Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1992 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 198 complaints filed for the 1992 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1992 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1992 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Steering (1) Tires (5)
Electrical System (10) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Structure (2) Trailer Hitches (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (159) Suspension (2) Visibility (18)
Equipment (2) Seat Belts (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

2/17/2005 - CONCORD, MA
WHEN DRIVING IN RAINY WEATHER THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD COME ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY. THE DRIVER WAS ABLE TO DRIVE TO THE DEALER. THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE DRIVER THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPER NEEDED REPLACEMENT. PLEASE PROVIDE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

3/12/2003 - COUNCIL BLUFFS, IA
THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONTAL COLLISION, AND NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE DRIVER SUFFERED INJURIES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/9/2003 - CARSON CITY, NV
CONSUMER STATES WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE ON WET SURFACE THE BRAKE PEDAL WILL GO TO THE FLOOR CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO HAVE EXTENDED STOPPING DISTANCE.

View Details

OTHER

8/11/2002 - FONTANA, CA
1992 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. *SII IVOQ ENTRY POSTED AFTER 12/12/02 CUT OVER TO ARTEM*765494

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

8/11/2002 - FONTANA, CA
2 TIRE FAILURES OF TIRE TREAD SEPARATION: INCIDENT DATES 6/15/02 AND 8/10/02.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: REAR COMPARTMENT/TRUNK

2/12/2002 - MOULTRIE, GA
NO SUMMARY LISTED FOR ABOVE VEHICLE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: AIR CONDITIONER

9/4/2001 - METAMORA, MI
CLIMATE CONTROL WIRE BEHIND GLOVE BOX CAUGHT FIRE ALSO CC MODULE OVERHEATS/SHORTS W/O TRIPPING CIRCUIT FUSE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

8/1/2001 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WINDSHIELD WIPERS DON'T WORK OR STOP WORKING IN RAIN.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: ARM: IDLER AND ATTACHMENT

8/1/2001 - DALLAS, TX
WHEN I BOUGHT THE TRUCK USED (85000 MLS)IT HAD A BAD FRONT END IDLER LINK AND A BAD A/C CLUTCH BEARING. NOT LONG AFTER I BOUGHT IT I HAD TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR. I ALSO NOTICED THAT THE BRAKES DIDN'T STOP THE VEHICAL LIKE THEY SHOULD AND I WAS SCARED TO LET MY WIFE DRIVE IT BECAUSE OF THE SPONGY BRAKES. I TOOK IT IN SEVERAL TIMES TO DIFFERENT SHOPS AND ALSO THE DEALER TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT THE BRAKES AND WAS ALWAYS TOLD THAT THE BRAKES ON THIS MODEL WERE JUST THAT WAY. I PUT NEW ROTORS AND PADS ON THE FRONT AND NEW REAR DRUMS AND SHOES AND REPEATEDLY BLED THE SYSTEM WITH SLIGHT IMPROVEMENT. IT ACTS AS THOUGH THERE IS A RESTRICTION IN THE BRAKE LINE TO BOTH FRONT AND REAR. IT ACTS AS THOUGH THEY DESIGNED THE THING NOT TO STOP QUICKLY. I UNPLUGGED THE MOTOR TO THE ABS SO THAT AT LEAST IT WOULD SQUEAL A TIRE. THE LACK OF SURE LOW SPEED STOPS HAS CAUSED 2 NEAR MISS ACCIDENTS AND 1 T BONE WHICH HAS RAISED OUR INSURANCE RATES. I HAVE LEARNED TO DRIVE THE THING ANTICAPATING STOPS AND PREBRAKING. I WENT TO THE DEALER AND JUST LIKE WITH THE WINDSHEILD WIPER CIRCUIT BOARD THAT SHORTED OUT WHEN IT GETS WET THEY TOLD ME THAT FOR MY SPECIFIC MODEL THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND THEY REFUSED TO LOOK AT IT. TO ADD INSULT TO INJURY LAST WEEK THEY SENT US A MAILER SAYING THAT THEY WOULD REPLACE MY BRAKE PEDAL WITH A DIFFERENT ONE TO GIVE ME A "BETTER FEEL". THAT WON'T DO ME MUCH GOOD IF I'M STUCK UNDER A BUS!!!!! I HAVE A VEHICAL WHICH HAS SUBSTANDARD BRAKES, WHICH WERE DESIGNED THAT WAY AND THEY WON'T DO A DAMN THING ABOUT THEM. I LIKE A LOT OF THINGS ABOUT THE TRUCK BUT THE BRAKES SUCK BIG TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

8/1/2001 - DALLAS, TX
WHEN I BOUGHT THE TRUCK USED (85000 MLS)IT HAD A BAD FRONT END IDLER LINK AND A BAD A/C CLUTCH BEARING. NOT LONG AFTER I BOUGHT IT I HAD TO REPLACE THE ALTERNATOR. I ALSO NOTICED THAT THE BRAKES DIDN'T STOP THE VEHICAL LIKE THEY SHOULD AND I WAS SCARED TO LET MY WIFE DRIVE IT BECAUSE OF THE SPONGY BRAKES. I TOOK IT IN SEVERAL TIMES TO DIFFERENT SHOPS AND ALSO THE DEALER TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT THE BRAKES AND WAS ALWAYS TOLD THAT THE BRAKES ON THIS MODEL WERE JUST THAT WAY. I PUT NEW ROTORS AND PADS ON THE FRONT AND NEW REAR DRUMS AND SHOES AND REPEATEDLY BLED THE SYSTEM WITH SLIGHT IMPROVEMENT. IT ACTS AS THOUGH THERE IS A RESTRICTION IN THE BRAKE LINE TO BOTH FRONT AND REAR. IT ACTS AS THOUGH THEY DESIGNED THE THING NOT TO STOP QUICKLY. I UNPLUGGED THE MOTOR TO THE ABS SO THAT AT LEAST IT WOULD SQUEAL A TIRE. THE LACK OF SURE LOW SPEED STOPS HAS CAUSED 2 NEAR MISS ACCIDENTS AND 1 T BONE WHICH HAS RAISED OUR INSURANCE RATES. I HAVE LEARNED TO DRIVE THE THING ANTICAPATING STOPS AND PREBRAKING. I WENT TO THE DEALER AND JUST LIKE WITH THE WINDSHEILD WIPER CIRCUIT BOARD THAT SHORTED OUT WHEN IT GETS WET THEY TOLD ME THAT FOR MY SPECIFIC MODEL THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND THEY REFUSED TO LOOK AT IT. TO ADD INSULT TO INJURY LAST WEEK THEY SENT US A MAILER SAYING THAT THEY WOULD REPLACE MY BRAKE PEDAL WITH A DIFFERENT ONE TO GIVE ME A "BETTER FEEL". THAT WON'T DO ME MUCH GOOD IF I'M STUCK UNDER A BUS!!!!! I HAVE A VEHICAL WHICH HAS SUBSTANDARD BRAKES, WHICH WERE DESIGNED THAT WAY AND THEY WON'T DO A DAMN THING ABOUT THEM. I LIKE A LOT OF THINGS ABOUT THE TRUCK BUT THE BRAKES SUCK BIG TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds