA THAT I UNFAMILIAR WITH AND THE SYSTEM AGAIN TRIED TO ROUTE ME INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2017 - BLAINE, MN
I HAVE A RECURRING PROBLEM WITH MY 2017 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR A PERIOD OF 17 MONTHS. MY PROBLEM STARTED IN MAY, 2016 WHEN MY NAVIGATION SYSTEM FAILED BY GIVING ME THE WRONG INFORMATION BY INSTRUCTING ME TO TURN INTO A ONE WAY (WRONG WAY) TRAFFIC LANE. THIS HAS SINCE HAPPENED MANY TIMES SINCE THEN BY DIRECTING ME INCORRECTLY. THE COMPLETE NAVIGATION SYSTEM, CLOCK & COMPASS, PERIODICALLY DON'T WORK. ON OCCASION I RECEIVE THE FOLLOWING MESSAGE ON MY VEHICLE'S COMPUTER SCREEN "VEHICLE PHONE REQUIRES SERVICE PLEASE CONTACT YOUR DEALER." AFTER NUMEROUS APPOINTMENTS WITH THE DEALER & TELLING THEM THAT THE PROBLEM IS NOT WITH MY PHONE THEY FINALLY SAID THEY COULD NOT REPAIR THE PROBLEM AND GAVE ME AN 800 NUMBER TO CALL THE MANUFACTURER CUSTOMER SERVICE. AFTER NUMEROUS DISCUSSIONS WITH VARIOUS CUSTOMER SERVICE PEOPLE OVER A PERIOD OF TWO MONTHS, ON 9/28/2017 CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSON PATRICIA SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE HOWEVER THAT A "JEEP SERVICE BULLETIN #08-028-17 WITH UPDATES TO SOFTWARE LEVEL 17.11.07 WILL OCCUR IN A PHASED ROLL-OUT AND MAYBE THE PROBLEM WILL GO AWAY." THEY TOLD ME I WOULD RECEIVE DOWNLOAD INSTRUCTIONS BUT COULD NOT TELL ME WHEN THESE INSTRUCTIONS WOULD BE SENT OUT. THE SYSTEM WILL WORK PERIODICALLY BUT FAILS MORE OFTEN THAN NOT. YESTERDAY I WAS AGAIN USING THE NAVIGATION IN AN AREA THAT I UNFAMILIAR WITH AND THE SYSTEM AGAIN TRIED TO ROUTE ME INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2017 - FISHERVILLE, KY
I HAVE TAKEN MY JEEP TO THE DEALERSHIP 4 TIMES ALREADY. I HAVE ONLY OWNED IT FOR 3 MONTHS. ABOUT A MONTH OF THAT I HAVEN'T DRIVEN IT. BECAUSE ITS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR SO LONG. IT HAS A PROBLEM WHERE IT SHIFTS REALLY HARD FROM 2ND TO 3RD, 3RD TO 4TH. IT MOVES THE CAR FORWARD THEN JERKS IT BACK REALLY HARD, LIKE YOU'RE GETTING HIT FROM BEHIND. ITS SCARY ESPECIALLY WHEN THERE ARE SMALL CHILDREN IN THE CAR. I HAD THOUGHT I HAD BOUGHT A RELIABLE CAR BUT IT SEEMS THAT 30K HAS GONE TO WASTE AND MY HOOPTY WAS MORE RELIABLE. THE ENGINE ALSO SHAKES AND SOMETIMES IT'S STUCK IN THIRD GEAR! ITS EMBARRASSING AND SCARY TO PULL OUT IN FLOWING TRAFFIC. A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS CAME ON BEFORE BUT I HAVE STILL NOT "MET" THE REQUIREMENTS FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION. THEY REPLACED THE VALVE BODY BUT IT ONLY DROVE SMOOTH FOR A FEW DAYS THEN WENT BACK TO JERK THE ENTIRE CAR AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2017 - FISHERVILLE, KY
I HAVE TAKEN MY JEEP TO THE DEALERSHIP 4 TIMES ALREADY. I HAVE ONLY OWNED IT FOR 3 MONTHS. ABOUT A MONTH OF THAT I HAVEN'T DRIVEN IT. BECAUSE ITS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR SO LONG. IT HAS A PROBLEM WHERE IT SHIFTS REALLY HARD FROM 2ND TO 3RD, 3RD TO 4TH. IT MOVES THE CAR FORWARD THEN JERKS IT BACK REALLY HARD, LIKE YOU'RE GETTING HIT FROM BEHIND. ITS SCARY ESPECIALLY WHEN THERE ARE SMALL CHILDREN IN THE CAR. I HAD THOUGHT I HAD BOUGHT A RELIABLE CAR BUT IT SEEMS THAT 30K HAS GONE TO WASTE AND MY HOOPTY WAS MORE RELIABLE. THE ENGINE ALSO SHAKES AND SOMETIMES IT'S STUCK IN THIRD GEAR! ITS EMBARRASSING AND SCARY TO PULL OUT IN FLOWING TRAFFIC. A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS CAME ON BEFORE BUT I HAVE STILL NOT "MET" THE REQUIREMENTS FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION. THEY REPLACED THE VALVE BODY BUT IT ONLY DROVE SMOOTH FOR A FEW DAYS THEN WENT BACK TO JERK THE ENTIRE CAR AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2017 - BEAVERCREEK, OH
DRIVER'S HEADREST AIRBAG DEPLOYED WHEN WE WERE NOT IN THE CAR, AND THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT. CHRYSLER WAS CONTACTED AND DID A PRIVATE INVESTIGATION WHICH LED THEM TO BELIEVE THAT THE INCIDENT WAS NOT DUE TO MANUFACTURING RESPONSIBILITY. THIS INCIDENT HAPPENED SOME TIME IN EARLY APRIL - WE NOTICED IT AROUND APRIL 14TH. I HAVE CONTACTED THEM 6 TIMES SINCE THEN AND THEY REFUSE TO EXPLAIN WHY THE AIRBAG DEPLOYED, OR OFFER ASSISTANCE IN REPAIRING IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/17/2017 - WILDOMAR, CA
FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM (NOTABLY TANK FILLER AND RELATED EMISSIONS EQUIPMENT) POORLY DESIGNED TO FAIL JUST AFTER CALIFORNIA 50K MILEAGE WARRANTY. DEALER WANTS $800 TO FIX A PROBLEM THE MFG. DESIGNED. ALTERNATOR RECALL-WITH NO RELATED PARTS TO REPAIR-DRIVING AND WAITING FOR THE VEHICLE TO ERUPT INTO A BALL OF FIRE IS UNACCEPTABLE. WHAT COMPONENTS ARE BEING INSTALLED ON 2018 MODELS? WHY CAN'T THOSE PARTS BE INSTALLED ON MY 2014? I AM BEING PREJUDICED AGAINST, AS I CANNOT LEGALLY (THANKS TO AB 217) TRADE THE VEHICLE IN, AS NO DEALER CAN RESELL IT WITH AN OPEN SAFETY RECALL!! I NEED TO GET ANOTHER CAR-BUT I CAN'T!!!!

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 130
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds