Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 484 complaints filed for the 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (4) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Seats (91) Suspension (13)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (10) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (40)
Electrical System (36) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (184) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (1) Power Train (30) Steering (14) Visibility (52)
Equipment (12) Interior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (11) Structure (17) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/10/2017 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, OPENED THE HOOD, AND NOTICED FLAMES NEAR THE TRANSMISSION AREA. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY BURNED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD AND DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 236,000.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

9/8/2015 - KINGSPORT , TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN EQUIPPED WITH COOPER DISCOVERER H/T TIRES, SIZE P235/75R15 (NA). WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE SEPARATED. THE TIRE WAS REPLACED WITH A SPARE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE TIRE TREAD SEPARATED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRES WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000 AND THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 240,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/15/2013 - ZION, IL
FUEL LEAK AT REAR DRIVER SIDE, IT STOP WHEN TRUCK IS PUT IN PARK. I'M AFRAID OF A FIRE COULD START!!!!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/16/2013 - LOG LANE VILLAGE, CO
I JUST RECENTLY BEGAN HAVING TROUBLE WITH MY 2000 CHEVY MALIBU AND IT PROMPTED ME TO BEING RESEARCHING COMMON ISSUES WITH CHEVROLET VEHICLES. IN MY RESEARCH I CAME UPON AN INTERESTING FACT THAT SEVERAL MAKES AND MODELS SEEM TO HAVE INTERMITTANT TURN SIGNAL FUNCTIONALITY AND HAZARD LIGHT ISSUES. IN MY CASE MY 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN (WHICH I LOVE MIND YOU) WAS BEING CHECKED FOR A TRAILER TO BE HOOKED UP. WHEN THE PERSON PERFORMING THE INSPECTION ATTEMPTED TO TURN ON THE HAZARD LIGHTS IT CAUSED A MALFUNCTION WITH ALL OF MY TURN SIGNALS, BREAKS, HAZARDS(NO EQUIPMENT WAS ATTACHED TO THE TRUCK SO NO IT WASN'T A FAULTY CONNECTION TO THE TRAILER, THAT HAD NOT BEEN ATTACHED YET.) AFTER SEVERAL MINUTES OF MESSING WITH SIGNALS AND PUSHING BUTTONS IT FINALLY RESET TO NORMAL. THIS FUNNY WIRING PROBLEM OCCURS EVERY TIME I TRY TO TURN ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS. UP TO THIS POINT I HAVE NOT HAD A NEED TO USE THEM BUT I AM AWARE THAT THEY WILL NOT WORK IF I ATTEMPT TO. MY ADVISE TO ANYONE READING THIS IS IF YOU ARE HAVING TROUBLE WITH YOUR TURN SIGNALS MESS WITH THE HAZARD LIGHT BUTTON BEFORE YOU GO REPLACING FLASHERS AND BULBS. IT TOOK SEVERAL TIMES OF PUSHING THE HAZARD BUTTON AND TURNING THE SIGNALS ON AND OFF BEFORE THEY STARTED TO WORK AGAIN. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH CHEVY THAT THIS ISSUE HAS NOT BE ADDRESS NOW THAT I AM FINDING IT TO SEEM SO COMMON A PROBLEM. I WAS EVEN MORE DISAPOINTED TO LEARN THAT MY MALIBU HAS ISSUES THAT ARE SIMILAR TO OTHERS WITH THAT MAKE AND MODEL AND THOSE ISSUES ARE IGNORED AS WELL. A SIDE NOTE IF YOU READ MY OTHER COMPLAINT. THE 1996 CHEVY S10 MY SPOUSE AND I WERE GOING TO TRADE THE MALIBU FOR ALSO HAS FUEL ISSUES. WHAT A BUMMER I USED TO REALLY LIKE CHEVY. CHANNEL 9 NEWS ANYONE. "NHTSA IT SHOULDN'T TAKE SOMEONE DYING BEFORE YOU MAKE THEM FIX IT. IF IT IS A KNOWN PROBLEM THAT CAN BE PROVEN IS NOT NORMAL WARE THEY SHOULD HAVE TO FIX IT."

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/19/2012 - HILLSBORO, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BELT WOULD NOT SUSTAIN HIM PROPERLY WHEN LEANING FORWARD SUDDENLY, AS THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT WOULD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT WAS UNAWARE OF THE NECESSARY REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

TIRES

2/26/2009 - DES MOINES, IA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE VEHICLE HAS FIRESTONE STEELTEX A/T TIRES, SIZE LT245/70/R16. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE SIDEWALLS WERE SEPARATED ON ALL THE TIRES. HE CALLED THE MANUFACTURER IN REFERENCE TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04T003000 (TIRES) AND WAS REFERRED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER COULD NOT LOCATE THE RECALL IN THEIR DATABASE; THEREFORE, THE CONTACT WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR REPLACEMENT TIRES. THE TIRES HAVE NOT BEEN REPLACED AND THE CONTACT STILL HAS THEM IN HIS POSSESSION. THE DOT NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 30,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

4/4/2007 - BROWNSVILLE, TX
(1) HAVE HAD TO REPLACE BRAKING SYSTEM 3 TIMES IN LAST 4 MONTHS (2) VEHICLE KEEPS PULLING TO THE RIGHT AND THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES HAVE BEEN ACTIVATING FOR NO REASON (3)REPLACED ROTORS, CALIPERS AND BRAKE PADS 3 TIMES IN 4 MONTHS (4)WHEN STARTING FROM START POSITION BRAKE CALIPERS STAY A LITTLE CLOSED AND EVENTUALLY LOOSEN UP ONCE THE VEHICLES PICKS UP SPEED.

View Details

OTHER

10/23/2006 - UNKNOWN, DC
CONSUMER 1995 SUBURBAN PAINT IS PEELING OFF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

12/14/2005 - CINCINNATI, OH
DT: THE CONTACT STATED THE ABS ACTIVATED AT LOW SPEEDS. THE MECHANIC BLED THE BRAKES AND REPLACED THE BRAKE PADS. THE ABS ACTIVATED WHILE DRIVING AROUND A CURVE AT LESS THAN 5 MPH. THE ROADS WERE ICY, AND THE VEHICLE WAS IN 4-WHEEL DRIVE. THE BRAKES LOCKED, BUT THE VEHICLE KEPT MOVING UNTIL IT CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE THAT WAS PARKED. THE ABS HAD BEEN ACTIVATED AT LOW SPEEDS SIX MONTHS BEFORE THE ACCIDENT. THE ABS ACTIVATION WAS INTERMITTENT, AND MANY TIMES THE BRAKES WERE DIFFICULT TO DEPRESS. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT A DIFFERENT MECHANIC SHOP, WHICH DETERMINED THAT THE PROBLEM MAY BE WITH THE ABS SENSORS. UPDATED 1/11/2006 - THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SERVICE DEALER WHO DETERMINED THAT THE ABS SENSORS WERE CORRODED. THE DEALER CLEANED THE SENSORS AND SPRAYED THE WITH AN ANTI-CORROSION SPRAY. THE CONSUMER HAS FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

2/28/2005 - DELTA JUNCTION, AK
THE DRIVER NOTICED A BROWNISH LIQUID LEAKING FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE ONTO THE GROUND WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED INSIDE OF GARAGE. DRIVER CONTACTED A MECHANIC, AND THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE DRIVER THAT TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THE HOUSING SHAFT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds