Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 1986 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 61 complaints filed for the 1986 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1986 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1986 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Fuel System Gasoline (20) Power Train (5) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Seat Belts (17) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/20/2009 - EAST POINT, GA
RUST ON THE FUEL FILLER PIPE - 1986 ACCORD - THERE WAS A RECALL ON THAT, BUT HONDA DOES NOT RESPECT IT ANYMORE. WHY??? IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD - POTENTIAL FIRE. ON TOP OF THAT HONDA'S CARBURETORS HAVE DEFECTIVE FLOAT - IT GETS STUCK, CAUSING GASOLINE LEAK.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/31/2007 - WILKES:BARRE, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1986 HONDA ACCORD. THE INLET PIPE OF THE FUEL TANK IS BUSTED ON THE INSIDE AND PREVENTS FUEL FROM ENTERING THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALER AND THE VEHICLE IS ABLE TO BE DRIVEN IN THE INTERIM. THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN IF THE VEHICLE HAD ALREADY BEEN INSPECTED OR REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 92V028001 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE FUEL SYSTEM IS CARBURETOR. THE PURCHASE DATE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 198,500 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 198,400.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/15/2004 - LINCOLN, NE
ENGINE: RADIATOR WAS LEAKING-REPLACE RADIATOR AND WATER PUMP. TRANSMISSION: HESITATION DURING EXCELLERATION, CAR WOULD NOT GO IN REVERSE. REPLACED WITH USED TRANSIMISSION. FUEL SYSTEM: (2X'S) NO REPAIR AS OF YET, HESITATION DURING EXCELLERATION, CANNOT GET INTO GEAR. ENGINE REVES UP BUT CAR WILL NOT GO. MECHANIC CHECKED THE CAR - FILLER NECK IS EXTREMELY RUSTED OUT, HE SAID THEY HAD BEEN RECALLED AND TO GET A HOLD OF THE DEALERSHIP TO GET REPLACED. DEALER SHIP SAID IT WASN'T COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. TOOK BACK TO MECHANIC WHO WILL NOT REPAIR TILL FILLER NECK IS REPLACED STATING IT WOULD BE A WASTE OF TIME AN MONEY BECAUSE WE WOULD HAVE TO KEEP DOING MAINTENANCE WE WOULDN'T NORMALLY HAVE TO. HE SAID THE ENGINE IS NOT GETTING ENOUGH FUEL AND FUEL IS MIXED WITH WATER, DIRT AND RUST BECAUSE FILLER NECK IS SO RUSTED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/15/2004 - LINCOLN, NE
ENGINE: RADIATOR WAS LEAKING-REPLACE RADIATOR AND WATER PUMP. TRANSMISSION: HESITATION DURING EXCELLERATION, CAR WOULD NOT GO IN REVERSE. REPLACED WITH USED TRANSIMISSION. FUEL SYSTEM: (2X'S) NO REPAIR AS OF YET, HESITATION DURING EXCELLERATION, CANNOT GET INTO GEAR. ENGINE REVES UP BUT CAR WILL NOT GO. MECHANIC CHECKED THE CAR - FILLER NECK IS EXTREMELY RUSTED OUT, HE SAID THEY HAD BEEN RECALLED AND TO GET A HOLD OF THE DEALERSHIP TO GET REPLACED. DEALER SHIP SAID IT WASN'T COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. TOOK BACK TO MECHANIC WHO WILL NOT REPAIR TILL FILLER NECK IS REPLACED STATING IT WOULD BE A WASTE OF TIME AN MONEY BECAUSE WE WOULD HAVE TO KEEP DOING MAINTENANCE WE WOULDN'T NORMALLY HAVE TO. HE SAID THE ENGINE IS NOT GETTING ENOUGH FUEL AND FUEL IS MIXED WITH WATER, DIRT AND RUST BECAUSE FILLER NECK IS SO RUSTED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/15/2004 - LINCOLN, NE
ENGINE: RADIATOR WAS LEAKING-REPLACE RADIATOR AND WATER PUMP. TRANSMISSION: HESITATION DURING EXCELLERATION, CAR WOULD NOT GO IN REVERSE. REPLACED WITH USED TRANSIMISSION. FUEL SYSTEM: (2X'S) NO REPAIR AS OF YET, HESITATION DURING EXCELLERATION, CANNOT GET INTO GEAR. ENGINE REVES UP BUT CAR WILL NOT GO. MECHANIC CHECKED THE CAR - FILLER NECK IS EXTREMELY RUSTED OUT, HE SAID THEY HAD BEEN RECALLED AND TO GET A HOLD OF THE DEALERSHIP TO GET REPLACED. DEALER SHIP SAID IT WASN'T COVERED UNDER THE RECALL. TOOK BACK TO MECHANIC WHO WILL NOT REPAIR TILL FILLER NECK IS REPLACED STATING IT WOULD BE A WASTE OF TIME AN MONEY BECAUSE WE WOULD HAVE TO KEEP DOING MAINTENANCE WE WOULDN'T NORMALLY HAVE TO. HE SAID THE ENGINE IS NOT GETTING ENOUGH FUEL AND FUEL IS MIXED WITH WATER, DIRT AND RUST BECAUSE FILLER NECK IS SO RUSTED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/30/2002 - CARROLL, OH
CONSUMER RECEIVED NOTIFICATION THAT VEHICLE WAS AFFECTED BY RECALL CAMPAIGN 92V028001/FUEL SYSTEMS. DEALERSHIP EXAMINED VEHICLE IN JULY 1997, AND DETERMINED THAT COMPONENT BEING RECALLED WAS NOT CORRODED, AND DID NOT NEED REPLACEMENT. IN SEPTEMBER 2001, CONSUMER NOTICED GASOLINE ODORS IN PASSENGER COMPARTMENT, AND DISCOVERED FUEL LEAKING FROM VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP EXAMINED VEHICLE AND DETERMINED A CORRODED FUEL FILLER WAS CAUSING LEAK. CONSUMER WAS BEING HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF ALL REPAIRS. PLEASE PROVIDE ANY ADDITIONAL INFORMATION / DOCUMENTATION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/5/2001 - TORRINGTON, WY
DURING HOT WEATHER MY ENGINE REVS UP TO A DANGEROUS LEVEL, AND I CAN NOT STOP THE PROBLEM I HAVE TO PUT MY FOOT HARD ON THE BRAKE TO KEEP IT STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN. THE CAR WILL GO FORWARD WITHOUT ME PUSHING ON THE ACCELERATOR. I WAS TOLD TO KEEP THE AIR CONDITIONER ON TO TRY TO SLOW IT DOWN. IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN IT IS HOT OUTSIDE, AND I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE PLACE THAT I PURCHASED IT, THEY ADJUSTED THE CARBUERATOR, AND SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG--I HAVE HAD TROUBLE BEFORE THERE FIXING THINGS RIGHT, SO I DID NOT TAKE IT BACK THERE. ANOTHER MECHANIC HAD IT FOR A WEEK AND COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. I NEED TO KNOW WHAT TO DO AS HOT WEATHER IS COMING.PLEASE HELP ME-NO ONE ELSE WILL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

4/5/2001 - PORT ST. JOHN, FL
A FEW YEARS AGO, MY CAR VAULTED FORWARD AND I HIT A POST. THOUGHT IT WAS MY FAULT SO HAD IT REPAIRED. A FEW YEARS LATER THE AREA WHERE MY FUEL GOES INTO ROTTED AND I HAD IT REPLACED BECAUSE OF A RECALL. UPON LOOKING UP RECALLS AT THAT TIME I REALIZED THERE HAD BEEN ANOTHER RECALL ABOUT THE CAR VAULTING FORWARD WITH NO REASON.. IT WAS TO LATE FOR ME TO TELL THEM WHAT HAPPENED BEFORE BUT IT HAS SINCE HAPPENED AGAIN AND IWOULD LIKE TO FIND THAT RECALL TO SHOW THE HONDA PEOPLE. THANKS

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY: FILLER PIPE AND CAP

10/12/2000 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
COATING ON THE FUEL FILLER TUBE RUSTED THROUGH WHICH MAY POSSIBLY CAUSE A LEAK. THERE WAS RECALL 92V028001 WHICH OFFERED A REMEDY, BUT VEHICLESEEMED TO BE HAVING THE PROBLEM AGAIN. PLEASE PROVIDE FURTHER INFORMATION.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

9/18/2000 - GOSHEN, IN
ON JULY 11, 1992 MY HUSBAND AND I WERE DRIVING EAST ON I580 IN CALIFORNIA. IT WAS A HOT DAY AT ABOUT 8:00 IN THE MORNING. THE REAR TIRE LOST IT'S TREAD CAP AND I LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS. I HAVE 6 PICTURES OF THE TIRE AND THE POLICE REPORT STATING IT WAS A TIRE FALIURE. MY HUSBAND WAS SERIOUSLY INJURED AND SUFFERS PARTIAL HEARING LOSS FROM THIS ACCIDENT. WE FILED A REPORT IN 1992 AND CONTACTED AN ATTORNEY WHO WAS NOT WILLING TO TAKE THE CASE ON CONTINGINCY DUE TO THE SIZE OF THE COMPANY WE WOULD BE UP AGAINST (FIRESTONE). I WAS FORCED TO DROP THE CASE AT THAT TIME. I JUST WANTED THE PROPER AUTHORITIES TO KNOW THIS HAPPEND TO OTHER VEHICLES OTHER THAN FORD. IT WAS THE TIRE, NOT THE VEHICLE. IF YOU WANT THE PICTURES AND POLICE REPORT, PLEASE LET ME KNOW. SINCERELY, JULIANA SCHIRMER( DOT NUMBER: TIRE SIZE: 185-13 )

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds