Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1989 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 63 complaints filed for the 1989 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1989 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1989 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Other (1) Seats (27) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Power Train (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (7) Wheels (1)
Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seat Belts (7) Steering (4) Trailer Hitches (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/18/2017 - LYNN, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1989 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE STEERING U-JOINT HAD FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: RECLINER

10/20/2004 - LANSING, MI
DRIVER SEAT BACK RETAINING BOLT BROKE LEADING TO TOTAL REARWARD COLLAPSE OF DRIVER SEAT WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. IN SPEAKING WITH MY INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TODAY IT CAME TO MY ATTENTION THAT HE HAS OR HAD A VEHICLE IN HIS POSSESSION FOR REPAIR OF VERY SAME DEFECT RECENTLY.

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: RECLINER

7/3/2003 - FORT PIERCE, FL
NHTSA RECALL 93-V-187-000: RECLINER MECHANISM AND SEAT FRAME MAY HAVE FOAM AND/OR VINYL BETWEEN THEM, CREATING A "SOFT" JOINT. THIS "SOFT" JOINT RESULTS IN LOWER THAN SPECIFIED BOLT TORQUE WHICH LEADS TO JOINT LOOSENESS, CAUSING BOLT FATIGUE AND EVENTUAL BOLT FAILURE. CONSUMER HAS THE SAME PROBLEM . HOWEVER THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT RECALLED DUE TO THE VIN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/2/2003 - HOLLYWOOD , NY
VEHICLE ENGINE FIRE. NAR 07/02/2003. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. (OHIO TRAFFIC CRASH REPORT).

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/19/2003 - TULSA, OK
I HAVE 1989 SUBURBAN AND THE PAINT ON THE HOOD AND SOME OF THE PIN STRIPING IS PEELING OFF AND I WAS READING SOME OF THE RECALLS AND I WAS WONDERING HOW COULD I FIND OUT IF I WAS ELIGIBLE FOR THE REPAINTING AND ALSO TWO OF MY SEAT BELTS HAVE FROZE UP AND WILL NOT COME OUT OF THE RETAINER REEL OR WHAT EVER IT IS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: RETRACTOR

3/19/2003 - TULSA, OK
I HAVE 1989 SUBURBAN AND THE PAINT ON THE HOOD AND SOME OF THE PIN STRIPING IS PEELING OFF AND I WAS READING SOME OF THE RECALLS AND I WAS WONDERING HOW COULD I FIND OUT IF I WAS ELIGIBLE FOR THE REPAINTING AND ALSO TWO OF MY SEAT BELTS HAVE FROZE UP AND WILL NOT COME OUT OF THE RETAINER REEL OR WHAT EVER IT IS.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

5/10/2001 - PETALUMA, CA
IN JULY OF 2000 I WENT TO FIRESTONE TO REPORT A BUBBLE IN MY RIGHT FRONT TIRE. THE EMPLOYEE SAID THAT THE TREAD WAS SEPERATING AND THAT I SHOULD BUY NEW TIRES. THEY HAD NONE IN STOCK SO I BOUGHT ELSEWHERE. I STILL HAD THE FIRSTONES ON THE REAR. ON EASTER 2001 WHILE RETURNING HOME ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH THE LEFT REAR TIRE SUFFERED TREAD SEPERATION. I WAS ABLE TO PULL TO THE SIDE AND HAD THE TIRE CHANGED. I HAD 5 FAMILY MEMBERS IN THE CAR WHO WERE VERY SCARED BY THIS. DAMAGE WAS $2300. I WOULD BE HAPPY TO WRITE A MORE IN DEPTH REPORT OR BE INTERVIEWED. I NEVER SAW ANY INDICATION THAT THESE TIRES WERE RECALLED. IF I HAD LEFT THE ONES ON THE FRONT WE MAY ALL BE DEAD. PLEASE STOP FIRSTONE FROM HANDLING INDIVIDUAL CLAIMS RATHER THAN RECALLING ALL OF THE OBVIOUSLY DEFECTIVE TIRES - NOBODY ELSE SHOULD DIE IN ORDER TO SAVE THEM MONEY AND REPUTATION. I HAVE THE TIRE....AND PHOTOS. (DOT NUMBER: VDXF AXD TIRESIZE: 33X12.50R1)

View Details

SEATS

11/22/2000 - ROSCOMMON, MI
CONSUMER HAD RECALL 93V187000 FOR SEAT RECLINING & HAD IT REPAIRED. PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED AGAIN. DEALER FELT THAT HE WAS NOT OBLIGATED TO REPAIR IT AGAIN.

View Details

TIRES

10/23/2000 - SUGAR LAND, TX
YESTERDAY I WAS DRIVING 60MPH DOWN HWY 59 IN HOUSTON AND HEARD THIS AWFUL NOISE LIKE I RAN OVER SOMETHING. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO GET QUICKLY OVER TO THE SHOULDER. SURE ENOUGH THE BACK LEFT TIRE, A FIRESTONE 235/75/15 FR480 (SAME SIZE AS THE RECALL, BUT DIFFERENT FIRESTONE) TIRE PEELED OFF THE BELTS. IT LOOKED LIKE IT WAS ABOUT TO POP AND I DON'T KNOW HOW IT DID NOT. IT DID SOME DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE ALSO. I WENT TO A FIRESTONE SHOP AND HE WANTS TO JUST SELL ME NEW TIRES... NOT EVEN REPLACE THE BLOWOUT!!! HE DID GIVE ME AN 800 NUMBER FOR THE DAMAGE. (TIRESIZE: 275/55R15)( DOT NUMBER: TIRE SIZE: 275/55R15 )

View Details

TIRES

10/22/2000 - OLMSTED FA, OH
CONSUMER PURCHASED FOUR FIRESTONE LT 235-85-R16 A/TMS TIRES, TWO OF THE TIRES WERE OUT OF ROUND CAUSING VIBRATION WHILE DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds