Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 864 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (102) Equipment Adaptive (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (64)
Electrical System (226) Exterior Lighting (24) Power Train (247) Structure (37) Vehicle Speed Control (57)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seat Belts (65) Suspension (29) Visibility (11)
Engine (92) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seats (9) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (198) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (13)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

8/23/2016 - SEDONA, AZ
2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE AUTO BRAKES FOR NO REASON, IT SENSED A STOPPED VEHICLE IN THE LEFT TURNING LANE AND SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES TWICE, I WAS IN THE LEFT LANE GOING 35 MILES PER HOUR; THIS HAS HAPPENED IN THE PAST ALSO. I DID REPORT THIS TO THE MANUFACTURER ABOUT SIX MONTHS AGO VIA EMAIL, I SAVED THE EMAILS AND THEIR RESPONSE. I COULD HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED BY A VEHICLE BEHIND ME BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM, LITERALLY ONCE IT STARTS I HAVE NO CONTROL OVER WHAT THE VEHICLE DOES, THERE IS NO WAY TO STOP THE JEEP FROM BRAKING. I SHUDDER TO THINK IF IT HAPPENED ON A FREEWAY. I WAS TRAVELING ON A STRAIGHT ROAD GOING 35 MILES PER HOUR IN THE LEFT LANE. ON THE EVENING OF 8/22/2016 I WAS DRIVING IN THE DARK AND MY AUTOMATIC HIGH BEAMS MALFUNCTIONED SEVERAL TIMES. THEY USED TO WORK PERFECTLY NOW THEY STAY ON AND BLIND ONCOMING DRIVERS AND THE DRIVERS AHEAD OF ME, THEY ALSO FAIL TO COME ONE WHEN I AM IN THE DARK AND THERE ARE NO OTHER CARS; BOTH INCIDENTS OF HIGH BEAM MALFUNCTION HAPPENED ON A COUNTRY ROAD AND ON THE FREEWAY LAST NIGHT. THIS PROBLEM STARTED IMMEDIATELY AFTER I HAD THE ELECTRONIC SHIFTER UPDATED AT THE DEALER AND SOME OTHER SOFTWARE UPDATES THAT WERE DUE BUT I DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY DID, I JUST KNOW THEY WERE SOFTWARE RELATED AND PART OF A RECALL. SAID VEHICLE IS GOING BACK TO THE DEALER FOR SEVERAL HOURS OF WORK ON THE SOFTWARE FOR BOTH THE HIGH BEAMS AN THE BRAKING SYSTEM ON THURSDAY, AUGUST 25, 2016.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/23/2016 - SEDONA, AZ
2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE AUTO BRAKES FOR NO REASON, IT SENSED A STOPPED VEHICLE IN THE LEFT TURNING LANE AND SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES TWICE, I WAS IN THE LEFT LANE GOING 35 MILES PER HOUR; THIS HAS HAPPENED IN THE PAST ALSO. I DID REPORT THIS TO THE MANUFACTURER ABOUT SIX MONTHS AGO VIA EMAIL, I SAVED THE EMAILS AND THEIR RESPONSE. I COULD HAVE BEEN REAR ENDED BY A VEHICLE BEHIND ME BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM, LITERALLY ONCE IT STARTS I HAVE NO CONTROL OVER WHAT THE VEHICLE DOES, THERE IS NO WAY TO STOP THE JEEP FROM BRAKING. I SHUDDER TO THINK IF IT HAPPENED ON A FREEWAY. I WAS TRAVELING ON A STRAIGHT ROAD GOING 35 MILES PER HOUR IN THE LEFT LANE. ON THE EVENING OF 8/22/2016 I WAS DRIVING IN THE DARK AND MY AUTOMATIC HIGH BEAMS MALFUNCTIONED SEVERAL TIMES. THEY USED TO WORK PERFECTLY NOW THEY STAY ON AND BLIND ONCOMING DRIVERS AND THE DRIVERS AHEAD OF ME, THEY ALSO FAIL TO COME ONE WHEN I AM IN THE DARK AND THERE ARE NO OTHER CARS; BOTH INCIDENTS OF HIGH BEAM MALFUNCTION HAPPENED ON A COUNTRY ROAD AND ON THE FREEWAY LAST NIGHT. THIS PROBLEM STARTED IMMEDIATELY AFTER I HAD THE ELECTRONIC SHIFTER UPDATED AT THE DEALER AND SOME OTHER SOFTWARE UPDATES THAT WERE DUE BUT I DON'T KNOW WHAT THEY DID, I JUST KNOW THEY WERE SOFTWARE RELATED AND PART OF A RECALL. SAID VEHICLE IS GOING BACK TO THE DEALER FOR SEVERAL HOURS OF WORK ON THE SOFTWARE FOR BOTH THE HIGH BEAMS AN THE BRAKING SYSTEM ON THURSDAY, AUGUST 25, 2016.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/23/2016 - ESSEX JUNCTION, VT
I PURCHASED A JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE LIMITED EDITION FROM WILLIE RACINE DEALERSHIP IN VERMONT. I HAVE HAD CONSTANT ISSUES FUELING THE VEHICLE. EITHER THE PUMP CLICKS OFF LIKE THE VEHICLE IS FULL WHEN IT IS EMPTY OR THE PUMP DOES NOT CLICK OFF WHEN THE VEHICLE IS FULL. THE FIRST INCIDENT WAS THE FIRST FUEL AFTER PURCHASE. THE PUMP CLICKED OFF IN THE BEGINNING OF THE FUELING PROCESS. I ATTEMPTED TO POSITION THE NOZZLE A LITTLE DIFFERENT AND RESTARTED TO FUEL. WHEN I DID THIS THE FUEL CAME BACK OUT AND COVERED MY SHOES AND PANTS WITH FUEL. I IMMEDIATELY LET THE SALES PERSON KNOW I WAS HAVING A PROBLEM THAT CONCERNED ME AND HE STATED TO TRY OTHER PUMPS. TRYING OTHER PUMPS DID NOT WORK. I BEGAN THE FUELING PROCESS AND THE PUMP DID NOT SHUT OFF WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS FULL. IT RESULTED IN GAS SPLASHING ONTO MY FACE, EYES, BODY, AND FEET. IN ADDITION THE VEHICLE WAS DRENCHED IN FUEL. THE SERVICE STATION HAD TO SHUT DOWN THE PUMP AND CLEAN UP THE CHEMICAL SPILL. DEALERSHIP HAD THE JEEP 7 DAYS. I BROUGHT IT BACK TO THEM AND ASKED THEM TO DO THE FIRST FILL AFTER THE FIX. THE VEHICLE AGAIN OVERFLOWED ALL OVER. IT CREATES STRONG FUMES FOR DAYS INSIDE THE VEHICLE. IT IS A MAJOR THREAT TO MY PERSONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH AS WELL AS TO OTHERS IF A FIRE STARTS.THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2016 - CALABASAS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 10,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/15/2016 - CALABASAS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BATTERY FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 10,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/14/2016 - ORANGE, MA
MY JEEP WAS SERVICED TWICE FOR THE RECENT SHIFTER PROBLEM THAT CHRYSLER IDENTIFIES AS DRIVER INATTENTION OR CONFUSION. THE SOFTWARE PATCH THAT IS INTENDED TO "AUTO PARK" THE VEHICLE, HAS FAILED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE ENGINE IS STARTED, I APPLY THE BRAKE AND PLACE THE SHIFTER INTO REVERSE OR A FORWARD GEAR. I THE DESIRED GEAR IS ILLUMINATED AND I EASE OF THE BRAKE, HOWEVER, WHEN APPLY GAS THE ENGINE SIMPLY RACES AS IF THE TRANSMISSION IS STILL IN PARK OR NEUTRAL. JEEPS ATTEMPT TO FIX A PROBLEM HAS NOW LED TO ANOTHER PROBLEM. THIS VEHICLE IS UNRELIABLE AND A DEATH MACHINE. I HAVE NO CONFIDENCE IN IT'S OPERATION AND I CAN'T IN GOOD CONSCIENCE SELL THIS VEHICLE TO ANYONE. JEEP CORPORATE SHOULD BE IN JAIL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/14/2016 - ORANGE, MA
MY JEEP WAS SERVICED TWICE FOR THE RECENT SHIFTER PROBLEM THAT CHRYSLER IDENTIFIES AS DRIVER INATTENTION OR CONFUSION. THE SOFTWARE PATCH THAT IS INTENDED TO "AUTO PARK" THE VEHICLE, HAS FAILED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE ENGINE IS STARTED, I APPLY THE BRAKE AND PLACE THE SHIFTER INTO REVERSE OR A FORWARD GEAR. I THE DESIRED GEAR IS ILLUMINATED AND I EASE OF THE BRAKE, HOWEVER, WHEN APPLY GAS THE ENGINE SIMPLY RACES AS IF THE TRANSMISSION IS STILL IN PARK OR NEUTRAL. JEEPS ATTEMPT TO FIX A PROBLEM HAS NOW LED TO ANOTHER PROBLEM. THIS VEHICLE IS UNRELIABLE AND A DEATH MACHINE. I HAVE NO CONFIDENCE IN IT'S OPERATION AND I CAN'T IN GOOD CONSCIENCE SELL THIS VEHICLE TO ANYONE. JEEP CORPORATE SHOULD BE IN JAIL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/12/2016 - YONKERS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN NEUTRAL AT A CAR WASH, THE CONTACT RELEASED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND OPENED THE DOOR. INDEPENDENTLY, THE GEAR SHIFTER SHIFTED FROM NEUTRAL TO PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V240000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/10/2016 - DEER PARK, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE PARKING THE VEHICLE, IT ROLLED ON ITS OWN AND STRUCK AND DRAGGED THE CONTACT'S SPOUSE. THE VEHICLE ROLLED TO A DRAINAGE AREA WHERE IT WAS STOPPED. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE CONTACT'S SPOUSE SUSTAINED A FRACTURED LEFT SHOULDER, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V240000 (POWER TRAIN). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 10,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/8/2016 - WHITE HOUSE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE REAR WINDOW EXPLODED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR WINDOW NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 43,300. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds