Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 740I - 1995 BMW 740I Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 9 complaints filed for the 1995 BMW 740I

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1995 BMW 740I. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1995 BMW 740I, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Suspension (2)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/27/2014 - REDWOOD CITY, CA
THUMPING NOISES FROM UNDER REAR SEAT OF CAR WHILE DRIVING. FUEL TANK IMPLODING SUCKING ITSELF INWARDS THEN CRACKING CAUSING FUEL TO LEAK ON TO PAVEMENT WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. DRIVER NOT AWARE OF THIS UNTIL PARKING AND SMELLING FUEL WHILE STANDING NEAR THE CAR. AFTER FURTHER RESEARCH FOUND A SERVICE BULLETIN DATED FEBRUARY 1998 ON THIS VERY ISSUE WHICH NEVER BECAME A RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/11/2012 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHEN STARTING THE CAR I SMELL STRONG ODOR OF GAS THE FUEL AND MPH METER MOVES UP AND DOWN WHEN TURN TO THE LEFT CAR MAKES LOUD RUBBING SOUND AND TIRES KEEP LOSING AIR BRAKE LIGHT KEEP COMING ON.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/11/2012 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHEN STARTING THE CAR I SMELL STRONG ODOR OF GAS THE FUEL AND MPH METER MOVES UP AND DOWN WHEN TURN TO THE LEFT CAR MAKES LOUD RUBBING SOUND AND TIRES KEEP LOSING AIR BRAKE LIGHT KEEP COMING ON.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/11/2012 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHEN STARTING THE CAR I SMELL STRONG ODOR OF GAS THE FUEL AND MPH METER MOVES UP AND DOWN WHEN TURN TO THE LEFT CAR MAKES LOUD RUBBING SOUND AND TIRES KEEP LOSING AIR BRAKE LIGHT KEEP COMING ON.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/28/2003 - RIDGECREST, CA
WHILE TRAVELING ON A HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE OF MY 1995 BMW 740I FAILED DUE TO ONE OF THE OIL PUMP BOLTS FALLING OUT AND INTO THE ENGINE. THERE IS NO SAFETY DEVICE ON THESE BOLTS TO PREVENT THEM FROM JUST SLIPPING OUT AND CAUSING THE ENGINE TO FAIL. THIS INCIDENT, IF OCCURING IN A BUSY STREET OR FREEWAY COULD ENDANGER OTHER MOTORIST AS WELL AS THE OCCUPANTS OF THE DISABLED VEHICLE. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS TYPE OF INCIDENT, I HAVE FOUND THAT THIS HAS BECOME A COMMON PROBLEM WITH BMW'S AND THAT BMW IS AWARE OF THIS YET THEY REFUSE TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

12/3/2002 - LOS ANGELES, CA
I HAD TO REPLACE ALL THE ITEMS MENTIONED, HOWEVER I DON'T HAVE THE CAR ANYMORE IT WAS REOPENED ON DEC. 3, 2002 AND I'M TRYING TO FIGHT THE FINANCE CO. WFS. DT

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT

8/29/2002 - BOWIE, MD
WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND WITH NO WARNING IF CONSUMER HITS A BUMP IN THE ROAD FRONT SUSPENSION WILL MAKE A CLUNKING LOUD NOISE. DEALER NOTIFIED.LG

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

2/12/2002 - SAN DIEGO, CA
CONSUMER WAS TRAVELING 65MPH ON HIGHWAY, AND WHILE DRIVING HE STARTED SMELLING SMOKE. SMOKE WAS COMING FROM THE CEILING AND DASHBOARD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

10/18/2001 - LAUREL, MD
I HAVE PRUCHASED A PRE OWNED - CERTIFIED BMW FROM TISHER AUTO. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED 6/23/01. IT HAS BEEN LESS THAN 90 DAYS AND I AM OBLIGATED TO PAY FOR BOTH REAR LIGHT ASSEMBLIES TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM WITH THE RIGHT REAR BRAKE LIGHT . THE BRAKE LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON AND THE CONSOLE INDICATOR CONFIRMS THIS. THE DEALER SAY THAT THERE IS A SHORT IN THE CIRCUIT BOARD THAT CONTROL THE FUNCTION OF THE BRAKE LIGHT ASSEMBLY. I WOULD APPRECIATE IT IF YOU CAN INFORM ME OF ANY RECALLS ON THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE. I HAVE HAD THE CAR LESS THAN 90 DAYS AND THE REPAIR COST IS $436 DOLLARS. I AM TRYING TO GRASP THE FACT THAT THIS IS A CERTIFIED VEHICLE THAT I PUT JUST OVER 6400 MILES ON. CAN YOU HELP.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

4/13/2001 - HUBER HEIGHTS, OH
FUEL IS LEAKING AT POINT WHERE HOSE MEETS METAL FUEL LINE, CAUSING FIRE HAZARD. DEFECT IS SAME AS MENTIONED IN RECALL 95V238000. BUT, THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED DUE TO VIN.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds