Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 484 complaints filed for the 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (4) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Seats (91) Suspension (13)
Communications (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (10) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (40)
Electrical System (36) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (184) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (1) Power Train (30) Steering (14) Visibility (52)
Equipment (12) Interior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (11) Structure (17) Wheels (5)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/20/2004 - SHIRLEY, NY
MY WHITE 1995 SUBURBAN, WHICH I AM THE ORGIONAL OWNER, PAINT IS FLAKING OFF OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE SEEN OTHER WHITE CHEVERLOT AND GM VEHICLES DOING THE SAME THING ON THE SIMILAR PARTS OF THE CAR. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THEIR ARE ANY RECALLS CONCERNING THIS MATTER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

10/10/2004 - LONG BEACH, MS
THERE WERE NON EVENTS LEADING UP TO THE UNEXPECTED FAILURE OF MY STANADYNE PUMP MOUNTED DRIVER (FUEL SOLENOID DRIVER). THE FAILURE CAUSED MY 1995 6.5L DIESEL CHEVROLET SUBURBAN TO STALL IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC! THIS CAUSED ME TO LOOSE POWER BRAKES AND POWER STEERING. BEING A 3/4 TON PICKUP, THIS WAS NOT A PRETTY PICTURE. THE STALL CAUSED ME TO RUN OFF THE ROAD AND INTO A DITCH. LUCKILY THERE WAS NO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM I INSTALLED A NEW ~$400 STANADYNE PMD. THESE PMDS ARE KNOWN TO GO OUT EVERY 30,000 MILES. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE, AND STANADYNE NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS MANUFACTURE FLAW.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

8/18/2004 - DAYTON, OH
FIRESTONE STEELTEX AT TIRES, IN SIZE 245/75R16 I HAVE EXPERIENCED TREAD SEPARATION ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS IN THE PAST YEARS YEARS. CURRENTLY HAVE ONE ADDITIONAL TIRE IN MY POSSESSION THAT WAS EXHIBITING THE SAME SYMPTOMS OF IMPEDING FAILURE. IN BOTH INCIDENTS, THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO PERSONAL INJURY, BUT EACH INCIDENT DID RESULT IN SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE IN EXCESS OF $3000.00. 1ST TIRE WAS RETURNED TO FIRESTONE FOR THEIR INSPECTION IN AUGUST 2002, FIRESTONE CLAIMED NO FAULT OR DEFECT. 2ND TIRE WAS LOST, 3RD TIRE STILL IN MY POSSESSION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/25/2004 - MIAMI, FL
JANUARY 2001 MY PAINT STARTED FALLING OFF IN LARGE PIECES, CHEVROLET WAS NOTIFIED APRIL 2001. THE RESPONSE WAS ITS WEAR AND TEAR OR ACID RAIN, I HAVE SEEN MANY OTHER WHITE SUBURBANS LOSING THEIR PAINT THE SAME WAY. I HAVE NOTIFIED GM ON THEIR CUSTOMER ONLINE CENTER AND RECIEVED A COOKIE CUTTER RESPONSE THAT IT IS NOT A MANUFACTURER DEFECT, I NOTIFIED GM IN 2001 AND 2004 AND RECIEVED THE EXACT SAME EMAIL WORD FOR WORD. I WENT BACK TO MY LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER AND TOLD HIM THE PROBLEM, HE TOOK PICTURES AND PROCEEDED TO WORK THE PROBLEM(APRIL 2004) THE RESPONSE FROM THE FACTORY IS THAT THEY WILL COVER 30% OF THE PAINT IF I HAVE THEM DO IT. I HAVE TWO ESTIMATES FROM REPUTABLE BODY SHOPS AT $2600-$3000. THAT MEANS I WOULD HAVE TO COVER ABOUT $2000 FOR A FACTORY DEFECT, BOTH BODY SHOPS DIAGNOSED THE PAINT PROBLEM AS DELAMINATION ( SEPERATION OF PAINT FROM PRIMER). AS OF THIS TIME THERE IS NO RESOLUTION AS I FEEL GM HAS KNOWN ABOUT THE PAINT PROBLEM SINCE 1993 AND IS WAITING FOR THESE OLD CARS TO BE SCRAPPED SO THEY WON'T HAVE TO REPAINT THEM. MY 1995 SUBURBAN 2500 4X4 IS A LOW MILEAGE VEHICLE AND I WANT TO KEEP IT AS LONG AS I CAN!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

4/1/2004 - DARIEN, IL
WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH HAD USED THE TURN SIGNAL, AND TURN SIGNAL LIGHT REMAINED ON UNTIL THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. CONSUMER TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AND MECHANIC WA SNOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE OR RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/1/2004 - PLAINVILLE, KS
DUE TO ICY ROAD CONDITIONS DRIVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND HIT A CONCRETE WALL. UPON IMPACT, NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

2/19/2004 - PASADENA, CA
WHILE PARKED BATTERY ACID WAS LEAKING INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE FROM THE POSITIVE POST. THE DRIVER HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR ANALYSIS, AND THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE BATTERY, BUT THE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. THIS PROBLEM CAUSED DAMAGES TO OTHER BATTERY COMPONENTS, FENDERWELL AND FRAME. THE CONSUMER REQUESTED REIMBURSEMENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

7/8/2003 - KINGSPORT, TN
THE ABS/HYDRAULIC SYSTEM HAS AGAIN GONE OUT ON MY VEHICLE. AFTER MY FIRST COMPLAINT 5 YEARS AGO, I HAD THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SENSOR REPLACED--UNFORTUNATELY IT WAS PRIOR TO GM'S CURRENT TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE STILL BE UNDER WARRANTY. NOW, I AM EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEMS. I FEEL THAT GM HAS OPTED TO MAKE A TEMPORARY LESS EXPENSIVE AND QUICK FIX RATHER THAN OFFERING THEIR CUSTOMERS A PERMANENT AND SAFE SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

OTHER

6/4/2003 - FREMONT, CA
ON MY 1995 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN LT, MY PAINT IS CHIPPING OFF. I NOTIFIED THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THIS WAS WEAR AND TEAR. SO I E-MAILED THE MAIN OFFICE AND WAS TOLD IT WAS TOO OLD FOR THEM TO REPAIR. THIS IS NOT WEAR AND TEAR PAINT DOES NOT JUST CHIP OFF A CAR GET DULL MAYBE BUT NOT CHIP OFF CAR. I WAS TOLD BY ONE OF THE CAR PAINTERS FROM CENTRAL CHEVROLET DEALER IN FREMONT CA THAT THEY MIXED THE PAINT WITH THE PRIMER TO TAKE A SHORT CUT. HE HAD SEEN MANY OF THESE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I THINK THAT THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED PAINT SHOULD NOT CHIP OF THE CAR THIS IS NOT WEAR AND TEAR!!!!!!!!

View Details

SEATS: FRONT ASSEMBLY: POWER ADJUST

5/29/2003 - ORANGE, CA
THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT BOTTOM FRAME ASSEMBLY BROKE APART ON MY 1995 CHEV. SUBURBAN. THIS CAUSED THE SEAT TO TIP BACKWARDS. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO CATCH MYSELF USING THE STEERING WHEEL AND BALANCE IN THE SEAT AND GET THE CAR UNDER CONTROL. I DID NOT CRASH, BUT THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE DESIGN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds