Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 917 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (108) Equipment Adaptive (18) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16) Unknown Or Other (73)
Electrical System (248) Exterior Lighting (27) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (37) Vehicle Speed Control (59)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Forward Collision Avoidance (1) Power Train (258) Structure (37) Visibility (11)
Engine (95) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seat Belts (65) Suspension (29) Visibility Wiper (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seats (13) Tires (2) Wheels (13)
Equipment (9) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (200) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 120
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/5/2017 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
THE DRIVER'S SIDE MIRROR OBSTRUCTS OBJECTS ON THE LEFT FORWARD SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE POSITION OF THE MIRROR IS TOO HIGH AND TOO LARGE, THEREFORE BLOCKING THE RANGE OF VISION ON THE LEFT FORWARD SIDE OF VEHICLE. I'M OF AVERAGE HEIGHT (5 FT, 8IN), AND HAVE ATTEMPTED TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE BY RAISING THE SEAT VERY HIGH. UNFORTUNATELY, I'M HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. THE ISSUE IS PARTICULARLY BAD IN URBAN/CITY DRIVING. IT COMPLETELY BLOCKS OUT PEDESTRIANS IN CROSSWALKS WHILE MAKING LEFT TURNS. THIS HAS CAUSED NUMEROUS ISSUES, AND IN ONE CASE, ALMOST STRIKING A PEDESTRIAN. I NEVER SAW THEM, MY PASSENGER ALERTED ME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/3/2017 - BRIDGEWATER, MA
OWNER HAS BEEN HAVING ONGOING ISSUE WITH HEAD UNIT IN 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LIMITED W/44K MILES. VEHICLE WAS ORIGINALLY BOUGHT BACK BY JEEP FOR ELECTRICAL ISSUES THEN RESOLD. RADIO UNIT WAS ALREADY REPLACED TWICE BY THE PREVIOUS OWNER AND THE NEW OWNER IS BEING ASKED TO REPLACE IT FOR A THIRD TIME OUT OF POCKET. HEAD UNIT FREEZES RENDERING THE FUNCTIONS UNUSABLE. ADDITIONALLY, THE SCREEN REMAINS BLACK ON START UP PREVENTING USE OF THE RADIO, PHONE, REAR BACKUP CAMERA AND USE OF THE HEAT CONTROLS SUCH AS TEMPERATURE AND AREA OF HEAT DISTRIBUTION. WILL OCCUR WHILE RUNNING AND WHEN STARTING UP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/29/2017 - PEYTON, CO
SERVICE DEF CAME ON AT 34,000 MILES. DEALER SAID THAT THE DEF WAS CONTAMINATED WITH CRYSTALS AND THE PUMP NEEDED REPLACED. REFUSED TO COVER IT UNDER WARRANTY DUE TO CONTAMINATION. ONLY PEAK BLUE DEF WHICH MEETS ISO 22241 HAS BEEN USED IN THE VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP THEN TOLD US TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL THE BACK ORDERED PART WAS AVAILABLE. WHEN QUERIED ABOUT THE VEHICLE GOING INTO "LIMP MODE" THEY AGREED IT WAS A POSSIBILITY. THEY WOULD NOT PROVIDE A LOANER VEHICLE UNTIL THE PART ARRIVED AND WILL NOT COVER UNDER WARRANTY. THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF CASES ON JEEP FORUMS WITH THE SAME ISSUE. IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE IF A DEALER TELLS YOU TO DRIVE A VEHICLE THEY KNOW WILL GO INTO LIMP MODE, ESPECIALLLY ON A FREEWAY. WE ALSO HAVE A 14 MONTH OLD CHILD AND LIVE IN COLORADO, BREAKING DOWN ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD IS NOT AN OPTION. THE DEALER DOES NOT RETURN PHONE CALLS AND CHRYSLER CUSTOMER CARE SIDED WITH THE DEALER AND PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/28/2017 - MULLICA HILL, NJ
WHILE DRIVING BATTERY LOW VOLTAGE ALARM OCCURRED. SHORTLY AFTER,ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS BEGAN TO SHUT DOWN, LOST POWER STEERING,THEN ENGINE SHUTDOWN. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO SHOULDER OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY. VEHICLE HAD NO POWER :ALL ELECTRICAL INDICATORS,DISPLAYS,LIGHTS,INCLUDING SHIFTER WERE OFF AND COULD NOT BE TURNED ON

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/28/2017 - MULLICA HILL, NJ
WHILE DRIVING BATTERY LOW VOLTAGE ALARM OCCURRED. SHORTLY AFTER,ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS BEGAN TO SHUT DOWN, LOST POWER STEERING,THEN ENGINE SHUTDOWN. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO SHOULDER OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY. VEHICLE HAD NO POWER :ALL ELECTRICAL INDICATORS,DISPLAYS,LIGHTS,INCLUDING SHIFTER WERE OFF AND COULD NOT BE TURNED ON

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/28/2017 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I FILED CASE # 10854550 ON 4/9/16 FOLLOWING AN ACTIVE BRAKING SYSTEM MALFUNCTION WHERE MY VEHICLE BRAKED ON ITS OWN WITH NO VEHICLES OR OTHER OBSTACLES IN MY PATH ON 3/31/16. FOLLOWING THIS INCIDENT, I WENT TO THE JEEP DEALERSHIP AND SPOKE WITH A SERVICE ADVISOR WHO CHECKED FOR ERROR CODES (THERE WERE NONE) AND EXPLAINED THAT THIS MODEL AND YEAR OF JEEP HAD AN ISSUE WITH THE ACTIVE BRAKING FEATURE, STATING THAT KEEPING THE CAMERA CLEAN CAN HELP, AND HE PROCEEDED TO CLEAN MY CAMERA. BUT BECAUSE THIS WAS A KNOWN ISSUE, I DID NOT LEAVE MY VEHICLE FOR FURTHER INSPECTION. AT THE TIME OF THIS INCIDENT, MY NOT YET NINE MONTH OLD SON WAS IN THE CAR WITH ME, SO TO AVOID ANY SAFETY CONCERNS SURROUNDING THIS BRAKING FEATURE, I TURNED THE ACTIVE BRAKING SETTING OFF IN MY CAR TO DISABLE THE FEATURE. THE FEATURE HAS REMAINED OFF SINCE THAT TIME. HOWEVER ON 1/9/17 I WAS STOPPED IN TRAFFIC AT A RED SIGNAL. THE LIGHT CHANGED TO GREEN SO I PROCEEDED TO MOVE FORWARD. THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME HESITATED IN MOVING FORWARD, SO I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS. BEFORE I HAD THE CHANCE TO USE THE BRAKE, THE COLLISION WARNING SYSTEM WENT OFF AND THE ACTIVE BREAKING FEATURE ENGAGED. I WAS SHOCKED, TO SAY THE LEAST. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER AND CHECKED MY VEHICLE SETTINGS. THE FEATURE WAS SUPPOSEDLY STILL TURNED OFF. AT THIS POINT I WAS EXTREMELY WORRIED FOR THE SAFETY OF MY NOW 1.5 YEAR OLD SON WHO WAS ONCE AGAIN WITH ME, SO I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE JEEP DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION. THE DEALERSHIP WAS UNABLE TO RECREATE THE ISSUE, AND THEREFORE NOTHING COULD BE DONE TO ADDRESS IT. I HAD PREVIOUSLY COME TO TERMS WITH THE FACT THAT I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO USE ONE OF THE VERY USEFUL SAFETY FEATURES OF MY VEHICLE DUE TO ITS KNOWN MALFUNCTION, HOWEVER NOW I AM AT A LOSS AS I AM CLEARLY UNABLE TO DISABLE THE FEATURE AND HAVE ANY CONFIDENCE IN KNOWING THAT IT WILL NOT ENGAGE ANYWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/25/2017 - ANKENY, IA
ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS SINCE I BOUGHT MY JEEP NEW A LITTLE OVER 3 YEARS AGO, I THOUGHT MY JEEP WAS IN PARK AND WENT TO GET OUT AND IT WAS ACTUALLY IN REVERSE. THANKFULLY, I HAVE ALWAYS HAD ONLY 1 FOOT OUT AND NOW CHECK TO MAKE SURE IT IS IN PARK EVEN THOUGH I PUSH THE ELECTRONIC SHIFTER ALL THE WAY FORWARD. I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE, BUT THE LOCAL DEALER CLAIMS TO NOT HAVE THE PARTS TO FIX.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/25/2017 - ANKENY, IA
ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS SINCE I BOUGHT MY JEEP NEW A LITTLE OVER 3 YEARS AGO, I THOUGHT MY JEEP WAS IN PARK AND WENT TO GET OUT AND IT WAS ACTUALLY IN REVERSE. THANKFULLY, I HAVE ALWAYS HAD ONLY 1 FOOT OUT AND NOW CHECK TO MAKE SURE IT IS IN PARK EVEN THOUGH I PUSH THE ELECTRONIC SHIFTER ALL THE WAY FORWARD. I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE, BUT THE LOCAL DEALER CLAIMS TO NOT HAVE THE PARTS TO FIX.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/24/2017 - SAN RAFAEL, CA
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION "SUA" OCCURS AT A COMPLETE STOP WITH BRAKE APPLIED. FIRST TIME 08/14 AS I PULLED INTO A FORWARD FACING CURB-I HAD JUST COME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND WAS ABOUT TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK WHEN THE ENGINE LOUDLY SURGED. I WAS ASTONISHED AND GOT THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL;THE SURGING STOPPED. THE CAR WAS NEW AND I COULD NOT BELIEVE THIS HAPPENED-I WAS DUMBFOUNDED. THE SECOND TIME THE "SUA" HAPPENED WAS 01/26/15 -I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AT TRAFFIC LIGHT BEHIND SEVERAL CARS. AS I CAME TO A STOP WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE THE CAR'S ENGINE SURGED VIOLENTLY AND THE CAR TRIED TO MOVE FORWARD. MY HUSBAND WAS A PASSENGER IN THE CAR AND WITNESSED MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. I IMMEDIATELY MOVED THE GEAR SHIFT TO NEUTRAL AND SURGING STOPPED. I RELAYED THIS INCIDENT TO JEEP SERVICE REP BY EMAIL WHO SAID HE NEVER HEARD OF THIS. THE THIRD TIME OF "SUA" WAS 6/25/15; I WAS FIRST CAR AT TRAFFIC LIGHT. I CAME TO COMPLETE STOP WITH FOOT APPLIED TO BRAKE WHEN THE ENGINE SURGED, THE CAR SQUEALED AND JUMPED ABOUT 3-4 FEET INTO THE INTERSECTION; I GOT THE GEAR INTO NEUTRAL AND THE SURGING SUBSIDED. TOOK THE CAR TO JEEP DEALER WHO TRIED TO DUPLICATE THE SITUATION OVER A PERIOD OF 14 DAYS WITHOUT SUCCESS. I ALSO CONTACTED CHRYSLER CORP. WHO OPENED AND THEN DROPPED A CASE. FOURTH TIME ON 12/03/16-I WAS 3RD CAR AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND, AGAIN, CAME TO COMPLETE STOP WITH FOOT ON THE BRAKE WHEN THE ENGINE SURGED VIOLENTLY AND RAMMED THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME DAMAGING MY CAR AND HIS. IN THIS INSTANCE I WAS UNABLE TO GET THE CAR TO NEUTRAL IN TIME. CHRYSLER CORP WAS CONTACTED, THEY INVESTIGATED BY RETRIEVING INFO FROM EDR AND CONCLUDED "WE ARE NOT LED TO BELIEVE THIS IS A MANUFACTURING RESPONSIBILITY AND ...DECLINE ANY ASSISTANCE WITH THIS INCIDENT." OUR WRITTEN REQUESTS FOR THE DATA RESULTS HAVE BEEN IGNORED. JEEP SERVICE WILL NOT ISSUE US A REPAIR ORDER-THE CAR IS UNSAFE!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/20/2017 - STOCKTON, KS
ON NOVEMBER 25TH 2016 I WAS PULLING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AND REMEMBERED I FORGOT SOMETHING SO PULLED BACK ONTO MY DRIVEWAY (FLAT SURFACE), PUT IT INTO PARK AND PRETTY SURE I HIT THE BUTTON TO TURN OFF. I EXITED MY VEHICLE, BOTH FEET ON THE GROUND AND WAS JUST 4 INCHES FROM SHUTTING THE DOOR WHEN IT TOOK OFF DRIVING STRAIGHT INTO MY CLOSED GARAGE DOOR. I WAS ABLE TO CHASE THE VEHICLE DOWN AND GET IT STOPPED (FORTUNATELY THE RIDING MOWER KEPT IT FROM GOING ON THRU). I HAD THIS VEHICLE IN PARK. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO WAY YOU CAN GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE IF IT IS NOT. IT WILL IMMEDIATELY TAKE OFF WHEN YOUR FOOT IS OFF THE BRAKE. IT EVEN HAS A SLIGHT FORWARD ROLL WHEN YOU HAVE IT IN PARK AND TAKE YOUR FOOT OFF THE BRAKE THAT GETS MY ATTENTION. I NOTIFIED JEEP AND THEY INSPECTED. WAS TOLD BY THE INSPECTOR A FAULT WAS FOUND, BUT ONLY "JEEP ENGINEERS KNOW WHAT THE CODE MEANS". I HAD TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE 3 HOURS TO WHERE I PURCHASED IT TO MEET WITH THE INSPECTOR AS WELL. AT THAT TIME THEY DID THE REPAIR FOR THE GEAR SHIFT THAT WAS AVAILABLE (I ONLY RECEIVED THE CARD THAT THERE WAS A FIX IN THE WORKS). I WAS TOLD BY THE INSPECTOR THAT THE FIX WOULD MAKE THE VEHICLE STOP WHEN THE DOOR WAS OPENED WHEN NOT IN PARK. WE TESTED THIS ONCE I PICKED MY VEHICLE UP AT A HOME DEPOT PARKING LOT AND GUESS WHAT, IT DID NOT STOP. WE WENT FORWARD AND OPENED DOOR AND WE WENT IN REVERSE WITH DOOR OPENED AND NEITHER WORKED. TRIED AGAIN AFTER A 3 HOUR DRIVE HOME ON THE DRIVE WAY, BOTH TIMES IT DID NOT WORK. THE FOLLOWING MORNING I TESTED BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, THAT TIME IT BOLTED INTO PARK. TESTED AGAIN AT ANOTHER DRIVE WAY, IT DID NOT WORK THE FIRST TWO TRIES AND THEN DID ON THE LAST TRY. THIS IS ALL BESIDE THE POINT OF MY INCIDENT. . I HAVE $9,000 DOLLARS DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE AND $1000 TO MY GARAGE THAT THEY WON'T FIX OR REPLACE. THEY KNOW THEY HAVE A DEFECTIVE GEAR SHIFT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 120
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds