Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE - 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 834 complaints filed for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (102) Equipment Adaptive (18) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (59)
Electrical System (220) Exterior Lighting (22) Power Train (240) Structure (37) Vehicle Speed Control (56)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel Propulsion System (20) Seat Belts (65) Suspension (29) Visibility (10)
Engine (88) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seats (9) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (193) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (13)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (16)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 111
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/26/2016 - PELHAM MANOR, NY
THIS HAS TO DO WITH THE ELECTRONIC SHIFTER THAT HAS BEEN IN THE NEWS LATELY. I HAVE READ THAT, FINALLY, CHRYSLER IS ADDRESSING THIS PROBLEM. THE SOLUTION THEY HAVE COME UP WITH, TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK IF THE DRIVER'S DOOR IS OPENED, DOES NOT SUFFICE TO FIX THIS ISSUE. HERE IS WHY: I HAVE HAD THE SITUATION, WHERE I PULL MY CAR INTO MY GARAGE WHICH IS ON A SLIGHT INCLINE. MY KIDS JUMP OUT OF THE CAR, AND WALK AROUND THE BACK TO GET INTO THE HOUSE. AS IS OFTEN THE CASE, I HAVE A FEW THINGS TO GATHER UP, SO I AM NOT AS QUICK TO EXIT THE CAR AS THEY ARE. KIDS ARE BEHIND THE CAR AND I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND THE CAR STARTS ROLLING BACKWARD WHILE THE KIDS ARE BEHIND IT. IT IS ONLY BY EXTREME LUCK THAT I DID NOT KILL BOTH MY CHILDREN. I WOULD LIKE TO ADD, THAT EVEN THOUGH I AM PAINFULLY AWARE OF THE SITUATION WITH THE SHIFTER, AND I AM EXTREMELY DILIGENT, YOU CAN BECOME DISTRACTED AND FORGET. FOR THE RECORD, I HAVE SENT MESSAGES TO CHRYSLER (SPECIFICALLY, WHEN THEY SENT THEIR CUSTOMER SATISFACTION SURVEY AFTER I FIRST RECEIVED THE CAR) THAT MENTIONS THIS AS A PROBLEM. I HAVE BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER'S ATTENTION. NO RESPONSE. THIS IS A BIG PROBLEM. THE SECOND I READ ABOUT THAT YOUNG MAN GETTING KILLED IN LA I SAID TO MY SON THAT I WOULD GUARANTEE HE WAS DRIVING A JEEP. I HAVE BEEN SAYING SOMEONE WAS GOING TO GET KILLED FOR NEARLY TWO YEARS, AND NOW SOMEONE HAS. AND, I WOULD BE WILLING TO BET THERE ARE OTHERS WHO JUST DIDN'T REALIZE WHY OR WHAT HAPPENED TO THEM. PLEASE REQUIRE THEM TO MAKE A BETTER FIX AND TO CALL EACH AND EVERY JEEP OWNER AND VERBALLY DESCRIBE THIS ISSUE. THERE ARE PEOPLE WHO DON'T READ THEIR MAIL, WHO DO NOT SPEAK ENGLISH ETC. THEIR FIX IS NOT GOING TO ALLEVIATE THIS PROBLEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2016 - CLARCKBURG, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE. AFTER THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS PLACED INTO THE PARK POSITION WITH THE EMERGENCY BRAKE ENGAGED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ROLLED BACK WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE STRUCK A BYSTANDER. THE BYSTANDER SUSTAINED ARM INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V240000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2016 - WELCOME, MD
RECALL S27/NHTSA 16V-240 OUR JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE WAS DAMAGED IN A ROLLAWAY ACCIDENT ON MAY 20, 2016 FOR THE SPECIFIC ISSUE RELATED TO THIS RECALL. MY WIFE THOUGHT THE CAR WAS IN PARK AND GOT OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE THEN PROCEEDED TO ROLL DOWN THE STREET AND INTO THE WOODS. THE INSURANCE ESTIMATE FOR DAMAGE WAS $7,000. LUCKY NO ONE WAS INJURED OR KILLED. I CONTACTED FCA AND THEY SENT OUT A SPECIAL INVESTIGATOR TO LOOK AT THE CAR. I JUST RECEIVED A LETTER FROM FCA SAYING THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE CAR. I HAVE TRIED TO REACH OUT TO THE PERSON WHO SENT THE LETTER AND CAN NOT GET A RETURN CALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/23/2016 - MANASSAS, VA
ON TWO OCCASIONS, TWO WEEKS APART, THE ACTIVE BRAKING FEATURE FUNCTIONED WITHOUT OBVIOUS EXTERNAL CAUSE. IN BOTH CASES, THE ACTIVE BRAKING SYSTEM CAUSED THE ANTILOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS) TO ACTIVATE, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO STOP ABRUPTLY. THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION APPLIES TO BOTH INSTANCES: 1. FORWARD COLLISION WARNING SYSTEM (FCW) IS ON. 2.FCW IS SET TO NEAR 3.ACTIVE BRAKING FEATURE SET TO ON. 4.VEHICLE SPEED APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH 5.ASPHALT FOUR LANE ROAD WITHOUT DIVIDER 6.DAYLIGHT, SUNNY, TEMPERATURE ABOUT 80 DEGREES F 7.NO VEHICLES IN FRONT OR ON EITHER SIDE. 8.NO VEHICLES APPROACHING. 9.NO OBSTACLES OR PERTURBATIONS ON ROAD SURFACE. SECOND OCCASION OCCURRED AFTER DEALER HAD INSTALLED LATEST SOFTWARE UPDATES FOR ALL COMPONENTS. DEALER HAS INSPECTED AND DRIVEN THE VEHICLE. NO DEFECT CODES WERE FOUND. DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE EVENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2016 - TROY, MI
WHEN DRIVING AND NEEDING TO ACCELERATE QUICKLY, TRANSMISSION SEIZES AND HAS A SIGNIFICANTLY DELAYED RESPONSE. HAPPENS WHEN TRYING TO MAKE LEFT TURN THROUGH TRAFFIC, MERGING INTO TRAFFIC CIRCLES AND HIGHWAYS AS WELL AS SOMETIMES WHEN ACCELERATING ON A HIGHWAY. VERY DANGEROUS. FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A LEFT TURN AT A BREAK IN PASSING TRAFFIC. HAD MY TWIN 2 YEAR OLDS IN THE CAR AND THE CAR SEIZED AFTER I HAD MOVED SLIGHTLY INTO ON COMING TRAFFIC. I JUST KEPT PRESSING DOWN HARDER AND FINALLY THE TRANSMISSION ENGAGED AND RESPONDED BUT WAS VERY VERY CLOSE TO GETTING HIT. IT THEN HAPPENED TRYING TO MERGE ONTO A TRAFFIC CIRCLE. THIS TIME I WASN'T AS AGGRESSIVE BECAUSE I WAS AFRAID IT WOULD LOCK UP AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN. IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME I DRIVE SO I CAN'T CLEARLY LIST ALL THE INCIDENTS. I JUST NOW HAVE TO DRIVE KNOWING I CAN'T MAKE QUICK OR ABRUPT ACCELERATIONS. HAVE BEEN TO DEALERSHIP MANY TIMES WITH THIS COMPLAINT AND THEY JUST SAY THEY WILL UPDATE SOFTWARE. ISSUE STILL THERE. ANXIOUS FOR LEASE TO BE OVER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2016 - ACTON, CA
ON 11/4/14 AFTER PARKING MY NEW JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE AT GROCERY STORE PARKING LOT, ON A COMPLETELY LEVEL SURFACE, AFTER PLACING VEHICLE IN PARK, EXITING AND WALKING TOWARD STORE ENTRANCE I SAW MY CAR COMING AT ME OUT OF CORNER OF MY EYE. THE CAR HAD "POPPED" OUT OF PARK AND INTO NEUTRAL, AND WAS ROLLING BACKWARDS TOWARD ME. I WAS WAITING FOR ANOTHER VEHICLE TO PASS BY IN THE PARKING LOT ON MY WAY INTO THE STORE WHEN THIS OCCURRED. MY JEEP KEPT ROLLING SLOWLY BACKWARDS TOWARDS ME. IT COLLIDED INTO A CAR PASSING THROUGH THE PARKING LOT. THE OTHER CAR HAD 3 CHILDREN IN CAR SEATS IN THE BACK SEAT. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS INJURED, BUT I WAS MORTIFIED AT THE LOOKS ON THOSE CHILDREN'S FACES, THEY WERE VERY SCARED! I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MANY YEARS & THIS WAS NOT DRIVER ERROR. MY HUSBAND AND I TRIED NUMEROUS TIMES TO RECREATE THE SCENARIO WITHOUT SUCCESS. THE WARNING ALARM SIGNAL WOULD COME ON IF THE CAR WERE NOT IN PARK AND YOU TRIED TO EXIT IT, SO I KNOW THAT IT HAD BEEN COMPLETELY IN PARK AND HAD "POPPED OUT" AFTER I EXITED. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER AT VALENCIA, CALIFORNIA SUPERSTORES CHRYSLER JEEP AND TOLD THEM OF THE INCIDENT. THEY CHECKED THE CAR AND SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. THEY HAD IT FOR SEVERAL DAYS AND WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM WITH IT POPPING OUT OF GEAR AND CHRYSLER CORPORATE SAID THEY HADN'T HAD COMPLAINTS. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT AND TO PICK IT UP. IT IS A DEFECTIVE DEATH TRAP AND I DID NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING IT AFTER THIS INCIDENT. IN RESEARCHING THE INTERNET TO SEE IF THIS HAD HAPPENED TO ANYONE ELSE I CAME ACROSS A BLOG FROM 10/31/13 WHERE THE SAME VEHICLE MODEL/YEAR HAD POPPED OUT OF PARK INTO REVERSE WHICH WAS ALSO REPORTED TO CHRYSLER, YET THEY CONTINUED TO SELL THESE CARS TO THE PUBLIC. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS. THEY ARE UNSAFE AND LIVES ARE AT RISK WITH THEM ON THE ROADWAYS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2016 - ACTON, CA
WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. MY WIFE WAS DRIVING IT WITH OUR 4 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE BACKSEAT. AT THAT TIME THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING. SHE CALLED ME IN A PANIC. I CALLED THE JEEP DEALER WHO CAME AND TOWED THE VEHICLE IN TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THE SAME THING HAPPENED WHILE THE JEEP WAS IN THE SHOP AT CALIFORNIA SUPERSTORES IN VALENCIA, CA. THEY CALLED ME SEVERAL TIMES TO COME AND PICK THE CAR UP BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT HAPPENED, BUT THAT THERE WAS NOT A "FIX" FOR IT. DUE TO CONCERNS FOR MY FAMILYS SAFETY I REFUSED TO PICK THE CAR UP AND CALLED CHRYSLER WHO TOLD ME NOT TO PICK THE CAR UP, THAT IT WAS DANGEOUS TO DRIVE IT. THE NEXT WEEKI WAS AGAIN TOLD TO COME AND PICK THE CAR UP, THIS TIME BY BOTH THE DEALER AT CALIFORNIA SUPERSTORES, VALENCIA, CA AND BY THE CORPORATE PEOPLE AT CHRYSLER, AND TOLD THERE WAS NO FIX FOR THE PROBLEM. THE CAR JUST RANDOMLY SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING IT. I OPENED A CLAIM WITHCHRYSLER CORP. ABOUT THE CAR STALLING OUT BUT HAVE NOT HEARD BACK ABOUT ANY FIX OR RECALL. THE CAR IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND I AM NOT RECEIVING ANY HELP FROM THE DEALER OR CHRYSLER CORP. I PAID ALMOST $38,000 FOR THE CAR AND DO NOT EVEN WANT TO DRIVE IT OR HAVE MY FAMILY IN IT DUE TO THE POSSIBILITY THAT IT COULD STALL AGAIN (IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES), THE STEERING GO OUT, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT HARMING US OR OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROADWAYS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/23/2016 - ACTON, CA
WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. MY WIFE WAS DRIVING IT WITH OUR 4 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE BACKSEAT. AT THAT TIME THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING. SHE CALLED ME IN A PANIC. I CALLED THE JEEP DEALER WHO CAME AND TOWED THE VEHICLE IN TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THE SAME THING HAPPENED WHILE THE JEEP WAS IN THE SHOP AT CALIFORNIA SUPERSTORES IN VALENCIA, CA. THEY CALLED ME SEVERAL TIMES TO COME AND PICK THE CAR UP BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT HAPPENED, BUT THAT THERE WAS NOT A "FIX" FOR IT. DUE TO CONCERNS FOR MY FAMILYS SAFETY I REFUSED TO PICK THE CAR UP AND CALLED CHRYSLER WHO TOLD ME NOT TO PICK THE CAR UP, THAT IT WAS DANGEOUS TO DRIVE IT. THE NEXT WEEKI WAS AGAIN TOLD TO COME AND PICK THE CAR UP, THIS TIME BY BOTH THE DEALER AT CALIFORNIA SUPERSTORES, VALENCIA, CA AND BY THE CORPORATE PEOPLE AT CHRYSLER, AND TOLD THERE WAS NO FIX FOR THE PROBLEM. THE CAR JUST RANDOMLY SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING IT. I OPENED A CLAIM WITHCHRYSLER CORP. ABOUT THE CAR STALLING OUT BUT HAVE NOT HEARD BACK ABOUT ANY FIX OR RECALL. THE CAR IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND I AM NOT RECEIVING ANY HELP FROM THE DEALER OR CHRYSLER CORP. I PAID ALMOST $38,000 FOR THE CAR AND DO NOT EVEN WANT TO DRIVE IT OR HAVE MY FAMILY IN IT DUE TO THE POSSIBILITY THAT IT COULD STALL AGAIN (IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES), THE STEERING GO OUT, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT HARMING US OR OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROADWAYS.

View Details

STEERING

6/23/2016 - ACTON, CA
WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. MY WIFE WAS DRIVING IT WITH OUR 4 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE BACKSEAT. AT THAT TIME THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING. SHE CALLED ME IN A PANIC. I CALLED THE JEEP DEALER WHO CAME AND TOWED THE VEHICLE IN TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THE SAME THING HAPPENED WHILE THE JEEP WAS IN THE SHOP AT CALIFORNIA SUPERSTORES IN VALENCIA, CA. THEY CALLED ME SEVERAL TIMES TO COME AND PICK THE CAR UP BECAUSE THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT HAPPENED, BUT THAT THERE WAS NOT A "FIX" FOR IT. DUE TO CONCERNS FOR MY FAMILYS SAFETY I REFUSED TO PICK THE CAR UP AND CALLED CHRYSLER WHO TOLD ME NOT TO PICK THE CAR UP, THAT IT WAS DANGEOUS TO DRIVE IT. THE NEXT WEEKI WAS AGAIN TOLD TO COME AND PICK THE CAR UP, THIS TIME BY BOTH THE DEALER AT CALIFORNIA SUPERSTORES, VALENCIA, CA AND BY THE CORPORATE PEOPLE AT CHRYSLER, AND TOLD THERE WAS NO FIX FOR THE PROBLEM. THE CAR JUST RANDOMLY SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING IT. I OPENED A CLAIM WITHCHRYSLER CORP. ABOUT THE CAR STALLING OUT BUT HAVE NOT HEARD BACK ABOUT ANY FIX OR RECALL. THE CAR IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND I AM NOT RECEIVING ANY HELP FROM THE DEALER OR CHRYSLER CORP. I PAID ALMOST $38,000 FOR THE CAR AND DO NOT EVEN WANT TO DRIVE IT OR HAVE MY FAMILY IN IT DUE TO THE POSSIBILITY THAT IT COULD STALL AGAIN (IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES), THE STEERING GO OUT, AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT HARMING US OR OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROADWAYS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2016 - MARSTONS MILLS, MA
WAS REVERSING WITH MY SMALL BOAT ATTACHED AT THE LAKE PRIOR TO LAUNCHING. PUT JEEP IN PARK TO STEP OUT AND CHECK HOW MUCH ROOM I HAD. VEHICLE CONTINUED TO REVERSE, KNOCKING ME UNDERNEATH THE OPEN DRIVERS DOOR. STOPPED WHEN IT HIT A TREE ABOUT 10 FEET AWAY. I HAD FRONT TIRE MARK ON MY BACK, PRETTY SCRATCHED UP AND BRUISED, PULLED MUSCLES ETC. VISITED THE DOCTOR FOR A CHECK-UP.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 111
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds