Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1991 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 55 complaints filed for the 1991 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1991 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1991 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (2) Other (1) Seats (14) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Air (1) Structure (1) Wheels (2)
Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seat Belts (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Tires (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/4/2010 - KIRKLAND, WA
FRAME WHERE STEERING BOX IS ATTACHED FAILED. FLEXING FROM NORMAL USE CAUSED THE AREA AROUND THE MOUNTING BOLTS TO CRACK AND WOULD ULTIMATELY SEPARATE THE STEERING BOX FROM THE FRAME IF LEFT UNREPAIRED. REPORTS OF FRAME FAILURES ON 4X4 VERSIONS HAVE BEEN CIRCULATING FOR SOME YEARS DUE TO THE HIGHER STRESS CAUSED BY THE FRONT AXLE AND THE USE OF OVERSIZED TIRES. IN THIS CASE THE SUBURBAN IS A 1/2 TON 2WD UNIT AND HAS ALWAYS RUN ON FACTORY SIZED TIRES. CRACKS WERE FIRST NOTICED JANUARY 2005 WITH 106744 MI DURING A REPAIR JOB FOR A LOOSE FRAME RIVET. CURRENTLY, DECEMBER 2010 AND 206000 MI., CRACKS HAVE FORMED ON ALL MOUNTING LOCATIONS AND REQUIRES A FRAME REPAIR KIT. REPAIR INCLUDES GRINDING AND WELDING OF CRACKS; AND WELDING ADDITIONAL REENFORCING PLATES TO STRENGTHEN THE AREA.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/4/2010 - KIRKLAND, WA
FRAME WHERE STEERING BOX IS ATTACHED FAILED. FLEXING FROM NORMAL USE CAUSED THE AREA AROUND THE MOUNTING BOLTS TO CRACK AND WOULD ULTIMATELY SEPARATE THE STEERING BOX FROM THE FRAME IF LEFT UNREPAIRED. REPORTS OF FRAME FAILURES ON 4X4 VERSIONS HAVE BEEN CIRCULATING FOR SOME YEARS DUE TO THE HIGHER STRESS CAUSED BY THE FRONT AXLE AND THE USE OF OVERSIZED TIRES. IN THIS CASE THE SUBURBAN IS A 1/2 TON 2WD UNIT AND HAS ALWAYS RUN ON FACTORY SIZED TIRES. CRACKS WERE FIRST NOTICED JANUARY 2005 WITH 106744 MI DURING A REPAIR JOB FOR A LOOSE FRAME RIVET. CURRENTLY, DECEMBER 2010 AND 206000 MI., CRACKS HAVE FORMED ON ALL MOUNTING LOCATIONS AND REQUIRES A FRAME REPAIR KIT. REPAIR INCLUDES GRINDING AND WELDING OF CRACKS; AND WELDING ADDITIONAL REENFORCING PLATES TO STRENGTHEN THE AREA.

View Details

TIRES

5/2/2010 - TUMWATER, WA
TREAD SEPARATION AROUND 9/10 OF TIRE STEEL BELTS SHOWING. RUBBER SEPARATING FROM SAME.

View Details

TIRES

7/14/2008 - ALDER CREEK, NY
PEP BOYS FUTURA SCRAMBLER A/P TRUCK TIRE BLOWOUT DUE TO BELT SEPARATION.

View Details

TIRES: VALVE

7/9/2008 - FORT WORTH, TX
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1991 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED VALVE STEM FAILURE, WHICH CAUSED IT TO CRACK. THE TIRE FLATTENED AND WAS RUINED AS A RESULT. THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY NEVER HEARD OF THE VALVE STEM FAILURE. THROUGH ONLINE RESEARCH, THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED VARIOUS RECALLS PERTAINING TO VALVE STEM FAILURES AND CRACKS. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 51,000. THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 12,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: DISC: ROTOR

5/7/2003 - NEWCASTLE, WY
THE BRAKE ROTORS HAD SEPARATED. THE BRAKES ON THIS VEHICLE ARE DEFECTIVE. THE SAME PART FOR THE BRAKES WERE REPLACED FOR THE RECALL BRAKE PART AND THE PROBLEM STILL EXIST. THE CONSUMER CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE CAMPAIGN WAS CLOSED AND WAS NOT ABLE TO INDICATE WHAT WAS REPAIRED DUE TO NOT BEING THE ORIGINAL OWNER RECALL 93V119000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

4/24/2003 - LONGVIEW, WA
THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR WHEN PRESSED WHICH RESULTED IN EXTENDED STOPPING DISTANCE.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

10/8/2002 - CLAREMONT, CA
BRIDGESTONE LT 23585R16 DOTEP9JHND205 WHILE DRIVING AT NORMAL SPEEDS THE LEFT REAR TIRE SEPERATED AND DEFLATED, WHICH RESULTED IN A VEHICLE CRASH. PLEASE PROVIDE ANY FURTHER INFORMATION. MR

View Details

WHEELS: LUGS/NUTS/BOLTS

6/24/2002 - BYRON CENTER, MI
WHILE DRIVING 60-65 MPH AND TOWING A TRAILER, 2 LUG BOLTS SNAPPED OFF THE HUB AND ONE OTHER BOLT WAS LOOSE CAUSING VEHICLE TO JACKKNIFE AND DROVE OFF THE ROAD. THE TRAILER SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE AND TURNED IN A DITCH. THE REMAINING LUG BOTLS WERE MISSING THREADS. THERE WERE NO INJURIES.(OHIO TRAFFIC REPOERT#10-90-210)

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: ANCHORAGE

3/21/2001 - HOOPER, UT
ON THE 18TH OF MAR 2001, AFTER FILLING UP MY GAS TANK, I GOT IN MY VEHICLE ATTEMPTED TO PUT MY SEAT BELT ON AND ENDED UP LYING FLAT ON MY BACK. AS LUCK WOULD HAVE NO KIDS WERE SITTING BEHIND ME. A SINGLE GRADE 8 BOLT BROKE. A FEW YEARS BACK WHEN THIS VEHICLE HAD ABOUT 100K ON IT THE SAME THING HAPPENED. AT THAT TIME THE DEALER (PERFORMANCE CHEVY IN SACRAMENTO CA) TOLD ME THERE WAS A CAMPAIN TO REPLACE THE BOLTS FROM GRADE 5 TO GRADE 8. APPARENTLY THE GRADE 5 LASTED LONGER THAN THE GRADE 8. THE DEALER HERE IN OGDEN SAYS THE VEHICLE IS TO OLD AND THERE IS NO PROVISION FOR MAKING THIS A SAFER SEAT. IF THIS HAD ACCURED WHILE DRIVING THERE ISNO TELLING WHAT MIGHT HAVE HAPPENED. I AM NOT A COMPLAINER BUT THIS WHOLE THING SEEMS WRONG. AND WHEN I GO TO SELL THIS VEHICLE HOW CAN I SAY IT IS A SAFE CAR. HOPE YOU CAN HELP,AND I APPRECIATE YOU LOOKING INTO THIS, I CANT BELIEVE I AM THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM.. PHILLIP WILLIAMS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds