Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 806 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (99) Equipment Adaptive (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (59)
Electrical System (214) Exterior Lighting (22) Power Train (226) Structure (37) Vehicle Speed Control (53)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Seat Belts (65) Suspension (28) Visibility (10)
Engine (84) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seats (8) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (189) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (13)
Equipment (8) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 108
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/25/2016 - CHARLESTON, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT ACCIDENTALLY MOVED THE GEAR SHIFT AND THE VEHICLE SHIFTED OUT OF THE DRIVE POSITION INTO NEUTRAL. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V240000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/25/2016 - BAYONNE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V240000 (POWER TRAIN). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000....UPDATED 06/30/16 THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE ROLLED DOWN A SMALL HILL IN HIS DRIVEWAY. UPDATED 08/02/16.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/24/2016 - EL PASO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER SHIFTING THE VEHICLE INTO THE PARK POSITION AND EXITING, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED INTO THE DRIVE POSITION. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE ROLLED FORWARD AND CRASHED INTO THE CONTACTS GARAGE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY THE MANUFACTURERS ENGINEER BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V240000 (POWER TRAIN). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/23/2016 - WEST CHESTER, PA
MY EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT IS FLASHING ON MY DASH BOARD, AND IT IS MAKING A CHIMING NOISE WHEN FLASHING AS I DRIVE MY JEEP. THE MAIN ISSUE OTHER THAN HAVING IT GOING ON AND OFF SOME TIME A FEW TIME A DAY SOMETIMES NOT FOR A WEEK THAN A FEW DAYS IN A ROW IS THAT WHEN I AM ON AN OPEN HIGHWAY WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON DOING 70 MPH THE CRUISE CONTROL WILL SHUT OFF EVERY TIME IT FLASHES. I FELL THE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN YOUR CRUISE CONTROLS SHUTS DOWN WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE DEALER HAS NOT CORRECTED THIS ISSUE. I JUST GOT A RECALL NOTICE TO DAY S27/NHTSA 16V-240 TO MAKE SURE MY VEHICLE IS IN PARK AND FOOT BRAKE ON. MY FOOT BRAKES SAYS IT IS ON AT 70 MPH WHEN IT IS NOT ON. THIS HAPPENED A LOT TODAY ON MY TRIP, BUT HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER A YEAR

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/23/2016 - WEST CHESTER, PA
MY EMERGENCY BRAKE LIGHT IS FLASHING ON MY DASH BOARD, AND IT IS MAKING A CHIMING NOISE WHEN FLASHING AS I DRIVE MY JEEP. THE MAIN ISSUE OTHER THAN HAVING IT GOING ON AND OFF SOME TIME A FEW TIME A DAY SOMETIMES NOT FOR A WEEK THAN A FEW DAYS IN A ROW IS THAT WHEN I AM ON AN OPEN HIGHWAY WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON DOING 70 MPH THE CRUISE CONTROL WILL SHUT OFF EVERY TIME IT FLASHES. I FELL THE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN YOUR CRUISE CONTROLS SHUTS DOWN WITHOUT ANY WARNING. THE DEALER HAS NOT CORRECTED THIS ISSUE. I JUST GOT A RECALL NOTICE TO DAY S27/NHTSA 16V-240 TO MAKE SURE MY VEHICLE IS IN PARK AND FOOT BRAKE ON. MY FOOT BRAKES SAYS IT IS ON AT 70 MPH WHEN IT IS NOT ON. THIS HAPPENED A LOT TODAY ON MY TRIP, BUT HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR OVER A YEAR

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/23/2016 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
ON AUGUST 19, 2014, I STEPPED OUT OF MY STATIONARY 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE OVERLAND--BELIEVING I HAD PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK ON A GENTLE CITY-STREET SLOPE--WHEN IT SUDDENLY MOVED BACKWARD, ROLLING OVER MY LEFT LEG AND SEVERELY DAMAGING MY KNEE, SKIN, ARTERY, AND QUAD MUSCLES. MY WIFE IMMEDIATELY CALLED AN AMBULANCE, WHICH TRANSPORTED ME TO A LOCAL HOSPITAL, WHERE DOCTORS SURGICALLY ATTACHED AN "EXTERNAL FIXATOR" IN THREE PLACES, STABILIZING AND COMPLETELY IMMOBILIZING MY LEG (FOR THE NEXT FIVE WEEKS). AFTER A SECOND SURGERY AND OVER A YEAR OF PAINFUL AND ARDUOUS THERAPY LATER, I CAN NOW WALK WITH A KNEE-BRACE, HALTINGLY AND WITH A NOTICEABLE LIMP . . . ALL DUE TO THE JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE'S TRANSMISSION THAT DOES NOT ACCURATELY INDICATE WHAT GEAR IT IS IN! UNLESS ONE IS CONCENTRATING 100+% OF THE TIME ON THE CONSOLE SHIFTER--AND CONSTANTLY GLANCING AT THE INDICATOR LIGHTS ON THE VEHICLE DASHBOARD--THE DRIVER NEVER KNOWS WHAT POSITION THE JEEP'S TRANSMISSION IS IN! THE SHIFTER ON THE CONSOLE ALWAYS LOOKS EXACTLY THE SAME, NO MATTER WHAT GEAR HAS SUPPOSEDLY BEEN SELECTED. WE HAD NO ABSOLUTELY FOREWARNING OF THE POTENTIAL LIFE-THREATENING PROBLEM INHERENT IN THIS VEHICLE'S DESIGN, AND I CAN ONLY THANK GOD THAT I'M STILL ALIVE TODAY. LAST WEEK WE WERE SURPRISED TO RECEIVE WRITTEN NOTIFICATION FROM FIAT CHRYSLER AUTOMOBILES THAT THE COMPANY AND NHTSA HAD RECALLED 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEES FOR THE SPECIFIC DEFECT DESCRIBED IN MY INCIDENT ABOVE!. (FINALLY! VINDICATION!) THE RECALL NUMBER IS SHOW BELOW, I BELIEVE. FCA VEHICLE RECALL NUMBER: S27 / NHTSA 16V-240

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/23/2016 - BLACK RIVER, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE GEAR LEVER SHIFTED INTO THE PARK POSITION AND ROLLED AWAY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED INTO THE DRIVE POSITION. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS AND THE GEAR SHIFTER ALSO SHIFTED INTO REVERSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V240000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. ...UPDATED 06/30/16 UPDATED 07/11/16.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/19/2016 - BOSTON, MA
DRIVING APPROX. 20 MPH IN CITY TRAFFIC, CAR IN FRONT STOPPED SUDDENLY. I TRIED TO APPLY BRAKES AND THE AUTO-BRAKING SYSTEM ALSO FLASHED ON DASHBOARD TO "BRAKE!" BUT WHEN I TRIED TO, THE BRAKES WERE NOT AS RESPONSIVE AS USUAL. I APPLIED TREMENDOUS PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE PEDAL (SO MUCH SO THAT MY FOOT STILL HURTS OVER A WEEK LATER) AND THE BRAKES DID NOT REACT AS THEY TYPICALLY DO, SO I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/19/2016 - WALHALLA, SC
TAKATA, ON APRIL 15, 2016 I HAD A HEAD ON COLLISION WITH A 2004 FORD PICK UP TRUCK ON STATE HIGHWAY 28 IN SENECA SC THE JEEP WAS TOTALLY DESTROYED AND I SUFFERED MULTIPLE SERIOUS BODILY INJURIES. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. IF THE AIRBAGS HAD DEPLOYED IT WOULD NOT HAVE CONCLUDED IN BROKEN RIBS, BROKEN HAND, MULTIPLE CUTS AND BRUISES AND THE LOSS OF 90 % OF MY SITE. EVEN THE STATE TROOPER SAID HE HAD NEVER WITNESSED SUCH A TRAVESTY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/19/2016 - WALHALLA, SC
TAKATA, ON APRIL 15, 2016 I HAD A HEAD ON COLLISION WITH A 2004 FORD PICK UP TRUCK ON STATE HIGHWAY 28 IN SENECA SC THE JEEP WAS TOTALLY DESTROYED AND I SUFFERED MULTIPLE SERIOUS BODILY INJURIES. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. IF THE AIRBAGS HAD DEPLOYED IT WOULD NOT HAVE CONCLUDED IN BROKEN RIBS, BROKEN HAND, MULTIPLE CUTS AND BRUISES AND THE LOSS OF 90 % OF MY SITE. EVEN THE STATE TROOPER SAID HE HAD NEVER WITNESSED SUCH A TRAVESTY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 108
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds